You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SITUATED BETWEEN UKRAINE and Moldova, Transnistria is not officially recognised as a country.
They have armed men, uniformed police who demand bribes, and a Parliament, but all their exports go through Moldovan authority.
While the Soviet Union forgot about Transnistria, Transnistria certainly hasn’t forgotten about the Soviet Union judging by the strange monuments.
The images below are by photographer Darmon Richter, who writes that the country “could be described as the breakaway state of a breakaway state”.
This small strip of land east of the River Dniester, sandwiched between Moldova and Ukraine, remained pro-Russia even after the 1991 fall of the USSR. Tensions between Moldova and its breakaway state erupted into conflict, but the problem was, Transnistria had served as a major labour pool for Soviet industry – and Leninesque President Igor Smirnov was sitting on one of the largest stockpiles of weaponry in Eastern Europe. The conflict reached an uneasy ceasefire in 1992, which has remained in place since.
On the road to Tiraspol, an Orthodox cross stands in contrast to communist motifs.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (2)
One of the main administrative buildings in Tiraspol, presided over by a statue of Lenin. Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (3)
One of numerous decommissioned tanks that now decorate the streets of Tiraspol.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (4)
October 25th Street, the main strip running through the center of the capital.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (5)
Many of the buildings lining the streets of Tiraspol were built in striking socialist-realist, or 'Stalinist', styles.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (6)
Many monuments in Transnistria incorporate decommissioned war machines — such as this MiG in a suburb of Tiraspol. Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (7)
Sheriff FC Stadium — home to Tiraspol's football team, and a symbol of the wealth of Transnistria's elite.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (8)
In classic Orthodox style, Tiraspol's churches and chapels are adorned with beautiful gold domes and colorful icons.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (9)
The entrance to Tiraspol's peaceful 'Pobeda Park'.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (10)
Children sketch in Pobeda Park during an outdoor art class. Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (11)
Detail of Cyrillic shop signs in a Transnistrian village.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (12)
The monuments here symbolize the efforts of Transnistrian soldiers in WWI, WWII, and the 1990 War of Transnistria. Flowers are left on the monuments to celebrate a decade of peace.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (13)
Between the war memorials in the 'Park of Peace,' an eternal flame burns for unknown soldiers fallen in battle.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (14)
As is the tradition in many former-USSR nations, here sweethearts proclaim their love by attaching locks and ribbons to a bridge.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (15)
Soldiers on parade during the Independence Day celebrations. Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (16)
Lenin looks down on the Transnistrian capital.Source: Darmon Richter
Transnistria (17)
A local hero is celebrated with a vast statue of a soldier on horseback. Source: Darmon Richter
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Obviously you’ve never met the guy. He’s an incredibly hard working and intelligent TD. I lived in Ballyfermot and regularly received very useful information on goings on nationally and locally from him. Tax revenue was spent on informing citizens is well spent in my book.
@Oisin, well spent? He probably put a republican spin onto the pamphleys, in my view he essentially wasted €50,000 on cluttering people’s mail boxes with rubbish. It’s called email and an subscription list, so you can reach your target audience without wasting resources. He is a jackass and a moron.
Utter bullcrap Oisín. Informing citizens is a good thing, but this is a man who squawks about value for money at any given opportunity. Now he’s been caught out. Can’t you see that?
Just stick what he wants to say in a newspaper; probably wouldn’t have cost him that much! Everyone knows that door to door fly posting has very little real effect on the population; most of them going directly into the bin, or line the budgie cage or even get the ‘aul peat fire going in the morning.
WE did of course! while there is now a limit on how much toner these office thiefs can take they are free to walk off with any amount of other stationary items!
The proud claim to be ” most prolific leafleters in the country” illustrates the total disconnect between the polictians and the public , not a care in the world that this is public money being used so flagrantly .It really just goes to show that for all their bluster , these guys have their noses as deep in the public trough as the rest. Not exactly the greenest of policy either!
Dermot. Soundbites aren’t policies. SF have no idea how to fix the problems that are currently affecting this country. They are great at proclaiming that we should burn bondholders and not pay the household charge but they have absolutely no alternatives to offer.
Basically yeah. I would also argue there is a HUGE difference in constituency work and political campaigning which seems to have been the main use of all these cartridges.
he still has an outstanding bill for extra cartridges which obviously has his account in arrears to the tune of about €3500 but many others have a bigger tab in the Dail bar!
