You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The stage set up for the concert this weekend. Danny Lawson PA Wire/PA Images

Over '10,000 unscrupulous applications' made for free tickets to Manchester benefit gig

Ticketmaster said it was aiming to ensure that “opportunists and touts” do not get their hands on tickets for the gig.

TICKETMASTER HAS SET aside 14,200 free tickets for Sunday’s benefit concert for Manchester victims, but it said that over 10,000 “unscrupulous applications” were made for these tickets.

The free tickets were set aside for those who attended the Ariana Grande concert on 22 May, where 22 people died following a suicide bombing.

The ticket seller said that it was aiming to ensure that “opportunists and touts” do not get their hands on tickets for the gig.

One Love Manchester will take place at Old Trafford cricket ground, and will also be broadcast live on the BBC from 7pm on Sunday.

A star-studded line up is set to feature, with Ariana Grande set to sing live for the first time since the terror attack.

Joining her are Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Robbie Williams, Coldplay, Miley Cyrus, Pharrell Williams, Take That and others.

Net ticket proceeds will go to the “We Love Manchester Emergency Fund” set up by the local council and the British Red Cross, to help the grieving families and victims.

A number of free tickets, however, were set aside for those who’d attended Ariana Grande.

Ticketmaster said in a statement: “We have set aside tickets for the 14,200 people who were at the Ariana Grande concert to attend One Love Manchester for free.

More than 25,000 people applied for them. Sadly, over 10,000 unscrupulous applications have been made.
At Ticketmaster we are doing everything we can – including extending today’s deadline – to ensure that tickets go to the actual fans and not the opportunists or touts who have also been applying for free tickets.

Grande said that the nothing would heal the pain of those who have lost loved ones, but that music “is meant to heal us, to bring us together”.

She said in a statement: “We will continue to honour the ones we lost, their loved ones, my fans and all affected by this tragedy. They will be on my mind and in my heart everyday and I will think of them with everything I do for the rest of my life.”

Read: Police tell public ‘we need your help’ as they release new CCTV of Manchester bomber

Read: Ariana Grande, Justin Bieber and Miley Cyrus among stars to play Manchester gig on Sunday

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Red Hugh
    Favourite Red Hugh
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:44 AM

Comparing protestors, the overwhelming majority of whom were peaceful, to fascism/fascists is not only distasteful, but historically and intellectually ignorant.

Definition of fascism: A system of government marked by centralization of authority under a dictator, a capitalist economy subject to stringent governmental controls, violent suppression of the opposition, and typically a policy of belligerent nationalism and racism.

There was absolutely nothing even closely resembling fascism at that demonstration and anyone with half a brain would know that.

On the otherhand, iPhone Joan is a member of a government that through taxation is exerting more influence over its citizens lives than any government to date and meanwhile we have a leader who eschews debate in favour of packaged “state of the nation” type addresses and personal attacks. He had ministers who used ministerial powers to access information that was then used to smear opponents. Quangos filled with favoured party members. All undemocratic, and all leading towards a stronger central government.

Sound familiar Joan?

Mute Seamus Larkin
    Favourite Seamus Larkin
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:40 AM

It is a pity the fascist left and fascist right are involved in this legitimate public protest over water. As ever they will destroy and create violence where ever they can. Shameful behaviour

Mute Billy Morton
    Favourite Billy Morton
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:44 AM

Don’t forget the “Economic Management Council”, a four person body, consisting of the Taoiseach, the Tánaiste, and Ministers of Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform. Fits the definition of “centralization of authority under a dictator” in this case, four people deciding the faith of the nation and using the cabinate and an overwhelming parliamentary majority to rubberstamp their policies. Also “a capitalist economy subject to stringent governmental controls”, pretty much where we are now. Finally “violent suppression of the opposition”, well, there are plenty of videos showing how protesters are handled by the arms of the state at this point in time.

Guess what Joan, it looks like you are part of a fascist regime!!!

