You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Wire/Press Association Images

Sinn Féin would have left peace talks without 'On the Run' letters - Blair

The former British prime minister was speaking at a Westminster committee hearing today.

TONY BLAIR HAS said that the Northern Ireland peace talks would have collapsed without the ‘On the Run’ letters.

The former British prime minister said the scheme was “absolutely critical to the peace process” as Sinn Féin would have withdrawn from talks if the letters had not been sent.

Under the scheme, Blair’s Labour administration assured more than 200 republican paramilitary suspects they were not being pursued by UK authorities.

Blair made the comments at a meeting of the British Parliament’s Northern Ireland Affairs Committee today.

He told the committee that he understood why victims “will never feel that killers walking free is justified” but that “hard decisions” had to be taken.

Blair added that the PSNI must have been aware of the ‘On the Run’ scheme but said he couldn’t comment on their lack of knowledge of the letters.

The committee launched its investigation after John Downey, the man accused of carrying out the IRA bombing in Hyde Park in 1982, walked free from court in February after mistakenly receiving one of the letters.

On-the-run letters controversy PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Blair said Downey should never have received the letter, adding that he took responsibility for this error.

SDLP Leader Alasdair McDonnell said now that Blair has “given his account of the deal” it is “incumbent on all others who have been asked to give evidence to recount their version of events”.

If not for the sake of accountability and defending the integrity of the peace process then in the interests of the victims and survivors who have been hurt by the manner in which this scheme came to light.

TheJournal.ie contacted Sinn Féin for comment but the party had not responded at the time of publication.

The committee is due to meet at Westminster again next Monday, 19 January.

On the run letters were “unprecedented and flawed”, but not unlawful

Tánaiste admits ‘on-the-runs’ controversy has ‘derailed’ progress in the North

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 159 comments
159 Comments
    Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:14 AM

It’s only a minority that’s not compliant, so those that are following guidelines don’t have to worry about the fines.. I’m sure the anti-everything brigade mob in town today will be escorted around the city and not a word said to them. While us minions try to flatten the curve

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:41 AM

@dublinsnap: or put another way, it’s only a minority can think for themselves, read the data and don’t need to be told what to do by their overlords.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:50 AM

@dublinsnap: Flatten the curve with your anti science nonsense. Do some research for god sake.

See 45 more replies ▾
    Mute Mary Garry
    Favourite Mary Garry
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:52 AM

@dublinsnap: oh you are so right

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:52 AM

@Vladimir Macro: and I’ll add to that. Do you know why they are calling a second lockdown a “circuit breaker”?

If you haven’t considered why then you deserve to stay locked up.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:55 AM

@Paul Lanigan: such tinfoilery

Oct 10th 2020, 9:56 AM

@Quoka: seriously laughing at that statement and cannot genuinely take it seriously lol

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey

@Paul Lanigan: I said I’d reply to your Trump like comment as no one else had and I didn’t want you to feel left out.

Mute Michael J Flynn
    Favourite Michael J Flynn
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Paul Lanigan: People who park on double yellow lines, speed, drink drive, evade taxes know what to do too and don’t want to be told by their overlords. Society needs structure to protect it from selfish people who dont care.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:01 AM

@Paul Lanigan: you probably believe the earth is flat as well.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Quoka: the whole nation of Sweden must have a low IQ too along with the whole continent of Africa.

Bless you.

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:21 AM

@Vladimir Macro: nearly 100% of Swedes abide by guidelines. Ergo no need for a big stick. Unlike Ireland. And the percentage of Africans wearing masks is higher than here too

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

@Vladimir Macro: much younger population for starters better health care etc etc but don’t let the facts get in the way.. such a simple bunch

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee

@Vladimir Macro: The “circuit breaker” term is just branding. The masses are growing weary and they are trying to frame it as a new thing.

Mute Quoka
    Favourite Quoka
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:24 AM

@Vladimir Macro: That you could make that leap and offer such a specious track of reasoning as a response to what I said is telling, Vlad.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro

@Richard Reynolds: seriously go for a nap.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:25 AM

@dublinsnap: Still gotta sit in traffic for hours tho! Our backward looking mentality is working well as ever.

Mute Kate Mchugh
    Favourite Kate Mchugh
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:29 AM

@Paul Lanigan: You are still being told what to do , when you are reading data. Johnny Bananas and Co have co signed alot of anti mask propaganda lately.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:58 AM

@Paul Lanigan: anti maskers try so hard to deliver their conspiracy theory message but really they are the real sheep following a right wing gathering of loyalists and r wing brits who don’t have any medical background

Mute DK Innovation
    Favourite DK Innovation
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Paul Lanigan:
    Saw the anti-maskers out the last day… No Einsteins in that group…

Mute Damian Mac An Bháird
    Favourite Damian Mac An Bháird
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:31 AM

@Quoka: let me guess. Your one of those ppl who think they’re ‘woke’ with an iQ of 1000. Keep watching the tv for your info.

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:32 AM

@Vladimir Macro: Childish. Or you skipped your medication this morning?

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:38 AM

@Damian Mac An Bháird: I misinterpreted the aunty mask protest last week and went dresses as a woman with a mask on.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:40 AM

@Paul Lanigan: or a minority that don’t give a toss about does around them!

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Paul Lanigan:
    They choose to be told what to think and what to do by more shadowy overlords instead.

