You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tree of Hope via Facebook

'A special tribute': Tree of Hope puts down roots at Leinster House

Representatives from across the political divide attended the ceremony that saw the tree planted on Leinster Lawn this morning.

AWAY FROM THE debates and the arguments in Dáil Éireann today, an event was held to plant a Tree of Hope in the grounds of Leinster House to act as a permanent and poignant tribute to those who have died from suicide.

The idea of the initiative, which has seen trees planted across the country, is for the planting to act as a symbol of support to those affected by suicide, and mental health issues.

Representatives from across the political divide attended the ceremony that saw the tree planted on Leinster Lawn this morning.

In a statement on their Facebook page, the team behind Tree of Hope said: “A special thanks to Ceann Chomhairle for giving us permission, to Mary Lou Mcdonald and Liam O Duibhir for organising it, to Paul Heffernan for singing so lovely for us, to Charlie O’Connor for reading for us and to Eilish McNally and family for kindly donating the tree to us, and to Sean Crowe for arranging collecting of the tree.”

There was a strong Sinn Féin presence, with Gerry Adams and Mary Lou McDonald in attendance.

McDonald said: “The planting of the tree in the grounds of the houses of the Oireachtas is also a tribute to the great work that Noeleen Fulham and the Tree of Hope organisation do around the country.

The tree will also act as a permanent and poignant reminder to all of us of all those who have sadly died by suicide. The tree will grow, bloom and be a beautiful expression of hope and comfort to all those who have lost a friend or a family member to suicide.

Read: Roof caves in at scene of major fire at Blanchardstown apartment block

Read: Teenage boy (13) airlifted to hospital after he was ‘assaulted on his lunch break’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:01 PM

A man who talks peace, does what he can to promote peace, is vilified in the press.
    Is peace not better than war?

Jul 17th 2018, 4:05 PM

@Dave Doyle: were his talks worth sacrificing his country’s democracy?

Mute johnp
    Favourite johnp
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:05 PM

@Dave Doyle: talks peace unless it’s when he’s threatening to invade Venezuela or attack Iran that is

See 60 more replies ▾
    Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:07 PM

@Dave Doyle: Mc Milan talked peace with Hitler before. World war 2 and then

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:14 PM

@Dave Doyle: oh wake up Dave.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:21 PM

@Dave Doyle:
    Here’s a few of his more peaceful quotes
    Re Syria: “missiles will be coming”
    Re NK: “they will be met with fire and fury like world has never seen”
    Re European allies: “they’re foes”
    Re China: “trade bullies”
    Re Canada: “they’re spoiled”
    Re Africa: “sh!thole countries”

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:31 PM

@: What democracy? Democracy USA style? Where MSM TV do the neocon warmongers bidding and pump fake news out day in day out. Have the hissy fit we see now when things don’t go their way?
    What would you prefer, watching nuclear missiles fly overhead?
    That’s what Killary had planned for us all.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:34 PM

@Tweed Cap: He’s fairly accurate on a few of them.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:36 PM

@johnp: Israel wants to attack Iran. Israel and the neocons thrive on war.
    The oil barons want to see Venezuela invaded.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Favourite Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:39 PM

@Dave Doyle: not that there was a live danger of the US going to war with Russia? But supporting (at the expense of your own intelligence community) a dictator who murders his own people, including journalists and opposition politicians, who has annexed territory of a sovereign nation and murdered and attempted to murder citizens in the UK with chemical weapons, and is rolling back on human rights, who has interfered with sovereign elections in the EU and US is NOT promoting peace.

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:40 PM

@Dave Doyle: the problem is that Putin owns Trump…. wake up and smell the covfefe…!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

@FlopFlipU: I think you mean Chamberlin.

Mute Conor Paddington

@Dave Doyle: Putin loathes the very concepts of democracy and human rights. Cop on, would you?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:46 PM

@Conor Paddington: Are you under some illusion British and the USA don’t take care of serious dissent in their own countries?
    What was putin to do, sit back and do nothing while the EU, and NATO engineered a coup in a neighbouring country?
    Murdered citizens in the UK? Where’s the evidence?
    Interfered in elections in the EU and USA? Again where’s the evidence?

