You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal via Rolling News

Varadkar says transgender people will never be banned from serving in Irish Defence Forces

Donald Trump this week said that transgender people would not be able to serve in the US military.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said that he would never consider introducing a ban on transgender people serving in the Irish Defence Forces.

Varadkar made the comment after this week’s announcement by US President Donald Trump that transgender people will no longer be allowed to serve in the US military.

In a series of tweets, Trump said he had made the decision after consultation with his generals and military experts.

He said the military cannot be “burdened with tremendous medical costs and disruption that transgender in the military would entail”.
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/890196164313833472

When asked about his views on the ban at a press briefing, Varadkar said:

On the transgender ban, it is not something I agree with. It is a domestic policy issue for the United States.
They run their defence forces, we run ours.

“It is not something I would ever consider introducing to Ireland,” he told reporters.

It is unclear how many transgender people currently serve in the Defence Forces in Ireland.

A statement from the Defence Forces said that it is “committed to the principle of equal opportunity in all its employment policies”.

The Defence Forces welcome applications from all members of Irish society, irrespective of sexual orientation or gender.

The Defence Forces launched its own LGBT network, Defend With Pride, in October 2016. It aims to provide “support, information and guidance for LGBT personnel and allies who wish to support colleagues, friends and family”.

According to a report published in 2014 on transgender military service in the US, researchers from the Williams Institute said that transgender people have a larger representation in the military than they do among the general population. Around 15,000 transgender people currently serve in the US military.

‘Resist’

Trump’s announcement was met with immediate condemnation by human rights groups and hundreds of people gathered in New York’s Times Square on Wednesday to protest at an army recruiting station. They held up signs that read ‘Resist’ and heard from speakers who denounced the ban.

[image alt="Trump-Military Transgender" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/07/trump-military-transgender-3-296x218.jpg" width="296" height="218" title="" class="alignnone" /end]

US visit

Varadkar confirmed that he intends to visit the White House in March and said he would bring up issues that he and Trump may not agree on.

“I am massively sure we will touch on issues such as climate change, such as migration, where we would hold very different views on that world and how it should work,” Varadkar said.

I think the whole point of our relationship, of any relationship between two countries is that we can actually tell the truth to each other and I’ll be doing that.

He also outlined that he would “remind” Trump that 100,000 Americans are employed by Irish companies across 50 States and that “we can grow trade between the two countries without putting up additional barriers”.

Read: ‘An appalling attack’: Trump criticised for saying transgender people can’t serve in US military

More: Hundreds protest in New York against ban on transgender troops

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute Sean Lynch
    Favourite Sean Lynch
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:37 AM

How about transgender folk that don’t get up early?

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:54 AM

@Sean Lynch: they’re middle class

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:27 AM

@Barry O’Brien: who are middle class. Poor “middle class”. Poorly paid.

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:50 AM

@Sean Lynch: how many of our military personnel identify as transgender at the minute? To be honest i wouldnt even say its 10 people.. my opinion (and this is a wild generalization) is that people who identify as trans (and this includes all the lgbt+ letters) tend to not want to join the military so i doubt this will be an issue. Example- “i identify as a woman i want to be roomed and shower etc with the women” imagine a drill Sargeant ala full metal jacket “i don’t give a rats ass if you identify as a horse, im not gonna let you sleep in a stable” – “but they all call me names”

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    Jul 29th 2017, 10:36 AM

@Sean Baylon: from now on your not Sheila, your gomer Pyle.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:28 AM

So you’ll defend *everybody’s* right to join the army, but you won’t defend women when it comes to basic healthcare. Well done Leo. Lookin out for the lads as always.

Mute Mark Lawlor
    Favourite Mark Lawlor
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:36 AM

@Veronica: Ahh you’re a real pain in the a$$ Veronica. It’s not all about gender, but I’d be almost certain that leo will give you you ref on the 8th. Now back to bed sweetheart.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:06 AM

@Mark Lawlor: you’re quite right, it’s about sex, not gender.

Abortion is a women issue, and our country doesn’t care.

Transgender people in the army involves men, and all of a sudden the country cares.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:21 AM

@Veronica: You do realize that there are women in the army as well don’t you?

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:27 AM

@Brian Ward: yeah. And?

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:16 AM

@Billy Roll: i just said that our wonderful Taoiseach is more than happy to speak up when it comes to any issue other than women’s health.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:18 AM

@Veronica: are you against trans people?
    Surely a move to back them up here is huge and should be looked on positively

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Veronica: there is a diff in the abortion debate in that a lit of people (men and women) feel the unborn baby should be protected as much as the mother.
    That’s where the complication arises with abortion. Nobody is specifically trying to control women as the feminists claim

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:22 AM

@gjpb: no im absolutely not, but I think it’s interesting that this will get a solid answer from the lovely Leo but women’s health doesn’t.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:24 AM

@gjpb: women with lives and responsibilities and loved ones should come above a foetus they are hosting, if they decide they don’t want to be pregnant. It absolutely is about controlling women.

