You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The presenters of Top Gear

Jeremy Clarkson cleared over the use of the word 'pikey' on Top Gear

The decision has been criticised by a Traveller group which accused the BBC of ‘legitimising a racist word’.

A BBC INVESTIGATION has cleared Top Gear presenters over the use of the word ‘pikey’ in an episode last year.

The decision has been criticised by Traveller organisations which have accused the BBC of ‘legitimising the use of a racist word’.

The incident comes one week after presenter Jeremy Clarkson was suspended by the broadcaster for allegedly punching one of the show’s producers and calling him a “lazy Irish c**t”.

The complaint, which was lodged by the Traveller Movement charity, concerned an episode of Top Gear which aired in February which featured a race of hatchback cars which were popular in the 1980s.

During the programme, presenter Richard Hammond drove a Vauxhall Nova and was mocked by his colleagues. Jeremy Clarkson then placed a placard on the start line with the words ‘Pikey’s Peak’ on it.

The complainant said it was a gratuitous use of derogatory and racist language.

In its ruling published today, the BBC Trust’s Editorial Standards Committee said that the word ‘pikey’ had evolved into common parlance to mean ‘cheap’ and would not necessarily be associated with Traveller or Gypsy communities.

“The use of the word ‘pikey’ had been used on a placard to mean ‘cheap’ or ‘chavvy’ rather than directly related to the minority communities,” the ruling said. “The Committee considered that there had been no intended racist reference when using the word”.

The committee said that the word ‘pikey’ was in keeping with the style of humour exhibited by the presenters towards Richard Hammond’s perceived ‘cheap’ style.

However it warned programme makers to bear in mind the potential for offence in future programmes and to “employ extreme care and sensitivity when using it”.

A spokesperson for the Traveller Movement in Britain said the decision not to uphold the complaint was “absurd”.

“The claim that it has evolved a new meaning and that  most people do not realise it has any reference at all with Gypsies and Travellers is absolute rubbish,” the spokesperson told The Independent.

The group had cited previous uses of the word ‘pikey’ in their complaint, including in 2008 when Clarkson called Hammond ‘such a pikey’ for having a personalised car number plate.

Read: Clarkson ‘called Top Gear producer lazy Irish and punched him’ > 

Read: 11 of the most inappropriate Clarksonisms ever uttered on Top Gear > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:07 PM

All the travellers do is complain and whine about not being treated fairly. From 99% of what I’ve seen they seriously need to cop on. They give their own names by behaving like they do.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:19 PM

Some English people use that word a lot. Not referring to Irish travellers more cheap chavvy people.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:48 PM

Some English people refer to Irish people as pikeys with really pisses me off.

Mute ThE DucKz NuTz
    Favourite ThE DucKz NuTz
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:28 PM

But in fare ness Sam the travelling community provides most of us settled people with free housing, free weekly social welfare payments, free health care, free education for our kids, free water and free bin collection through all the income tax they pay….. so they have every right to complain and whinge when people disrespect them………

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:41 PM

That’s it, isn’t it? They’re a credit to society, ever the underdog, the constantly maligned and discriminated against. Sure they deserve everything they get; honest souls who are always willing to put down a day’s work and give back to the community.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:44 PM

You used to be funny, Duck.

Mute ThE DucKz NuTz
    Favourite ThE DucKz NuTz
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:54 PM

Thanks charlie………. glad i made you giggle at some point …….xxx

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:40 PM

I lived in London for a number of years and was never referred to as a pikey, it must be just you Vin. You don’t tar drives for a living by any chance, or offer to take away people’s rubbish, and ‘legitimately’ get rid of it?

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 18th 2015, 12:57 AM

Maybe just not to your face.

Mute beachcomber
    Favourite beachcomber
    Mar 18th 2015, 6:41 AM

Your post is the definition of bigotry! Well done you are definitely a bigot!

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:19 PM

Ah the poor Travelling community.
    The world is against them

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:17 PM

Having black skin makes you a different race to somebody with white skin. Having wheels on your home does not make you a different race to people who don’t have wheels on their home.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:31 PM

We don’t really have races, superficial surface differences. We DO have cultural differences. Like paying taxes and putting rubbish in bins versus not doing that.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:39 PM

It depends on how you came into possession of the wheels in the first place.