Oct 10th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Terry McSweeney: ah ya gotta laugh

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Quoka: In the land of the blind the one eyed is Fuerher.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:52 AM

@Vladimir Macro: I’ve been to Sweden. Ultra Low population density. Swedes are more distant than the friendly Irish. Swedes generally are more moderate drinkers. And, Swedes naturally follow rules (a bit like Germans). Irish people don’t follow rules like they do.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Paul Lanigan: Overlords, please explain. One who the Overlords? What makes the minority so clever and why do they hide it so well, when being interviewed or at their events.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Vladimir Macro: Please tell us why. Please

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:06 PM

@Vladimir Macro: A higher infection rate a higher death rate and a higher rate of people social distancing and following the rules in place. Plus a much lower population density.

Mute BenG
    Favourite BenG
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:12 PM

@Damian Moylan: You are spot on there Damien.

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:15 PM

@Paul Lanigan: yes people do need need to be told what to do during a global pandemic. It’s called management .

Mute Quoka
    Favourite Quoka
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Damian Mac An Bháird: Keep guessing, Damian. As you know, guesswork is the foundation of all rational conclusion.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:36 PM

@Vladimir Macro: Why is it all the educated people see this for what it is, a natural pandemic that is killing people and therefore are happy to follow advice and guidelines and then it’s just the poorly educated crying “sheep”, “conspiracy”, “control” etc? Is it because they simply cannot comprehend what a pandemic is, how virus spreads and how to adapt by following the guidelines so would rather give into their fear of the unknown the only sensible way they know how, by believing some crack pot or crack pots on the Internet who are playing on their fears and presenting easy to understand information which is presented as “fact” and could almost be believable to those lacking higher education?

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:43 PM

@Quoka: is that according to people with an IQ of 86?

Mute C_p_buckley
    Favourite C_p_buckley
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:56 PM

@Paul Lanigan: ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Oct 10th 2020, 1:00 PM

@Quoka: yep u sound like one alright

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Vladimir Macro: stop spreading your cow poop. You and your like is why we need a circuit breaker.

Mute Kevin Bury
    Favourite Kevin Bury
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Paul Lanigan: read the data….dont make me laugh…not a brain cell amongst the anti masks

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:44 PM

@Trevor Connolly: No they don’t. Advised yes. We are not a dictatorship……at least not yet.

Mute Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Favourite Shane Cormac O'Duibhleachain
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:27 PM

@Diarmuid: it is

Mute Billy Walsh
    Favourite Billy Walsh
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:33 PM

@Paul Lanigan: so the minority don’t wear seatbelts while driving? Free thinkers and all that.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:35 PM

@Vladimir Macro: Oh now that you mention Africa – it seems that many if not most of Africa, apart from the north and south, may carry immunity to the effects of covid-19 and that many antibody tests show high levels while death rates remain very low ( One of many sources: https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/08/pandemic-appears-have-spared-africa-so-far-scientists-are-struggling-explain-why )

Sweden’s case rate in very low as they do not community test normally and contact tracing involves asking an infected person to “tell their mates” and their death rate is 1.5 times Ireland.

There are so many things that affect transmission such as community and social habits as well as different testing and death reporting criteria that it is somewhat unfair to compare any one country to another. One can go even further and say it is unfair to compare any one region with another.

One theory on the rise of cases is Europe is that as autumn approaches many outdoor activities move indoors.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:05 PM

@Paul Lanigan: cherry picking data is called confirmation bias, not thinking for yourself.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:32 PM

@Paul Lanigan: who ties your shoelaces?

Mute seangolden1978
    Favourite seangolden1978
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Paul Lanigan: If you had loved ones risking their health, working on the frontline in the health service your interpretation of the data would be different …

Mute Isa
    Favourite Isa
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:42 PM

@Vladimir Macro: Excess deaths in Sweden has been way higher than most countries including Ireland.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:27 AM

I don’t mind fines for face coverings. I can’t see what the fuss is about. To me their the equivalent of holding a hankie in front of your face. But I have issues about fines for moving outside your county. I really believe that even travelling for a birthday party or for a hike in the mountains, walk along a beach can be essential for the mental health of some people. Many families live across county borders. It may be only a few kilometres but you could end up with a hefty fine for travelling 10 km to see a loved one

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe

@Anne Marie Devlin: birthday parties? Ah here

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Favourite Andre le Flohic
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:51 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: forget about the birthday parties !!! one of them is responsible for a cluster in my area !!!

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:54 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: the best example I could find was a supermarket in Little Bray Co. Dublin where the roads surrounding it are in Co. Wicklow and the house in Derry, Northern Ireland whose enterance gate is across the border in Donegal.