O’Snodaigh is a weasel. His political career will be most remembered for bursting through the Taoiseach’s entrance to Leinster house with his ‘followers’, being not quite sure what to do when the gates gave way & then being put on his arse by that lone guard! The guard should have immediately promoted to sergeant for that
How much more of this blatant brass necked nonsense are ordinary people going to take? It’s a bloody disease! I heard him on the radio trying to justify it. My 7 year old son could even tell he was waffling!
Possibly the worst part for me is the way he brings in the protests over the proposed closure of Crumlin Children’s Hospital as an excuse for his actions. That’s just pure scummy behaviour but then again we’re talking about Sinn Fein here so what else can you expect?
I am not one bit surprised hearing Sinn Fein taking all they can from the Irish people, this shower are more corrupt morally and ethically than any other party in Ireland. Propaganda is the best skill they have which unfortunately 25% of Irish people have fallen for according to the latest opinion poll. The Nazis said all the right things to the German people back in the thirties. Make no mistake this shower of gangsters and criminals would turn Ireland into their own fiefdom more corrupt than anything we can imagine.
Karl Power – u hit the nail right on the head. SF are dangerous & I wish many people would open their eyes & see them for what they are. Your last sentence is spot on.
You are spot on with your assessment Karl. Whatever problems we have right now, it would be nothing to the disaster that would befall us if Sinn Fein got their grubby hands on a bit of power. Opinion polls are all well and good but there’s a lot of time before the next election and I’m sure we’ll hear plenty more stories like O Snodaigh’s.
Well said Karl. They are just so negative all of the time which is so easy. Tha hard part is coming up with credible alternatives which they seem to have no interest in. I really hope that poll wasn’t very accurate but presume they got a bit of a bounce from their household charge stance.
Everyone know that desktop printers are ridiculously expensive when it comes to printing large amounts. The fact that they are using these desktop printers to print such a high amount of leaflets shows that the likes of Ó Snodaigh, looking like a particularly pompous village idiot in the above photo, are so far removed from the real world that it would be laughable if it wasn’t so wanton.
I wonder what model the printers are. With this amount of printing it would have to be a more heavy printer as that volume of printing, loading paper, changing cartridges just could not be accomplished with a low grade Dell Inkjet.
Printers of the larger store records of the amount of printed pages over their lifetime.
It would not take a super-sleuth to get to the bottom of this.
Comment of the week sir, the party that claims to be the representatives of the ordinary joe public abusing state i.e. ordinary joe publics taxes and 60 jobs gone in Dublins oldest printing firm!
I wonder was that around the time that Aongus and his merry men led a vicious assault on the rear gates of Leinster House until they opened and a brave Garda waved his baton and dispersed them !
They could have walked in the front door and collected the cartridges like everyone else.
What a fool. What a waffler. His answers on morning Ireland showed contempt for the taxpayer paying for these ink cartridges. His constituents must be knee deep in leaflets!
All printers keep a page count, if the Oireachtas IT unit recorded these regularly it would be very easy to check if he did actually use his printer for all these prints or not.
They couldn’t keep track of Healy-Raes phone calls so I don’t think they will have a clue what’s being printed. Actually I’m surprised they even know what he’d taken, it sounds like a free for all
According to what he said on Morning Ireland, he used them in his constituency office, not his Leinster House office. That alone should have set off alarm bells.
As regards the price being paid for them, a contract like that would have to be put out to tender and the details should be available under FoI if anyone feels so inclined.
Aengus Ó Snodaigh might have questions to answer but I have one too…
Where in gods name is the Dail buying these cartridges from?
I bought FOUR for a colour laser printer and including tax, etc that is usually lumped on, including transport costs, I got mine far, far cheaper!
€130 each for one? I honestly can buy four for that Cyan, Magenta, Black and Yellow – the basic ones needed for a laser colour printer).
Someone seriously needs to do better sourcing at the Dail!
The sad truth is probably that they’re being bought off a friend of the guy who’s in charge of the stationery purchasing.
Wholly unprofessional, but hey, they’re the big shots!
Very true but note the following from the above article:
“Ó Snodaigh added that because Sinn Féin had a far smaller Dáil representation at the time the toner cartridges were received, *** it did not get priority access to the printing presses in Leinster House *** – and had to use *** desktop printers*** supplied by Leinster House instead.”
I use an office laser printer and at home, a Samsung CLP-315 Colour laser printer and still the prices with good sourcing are far cheaper!
Someone in the Dail is buying from somewhere far too expensive.
I’d be asking seriously “WHY?” to that person!
The “media estimate” you speak of has been verified with the Oireachtas, by us. It’s also the basis on which Ó Snodaigh’s outstanding €3,700 bill for cartridges post-2009 has been calculated.
