You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Maps

Denis O'Brien's empire just got a little bit bigger - Topaz has bought out Esso

The deal is rumoured to be worth in the region of €70 million.

Updated 9.40pm

TOPAZ, THE SERVICE Station chain owned by Denis O’Brien, has had its takeover bid for Esso approved by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC).

The exact figure behind the deal is not yet known, although it had previously been mooted to be in the region of €70 million.

The takeover has been expected since December of last year when Topaz confirmed they were poised to complete the transaction. Its completion will see Topaz owning roughly 30 % of the motor fuels market here.

At present, the Exxon Mobil-owned Esso business owns 38 service stations across the country.

As part of the deal the CCPC has directed that Topaz must dispose of three of those service stations.

According to Topaz, the deal will see the brand employ 2,000 people across Ireland with service stations under their banner to be seen in all 32 counties on the island.

Its turnover is expected to be roughly €3.5 billion.

“In just 10 years Topaz has successfully taken on and bought out the Irish retail businesses of three of the largest oil companies in the world (Shell, Statoil and now Esso) to create a truly significant and innovative Irish business and a major Irish employer,” Topaz CEO Emmet O’Neill said in a statement welcoming the deal.

This deal adds real substance to our operations here. It will bring our employee numbers in Ireland to 2,000 and we believe there is real scope to develop this business further.

The further development O’Neill is speaking of includes the deal announced last week which will see 40 Eddie Rockets burger restaurants open on Topaz forecourts by the end of 2016.

The chair of the CCPC, Isolde Goggin, said: “Our role in reviewing mergers and acquisitions is to ensure that they do not substantially lessen competition in any market for goods or services in the state.”

Goggin added that she was confident the CCPC had “safeguarded competition, both for consumers and for other businesses in this important sector”.

Additional reporting by Catherine Healy

Read: These are Netflix’s plans for new shows and general world domination

Read: Penneys flagship store opened in Madrid today and here’s what it looks like

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

139 Comments
    Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:49 PM

Is there no such thing as the competition authority when it comes to this man?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:10 PM

bp bought out by statoil, statoil merged with shell to form topaz, topaz bought out esso… yep, Someone in the competition authority is doing their job, especially when you see the large cluster of high population areas that are only covered by these two.

Mute Fill in Later
    Favourite Fill in Later
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:16 PM

Denis O’Brien also owns eventserv

The company which supplies security barriers to Dublin city council for all the anti water charge marches

You can’t help but laugh at the irony of it !!

Topaz is also the single biggest contributor to revenue in Ireland you couldn’t dream this stuff up

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244

Tan coloured envelopes always rule the day in jolly Ireland

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:27 PM

I wonder were he got the loan from this time round.. ????

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:55 PM

it is getting harder to find a non Denis O´OBrien fuel station in Dublin 7/15
    We will have a cartel operating in all but name.
    This country is a sick joke.
    I will have have to watch my fuel gauge more carefully now to avoid contributing money to Citizen Kane O’Swine.

Oct 15th 2015, 6:18 PM

He’s gotta be on Statins-better still Warfarin-fat bas*ard.!

Mute TrueBloodÉire
    Favourite TrueBloodÉire
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:24 PM

f sake, now have to find new petrol station to use.

Living in fkin DOB-land, Ireland gone, sold out to become a globalisation zone, all for the business class who are importing Nu-Irish as constant source of cheap labour. This country doing it’s damndest to look like some Los Angeles knock-off suburb, even peoples accents are beginning to sound American, ffs.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:52 PM

Esso, just another garage to pass.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:20 PM

and wait for it the new buzz word is modular homes and guess who has this sewn up yes a D.O’B. company.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:22 PM

just wait until he gets control of Irish Water.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:54 PM

be carful dobby might have you in court. after all he owns the government, Robs the country and thinks he is God

Mute Fidelma Ryan
    Favourite Fidelma Ryan
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:12 AM

Absolutely.watch my gauge all the time to avoid contributing to the corrupt empire.hope more people do the same

Mute Richie Mulcahy
    Favourite Richie Mulcahy
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:34 AM

The racist undertones in the message are disgusting. “TrueBloodEire”, surely another way of saying White Only Please. Also “Nu-Irish”, what is that exactly? Are the many doctors & nurses that save lives on a daily basis of some lesser worth because they were born somewhere else? Or is it good old fashioned skin colour? Or a hint of an accent? You’re one sad individual

