You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Throwback Thursday: Politics edition

From befriending Tom Cruise to stealing each other’s outfits, our politicians have done it all.

APPARENTLY THERE’S SOMETHING happening tomorrow and our politicians are too busy to post their own Throwback Thursday snaps. Like a knight in shining armour, we’ve strode in and done it for them.

You’re welcome, one and all.

1. Enda Kenny

A little known fact about our Taoiseach: he had a brief stint as a tour guide in 2002. Before he reached the highest position in the Irish government, Enda Kenny would helpfully point out landmarks in the capital to passersby, such as the River Liffey.

addtext_com_MDY0NTE3Njg2OTY Gareth Chaney / Photocall Ireland Gareth Chaney / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

2. Noonan & Co.

MINISTER FOR HEALTH MICHAEL NOONAN Michael Noonan Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Labour leader Ruairi Quinn Ruairi Quinn Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland! Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland! / Photocall Ireland!

In 1995, Ministers made a ‘go bald or go home’ pact.

ALAN SHATTER DIVORCE REFERENDUM IN IRELAND 1995 RELIGIOUS ISSUES Alan Shatter Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Oh.

3. Tom Cruise

TOM CRUISE IN IRELAND 1995 HOLLYWOOD FILM STARS Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Following his addition to the Labour ticket in 1995, the Mission Impossible actor denied he was a token celebrity candidate, insisting he would “keep it real”.

4. Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan

Mary Mitchell O’Connor was raging when Ming stole her look back in 2011*. Such behaviour is considered a major Dáil no-no.

addtext_com_MDYzNzM5Njg0MTE Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

*This was actually for charity so fair play all round.

5. Jackie Healy Rae

JACKIE HEALY RAE FIANNA FAIL ARD FHEIS 2003 SMOKERS CIGARETTES CONTROLS IN PUBLIC PLACES ANTI BAN ON SMOKING HEALTH ISSUES LUNG CANCER ENVIRONMENTAL TOBACCO SMOKE IN THE WORKPLACE Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This is an actual thing that happened in 2003. As far as we’re aware, ‘Micky’s Butt Squad’ has since disbanded.

6. Mary McAleese

addtext_com_MDQzMzIzNjU1OTc

Try as they might, they just couldn’t figure out his new phone.

7. Matt Carthy

SHINN FEIN YOUTH NATIONAL ORGANISER MATT CARTHY PORTRAIT UPRIGHT Graham Hughes / Photocall Ireland Graham Hughes / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

The young whippersnapper engaging in the popular 1999 game: ‘Drink from the imaginary glass’. Crazy kid.

8. Bonus Bertie material: A look back through laughter

Fianna Fáil gatherings were a barrel of laughs in the ’80s.

RAY BURKE WITH BERTIE AHERN Ray Burke and Bertie Ahern (1984) Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Bertie didn’t have the heart to tell Tony stand up just wasn’t for him.

Tony Blair Tony Blair and Bertie Ahern (1998) Joey Cleary / Photocall Ireland Joey Cleary / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Prince Philip had better luck with what was sure to have been an entirely appropriate remark.

Prince Philip British Royal Visits to Ireland Prince Philip, Bertie Ahern and Mary Harney (1998) Kate Horgan / Photocall Ireland Kate Horgan / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This is just a caption competition waiting to happen…

So Enda, did you like our picks?

Enda Kenny Fine Gael conference at City West, Dublin (2003) Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Great.

Read: From banning Galway people entering Meath to using Grindr: The evolution of election literature

Read: Fine Gael bottled water, giant floating heads and other strange sights from Election 2014

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Machine Learning IRE
    Favourite Machine Learning IRE
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:25 PM

More selfish squandering of the national fund.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:34 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: Could build a house for this money!

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:54 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: Due to brown envelopes , more like.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:53 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: In fairness, it’s a lot cheaper than the printer that cost the state over 2 million :-( ….. Lessons will NEVER be learned!….. Scary that Ryan stands over such a project. No wonder we’re still paying USC with the attitude they have towards spending.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:09 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: over 18,500 per bike ,what a joke of a govt

Mute Chris O'Connor
    Favourite Chris O'Connor
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:55 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: Was there a tender process?? All works over €100k must be published on eTenders under national legislation. Publish on OJEU if above €5.5M…….

