You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Adam King (6) from Cork on the Toy Show. Andres Poveda

The top eight moments from this year's Late Late Toy Show

From heartfelt moments to strict social distancing, here are the best moments from the 2020 Toy Show.

LAST UPDATE | 28 Nov 2020

THE LATE LATE Toy Show looked very different this year with two-metre social distancing and a virtual audience, but the much-loved show still managed to pull at the heartstrings of the nation.  

The theme for this year’s show was based on the works of Roald Dahl, with a set decked out with nods to characters like Willy Wonka and Matilda.

The presenter himself Ryan Tubridy started out in a Fantastic Mr Fox costumer (fur and all), and things only progressed from there. 

Here are some of the highlights from a Toy Show to remember. 

1. Saoirse 

There were two memorable young girls named Saoirse on tonight’s show.

The first Saoirse of the night aspires to be a vet, but she could yet have a role on the National Public Health Emergency Team given her sheer breadth of knowledge about Covid-19. 

The UCD School of Veterinary Medicine has already pre-emptively welcomed her to the ranks. 

2. Also Saoirse

Onto the second Saoirse of the night, with Saoirse Ruane from Galway capturing the hearts (and tears) of the country by telling her story about her amputated leg.

She showed off her fantastic prosthetic leg (which has a picture of a unicorn on it), and as Ryan said: “How can a prosthetic leg be so beautiful?”

3. Jayme Traynor

One of the (many) children on tonight’s show taking no nonsense from Tubridy.

Bucket hat on his head, dinosaur costume on his legs – this young lad from Newry was a definite audience favourite tonight.

4. Sam Moules

Another member of the no-nonsense crew, Sam told Tubridy he would turn his pheasant into slippers. This is not a joke.

The conversation progressed, and we got some very impressive pheasant impressions in the end. 

_Z1I3010 Sam Moules (7) from Wicklow. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

5. Garda Matthew 

This young garda-to-be was a strict enforcer of the rules, making sure Tubridy didn’t get within two metres of him at all costs.

We could all do with taking a page from Garda Matthew’s book heading into Level 3. 

_N9I9759 (1) Garda Matthew at tonight's Toy Show. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

6. Gabrielle Dermody

8-year-old Gabrielle Dermody was a delight on tonight’s show, speaking passionately about dolls that looked like her and teaching Tubridy some very ‘down with the kids’ Tik Tok dance moves. Very enjoyable scenes.  

_Z1I3248 Gabrielle Dermody on the Late Late Toy Show. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

7. Celebrity guests

From Gary Barlow, to the Edge, to Dermot Kennedy. A few celebrity guests always pop their heads into the Late Late Toy Show, and this year was no exception (although virtually appearing in most cases).

The duet between singer Dermot Kennedy and Michael Moloney from Ballina was a beautiful moment, as was Gary Barlow singing alongside children from across the world. 

_Z1I4010 Michael Moloney and Dermot Kennedy performing on the Late Late Toy Show. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

8. Adam King

Adam’s adorable smile and his enthusiastic wave will stay with tonight’s audience for a long time to come, that’s one thing for sure. 

His night was made when hospital porter John Doyle arrived on the set, and it made for the rest of our nights as well. 

The charity appeal that was launched during the Toy Show last night has raised over €5.2 million, according to RTÉ.

The funds from the appeal are to be used to support children’s charities and causes around the country, with half of the money shared between Barnados, Children’s Health Foundation and Children’s Books Ireland.

The other half is to be given as grants to various children’s charities around the country.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 107 comments
107 Comments
    Mute Peter Daly
    Favourite Peter Daly
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:13 AM

⭐️A BEAUTIFUL HEROINE⭐️
    Saoirse Ruane,
    from Kiltullagh faced a life changing challenge. Leg amputation.
    Bravery to face unimaginable trauma.
    Courage to set her personal targets.
    Generosity donating excess monies and thinking of others in need.
    A dream to appear on the Toy Show.
    A dream to walk again.
    A dream to have a family holiday anywhere.
    A smile that lit up our nation.
    A beacon that puts our pandemic whinges in perspective.
    Legend Young Lady.

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:15 AM

Credit to Tubridy, he’s really grown into the toy show. His first year was a bit of a disaster but over the years he’s crafted it into a very special event. In spite of all that’s happening right now, we can call that a complete success.

