You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Screengrab/NOS

Man and three-year-old son killed as car collides with train in Netherlands

They had been taking part in a school outing to see baby lambs when the accident happened.

A MAN AND his three-year-old son were killed yesterday when their car collided with a train at an unmanned crossing in the northern Netherlands, Dutch police said.

They had been taking part in a school outing to see baby lambs when the accident happened, the public broadcaster NOS said.

Their car was dragged for some 250 metres by the train after the collision, it added.

“Two fatally wounded in rail accident at #Harlingen,” police said on Twitter.

They later identified them as “a 31-year-old man from Harlingen and his three-year-old son.”

The exact circumstances remained unclear, with the police saying “an inquiry is ongoing.”

NOS reported the car was the first to leave the farm after a visit by 23 primary school children.

A similar accident, which caused no injuries, occurred at the same crossing on February 8, said ProRail, which maintains the Dutch rail network, adding it was already in discussions with the owner of the land to close the crossing.

The crossing is marked by a barrier to the side, a crossing-sign as well as signals, but is not alarmed, ProRail added.

ProRail chief executive Pier Eringa told reporters the blinking red lights appeared to have been working properly when the accident occurred.

In November, 18 people were injured in the rural area of Winsum, about 100 kilometres east of Harlingen, when a tanker transporting milk collided with a train, causing the carriages to derail.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Donald Trump will today begin repealing Obama’s main environmental protection laws >

Read: ‘Monster’ cyclone Debbie batters Australia with 270km gusts >

View 7 comments
7 Comments
    Mute Dylan McDonald
    Favourite Dylan McDonald
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:21 PM

Bring back the red thumbs!!! You have ruined the comments section be removing this!

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:27 PM

@Dylan McDonald: YES BRING BACK RED THUMBS!!

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:44 PM

@Dylan McDonald: how many reds do ya think you’d have by now? I pressed green

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:44 PM

@Dylan McDonald: how many reds do ya think you’d have by now? I pressed green

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:00 AM

the new journal.ie is Shiiiittte

Mar 16th 2017, 12:04 AM

Nobody likes a change .. everyone will get used to except for the red thumps .. they so need to be brought back !!

Mar 16th 2017, 12:05 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: thumbs *

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:33 AM

Yeah I’m honestly thinking of quitting. Anywhere else worth getting my news from? Maybe you can’t tell me though because that would be promoting a commercial enterprise

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:48 AM

@Dylan McDonald: Get over it!

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:52 AM

@dilon, you currently have 8 red thumbs

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:54 AM

#dylan , but who gives a toss about spellings and grammar now that people cant red thumb?

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:10 AM

@Dylan McDonald: fcuk the red thumb brigade. Senseless morons with nothing else to do. Red thumbs being hit on people expressing sympathy with the fallen heroes of 116. Fcuk them and you for wanting it back.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:22 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: The whole format is bad, never mind the red thumbs, which need to be brought back. It looks like they overused the bleach in an attempt to sanatise comments and commenters.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:07 AM

@Dave Doyle: I think it was the only way to deal with the hate-mongering bigots and morons. Hopefully it will lead to proper debate and discussion.

Mute Aaron Van Zant
    Favourite Aaron Van Zant
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Dylan McDonald: Yeah its a bit shite without the red thumbs.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:35 AM

@Aaron Van ZANT. I have been reading the journal for about 4 years now, I was never a member, but really enjoyed the banter with the red and green thumbs. I only registered yesterday and I have to say am disappointed, it’s not the same, too tame, too sterile, too PC.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:36 PM

Awkward Seal, news? On here? I thought this was just entertainment, with some political bias thrown in to try, and fail, to give it gravitas.

I’m shocked. Shocked, I tell ya.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:37 PM

Coles, presumably, ‘hate-mongering bigots and morons’ are those who disagree with your view of the world?

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:15 PM

Enda you haven’t a clue Boss

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:57 AM

@Dan Henry’s: don’t be calling him boss he might start believing it!

Mar 16th 2017, 12:34 PM

@eileen boles: why is Nigel Farage on our airways? He is no person of authority on anything. I’m sick of anyone with extreme views constantly brought on for “balance”.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:06 PM

@Deborah Behan agree, can’t stand him.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:25 PM

What an embarrassment to the country both nationally and internationally from this man.The longer his taoiseach the more weak Leo or Simon is going to look for not challenging him.not that they will be probably any different.fine Gael are hopefully certain to get destroyed at the next elections

Mute Donnchadh Cassin
    Favourite Donnchadh Cassin
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:45 AM

@dick dastardly: I cant even bring myself to read his words. Hate the man, someone should give farage a link to his really really funny joke he made a few years back.
    Anyhows I cringe at the thought of him representing us as our leader. like ff fg why oh why do you let this buffoon carry on as the leader of the state. Makes me sad inside to think we have some really spinless people in the dail and the spineless chicken heads who vote for them.
    Help ne Jesus help me.
    Oh yeah need red thumbs back please not the same without!

