You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A number of Tesla vehicles and dealerships have been targeted by protestors in recent weeks. Alamy Stock Photo

Three charged in US for 'violent destruction' of Tesla cars and dealership with Molotov cocktails

US Attorney General Pamela Bondi described the wave of recent attacks on Tesla vehicles and dealerships as “domestic terrorism”.

THREE PEOPLE ARE facing “serious charges” across the US for allegedly using Molotov cocktails to set Tesla cars and charging stations on fire, according to the Justice Department.

In a statement today, US Attorney General Pamela Bondi announced charges against three people responsible for “the violent destruction of Tesla properties” across three separate states.

A Department statement said that the three defendants “will face the full force of the law”, and may be jailed for up to 20 years if found guilty.

“The days of committing crimes without consequence have ended,” Attorney General Pam Bondi said in a statement.

“Let this be a warning: if you join this wave of domestic terrorism against Tesla properties, the Department of Justice will put you behind bars.”

One of the three people charged, who was allegedly armed with an AR-15 rifle, threw about eight cocktails at a Tesla dealership in Salem, Oregon, according to the Department of Justice.

Another, the department alleged, was apprehended in Colorado after trying to light Teslas on fire, and was later found to have materials for producing more incendiary weapons.

In South Carolina, the third defendant “wrote profane messages” about US President Donald Trump around Tesla charging stations before lighting the stations on fire with Molotov cocktails.

The three incidents are part of a wider backlash against Tesla boss Elon Musk that appears to have been gathering momentum in recent weeks, since Musk was appointed head of the controversial Department for Government Efficiency (DOGE).

Musk was charged by Trump with taking an axe to federal government spending, and has overseen the firing of tens of thousands of federal employees.

march-13-2025-new-york-city-new-york-united-states-a-protester-holds-signs-that-read-this-billionaire-is-killing-our-government-during-a-protest-at-a-manhattan-tesla-dealership-to-demonstrat Tesla protestors pictured in New York CIty last week. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

There have been protests outside dozens of Tesla dealerships, not only in the US, but also in Canada, the UK, Germany and Portugal.

Although most of them have been peaceful, there have been cases of showrooms, charging stations and vehicles being vandalised. In separate incidents in France and Germany, several cars were set on fire.

In Belfast, around 20 cars at a Tesla dealership were damaged over the weekend.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:24 PM

Only the journal could describe left wing protests that involved Molotov Cocktails, the burning of cars in multiple cities by people armed with assault rifles as ‘mostly peaceful’ lol. The only ones with more neck are our wonderful ‘leaders’.

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Thu 8:39 PM

@Adam H2022: but they didn’t describe those incidents as mostly peaceful, rather they described the many protests as mostly peaceful

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:43 PM

@Kev Kerr: They describe them as protests actually. So they consider lefties armed with assault rifles as protesters. Wonder would they do that for the equivalent on the right? Lol

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:45 PM

@Kev Kerr: Let’s be honest it’s terrorism and arson at the very least. The lad in the Dublin riots that burned the Garda car got 6 years in Mount Joy I heard and he knew the family of one of the children stabbed in Pearse Street. Wonder will the crowd that burnt the cars in Belfast or the two beautiful leftie girls that spat on the Israeli man in his hotel see the same level of sentencing, I highly doubt it.

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Thu 9:02 PM

@Adam H2022: mad isn’t it, but authorities tend to take a dimmer view of taking control of a city centre and rioting, over criminal damage or assault

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Thu 9:08 PM

@Adam H2022: Bet you think Jan 6th was fine though?

Mute Altoir
    Favourite Altoir
    Thu 9:10 PM

@Adam H2022: again only the journal can leave comments open to one religion but not the other

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:11 PM

@Kev Kerr: It’s not criminal damage. They are organised attacks with the specific intention of putting global fear onto the stock market to attack Elon Musk. That is the text book definition of terrorism and what terrorism seeks to achieve. The Provisional IRA used this tactic quite successfully, attacking high profile targets in an effort to cause economic turmoil to further political means. Would you say what the IRA did who were also armed with assault rifles and molotov cocktails a bit of criminal damage and assault? No you wouldn’t, it was terrorism and people attacking Tesla dealerships ar exactly that terrorists. Attacking people’s work places where women and children are is not acceptable.

Mute Jonathan Moloney
    Favourite Jonathan Moloney
    Thu 9:12 PM

@Adam H2022: Ah yes, the ‘mostly peaceful’ refrain as was used during the immensely destructive 2020 Floyd riots (dozens dead, hundreds seriously injured). Let’s just say it as it is – there is a very significant portion of the modern day Political Left in The West who are more than comfortable with these violent tactics. Evil.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:14 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: I don’t recall any assault rifles or molotov cocktails at Jan 6th! But hey don’t let the truth ruin your story pal!