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:49 PM

@Dave Doyle: there is evidence, you lunatics just won’t read it. It’s incredibly convincing. Particularly for the latter. Denying that there’s evidence and sticking your fingers in your ear while yelling LALALA doesn’t mean there’s no evidence. And what about murdering opposition poiticians and journalists? That’s just fine?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:49 PM

@Conor Paddington: Have you ever been to Russia? Have you ever spoken to Russians about Putin?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:50 PM

@Conor Paddington: Show you evidence?

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:59 PM

@Dave Doyle: apart from Europe being less than a solid ally of America….I’d say he got the rest spot on

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Dave Doyle: Oh David would you just shut up! You’re making yourself look like an eejit!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:07 PM

@Conor Paddington: Still waiting on your evidence. Still waiting to be incredibly convinced.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:08 PM

@Dave Doyle: you’re a big boy. I’m not going to spoon feed you, it’s not my job to educate you or keep you informed, if you’re not informed then don’t have the argument. You’re denying the existence of evidence which exists amd is widely available. That’s a bloody non-starter, isn’t it?? If you were contending how reliable it is then maybe we could talk. But even at that I reckon you’re a lost cause.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:08 PM

@Tony Stanley: I don’t give a flying one about your opinion.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:11 PM

@Conor Paddington: So you’re talking through your bottom orrifice.
    Though so.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:14 PM

@Dave Doyle: here, look: read this, and while you’re at it click into the citations so you can read the primary sources and form your own conclusions. If you respond in the next 2 minutes saying there’s mo evidence, then we have our answers about you, don’t we? https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russian_interference_in_the_2016_United_States_elections

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:16 PM

@Dave Doyle: Have you ever spoken to Russian opposition politicians. Thought not but you are a wise man as you would probably be locked up or maybe bumped off. Putin is a multi billionaire who is the head of a dictatorship. However in your mind that is probably fake news.

Mute Anton Dec
    Favourite Anton Dec

@Dave Doyle:
    It boils down to where you want to get your information. Sounds to me like the free press isn’t the place for you.
    Some people make a virtue out of stubborn stupïdity. Take a bow Dave.

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:32 PM

@Dave Doyle: Trump does not talk peace. He is gunning for war with Iran. How peaqceful is that? He was the first to move the US emabssy to Jerusalem. Think that was a peace move? He is a stooge, a patsy and he has now been found out, finally.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Tom Reilly: No i haven’t, have you?
    I do work with 3 Russians. Their opinion of Putin is that he is a great man. Doing wonders for Russia.
    I’m as wise as anyone else here.
    I have my opinions, and i have every right to them.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:36 PM

Trump is all substance over style, unlike most politicians, he actually delivers on what he promises. When I was a youth the threat of nuclear war was very real so to see the leaders of both Russia and the USA have good relations is a strong step forward towards global peace and nullifying the threat of a cataclysmic war that would end everything. He is by no means perfect, who is, but the microscopic scrutiny of everything he says and does is way above what anyone should be subjected to. Killary’s tears at losing the election appear to be endless, she needs to get over herself and accept that her time has come and gone.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:37 PM

@Conor Paddington: ahh the great wikipedia.
    You have to do better than that if you want to be taken seriously.
    I much prefer Conor Fitz’s link down below.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:38 PM

@Anton Dec: Free press???? Really??? Best joke on this thread.