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:14 AM

The word fascism is thrown about without any clue as to its true meaning these days.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:25 AM

Faith of the nation? Don’t think so…..lol

Mute Richie Tyndall
    Favourite Richie Tyndall
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:32 AM

One of the first acts of this renegade government was to get rid of the town councils thereby removing what little power people had a local level. This could be seen as fascism at work.

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:13 AM

Ah Joan. You’ll be remembered as the person who lead Ireland’s oldest political party to extinction. Keep it up you’re doing a fine job of it.

Mute Máirtín Ó hAodha 父
    Favourite Máirtín Ó hAodha 父
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:38 AM

Connolly is turning in his grave!

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:51 AM

Kevin you are to gentle. Joan has not said she reflected on the ignition of fascism. For example the ignition switch was turned when Labour stood by and let the middle class become the new working poor. Labour is pushing for levy taxes which are exempt from tax relief. Labour spit the words ” off balance sheet ” like Marie Antoinette spAt at the French ” let them eat cake if they cannot afford bread”.

As a minister Joan has accused pensioners of incest relations with family members consider her Gestapo riot social welfare fraud squad took pension books off pensioners because a relation sibling was living in the house.

Joan brain is so fixed of peasant ideology towards us , she now considers us as beneath this government shoe, and they treat us like dirt. Election drawing near and the longer Joan puts that off the closer Labour become extinct.

To imprison any person I don’t agree with, but in early new year the biggest story of government corruption will be told. I feel sorry for the families who lost a male in the stardust fire disaster. They will be very hurt and devastated come the new year. God forgive this government.

Mute Doc Benway
    Favourite Doc Benway
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:18 AM

James Connolly is now spinning in his grave so fast, that it has begun to effect the length of the day. If this keeps up we won’t need a leap year soon.

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:30 AM

She’s kind of right. A leader who’s part of an insulated cabal of four, who who needs protection from the anger of the masses, by using a police force and other instruments of the state, to instill their will on the people. (Water Meters, Property Tax etc) So in a weird way I can see parallels too.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:50 AM

All old Joan was worried about was getting home in time for tea

Mute Sean Butler
    Favourite Sean Butler
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:12 PM

You do talk utter crap

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:46 PM

She’s a partner in the most fascist government ever to steward the state!

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:41 PM

In her position I would have thought “What have I done to drive law abiding, hard working citizens to this extreme? ” Of course she has taken the “more sinned against than sinned” stance. I hope she never has to hear a bailiff beating at the door or a bank representitive demanding the keys of your car. Neither representive of or for the Irish people. Is that the democracy she mentions? The wholesale betrayal of the majority to placate the few? Watching people emigrate, others driven to suicide, stress, despair, anxiety and fear so they (all of them…every party!) can trot out their soundbites to journalists and conduct a parliament like their own private bloody circus! Shame on every one of them! They may as well be on the space station for all the good they are!

Dec 23rd 2014, 1:27 AM

Oh dear, how sad, never mind Joan zzzzzzz

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 24th 2014, 2:37 PM

This must be what their advisors are telling them to say. It has to be the woest govt in the history of the state for PR. People are wise now this doesn’t work anymore.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 24th 2014, 2:39 PM

Labour ever so increasingly traversing towards the black hole of the green party.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:08 AM

Keep it up Joan – it’s stupid statements like this that are burying you & Labour. If you’re not doing anything over your three week Christmas holiday perhaps you should look up the word ‘perspective’ and perhaps by the time you return to the Dail you may know what that means at least!!

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:34 AM

Absolutely, what cretinous comment to make. Talk about kicking what’s left of her and Labour’s bucket from beneath themselves.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:49 AM

All highly charged stuff on here from people who only a few days later stand idly by when a single woman and her family are terrorised on a daily basis in their homes by little tykes in this same community. Why is water charges unacceptable and criminal behaviour is ?