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:22 PM

What a bufoon

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:21 PM

He’ll be wearing that bowl tomorrow,Trump won’t let the little chieftain talk down to him.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:30 AM

@Dave cullen: looking forward to that!

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:42 AM

@Dave cullen: Have you forgotten how “tough” Trump looked at the press conference in Mexico last August…”We didn’t discuss it (wall)”…Poor little snowflake.

Mute Sean O'Reilly
    Favourite Sean O'Reilly
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:06 AM

@Dave cullen: little chieftain? More like Enda Hitler, or Napoleon, little dictator

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:24 AM

Pure Fine Gael speak.
    Enda’s referring to the disconnect between what a man says and what he means.
    The space Fine Gael occupy in public discourse.

Mute Gabe White
    Favourite Gabe White
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:26 PM

What a load of gibberish from our Taoiseach ..Is it any wonder our country is frucked?

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:34 PM

Clearly enda must’ve slept through English class back in the day. Hypocrisy of the man knows no bounds!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:30 PM

Farage’s request seems reasonable since ek did actually say that Trump is a rascist. And i do no agree with ek in this regard.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:48 PM

Nice to see Enda having to answer questions without the aid of the usual sycophantic Irish media on hand to tee up handy questions. Obviously he’s incapable of really responding clearly in an open & honest way but that’s been his M O since becoming the Clown King! I hope the blonde wigged bigot gives him a roasting.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:55 PM

how he lasted 40 yrs in Irish Parliament?

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:52 PM

Enda the flip flopper

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:28 AM

They used to call Bertie the Teflon taoiseach he’s not a patch on Inda tho. How he’s still in office after the most recent lie re: meeting with k zappone I don’t know.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders

Enda is going to upset an awful lot of Trumpflakes it would seem!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:32 PM

Trump speaks for U.S.A. ie the American people so respect them ie. their President. This, is Democracy.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:36 PM

@gregory: The majority of the American people voted for Hilary Clinton, by over 3 million votes, so no, Trump does not speak for the American people, you fail bigly.

Mute John Dillon
    Favourite John Dillon
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:38 PM

@OpenBorders: Kenny is in a country with a real border already found to be a racist.OpenBorders you don’t even have a real name and a real picture which suits a supporter of the Hilda beast! Just emigrate to some country with OpenBorders er where????

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:52 PM

not true geofneette grenzen and u know it. DONALD Trump won the U.S. election according to their system, even u not like fly-over States hence their representation via electoral college system even if low population or otherwise only ny, cal and Fla can decide right _ population centres. Da.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:08 AM

@gregory: He said that more Americans voted for HC than Trump, which is true

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:12 AM

Maybe true but completely irrelevant. Your heroine Clinton lost, to arguably the worst opposing candidate in the history of US presidential elections; build a fukkin bridge now and get over it..

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Mar 16th 2017, 3:51 AM

So embarrassed for him. It seriously is like sending Father Ted to represent the country.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:35 AM

Enda Kenny is a national embarrassment.

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Mar 16th 2017, 3:22 AM

Of course trump is not racist. Enda was just trying to gain some political brownie points never expecting that trump would win.

Mute Melissa O'Callaghan
    Favourite Melissa O'Callaghan
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:18 AM

Let’s not forget he is over there trying to get legal residency for Irish illegal immigrants. Let’s hope the bowl of weeds brings him good luck. Looking forwards to Trump’s Tweets.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:17 PM

What is yar wan’s problem, closest to Enda in pic. Perpetual chip on shoulder syndrome.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:22 PM

Ahh, tis yourself Christina, 4th in from the left.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:28 PM

@Watchful Axe: is that Matt LeBlanc in the first photo… Maybe taking enda for a test drive, see what kinda emissions he comes out with, the hybrid… Insert comment here!

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:53 AM

Planet enda is different to Planet earth.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:09 AM

He is a clown.the great EU negotiator,will his supporters please stop fooling themselves.

Mute Emer Cullen
    Favourite Emer Cullen
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:14 PM

Leave him alone. They are good men standing up for what they believe in.

Mute Jeremy McCarthy
    Favourite Jeremy McCarthy
    Mar 16th 2017, 3:34 AM

Ladies and gentlemen, the leader of our country. A walking talking disaster, and showcasing his “talents” for all the world. To be fair he can’t back up what he said this morning not a mind a few months back. A holy show!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:51 AM

Your talking about Trump right ?