And yes, you can buy black toner for the appropriate printer for $61 on Dell.com. The Oireachtas says it’s tied in by its tender.
Well seems I stand corected by Gavin there, which is fine… Now I wonder which parliamentarians Facebook friend won the tender… and let me guess ‘where’ they buy the ink they sell on to the Oireachtas … I wonder…would it be Dell.com?
Seriously who grants a render to a business that are more than twice the price of buying from dell.com? And when does that tender run out… I can beat the price by 25% straight up! Plus the quality will remain as it is.
Actually you know what? If I were being really sarcastic (and I am) and also paranoid (which helps these days) It would actually pay anyone with the aforementioned tender to offer Ó Snodaigh €100 a week into his back pocket to take the ink cartridges and literally dump them in the bin on his way out the door… The supplier would then get to replace those cartridges at €130 each!
Of course that all just me blowing hot air…. there is obviously no evidence that any parliamentarians fiends or family have the current contract for cartridge ink sales to the Oireachtas.
Hang on, they were cartridges for Dell printers but used for an “industrial photocopier”? What were they doing, breaking them open, or just taking the dye out?
I wonder what model pf printer these toners are for. I suspect the dail is being charged a premium. Ill bet the private sector could get them cheaper, that should be part of the story….
The people who claim they try defend the interests of the ‘ordinary people’. I don’t know any ‘ordinary’ person who spends 50k on ink, just so that he can make his face seen.
It’s ironic that no shinners are on today to defend this clown. You couldn’t get a word in here yesterday when they were defending people’s reaction to the latest polls.
Maybe there all at the ink laundering plant in Monaghan?
Absolutely, the silence speaks volumes. Most of them haven’t a clue. They’re waiting for the party line to come out. You can be guaranteed the Sinn Fein spin machine is in overdrive. They’ll be briefing all the foot soldiers at a meeting this evening.
If there is enough ink in €50,000 worth of cartidges to print approximately 2 1/4 million A4 pages, and if one printer works day and night every day to print a page every 3 seconds, (maths is not my strong point, somene else take this up, will you?) then I calculate that one printer would need 4 years and three months + to use all that ink.
Not allowing for time to change cartridges, have a snooze, eat your brekkie, brush your teeth etc.
If Deputy O’ Snodaigh had 3 printers working 40 hours a week each it would take him 5 years + to use all that ink.
At €50,000 and 2,250,000 printed sheets, though, I think the above figures are very conservative.
What did he do with all that ink? Bathe in it?
Maybe he gave some to the banks, which they could use to make explosive money markers, in case his ex-pals in the ex-IRA came by to make some unauthorised withdrawals with their Kalshnikovs.
2.25 million sheets of paper, if he could lower himself to print on rock bottom quality paper, would come in at around €12,000. Up the paper quality and it could be as much as twice that.
Also you made no account of the time to sort out paper jams…. can you just imagine how many paper jams there would be with such busy, busy printers?? Write in a solid week or two for jam unblocking there I’d say.
I though his claim that it wasn’t electioneering was the most bizarre. Of course distributing loads of flyers to your electorate is an attempt to influence the way they vote in future is therefore electioneering. Another Irish gombeen politician.
Its a bit of a pain in the backside hearing the “industrial wage” line trotted out by Sinn Fein as if they are doing the country a huge favour financially. There not. Their full wage is the same as the other TDs. They draw it down in full, and donate the remainder to the party. They claim their expenses just as much as other TDs, as seen here, which would bring their wage packet up a hefty sum all the same. Donating to their party isn’t benefiting the states coffers. Its benefiting the Sinn Fein party.
Ink isn’t cheap and neither is paper to be printing on. Its an absolute disgrace that he is using our money to pay for their letters and leaflets at such an alarming level. No TD, regardless of party, should be allowed abuse the fund this much. Its a bit rich getting a leaflet objecting to the cuts and taxs yet they are all on the gravy train themselves, and this particular bill is 1.5 the industrial wage for chirst sake. Sinn Fein TDs start on a lower wage scale but make up for the donation to their party by jumping on the expenses gravy train.
Its time people got real thinking Sinn Fein are any better.
It would work out much cheaper to get them printed professionally and would be good for the economy and jobs.
That’s right Kevin, I’m amazed that they have convinced a % of the population that they are only taking the nat ind wage – when they are actually receiving the same as all TDs. What they do with their big fat pay cheques is irrelevant, they cost the tax payers as much as the rest of the TDs.
“A report in the Sunday Times suggests that the Irish Government has allocated €25m in spending for this year, in order to ‘prepare’ for the presidency, and €35m for 2013, but expects the total to be in excess of €70m.”