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Favourite Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:58 AM

Well said David, the same people who picketed Tallaght Garda station while the Maria Cahill allegations hit the headlines – nothing more than deflection tactics, most of us seen through this

Mute Coddler Mooney
    Favourite Coddler Mooney
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:47 AM

David,

Anti social and criminal behavior which terrorizes people in their homes isn’t acceptable. While canvassing in Jobstown last October, I was with AAA councilor Brian Leech when he challenged a large group of teenagers who had congregated and were throwing fireworks at the front door/windows of a local immigrant family.
    When we spoke to them, most of the youngsters were decent enough and admitted that they would hate to see their own families harassed like this and so agreed to stop.
    It’s a small example but it shows that community solidarity is the solution to anti social behavior. Solidarity is also the antidote to the latest banker tax masquerading as water charges where hundreds of thousands have people are becoming politically aware and active and it scares the cozy establishment to its marrow.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:10 AM

@Coddler. I agree 100% with people power and dignified protest. I just listened to Paul Murphy painfully struggling to justify what he considers peaceful protest and yet not a word about what I consider to be a national disgrace of vulnerable people being targeted and harassed in their homes.

Mute Coddler Mooney
    Favourite Coddler Mooney
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:51 AM

David,

It’s not reasonable to expect Murphy to address whatever topics you happen to have on your mind and regardless of the questions an interviewer puts to him.
    If he was asked, I imagine Murphy would give much the same response as I have above in regard to tackling anti social behavior in the community. Or you can easily put the question to him yourself. http://www.paulmurphy2014.com/

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:59 PM

Murphy is an idi#t who just got lucky & the next election will see the back of him please god. Every interview I listen to with him he sprouts absolute garbage. He speaks of the poor yet he still manages to suck as much money out of the taxpayer as the rest of the TD’s in Leinster house through excessive salaries & expenses

Mute Coddler Mooney
    Favourite Coddler Mooney
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:18 PM

It wasn’t luck that won Murphy the by-election. Sinn Fein had taken a weak and ineffective position in relation to opposing the Water charges which was exposed by the AAA during the campaign with a clear call for a mass boycott. This ultimately cost SF a seat which they were red hot favorites to take.

The Socialist Party/AAA TDs and councillors are not careerists. Their objective is to fight for a socialist alternative to improve conditions for the majority in society. Joe Higgins and Ruth Coppinger take the average industrial wage (34k) from their TDs salaries and expenses. Paul Murphy takes the average young person’s wage (22k). The remainder of their salaries and allowances are used to fund the various campaigns which the Socialist Party/AAA support nationally and internationally including the current Water charges campaign. Nobody is living the high life on expenses in the SP/AAA.

Neither does the SP/AA receive the millions that FF/FG/Labour and SF take from the exchequer each year under the Electoral Acts legislation and Party Leaders allowance.

In 2013 the figures were

FF €2.8 million
    FG €4.9 million
    SF €1.8 million
    Labour €3.0 million

SP €74 thousand

http://m.sipo.gov.ie/en/About-Us/News/Press-Releases/2014-Press-Releases/Exchequer-Funding-Party-Leaders-Allowance.html

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:34 PM

Coddled that doesn’t wash with me so stop playing with words. Murphy & Co still extract the maximum from the taxpayer by claiming their full salaries. If they wish to donate it to some backward party that’s their business, the point is they still claim the same amount as any FG or Labour TD through their excessive salaries & expenses. If they want to live on the average industrial wage let them give the remainder back to the taxpayers where it could be used housing some of the homeless! I listened to Coppinger recently God what planet is she on? She sprouts out the same policies that destroyed Eastern Europe and forced millions to live in destitute, maybe North Korea would be ideal for her?

Mute Coddler Mooney
    Favourite Coddler Mooney
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:47 PM

I don’t care if you wash or not blueshirt hack. The AAA/Socialist Party make no apologies for using state funding to help unite and organize people to fight back against all the vicious attacks of neo liberal jackboot capitalism including Water charges, Home tax, USC, Health and Education cutbacks ands the extra 3 years added to our working lives etc etc etc.

We’ve already helped to save ordinary families €300 to €400 annually on their water bills with the government’s hasty retreat in the face of mass opposition so the SP/AAA salaries and expenses are very well spent.