Mute Pat Price
    Favourite Pat Price
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:40 PM

@Dave Doyle: Israel and Trump want to get on with this war, Trump for the glory and the oil and Israel because Iran are the only country left in the middle east seen as any kind of real opposition or threat to Israel , they just have to get the Russians out of their alliance with Iran then its Boom Boom !! I wonder what Trump was offering Putin in that private session to ditch Iran. If he gets through the current kerfuffle over his latest exploits watch out for talk of the easing of sanctions against Russia , Iran must be a little nervous ,

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Dave Doyle: I laughed out loud when I read Ant’s comment about having a “free” press also. No such thing in mainstream media.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Trump wouldn’t be my choice. But when you leave the spin aside he seems to be doing good for the American people. He always was the lesser of two evils being offered for election.
    I also lived through that era when the threat of nuclear war was real.
    It seems the politicians of today and their fans see such a threat as nothing. They think a nuclear is winnable and worthwhile.
    The hissy fit in the American press and the Killary fanboys here is rediculous.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Dave Doyle: hahaha, I knew that you were going to come back with that. I’m sorry, but you’re a total muppet.

First, denying the reliability of Wikipedia as the basis for an argument id for people in 3rd class. Wikipedia is an incredible resource and I’d be shocked if you didn’t agree with me. It’s not reliable enough as a reference in an academic paper, that’s not what this is.

Second, as I said, click into the citations throughout and read the primary sources. But nope, you’ve more or less nailed your colours to the mast.

You are asking for evidence but you won’t read it. Eejit.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Pat Price: I think you need to read Conor Fitz’s link he published.
    Your estimation of Iran/Israel/USA/Russia is screwed.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:51 PM

@Niall Quinlan: It goes to show where some here get their opinions from
    Talk about sheep.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:54 PM

@Niall Quinlan: you understand that no matter what you think of the press, it’s the “free” part that allows them to write what they write. Want them to stop? Then you don’t believe in a free press.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:55 PM

@Conor Paddington: Personal insults. Well done. You’re nothing else to offer have you.
    It must be terribley frustrating for you to know i don’t give a damn about your name calling.
    I did point out a far better link for you. Did you find the words to big to understand?
    Poor boy.

Mute johnp
    Favourite johnp
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:55 PM

@Dave Doyle: so you’re saying trump is doing the bidding of Israel and the oil barons only a man of peace to the highest bidders

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:56 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: It’s who ever pays their bills.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:56 PM

@Dave Doyle: None of my business as I’m not American but I totally agree, this is an orchestrated attack on the leader of the USA that began the day after his election win by the corrupt lady he defeated.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:00 PM

@Dave Doyle: come on. Are we really going to have an argument about whether or not Wikipedia is a good source of information. Grow up.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:02 PM

@Dave Doyle: amd you’re countering it with a conspiracy theory website with zero credibility. Really?

Mute Paul Hughes
    Favourite Paul Hughes
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Dave Doyle: as long as trump goes down world war 3 is a better opinion…..apparently

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:08 PM

@Paul Hughes: literally nobody thinks that.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:13 PM

@Paul Hughes: So it seems according to many here.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:14 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Nail on the head Frank.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:16 PM

@Dave Doyle: according to, again, literally no one here.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:42 PM

@Jane: Oh do back to sleep Jane.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:45 PM

@Dave Doyle: the “man ” is a complete headcase.
    Please don’t say Dave that you think he’s a good president.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:49 PM

@Dave Doyle: killary what a Muppet you are sir! Whose hand is up your behind?

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:52 PM

@Dave Doyle: amazingly Dave millions of russians loathe Putin! They just don’t fancy been disappeared. You only spoke to guys in bot school

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Dave Doyle: For your Killary comment, where is the evidence? Tell us, poor Dave.

Mute King Billy
    Favourite King Billy
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:59 PM

Trump is a legend in fairness. He says what we all think but dont say because the PC libtards control everything. His work at the borders is fantastic. ICE is simply the best thing happening in america

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:36 PM

@Dave Doyle: youd swear the media want trump to ho to war.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:38 PM

@johnp: Venezuala is international socialist crisis with million of people starving. It could use being invaded.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jul 17th 2018, 9:03 PM

@Clever Jake: but Trump doesn’t like the Brits and to some people around here that’s enough to make him an all round good guy.