Mute Mary Ann Sweeney
    Favourite Mary Ann Sweeney
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:40 AM

@Adrian O’Donnell: He did very well, great show. I laughed when he cursed when the fanta bottle over flowed!!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:56 AM

@Mary Ann Sweeney: so i did not hear things, that was funny

Mute Richard Russell
    Favourite Richard Russell
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:47 AM

@Adrian O’Donnell: I hate rte and all that it stands for

DeeM
    Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Richard Russell: The joy thieves are up early!

Mute Richard Russell
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:12 AM

@DeeM: should have added rte army of tv licence inspectors and the national union of journalists

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Nov 28th 2020, 11:44 AM

@Richard Russell: rte stands for Raidió Teilifís Éireann.

DeeM
    Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Nov 28th 2020, 11:58 AM

@Richard Russell: You’re definitely having a bad morning!! Try and find some joy today!!

Doug
    Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Nov 28th 2020, 12:46 PM

@Richard Russell:
    I believe they’re not too fond of you too!!

Mute Richard Russell
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Doug: well paid rte staff are active. Under orders get Russell

Mute SugaSharkie
    Favourite SugaSharkie
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:20 AM

Adam seeing his hospital porter as his idol really put life into perspective. When he walks out, Adams eyes don’t lie, he is his hero. What a moment!

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:49 AM

@SugaSharkie: true heroes and far from the ones we are constantly told are heroes in public life and on our TV screens every day

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham
    Nov 28th 2020, 12:26 PM

@SugaSharkie: Adam is the cutest little boy, I could run away with him.

Mute Henri Poincaré
    Favourite Henri Poincaré

I thought it was brilliant

Mute Mc da knife
    Favourite Mc da knife

@Henri Poincaré: me too, it really was brilliant.

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:15 AM

@Henri Poincaré: have a 100 euro donation worth every penny and better than any therapis. really shows we’ve nothing to complain about

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:33 AM

Very different show this year but it suited the year Ryan Turbidy did well he looked like he had to stop himself a few times from hugging the children orr helping them sort out a toy. I thought RTE done a good job tonight.

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:10 AM

Seriously gottac give it up to The Late Late Toy show… as a 6’3 masculine man watching it with me woman, I was cut up in ribbons watching these wonderful talented kid’s donated a 100 worth every penny. Raised 6 million from last I heard. Bravo…

The kid’s on that show are hero’s. Feeling better as a 36 year old man this is what the future holds. Happy Christmas

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:49 AM

@kennyjones27: likewise. Have to say weather it was a combo of a few things, and our current circumstances I ended up donating twice. Best 100 I ever spent. Bravo RTE and those wonderful kids.

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:06 PM

@Glenn Halpin: well done man

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:17 AM

Entertaining show and Tubs was on top form. Well done to the kids that took part and to RTE for making it happen in these extraordinary times.

Mute Siobhán Kirby
    Favourite Siobhán Kirby
    Dec 1st 2020, 2:53 PM

@Fionn Darland: Well said! Fair play.

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball

Will forever be remembered for Adam and Saoirse – 2 legends!!

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:32 AM

Dermo and Michael what a moment.. Well done to all,, the Irish being Irish.

Mute Michelle Keeley
    Favourite Michelle Keeley
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:00 AM

@Seymour business: I agree. I got goosebumps when Michael started singing brought me to tears, that young man has to be irelands superstar of the future.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:14 AM

@Seymour business: yeah that was brilliant

Mute Caroline Reid
    Favourite Caroline Reid
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:13 AM

@Seymour business: when he turned around and saw Dermot, that smile wow. He seems like a lovely young man and humble as does Dermot

Mute Pete mc pete
    Favourite Pete mc pete

Adam was the star of the show,what a lovely young lad

Mute Siobhán Kirby
    Favourite Siobhán Kirby
    Dec 1st 2020, 2:53 PM

@Pete mc pete: Agreed!

Dave
    Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:19 AM

While the rest of us have spent most the pandemic crying we cant go for a pint, one young girl spent it learning to walk again after losing her leg. Puts it in perspective really.