The homeless epidemic and the water charges are both symptoms of the same problem. That is the ransacking of the nation to pay for the systemic failure of speculative financial capitalism in 2008. Ireland will hand €9 billion to the IMF this month while it’s citizens are fired onto the streets to prop up the balance sheets of the delinquent banks. And all the while you and your kind cheerlead the orgy of capitalist greed. Be off, you unclean parasite!

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 22nd 2014, 2:11 PM

Coddler you need some specialist help & I feel sorry for your anger, take a deep breath there’s a good lad! Maybe a holiday in your beloved North Korea might help? I obviously touched a raw truth with you !

Mute bernard mc donnell
    Favourite bernard mc donnell
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:43 AM

Give it a rest woman,you have milked this to death

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:47 AM

Ha… And the Anti everything crowd don’t?

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:37 AM

I’m confused. I thought it was Joan and the rest of the government who have been behaving like facists.

Mute Amused Bystander
    Favourite Amused Bystander
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:47 AM

No….they’re just a democratically elected government…..

Deciding what laws to obey or not obey is more akin to facism, albeit Paul would need to get into government and become a sole dictator for that to happen…

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:20 AM

Democratically elected? Yes. Acting in the best interests of the people who elected them? No.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:15 AM

Amused – deciding what laws to obey or not obey is anarchy – not fascism. Fascism is characterised by an expectation of total conformity and an unquestioning obedience to the authority of the state. I’ll let you figure out for yourself where the parallels with fascism lie in this country.

Mute Cathal Cullinane
    Favourite Cathal Cullinane
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:35 AM

She doesn’t look too worried about the ‘parallels with fascism’ as she sits there with a smirk on her face.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:39 AM

Joan and Enda have brought 5 years of despair to every disadvantaged community in Ireland. What a hypocrite.

Mute Simon Burke
    Favourite Simon Burke
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:06 AM

Yes Cathal. She was thrilled to be imprisioned by a mob. Idiot. I respect left of centre politicians (and right of centre). I despise with a special loathing mob and street agitators like that low life Murphy. And of course extremists such as SF.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Cathal Cullinane
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:28 AM

Imprisoned? She’s sitting in a car. And I’m the idiot? Righto.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:45 AM

If she is worried about extreme fascists as all she need do is look in the mirror. Or across the table at the government partners.

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:13 AM

My heart bleeds for her.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:18 AM

So were the two cops in New York. I think it must have been absolutely terrifying. This is a democracy. She was elected. You can change that at the next election.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:22 AM

Simon, she was hardly imprisoned. And SF are hardly extremists.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:22 AM

Was she not been protected by members of the force ?!?! Or are my aging eyes deceiving me :( Pathetic electioneering from an old dinosaur !

Mute Cathal Cullinane
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:39 AM

Granted, the two cops were sitting in a car. They were also cold heartedly executed. Was poor Joan subject to any violence? Apart from being made to sit on her tod for an hour or two. Bless her cotton socks.

Mute Kevin Harte
    Favourite Kevin Harte
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:42 AM

The two cops in New York? They were shot in the head, what has that got to do with this story?

Mute Brian McCarthy
    Favourite Brian McCarthy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:42 AM

Simon the Taliban are extremists Sinn Fein are a political party. You silly billy.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:57 AM

Silly woman. Keep doing what you’re doing and that could probably result in fascism.

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:12 AM

Spot on Simon, the lefty looneys & apologists for the populist party are out in force on the journal this morning- they just love listening to themselves, boring tw#ts

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:24 PM

JB has some cheek, her and the imposter champagne socialists in league with FG hijacked the entity that was the labour party and used it as a vehicle to ram home dodgy legislation while FG can stand back with clean hands and blame it all on the patsy party. These imposters in suits masquerading as politicians used the same patsy party model that hijacked the PD’s and green party to manipulate the Dail to their own ends while ensuring the survival of the big two FF/FG. Just remember this JB and your scheming counterparts, the Dail your plotting in is OUR house.

They underestimated the the intellect and intelligence of the Irish people when they tried to implement water charges using state media as a tool to hoodwink the populace into their grand scheme and they panicked when people became wise to their plotting, blaming and tarring hard pressed ordinary people for daring to exercise their demographic right to protest.

