You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tom Vaughan-Lawlor: 'If Love/Hate had happened when I was younger, I might not have been able to handle it'

The Love/Hate actor plays a troubled father in his new film, Rialto.

IF THERE’S AN Irish TV character who’s made an indelible mark on our screen in recent years, it’s Nidge from Love/Hate.

But Dubliner Tom Vaughan Lawlor, who played the shaven-headed gangster in the RTÉ One series, couldn’t be further from his breakthrough TV character. Softly spoken, funny and introspective, he’s the polar opposite of Nidge.

Now in his latest film, Rialto, he plays yet another troubled man, but this character is worlds away from a threatening thug. He plays Colm, a married man and father who works in the docks in Dublin city. One afternoon, he gets involved with a male sex worker.

The film, written by Mark O’Halloran, explores how Colm’s burgeoning relationship with the young man highlights the fractures in his life, and the emotions he has been repressing for years. 

The film is an at times difficult watch. Colm says very little, but what he does say betrays how he feels about himself and his life. His clothes are bland, his hair and beard are almost unkempt. He has a wife who can’t understand what’s happened to her husband, a daughter who loves him, and a son who can’t tolerate him.

What was it like to play such a role? “It was intense making it,” acknowledges Vaughan-Lawlor. “It kind of was hanging around my psyche slightly for a while afterwards. So I was glad to have the space between then [when it was made] and now.”

When we chat, he’s in a hotel room in Belfast, where he’s filming the series Frank Of Ireland with the Gleeson brothers, Domhnall and Brian. Rialto first debuted at the Venice Film Festival in 2019. It took five weeks to film, but Vaughan-Lawlor had a few months to prepare for filming.

He’d meet up with O’Halloran and director Peter Mackie Burns in London regularly in advance, to go through background material and research.  He paid particular attention to the script, he says. “It’s so beautifully written I didn’t want to be mangling the text,” says the actor.

I wanted to do full justice to the script. There’s so much underneath the text, especially in the domestic scenes with his family. There’s so much he’s hidden. His use of language is so particular because he’s so hidden. It’s very, very specific, so I had to be very, very conscious of that.

Much of the work Vaughan-Lawlor does in depicting Colm’s various crises is through his body language. His eyes are frequently downcast,  his shoulders stooped. “He’s a man who hates himself, he’s a man who has body shame and hates his body,” says Vaughan-Lawlor. “He’s a man who’s trying to disappear into the wallpaper all the time, he doesn’t want to be seen. The costume design, hair and makeup choices are all about concealing.”

This all fed into the playing of Colm, “how that self-loathing is manifested in his movement and his body, and how he speaks and his speech patterns”. He found playing such a rich part “a bit like being back at drama school”.

“It was so exciting because, you know, you don’t always get these parts to play that are so rich, and where you can do so much research and biographical study that will bolster your work,” he explains.  

The easiest scenes to do were with Tom Glynn-Carney, who plays the young male sex worker, Jay. “He’s so weighed down by [his problems] and that’s why this young man comes along, this young rent boy comes along and frees him from that,” says Vaughan-Lawlor, referencing how Colm tells Jay “there’s no lies between us”.

“The family scenes were the hardest” to film he says, as Colm is “so repressed and alcoholism is so burnt into the walls [of the house], it’s a very heavy place to be”.

Overall, Rialto gave Vaughan-Lawlor space to explore a new type of role.

“I’ve often played to high tempo, you know, dynamic, sometimes alpha male characters in my career,” adds Vaughan-Lawlor. “This is an opportunity to go the total opposite on the scale, to a man who is so repressed and hidden and quiet and isn’t alpha, and is very low tempo. And so that was huge.”

Love/Hate

Tom Vaughan Lawlor

When Vaughan-Lawlor was in drama school 20 years ago, he says “all my ambitions for my career were all theatre based”.

“They were all like, theatre writers – Ibsen, Chekhov, Brecht. And so I never really, I never really considered screen work. Really. It was all theatre.” But as he left college, the golden age of TV was  beginning. That led to him taking the life-changing role of Nidge in Love/Hate.

“The discipline of being a theatre actor is really useful to have, I think in terms of the screen work,” he says. But he also found that coming out of drama school “you have to give up control” over your career. When he was cast in Love/Hate, his life changed – not quite overnight, but near enough it. What does he think of that time, looking back?