Mute Ben Finlay
    Favourite Ben Finlay
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:48 AM

I was lying in my hospital bed following surgery watching the Toy Show, shedding tears of laughter at Saoirse the Vet and tears of sadness plus huge admiration for Saoirse Ruane. Both fantastic young girls for different reasons on the night. The amount of money raised is staggering and credit to the people of Ireland who are as Jimmy Magee would say, “different class”! Last but not least, well done Tubs!

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:52 AM

@Ben Finlay: hope you’re on the mend soon

Mute Ben Finlay
    Favourite Ben Finlay
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Lucy Legacy: Cheers Lucy, I’ll get there!

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien

Young Adam, legend!

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:41 AM

It was really well done and the real heroes were the kids, totally enjoyed the show but Tubbs “F” bomb was priceless.

Mute Paul Brothers
    Favourite Paul Brothers
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:49 AM

@Michael Clinton: I think that “f” bomb was when he realized it was club orange and not Fanta

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:50 AM

@Michael Clinton:
    Agreed. I had to rewind to make sure I heard it correctly..
    But it was so natural, it was brilliant

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:13 AM

@Geraldine O’Riordan: absolutely,. We rewound it a few times. We had a great laugh over it. It was a natural Irish thing to say.I thought when he stared into the camera he was going to say” oh did Mr Fox say a naughty word. ”
    Anyway we put 5.5 million in the naughty word jar.!

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:16 AM

I hope Adam goes to space someday.. So wholesome

Mute eoin carroll
    Favourite eoin carroll

They forgot to show the toys

Jen
    Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:19 AM

@eoin carroll: true but I’d take the kids any days over the toys.

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:20 AM

@eoin carroll: Exactly when I was a kid I used to forward past all those billy barry kids to get to the toys. Gonna be a few disappointed children tomorrow.

Mute Critical Thinker
    Favourite Critical Thinker
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:23 AM

@eoin carroll: I thought that was a strength. No need for such commercialism. The kids are and should be the stars. I love the fact that it’s not just the Billy Barry musical theatre kids and the latest NERF gun. BB kids have a lot to offer to the show, but it’s great to see ability and talent in all areas

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:31 AM

@eoin carroll: it wasn’t about the toys.. it was about heart strings. And I guess it worked. As Turbity said its about ” a whole new world order”

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:32 AM

@Jen: it wasn’t about the toys.. it was about heart strings. And I guess it worked. As Turbity said its about ” a whole new world order”

Mute Brendan Cahill
    Favourite Brendan Cahill
    Nov 28th 2020, 7:38 AM

@eoin carroll: Exactly that’s what I thought as well.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:06 AM

@eoin carroll: we really enjoyed it. But our 8 year old did comment that she wished they showed more toys.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:22 AM

@eoin carroll: Completely agree. It was the Late Late Kids show. I turned it off and went to play with my train set.

Mute Lynda O Gorman
    Favourite Lynda O Gorman
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:40 AM

@Critical Thinker: BILLIE BARRY KIDS haven’t been on Toy Show for over 10 years. The Children are from Dance Schools all over the Country and they all did an amazing brilliant job.

Mute Paul Brothers
    Favourite Paul Brothers
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:39 AM

A brilliant show, the star were the kids and seeing some see and meet there idols was amazing.
    A different show than normal where tubridy would be up close and personal with the children.
    Still an amazing Irish show for the world to see, it’s all about the kids

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle

Excellent show, Thank God the days of Pat the Plank are long gone

Mute Uncle Montys oaf
    Favourite Uncle Montys oaf
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:29 AM

@Paul Doyle: agreed https://youtu.be/dU0OGyPUoQQ

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:41 AM

@Uncle Montys oaf: One of his best skits. RTE need a new good comedy show!

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Nov 28th 2020, 7:29 AM

Well done Ryan turbidy…

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:19 AM

We all put 5.5 million euros in the naughty word jar for Ryan.Legend.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:09 AM

The kids were great but hurried tru there routine by the host. A lot of tears watching it and all good round feeling for the adults watching,and happy days with the money donated. But to get kids around the country excited for the toy show is a little bit shallow. The only toys were soon kicked out of the way by the host. Don’t hate me but it’s meant to be a toy show and that never happened. I myself liked it but little Jimmy asked me could he go to bed i said no it’s the toy show Jimmy, your watching one way or the other. Alas he wasn’t impressed.