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:49 AM

Ha competition in Ireland

Look what happened to those foreigners BUPA

Mute Richie Mulcahy
    Favourite Richie Mulcahy
    Oct 16th 2015, 10:58 AM

If you read the article you would see that the competition authority examined the sale and gave it the go-ahead as it would be ok once three stations were taken out of the portfolio. Like many commentators on here, you’ve an irrational hatred on Denis O’Brien. While his tax residency may not sit comfortably with many, no laws are being broken. As for his business dealings, you can hate the man all you want but he is shrewd and made something of himself. He has worked since he was about 14. He certainly won’t lose any sleep over your petty jealousy. I say good luck to him.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Oct 16th 2015, 11:44 AM

What happens to all our nurses and doctors, you are aware they are paying the “foreigner” staff less ya?? as they are on contract and we ship our Nurses to the UK.
    I know of a story(fact) were a foreign muslim doctor refused to work with or treat women unless they were fully covered , he also refused instructions from our senior staff because they were women all because of his religious beliefs. How many lives were put at risk because of this certifiable nutcase? You think about that if you need an operation or emergency medical care sometime that someone that thinks all women and westerns are inferior is treating you.

Mute David Flaherty
    Favourite David Flaherty
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:24 PM

Topsz suppling apple green

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:02 PM

D`OB owns the state, didn`t you know it was gifted to him by FG who he also owns, do try to keep up

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:38 PM

Apple green for me.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:47 PM

He is buying that next week.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:54 PM

Topaz and Applegreen are both alright in my book. I wouldn’t know about their petrol, but I regularly charge my car at both places (for free).

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute brains for rocks
    Favourite brains for rocks
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:04 PM

Yeah, I avoid Topaz like the plague. Any board with Biffo on it can’t be a good one and he’s on enough of a gravy train as is

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:39 PM

Topaz is always 5c a litre more expensive than any other garage… Also their deli is a rip off. You’ll pay close to €6 for a rotten sandwich and a cup of coffee..

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:12 PM

Its to cover there discount on the fuel card think AXA provides.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:42 PM

Applegreen at Jobstown Tallaght €1.30 a litre.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:40 PM

Topaz is €1.28 on fortfield road

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:13 PM

Mad Taoseach he owns some of the Applegreen petrol stations too. Google it.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:06 PM

Von…I’ve tried seaching for links but can’t find any….I can find links that say Applegreen and Tedcastles Oil Products are legally challenging the former National Road Authority’s decision to award three new service station developments at Athlone on the M6, Kilcullen on the M9 and Gorey on the M11 to businessman Denis O’Brien’s Topaz Energy Group Limited….but can’t find anything about DoB owning any Applegreen stations…help?

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:25 PM

Lowry is a shareholder in Apple Green

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:20 PM

doesn’t Comrade OBrien own Siteserv?They are real well got with the HSE,they had a construction contract in Dublin recently where the crew came from Omagh and stayed in a Clarion for the duration of the gig.I couldn’t but think there were several construction company’s in Leinster who could have competed for this gig.

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:31 PM

€2.50 for a sausage roll.. Dob can shove that where the sun don’t shine

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:55 PM

135.9c in Cavan at topaz.
    I suppose when you hold government fuel contracts for all their vehicles, you can charge what you want.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:02 PM

Al Ca i have searched most of google to find what i read a few months ago. I used Applegreen all the time and i downloaded their app and i couldn’t understand why every petrol station belonging to DOB was marked on applegreens map also, thats why i wanted to know and it did say he owned a few of them.
    If I’m wrong ill eat my hat, I wille keep going till i find it.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:09 PM

Thanks von….if I get a chance..I’ll try a deeper search tomorrow..but as far as I’m aware from a radio show I heard during the summer with one of the owners of Applegreen…they have not floated on the stock market yet and the whole operation is still owned by the two lads that started it.
    Thx anyway :)

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:57 PM

10/11 cent more expensive for both diesel and petrol. hate them.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:59 PM

1.15 for diesel best I found in Tramore

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:34 AM

there’s a Curran Fuels in Moyvalley,very good prices,always cheaper than applegreen,my engine hasn’t burnt out yet….

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Oct 19th 2015, 7:45 AM

108.9 for diesel at apple green Clones.
    122.9 in Cavan at Topaz 20 mins down the road.

Mute Liam O'Reilly
    Favourite Liam O'Reilly
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:30 PM

Suppose I’m adding Esso to the list of garages I won’t be visiting!

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:24 PM

Just support the independents. You are paying for those glass box shops in your fuel prices.

