You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Zarya Maxim Alexandrovich via Shutterstock

Four Traveller men compensated €6,000 each after being refused service in bar

A further condition of the settlement was that the staff involved attend a course of equality training.

FOUR TRAVELLER MEN were compensated €6,000 each after being refused service in a bar in Maynooth.

The members of the Traveller community were denied service and told that only regulars were being served on the night in question.

The group had been attending a human rights course when they had decided to go for a drink to a nearby pub.

The individuals involved applied jointly to the District Court for redress under the Intoxicating Liquor Act 2003 with legal representation provided to the group by the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission.

The matter was settled before hearing, with agreement from the licensed premises to pay €6,000 compensation to each of the individuals, plus a further €500 payment to each, to be donated to a charity of their choice.

A further condition of the settlement was that the staff involved attend a course of equality training.

Chief Commissioner of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission Emily Logan stated:

The Commission welcomes this legal settlement, and the clear message it sends that discrimination in private services, including licensed premises is not acceptable and can be challenged.

Recent research by the ESRI has shown that Travellers continue to experience very high levels of discrimination and are over 22 times more likely to experience discrimination in Ireland in private services.

Read: You can now see the winter solstice at Newgrange without a ticket>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

154 Comments
    Mute Henry Fingleton
    Favourite Henry Fingleton
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:59 AM

@John O Chrualaoich: when you work in a pub with no security then you have to preempt any trouble. The typical pattern was one or two lads look to get served and if successful they would send word out and over the next hour you would have a large group in.
    The pub is then frequented regularly and violence/vandalism is guaranteed. This is a fact of life in the pub trade and I don’t envy publicans these days

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:45 AM

My pub, my rules!

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:47 AM

@Alan O’Rourke:

In that case you better have deep pockets

Mute Tom Phelan
    Favourite Tom Phelan
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Alan O’Rourke: Government rules or no licence.

Mute TP Simms
    Favourite TP Simms
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:50 AM

@Alan O’Rourke: Yes, within the confines of the law.

Mute Irish Political GIF
    Favourite Irish Political GIF
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:29 AM

@Alan O’Rourke: any chance you could give me the address of your pub Alan? (Assuming you do a good Sunday carvery) just bear in mind I am from the travelling community & I’m looking for some easy compensation off someone who doesn’t understand the basic law they operate under.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon

I better not voice my opinion in case I get a solicitors letter.6 thousand Euro each! Wow.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:52 AM

@David Mc Nally: The pub probably saved money in the long run.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:01 PM

@Nick Allen: You think that is a valid grounds to not serve them? Where is you line? Spanish, Jewish, English, Muslim not Irish? Just so we know what level you are at.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:39 PM

@Nick Allen: Years ago, I went to Wembley for a Bowie concert. Astonished to find the entire place on lock down. It’s as if the town was expecting trouble. Glad to know that the English have cleaned up their act. The concert itself was great.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:03 PM

@Nick Allen: So the risk to your business is not a judgment call. It isn’t based of a judgment of the people in front of you but what you have heard about or seen of a particular group they , in your opinion, are in.
    So if you walked into a pub in England and the refused you based on the reputation Irish people have you wouldn’t mind? You wouldn’t see it as prejudice?
    Seeing as you didn’t mention Jewish or Muslim people are we to take it you do have a problem with them?

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:25 PM

@Kal Ipers: Have you ever seen Jews/Spanish/Muslim/English/ Irish regularly smash up a pub?

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:38 PM

@Ray Farrell: Nope and I have not seen travellers do it either. I have worked in bars and seen lots of people do lots of things and kicked them out not once did I feel the need to base the decision on a person’s race or culture

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:57 PM

@Nick Allen: I am not twisting anything around. I gave you comparable examples. You seem to be the one twisting things around to say why you are justified in your views. Just expanding on what you are saying. Irish people do have a reputation in other countries for causing trouble. When my wife was a child visiting Birmingham she and her mother were asked to leave a cafe as they were Irish. The bombings were very recent. Irish people were not welcome in many bars in England but now things are different but we had a reputation.
    So how about you don’t try and justify and stop twisting and just say you are prejudice against travellers? If you think you are right why so afraid to make that statement on its own?