“I really realise why young actors, rock stars, musicians go crazy sometimes,” he says. “I was in my early 30s – I was married, I had a child. And I know that if that [fame] had happened to me as a younger man, I would not have been able to handle it… even when I was older, being able to handle it was sometimes tricky.” The “intense gaze” on you “can be hard”, he explains. “You want to acknowledge people’s enjoyment of the work you’ve done and you don’t want to be rude, you don’t want to upset people,” he says. “And then you find that that can be, you can become very paranoid. And so I was lucky that I lived in England, and I was lucky that I was married. And I was lucky that I had children. I could have my domestic life and that could be normal.

“But I think, had I been younger. And had I not had a domestic kind of grounding? I genuinely think I would have gone a bit potty.” By way of example, he explains that when they filmed the first series of Love/Hate, they were able to do so “totally, totally anonymously”.

“Even a second season, like totally, anonymously and totally untouched. To by filming the fourth season, having like hundreds of people, hundreds of people around the set.” Vaughan-Lawlor says that having the fans around while filming did bring “positive energy”, but it’s clear the shift in interest had an impact.  But he’s keen not to sound like he’s complaining.

“I realised I’m properly, properly lucky to have had that affirmation in my job,” he reflects. “Look at what nurses and doctors are doing now, what teachers are doing, and they don’t get in a lifetime, they might not get what I might get in one day. I’m so like, I’m so fortunate to have that.

“But it was also hard sometimes to be able to do your job. Just because people wanted to speak to you and… but that’s just part of the success of that show.”

Moving from Love/Hate, he went to an even bigger fandom when he was cast as Ebony Maw in Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame. The Marvel Comics Universe (MCU) has millions of dedicated fans, but at least Ebony Maw – a supervillain who’d even scare Nidge – was rendered mostly in CGI form. There’s no chance of Vaughan-Lawlor getting recognised from that role on the street.

The experience was a memorable one for the actor, not least because of the sheer scale of it.

“The biggest film I’d done before that might have had a budget of like 20 million. And then you’re on this set of these two films Infinity War And Endgame where the combined budget was like, a billion dollars or something,” he says.  “It was an amazing experience because the reason Marvel is such a huge success is because … when you take away all the franchise stuff, the marketing and the merchandise and you take away all that stuff and you strip it back, they have brilliant storytellers, brilliant writers, brilliant directors, brilliant actors who are proper artists. They’re just top of their game.”

From gangsters to repressed dads to supervillains, Vaughan-Lawlor has had quite the career so far. “That’s the dream,” he says of his varied career.

“You don’t want to be playing the same part over and over and have the same experience over and over again.” 

“So to be on a set that size with those actors, those kind of movie icons – and then to do like a one man show at a Theatre in Dublin or to be in the West End or to be an independent films or to be in radio plays… That’s a rich career for an actor.”

Rialto is in selected cinemas from 2 October.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

7 Comments
    Mute Brian Smith
    Favourite Brian Smith
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:12 AM

Maybe the prison officers should turn a blind eye, let them at each other and save the taxpayer lots of money.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:24 AM

@Brian Smith: well it appears to me that you are no different than these lads. You are happy to use violence & murder to reach your desired outcome. I suggest that these lads lead a long life in prison & never get out & also make sure they cannot run their businesses from inside. That would be great to see. Killing them is the easy way out.

Mute Brian Smith
    Favourite Brian Smith
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:52 AM

@Mjhint: you left your moral compass at the church gates

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:02 AM

@Brian Smith: you left your moral compass on the slaughterhouse for

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:36 AM

@Brian Smith: it doesn’t work like that. The costs of running the prison don’t decrease significantly with fewer numbers of inmates. A few euro a day is all it costs per inmate, id bear that cost myself to see this animal caged for a life sentence.

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:48 AM

@Emachine: It costs around €200 a day to keep a prisoner in this country.

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:33 AM

@Mjhint: when your dead you don’t know it. Best to let him live on the edge every day even if costs the taxpayer.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Sep 19th 2018, 4:16 AM

@Brian Smith: what about the cost of hospital bills?

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Sep 19th 2018, 7:29 AM

@Brian Smith: that would be a great Quentin Tarantino film… not exactly real life though. Maybe in the Philippines?