Madness!
I read the report in the Times and they mention that others states have done it for FAR less – yet we are going on a spending spree while taking on the role!
Madness heaped upon more daily madness by our governments!
look if all 166 TDs were to use thd same amount of ink as that then we would be spending €27-5 million times 166 pa. there is no justification for this
…And remember that buying in such bulk is again, supposed to be even cheaper – if the supplier wants the business and chooses to to come to a equal comfortable negotiated price!
Off topic, but €130 sounds cheap for laser toner. Our office laser costs €205 ex VAT per toner, per color (4 each). All depends on the laser printer, but normally are way more expensive than inkjets.
We outsource anything over 100 prints as professional printers are way cheaper.
to be fair the only positive i can see here is that someone saw what he was doing here and changed the rules to stop him! no excuse for spending 50k of our money on his nonsense but better than if he was doing it still!
If I used €50k worth of print supplies or stationary at work for personal means I’d be fired and would probably have criminal charges brought against me. Why should it be different if this is done with state assets?
I wonder if he recycled the empty cartridges?? One way to solve this nonsense would be issue TDs with 3 packs of cartridges at start of season, and only when they hand an empty one back, they get a replacement. Most ink-jet printers would need to be going leather for hell to produce that amount of literature – who paid for the paper?? Also, how many actual printers did he go through?? I know if you use a printer anyway “heavy duty” it dies after a reasonably short period! Id say there is more to this story than meets the eye lol. Anyone check gumtree.ie or donedeal.ie to see if anyone in Dublin selling large quantities of ink cartridges as a “sideline” lol.
It looks excessive because it is. Worse still he knew it wasn’t economical yet continued, and the printers used/amount printed doesn’t add up. Shocking amount spent on ink. Ugh…politicians
It’s a bit like the average industrial wage fallacy that SF have indulged in for years.
They may well on paper at least, take home the average industrial wage, but the rest is still drawn down, and ends up in party coffers. Of course they do have their expenses to fall back on.
Even when they don’t attend the parliament in the first place-as with Westminster, where they refused to take up their seats, and still claimed over half a million pounds in second home allowances alone.
How could it be possible that a TD is entitled to use Dail supplied printing ink for political activities that take place off campus.
It is reasonable and straightforward to see a situation where printing inks would be supplied by the House for work undertaken within its precincts but the systematic removal of industrial quantities over a two year period by this individual makes the entire matter sound more like misappropriation .
The taxpayer should not be expected to pick up the tab for Sinn Feins Constituency costs and this matter makes Ivor Callelys mileage expenses look quit reasonable!
Mr O’Snodaigh should be asked if all these cartridges are now verifiably put beyond use!
Sinn Fein specialise in soundbite politics that appeal to the ‘tell me what I want to hear and don’t bore me with the facts’ brigade. God help our poor batter and bruised country if the ever got into power. They’d finish us off completely. That’s why I delight that this has come to light. It shows that despite their holier than thou rhetoric that they are just as bad as the rest of them.
“But how is this legal plunder to be identified? Quite simply. See if the law takes from some persons what belongs to them and gives it to other persons to whom it does not belong. See if the law benefits one citizen at the expense of another by doing what the citizen himself cannot do without committing a crime.”
― Frédéric Bastiat, The Law
Either way…. If Sinn Fein are to be given credibility as to them being able to drive Ireland out of a recession when they demonstrate the most recklessness in commercial terms then I think it highlights they are a shower of wasters, literally.
Sounds like bullshit to me Angus. And if you were using an office laser or inkjet printer/printers which as others have indicated then you are either an idiot or a shyster. And I gave Sinn Fein a reasonable vote in the recent election….sigh
If he spent this amount of time printing leaflets informing people what he was doing in the Dáil all he could possibly print would be ‘I spend my time printing leaflets’
Let’s start asking reasonable questions such as the following;
Did O’Snodaigh physically remove these cartridges from Dail Eireann himself?
We’re they packaged or secreted on his person or placed in his briefcase to avoid detection?
Did he instruct anyone else such as a Sinn Fein employee to remove them?
Where precisely is the office at which this printing was carried out?
Were Dail printers also used at this address?
If so were they removed from Dail Eireann with permission?
If so could we be supplied with the name of……etc etc etc
How are the foregoing question any different to those that Sinn Fein would ask of Fine Gael or Labour or Fianna Fail if the roles were reversed. Isn’t it time for them to start behaving like a political Party?
Oh dear now ye know what the rest of us knew already. Sinn Fein are just as corrupt as.the rest of them. Id rather see Fianna fail in charge than these monkeys.
