You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

This Fianna Fáil TD chased down a hooded handbag thief in Ennis

Timmy Dooley returned the handbag to the elderly woman, who he said was “dazed” by the incident.

FIANNA FÁIL TD Timmy Dooley has definitely bagged one vote in the next election, having chased down a thief and returned a handbag to an elderly woman in Ennis.

He told TheJournal.ie that he was driving down the street in Ennis town at around midday when he saw someone dressed in black with a hood running through traffic with a brown, woman’s handbag.

“I pulled in and gave chase and as I got closer, he dropped the bag and made his escape.”

He went back and found the elderly lady who was with a friend. The TD said the woman was very shaken by the incident, adding that she was “just dazed”.

“I’ve been mugged one time myself and it’s pretty scary.”

Dooley said the incident “speaks to bigger issues” like drug and addiction-related crime.

“There’s often a lack of focus on the cause of this crime. We talk about putting more guards on the streets but we’re going to have to do an awful lot more about what appear to be petty crimes but are really feeding an addiction.”

Read: Woman “punched repeatedly in face” during handbag robbery>

Read: ‘Sunshine, put it down’: Philip Boucher-Hayes steps in to stop (fake) robbery>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:10 PM

Well done Deputy Dooley.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:11 PM

Dippity – you mean !
    As dippy as a nun on coke !

Mute Ipso Facto
    Favourite Ipso Facto
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:01 PM

Better Call Saul? lol

Mute BevinArmageddon
    Favourite BevinArmageddon
    Mar 6th 2015, 7:00 PM

haha, Ipso, You could be right. I don’t think people get the reference though.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:19 PM

Some people on here are perpetual whingers ..credit where it’s due .

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:23 PM

Do you believe him ? Are you that niave ? He’s Fianna Fail for God’s sake and it’s election season !
    What was the name of the street and what time ?
    If he did then fair plate to him ….. but let’s get it verified first and if you think of it – does Mr. Dooley chase everyone he sees running in hoods with handbags or manbags ?
    The “town” will provide the answer !

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:32 PM

Am I that naive ? Nope !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:36 PM

And Conor Lenihan was an excellent choice for Minister for integration – after his kebab jibe !
    Of course he was – it wasn’t a big laugh to the headquarters at all !

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:41 PM

I’d it two much to ask that we try to suspend our cynicism for just a moment and give credit to somebody?

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:43 PM

Do you understand how sick and twisted the collective groupthink of Fianna Fail is Neal ?
    When it is verified then he deserves praise but right now I am thinking curry on Labour’s door and it being DNA tested as excrement !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:59 PM

Did he report it to Gardaí ? And if not then why report it on twitter …and besides isn’t the Dail sitting today – why isn’t he at work ?
    Failure to report a crime and letting a bag snatcher away is not what one would expect from a T.D. if he did chase down the thug and didn’t report it to Gardaí ……

Spock would look to logic and duty !

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:00 PM

I’m not complaining Thomas I’m only stating a fact.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:11 PM

@hermes Dail does not sit on a Friday. With SF in charge they’ll make sure to make it sit 7 days a week 365 days a year.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:19 PM

Am – but didn’t Enda say it sits on a Friday now – it was one of his big reforms ?
    Not another lie from the German puppet ?

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:24 PM

You need help

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:26 PM

No I don’t – I can type quite efficiently thank you very much !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:38 PM

Alan meet Baz ,Baz meet Alan …..
    or ……… mirror !?

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

Shame they didn’t show such courage with Ahern, Haughey & the other thief’s in their own party

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:40 PM

Baz I met two old people who didn’t follow a habit off a lifetime during the last European elections and they voted Independent …
    Both answered my question “How could you vote for them all your life ?” as one was a traditional FF and the other traditional FG – with the same words -
    “But sure they were better than the other crowd !” – That ould crap voodoo is broken now !

Mute End Kenny
    Favourite End Kenny
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:02 PM

When we have the names & contact details for the two old people whom u mention verified & they corroborate your story we may believe you’re comment

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:07 PM

My best friend, Joe, was down to go to SF Ard fheis this weekend. When I told him what happened with syriza in Greece and how SF have no policies he duly cancelled his party membership of SF and realised he was bitter & a moaner in recent years. Wife has thanked me for bringing the old Joe back. We’re going our for a meal tonight.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:20 PM

Green thumb from me on that one End !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:25 PM

There are 110,000 of them in Connacht Ulster – but seeing as a ballot is private then I would direct you to party headquarters of either FF OR fg .
    I am sure they have gotten the returns from all the polling booths and have devined the information of the collapse of their vote as they always do after an election …
    If you are lucky enough to have abandoned them you might even get a jibe down in the pub from one of the faithful –
    Are all the numbers on the sheets off ballot papers the same or are they sequential .?

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:37 PM

Baz.
    Your comment is definitely van halen

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:51 PM

Van Hailin’ – like the cops on a Saturday night !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:52 PM

Bin Laden – Recepticle full of rubbish !
    The code is breaking down !

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Mar 6th 2015, 8:57 PM

Staged

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:16 PM

Fair play Timmy Dooley …
    Suprising the poor old lady had anything left in her bag after Enda Kenny and Joan Burton. ..

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:57 PM

@ Tom Red maybe the theif was running to the bank to put something IN!