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 18th 2017, 7:11 PM

@Kal Ipers:

Your example of the Birmingham bombing just exemplifies how you haven’t got a clue and are just trying to jump on the snowflake PC bandwagon.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Martin Ryan: Considering that Travellers account for 0.6% of the total population. Explain why 23% of the female prison population and 16% of the male prison population are Travellers ?

Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Henry Fingleton: you’re spot on, worked in a bar for a few years and it’s d same pattern every time. Always telling staff they were wrong changed too trying to get a few bob back as well. I know you can’t tar them all with the same brush but 9 times outa 10 they’ll steal the tar and the brush.

Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:35 AM

@Martin Ryan: Regularly is the key word you’ve conveniently left out

Mute Henry Fingleton
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Sean Conway: haha is that right Sean yeah? You’ve never worked in a bar clearly. Sure just sit back and wait on the guards as you play dodge glass. Sterling advice mate

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:45 AM

Let’s not forget that landlords are in the business to make a living – they’re not just going to turn away money for no reason.
    What the do-gooders seem to forget is that landlords have made a hard-nosed business decision that in the long run serving travellers is going to cost them more than it earns them.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:47 AM

Crazy awards like this mean that publicans are going to lose out either way.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:09 PM

@Avina Laaf: A barman in Alabama could have made the same argument about serving black people. It doesn’t make it right and it doesn’t mean that it is not discriminatory and prejudicial. What the barman is essentially saying is that his clientele are of like mind to himself / herself but the truth is that they might both need a wake up call.

Mute Tom Phelan
    Favourite Tom Phelan
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:03 AM

@Henry Fingleton: have worked in bars myself and know exactly what you mean. There is a simpler way to deal with this problem. Laws in Australia make it illegal for you to serve someone that is intoxicated, 3 or 4 drinks lads and yer out! And the law is on your side now.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:21 AM

@Casper: bars are in the business of making money and are not in the business of arbitrarily refusing custom. There are valid ethical and economic reasons to refuse them. The type of urban middle class smug libernazis that defend them never have to tolerate their abuse and violence.

Mute Henry Fingleton
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:10 AM

@Casper: yes Casper but that completely ignores the statistical likelihood of certain folk causing trouble. And if a settled person is known to be trouble or potential trouble, they won’t be served either

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Favourite John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:41 AM

@Martin Ryan, Shutting down roads for Sulky Races
    Dragging a load of caravans into a space and leaving a big mess
    Taking over a hotel for a wedding and destroying it while fighting each other
    Coming back to Rathkeale for Xmas and destroying the place where extra resources have to be put in place for them
    Apart from that it’ s mostly in people’s heads that travellers cause the most problems in society
    off the top of my head will think of a few more if you like?

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Casper: people from the settled community get barred all the time if you bar a traveller your brought to court and fined if you don’t bar a traveller your premises will be trashed

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:01 AM

Settling without a hearing is all well and good. However, does it not leave open the possibility of spurious claims being made by all sorts of people in the hope of getting financial reward without being tested?

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:57 AM

Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission. IHREC.
    When was this new Quango set up? What is their budget.
    Don’t remember any politicians being asked about it or discussion on RTE.
    They are advertising a lot on radio at present.
    Do we really need another overpaid Quango for human rights in Ireland

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:15 PM

@Sean Conway, it’s true there’s a Guard at every street corner only happy enough to wade into a traveller mess, it makes their shift so much more interesting having their jaw broken, trying to break up drunken people who are familiar with the inside of caravans, who can’t remember why their fighting, very fulfilling I imagine, should try and get out more, has anyone seen @Martin, as he said “no didn’t think so” Is school finished early today for the Christmas, or something ?

Mute flabar oflabar
    Favourite flabar oflabar
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:00 AM

Got refused for having a shaved head years ago, “hairscrimination”! Went next door for our pints!

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:41 AM

@flabar oflabar: 5 grand, minimum.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:53 PM

@flabar oflabar: Don’t spend it all in the one place!

Mute Niamh White
    Favourite Niamh White
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:22 PM

@David Mc Nally: travellers break the law every day & if allowed to drink in that pub could’ve broke a lot more. I understand all travellers are not like that, but many are nowadays unfortunately.

