You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tickets for The Script's two free concerts for healthcare workers went in less than 30 minutes

The band’s lead singer said they wanted to show their appreciation for the hard work of those in the healthcare sector.

IRISH POP BAND The Script is to put on two concerts in Dublin early next year for any staff working in the HSE, as well as those in the NHS in Northern Ireland.

Lead singer Danny O’Donoghue last week announced the band would put on a free concert for these workers to “show our appreciation for how hard you’ve been working over the past few weeks and will continue to do over the next few months”.

The first date announced was 9 February 2021 at the 3 Arena and tickets were available from earlier this evening. Due to the huge demand for the concert, the band announced it was adding another free show on 8 February 2021, with tickets available immediately.

These were also gone in less than 30 minutes and the band has said the response has been “overwhelming”.

In his message to HSE and NHS staff last week, O’Donoghue had said the concert was not just for nurses and doctors, but also for staff like kitchen porters and cleaners, who are also doing important jobs in hospitals. 

Each staff member could get two tickets for the concert and ticket-holders will be required to present their HSE or NHS ID cards when they arrive on the night. 

“We’d love to say thank you so much on behalf of The Script, our family, our friends and the nation,” O’Donoghue said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Donal Connell
    Favourite Donal Connell
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:11 PM

Well done lads

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Apr 8th 2020, 12:25 PM

@Donal Connell: if they were playing in my back garden I’d close the blinds

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Apr 8th 2020, 1:29 PM

@Donal Connell: fair play, I can imagine it will be an emotional night for everyone involved.

Mute Eug J Cummins
    Favourite Eug J Cummins
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:20 PM

Over 27000 in the queue at 7.15pm .
    They weren’t healthcare workers.
    The real heroes were on 14hr shifts and got no tickets.
    Farce .

Mute K
    Favourite K
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:47 PM

@Eug J Cummins: Very unfair comment.

Mute John Clare
    Favourite John Clare
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:33 PM

@K: I concur !

Mute theonlypaulg
    Favourite theonlypaulg
    Apr 8th 2020, 7:55 AM

@Eug J Cummins:

Mute theonlypaulg
    Favourite theonlypaulg

@Eug J Cummins:

Mute theonlypaulg
    Favourite theonlypaulg

@Eug J Cummins:

Mute AnnaM1980
    Favourite AnnaM1980
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:01 AM

@Eug J Cummins: how do you know they weren’t on a break from shift to try do it? Or they asked a family member to do it for them?

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Favourite Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:19 AM

@Eug J Cummins: they had to have HSE I’d and photographic too. Also has to be shown on night. Very unfair comment

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:16 PM

This should be moved to Croke Park as thousands of HSE staff & frontline works were left disappointed today!

Mute Mick Mouse
    Favourite Mick Mouse
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:18 PM

@Joe Bloggs: love croke park in February

Mute Harleen Frances Quinzel
    Favourite Harleen Frances Quinzel
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Joe Bloggs: In all fairness there’s no venue that would hold the amount of demand for these tickets.. There will be people inevitably disappointed but happy for those that got their tickets and fair play to the Script for doing such a fantastic deed.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Apr 8th 2020, 12:11 AM

@Joe Bloggs: And they should do 5 nights or nothing

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:41 PM

Might not be fashionable but most hard working people I have seen during this are the supermarket workers. Nice to see them get some of the limelight .

Mute Harleen Frances Quinzel
    Favourite Harleen Frances Quinzel
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:53 PM

@Mr Wilde: What limelight? Or are you being sarcastic

Mute Dannys Dentures
    Favourite Dannys Dentures
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:32 PM

Christ, have the healthcare professionals not suffered enough already.

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara

Fair play to the lads

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe

Great idea

Mute Mark Brown
    Favourite Mark Brown
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:25 PM

Farcical that tickets could be purchased by the general public with only a requirement to show ID on the night. I just hope that all attendees are those who the gig are for. Are the 3Arena actually going to police it?

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Apr 8th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Mark Brown: Even if these people don’t get in without ID it still means someone who deserved a ticket missed out. Funny setup really.