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:00 PM

@Brian Hunt: That’s a Bam good idea

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 2nd 2024, 7:49 AM

@Machine Learning IRE: what a total waste of our taxes,shameful.

Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Sep 2nd 2024, 9:09 AM

@Machine Learning IRE: yep

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Sep 2nd 2024, 10:33 PM

@Machine Learning IRE: it’s not squandering…… it’s called ‘Looting’.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:33 PM

I’d love to see a breakdown of the invoice, but there wont be any enquiry into this!

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:18 PM

@Brian Hunt: Eamon could have got a decent lock for €20 and chained his bike to Leinster House railings.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:40 PM

@Brian Hunt: is there even picture of it, just to be sure it exists. Maybe someone could dig out the planning file and publish it.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:50 PM

You can order a 4 bike parking supporter on Temu for €200. That includes delivery from China. These guys have zero sense of financial responsibility with the money of other people. I.e. my money.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 1st 2024, 6:24 PM

@Paul Whitehead: €18,600 per bike. A p1ss take. A symptom of what’s wrong in ireland. No financial governance. No responsibility or integrity. Somebody needs to held accountable.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:41 PM

I wonder How many are actually going to use it? Bar Eamonn Ryan when there’s a TV crew around, can’t see many rolling in on their bikes in the middle of winter.

Mute Shane O Neill
    Favourite Shane O Neill
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:29 PM

@Seanie: as well as the 170 TDs or whatever number there are there must be hundreds of staff who work in the building as well

Mute Bernie McGarry
    Favourite Bernie McGarry
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:05 PM

@Seanie: The Staff perhaps

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:11 PM

@Bernie McGarry: it’s only for 18 bikes ffs

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:00 PM

@Seanie: sure didn’t ryan want to dig up the car park to grow weeds, so the tds couldn’t drive to leinster house.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:02 PM

@Seanie: having been in the Dail their bike stands are never full, ever! Some of the bikes attached look deserted too!

Mute Eileen Kelly
    Favourite Eileen Kelly
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:30 PM

@Shane O Neill: The article says it is for to accommodate 18 bicycles .
    “A NEW BICYCLE shed for Leinster House which allows for storage of eighteen bikes cost more than €335,000″. It is unspeakable that so much of our money was spent like this but as we have no say in these matters, the squandering will continue uninterrupted.

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Sep 1st 2024, 6:09 PM

@Gary Kearney: It will be a bit like the Dail creche, where TD’s having spent a fortune on it for themselves, couldn’t get a place in it because the Dail Staff took most of them AND no benefit in kind taxes.

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:38 PM

Shur they can get away with anything, look at today’s poll, 2/3 of people want a FF FG government. They should build one for a million next time

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:34 PM

I’ll do it for the one-time bargain price of €300k. In the national interest, of course.

Mute Furious George - The Wasp
    Favourite Furious George - The Wasp
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:40 PM

@honey badger: chuckled at this mr badger

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:08 PM

How in the name of jesus does it cost 355000 to build a bicycle shed. A shed for bicycles. Does it have underfloor heating and a cinema in it

Mute Paul Doheny
    Favourite Paul Doheny
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:29 PM

Wow

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Sep 1st 2024, 5:02 PM

@Paul Doheny: OPW …Office of public wonders otherwise known as the puzzle palace

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:33 PM

Its worth noting that twitter was banned in Brazil on Friday and the mainstream media are saying nothing, anywhere…Getting a monopoly on information for the benefit of our beloved benevolent ruling class is a joy to be behold, huh.

Mute IzwvqAph
    Favourite IzwvqAph
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:37 PM

@Dere: It’s on here, RTE, Virgin. Are ya expecting a carrier pigeon directly to your gaff?

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111

@Dere: Musk is the polar opposite of a responsible and competent source of information. There are degrees of untrustworthiness. Pointing out just how bad Musk is doesn’t imply anyone else is great, just that Musk himself is terrible.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:39 PM

@Dere: There was an article on it on this site yesterday, and all the other ‘mainstream media’ have reported on it too, so ‘the mainstream media are saying nothing, anywhere’ is a barefaced lie.

https://www.thejournal.ie/who-does-musk-think-he-is-brazil-block-on-x-comes-into-effect-after-judges-order-6476029-Aug2024/

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:39 PM

@Numinous20111: Not like RTE so?