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:09 PM

@Martin Ryan: Intimidate and Rob my elderly mother for one

Mute Termaz Fx
    Favourite Termaz Fx
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:16 PM

Last year I was refused entry to a yuppie bar because I wasn’t dressed properly – a hoodie instead of shirt and a sweater.
    Where can I claim my compensation for being discriminated because of my looks?

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper

Proper order lets hope this sends a message to all those businesses that think they can discriminate against the traveling community.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:55 AM

@John O Chrualaoich:

Maybe you should try look at yourself to find a positive role model that’s if there is any thing positive to look at

Mute John O Chrualaoich

@Casper, are you not supposed to start with some made up story about how you grew up beside a halting site and there were all diamond geezers, never fought or stole anything?
    People don’t discriminate against them because it came to them in a dream, but more likely to be like me and Henry above, through first hand experience of their more common behaviours.
    They stopped making tin pots and travelling for that matter a long time ago.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Sean Kelly:

If that’s how you feel well god bless you

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:04 AM

@Casper: My neighbours, Farmers were robbed by Travellers recently, Gardaí caught the suspects after a few days but were let off, No compensation for the Neighbours though…just a frightening experience

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:06 AM

@John O Chrualaoich:

If you like you can make up stories if you want and you can be racist all you like but the law is the law you cannot discriminate against traveling community and if you do you will pay the price simple as that

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper

@Gerry Murphy:

Lots of farmers have been robbed from ordinary people too

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:31 AM

@Sean Kelly:

I am big enough and bold enough to stand up and speak for myself and if you feel bad for me that’s your problem, travellers may not be a race but they experience racism within this society day in and day out

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:00 PM

@Sean Kelly:

The term racism has expanded over many decades to include other groups in society so the term racism can and rightly so be used in this case, your more than welcome to check it out for yourself you could do with a little education

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:01 PM

@Casper: why do you think they experience “racism” what is it that they do day in day out to garner this reputation? It’s not home help they are giving!

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon

@Casper: a cafe across from my restaurant got broken into one night… by travellers. And had all their stock taken. Just FYI

Mute Ciaran Fairley
    Favourite Ciaran Fairley
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:17 PM

@Casper: Maybe if some of the travellers conducted themselves like ordinary decent citizens, publicans, shop owners, etc, wouldn’t have an issue and be apprehensive with them coming into their premises for fear of potential carnage occurring. They don’t exactly have a reputation for being pillars of society now do they?

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:24 PM

@Gerry Murphy: Travellers are like the rest of us there’s good and bad . You seem to be suggesting that the people here on this story robbed your farmer friends is this what you are saying ? Please enlighten us.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:40 PM

@Casper: What’s the chances of a publican getting compensation from travellers who wreck his pub? You must have your head up your ass if you think they don’t start brawling when they’re drunk.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Casper: Most of it is deserved. I know a settled traveller who is one of the nicest gentlemen I have ever met. Unfortunately most travellers are not like him.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:47 PM

@Damien Wallanger: What rights do they not have that everyone else enjoys?

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:19 PM

Racist? But they’re Irish

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:59 PM

@ Damo Wangler, Those women, most likely fighting with the Taxpayers Euro, to retain their culture of not paying any tax and making a big mess everywhere

Mute Cathal MacDocraigh
    Favourite Cathal MacDocraigh
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:11 PM

@Casper: you obiously have never worked in the bar business to come out with such shit A stick in time saves nine
    Surely the owner of any business has a right to do business with whoever he pleases His house his prerogative

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:28 PM

@Casper: if you can just explain how, since I was a nipper, every traveller encampment I have ever seen has top of the range Caravans and vehicles? That always bugged me every time we passed one when I was camping with my parents in a banger of a car towing a 12 foot caravan. What do they work at to enjoy such luxuries? Hey didn’t lick it off a stone!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:36 PM

Wonder what would happen if a) the landlord took it to court and claimed that the people weren’t actually travellers… it’s hardly like they have a register.. or b) claimed to be a traveller himself?