A 10km or 20km cross border distance should be allowed as well as very specific and clear definitions as to what travel is allowed. Also a trip from Youghal to Dursey island is about 200km which is just slightly less than a trip from Youghal to Dublin yet you have to leave your county to get to the northern roundabout at Youghal. More than cop on is needed if it becomes law.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:03 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: agree

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: It won’t be forever and we all need to sacrifice the few things we usually don’t have to think twice about – and yes, a hefty fine will be a hard pill to swallow for some but it’s one way to maybe get that minority to cop on for the time it will take to get it under control. Personally I think alot of the fault are the millennials…before anyone bashes me for it, I’ve a son studying in dublin and of course they’ve met in groups of 6 but there’s been a number of variables of those 6′s groups. I don’t know how compliant they are collectively in wearing masks, social distancing but I’ve had arguments with him as a result of pics he’s sent me where they’ve been in group’s, no adherence to social distancing and not a mask in sight. I’d give him a kick in the backside if he was here. I’m hoping they’ll get tested before coming back to see us. I know they’re not the only ones not adhering to the common rules right now..possibly a broadcast showing the effects its had on people that have contracted it, all age groups…it may help to make those not taking it seriously to sit up and realise nobody’s invincible.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:09 AM

@Andre le Flohic: How come there is no data on supermarket breakouts?

Is it because its essential?

Start using your brain.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

@Anne Marie Devlin: I agree that masks are clear cut, unless they have a doctor’s exemption there’s no valid reason for not wearing one.

Essential reasons for leaving your county is far more nuanced and the rule doesn’t make a huge amount of sense to begin with considering people who live beside borders. It should remain as advice, they’re creating a disaster for themselves if they’re going to try and enforce what is or isn’t “essential”.

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Laura Halpenny: laura we were told “it will only be for a few weeks” back in march and we ended in a 3.5 month lockdown. Most are following the rules. Why not put counties with big numbers in higher levels and or tackle the actual problem areas and try curb them.

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Modern tech like zoom can be used for now re birthday parties and face timing friends/relatives. Jesus, missing a party’s not the end of the world. Re the hiking, you can always find somewhere close and within a county to walk…maybe not such a vertical height but who cares as long as it’s out in the fresh air.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: In that case you would have to give proof of address at a Garda checkpoint and the Garda would then have to work out if you were within a certain radius of that. Completely unworkable. County boundaries are understood by everyone and practical to police

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Laura Halpenny: with that you’re going back to the way things were in march april may and part of June. That’s what’s driving people banannas. Imo there is no need to put all the country in level 5 restrictions and I thought that’s what the 5 stage plan was about. Put the counties where u see fit.

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:31 AM

@Macca1986: how do we do that though? The areas with higher numbers should be contained I agree but it all happens too little too late. I totally understand where you’re coming from. My thoughts were that, when numbers started to rise nationally, we confine people strictly to their own house for a set time and with door food deliveries…I know that could have been near impossible and it possibly would have had to be registered online or something so that people’s food needs are catered for – medical needs too. There would have needed to be a huge amount of people required for this to be delivered – gardai, army etc but it may have been the answer, who knows. Also they didn’t take international travel into account, that should have ceased. Maybe I’m in la la land in my thoughts on the matter but as I say it was all too little too late.

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: county boundaries are only marked on main roads so not necessarily understood by everyone. A person couldn’t be asked to give details every time if he has to travel a few km because he’s on the border and the nearest shop is over the border. Also a 5km radius allows roundabout travel of 30km and still be within 5km of your home.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: agreed

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:36 AM

@Laura Halpenny: realistically the 5 stage plan means nothing if you’re putting every county into the one level of restriction all the time

Mute ed o brien
    Favourite ed o brien
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:44 AM

@Macca1986: The mask brigade are like turkeys voting for xmas!

This week has had the cops out setting up road blocks all week, making life harder for people to work or get to work. So if new laws are given to the gardai, they will be out in force making sure that they have sufficient numbers to PROVE to the mask brigade that it is working.

So what will happen with actual crime?
    Where does the mask wearing stop? In public, or just retail?
    What happens if it’s a child under 12 with no I’d to prove otherwise?

Gardai wont go after the heads that they know dont care about being hassled, they will gladly go to court, get free legal aid, and walk away scot free
    It’s normal citizens who will get hit with these fines.

And how long will the new laws last?

Be careful what you wish for, because you might just get it and not like it!!!

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:54 AM

@ed o brien: I dont know ed but I have a relative in Australia and they were struggling to curb problem areas, they have introduced heavy fines and it has largely solved the issue.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: There are reasons to travel and they are very clear. Focusing on the medical health side is a cheap shot. That has been taken into account too.
    Yes not seeing family members is one of the prices we have to pay due to people ignoring the rules.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:11 PM

@Vladimir Macro: Where else would you buy food, food is essential. Tin foil as well, I mean that is very essential.

Mute Tom Jones
    Favourite Tom Jones
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: why would you hold a hankies over your face if you don’t need to ? Because tv said you should ?

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:39 PM

@Macca1986: oh I know..and when the gov saw the rate at which the virus was spreading across europe they should have put a plan in place, in the event it might reach ireland. We would have been spared this very frustrating and mentally tough time we have been going through for the last 7 months. I feel we all have been affected by it mentally, false hopes that we might be able to get back to some sort of normality.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:00 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell:
    still not addressed the issues such as Aldi (or is it Lidl) in Little Bray where the county boundary is also the car park boundary.

still not addressed the issue where your entrance gate is in one county and your home in another (or indeed another countrty)

still not addressed the issue were farm land or other property spans county or country

I know where Dublin ends and Wicklow begins on the Blessington road as the road surface changes, but I do not know every road in the Dublin/Wicklow mountains and where the county border lies.

Elsewhere I quoted where the people in Youghal could not use the Northern access road roandabout as the N25 crosses into Co. Waterford for about 200 meters prior to the Youghal Exit.