Irish people don’t do protests but when they do rise the focus of their protests should heed the warning, their wrath won’t stop until the whole rotten lot is brought to heel, it will be felt all the way to the top, the trillionaire money families and bankers that finance and hire the DOB’ of this world should know this, OUR WATER IS NOT FOR SALE.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:46 PM

IPhone Joan from the (now finished) Socialite Party, sneers down at the people who voted for her and her pre election lies.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Dec 22nd 2014, 4:47 PM

Joan should look at her government partners if she wants a good example of fascism.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:46 PM

Yes leftie looneys defending facism! Now that would be looney. How democratic will you be when SF comes to power? Not a lot I suspect.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:40 AM

Joan get a life you were voted in to do the job you said you would do and then you turned your back on the people, i don’t condone what the people in Tallagh did but can fully understand their anger. You should have kept your political word.

Mute Gareth Lynch
    Favourite Gareth Lynch
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:36 AM

Speak to your blueshirt buddy Joan, he knows plenty about fascism

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:33 AM

She knows its intellectually ignorant to come out with such nonsense, but she says it anyway, because she’s so desperate to find ways to discredit her biggest critics.

There is quite literally nowhere lower for the Labour Party to stoop at this point. What would James Connolly think of her outrageous remarks I wonder.

Mute Amused Bystander
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:51 AM

yawn

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:57 AM

Amused Bystander must be tired from operating all his troll accounts.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:46 AM

‘Facism should more properly be called corporatism, since it is the merger of state and corporate power.’ -Benito Mussolini.
    So basically, if anyone is a facist,its the FG/LAB government!

Mute Al Fonso
    Favourite Al Fonso
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:44 AM

Typing this from my iPhone, so I know Joan believes I have no reasons to complain, but maybe if she wasn’t in power with the blue shirts she wouldn’t have to worry about fascism so much. Just saying.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:16 AM

How about if she was in power with the “camouflage” shirts? Would that be…better?

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:25 AM

How about if she was in power wearing her own shirt, namely the one of the Labour party, one party that cares about workers rights, and lower income families, and fair taxation that doesn’t try to squeeze every effing penny from those that earn the least? A party that cares about social mobility and not about what the Troika wants.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:10 AM

@Emilio Ah….those were the days.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:30 AM

In Joan’s world;

Peaceful protest = fascism
    Being allowed to freely talk shite in The Dáil = democracy

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:59 AM

Peaceful?

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:27 AM

Just yesterday we were talking about the rise of fascism in Spain with the new law that fines 600 euros to people that ‘insult the police’. So peaceful protests have been criminalised. They are all reading from the same script!

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:34 AM

you know you can have a peaceful protest without insulting the police? I thought that was the idea behind a peaceful protest.

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Dec 22nd 2014, 2:56 PM

Except that you are missing that it is not necessary for anyone to actually insult the police in order for the police state that you did.

All a policeman has to do is say you insulted him and fine you €600. Which is a month’s salary for many spaniards.

Also, freedom of expression? Know what that means? There is a big difference between an insult and a brick. Freedom of expression never really existed in Spain, now all pretence is gone.

Mute Jack Murphy
    Favourite Jack Murphy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:41 AM

Joan is worried she’s becoming a fascist ?

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:16 AM

Perhaps Joan, you and your colleagues should maybe look to yourselves and ask what have you done that has driven people to this?

Mute Amused Bystander
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:50 AM

Yeah!

You were elected to…….oh yeah, fix the economy, get our spending in order, reduce the deficit….

seeing as though the deficit is still out of control, looks like they should be taxing more and cutting more…..just like they were elected to do!

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:13 AM

Well if four years of austerity politics hasn’t reduced the deficit, then it’s not working.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Dec 22nd 2014, 6:42 AM

Little timid Joan, I don’t think so,she is a hard nosed politician,not that easily intimidated.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:53 AM

Her comments just highlight the disconnect between our political elite and the ordinary folk. This Government have left the majority with a survival wage and when they start eating into that, they should expect civilian unrest at every turn.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909

The absolute hypocrisy of this woman with her snout resolutely stuck in the trough is beyond belief. You and Gilmore have destroyed the Irish Labour Party. You will get your comeuppance at the next general election when your party is wiped out.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:40 AM

Well said!

