You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'You're representatives of an illness industry': 5 winners and 5 losers from the political week

You win some, you lose some…

EVERY WEEK, TheJournal.ie casts its eye over events inside and outside Leinster House that have got people talking.

As the saying goes: ‘You win some, you lose some.’

So here are our political winners and losers from the past seven days:

The 5 winners of the week are…

1. Members of the Health Committee

TDs and Senators on the Health Committee have been holding public hearings on plans to standardise cigarette packets for weeks, but it was only on Thursday that they got to grill representatives from the tobacco industry, and there was a rare outbreak of cross-party excoriation of the sharp-suited executives.

“You are representatives of an illness industry and that is the bald fact of it,” one TD told the heads of PJ Carroll, John Player, JTI Ireland and smokers’ group Forest Éireann this week as they argued against the forthcoming legislation to introduce plain packs - a law these companies will doubtless challenge in the courts.

image2. Ciaran Cannon

We don’t hear much from the junior education minister but we were impressed by his contribution to the neknomination debate in the Dáil this week. He told party colleague Derek Keating that it simply wasn’t possible to shut down all references to the internet drinking craze from social media.

His reasoned response was a follow-up to a column he wrote for this website over a year ago. Politicians in Leinster House are often too quick to rush into calls for a clamp down on social media when perhaps they should learn more about it as Cannon is clearly doing.

3. Kenneth Egan

The Olympic silver medallist’s honesty is refreshing.Though Egan’s naivety was apparent this week there’s no harm in politicians, and those aspiring to be politicians, being brutally honest. That’s exactly what he was when he stated baldly: “A lot of people don’t vote, from 18-to-26-year-olds, because they see all politicians as bad news and gangsters, and I am gonna try and change that in my local area.”

4. Padraig Mac Lochlainn

The Sinn Féin TD did a sterling job of chairing the little-known Oireachtas Public Service Oversight and Petitions Committee through its high-profile hearings with GSOC this week, but we were more impressed with his show of cross-party admiration for Alan Shatter in the Justice Committee on Wednesday. He even offered to get the wine in:

5. Labour

The impending local and European elections meant that the junior coalition partner benefitted from some more free publicity this weekend as it held its second conference in three months. Delegates heard plenty of speeches focussing on the role the party has had in government in “maintaining the threshold of decency” as Eamon Gilmore put it. The general public might well dispute that, but the members gathering in Enfield lapped it up.

… and the 5 losers of the week are…

1. Alan Shatter

The Justice Minister is once again in the spotlight over the relationship between himself, the gardaí and the garda watchdog. “A triangle of distrust” was how Fianna Fáil described it this week. It’s little wonder given that Shatter told the Dáil one thing on Tuesday night – that there was no evidence of surveillance of the GSOC headquarters – before the Ombudsman appeared to cast doubt on that in front of an Oireachtas Commmitte the next day, saying he suspected surveillance.

Having ruled out an independent inquiry into the matter, the Minister considers that case closed, but this one is likely to run – whether he likes it or not. His appearance before an Oireachtas Committee on Wednesday is likely to ensure that the story rumbles on.

2. Enda Kenny

Amid the bugging controversy this week, the Taoiseach misquoted the Garda Siochána Act in outlining what he believed was GSOC’s obligation to report the bugging controversy to the Minister when in fact it was not obliged to do so. In another apparent slip, comments he made earlier this month that we would know about water charges before the May elections were undermined by the energy regulator saying on Tuesday we would not know prices until August. Kenny is standing his ground, but this hasn’t been a vintage week for him.

3. Emer Costello and Labour

No one buys claims from the junior coalition partner that the exclusion of its logos on some of Costello’s posters was merely “an oversight”. Labour knows it faces a battle to retain its European Parliament seat in the capital and that it’s not exactly popular right now. So it’s no surprise their candidate in the capital might avoid talking about her party unless she has to. Though the party insists these are the posters and banners that will go out from now on:

image4. Fine Gael

The party has made a complete mess of its electoral strategy in Ireland South where it was to run two candidates and then decided it would run three, resulting in John Bryan, the former IFA chief, pulling out of contention. In a scramble to find another candidate, several of those in the frame cited the curious three-candidate strategy as a reason for ruling themselves out. Now it looks like Wicklow deputy Simon Harris is the frontrunner.