In another example access to Mt St Josephs Abbey Roscrea is from Roscrea but the Abbey is in Offaly so there would be no access to the school or abbey as the monastery gate in on the county (and provance) boundary.

So if people are supposed to stay in their own county some cannot even get out their garden gate, some cannot access 1/2 their farm land, some cannot access their back garden. It makes me wonder even if a county border running through anyone’s house.

What about New Ross and and Killaloe/Ballina – towns split by a count border?

I know these are the extremes but if you make a law confining people to their country all the above become illegal or else there needs to be exceptions…

Mute Shannon Cassidy
    Favourite Shannon Cassidy
    Oct 10th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: in some ways I agree, I live in Louth, work in Dublin and the gym I go to is based near my work in Dublin, by the current guidelines (which I am adhering to) I’m unable to go to my gym but I can attend work where I come in contact with people who live in Dublin who also go to this gym. Fitness/mental health should class as essential

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:14 AM

Level 3 restrictions seem to be working in both Dublin & Donegal. Dublin figures are well down & Donegal was outside the top 5 counties yesterday.
    Great news if we don’t need to go to Levels 4 or 5.
    If people keep it up we will still have Xmas!!!

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:20 AM

@Justin Gillespie: We will still have Xmas no matter what happens. I don’t understand it when people say we will have no Xmas.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:24 AM

@David Corrigan: because if you live in a different county to family you won’t be able to visit them for xmas

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:26 AM

@David Corrigan: level 5 means only essential services will be open 5km rule so with L5 there will be no Xmas for many

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:29 AM

@dublinsnap @D Mems: But that is not the end of the world is it? Buy presents early, stock up on food and drink and Xmas day will be like any other.

Mute Conor Egan
    Favourite Conor Egan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:31 AM

@David Corrigan: not if you can’t see your family. That’s what people have the issue with. It’s not whether or not you have loads of presents and beer.

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:32 AM

@David Corrigan: if your family live within 5km in level 5 yea or 20k in level 4 otherwise it could be a very lonely Xmas for many

Mute David Connell
    Favourite David Connell
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:32 AM

@D Mems: Are you saying that Christmas is more important than peoples lives or health?

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:33 AM

@David Corrigan: without children being able to sit down with their grandparents or play with their cousins. But, sure we’ll just hand them a drink!

Mute 011Y
    Favourite 011Y

@David Corrigan: I won’t be able to get home for the FIRST TIME in 30 years if things don’t settle down. It was unpleasant travelling back in August and the numbers were much lower.

Keep in mind that we Irish diaspora spend a fair bit while we are there. I rent for the whole month of August and when I asked for a receipt 10 years ago I got a scribble on the back of an envelope. So, lot’s of pocketing of cash there for renters and spending on our part.

Before anyone goes there…I’m not based in the US. That whole ‘Gathering’ malarkey a few years back was a huge slap in the face to the rest of us as it was ONLY and EXCLUSIVELY targeted at the US.

I’ll stop now.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Conor Egan: I think people are making a mountain out of a mole hill to be honest. This pandemic is not going to continue for ever or anything.

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

@David Connell: no one said that but if people don’t cop on an we move to 5 there will be no Xmas for many and it will be a lonely time. This Xmas will be the last for many old people like my parents and for them to be on their own the thought is heartbreaking

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:36 AM

@David Corrigan: well we’ve just nearly had a year of it with no end in sight as of yet

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:37 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: It might only be for a few days for heavens sake.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:38 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Dutch Gold would make a grand stocking filler for any nipper

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

@David Corrigan: Xmas is one day so once it’s gone it’s gone for another year

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:39 AM

@dublinsnap: @011Y: There is nothing you or I can do about that. We all need to follow the guidelines and make sacrifices until they find a solution to this problem.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:42 AM

@David Corrigan: they sure do love their drama

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:43 AM

@D Mems: sure you will. You get in your car and visit them.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:45 AM

@Paul Lanigan: It seems that way.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:14 AM

@D Mems: Comical

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:18 AM

@David Connell: as this will be the 1st Xmas without my father, who died of Covid, I’m not saying that, I was just explaining why some people may see Xmas being at risk from their perspective. Regardless, it will be a somewhat subdued household for some this year who have lost family to this virus.
    Also, if we can control the numbers by following the rules now, lives and health will be saved and people can at least travel within the country for Xmas, not optimistic for international travel though

Mute RRJ Whelan
    Favourite RRJ Whelan
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:49 AM

@D Mems: I’ll be visiting my family for Christmas regardless of restrictions or fines.

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:03 AM

@dublinsnap: will be a few years of this. Anyone that thinks it’s magically gone by Xmas or even next year is spoofing themselves. It’s not going to go

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:30 AM

@D Mems: and? Is there are downside???

Mute Sean Oige
    Favourite Sean Oige
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:58 AM

@dublinsnap: what are you planning to do to your parents? Very ominous….