Mute IzwvqAph
    Favourite IzwvqAph

@Brendan O’Brien: I already said it. Shush Factor 50.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:41 PM

@Numinous20111: purely from an observational point of view it seems that’s it’s all good when Socialists become totalitarian….if it was the previous government you wouldn’t have heard the end of it…..20th century alive and well.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:44 PM

@Dere: I dont know what the actual fk you’re talking about as it’s been on every major news outlet. Eejit.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:47 PM

@Dere: There are good reasons for the Brazilian ban. It’s a reaction to a would-be totalitarian (Musk).

Mute IzwvqAph
    Favourite IzwvqAph
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:51 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Common sense is chasing you Factor 50, but you’re like Usain Bolt.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:54 PM

@Dere: lol. It’s literally been on every news channel across the globe. (Fox, CNN, BBC, Russia today, la Monde, Berlin morning post, NY times and even RTE!) And I think X made some references to it too.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:00 PM

@IzwvqAph: I’ll take your obsession with me as a weird kind of compliment. I don’t suppose anyone has ever been obsessed with you.

Mute IzwvqAph
    Favourite IzwvqAph
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:03 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: I’ve a barring order against your ma.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:07 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: how exactly is musk a would-be totalitarian? Is it just because he allows speech you don’t agree with? I find it funny how he went from a media darling to the devil overnight once he bought twitter and then people like you start thinking he’s a dictator or something!

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:18 PM

@Dere: As opposed to our benevolent billionaire who has a clear Pro Trump, anti Union, anti Trans, anti anything he doesn’t like agenda

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:12 PM

@Dere: are you going to say WHY it was shut down in Brazil?
    Or are you go going to hide behind free speech?
    Musk fan boy

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:14 PM

@Dere: you have no idea what you are taking about ,just shouting into the void

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:31 PM

@John K: Musk is a “would-be totalitarian”, because he does allow anti-democratic people acting on his platform at free will, lying, inciting hate on “alternative facts”.
    From Trump, not accepting the election, to Brazil, with ex-government members attacking the democratic decisions of the people.
    They caught him on a formality, not having a legal representer in Brazil.
    Musk believed (again) he’s too rich and powerful and can do what he wants, and lost (for now).
    He’s trying to influence actively politics in countries to his liking.
    Twitter has become an anti-democratic cesspit under his rule and is just free speech platform in disguise.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:04 PM

@Dere: Where have you got your head placed for your observation?

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Sep 1st 2024, 5:28 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: all of what you described is just speech you don’t agree with. I don’t agree with a lot of it but the problem is who gets to decide what is “hate speech” it won’t always be someone you agree with who decides.

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:06 PM

@Dere: I only watch msm and I’ve heard about it

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Sep 2nd 2024, 2:59 AM

@John K: Freedom of speech and freedom to spread misinformation are not the same thing. If you cannot tell the difference, and many can’t, you just need to watch for when your favourite politician is in favour of their own freedom to speak but not in favour of other people calling them out on their lies.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Sep 2nd 2024, 4:19 AM

@Paul Ennis: who decides what is misinformation? Do you expect Musk/X to carry out independent research anytime someone posts something that is contested? The answer to bad speech is more speech. Not sure what point you’re trying to make in your last sentence, no reasonable person or Musk is in favour of limiting people’s rights to call out politicians on their lies.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:58 PM

Could they’ve got a couple of sheds and padlocks. Store them around the back. Then, put the leftover money into getting special needs children educated.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:03 PM

@Annette: or the poor children with crooked spines

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:07 PM

@Geoff Bateman: in all fairness, the government gave extra money to cover the spinal surgery however the HSE decided to spend it elsewhere. Public sector needs root and branch reform as these people have no idea of budgets and sticking to them.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:35 PM

The OPW said a business case was “not needed”. The OPW refused to provide scoping documents for “security reasons”. [Quote from article] However, the Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl replied to say it was “extremely unlikely” that planning permission would be provided and that the existing facilities were underused. [End quote]. I imagine that a “We cannot comment on individual cases” statement is imminent. I’m not levelling blame on everyone who works for the OPW, but whoever was in charge of this work obviously knew how things work when your direct clients are the members of the Oireachtas.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:05 PM

@Numinous20111: The head of the Labour Party trying to greenwash themselves. Also trying to keep her seat!

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor

Was the builder another “friend” of fianna fail?