Oct 15th 2015, 6:09 PM

The only “Independents” that will be left at will be the laundered diesel outlets.!
    It’s criminal
    There never was a “regulator” or “authority” quango that ever did the ordinary citizen any service whatsoever. Rubber stamp merchants one and all.
    Curses on crony politics.

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:51 AM

B.ollox

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:31 PM

he would want to start paying his fair share of taxes.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:36 PM

cue the begrudgers

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:35 PM

Buy all the garages he wants. I’d be more concerned with his growing influence in media outlets.. And his links with fine Gael.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:40 PM

Don’t expect that comment to remain too long.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:12 PM

Supernove, don’t worry FG will be gone in the next election and hopefully Dobby will have crawled under the hole he came out of.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha

So on top of owning around 25% of Irish media and having a significant interest in Irish Water he will now own 30% of petrol stations? I don’t necessarily begrudge wealthy people their money but I do worry about someone like DOB, there’s no way you control that much in one country without getting to have a say in the running of that country. It’s meant to be one vote each!!!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:39 PM

What happened to those Cartel laws?

Mute arnie
    Favourite arnie
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:34 PM

Il be using maxol so

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:44 PM

I’ll sort you out with some cheap diesel, apparently if you don’t agree with fg shills you know how to get some laundered fuel.

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:45 PM

Or just ask one of Sean Gallagher’s mates to sort you out.

Mute Pronnsias McCarthaigh
    Favourite Pronnsias McCarthaigh
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:33 PM

……38 more service stations to avoid.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen

makes it really hard now to avoid DOB
    very unfair

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:15 PM

David. Blame Enda Kenny he has allowed Dobby buy whatever he wants and borrows any money he wants from our banks

Mute James Lyons
    Favourite James Lyons

Definitely bad news for consumers. I can’t understand how the Competitions Authority don’t see a problem with this

Mute Jerry Mandering
    Favourite Jerry Mandering
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:53 PM

I have a background in the oil industry and this doesn’t bode well for Irish car owners.

Topaz don’t produce their own petrol, Exxon (Esso), Shell and the other multinationals do. So obviously the Esso forecourts in Ireland would buy their petrol from their head company, Exxon, for a fair price.
    Topaz can’t do that, and the external multinationals can charge Topaz higher prices, because who else are they going to buy from?!
    Bad news for the consumer and it may lead to Ireland having the highest petrol prices in Europe.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:58 PM

Good news for the planet.

Oct 15th 2015, 6:11 PM

Glad I kept my Polo going, if that pirate will be waiting wherever I run low on fuel.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:21 PM

We still have NI.
    30 years ago we went north. We’ll do it again.

Mute Bob Beaman
    Favourite Bob Beaman
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:24 PM

Is Topaz not Statoil and Statoil do produce their own petrol?

Mute Jeremiah Horsebeard
    Favourite Jeremiah Horsebeard
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:29 PM

Sick of hearing about Denis O Brien! Bigger issues in the word!

Mute Lou Tennant
    Favourite Lou Tennant
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:31 PM

I’m running out of places to fill up at this stage because I certainly won’t be lining his pockets with my cash.

Mute Darragh DB O'Neill
    Favourite Darragh DB O'Neill
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:07 PM

I totally agree with you. I have boycotted Topaz for years. Personally I use my local independent retailer in the town to support local business, worth the extra cent a litre I think.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:14 AM

The Donald Trump of Ireland and just as much a threat to us , that he could consider trying to own and boss all of us Citizens too politically , like he already does with FG !
    But over my dead body , he won’t succeed , hopefully ?

Mute Peter Downey
    Favourite Peter Downey
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:55 PM

At what point does Topaz’ market share in Ireland a monopoly and a fair trade issue?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:21 PM

Peter if you want to know anything about DOB Google him, you will find every bit of Ireland he has bought and in the rest of the world and his name is down for IW when everyone pays. He is some piece of work but Karma will be with him soon,

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:35 PM

Why is there only one monopolys commission

Oct 15th 2015, 10:05 PM

only two petrol stations on route in town where I live , one in the village was Texaco , other one on the edge of the village is topaz , but a few weeks ago Texaco became topaz . both garages are within 3 minutes of each other do now there’s no competition at all .

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:22 PM

Paul Smith, question of the week. Excellent.

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:06 PM

From the article I read yesterday here , where DOB is taking a court case accusing a conspiracy against him, I find it very ironic that there was an injuction on reporting on the case but he asked for it to be lifted.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:35 PM

Damn, I still had Tiger Points and all….