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: If we dont follow the rules their grandparents may not be around to celebrate.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:17 PM

@Paul Lanigan: Who loves what drama, the people who died, their families . The people who have long term and serious health issues. This is not being done for drama it is to stop people from getting seriously ill , developing long term serious health problems or dying.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:57 PM

@Justin Gillespie: sure that will be the next surge, lockdowns only kick the can down the road.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:57 PM

@D Mems: There is nothing and I mean nothing will stop me from visiting my grandchildren Christmas day. I do not know how many I will have left at my age. The fact of not seeing them would be more detrimental to my health then anything else. These restrictions are farcical and going to cause a lot of problems.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 11th 2020, 9:47 AM

@David Corrigan: Because Santa is old and vulnerable and if there is a full lockdown, he cannot deliver the goods. If he even makes it too Xmas…

Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee

Not wearing a mask etc yes, but going across a county border no, treating people who live a few km from one another like lepers, for example the people of kildare should be allowed drive to the coast of they please, without fear of persecution

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

@David Lee: agreed

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:36 AM

@David Lee: I’m sure if you have a range of gaa jerseys, you’ll be grand

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:33 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: and rotating James Bond-style reg plates…

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:28 AM

Fine people that are breaking the rules and if they are not paid stop it out off there tax or social welfare

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:14 AM

@john: Jesus christ what is wrong with you. With travel restrictions we are heading down a very dangerous route and you come up with this farcical suggestion. This country is very quickly heading to authoritarianism and it wont end well.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:30 AM

@Franny Ando: agree. I’ll still travel when I need to, fine or no fine

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:43 AM

@Anna Anna: it’s the definition of “need” that’s the problem. Some people confuse this word with “want”. I’m sure many people may want to drive from Derry into Donegal but much less need to. I think if we all do our part over the next couple of weeks we can help to reduce hospital admissions and perhaps save some lives.

Oct 10th 2020, 11:44 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: we’ve been doing our bit for the past 7 months. Flatten the curve they told us. Now it’s divide and conquer.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:19 PM

@Franny Ando: We are in the middle of a pandemic or have you not noticed.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:50 PM

@Gary Kearney: what pandemic ? Need deaths for that to be the case. All cause death is same as any other year

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 11th 2020, 9:49 AM

@Anna Anna: At 200 euro per offence, I think your rule breaking wings will be well and truly clipped. We are in the greatest crisis since WW2, cop on.

Mute 011Y
    Favourite 011Y
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:25 AM

Fines are a real punishment for those who are struggling and a utter pittance for those who are wealthy. So, it’s extremely unfair.

Why not set civic duties/financial fines for people below a certain income level so that they can choose without losing livelihoods but only offer civic duties to those above a certain level. Basically TIME is precious to all of us but those who have money don’t give a monkey’s about paying fines.

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

@011Y: just follow guidelines and you won’t get a fine it’s nothing to do with rich an poor it’s to do with listening and following simple instructions. If u break guidelines an travel to another country for non essential travel you deserve a fine likewise with not wearing a mask.. would you rather a level 5 restriction or fines in level 3 for breaking restrictions, I’d take level 3 all day

Mute 011Y
    Favourite 011Y

@dublinsnap: Not based there at all but looking at what’s happening in Europe.

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:44 AM

@011Y: unfortunately those from lower income backgrounds are in a lot of cases less well educated and and a result more likely to believe the false info on Facebook etc. A graduated fine system isn’t necessary, its actually pointless as the whole idea is to scare people off breaking basic health and safety rules not to take money out of people’s pockets. If someone is thick or arrogant enough not to wear a mask then I can’t see why we should give them a lesser fine

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:44 AM

@011Y: sounds like China

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:22 AM

@Paul Lanigan: ok Karen

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan

@011Y: follow the guidelines and they have absolutely nothing to worry about break the guideline Pay Up!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Paul Lanigan: Not at all they had armed guards at the checkpoints and forcibly stopped people from travelling, stopped all public transport and took no reasons for travel to break the lockdown. So it a far way from China.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

Handy number for the garda saves going out on a long shift out catching gangsters, working in shifts from 7am to 10pm standing in Heuston Station asgand coming from and dishing out fines like traffic wardens dish out parking tickets, be grand little number to get.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:00 AM

Absolutely not. People going to work will end up delayed and paying fines.

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: no they won’t!

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:45 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: You would think some of our systems would support “people going to work” more than they bleed them dry, that’s not the society we want apparently.

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Favourite Setanta Stylfox
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: Do they issue fines in Portugal?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:32 PM

@thesaltyurchin: People going to work are covered by the exempt clause.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:30 AM
    Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly

@SB: they should all of got jail and the hotel in question should of been shut down for a specified time no questions that way others would sit up and pay attention….

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:20 AM

@Peter donnelly: I see your point, but the elite get away with everything Peter, so if the public start getting fined this will only serve to build up bitterness, resentment, anger and hatred.

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Favourite Setanta Stylfox
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:10 AM

@SB: And you get away with silly movie posts.

Mute Colin Mcgahon
    Favourite Colin Mcgahon

We should also stop all people who live in the north from entering the south

Mute Andre le Flohic

@Colin Mcgahon: and vice versa even if alcohol is cheaper in the north

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Colin Mcgahon: Saw 20 guys (16-18 yrs old) walking back to school had been to the shop in town at lunch. Not 1 of them wore a mask. Walking quite close together. I think the 1st outbreak was due to a school trip to the Alps skiing. So, svhools are a problem. 50 euro a bit high 30euro of a fine should do it.

Oct 10th 2020, 11:51 AM

@Damian Moylan: tell the guards. Get them put in jail for life. How dare they.