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:34 PM

@Michael o connor: Bertie’s pal – Bob the Builder.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:01 PM

@Michael o connor: Thomas MC Feeney. Hé buried 300k in the bicycle shed.,but can’t find it now

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:36 PM

They should be made to pay for the shed out of their own pockets. Not out of unvouched expenses but out of their salary. These risible pigs waste so much of taxpayer’s money on a fu. cking bike shed when thousands are homeless. Get rid of the Green party once and for all.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:04 PM

@Gerry Lamont: you will still be left with the same officials, bar maybe suggesting a bike shed politicians wouldn’t have been involved with this. Now repeat across the whole public sector and you see why we don’t seem to have good services for the level of tax we pay.

Mute Mick Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mick Fitzsimons
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:19 PM

Scandalous waste of money.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:01 PM

It is just unbelievable what this Green Party can imbibe on the people of Ireland. That is a disgusting amount of money to be spent on building a Shed. There will be a come up pane for the Green Party at the next election but it won’t put that money back in the Coffers

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Sep 1st 2024, 10:25 PM

@Geoff Bateman: Doubt it’s anything to do with the Greens. This is trademark FF/FG overspending on a tender that the company will coincidentally behind will coincidentally have some personal or business connection to a cabinet member.

For years all of these kind of contracts that went dramatically over budget would wind up accepted by various different DOB owned companies until Catherine Murphy raised it to public attention.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:10 PM

Don’t forget the 50k/ annum maintenance fee

Mute Brian Tierney
    Favourite Brian Tierney
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:23 PM

Could someone find out if bikes actually fit in to it???

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:53 PM

€18k per bike. The waste of taxpayers money continues unabated.

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:23 PM

Eamon that rides to work with his bike in the boot

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:47 PM

As always there’s more to this construction “project” than meets the eye – there always is but none the less it’s gob smacking all the same and if the story is as reported simply just wow!! I hope the government now understand the rip.off that Ireland has become for EVERYTHING. No value to be had anywhere.

Mute Brendan Farrell
    Favourite Brendan Farrell
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:49 PM

@Thomas Meaney: this has Paddy the Plasterer written all over it!

Mute Denis Hourihane
    Favourite Denis Hourihane
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:14 PM

God forbid Eamon and his cronies might have to walk for three minutes, and place the bike shed in a less ‘sensitive’ location, slightly further from the front door of the building. Of course, you probably have to be seen ‘arriving’ on you’re bike, thus a more remote bike shed location would be futile.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:01 PM

It gets more comical as each day goes by, would be celebrity politicians and now this, Ireland never short of a good few laughs.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:47 PM

OPW refused to release the scoping documents for security reasons, it’s a bicycle shed, not Garda Intelligence HQ, ffs. Hiding the facts from the public behind an excuse just like Govt & RTE hid behind the Non Disclosure Agreements to the RTE crew, no transparency anymore & Harris & RTE shouting about Misinformation. The country is sliding down a river of sleaze. A local Multinational company built a Bicycle shed & Motorbike shed, 50 Bikes & 10 Motorbikes for just over €35K, it’s fully covered in, has security door access & cameras & is built with high quality materials & non slip floor. The cost of this Bike Shed which is obviously not covered in, is an absolute scandal & an abuse of Taxpayers money. The Largesse in RTE & the Dail continues, criminal behavior.

Mute Peter White
    Favourite Peter White
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:13 PM

Truly shocking

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:44 PM

Easy to spend other people’s money!

Mute S Os
    Favourite S Os
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:05 PM

Did they not have a spare closet/room/ shed they could have used. That’s an absolutely crazy waste of money

Mute John K
    Favourite John K

What’s the big deal, it’s only 18,611 per bike space. Bargain!

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:41 PM

It’s a bike shed … Eamon Ryan should hang his head in shame at this expense. You could hire a full time security guard for 6 years (?one already not on site) at this expense to guard this “underutilised” shed!

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Sep 1st 2024, 1:44 PM

I’d do it for 200K then farm it out for 50K, You’re Welcome. All the Best.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:59 PM

Par for the course in Leinster House, remember when they purchased a near 1 million euro printer that wouldn’t fit in the door? Has this bike shed got Valet parking or something, ridiculous expense

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:50 PM

Could you imagine the insane ineptitude the Metro would cost

Mute paul dutton
    Favourite paul dutton
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:31 PM

But yet the normal Joe soap needs planning permission to install a shed in his back garden.