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:31 PM

His links to Fine Gael and media are more disturbing,also the amount of ad revenue this coalition spend on his Newstalk station is highly questionable too.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:52 PM

Please people don’t listen to his radio stations i.e. Newstalk Today FM 104
    And many more.

Mute Ken Kelly
    Favourite Ken Kelly
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:25 PM

Great, that’s topaz and Esso that I won’t be buying from. I don’t read the Indo and I am not paying my water charge. Am I missing anything? I also don’t listen to his radio stations either.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:43 PM

The Tv licence will be the next boycotted…. You might as well join us on that one too…

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:45 PM

I heard about this a while back, haven’t spent a bean in either topaz or Esso in over a year. Also Eddie Rockets are opening in the topaz garages so that’s another one to add to the boycott list along with Costa coffee.

Oct 15th 2015, 6:13 PM

@Mr Meade,
    A man after my own heart.
    When will the people see the light and run him out of the country.!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:09 PM

This also means he has control of the oil terminal at Dublin port.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:24 PM

Dave yes every plane you take is fuelled by him and it sickens me.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:38 AM

Which is why he didn’t want the Govt to flog their shares in Aer Lingus. He’d lose out on the petrol money.

Mute Lauren
    Favourite Lauren
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:17 PM

Is there actually anything that he doesnt own!!!

Oct 15th 2015, 6:12 PM

The water-not yet.!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:37 AM

Our souls… I know some have sold them to [REDACTED] O’Bribe, but not all.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:07 PM

Great…..now I will just Boycott Esso as well as Topaz. Thanks for informing me of this Journal.

Mute conchubharóchiarraí
    Favourite conchubharóchiarraí
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:07 PM

Another brand I will consciously avoid in future so.

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:34 PM

Ireland will soon have to renamed Ireland DOB instead of Ireland INC

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:40 PM

There’s another garage I won’t be buying fuel in. BOYCOTT

Mute Shane Mcguirk
    Favourite Shane Mcguirk
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:57 PM

Denis o Brown is taking over the world..Well Ireland anyway..#shitbag

Oct 15th 2015, 6:15 PM

The Generals ran him out of Burma. Bully for them.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:31 PM

Ya know he’s dodgy when Burmese generals won’t do business with him.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:08 PM

What a greedy piece of skin. As long as he leaves one garage in Ireland that he doesn’t own i will be happy, i work hard for the money i get but i have passed his petrol stations even when the petrol was cheaper, and he wonders why people are against him, someone should tell him, wife , family etc.

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:32 PM

More great consumer protection for our citizens! What a country…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:04 PM

A Government in his pocket.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:48 PM

I, for one, welcome our new overlord.

Mute westcorklad
    Favourite westcorklad
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:26 PM

that man wants to own EVERYTHING

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:16 PM

Bring back Sean Quinn

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:24 PM

the diesel Is 2c dearer in my local topaz

Mute Seán Flynn
    Favourite Seán Flynn
    Oct 15th 2015, 5:24 PM
    Mute Mick Kennedy
    Favourite Mick Kennedy
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:47 PM

In a few years you will see F G people an the boards of all these D O B company s

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:56 PM

Good luck to him.. Problem for society here in Little Ireland is the little man or poor man is continually put down as the Elite move further ahead. This glaringly widening gap will cause huge problems sooner than one thinks. The political class as is have served only to accommodate this and maintain the status quo. We need change and if not we’ll need the Army I fear in the near future.

Mute Se Gardiner
    Favourite Se Gardiner
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:47 PM

More petrol stations that won’t be getting my support!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:58 PM

The Moriarty Triibunal Report of December 2012 on Michael Lowry. Interesting reading.

Mute Mark Newton
    Favourite Mark Newton

More garages that have higher fuel prices with pumps that don’t work properly.

I see the pumps getting about 15cent before I get fuel!

So that’s 15vent for fresh air !!!!

Topaz

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:51 PM

this deal was done before his companies started to lose money,which is being hidden to investors.that is why he is bringing journalists to court ,to stop them reporting his losses.this story is put out to make things look on the up,when in truth,things for him are on the way down. keep up the boycott.

Mute Darren Doyle McCormack
    Favourite Darren Doyle McCormack
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:15 PM

Another load of service stations that I won’t be using so…….

Mute padhraig
    Favourite padhraig
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:56 PM

careful there everyone, he’ll sue u all or get an injunction against u.