Mute Frank Scanlon
    Favourite Frank Scanlon
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:05 PM

@Damian Mac An Bháird: Schoolkids chatting to each other like schoolkids do, how horrific. I passed a school the other day, and the children were wllking around the yard in socially distanced pairs of two, it was actually like a scene from a prison movie, its dystopian stuff

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Colin Mcgahon: you do know that people from North and South work and go to school across each others borders. Do you know how many ways you can get from Louth to Armagh/Down. How do you think that can be policed.

Mute Elaine Fagan
    Favourite Elaine Fagan
    Oct 10th 2020, 8:15 PM

@Damian Moylan: it is not mandatory to wear a mask outdoors. I’m presuming your talking about secondary school kids, they are wearing masks for more than the 6 hours they are in class.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 11th 2020, 9:51 AM

@Damian Moylan: Or make it 500 euro so it is effective against numtys like Anna Anna who insists she will travel no matter what.

Mute Michelle Lyons
    Favourite Michelle Lyons
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:19 AM

People who have tested positive that are not self isolating should be charged the same as those who had previously spit at the Garda – as while you’d think the fact they have Covid & could easily pass it to vulnerable person should be scary enough, appears some don’t care about anyone else, maybe the fear of potentially jail time & being named and shamed in public court might help to refocus them to stay inside for 14 days!!

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Michelle Lyons: how will we know if they have tested positive? And on-the-spot fines don’t go to court. It’s like getting 2 penalty points on your licence. Private houses are producing the biggest number of cases so lets see a big clampdown on house parties.

Mute DJ Dave Wexford
    Favourite DJ Dave Wexford
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:34 AM

If the anti maskers are allowed to protest without retribution today then talking about fines is irrelevant. They are sticking their finger’s up at the health care system and the rest of us in society who have made so many sacrifices over the last 7 months.

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland

I’ve to leave my county for antenatal appointments and to give birth so no..

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly

@The only INFP in Ireland: in all fairness travelling outside your country for a valid reason such as medical or work will not be fined….

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:53 AM

@The only INFP in Ireland: this would be deemed as essential travel so you’d be grand. You would not get fined and would be completely entitled to cross county boarder. All information on each level is clearly stated on gov.ie. You would 100% be exempt from breaking the rules in this instance.

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:54 AM

@The only INFP in Ireland: this is a valid reason and you will not be fined .. but if you choose to go shopping in the next county while there is a shopping centre in your you should be fined because this is not a valid reason !

Mute Kendra Jackson
    Favourite Kendra Jackson
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Andre le Flohic: what if the shopping centre in the next county is closer to you than the one in your own county?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Sam Glynn: so what about the person whose house is in Derry and driveway gate in Donegal? What about Aldi in Little Bray which is in county Dublin but whose access roads are in county Wicklow. Who knows exactly where the border lies… and what happens when it runs down the middle of the road… I am not against travel restrictions but they need to be reasonable and more range related than random lines drawn on a map that could see people leaving their county walking down their driveway or even around their house or land. More than cop on needed if it becomes law.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:46 AM

@Andre le Flohic: nonsense! What if you are on a budget and aldi is 10 minutes away in a different county.. this is the problem with fines! Leaving it to the discretion of a garda will not work as one will use common sense and the other will not. My Father is sick at home with a palliative care team in place.. I live in the Northwest but I’m from Dublin, when I visit I take all the precautions I can. I feel that is an essential journey but I can guarantee that not all people will think it is. Imagine been fined for making that journey! I’d do time!!

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Oct 10th 2020, 4:37 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I was only responding to the hospital appointments which are clearly stated as essential on the government guidelines. All these other points you make are valid but was not in original post in which I responded to. Dunno why you felt the need to tag me about something I wasn’t referring to from original post but again your points are valid.

Mute Alan Wylie
    Favourite Alan Wylie
    Oct 10th 2020, 6:29 PM

@Peter donnelly: Your appointment is essential, but unless it’s for work or education and you have some proof, a random straight out of Templemore Garda will be making the decision and you’ll be left wondering whether to go to court at considerable inconvenience and expense or just pay up.

Mute great gael of Eire
    Favourite great gael of Eire
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:12 AM

The problem with giving people power to make new laws to enforce heavy restrictions is that historically people never want to give up that power. The problem with new special laws is that rarely are they taken off the books. Many times we see laws created for one situation applied to a different one because it suits an agenda.

No country can control a society. The more the govt wants to control people the more authoritarian the govt. We’ve seen this with some of the worlds worst dictators. Have they ever relinquished their power.