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Sep 19th 2018, 7:39 AM

@Emachine: if we have one less prison it will decrease costs…or more space to keep other stores in there longer

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Sep 19th 2018, 7:47 AM

@Emachine: it actually costs between 100k and 250k a year to house a high security prisoner in Ireland. I am not sure where you got your few euro a day, but it is complete nonsense.

Mute Jack Crabbe
    Favourite Jack Crabbe
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:30 AM

@Mjhint: fool

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Sep 19th 2018, 9:38 AM

@Mjhint: many of them won’t lead a long life in prison at all..maybe a 10/15 year sentence.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 19th 2018, 11:03 AM

@Emachine: A euro a day???

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:18 AM

Must be very hard for the prison officers to contend with this level of dirtbags,they don’t get paid enough for the job.

Mute pearse
    Favourite pearse
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:35 AM

@Paul Mc: agree but they are all peanuts compared to what the rest of the world deal with

Mute Simon Peters
    Favourite Simon Peters
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:21 AM

@Paul Mc: Don’t get paid enough. Having a laugh. Bouncers should get paid more. Prison officer have best pay and condition. Better than Guards which is hard to believe. Male dominated jobs always had strong unions. Nurses need better pay.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:46 AM

On campus….. interesting use of language. I suppose the inmates are “customers” or ” prison service end users”.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:55 AM

@David McShite: calm down, it comes from the Latin word for field. A modern campus is a group of buildings and/or grounds belonging to a given institution.

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:11 AM

Comments aren’t closed? Strange for the journal… either way… he’s a serious c u next Tuesday

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:40 AM

@Stephen Boland:
    There’s no trial pending

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:55 AM

High-octane. This is not the fast and the furious. Try to be serious journalists please.

Mute pearse
    Favourite pearse
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:34 AM

Let them dice it out. Tough guys can take care of themselves. Or so they say.

Mute Greedylocks
    Favourite Greedylocks
    Sep 19th 2018, 12:14 AM

He should be removed to the cemetery

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Sep 19th 2018, 5:56 AM

Unfortunately, whilst they are in custody they have to be protected, human rights & all that, plus they will sue the state if injured.

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Favourite Bewarethebeardz
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:05 AM

It would be great if they could simply be put to sleep. Or maybe have a large blender in the courtroom. Upon conviction, the criminal is ejected into the blender. Problem solved. Plenty of biofuel there.

Mute Paul Howlin
    Favourite Paul Howlin
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:19 AM

@Bewarethebeardz: ha!

Mute Arron
    Favourite Arron
    Sep 19th 2018, 9:04 AM

Campus.. what a word.. on a serious note.. they all should be out cracking rocks roughly 12hrs a day everyday.. all privileges removed.. etc its s joke of a prison system.. and prison officers. Unions..

Mute Mr Jerry Curtin
    Favourite Mr Jerry Curtin
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:14 AM

I thought he had been moved out of mountjoy

Mute Crispin Rodwell
    Favourite Crispin Rodwell
    Sep 19th 2018, 10:15 AM

@Mr Jerry Curtin: He has, he’s in Portlaoise.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:29 PM

What is badly needed in this and every other country is a really hard prison, under the control of the military for the hard men and the incorrigibles. I know that doesn’t suit the agenda of the P.C. brigade but desperate situations require desperate remedies.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:51 AM

Ahh is he scared?! Diddums

Mute P.Bradley
    Favourite P.Bradley
    Sep 19th 2018, 9:34 AM

Let em all at it

Mute Crispin Rodwell
    Favourite Crispin Rodwell
    Sep 19th 2018, 10:13 AM

I think you’ll find that Thompson is actually in Portlaoise Prison, not Mountjoy.

Mute Peter Bell
    Favourite Peter Bell
    Sep 19th 2018, 10:23 AM

@Crispin Rodwell: another journal.ie mix up,come on guys at journal.ie ,do some research first.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Sep 19th 2018, 9:14 AM

Exclusive? Have the journal got someone in the inside? This thug needs to be put on an island in isolation, wouldn’t even bother supplying a toilet.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Sep 19th 2018, 1:19 PM

A Ford Fiesta as a getaway car? Somehow, I don’t think these boys are high flying gangsters.

Mute Martin Lintzgy
    Favourite Martin Lintzgy
    Sep 19th 2018, 3:26 PM

Give the 2 of them knives and let them at each other

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Sep 19th 2018, 7:58 PM

How awful for him lol.