I can’t help but feel that back in the day you would also have been complaining about contraception, saying that semen must not be spilled in vain and that it goes against nature to allow women to not birth baby after baby until their bodies give out.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:28 AM

@Mark Lawlor: To be fair, there aren’t nearly enough articles about abortion for Veronica to make her opinions known….

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:30 AM

@Lorem Ipsum: and if I did there too you’d also jump on me. No doubt if it was up to you guys I wouldn’t be let online at all.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:34 AM

@Veronica: I’m not saying I’m against abortion but i am smart enough to realise that its a lot more of an emotive topic since many people feel the unborn baby has the right to life.
    Plenty of women are against abortion so I am not sure if they want to control women. Stop trying to make it out that its men wanting to control women

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:39 AM

@Veronica: I’m not “jumping on” you, I’m laughing at you. Learn the difference

It’s like the difference between real oppression – oppression that actually happens – and the imaginary oppression you experience where your constitutional right to express your opinion is removed somehow by “[my] guys”, whoever that is

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:52 AM

@Veronica: Are you a man who hates women who has created this online persona to discredit feminists and make them look stupid?

Mute Michelle Massey
    Favourite Michelle Massey
    Jul 29th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Veronica: Murdering Babies is not “healthcare”

Mute Ed Magnier
    Favourite Ed Magnier
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Veronica: Chill out Veronica, we are going to have a ref, it’s a complicated isdue that most ppl want to address. If you keep pushing it in forums like this on articals that don’t have anything to do with it, you’ll come off as angry and obsessed. Yes, our laws on abortion are wrong and need fixing, no there isn’t an anti women plot in all this, the problem is that many of our population, both male and female, see this as a life and death issue and you and I need to respectfully deal with them in a way that can allay those fears where possible. Enjoy, the good in this piece and deal with the 8th when appropriate, or not but that would be counterproductive imho.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Veronica: how very cis-normative of you, V. Didn’t you know men can have abortions too?

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:59 AM

How do they express their gender through clothing if they are all wearing the same thing?

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:27 AM

@stefanovich: It doesnt matter what they wear its about how they identify themselves.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:55 AM

@Hupthejaysus: I identify myself as a T-Rrex . Raar

Mute Mike Power
    Favourite Mike Power
    Jul 29th 2017, 10:02 AM

@Billy Roll: you’re not ham, you’re just a bit of processed scrap shaped like a face

Mute Chicinho
    Favourite Chicinho
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:31 AM

The return of the rainbow warrior!

Mute MikejG
    Favourite MikejG
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:07 AM

So does the defense forces then pay for the sex change surgery?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:11 AM

@MikejG: no. The HSE will pay for that.

Mute MikejG
    Favourite MikejG
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:18 AM

@David Murphey: So tax payers pay for a procedure done outside of the state? Ya??

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jul 30th 2017, 8:21 AM

@MikejG: yes. Look it up.

Mute jimmy haribo
    Favourite jimmy haribo
    Jul 29th 2017, 10:41 AM

There are already a number of transgender individuals in the defence forces and i for one am glad im no longer in the PDF as i would not serve with a mentally unstable person who requires hormone therapy to stay in a happy mental state.

Mute Peadar Rooney
    Favourite Peadar Rooney
    Jul 29th 2017, 11:41 AM

@jimmy haribo: Bigotry is mentally unstable

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:08 PM

@Peadar Rooney: learn the difference between an argument and abuse.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:26 AM

Never is a word that should not be used. It will come back to haunt the Taoiseach.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:30 AM

@Paul Coughlan: So never use never? :)

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:26 AM

I wonder what percentage of applicants that would apply to?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:22 AM

@Scundered: all of them, I’d say.

Mute rory2u
    Favourite rory2u
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:16 AM

Does that mean pansie bliss is joining the army now…

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:19 AM

@rory2u: panti bliss isn’t trans, he’s a drag queen. Difference being he knows that being a woman is more than performing femininity.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:16 AM

@Billy Roll: im not against trans people at all, why on earth would you think that??

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:28 AM

@Billy Roll: how’s that? You mean caring about women and the fact that our country denies them a very specific form of health care? Soz bbz, I don’t plan on not caring about women any time soon.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:29 AM

@Veronica: You seem so bitter that trans rights have been protected

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:30 AM

@rory2u: He’s probably over the maximum age but there was never a ban on anyone joining

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Billy Roll: Also lol, my “attitude is all wrong”, and yet you take the pi$$ by saying you identify as a ham.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Veronica: congrats. You have managed to turn a good news story about trans rights toxic with your sexist agenda

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:54 AM

@gjpb: I believe I just made two very innocent comments before you got so offended that you had to spam me with comments.

Besides, considering you and your lot insist on filling articles about women with your complaints that men aren’t discussed. All I did was point out that Leo doesn’t give a hoot about women but will make a “strong stance” on something that affects a very tiny proportion of the population.

Maybe you could work harder at not getting so offended by what you read online?