His printers should be seized and the “count” examined , to prove that he , along with the rest of the Sinn Fein party are just pure liars ! !
People of Ireland – wake up – they are trying to deceive us .
Not supporting FF , but as Michael Martin asked , “what is it the Sinn Fein obsession with printing ?”. – I think we know now what o snodaig was really at ! ! !
Jerry,
I would say it was more straight forward than that. I would guess that there are a host of printers in constituency offices around the country which take the same cartridges as the printer in Mr O’Snodaigh’s Leinster House Office. This would fit with the mode of operation that Sinn Fein use for everything. All expenses, salaries etc that can be claimed are donated to Sinn Fein and then somehow the representatives of Sinn Fein act as virtual employees of Sinn Fein being paid the average industrial wage. The whole thing is a scam and a well oiled and powerful propaganda machine. You may be sure that these cartridges were put to good use and that the only use Mr O’Snodaigh’s father would have got out of these cartridges would have been in the running of the Sinn Fein propaganda machine. Sinn Fein take care of their own whether it means getting them elected or, when a colleague is starting off, getting that colleague a suit and sticking them in the parliamentary office until they in turn get elected and return the favour to the party.
I would hope this is the case since then at least one could hope that the paper all this ink was printed on might have come from some other source but I guess there were reams of paper also being redirected to Sinn Fein to be distributed throughout the country too.
PS Before anyone says that other parties are at the same thing – of course they are, but not to the same extent and anyway it is not an excuse. Sinn Fein are the best at it. The party machine is amazing and unfortunately for them in this situation they were just too efficient at fleecing the Oireachtas – result: O’Snodaigh gets caught.
This is disappointing to say the least ….
No excuse really .
They can not say one thing and do another …
They must be open with the electorate from word one .
We have had enough of dirty politics for too long now
and if SF want in they must change ….
Quote from article, “Ó Snodaigh added that because Sinn Féin had a far smaller Dáil representation at the time the toner cartridges were received, it did not get priority access to the printing presses in Leinster House” Just as well or we’d be looking for a second bailout
On a quick aside, but as a seasoned leaflet dropper, I always respect the “no leaflets” notices on dooors. I reckon about 20% of houses in Dub Central have them. Also for security reasons, it can be very difficult to access apartments. So assuming that SF respect the “no leaflets” signs and that they don’t break into appartment complexes, this amount of ink means that many houses got leaflets every single day….if Deputy O’Snodaigh is to be believed?
337 leaflets per constituency household according to some calculations. That means every single household got a leaflet every second night for two years.
Yeah, right.
Oh wise up.
You threw the same nonsense at me before Tom, you used assumptions on me that once my views were contrary to yours I was a shinner and introduced your bullet and bombs card, it displays your shortsightedness in political debate and your skill in seeking plaudits from people unable to find any harm in FG’s FF policies.
I noticed how sparse the FG comments were on the topic about children lying on hospital trolleys, how scarce the replies to TD’s expenses, not much on the thread about Enda giving his buddy an exorbitant pay rise in times of austerity and cuts either, yet you clap yourself on the back with comments about murders and bombings that any sane person would find repulsive with no relevance to the thread being discussed.
I’m no shinner, i condemn every act of violence perpetrated by any grouping or persons like any rational sane person would but i find your constant harking back to a repugnant time in our history just to receive thumbs up distasteful and utterly bullshit.
No, you are displaying once again your arrogance and smugness, you’re beloved FG are in power now and in your eyes they can do no wrong and anyone who disagrees with FG’s FF polices are by your definition a shinner and you gleefully indulge in dragging up heinous crimes to bolster your comments.
As I said, and although this is not confined to you, there is never much FG input into the numerous threads posted on the journal concerning FG’s disastrous health cuts and the effect it has on people in this country, you bide your time waiting for someone else not connected to your continuity FF party to be caught screwing the country and then issue your displeasure and if it happens to be SF then all the better for you.
It’s a low point when you have to bring murder victims and bombing outrages into 99% of your comments to reinforce your derision of anyone.
Hurl abuse?
Read the comments back over Tom and you’ll see that no abuse is contained, I pointed out your arrogance in dealing with issues regarding SF and your holier than thou attitude.
Yeah…SF TD gets caught taking 50k worth of toner, treats the taxpayer lije muppets…and you want to blame a FG member for the whole episode because he outsmarted you? Get real.
This is SFs problem.
Tonergate, papergate, A###holegate ,i think, suits best. It should be a criminal offence for any public servant, politician or otherwise to waste tax payers money.