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:03 AM

Probably the worst comment to make about people who voted for you after your party is on 5 – 6% in three polls … We won’t forget or forgive!

Mute Paul Fanshawe
    Favourite Paul Fanshawe
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:20 AM

And I suppose that Joanie is our left-wing bulwark against Fascism, seeing that she’s doing such a good job at controlling the fascistic agenda of the Blueshirts.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:28 AM

I’m sorry, but this woman is an idiot. An insulting one to boot.

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:11 AM

Poor joan .if she was more worried about the people who she is ment to serve this would have not happened. She will be know as a traitor and Enda the coward for generations to come.God save Ireland .

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:11 AM

this woman needs to be carted away to an retirement home asap

Mute Gavin Sweeney
    Favourite Gavin Sweeney
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:21 AM

She’s like our very own Rosa Parks, confined to the back seat of a chauffeured Ford Mondeo for three hours. So brave…

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:17 AM

Ah poor Joan she never lies to people and her colleagues never lie. I am going to get a mass said for her in the hope she gets those 3 hours of her life back in some other way.
    Where does she get off calling peaceful protests fascists incidents. Does she not know the history of the party she is in government with.

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:34 AM

#prayforjoan

Mute Eddie Kelleher
    Favourite Eddie Kelleher
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:19 AM

Resign now

Mute Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Favourite Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:18 AM

The fascists are in government and you iphone Joan are a failed harpie who despises her own electorate.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:51 AM

Oh for the love of god would someone hand that woman a dictionary, open at the page beginning with ‘f’.

The woman is a whining whinger persistently digging a very deep grave for the labour party.

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:57 AM

Joan burton you forcing austerity on irish people is dictatorship not democracy so who are you to lecture any one on governance of our country

Mute Patrick Lynch
    Favourite Patrick Lynch
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:17 AM

Joan your statement is over the top.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:45 AM

If she was one of the people sleeping on the streets or a member a family being evicted from the family home she would have something to complain about. Count your blessing Joan, you have no reason to whine.

Mute aoife molloy
    Favourite aoife molloy
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:11 AM

Election time is Nigh

Mute Fran mcardle
    Favourite Fran mcardle
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:11 AM

Never mind a dictionary, someone should hand her, her iPhone and suggest she read these comments. This is once again shameful and sickening. A member of the government looking to make themselves look like a poor saintly innocent who was attacked by evil Nazis. It turns my stomach. Haven’t these people go PR gurus to tell them to stfu? I don’t agree with what happened in Tallaght but the people who trapped her in her car are about as far removed from Nazis as Ban Ki Moon is.

Mute et
    Favourite et
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:35 AM

Ah god love her, she’ll have a nice long Christmas holiday to recover!!! Unlike the rest of us!

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:39 AM

Must be close to the time when election is going to be called. Poor Joan.

Mute Níamh Rock
    Favourite Níamh Rock
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:52 AM

Desparetly looking for sympathy – poor woman. How she can compare her ordeal to men/women actually tortured probably says a lot about her her parties terrific 5% showing in the polls. Amazing there are still 5% willing to give these yesterdays people a vote – bye bye Joan

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:38 AM

Hey, she knows Labour are screwed, she might as well say what she likes before she goes down the plughole with her FG cronies. Sure hasn’t she a fat pension to look forward to?

Mute Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Favourite Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:40 AM

Joan will have a better understanding of democracy when she looses her seat in “Dublin West” at the next election. Of course she can just go back to eating the smoked salmon and quaffing the champagne.

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:00 AM

Ah sure arent we living in a fascist dictatorship

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:17 AM

No.

Mute The Galloping Major
    Favourite The Galloping Major
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:58 AM

Facist Gael!!