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:58 PM

Well done to Deputy Dooley I was mugged twice and the feelings attached to being the victim are woeful.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:01 PM

“and the feelings attached to being the victim…. ” ….am ……. you are the victim – why write in the third person ?

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Mar 6th 2015, 6:18 PM

Well said Herpes……
    Jesus you’re some dose….

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt

Yeah he gave it back only to take it off her in taxes to pay banking debts and Irish water wages.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 6th 2015, 6:58 PM

LA Guns.

Mute Alan o reilly
    Favourite Alan o reilly
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:13 PM

Is this like bill O Reilly’s falkland island , northen Ireland war story’s

Mute Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Favourite Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:20 PM

In the interest of balance, you should also call them “The Malvinas” and “The Occupied Six Counties”.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:15 PM

I swam the English Channel yesterday and saved six baby dolphins en route – where is my big exclusive ?
    The baby dolphins were quite shaken but now thankfully they are o.k.
    They were being attacked by a perch wearing a hood so I can’t describe him to fisheries officers !

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:23 PM

Probablt big Phil

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:29 PM

What gave the perch away was that he was swimming in a boat lane and we all know that perches with hoods should be chased down at all costs !
    This reminds me of the time of the storms when the local Fine Gael Senator rang a Party Faithful in West Clare to organise “help” .
    The “help” was of course a photo op for Fine Gael but the Senator left his mobile phone on and the lady in question learned that the Senator had a completely different opinion of his “friend” .
    She bided her time and when the Senator arrived with the media in tow she opened both barrels (of her mouth) on him and the meeja looking on –
    It was the funniest thing I ever read !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes

hA,HA,HA,HA,HA, !
    What is her name and can we get an interview with her for verification !

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:30 PM

Why doesn’t he just tell us it was Michael Noonan , it’s going to come out sooner or later .

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:35 PM

Fair play, but what is Timmy Dooley doing in this photo??

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:39 PM

What he normally does to old ladies .

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:40 PM

Exposing himself.

Thejournal has tastefully photoshoped a suit onto him.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin

Chauncey….def leopard.
    Business cat….whitesnake.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:50 PM

Dermot …what about …..
    Cabbage and Bakin’

Mar 6th 2015, 4:30 PM

He returned the bag after claiming 20 percent for expenses!

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:45 PM

Timmy Dooley is always dazed ..

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern

Hermes it’s half four on Friday, take the rest of the afternoon off and see you on Monday. Thanks

Mute Charles McDonald
    Favourite Charles McDonald
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:30 PM

Fair play to him.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:34 PM

Motley crue.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:00 PM

For a 60+ year old woman Burton is quick on her feet.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes

Paul Murphy was spotted with a bullhorn heading up the dual carriageway – that put a pep in her step !

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:35 PM

Gecko….Ratt.
    Hermes….Iron maiden.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:53 PM

I have invited Enda into my chamber – he will close the door himself !

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 6th 2015, 5:39 PM

Hahaha Hermes. All I could think of was this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7sMr89BHVk

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 6:34 PM

But look at how he turned out – Champion …ha,ha,ha, …Like milk from Monaghan !

Mute David Smith
    Favourite David Smith
    Mar 6th 2015, 6:56 PM

Some people actually think this is spin? Haha love it. Fair play to him.

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:45 PM

Hermes i believed ur story at 1st but a perch is a freshwater fish so i knew it was a spoof . Keep ur comments goin nd dont let d blue shirts trolls wreck ur head

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 3:55 PM

Damn and I was going to use it as a platform to launch a wonderful politicial career – feic you Shane and your education !
    And I was doing so well !

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden

@ hermes……don’t know about the political career but you could try comedy!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:03 PM

Bill – is there a difference ?
    The joke is wearing thin now in the Dail though seeing as we are paying through the nose for it !

Mute Jacinta
    Favourite Jacinta

I wouldn’t have bothered giving it back – ould one’s don’t have anything valuable in them anyway, probably only a few old snotty hanky’s and a few coins!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:39 PM

Some bags are fuller than yours Jacinta……..anyway Dooley did good, I’m sure the woman was thankful.

Mute Jacinta
    Favourite Jacinta
    Mar 6th 2015, 5:13 PM

Get real Al, the man is a politician, he only did it to get her vote

Politicians would wipe your arse to get your vote!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:34 PM

I’m rating troll comments here with 1980′s heavy metal bands.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:54 PM

Dermot McLoughlin – I am rating comments here based on rock classics – you sir are – “Nothing else Matters !”

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:55 PM

That’s meant as a compliment b.t.w. – just in case you know the pitfalls of the written word and the imagination !

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 6th 2015, 4:08 PM

No probs hermes keep up d gud work

Mute Eddie Geraghty
    Favourite Eddie Geraghty
    Mar 6th 2015, 5:35 PM

How sad he tweeted about it himself just lost all credibility and karma for this good deed

Mar 6th 2015, 5:28 PM

This event could be life changing for timmy dooley. Now he’s experienced the buzz you get from doing a good deed! Timmy for taoiseach! Then We’ll have mickey d in the aras and timmy d as taoiseach.

Mar 6th 2015, 11:55 PM

No. You’re dead right people, recipe for disaster!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 6th 2015, 8:49 PM

Probably wanted it himself.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Mar 6th 2015, 5:50 PM

Was it enda who snatched the bag