Removing peoples freedoms is a dangerous path to be going down. This is the reason why Sweden didn’t follow this road.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:37 PM

@great gael of Eire: The reason did not use this system was that they felt they did not need to as the Swedish people follow government guidelines correctly and social distancing aetc was followed.
    Here and elsewhere we did not and we have the problems we have.
    Sweden has double the death rate we have and a much higher infection rate.
    Better to look at Norway and Denmark as the system to use. They have been more successful with their systems

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys

Only if there are time limits to the legislation, and the ‘crimes’ are laws too, not just guidelines. We cannot be fine for a guideline, that is a very slippery slope

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:40 AM

If the Gardai start issuing fines to those clowns protesting the use of masks and lockdowns the exchequer will benefit massively

Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn

How. I mean the issue in March, April, May and June is there is not any legal obligation to provide identification so the Gardaí was unable to do their job and fine people.
    When it was the 2km restriction, the people learned quickly that on bicycle, the Gardaí, first didn’t stop them on controls and second the Gardaí have no way to identify them and verify the data was accurate, contact details

So it seems totally absurd just like the dogs warden … we all have heard dog owners telling to another, why did you give your real details? you just make up the details and never got the fine

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly

Only if they are enforced. The Gardai only appear to be enthusiastic about causing gridlock for law abiding citizens.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:13 PM

@Ger O’Reilly: you make it sound like individual Gardaí are just deciding to go out and set up checkpoints for the fun of it.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 6:03 PM

@EillieEs: No they’re well announced an easily avoidable (if you are bouncing around the counties) but it’s a good ‘show’ for the people paying for it all, and we do have a love for queuing in cars.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:00 AM

I’ll just leave this here, do as your told sheeple and the elite will do as they want

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/health/varadkar-spin-doctor-john-concannon-18414150

Mute Trevor Branigan
    Favourite Trevor Branigan
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:04 AM

Fines for breaking the rules: yes. Fines for not following guidelines: no. If following the guidelines is so vital to tackling CV then reclassify them as rules and regulate them accordingly.

Mute Child-Protect
    Favourite Child-Protect
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:00 AM

If it was truly temporary most people would wear a mask without a complaint. But we know this is not temporary nor about a virus alone.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:39 PM

@Child-Protect: OK them or informed one. Please explain to us non believers about the real reasons for masks etc. It is not a deadly pandemic which has killed over a million people worldwide.
    It is something else.
    What is it?

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:18 AM

All these powers brought in I have no major concern with if they put a sunset clause on them.

They need to have an end date and cannot be used after for trivial things in the future by slight amendments.

For example use fine legislation until next June get the message across to people. Then it expires only to be extended based on the situation at the time.

The wording of the legislation must conform to the current COVID-19 issues only.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:34 AM

In Jakarta, if you are convicted of not wearing mask, you are sentenced to digging a grave and burying the corpse a covid victim. That seems about right.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 9:53 AM

Handy number for the garda working in shifts from 7am to 10pm standing in Heuston Station asking people where they are going to and coming from and dishing out fines like traffic wardens dish out parking tickets, beats a shift looking for gangsters and criminals!!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:30 AM

@SB: gangsters and criminals move around as well.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:30 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: mostly throughout their own county

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:51 AM

@SB: ah, so criminals and gangsters are already adhering to the guidelines. Phew, that’s a relief. We should promote them as model citizens.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:34 PM

@SB: Have you seen the amount of arrests made lately and the drug and cash seizures. The general population were following the rules and the Gardai were having open season on criminals with the public out of the way

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:53 PM

@SB: you ever get tired of being wrong?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Joe_X: ever get tired of saying the rosary Joe and being a model citizen I bet you listen to your namesake Joe Duffy every day with all the aul ones riddled with anxiety

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Gary Kearney: this has nothing to do with fines though a completely different subject

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:04 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: poor attempt at sarcasm pal better luck next time

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 11th 2020, 12:23 AM

@SB: typical…ridicule the person posting the debate instead of debating. What I expect of you at this stage. I’m disgusted that you have the cheek to call yourself an Irishman

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:43 PM

I was now unable to see my family this year as I follow recommendations. We missed the wedding of my sister in law aswell.

We also abide the rules about visiting friends here in the country and all that…

It’s hard to explain to me to adhere to the rules if not even 2 weeks ago someone was having two nights of celebration for a First Communion.

Some people need consequences to abide the restrictions so sad it is.

(And yes, I’m also not happy with some restrictions as I was also not able to use tickets I already ordered for today but that’s the way it is atm)

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:07 PM

@Vanessa: the elite don’t adhere to the guidelines yet they expect the public to, go and see your family

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:30 PM

@SB: No, I won’t. I expect the elite to adhere to those rule or face consequences as well. Two times bad doesn’t make right.

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:11 AM

Well this virus is not just affecting those who contract it and the risk posed by their contacts on the days leading up to the symptoms manifesting, if any do. This virus is also affecting people needing medical help and none is available to them , the virus is taking priority right now. Many people with medical conditions have had their check-ups and consults postponed more than once over this 7 month period. They also need to be thought of and accounted for. Getting the numbers down for the virus brings the number of services for those needing them up

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:11 AM

Happy fertilizer day everyone

Mute Mark Day
    Favourite Mark Day
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:06 AM

Coronavirus Indonesia: People caught without facemasks forced to dig graves and get into coffins http://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-indonesia-people-caught-without-facemasks-forced-to-dig-graves-and-get-into-coffins-12099172

Mute justinoc
    Favourite justinoc

What about all the nordies travelling to Dublin every day for work???

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:32 AM

@justinoc: I would imagine it will be like during the last L5 lockdown and there will be exemptions such as attending medical appointments or essential work.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:43 AM

@justinoc: Plenty of American tourists knocking are the city yesterday but we have to be stopped and questioned in ‘announced’ (and easily avoidable) checkpoints. HILarious.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:11 PM

@thesaltyurchin: as someone who lives just outside the city centre but travels through it each day for work and shopping I call bs. There aren’t plenty of tourists of any nationality around. Why on earth would they even be travelling to a country with restrictions in place?