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:13 AM

@Paul Gorry: cop on

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:24 AM

@kennyjones27: cop on? Its meant to be a toy show for kids getting excited for Christmas. Not a tear jerker for a masculine man and his missus.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:36 AM

@Paul Gorry: dude, not meant to cause offence. Just think the show displaced the best of humanity,

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:10 AM

@kennyjones27: how many times did he tell the kids “we will all die” coped it twice, once when he was handing the three boys the picture frame “oh I can’t let you touch that, we will all die”and when the boy got up to get the guitar the Edge gave him “sit down or we will all die” whats all that about?

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:12 AM

@kennyjones27: Yes. The show *did* displace the best of humanity. Spot on!

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:17 AM

@Jean Farrelly: Satire, comedy, for children.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Nov 28th 2020, 7:10 AM

@Jean Farrelly: You forget to mention that the kids burst out laughing when he said that.

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:28 AM

@John Kenny: and what age group of children would that satire be understood… it was meant to be a toy show for children.. but if you believe that was childrens satire…

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:28 AM

@Cian Nolan: and what age group of children would that satire be understood… it was meant to be a toy show for children.. but if you believe that was childrens satire…

Mute Jean Farrelly
    Favourite Jean Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:35 AM

@Cian Nolan: oh well that makes it ok then. It was not appropriate for a childs toy show. But if your happy with it.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:01 AM

@Jean Farrelly: Kids exaggerate all the time and often find it very funny. Tubridy was exaggerating and the kids loved it. Thought it was great.

AC
    Mute AC
    Favourite AC
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:01 AM

@Jean Farrelly: wow Jean thank God most people are not like you. Get over yourself and stop nit picking. I am not a fan of Tubridy at all but he is excellent with the kids on the toy show.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Jean Farrelly: I imagine it’s what Roald Dahl would have said or written.

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Nov 28th 2020, 12:27 PM

@Paul Gorry: go get yourself an Argos catalogue and go bananas looking at toys. The toy show is an entertainment show.

Seems like lots were entertained.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:15 PM

@Aranthos Faroth: would a smiths catalogue not be better?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 29th 2020, 1:07 AM

@Aranthos Faroth: ah a great reply just. F*U* the kids once everyone else is entertained

Mute Chris Wilson
    Favourite Chris Wilson
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:27 AM

One of the best toy show’s ,was brilliant

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:16 AM

Good show all things considered. My favourite moment was Dermot Kennedy singing with Michael. Oh and Tubridy spilling Fanta on himself and saying “oh f**k sake” live on camera much to the amusement of the kid he was talking to. Very 2020 moment.

Mute snotser
    Favourite snotser
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Ger: kids must if been playing football with the Fanta bottle to explode like that lol

Mute Edward Natali
    Favourite Edward Natali
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:25 AM

A great show to end the year. But the awkward reactions when Tubridy dropped the F-Bomb. Priceless!

Mute Lynda O Gorman
    Favourite Lynda O Gorman
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:36 AM

Can I Just Say Don’t Know WHY people keep bringing up
    THE BILLIE BARRY KIDS ??? They haven’t been involved in the Toy Show for over 10 years. A Fantastic Show with Absolutely Amazing Children from All Over Ireland. And the way they all knew to keep Their Distance was Incredible. Well Done to Everyone one of Them.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:04 PM

@Lynda O Gorman: I know, like its some big loss that D4 brats with ambitious parents werent on the show

Mute Bleurgh
    Favourite Bleurgh
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:57 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: billy Barry kids are based in Marino on the northside !!!

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Nov 28th 2020, 4:00 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Billy Barry is northside. Insufferable ignorance.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 28th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Fabio Dillon: Oh so what. Its stage school and its probably expensive to get your child into.

Nov 28th 2020, 7:43 AM

The kids were brilliant, Tubridy on the other hand was insufferable.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:09 AM

@John: you spelled “excellent” wrong there

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:06 AM

@John: he was magnificent. He is a terrible adult interviewer but everything else he offers has been absolutely brilliant for the role.

Nov 28th 2020, 10:01 AM

@Glenn Halpin: sorry I got to disagree he was shocking.

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Nov 28th 2020, 7:12 AM

That moment when Tubs opened the Fanta! And it started fizzing out. Ah for @#$^ smile look at the camera.