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 29th 2017, 11:08 AM

@Veronica: nothing innocent at all about your comments

They are usually sexist but it appears you have sunk to a new low with your bitterness towards trans rights

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:57 AM

Sure why would he? He,s practically one himself.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:29 AM

@Dermot Keogh: Well that’s simply not true.

Mute Brian Shaw
    Favourite Brian Shaw
    Jul 30th 2017, 10:44 AM

@Dermot Keogh: This country is F**ked

Mute Macc Dan
    Favourite Macc Dan
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:37 AM

If Varadkar said Ban the defense forces.That might have been a worthwhile statement

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Favourite Darren Mccarthy
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:18 AM

@Macc Dan: Their work overseas with the UN and EU are one of the few positive things this country contributes to the greater good (and of course us bailing out private bondholders who should have been burned). The fact that Ireland stayed neutral during WW2 closed alot of doors for this country and still is a dark shadow over us in my opinion.

Mute Fenster
    Favourite Fenster
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Darren Mccarthy: could you give some examples of the sort of doors our neutrality closed?

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:58 AM

@Fenster: After the bombing of Pearl Harbour Churchill sent Dev a telegram promising unification if Ireland joined the fight. The support that we enjoined from Irish Americans diminished somewhat after we didn’t fight with them after that attack. Remember we were the only English speaking nation not to fight the nazis and were still part of the commonwealth at the time. Along with the Irish government sending their condolences to the nazi government on hitlers death….come on man. Do you think we didn’t have doors closed for not fighting against the scourge of humanity?

Mute Niall Campbell
    Favourite Niall Campbell
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:12 AM

@Darren Mccarthy: I strongly believe Dev was a pr!ck but neutrality was one of the few good things he did. Do you really think Churchill would have allowed reunification after the war?

Jul 29th 2017, 9:32 AM

@Darren Mccarthy: nobody is neutral nowadays, Ireland is in name only, just look at Shannon…

Mute Fenster
    Favourite Fenster
    Jul 29th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Darren Mccarthy: so the door that closed was a vague promise of unification from an untrustworthy (former) enemy? In what ways did this somewhat diminished support from the US manifest itself? And what were these doors that closed? you said there was a lot, but you haven’t mentioned any yet

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:30 PM

@Fenster: The chance of reunification pre troubles is a pretty big door i would of taught. Churchill was a massive pr1ck but he was pro reunification. Have a read of the ‘Neutral Island’ when you have time….

Mute Fenster
    Favourite Fenster
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:44 PM

@Darren Mccarthy: the govt at the time has to make a decision, and not getting back into bed with the enemy they just ousted was probably a good one at the time but in hindsight could br seen differently for sure

Any more of these ‘lots of closed doors’ you’d like to share?

Mute michael heery
    Favourite michael heery
    Jul 29th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Darren Mccarthy: sad that ireland never went to war or invaded the mid east or africa,.
    we had the orange order to deal with no wonder we stayed neutral.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:05 AM

This is a non issue. Leo is virtue signalling as there are currently zero transgenders in the DF.

Mute jimmy haribo
    Favourite jimmy haribo
    Jul 29th 2017, 1:59 PM

Transgendered people are among the most susceptible to suicide in the country. A 2011 survey by the National Transgender Discrimination Survey (NTDS) found 41% of transgender people had attempted suicide in the U.S., compared with the mere 4.6% average national attempted suicide rate. A survey by the Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America found 30% of U.S. veterans have considered suicide, and 45% said they know an Iraq or Afghanistan veteran who has attempted suicide. So why give these mentally unstable people access to weaponry.

Mute michael heery
    Favourite michael heery
    Jul 29th 2017, 4:15 PM

@jimmy haribo: americans just love weapons ..

Mute Fox
    Favourite Fox
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:09 PM

Leo the media guru coming through with his lovely Trudeau-sequel sound bite.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:14 AM

Maybe the government is advocating that they should all be paid less as women.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Jul 29th 2017, 6:03 PM

That’s all very well, Mr Varadkar, but where are you going to barrack them? If they have a ding-dong and a Y chromosome then they bunk with the boys.

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:36 PM

Equal opportunities? Not in all aspects of the Navy as it is I’m afraid. Leo looking for brownie points. They’re pulling the cart before the horse as always

Mute Pat Price
    Favourite Pat Price
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:49 AM

Typical, more irrelevant PC crap..

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 30th 2017, 2:58 AM

@Veronica: I’m a straight divorced man. I just read this out of a mixture of curiosity and boredom. Some witty remarks etc respect to the trans serviice person who posted a comment. Sorry forgot your name. No disrespect intended to you or the trans community but I have to say I find Veronicas comment the most concise and to the point and the truth is there are far more women than transgender people, including straight bi lesbian and transgender women but the far greater majority of women and in my opinion everyone without personal health insurance is a disgrace and that resources should be directed at the vast majority and that special interests groups should receive subsidised private insurance related to income. Absolutely no idea why I just went off on that rant but I stick by what I said

Mute tony kennedy
    Favourite tony kennedy
    Jul 30th 2017, 12:04 PM

Who was even dumb enough to ask him such an irrelevant question , or is it himself making stupid statements