Mute martin dolan
    Favourite martin dolan
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:56 AM

Don’t understand why the staff are getting the blame for anything, it was obvious that the policy by pub owners was not to serve travellers, staff were only doing their job

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers

@martin dolan: If the bar owner had a policy of beating customers with sticks would they do that too? Only following orders hasn’t been an acceptable excuse for a long time. Your boss can tell you to do something illegal but you are the one breaking the law

Mute Padraic Burke
    Favourite Padraic Burke
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:28 PM

@Kal Ipers: if they were travellers maybe.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:58 AM

@David Conroy: Sorry 22% and 15% ( Irish Prison Service)

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper

@Henry Fingleton:

People in the settled community have behaved like this too and they are never discriminated against, you can’t paint all travellers with the one brush just like we don’t paint all from settled communities with one brush, I have no bother chucking people out when they have done wrong but only when they’ve done wrong

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:52 PM

@Niamh White: easy solution here. Make any award payable to the court poor box. That will this Claim culture very quickly.

Mute Niall O Neill
    Favourite Niall O Neill
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:59 AM

@John O Chrualaoich: stealing and selling rhino horn….

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:37 AM

The judges in this country are worse than a disgrace

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:53 AM

Business opportunity!

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:48 PM

@Martin Ryan so as usual no meaningful reply about traveller criminality, even when specific to the travelling community, you never addressed Rhino horn theft across Europe as mentioned above, boy racers are not like Sulky racing in any way, Rathkeale is not completely owned by travellers and doesn’t give them the right to flaunt the law there.
    Just the usual horse manure, you would find after a Sulky race
    Answer that I will head up to Greystones to meet A hardworking traveller Familly, used to live near Bray when they had a camp at one of the Motorway exits what a mess, and if there was funeral it was like Zombie dawn of the dead

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:37 PM

Rookie mistake, all you simply have to say is that you refused them because they appeared intoxicated and it is illegal to serve someone under the influence. Also, “I had absolutely no idea they were travellers, how would I?”

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Dec 18th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Martin Ryan: with a rate 82% unemployment in the traveller, you must know the minority. Jog on

Mute Andy K
    Favourite Andy K
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Martin Ryan: Do you mean the people who live next to the Bray head golf course? Those are the only clean traveller community I have ever seen. But, at the same time they are not travellers. They have lived there for decades, and if they dont move they arent travelling.

Otherwise I dont know any travellers near Greystones. I also think you would crack a glass over Johns head if he met you.

Mute Denis Sherry
    Favourite Denis Sherry
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:43 PM

I’m curious! Are there any bars in Ireland that are owned and ran by Travellers?

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:34 PM

@David Mc Nally: the law broke the pub

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:37 AM

It’s very sad to think if you say something bad about a traveller on this platform you’d get a thousand likes and if you say something good you get nothing but abuse, Irish people’s attitudes need to change towards the traveling community but I think the hatred for them is so deeply ingrained that it’s probably too late.

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:51 AM

@Casper maybe if the change came from them, maybe some small token gesture, to live like they are the same species as the other people on earth, the maybe your wish would come true.
    Would love to see if you feel the same way after being discriminated against by them, the comments and the likes, for what it’s worth show the feelings of the majority of people.
    In the meantime they are an embarrassment to the Irish Nation when they do go travelling/thieving world wide, and they and their leaders and community groups bring this on themselves for the defending of the indefensible. More condemnation of the offenders and less of the poor me.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:53 AM

@Casper: The solution is in the hands of that community. Stop robbing and making old people live in fear and give something back to society instead of take take take. I’ve only been robbed four times and it was all travellers. I can never forget or forgive what they did taking my family heirlooms with my memories of past generations, and especially what those savages did to my horse. Only they can change how they are perceived, we can’t.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:02 PM

@John O Chrualaoich:

I don’t feel one bit embarrassed and I am as Irish as they come, do you feel embarrassed

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:10 PM

Yes I do feel embarrassed by them

I notice you are unable to answer any other point made so that’s that so, we can agree to differ, and you can happily defend the smelly traveller till they come crashing into your life. When you do have to leave the house you might encounter some of their charming ethnicity first hand which might help to colour and inform your opinions, until then keep trolling along with David