Mute Liam Walsh
    Favourite Liam Walsh
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:15 PM

What a scandalous waste of public money, will someone get that tosser Eamon Ryan and waste of space Green party out of decision making their stupid policies are costing Ireland a fortune

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:26 PM

Did paddy the plasterer do the walls?

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey

LMAO
    great bunch of lads.

Mute MM
    Favourite MM
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:29 PM

Not sure what all the school kids relying on donations from parent groups and waiting years to provide bike sheds in their school yards ought to think of this really. We could perhaps recommend TDs to use foldable bikes that could be carried into their own offices which presumably don’t lack space for it?

Mute Ali123
    Favourite Ali123
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:09 PM

Ridiculous waste of money. Plastic bag over the saddle would be fine. Why do bikes require underfloor heating or whatever- their purpose is to provide transport outdoors in all weathers surely.

Mute D F
    Favourite D F
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:10 PM

As was once quoted, “It’s not funny when it’s your money.”

Mute den
    Favourite den

Look at brendan O’brien’s comments in this article, about twitter!!! Nothing at all about the massive waste of money for a ducking bike shelter, not even a proper shed!!! Ffs.
    Goodman brendan keep up the good work for the government. P#ick

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade

On yer bike..

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:43 PM

€355000 for a lean-to and a couple of bicycle stands, are these people for fk n real !!

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:56 PM

Eamon Ryan is out on his own in terms of incompetence, this is a man with over 10 Advisors. Does anybody in Journalism analyse the damage this man has done to Ireland, Data Centres now using more Energy than all urban homes in Ireland, Generators bought by his Dept left in the Docklands as they are too heavy to transport over the M50, Electric Buses left in a Depot for 18 months as there was no charging facilities for them, Dublin Airport shambles, now his Bike Shed, probably the most expensively built Bike Shed in the world. His colleague Catherine Martin overseeing the RTE scandal, Roderic O Gorman flooding the country with people costing the State Billions & services at the point of collapse. Greens can never be in power again, they have destroyed Ireland.

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:51 PM

Can’t wait to see who uses it.. and how often.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Sep 1st 2024, 5:29 PM

@stephen deegan:
    They need to be photographed with their bikes every day to make sure this expensive shed is being fully used.

Mute Fran Mooney
    Favourite Fran Mooney
    Sep 1st 2024, 2:55 PM

Criminal is what it is,another vanity project by the looney left in kildare street,this is total madness the lunatics have really taken over the asylum

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican

Well done the greens

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:35 PM

Wonder how much it cost to tarmac the lawns at the front. A billion for a ring road in galway, with peoples homes demolished, no one bats an eyelid…

Mute pat
    Favourite pat
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:32 PM

Hope they Have A bed in it For Ryannn

Mute Philip Slevin
    Favourite Philip Slevin
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:08 PM

I’d say that there’s going to be scrapping every day amongst all the TD’s to get space in it for their bikes, and the Garda will have to get involved.

Mute Kevin O Gorman
    Favourite Kevin O Gorman
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:00 PM

Is that the final bill or will there been more add ons , if it’s not fully covered, BAM probably got the job, so the sky’s the limit as to the final figure

Mute Frank Heffernan
    Favourite Frank Heffernan
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:51 PM

How many spaces? I assume 2000?

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Sep 1st 2024, 4:13 PM

FFS

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:25 PM

Ffs

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:54 PM

sums up eamon Ryan in a sentence …a waste of public money

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Sep 1st 2024, 6:11 PM

Get the TD’s to pay for it themselves.

Mute matthew donoghue
    Favourite matthew donoghue
    Sep 1st 2024, 6:28 PM

Who cares about the brake down of costs for a bike shed, lets see the break of costs for the children’s hospital.

Mute edward killeen
    Favourite edward killeen
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:02 PM

Probably the same lad’s who are building the children’s hospital doing a little” Nixer”.

Mute Michael O'Carroll
    Favourite Michael O'Carroll
    Sep 1st 2024, 5:48 PM

Great to think that, if I go to see my TD in the Dail, there will be a safe, dry and secure place for me to park my Eamon Ryan inspired electric bike. Will there be recharging facilities?

Mute Ita O Mahony
    Favourite Ita O Mahony
    Sep 1st 2024, 8:27 PM

How many modular homes could be built for the homeless. This is a revolting use of taxpayer money. I’m so furious at this entitled government. And as for Eamon Ryan. Has there ever been a more selfish airhead in government.