Mute Sarah Collier
    Favourite Sarah Collier
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:20 PM

Egg head, you are incorrect, Irish travellers are a separate ethnic group within Ireland. They have a separate culture, language and musical heritage. They also have a distinct DNA pattern. Your comment is like saying that Irish and English people are the same race. The constant casual and deliberate racism directed against traveller people is a disgrace and people should inform themselves before making sweeping generalisations like yours.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:46 PM

Well said Sarah. About time the Brigade turned up.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:13 PM

Culture?! Of robbing people, intimidating people, making absolute tips of wherever they go? If that’s your definition of culture it vastly differs from mine. Pandering to the whims of $c*mbags is all your doing.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:22 PM

There DNA is unique all right. There are all related

Mute Ann Casey
    Favourite Ann Casey
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:31 PM

How about different languages then. Travellers speak Shelta and Cant – surely their own languages proves their different ethnicities?

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:49 PM

It’s the same as the word knacker over here. These days it’s used more to describe tracksuit wearing skangers or the pyjamas brigade!

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:40 PM

I’m wondering when not working,sponging of the state and robbing for a living became a race?

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:09 PM

Oh pleae spare us from that ignorant buffoon Clarkson.

Get rid of the stupid oaf !

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:43 PM

It’s not just a mess they leave behind its dead n dying horse abused n neglected left to die by the side of the road still strapped to their sulkies. Tied to trees or what ever with little or no access to food or water, it’s dogs particularly lurchers n sighthound types that have been dragged behind cars n dumped when they aren’t fast enough,left to starve and often severely beaten and abused. All in the name of culture. I find that massively offensive but you don’t see them doing much to change that do you? They earned (oh that’s a first)every single name for themselves perhaps if the copped on,got a few real jobs,an education a bit of respect for the “settled”people and their communities,stopped intimidating people,abusing n stealing animals they may find people will be a little more sympathetic. As soon as travellers are mentioned the Gaurds turn a blind eye because they’ll be accused of being racist n quite frankly are afraid of them.

Mute Seamus Cummins
    Favourite Seamus Cummins
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:50 PM

The world is just becoming to pc for its own good. People jump at any chance to create a fuss over the smallest things.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:57 PM

I wonder why most of the moaners about PC are men? Cramp your style does it lads?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:57 PM

It’s only becoming too pc because people are to cowed to rebut the emotional shaming jabbering the pc crowd throw around .
    Tell it like it is and don’t fall into name calling , use logic and their arguments fall apart .

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:54 PM

Spikes- ashamed of nothing, offended by everything…

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:54 PM

*pikeys

Mute David Craddock
    Favourite David Craddock
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:33 PM

Chinaski had a great laugh at that one absolutey true

Mute Gemma Shah
    Favourite Gemma Shah
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:51 PM

Been a long day. Thanks for the giggle! Some times you just have to love autocorrect…

Mute Rachel Walsh Howe
    Favourite Rachel Walsh Howe
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:29 PM

As much as Pavee point annoy the hell out of me it really annoys me how Clarkson can get away with this. The more they try to justify this person the worse he gets. Just my opinion.

Mute Brian Gormley
    Favourite Brian Gormley
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:43 PM

The committee found another definition for the word pikey, good, our traveler friends have brought a lot worse terms on themselves and any of the pc brigade who think differently should let them camp beside them

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:55 PM

Hello Brian. I was wondering if you could tell me a little more about this PC Brigade of which you speak. Rates of pay, nearest recruitment office,that kind of thing.
    I’m thinking of joining because I value decency and equality over boorishness and ignorance.
    So I thought they might be interested.
    Any information gratefully received.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:18 PM

Brian I’ve lived near many of “them” for nine years.” (today happens to be the ninth anniversary of my moving in) and have never had one ounce of trouble.