Mute Altoir
    Favourite Altoir
    Thu 9:16 PM

@Adam H2022: it’s a joke can you believe they opened the comments for whatever is catholic

Mute Del Ray
    Favourite Del Ray
    Thu 9:19 PM

@Adam H2022: This is right wing hubris. They were described as domestic terrorists in the first paragraph. End of.

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Thu 9:19 PM

@Adam H2022: in Belfast, they snapped off some wing mirrors and wipers, smashed a few windows and some bodywork dented. Sounds like criminal damage to me, and relatively minor compared to the rioting and looting that night, not to mention the arson of cop cars and public transport

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:27 PM

@Kev Kerr: No it’s not. It made headlines and was done as a political stunt. Anyone driving a Tesla will fear that their cars may be attacked next while they sleep. That’s terrorism. Criminal damage would be if you damaged a car with no political meaning behind it. You are trying to play down co-ordinated attacks because it suits your politics. For example when Muslim shops were attacked all across the UK after the South Port stabbing cover up would you say that this was Criminal damage or domestic terrorism? Yeah, exactly my point. Hypocrisy is rife on the left.

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Thu 9:42 PM

@Chutes Idiot: your “interesting fact” is anything but interesting – the stat you should be looking at is how many people convicted of assault in their youth end up on death row as an adult – answer: bugger all

Mute Glenda O'Loughlin
    Favourite Glenda O'Loughlin
    Thu 9:57 PM

@Adam H2022: you need serious help with your twisted prejudice. Are you under medical supervision?

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 10:09 PM

@Glenda O’Loughlin: love to read responses like this. The left are getting absolutely smashed the last couple of months. Long may it last. Have a wonderful evening.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Thu 11:21 PM

@Adam H2022: what happened did your latest Rian account get blocked? lol.
    So tragic.

Mute Eoghan O Sullivan
    Favourite Eoghan O Sullivan
    Thu 11:41 PM

@Adam H2022: your back under a new name.

Mute Billy Meehan
    Favourite Billy Meehan
    Fri 4:22 AM

Where is the legend Kyle Rittenhouse when you need him, he knew how to deal with lefty terrorists

Mute Ethan Gannon
    Favourite Ethan Gannon
    Fri 6:38 AM

@Adam H2022: and if Trump supporters did this it would be described as an attack on democracy by far right nazis and how ppl nearly died etc.

Mute Seamus Dunne
    Favourite Seamus Dunne
    Fri 1:42 PM

@Adam H2022: ok, so you have pulled the signature Trumpian move of conflating isolated incidents where 3 people acting on their own took actions outside the law and were not even attending the actual protests by thousands (they committed these crimes at night) of people all over the US exercising their constitutional rights of peaceful protest. Hey but muppets like you push the fa$cist agenda and propaganda of the N@zi Musk and his daddy the big orange turd. You a full of it, but don’t let the actual facts get in the way of your agenda!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Fri 2:26 PM

@Adam H2022: maybe you don’t understand US politics. Lefties as you have called them are rarer than hens teeth. Average Americans and particularly Vets are losing their minds over what is happening.

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Rian O'Sullivan
    Thu 10:14 PM

The left just proving again and again how deluded and dangerous they are.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Fri 1:30 PM

those salty tears… lol

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Thu 8:19 PM

I’m very surprised that ‘the Ditch’ missed that other business with yer man…

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Thu 8:50 PM

They have now declared vandalism on Tesla domestic terrorism with a 20 year sentence. But attacking the Capitol? Ah ye’re grand.
    Earlier this week a French scientist was turned away at immigration because he had texts critical of Trump on his phone. Yes, they checked his phone and his laptop in the airport. They decreed this to be terrorism.
    Dropkick Murphy’s banned from Twitter for criticising MAGA.
    Court orders ignored and calls for the judge to be impeached for, you guessed it, criticising cing Trump.
    Due process ignored.
    Ira Hayes one of the marines in that iconic photo planting the flag on Iwo Jima has been removed from the official website because he was a DEI hire. He was native American.
    I could go on all night, but we have now entered the twilight zone, the USA is screwed.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:57 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Was there any assault rifles or arson used in Capital Hill? The lefties are a lot more volatile clearly. Sorry I meant ‘tolerant’ lol

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Thu 9:01 PM

@Dermot Blaine: That flag on Iwo Jimi was planted 80 years ago – long before DEI was evet dreamt up.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Thu 9:02 PM

@Dermot Blaine: The hypocrisy and corruption never ceases to amaze.