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:20 AM

@Mark Brown: that’s not true.

Mute neil brown
    Favourite neil brown
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:52 PM

Wouldn’t it be great there was a live aid type Concert as in gigs all over the world with free tickets for all the front line workers and everyone watching being able to donate to all the worthwhile causes and show their appreciation for all involved

Mute Sean Brennan
    Favourite Sean Brennan
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:49 PM

Wow – first BandAid LiveAid, SelfAid – and now CovAid-20 – what a script. Well done lads.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:28 PM

Fantastic gesture.Easy to check ids on the night if doors open early.
    No room for naysayers here.

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:21 AM

@David Glynn: precisely. Its really sad to see the begrudgers out when the lads are doing a good deed. Some ppl will never be happy.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Apr 8th 2020, 1:31 AM

Haha. The Script. Get it?

(Prescription/healthcare workers)

Well, I think it’s funny/ironic (whatever)

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Apr 8th 2020, 2:33 AM

They want better pay and conditions. Not a round of applause.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Apr 8th 2020, 1:47 AM

Can’t say I’m a fan, but they are doing what they can. And to that I say fair play

Mute Debbie Proudfoot
    Favourite Debbie Proudfoot
    Apr 8th 2020, 12:14 AM

Thank you so much

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Apr 8th 2020, 8:36 AM

Every hospital, nursing home should have been allocated certain amount of tickets. Would have been a fairer distribution of this brilliant offer from the script.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Apr 8th 2020, 9:59 AM

@C_O’S: and supermarket, powerstation garda station etc????

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:55 PM

Who are these guys on a cheap self promotional run . Haven’t the general public suffered enough without having their hearing further damaged from such rubbish !

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Apr 8th 2020, 12:26 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: Or you could just ignore the story and move on without the negativity. Clearly enough people valued the gesture. Nobody’s asking you to go, or to listen. It would actually take less effort to just ignore it.

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:23 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: what sort of a comment is that? Are you putting your hands in your pocket and personally treating the frontline workers to a bit of a break for one eve. NO.

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Apr 9th 2020, 12:31 AM

@Andi O Donoghue: I am totally supportive of front line workers . I am totally against non entities cashing in with some absurd gesture to promote themselves !

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Apr 8th 2020, 8:24 AM

Really hope people who got tickets will have to show proof of their jobs..

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Apr 8th 2020, 6:46 AM

The coronavirus could still have a huge part in the script next February.Hope not.

Mute Val Kavanagh
    Favourite Val Kavanagh
    Apr 8th 2020, 8:16 AM

The Corona’s should follow suit

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Apr 8th 2020, 9:18 AM

So we will have a vaccine by February next? And it’ll be grand to have large events?

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:24 AM

@John Walsh: well maybe not but I. Sure provisions will be made in the event of that happening. So for now, maybe just take it as a nice gesture

Mute Molly1952
    Favourite Molly1952
    Apr 8th 2020, 11:15 AM

Nice gesture from the Script. It wouldnt surprise me if other bands do likewise…not to be outdone. I bet Bono is kicking himself that he didnt think of it first! Anyway…I hope the essential services people have a great night and can look back with satisfaction on a job well done.

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Apr 8th 2020, 5:08 PM

So they think that this will all be over in February?
    This is a lovely gesture, but I’m afraid it may be a little optimistic.
    At the current rate of infection we will not be at a point where we will have herd immunity and it’s unlikely a vaccine will be rolled out at that point either. If contact tracing was successful we could perhaps have rid the island of Covid 19, but contact tracing has not been very successful yet.
    I hope I’m wrong but I think we’re going to have Covid 19 spikes for a while to come. They won’t keep the lock down going continuously, no economy can take that, the lock down will end before then. This will not make it safer in a crowded place, let’s face it these are not the people that we want to be infected or spreading infection.

Mute Andi O Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2020, 7:55 PM

@Davis Payne: if it’s not over, which it may not be… the lads will I’m sure postpone till safe . They are not stupid.