5. James Reilly

The Health Minister has, according to the Irish Times, been told that his proposals for universal health insurance (UHI) are a threat to the financial stability of the State. It’s no surprise that the department in charge of spending would take a dim view of the biggest-spending department wanting to splash-out more money, but UHI is a key policy for Reilly and the fact that officials in Public Expenditure and Reform appear so dismissive of the initial proposal does not bode well for the under-fire Minister.

Pics: Photocall Ireland, Twitter and Labour Party

Like politics? Then why not ‘Like’ TheJournal.ie’s Politics page?

The PAC’s next target? How political parties spend €12m of taxpayers’ money

Watch: TD offers to share ‘a candle and bottle of wine’ with Shatter – but he prefers a G&T

Kenny Egan: Young people in my area ‘see all politicians as bad news and gangsters’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:57 AM

Kenny Egan?…a winner? He’s nothing more than a celebrity candidate for a shower if liars. He’s done more damage to his personal reputation by signing up to FG than he would have had he taken steroids. Should not be on the winners list as indeed Labour shouldn’t be.

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:08 AM

I was thinking the exact same Tony about Kenny Egan and Labour. Judging by the comments during the week and yesterday on those news articles, I wouldn’t say they had a good week at all.

Mute Angela Byrne
    Favourite Angela Byrne
    Feb 16th 2014, 1:53 PM

Kenny Egan a winner????? He has been universally hammered all week, especially by Journal readers…what planet are you living on Hugh?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 16th 2014, 3:08 PM

It will end like Colm O’Gorman and the PDs in Wexford. O’Gorman would have walked it as an independent, or a candidate for any other party, but throwing his lot in with the Irish Tories destroyed his political ambitions. A phone in poll to South East Radio was almost unanimous. We all thought O’Gorman would be a fantastic representative for the people of Wexford… but we’re not voting for a PD.

Amnesty’s gain, though.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:36 AM

Poor Kenneth Egan, making a fool of himself by not participating in the democratic process over the year by voting then espousing to somehow suddenly to being politically motivated to do some good for the people of Clondalkin- you are but a tool for FG to push its right wing agenda at the expense of the good people of Clondalkin. Car crash times ahead!

Mute Paddy Cole
    Favourite Paddy Cole
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:03 AM

Kenneth Egan’s politics are as weak as his chin

Mute Em
    Favourite Em
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:22 AM

I’d say you’d batter him alright……

Mute Paddy Cole
    Favourite Paddy Cole
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:30 PM

Nah but I’d slaughter him in a bareknuckle debate on “young peoples issues”

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 16th 2014, 1:42 PM

@em thanks for that contribution.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:56 AM

While Kenny Egan is a decent skin, he displayed a breathtaking degree of political ignorance this week and is merely a tool of FG in a locality that their policies have devastated.

As for labour being winners because they happened to hold a conference, I’ll remind you all next year when their party conference is being held in the phone box outside joan burtons gaff. All the conference did was remind people of labours betrayal.

Mute Angela Byrne
    Favourite Angela Byrne
    Feb 16th 2014, 3:37 PM

sleeping with prostitutes, picking up naive women off facebook for sex, drug abuse, alcohol abuse…decent?

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:08 AM

I thought Ming had a good week, put in a good performance in the Environment and Gaeltacht committee only for that pig ignorant Michael McCarthy of Labour abusing and shouting him down. Look up the video and you will be disgusted at that pigs behaviour, just another example of this governments disrespectful attitude to the opposition. He also did a good job highlighting the desperate state psychiatric facilities are in in the south Connacht region.

Mute MonaghanRichie
    Favourite MonaghanRichie
    Feb 16th 2014, 3:20 PM

What is it with Our Sports Heros that they think joining FG is a good thing ???

Secondly Labour in Winners Column Bewildering, Polls would suggest anything but Winners !!!

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:34 AM

On your marks , get set , go ..lol

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Feb 16th 2014, 1:23 PM

Enda Kenny was barely in the spotlight this week and still Hugh finds a way to make him a loser. And Labour have a conference and that makes them winners?

Like I’ve said before, these pieces should really be published under an Opinion heading.