The Dropkick Murphy’s ban is ironic. Thought these were the salt of the earth types these crooks promised to represent?!

Then again you-know-who is on again, above, trying to convince people black is white. Deny reality! Facts don’t matter! Tesla is not suffering and devalued because of silver-spoon-African-gem-thief -Musk, swamping around with the ‘sick of winning’ crowd. Too funny!

Mute Jonathan Moloney
    Thu 9:22 PM

@Dermot Blaine: people who committed no violence on January 6th received decades long sentences by the weaponized Biden Department of Justice. 2020 riots were infinitely more violent than January 6th was, but cowards turn a blind eye to that because… well, they’re cowards. It’s clear to anyone with a brain there’s an extreme violent element to the modern day Left (in America especially but elsewhere too). This stuff with the Teslas is totally expected. All because Musk volunteered to cut waste in the government and is exposing enormous fraud via USAID and elsewhere. It turns out that exposing the infrastructure of the political Left to be one enormous taxpayer-funded scam will unleash the violent loonies in response. Who coulda known.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Thu 9:29 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: yes that’s true but Trump has ordered govt agencies to remove all references to DEI from govt websites and some are taking it too literally. Several decorated war heroes who are the wrong colour have had their profiles removed govt from military websites, Google it. Some have been reinstated following outcry. I think the Ira Hayes page has since been put back up.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Thu 9:37 PM

@Jonathan Moloney: can you post a link to where Musks team exposed fraud, proven and fact checked, please. All we have is his word and, Trumps word, we know their both compulsive liars.

Mute POC
    Favourite POC
    Thu 9:47 PM

@Jonathan Moloney: What’s your basis for your argument?
    Where in the States do you live?

Mute Jonathan Moloney
    Thu 9:53 PM

@Dermot Blaine: no need to play idiot, Dermot (though no doubt you make a good effort). Those details are easily found for anyone who is actually interested in the truth (should we exclude you from that category?)

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Thu 10:17 PM

@Adam H2022: They built a gallows to hang Mike Pence.

Mute POC
    Favourite POC
    Thu 10:52 PM

@Jonathan Moloney: Rubbish. This has more to do with Nazi salutes and good ol’ boy status quo than anything else – as did the 2020 riots. I live in a red state. I hear and see it every day.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Thu 8:17 PM

What they did was wrong – Molotov cocktails are rarely a positive, but the backlash against Tesla and the value crash…hehehe. Little victories mean a lot these days!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Thu 8:23 PM

@SerotoninWars: yes. Two wrongs don’t make a right. But still, lol

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Thu 8:26 PM

@Alan: Hear hear! ><

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:27 PM

@SerotoninWars: 5 year trend of Tesla shows if you invested your money 5 years ago you would have increased your investment 728% even after the so called crash. The level of fake news going around about this is incredible. Like you can literally Google the graph right now lol.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Thu 8:30 PM

@Adam H2022: Oh jaysus, it’s another one of your spam accounts.

On the off-chance anyone is taken in by this gibberish:

https://www.businessinsider.com/tesla-stock-price-crash-byd-battery-tech-musk-rbc-downgrade-2025-3

No more replies to the latest ‘lol’ account.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Thu 8:37 PM

@Alan: Two wrongs don’t make a right,but three rights make a left.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:42 PM

@SerotoninWars: Your link looks at a 6 month snapshot in time to suit your narrative. If you look at the graph over 5 years (which is a true respresention of the over all mean value) its up 728%. You have taken a distortion and tried to paint ital as the actual trend which effectively lying. But hey like they say don’t ruin a good story with the truth. Carry on.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Thu 8:44 PM

@Adam H2022: it was 689 the other day, probably be 10,000% by next week.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 8:52 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: Graphs go up and down each day you do realise that? If you look at Tesla stock price was $225 on Tuesday and it’s $236 today so it’s actually Trending up this week. Pretty basic maths but people get very butt hurt whe it doesn’t suit their narrative. I’m a realist.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Thu 9:18 PM

@Adam H2022: so why do investors want musk removed?

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:34 PM

@Alan: Who are these investors? The share price has broken 400 dollars twice in 5 years! If you couldn’t make money out of that you might as well give up!

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Thu 9:01 PM

In fairness, Musk is doing a good enough job burning the brand to the ground all by himself, these actions aren’t necessary. Who wants to drive a car made by him and everything he represents?