Mute TrueBloodÉire
    Favourite TrueBloodÉire
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:32 PM

Right, fk this….. time to break out the Nipper’s

“Maxol Free A Nipper – Call to action ”
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mg-gb9p65Z0

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

DOB, the undeclared High King of Ireland.

Mute tippittytoppittytupp
    Favourite tippittytoppittytupp
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:03 PM
    Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:17 PM

And the dearest fuel in the country so much for the compition authority :-(

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:51 PM

Didn’t think he has the money for this deal after his big stock market flotation went tits up. Reading the examiner this morning re his latest count battle make me wonder how he ever he made it in business with his sulky sensitive nature. The debt levels in his various businesses would make Greece blush.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:40 PM

Addiction to money is no different than any other addiction – other people and society pay the biggest price.

Mute Tinkers Toenail
    Favourite Tinkers Toenail
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:00 AM

Someone needs to ring Joe Duffy about this..but only if the callers are selected and their questions are pre approved of course!!

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:58 PM

That’s handy now every town will have three topaz stations!

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:27 PM

More power to you Denis, literally.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:22 AM

May be the biggest forecourt operator but his greed holds no boundaries most expensive for diesel petroleum products but yet ppl still go there . Disgraceful greedy dob who I will never give a penny too

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:50 PM

The organisation that no longer exists will still sell you petrol and diesel at an amazingly low price, if you are prepared to take your deliveries in the dark in a country laneway.

DOB can’t compete with true Republicans when it comes to profit margins.

Mute Alice Simms
    Favourite Alice Simms
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:58 AM

that will make at least 4 stations along the n7 wait and see fuel prices rocket. at least there is an apple green and a texaco in Newcastle.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 16th 2015, 8:11 AM

When rich people go bankrupt they do it big. O’Bribe knows that he’s not risking his money so he’ll continue to gamble. His financial deals are starting to creak but he knows he’ll get away with not paying the banks.

Mute Des Walsh
    Favourite Des Walsh
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:25 PM

Nicest coffee on the road! Petrol that seems to last longer when I fill the car plus every plane all you people use are filled by DOB! Get a life there’s more important things to be worried about in the world! We all just wish we had a business mind like him!

Mute Ck2
    Favourite Ck2
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:55 PM

yes des your right. petrol that is alot more expensive does last longer. but sure you will still think that way when all your local stations are topaz owned by DOB and managed by Biffo and you are paying way over the odds for it.

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:00 PM

Ah now Andrew there is good reason for the moaning. Please see the following http://politicalreform.ie/2011/03/22/the-moriarty-tribunal-report/

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:33 AM

Yes the petrol is a little more expensive. But knowing you’re annoying petty boycotters is worth that extra 2c a litre.

Mute Ck2
    Favourite Ck2
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:28 AM

to be fair JJ I would agree with you if it was only 2c but where I live it’s actually 11c per litre of diesel

Mute Des Walsh
    Favourite Des Walsh
    Oct 16th 2015, 2:47 PM

Honestly does last longer I’ve filled up plenty of times in other places and that additive definitely makes the fuel last longer! And no one can deny he gorgeous the coffee is there

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:17 PM

Mmmm. I’d love a Topaz latte right now.

Oct 16th 2015, 5:39 PM

Sounds bad as that sounds more like DOB Top Azz?

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:48 PM

I just come here to read the comments :-D

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:41 PM

So no – one on here uses his petrol stations. Hardly surprising given that most of ye spend all day every day on here moaning and whinging.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Oct 15th 2015, 11:32 PM

Where will ye all go for a moan if he ever buys the Journal?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:57 PM

any jobs goin dob?!

Mute James Mc Guinness
    Favourite James Mc Guinness
    Oct 15th 2015, 4:55 PM

Javla fitta

Mute Píaras McNeill
    Favourite Píaras McNeill
    Oct 16th 2015, 4:18 PM

The Garda GAA team are also sponsored by topaz. This man runs the country. And there’s nothing we can do about it.

Oct 16th 2015, 5:37 PM

Does Toepus do all the Garda cars fuels as well?

Mute David Flaherty
    Favourite David Flaherty
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:22 PM

Top and topaz have it to themselves now. Watch fuel prices go up as they increase margins further

Mute Mark Dowling
    Favourite Mark Dowling
    Oct 16th 2015, 7:05 PM

Let’s hope any future government policies on climate change or national energy sustainability such as increasing fuel taxes or promoting electrification of transport won’t be vetoed from Malta.