A few years back we reckoned it would take 90 man days to drop every single household in Dublin Central. Given that the constituency is not only the same size but has roughly the same density, it would take about the same time.
To use up that amount of ink you would need about forty full time leaflet droppers every single day.
Sinn Féin supporter, and I find it wrong to spend this much on printing. I wonder if there is a list of the printing costs of every TD available for comparison purposes, as a local TD here of another party often sends leaflets here through the Dáil – so I don’t think Ó Snodaigh is the only one guilty of this.
Ó Snodaigh certainly has questions hanging over his head about this matter but you are right.
I’m very sure there is a great deal of others doing similar – with similar claims.
Will the media name them too – and will the public exercise such irateness towards a FG, Labour or FF person doing same?
I again suspect that there is a few that will just use this excuse to gave a go at SF (not without possible justification sometimes) and conveniently NOT have a go at the rest or conveniently not ask the question “Who else is doing same!
Not only do SF supports come out in force but FF, FG and Labour ones do too also
…And at present FF have much to lose so expect every trick in the book – and they know ALL the tricks and more!
…They wrote the book for decades!
good point Seán, all TDs are allowed a certain amount of Dail post and stamps for their constituency work and to answer peoples questions etc, the rest I assume comes out of their massive expenses.
As the day goes on he is starting to sound like Bertie. Dddddddddddd every second word and delusional with the excuses. Bertie, Aongus and Ivor. What a collection !
This cannot be explained and it has to be paid back. I suspect this is only the tip of the iceberg. It’s just typical of Sinn Fein and the ULA. Let someone else pay because i’m certainly not paying. Ask them where is the money going to come from and you are met with a deafening silence. He took 50,000 euros worth in two years and only 3,000 euros worth since the charges came in and he’s not going to pay his bill for them either. UNREAL. He should be kicked out of the Dail and pursued for the money plus interest!
500 quid a week on ink cartridges for 2 years. . . . .
Shinner TDs take the average industrial (so they say).
500 p.w. wouldn’t be a million miles off that amount.
Loathe as I am to ever be found on the side of the Mail, I have to say I smell either a big dirty rat, or a big stupid TD.
a lot of people turned to sf and would turn to sf in another election ,
but this story regarding the cartridges (cough) , only goes to show , when push comes to shove ,
sf , ff ,fg, lab etc are all the fucking same , they are in it for themselves to suck as much off our tax money as possible ,
if they where so serious about fixing the country ,then politicans from all sides would not in the national interest claim any expenses , but as we have seen this is simply not the case ,
Adams 50k in expenses in 12months ,
quinn claiming over 6,000eur for supposedly travelling 2800km’s (cough cough)
I travel 900km’s a week , it costs me 78eur (including toll), so how can he claim so fucking much ITS ONE BIG FUCKING JOKE ,AT OUR EXPENSE
All i can say is we must unite and rise about against this evil evil system
Honest to goodness, this sort of shit is enough to wear the patients of a saint
The Garda need to get involved as this is theft of taxpayers money. The party involved is irrelevant as whoever behaves like they have a right to abuse the priveliged position they hold whether they are Labour, Fianna Fail or any other party should be charged and jailed. If joe blogs steals 20 € from the local shop he is charged so let the Garda do their job. Has anybody reported it to the Garda? Does somebody need to report it? Or will they just investigate?
You’d wonder why this wasn’t taken out of the Leaders Allowance afforded to Sinn Fein, considering that this is one of the expenses allowed. Or even from the portion of “donated” wages that Sinn Fein elected members give back to their party to “improve Constituency Services” which you’d imagine would be a category that informative leaflets to constituents would come under…
Gawd bless The Mail for putting this across its front page today – by coincidence of course when just a few days ago, a poll showed that SF was now even more popular with the public!
Well it deserves to be a headline, Since we are constantly being told about how different Sinn Fein are. €55,000 for toner + on top of that Paper + an indivdual to look after it. Even if he is the most prolific leafleter in the country should Sinn Fein not be picking up the tab. So what this actually shows is that Aengus Ó Snodaigh spends his time in the Dail printing leaflets to tell us all about the great work he is doing in the Dail. They are no different, snouts in the trough, along with the others, Claim they draw they average working wage, But I do believe the take all their wage and the donate some back to sinn fein coffers to keep the propoganda wheel turning. I see them as worse than the others, simply because the make this false claim to be different. Talk is Cheap
So here’s what we’ll do, says Gerry: ‘we’ll only take the average industrial wage and we’ll take the rest in cartridges.’ Jaysus, boss, says Aengus, ‘I thought we’d given up all that!’