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:59 PM

@EillieEs: Just based on the accents of 2 separate groups I heard around me while getting lunch. Also the young people AirBNBing next door to the same spot. I don’t know why. Maybe if you’ve paid up or something, might as well go rather than loose your money?

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:22 AM

It may be appropriate or an option. It can be a hassle I was driving home from work yesterday along the N9. The traffic was heavy due to a Garda checkpoint Introducing the on-the-spot fines could double or triple the traffic queue ?? It can bring frustration Is there a way getting around it ?

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:28 AM

@Dolphins: there is a way around it,but it will make your journey much longer

Mute Pat Andrews
    Favourite Pat Andrews
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:17 PM

What about the millions of us in Ireland who have a medical condition and can’t wear a mask?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:37 PM

Its out of hand worldwide , fines will only add to the misery and create more division.Wearing masks and lockdowns is not a silver bullet as people who are isolated and mask wearers are still getting covid 19.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:19 PM

I think that restricting people to just their own county, is just too restrictive given that Ireland is a pretty small place, restricting people to the counties that border their county would make much more sense.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:01 AM

Silly to penalise some and not all. We are all potential carriers regardless of our status and position in society.
    County border crossing restriction should apply to all and not just some.

Mute Tom Jones
    Favourite Tom Jones
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:30 PM

It’s very important that when people are down we kick them in the teeth with fines. How else can we pay for all this

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Tom Jones: It is important that people take responsibility to stop the spread of a deadly virus.
    If they dont what else can you do. actually a hell of a lot , fines are the lowest end of the scale

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:15 PM

@Tom Jones: would you prefer to jail them?

Mute Dick Barrett
    Favourite Dick Barrett
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:07 PM

I am all for sanctions against people defiantly refusing to comply with regulations, for example groups of lads going to house parties with slabs of aperitifs. However I fear that the bizzies will find it easier to come down hardest on minor offenders, such as a person in his 60s crossing one mile over the county line to visit a friend’s home.

Mute Mick Bristow
    Favourite Mick Bristow
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:25 PM

Quick question, am I allowed travel within my own county for non essential reasons? Was just berated at a Garda checkpoint for going to the next town to buy a non essential item.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:23 PM

@Mick Bristow: yes

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:40 PM

For those who don’t believe the science behind mask wearing, here is a practical demonstration https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6cTDGqcUpA

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:07 PM

@Gary Kearney: good demo – but someone will always find a reason – just as there are some who consider the earth to be flat and there is no convincing them even if you took them to space and showed them the earth for themselves.

It’s called disconnected thinking and, sadly, is an issue trying to convince people where there is no convincing, so, sadly, they have to be told what to do and fined if they fail to.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 10th 2020, 10:37 AM

If we didn’t have an ancient system of paper in windows we would be able to do all this digitally (seems apt given the concerns you would think) without stopping cars in rush hour on our under-provided transport infrastructure with cctv, but yet again this proves another example of how as a people we are more interested in having all opportunities dragged down to the lowest common denominator. It’s in our dna to make things worse for the majority rather than better.

Mute Anne Clune
    Favourite Anne Clune
    Oct 10th 2020, 3:29 PM

There should be fines for not wearing a mask only if each supermarket/station etc provides free masks from a disposable container outside the premises. I wonder, however, how this is to policed and these fines collected?

Mute Billy Walsh
    Favourite Billy Walsh
    Oct 10th 2020, 2:23 PM

Don’t see the problem here. How many are protesting or objecting to wearing of seatbelts? In on opinion it’s a no brainer. Wear a mask = no fines and keep everyone happy.

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 1:19 PM

We, as irish people, being totally honest, don’t generally squeal on people. We should be proactive and report mass gatherings perhaps? I’m in the same situation as yourself Vanessa, have seen (as a result of hearing) large gatherings for party’s while I follow all rules and guidelines. Right now I see my mum very rarely and wearing a mask and going outside for a cup of tea. Other than that I’ve got my neighbours that I chat to when i see them, again rarely due to me working from home and right now I’m home alone so it’s tough. When I shop it’s just for things I need, not wandering around having a gander. The mask is good as you’re not easily recognized so you can be out quickly. I walk everywhere, no taxi’s plus I like to get out of the house as the walls are closing in on me, as I’m sure they are for the majority. In order to help ourselves and others, reporting congregations should be encouraged

Mute Ivan Genockey
    Favourite Ivan Genockey
    Oct 10th 2020, 12:30 PM

No point having big fines that people cant afford to pay.
    Small fines will work just as good.

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Ivan Genockey: They need to be hefty fines or they will be ignored. If anyone can show they don’t have the money give them a month to pay up and let them start saving. Don’t ignore the rules and you won’t get fined anyway, it’s very simple really.

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:13 PM

I was in the shop a few weeks ago and the guy in front of me wasn’t wearing a mask…I just said “where’s your mask” at which point he turned to me, quite irate and replied “it’s in the fookin van, I don’t have a social life”….he works in construction so that’s okay?????!!!

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Oct 10th 2020, 7:40 PM

Without exception meaning it applies to tds,senators,Eu representatives

Mute Michael MC Evoy
    Favourite Michael MC Evoy
    Oct 10th 2020, 11:04 PM

Name them and fine them.