Mute Tomas Lyne
    Favourite Tomas Lyne
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:36 AM

I see she finally got to the end of that giant spliff she was photographed with about 2 weeks ago

Mute gavcread
    Favourite gavcread

fg/labour talking to us like we are simple knock on my door i wont be held responsible for what i do

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:36 AM

She needs a good slap at this stage, cop the F on woman. That is an insult to people who genuinely suffered under fascists. Dope

Mute Michael Budd
    Favourite Michael Budd
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:20 AM

What is this politician on? Talk about loosing the plot. You don’t get much more out of touch than this.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:27 AM

What is she shiting on about- arguing from a democratic point of view, when she is completely ignoring the will of the majority of the people. She is full of it. She thinks she knows better and could care less what the majority of people want.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:41 AM

I thought all aspiring politicians were supposed to have a good knowledge of history. This throwaway use of the Fascism label is extremely ignorant, she’s using it like some sort of buzz-word to grab attention. Shameful stuff.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:04 AM

She’s following the Russian example of labeling anyone who disagrees with you a fascist. I hope that’s where the copying ends as I’m sure nobody wants to see a shirtless iPhone Joan.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:43 AM

Only read the first line, thought she had seen the light and realised her government is fascist.

Mute Jack Hackett
    Favourite Jack Hackett
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:56 AM

More water

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:58 AM

She is right-the parallels to fascism are plain to see- she is now running a Facist Party in a Facist Government!

I for one can’t wait to get these Facists OUT!!

Mute gavcread
    Favourite gavcread
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:07 AM

pig

Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:55 AM

She obviously didn’t read the full Wikipedia article on facism……

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:53 AM

Joan the moan. She’s an idiot really.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:39 AM

Funny Joan, I thought for a moment you were regretting being part of a fascist government………

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:26 AM

And yet, this so called ‘Republic’ of Ireland is far more of a fascist state under this Govt than it ever was before! Go figure…

I’m guessing Burton has a monthly reminder on her iphone to make something else up about Jobstown. Give it a few months and it will be about how Jesus appeared in the rear view mirror and told her to continue playing Candy Crush and listening to Joe Duffy for 1 more hour, and she would be saved…

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:08 AM

Joan is right, I see the parallel with fascism too. However, fascism traditionally comes from big corrupt government, not protestors.

Joan Burton is a wicked bitch

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:51 AM

She meant communism,lefties, little rich boy with silver spoon who has never held down a job for more than a week now siting in the Dail for 100k plus a year. And all his bills payed by mummy and daddy.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 22nd 2014, 7:32 AM

If you hold somebody in their cat for a couple of hours, you don’t honestly expect her to say nice things about you, do you?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:23 AM

Nobody expects her to say nice things about the protesters, however the public expect more from their supposed deputy head of government than over-exaggerated and downright historically ignorant comments.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:25 AM

Must be a big cat

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi

It must have been a Cheetah ,boi,

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:00 AM

I think I’d prefere being called a facist than being called a traitor like you, joan burton…. at least facists are nationalists.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:34 PM

The fascist was in the car…

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:52 AM

Was it an “Isis” situation Joan? This government have a strategy of labelling people who disagree with their policies.

I wonder which T.D/Senator will be brave enough to use the N word? Nazis.

I know of a person who got promoted within the civil services few years ago and when Joan came out on a visit she asked the person how was the promotion going.

The person who had to move up to Dublin basically said she was earning less because of the promotion.

Joan’s response aren’t you lucky you have a job.Such a callous and condescending and dismissive attitude to have.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:04 AM

Look at the bright side – in a few months we will never have to listen to her ever again as Labour and Burton will be discarded alongside the Greens and PDs in Irelands history of failed political parties with eejit leaders.