Mute Dee Deee
    Favourite Dee Deee
    Sep 1st 2024, 8:52 PM

Someone … getting a lot of money to build a bike shed .. you scratch my back

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:53 PM

BAM! BAM!

Mute Jessica Dorrian
    Favourite Jessica Dorrian
    Sep 1st 2024, 7:09 PM

Could have gotten 18 brand new 300 euro bikes every year for the next 62 years for that money.

I suppose a new bike each year wouldn’t be that ‘green’? Maybe donate them after a year, and you’ve actually done something for the public?

Mute Patrick O'Leary
    Favourite Patrick O'Leary
    Sep 1st 2024, 11:29 PM

My God – involve the good ol’ OPW in any project whatsoever + watch the bill morph into many multiples of what it should be…..

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Sep 1st 2024, 8:55 PM

I assume they needed planning permission, can’t access the CoCo website, anyone want to give it a try to find out the scope?

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Sep 1st 2024, 10:33 PM

Do they not realise that’s taxpayers money that they are spending

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Sep 2nd 2024, 2:12 AM

I don’t know how this isn’t getting more airtime. 335k to park 18 bikes! When it comes to politicians and expenses etc. they don’t mind flushing taxpayer money down the toilet when spending it on themselves. How can this be justified? They have tried to say when finally scrutinised that it is in a sensitive location etc. Them don’t put a bike shed there then. Certainly not one that costs the same price as a house those these days you wouldn’t even get much for that.

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Sep 1st 2024, 8:00 PM

Sinn feint could build 2 houses for that amount would anybody except the people with the use of tax payers money privately pay that for 18 bike stands not even enclosed what is wrong no accountability opw we will run this waste of money

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 1st 2024, 8:59 PM

It’s hilarious never ends

Mute higgy636
    Favourite higgy636
    Sep 2nd 2024, 7:37 AM

I am fed up of reading about gross misuse of public funds, it saddens, annoys, angers and frustrates me. This is only todays example, there will be another tomorrow and next week and so on. There is zero accountability and they can do as they wish with it, we are a beaten spineless race.

Mute Paul Dunphy
    Favourite Paul Dunphy
    Sep 1st 2024, 10:32 PM

Really fora bike shed..what kind of people have we running the government they don’t even cycle to work and if they did they might notice all the homeless people.That money could be put towards something that is for the people that need help

Mute Michael McKenna
    Favourite Michael McKenna
    Sep 1st 2024, 3:25 PM

W2w15#5○|||•#0 》”٪

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Sep 1st 2024, 10:11 PM

Disgusting, no other words

Mute Joe Ivers
    Favourite Joe Ivers
    Sep 1st 2024, 6:07 PM

Don’t mind me

Anyone got any vaseline?

*bends over*

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Sep 2nd 2024, 12:46 AM

Gosh what’s new it’s the government

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 2nd 2024, 10:35 AM

So, if you’re a citizen and want a bicycle shed, it goest to An Bord Planeala and gets refused. But Leinster House squanders the price of an entire house on 18 bicycles and gets no PP ? https://irishcycle.com/2024/07/21/an-bord-pleanala-writes-16-page-report-rejecting-bicycle-shed-but-owner-now-might-replace-it-with-trailer-which-isnt-covered-by-planning-laws/

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Sep 2nd 2024, 5:18 AM

Back to Celtic Ireland squandering public money. What a rip off!!!

Mute Fran Carroll
    Favourite Fran Carroll
    Sep 2nd 2024, 8:59 AM

I hope the bikes won’t melt like the chocolate did in that million euro shop they built at the gates of Leinster House , oh that’s gone

Mute Llennoc
    Favourite Llennoc
    Sep 2nd 2024, 10:23 AM

20k per bike. Yeah that’s great value for money, said nobody ever!

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 2nd 2024, 7:33 AM

They have just noticed that the more they blow money on stupid things the more popular they get. Who is this a reflection on,them or ……..

Mute Grainne Kelly
    Favourite Grainne Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2024, 5:00 PM

Remember this kind of abuse of taxpayers money by the current government when it come to the next General Election. Scandalous !!

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 2nd 2024, 6:26 PM

I bet there’s charging points for electric bikes and they’re free to use. No bik there . If only a journalist would investigate this?