Mute Alex Olsen
    Favourite Alex Olsen
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:48 PM

..said nobody in Ireland ever…

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:17 PM

Pikey is a cockney word for “someone who is different”. Nothing derogatory about the word. Next they’ll be complaining about the word “traveller”

Mute ThE DucKz NuTz
    Favourite ThE DucKz NuTz
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:52 PM

So we dont like clackson for saying one of his production team is a lazy irish c.nt but………. will we stand up for our nomadic cultured friends or will we let him away with this one this time…….

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:18 PM

in fairness, the producer was Irish – and perhaps he is not a nice person (dont like the word Clarkson used even though it may have been descriptive of this person)
    We have an idea who Clarkson is, but who knows the producer? He may be a complete twit, or just a person trying to do his job, we dont know do we?

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:41 PM

Clarkson is on a mission to alienate the world and still hold down a job

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:20 PM

Or a bunch of beauricratic arseholeys are trying to get rid of Clarkson

Mute Anne Gyna
    Favourite Anne Gyna
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:22 PM

When are our lovely Eastern European Roma imports gonna go on strike for an upgrade to ” Traveller” status? Them lads sure know the ropes too, when it comes to contributing zero & taking much from the State.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:52 PM

I wonder what he’ll say when he next visits Ireland and sees all the cars with ‘N’ signs.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:08 PM

Its OK for Jeremy Clarkson to be a racist bully because his show is liked.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:26 PM

He is racist because the tabloids said he is don’t you mean…

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:27 PM

Can’t say anything these days.

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:17 PM

Has any lazy Irish c* *t lodged a complaint?

Mute james redmond
    Favourite james redmond
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:25 PM

I f…..g hate pikeys!

Mute Sean Creaven
    Favourite Sean Creaven
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:01 PM

He should of been sacked a long time ago

Mute Kalon Dillon
    Favourite Kalon Dillon
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:41 PM

Some English people assume all irish are pikeys and refer to them as such. First hand experience of this.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:48 PM

Passed through the Curragh in Kildare today, and guess what a load of pikey f**kers all parked up in their English reg cars and caravans. Rubbish everywhere, not to mention trailer loads of rubbish that they have probably charged idiotic people to take away, and which will no doubt be left behind when they eventually move on somewhere else. These people get away with absolute murder, and sadly those in authority are afraid of them. Fair play to the UK government if they aren’t afraid of these people, sad thing is though that they will all probably move back here as they know our hopeless lot will never challenge them.

Mute paddy the plasterer
    Favourite paddy the plasterer
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:39 PM

I hate pikeys!!

Mute ptriley
    Favourite ptriley
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:31 PM

I hate PIKEYS

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:23 PM

He should do an episode about Transit vans to clear the air.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:16 PM

You see it’s the police not the BBC that should investigate this , explain the difference in what john terry did last year against QPR and this , oh Ya , Terry didn’t assault Anton Ferdinand after racially abusing him.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:25 PM

that’s an important question – why aren’t the police involved? is it because there was not an assault as the tabloids have reported? There certainly were reports from other sources that said Clarkson did not hit the producer – only that Clarkson swore a lot and was behaving like a spoilt child.
    Remember the whole thing was actually reported by Clarkson, and that was after another day of filming.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:26 PM

I would never dream of using such an offensive word, it’s well known, that travellers do not like it, so I would never use it. Ireland has certainly changed!, No” Compassion” for anyone that’s different , why lump all travellers, with some that give them a bad name, Shame on all of you who do that!

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Mar 18th 2015, 12:08 AM

Compassion may be a word you’d want to teach them.

Mute Damien Moran
    Favourite Damien Moran
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:39 PM

he’s the sort that was riding around here on horses no so long ago in a red coat with the smell of some english slatterns fanny drifting from his skin.

Mute gary o brien
    Favourite gary o brien
    Mar 17th 2015, 10:41 PM

Should it not be the idea of name calling or identifying a person or persons as different to the rest of society as the real problem here. Nobody should have the right to pass judgement on another or for any reason think that we are better than the next person. Clarkson and his type are very out of sync with modern man and so maybe shouldn’t be commenting on the public stage as much

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:48 PM

Gary, Clarkson is a TV presenter and newspaper columnist – whose job is to comment on the ‘public stage’
    Why on earth would we have people in the media if those people shouldnt comment on the public stage?
    You dont have to agree with them