Mute Gary Mullen
    Favourite Gary Mullen
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:24 AM

It really puts things into perspective. You think you have problems until you see someone worse off than you. Next time stop and think, you complain that you have no shoes until you meet someone with no feet.

Mute Tony Coyne
    Favourite Tony Coyne
    Nov 28th 2020, 7:57 AM

All the kids were fantastic and Although I donate on the night, it’s the only one night of the year I get the guilts over not paying a TV license

Mute Armchair Follower
    Favourite Armchair Follower
    Nov 28th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Tony Coyne: somewhere in a darkened room, a license inspector is googling Tony Coyne.

Mute NotaWarder
    Favourite NotaWarder
    Nov 28th 2020, 3:36 PM

@Tony Coyne: i just hope rte aren’t skimming off the top, or charging a processing fee or something.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:13 PM

I thought it was the best one yet. It focused on what really matters in life and thats not a bunch of expensive toys and smart alec kids trying to out cheek eachother. It was moving and magical and as Roald Dhal famously said: “I think probably kindness is my number one attribute in a human being. I’ll put it before any of the things like courage or bravery or generosity or anything else”.

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:57 AM

Now that the kids talent show is done for adults.
    Why dont they do a toy show for the kids?

Mute Trina Wade
    Favourite Trina Wade
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Pete Lee: Possibly because given the year that’s in it with so many parents out of work and financially struggling maybe they thought it best to showcase the resilience and brilliance of our next generation instead of parading a line of toys that parents may not be able to afford, could be wrong but that’s the message I got from it, it was a show where kids dreams came true and they had a lot of fun – nothing wrong with kids seeing that at the end of 2020 I think

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Nov 28th 2020, 10:39 AM

@Trina Wade: fair point…
    But its a TOY SHOW with no toys….

Mute brenster
    Favourite brenster
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:27 PM

@Trina Wade: Yes, I completely agree. None of the usual Smyths toys and Ken Black promos either, so it was planned for experience rather then sales.

Mute Giddy
    Favourite Giddy
    Nov 28th 2020, 5:36 AM

This was my favourite moment https://youtu.be/gxcm1CrEQzg
    The look on his smug head after he says it.

Mute Dónal McCarthy
    Favourite Dónal McCarthy
    Nov 28th 2020, 11:57 AM

What about the moment Tubs spilled the Fanta!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:56 AM

Did i hear things or did Ryan curse last nite when he opened the fanta bottle and it sprayed over him? If was funny

Mute Claire O'Donovan
    Favourite Claire O'Donovan
    Nov 28th 2020, 2:06 PM

Those kids were a credit. Covid actually helped Tubridy, keeping his distance and out of shot, allowing each child to talk at their own pace. First time in years the children were afforded some respect, instead of being talked over, harried and their toys being dismissed for cheap laughs. Appreciating all the deserved sentiment, the show now appears to cater more for the adult viewer. Kids love toys and it would’ve been nice to see more emphasis on this, especially as kids can no longer visit toy shops as before.

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:28 PM

It was a fantatasic show.

Mute backupanytime
    Favourite backupanytime
    Nov 28th 2020, 6:25 PM

Stealing a child’s innocence by getting her to promote the Pfizer vaccine on live TV. How much lower can RTE go? Very disturbing but not surprising of state funded propaganda RTE. This is child abuse clear and simple and anybody who pays a TV licence to fund this should be ashamed of themselves.

Mute Pauline Geraghty
    Favourite Pauline Geraghty
    Nov 29th 2020, 3:38 AM

@backupanytime: Troll

Mute Louise Ni Riain
    Favourite Louise Ni Riain
    Nov 28th 2020, 8:16 AM

Of course tubridy saying f. Sake

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    Nov 28th 2020, 9:06 AM

It’ll be remembered for his f-bomb lol.

Mute Andrew Keane
    Favourite Andrew Keane
    Nov 28th 2020, 1:48 PM

The Tik Tok dance thing was a great example of Irish poor sense of rhythm. By the time they started dancing they sped up the music. Maybe they just wanted to appear like they cared about her piece rather than actually respect the kids moment.

Mute Anthony Geary
    Favourite Anthony Geary
    Nov 28th 2020, 5:33 AM

I thought it was a very good show by Tubridy. Well hosted without an audience. Congratulations Ryan.