Mute Jeremy McCarthy
    Favourite Jeremy McCarthy
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:26 PM

I couldn’t care less about Trump, he’s the president of another country. I’m talking about the leader of this country, Ireland. People blowing their holes about a president of a different country is ridiculous when we have the numptys in charge here voted in by the bigger numptys in the electorate. Worry about the state or your own country ffs!

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:13 PM

@Emer Cullen: remind me again?

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Mar 20th 2017, 5:15 AM

@Emer Cullen: Good men? Donald Trump and his new friend? Beliefs? Are you joking?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:39 AM

‘When is racist language racist?’

Judge for yourselves….

Google ‘enda kenny Lumumba’

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:43 AM

This is censorship, where are the red thumbs

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:52 AM

Comment for the sake of it.

Mute Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Odonoghue
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:11 AM

Great example to set as a “leader” you can use racist language kids, doesn’t make you a racist..
    Jesus wept, get off the stage and hand over the shovel ffs.
    Fine Gael ministers have their hands full trying to defend Noonan. Can’t wait to hear them try defend this cluster****

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:51 PM

It’s hard to believe people adore Trump. Suddenly the incredible ability to brainwash people into baseless ideologies becomes real.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:54 PM

trade deficitx china/asia and unemployment

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:57 PM

@gregory: Trump will only increase the deficit. Competition is not about resorting to 1950′s economics and attitudes, or whenever America ‘was Great’.
    Trump is totally unproven as an economist, despite his erratic real estate speculative bully credentials.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:15 AM

Yeah, maybe Kenny could give him a few pointers when he’s there; he knows shitloads sbout the economy..

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:20 AM

Red thumb red thumb red thumb

Mar 16th 2017, 9:14 AM

Bring back the RED THUMBS ! R E D T H U M B S now please.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:51 AM

It’s not racist when enda is spakin

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:49 AM

“Pinocchio Kenny” is a fitting handle for him…

Mute wyer2wyer
    Favourite wyer2wyer
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:08 AM

@thejournal, your new comments section sucks!

Mute DOO
    Favourite DOO
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:23 PM

just f**kin leave already, Christ!

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:56 AM

Does he not realise how ridiculous he sounds ? ” if someone makes a racist comment, it doesn’t follow that they are racist”. He’s an embarrassment.

Mute Dean Burroughs
    Favourite Dean Burroughs
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:17 AM

Paddy doesn’t like to know if someone is racist or not

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:38 AM

In the mayo idiots alternative universe,populated by men with two pints..the candidate ceases being a candidate upon election.. ..

Mute Ig Clarke
    Favourite Ig Clarke
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:41 AM

I don’t know. He could be right , you know. I have to admit to laughing at and even telling what some would call racist jokes from time to time. I love the Paddy the Irishman etc., jokes. As for Kerry jokes, sure, they are the best. Did you hear the one about the Kerry woman who fell out the window while ironing her curtains ? That’s probably sexist as well. But here’s the real funny thing. I’m not racist. Or a mysogynist. Or anti-religion ( well, in the sense that people should be free to believe in anything they wish so long as it doesn’t impact adversely in anyway on others ). I’m more of a live and let live person so long as you behave in a reasonable manner. But I don’t think I should have to watch every second of everyday in case in case I offend one of perpetually offended cohort. Now, did you hear the one about the lesbian, the gay guy and the gender fluid person ?

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:21 PM

@Ig Clarke: self awareness classes maybe?

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:44 AM

Fair play to Chris Donohoe on Newstalk he gave Kenny a bit of a grilling. Kenny ended up sounding like an idiot, not for the first time.

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:29 PM

the comments section was the best part of thejournal.ie . the new comment system is a serious step back for interaction with the red thumb and readability

Mute Jlocoroco
    Favourite Jlocoroco
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:58 AM

The red thumbs are still here? Or am I missing something?

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:30 AM

Just because someone says idiotic things doesn’t make them an idiot! But if the shoe fits.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:26 PM

@Jamie Mul: but if theyre saying idiotic things all the time?

Mute John Adams
    Favourite John Adams
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:46 AM

I remember him calling Donald Trump a racist among other insults or did I just imagine it all?

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:17 AM

This bumbling fool is making a show of us all. What an idiot.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:03 PM

Clown when you say something back it up stupid statement when he thought Trump was never going to be president now he tries to snipe away from it .DONKEY

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Mar 21st 2017, 9:43 PM

Do you notice the way Enda keeps his hands together with his fingers entwined when he speaks?
    He can mask his facial expressions, with that unvaryingly earnest expression.
    However he is concerned that unconscious hand movements will reveal his lies.