So, let me get this straight … This TD claims that he has been using printing cartridges to print leaflets to disseminate literature about the childrens hospital, and other public cncerns. The Government has been paying 130 euro a cartridge to whoever the supplier is, where the normal Joe blogs on the street pays about 10-15 euros max. I am damn sure the TD did not know the Government were paying 130 euro a cartridge. Did any of you know???
To me, it sounds like the story should be about how much we the Tax payer are being fleeced in printing expenses in the Dail. How much are we paying for pens, paper etc. If we were paying the normal price for Toner, then this bloody story would never have arisen, as the toner expenses would have amounted to 2.5k per year. Is anyone asking the Gardai to investigate the extortionate prices we are paying for stationary? How come no-one has challenged this in the thread? Instead, we have the Usual FF/FG/Labour supporters on here protraying shock and dismay at ho SF have used printer Toner, all the while their Leaders are literally putting Tax Payers money into their bank accounts without as much as a whinge about it from their party faithful. How much did Enda Kenny pay himself extra in un-vouched expenses since he became leader of FG? 50k per year Tax-Free (and thats 100k per year to the average PAYE worker), on top of his normal expenses, on top of his TD slaary, on top of his ministerial pension, on top of his vouched expenses?????? Gilmore, Bruton???? And lets not start on the FFailures.
Sean, FF/FG/Labour pay money straight into their bank accounts … They make no bones abou it…
Unless this SF TD has a printing business, i cannot see how in hells name, he is personally profiting from this effort. That is the major difference between the parties, from what i see. And instead of attacking why the Government sees fit to pay 130 euro for a 10 euro cartridge, sticks to high heavens to me. I would really like to underrstand what we the tax-pyers pay for regular stationary (paper, paper clips, pens etc). Who gets the stationary contracts, and where the contracts are tendered. I smell a fantastic opportunity to start a new busniness selling stationary to the Government, saving the Tax payers millions, and making myself a large fortune in the process. It all smells to high heavens, and how the story broke in the week that SF takes a clear lead over Labour and FF stinks to me also. Open your eyes.
Agreed cal, just to add that I am in no way a sf supporter and highly unlikely that I ever will be and although o’snodaigh’s actions are dubious and absolutely should be questioned, but considering the momentus gains sf have made it does look like there is possibly some political skullduggery going on (sorry for using that word but couldnt think of another as appropriate).
Apparently these cartridges print 7500 copies each. Like to see you get that from a 15 quid toner from Tesco. What do SF TDs do with the money (that is over and above the €32k) they don’t take as income? Why didn’t they use that for constituency work?
Wider issue. Seems al parties mis-use public money in their efforts to keep in the public eye to get re-elected…
On the price of cartridges, if you read the article you will see it was toner not standard cartridges, toner prices range from €20 to €200+ depending on your type of printer, So that puts an end to your distracting from Sinn Feins blatant abuse of the system
Sinn Fein’s mantra is ‘The past is behind us. It’s time to forget about it and move forward’. Does that mean we should forget what FF did to the country as well and give them another chance? Or does this selective amnesia only apply to Sinn Fein?
What are ye all so het up about??!! FFS all the politicians are at it..The only reason this was made public was because SF are rising in the polls and the criminals that are running the country and the criminals that ran it into the ground in the first place can’t have that happening..
This is why people do not trust politicians…..
Doing stupid things . Surely there is a process one goes through
to do photocopying or an allowance available for such out lays.
He said it was for leafletting his area ….
Maybe his party should have subsidised this ….
Disappointing !!!
David
Ha ha ! You made a funny . I like that . You see it is always better to
have a sense of humor …Nice one . Have you heard ? Since You brought
up the Campaign against the household and water Tax . One Million six
hundred and seventy six thousand six hundred and thirty five = 1,676,635
people have NOT registered to pay that household tax .Can you imagine ???
Fantastic , fantastic. !That is 92% Have not registered … Well Good night now :)
Relax Eileen. Tis only February. Amazing how easily led people like you are when you are told what you want to hear. Use your own mind for a change Eileen. ;-)
David
I have said before and I will say it again . I voted for FG and Labour in the last General election .
I am so disappointed by the outright lies and Uturns they have done and the lack of respect our
government have shown us I will never vote for them again.
I do not know yet who I would vote for but likely Independents ULA and or SF …
It will be a while yet til the next election.
Fool me once, shame on you !
Fool me twice , shame on me !
Eileen,
I sense you think you’ve evaded the question by laughing it off and replying with a smart (and I used that term loosely) answer.
Your responses speak volumes.