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:21 PM

Pity Hogan wasn’t in the car with her shut up Joan were sick listening to you you spoiled creep not used to feeling the pinch like the rest of us

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:25 AM

‘Twas a pity she was’nt pulled out of the car an given a few reminders

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:39 AM

Amazing that those supposed to represent the people are the first to point the figure at those people rather than caustic and austerity driven policies? some democracy

Mute Ollie
    Favourite Ollie
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:10 AM

I don’t agree with everything that happened that day, but Ireland is full of people that are on the edge of poverty and despair. The government aren’t listening. So what can people do? It’s not good enough to say wait until the next election if people are struggling to survive right now. I believe these people aren’t violent or unreasonable, they were just pushed and pushed and pushed so far that it showed

Mute Doc Benway
    Favourite Doc Benway
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:07 AM

The Labour party spends how much on P.R. Money wasted. There is little hope of iphone joan surviving the next election, and she obviously doesn’t care about the consequences, if for her there are any. However, there once was more to the labour party than a few well pensioned newsreaders and if there is to be any labour party after the next election those left behind would want to put a gag on ijoan.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:19 AM

Joan’s scriptwriters must have been on holiday if it’s taken this long to come up with that sort of cr*p.

Mute ray mccarroll
    Favourite ray mccarroll
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:09 PM

The irony of her talking about democracy when the majority don’t want any extra water charges

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:41 AM

Im pretty sure that was the last thing on her mind !!!

Mute Wesley Preston
    Favourite Wesley Preston
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:02 AM

She looks really worried sitting in the car

Mute dath fitz
    Favourite dath fitz
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:02 PM

The face that launched a million long faces….

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:50 AM

It sounds like something from Zimbabwe. There, opposition party members and often intimidated, trapped in their cars. Often they’re attacked or even murdered by government backed thugs. Here we have opposition backed thugs intimidating people.

If Joan had left her car that day she would have been attacked by the angry mob. Possibly killed. It’s a shame our country has come to this.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:24 AM

Hyperbole much ?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 10:01 AM

Yes, because the Irish are renown for overpowering police escorts in order to murder politicians they don’t agree with in broad daylight.

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Dec 22nd 2014, 11:13 AM

Overreaction theatre Jack.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:36 PM

What about a government using its police force to spy on other politicians Jack?

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan

Ah will you fuc

Mute Andrew Doyle
    Favourite Andrew Doyle
    Dec 22nd 2014, 9:59 AM

As a Jobstown native all my life, I’d like to invite you to ours for Xmas dinner Joan.
    You’ll be grand, I swear.

Just make sure you bring your iphone. To call a taxi in case you get to drunk of course
    Bring PLENTY of taxi money. It could be a long drive home so better safe than sorry
    Please wear your best jewellry. We like to look our best on Xmas day

My house is quite hard to find so I’ll pick you at the square. I’ll be driving a black van with tinted windows. In case there’s more than one black van with tinted windows, mine is the one with the unreadable licence plate. Silly kids in the area love to draw on everything!

Anyway, send me a message to let me know what time suits you.
    It’ll be a day to remember!

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:11 PM

She’s old enough to be your mother. Would you like your mother intimidated and robbed and have subtle treats made against her?
    How do you think her family feel when they read your comment?

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:13 PM

threats not treats

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:42 PM

Took her a while to come up with those three words eh!

Mute robert breen
    Favourite robert breen
    Dec 22nd 2014, 12:40 PM

Joan could have got out of her car and fact the people at any time

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:48 PM

Of all the lame lines…

Mute Mark O'Brien
    Favourite Mark O'Brien
    Dec 22nd 2014, 8:07 PM

Joan you make me worry about fascism You miserable insufferable person.

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Stephen O'Sullivan
    Dec 22nd 2014, 1:02 PM

IMO water charges is a more egalitarian form of taxation to fund water than raising income tax or USC or VAT or property tax. But I bet there’ll be a load of people won’t be happy about me expressing my opinion. When people who have a view get bullied out of it, democracy is in trouble.

Mute Kieran Walsh
    Favourite Kieran Walsh
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:28 PM

So Joan the smile on your face in the car was for what????

Mute Eoin Byrne
    Favourite Eoin Byrne
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:39 AM

Fascism comes from the state, not the people.

Mute Ciarán Frewen
    Favourite Ciarán Frewen
    Feb 11th 2015, 8:21 PM

A cry me a river Joan! Then again … She’ll probably charge me for the water usage. Crybah!!