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford

@Casper: It’s travellers attitudes that need to change. There’s a good reason they’re not liked.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:01 PM

@Damien Wallanger: I think the statistics on these robberies speak for themselves when/if they perpetrators are actually caught. We are all aware of the gangs coming out of Dublin robbing people in the country but compared to the aforementioned it would suggest that its a different stat. Here’s an IT article which gives some clarity, especially the Castlerea inmates being 50% travellers.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/disproportionate-number-of-travellers-in-prison-population-1.3263524

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:36 PM

@Casper: maybe if the travelling community changed their attitude towards almost everything than the settled community would follow suit with their attitude towards travellers!
    I mean most of it is not prejudice but personal experience!

Mute johnp
    Favourite johnp
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: get lost with those facts and figures Damien doesn’t need them to know he’s better than the rest of us

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:56 PM

Hey @ Damien Wallenger do you have any arguments to dispute what’s said, if not why are you here and what are you contributing to the debate, not unlike the topic we are discussing, no worthwhile contributions so far

Mute Tom Jones
    Favourite Tom Jones
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:42 PM

@Casper: there is a reason it is so deeply ingrained. Travellers in a pub equals trouble. Fact.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:54 PM

@David Conroy: 50% of the Castlereagh prison population are travellers.

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan

That was an expensive round!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:39 PM

@John O Chrualaoich: i’ll tell you what john, come to Greystones, and i will personally introduce you to some very decent hardworking and tax compliant members of the travelling community also their are boy racers to take over from the sulkys plenty of lads who go out just for a p!ss up and a fight and Rathkeale, is pretty much owned by the travellers.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Dec 18th 2017, 5:44 PM

@Niamh White: 2 best jobs in Ireland, politics and travellers….. Both paid by the taxpayer.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:58 AM

@Henry Fingleton: All a barman has to do is serve them. and if thay cause trouble. then call the garda. end of.

Mute John Conroy
    Favourite John Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:06 PM

Unless these men had been known to cause trouble in this establishment, or in another pub, then the decision sounds bang to rights.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:29 AM

@John O Chrualaoich: Please tell me something that members of the travelling community have done illegally that members of the settled community have not…didnt thnk so !!!@

Mute Liam Mac Roibin
    Favourite Liam Mac Roibin
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:27 PM

@Martin Ryan: Slavery?

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:14 PM

Ehm.. a pub is, well, public? Publician can refuse service on violation of house rules. Has this happened?

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Dec 18th 2017, 7:34 PM

Would the Gardai have to be involved in this prosecution ?
    Reason I ask is I once saw a very aggressive traveller gang demand drink in a small pub in the midlands.
    They were refused and sent one of their ladies to the barracks while boasting they would ‘clane out’ the publican.
    She came back and was overheard telling the ‘boss man’ that no Guatd was available.
    They left without another word.

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:06 PM

Why didn’t he just serve them water?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:57 PM

@Sean Kelly: No sean, hardworking as in getting up at 5/6 in the morning and tax compliant as in Revenue compliant come along take the test or are you afraid that your inherent hatred of the traveller community will be proven false.

Mute nafoits
    Favourite nafoits
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:59 PM

@David Conroy: that is the exact argument white supremacists make about black society in the USA. It proves a correlation not causality. Travellers are also discriminated against by gardai and the courts, and are more likely to be imprisoned and receive harsher sentences. It’s a complex issue. Stopping travellers having a drink is not an answer.

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:47 PM

@Terry Cahill: Someone quoted bar rules in Australia as if it’s relevant to Ireland.And Australia is a kip.

Mute Ken Burke
    Favourite Ken Burke
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:55 AM

Jesus Christ

Mute Mar Ken
    Favourite Mar Ken
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:29 PM

All, most of the comments on this are ignorant, discriminatory and defamatory against travellers. I’ve reported all, I hope the journal does not condone such behavior on this. Discriminatory against travellers is illegal, understand the judgment from this case and learn when your views are wrong and promoting further discrimination. Defamation (published on this) is also serious matter so please stop the ignorant uneducated analysis and allegations against travellers. Basic human rights and equal and fair treatment for all. Ireland 2017 modern day and human rights for all please. I’m Irish, educated and not biased against travellers.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 3:50 PM

@John Mulligan: Correct, they are moved there by IPS because they get a hard time in the other prisons.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:36 PM

@Martin Ryan: And BTW the biggest criminals in this country wear suits and uniforms you know the ones i mean but your are obviously ok with that.None so Blind as they say .