Not at all Tom .
You are welcome :)
I am only in the ha’penny place when it comes to your own answers .
Then again The name Neville is renowned = well known :)
The original article says more about british tabloid Daily Mail criteria for quality reporting
With all the problems Ireland is facing they chose to focus on how much ink is used for printing by an individual TD.
But a bit of nationalist bashing always goes down well from some quarters.
Ah I was waiting for someone to come along and have a whinge purely because it was the Mail that broke the story. Would you be saying the same thing if it was a Blueshirt who had taken those cartridges? Yeah, I didn’t think so. The fact is O Snodaigh took the public for a bunch of fools and he got found out. It doesn’t matter who got this information, the important thing is that it’s now out there.
You’d print a Saturday edition of the Irish Examiner with all them cartridges ,
even though they saved on Presidential twitter. What other use have they for a colour printer?
aengus must take us all for mugs if he thinks he can get away with this.
I bet they all ended up on ebay.
the system shouldn’t allow such abuse, where were the civil servants?
I didn’t Think that TDS were allowed to steal from the Dial” well Clearly this is the Case” because I haven’t Heard Enda Saying To Sinn Fein Aengus Ó Snodaigh” Hey you are Fired” Stealing is a Crime” no matter what you say and it is punishable by Law” so Garda Get and Do your Jobs Arrest This man” why should he be any different” he Commit a Crime” therefore you pay for the Crime” Robbers the lot!
Rita Cahill
Fair play the Daily Mail and the journal, they have given all FG/Labour apologists a chance to air their views on expenses seeing as they were strangely mute on other expenses threads involving FG/Labour.
Spending so much on ink cartridges is an abomination and an abuse of privilege and shows another example of the disconnect between them in the Dail and the rest of us………….. anyway, maybe he’ll be arrested 24 hours before our government gives away another stack of billions to bondholders next month, seems to be the done thing.
It is obvious to anyone with a head on their shoulders
that the Gov managed this announcement about O Snodaigh
to coincide with the governments announcement about the
Referendum. . . Let them all have their day Dermot , at least
we will have our say .
Come March when they hand over the full amount to the bondholders and there’s still sick children lying on hospital trollies the FG sycophants will still be mentioning this, they need any sort of news to deflect away from their failings.
Dear God is this what the electorate are reduced to?scrapping and rallying the party hacks to attack legitimate use of toner cartridges given freely and legitimately to all TDS??. As a SF voter, I for one recieve many leaflets on local issues which stand to affect my community, more often than not these leaflets carry news which will not be found in my local newspapers, or on RTE, or radio. Many marginalised families rely on constituency services in my area and Sinn Féin are always to the fore in keeping us abreast of Gov cuts, local crimes, local resources, and often assist other community groups in their campaigns. I can state that yes on occasion especially in times of State crisis and times when our so called FF Gov kept us in the dark my local SF reps leafleted my estate weekly. Our TDs serve our constituencies and they are given resources from LH by the Gov of the day to service their offices. Its also worth noting that at election times our own leaflets were printed locally by a local printer with no affiliation to SF. It saddens me to see old news stories garner so much feedback when our FG/Lab coalition handed over billions to the troika, are cahrging us for owning our homes, are slashing our public services and blatantly fritter public expenses on appointing advisors et al even when to do so breaches their own pay ceilings. Pity the electorate arent so vocal when corruption and cronyism rear their heads daily and have done for decades of successive corruption all at the expense of us the taxpayer. If we are serious about tackling such issues lets not pander to such myopic views, and petty party politics
This…is…ridiculous. How could anyone, find the time (when they’re meant to be working) to rifle through so much ink? He definitely backhanded them to someone. Good to see he was pulled up on this. He looks like a complete and utter moron now.
Criminals ya, a much maligned word, someone with a recorded criminal conviction against him/her, now where in the dail chamber do you think we should look for criminals, god help us if the likes get into power.
How could you Mr Adams, all those trees you are so fond of hugging! Perhaps it’s invisible ink for the memoires or their past evil deeds: after all, they are sworn to silence. Or have they run out of Northern Banknotes?
Is it safe? Well, he says it is. They monitor his dosage levels and all that. Sometimes they’re too high, and he’s not allowed to dive. That’s why we live out in the middle of nowhere. http://www.cheapinkcartridges4u.co.uk/
Private child disability assessors were paid €1.3m more than projected
50 mins ago
Revenue
Woman (20s) arrested after €380,000 worth of cannabis seized at Dublin Airport
2 hrs ago
mallow
Two women dead and two children injured following collision in Cork
Updated
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say