There’ll be some right bargains in DoneDeal soon. Though the cars were poorly made pieces of shhh from the get go.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:12 PM

@Ronan Mc: Stock price is up 10% since Tuesday….have a look

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Thu 9:17 PM

@Adam H2022: wow! In two days?? If this trajectory continues my friend…

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:20 PM

@Ronan Mc: Or up 728% over 5 years whichever you prefer

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Thu 9:53 PM

@Ronan Mc: sell your Teslas now before they’re worthless

Mute Glenda O'Loughlin
    Favourite Glenda O'Loughlin
    Thu 9:54 PM

@Adam H2022: So the growth was under the Biden administration and the collapse under Trump. Do you even own any stock?

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 10:23 PM

@Glenda O’Loughlin: There has been a correction yes I would say. Most likely because Trump got rid of Bidens electric car mandate for automakers that was artificially inflating green stocks. Trump got rid of that crazy mandate and Tesla sticks crashed immediatley. So Tesla is returning to what its actual value was before the Biden admin went crazy on climate change. Trump and Musk are both intelligent business men and would rather Tesla was valued correctly in the long term other wise you end up like one of these companies like Snapchat or Tik Tok here today gone tomorrow etc. Tesla will be here to stay and is in the process of stabilising the same as X / Twitter.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 10:28 PM

@Glenda O’Loughlin: It’s also funny to hear lefties say Trump is only there to make billionaires like Elon money. Since Trump removed Bidens electrical car mandate Tesla stock has crashed significantly and is returning to its ‘true’ value beofe Biden took office. Biden had artificially inflated green stocks with his policies. Trump administration is working very hard to try and stabilise companies like Tesla that the Democrats let get wildly out of control.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Fri 1:00 AM

@Ronan Mc: in your words what does he represent? I am asking you specifically

Mute Seamus Dunne
    Favourite Seamus Dunne
    Fri 2:58 PM

@Adam H2022: what’s your real name there Adam? Why you hiding behind a fake moniker? Come on, if you are a Trump fan, let’s see who you are!

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Thu 9:07 PM

Welcome to Trumps America. Violent protesters who attacked Congress and the police are patriots. People who burn a few cars are domestic terrorists. Messed up beyond words

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 9:17 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: So do you think it was wrong for the lad in the Dublin Riots that burned the Garda Car to have gotten 6 years in prison? According to your post burning a car is only a bit of craic is it?

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Thu 10:39 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: *Cricket sound

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Fri 2:33 PM

@Adam H2022: different situation entirely but nice attempt to distract people

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Thu 8:42 PM

Hamas and criminal gangs could find many recruits from the comments violence supporting crowd here.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Thu 8:51 PM

@thomas molloy: What’s ‘comments violence’? Thought words don’t hurt. Sounds…woke!

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Thu 8:53 PM

@thomas molloy: If your looking for violence supporting crowds and governments you’re in the wrong country you will have to go to Israel for that sort of thing

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Thu 9:30 PM

@thomas molloy: free speech and all that. Or is that only when it suits?

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Thu 10:02 PM

So the man who’s job it is to make thousands of people unemployed is now being targeted..who would have thought that..

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Thu 8:25 PM

I personally prefer pina coladas. Molotov cocktails have a very spicy aftertaste

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Thu 8:34 PM

@Des Daly: you aren’t supposed to drink them lad. They are generally used as incendiary weapons…

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Thu 8:38 PM

@Stephen Foster: It was intended as an incendiary comment

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Thu 9:28 PM

The funny thing is that Musk only owns around 12% of Tesla.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Thu 9:31 PM

@John arse: which he bought. He didn’t start the company.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Thu 9:49 PM

@Dermot Blaine: He tried to,but it wouldn’t start. Power cut overnight.

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Thu 10:09 PM

@Dermot Blaine: I thought you were going to say he didn’t start the fire- that was someone else?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Fri 1:28 PM

@John arse: Well Christopher Tsai seems to be building toward either having him back at his desk or moving him along. we shall see, either way the share price will rise again

Mute Termaz FX
    Favourite Termaz FX
    Fri 6:39 AM

funny how school shootings are NOT terrorism. but burning some car is

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Fri 7:51 AM

Nobody burnt cars and businesses when bidan was in office or Obama, but soon as the left get angry they burn things, blm did alot of that type of terror its a trait of the left, shout, scream, attack, burn.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Fri 2:27 PM

@Darran Macken: their were riots an people died when the Proud Boys and others marched

Mute Timo
    Favourite Timo
    Fri 4:10 AM

Yeah, the burning of Tesla’s and the charging stations are only going to up the insurance costs for everyone because the insurance will have to pick it up at the end of the day.