Mute wiggy
    Favourite wiggy
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:35 PM

I don’t drink or frequent public houses , publicians are like the farmers bleeding hearts , they certainly know how to charge the dopes that piss there money up the wall

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:08 PM

@Giroud Doherty:

Well you generally get treated the way you treat others.

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 18th 2017, 4:26 PM

@David Mc Nally:

Is the law always right?

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Dec 18th 2017, 12:54 PM

@Kieran Conroy: did you mean WTF has Australia to do with this horrible dump,?

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 3:56 PM

@nafoits: Nobody should be refused in any shop or pub because of who they are. If you commit crime you do time regardless of who you are. The statistics speak for themselves and no amount of sugar coating can hide this elephant (Or Rhino) in the room !

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.

@Chris Finn: Why would tax evasion prevent a bar from serving travellers?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:56 PM

@Liam Mac Roibin: Where do you buy your clothes and electronic devices ? many of which come from sweat shops in Asia, where very young people are forced to work for a pittance .

Mute Giroud Doherty
    Favourite Giroud Doherty
    Dec 18th 2017, 7:30 PM

this is a great result for the Travellers. Discrimination in Ireland against Travellers in is a disgrace!

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:20 PM

@Giroud Doherty:

We had a “traveller” (we called them something else) family living close to us when we were kids growing up, about 5 doors away, there were several families the same on the estate at the back of us.

I remember being frightened to death in bed at night with the carry on, several cars and vans turning up an a melee in the street, especiall when they had a wedding in town. How many children were similarly terrified by theactions of these “travellers?”

And the guards, solicitors, judges and campaigners nowhere to be seen to fight for us to have a peaceful life.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:19 PM

@Martin Ryan: close them down, then they won’t even have the pittance ( in your monatary thinking) to live on! And yes I have lived in Asia, and yes they do work for small wages but commensurate with the cost of living. For some the “big” companies are their only sourse of income, yes wages could be better, yes conditions could be better, but you looking at it all from your Ivory castle in the sky doesn’t help much.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:33 PM

@Andy K: No in greystones itself Andy,and no i would not crack a glass over anyones head unless of course they harmed one of my children, thats obviously the way you sort your problems.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:06 PM

@Eileen Nolan: it’s the very definition of prejudice in fact. Irish people love to get worked up about what’s happening the poor Rohingyas but overlook the discrimination that they themselves are involved in on their own doorstep.

Mute Giroud Doherty
    Favourite Giroud Doherty
    Dec 18th 2017, 7:41 PM

@Niamh White: Not if you face discrimination and embarrassment. Travellers will continue stand up for their rights as long as they get treated like dirt. thanks to social media we can keep sharing cases like this to encourage more travellers to do the same.

Mute Eileen Nolan
    Favourite Eileen Nolan
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:49 PM

@Chris Finn: If those four specific people had caused trouble before or were barred, then I can understand refusing them service. What is NOT right is to see travellers , tar them all with the one brush and and make a judgement of ‘rape, violence, theft, tax evasion, robbery……..’ That’s discrimination, it’s illegal and a lot of Irish people don’t want to accept that

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:33 PM

@David Conroy: Because travellers can’t count?.

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:01 PM

@David Conroy: what do you mean they get a hard time in other prisons ? How do you know that?

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:01 PM

@Sean Conway: Imbecile, end of

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Dec 18th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Tom Phelan: WTF has Australia got to do with this? Horrible dump.

Mute Swiftcub
    Favourite Swiftcub
    Dec 18th 2017, 2:08 PM

@Sean Conway: Now that is what I call a brain fart!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Dec 18th 2017, 3:36 PM

@Michael Geraghty: sorry i cant comprehend your drivel must be your college education.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Dec 18th 2017, 9:34 PM

@David Conroy: because travellers can’t count