Mute Walk On By
    Favourite Walk On By
    Jul 17th 2018, 9:10 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: “he delivers on what he promises” <- yah,right..

"Healthcare for everyone" <- nope
    "lower drug prices" <- nope
    "build a wall" <-nope
    "get Mexico to pay for it" <- nope
    Made a balls with the 'zero tolerance policy'
    Bring back coal jobs <- nope
    Brought in a tax scam which will benefit the rich (him and his family) through cuts in medicare,medicaid and social security..
    “infrastructure plan” <- nope
    Farmers (that voted for him) getting a hammering over his stupid trade wars…

but look,he says it as it is..until he mispokes,that is..

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jul 17th 2018, 10:56 PM

@Dave Doyle: I can’t honestly remember an American president in recent history to threaten nuclear war? But trump has. Even the warmongers the Bush’s cut the US nuclear arsenal. Trump has begun to fun the increase of their nuclear arsenal. He’s also increased military spending by 74billion dollars. Can you stand behind this as man of peace? Oh and I’ve lived in Russia, Putin is far from revered, feared is a more accurate description in my experience.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jul 17th 2018, 11:15 PM

@FlopFlipU: not McMillan. Check your facts

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jul 17th 2018, 11:59 PM

@FlopFlipU: Was that McMilian and Wife?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 18th 2018, 7:02 PM

@Dave Doyle: kettle pot

Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:03 PM

No words can describe the actions of a president who would be better off sticking to reality shows, playing with the lives of millions in a chess like policy isn’t working..

Mute David Walters
    Favourite David Walters
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:11 PM

@David Dineen: Drafts more like

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:12 PM

@David Dineen: Chess like ? More like Ludo..

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:12 PM

@David Dineen: chess?? No!! Putin plays chess, Trump plays snakes and ladders. Hi

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:27 PM

@David Dineen: what isn’t working?

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:02 PM

Two of those papers shown are Canadian..Calgary Sun and the Globe and Mail

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:07 PM

@Enda Reynolds: in fairness there’s a prefacing paragraph explaining that

Jul 17th 2018, 4:11 PM

@Enda Reynolds: read the article, it says “meanwhile north of the border”….. in Canada, hence the headlines from those two Canadian publications. If you want to make an informed comment, I suggest you inform yourself by reading the article before making an eejit if yourself.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:13 PM

@Enda Reynolds: so that is three

Mute Agadorable1
    Favourite Agadorable1
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:26 PM

@Enda Reynolds: We share a border and are currently considering our own wall to keep the president (small p intended) and his cronies from ever getting in.

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:31 PM

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: i feel so bad now after being corrected by a superior being as yourself, I apologise profusely to you and beg your forgiveness if not now, but in time

Mute hyippy
    Favourite hyippy
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:50 PM

@Enda Reynolds: Enda, you said something stupid because you didn’t read the article carefully. Stop being a little child about it

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:56 PM

@hyippy: sounds good faceless commenter

Mute Anton Dec
    Favourite Anton Dec
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:21 PM

@Enda Reynolds:
    It does for him alright, not so much for you.

Jul 17th 2018, 5:30 PM

@Enda Reynolds: you are totally forgiven Enda. A plenary indulgence has been granted and you don’t even have to go to the Phoenix Park to get it.
    Sorry I was arsey earlier, Trump was wrecking my head!

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:47 PM

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: No bother, I apologise for being smart also!

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:18 PM

Ignore all the fake accounts on here trying to defend Trump. He is an embarrassment. Completely brushes off the findings of his very own intelligence agencies, and takes the word of a foreign despot. Watch the interview for yourself – he is incapable of answering a question directly, and engages in deflection tactics as per usual.

This isn’t about trying to find peace with Russia. Putin has Trump in his back pocket and has some very serious leverage over him.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:26 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: you’d think Bob Muller would have produced evidence of such, considering he was spying on his election campaign and has been investigating him for more than 2 years now. Still ZERO evidence presented.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell

@JimmyMc: You mean no evidence presented to you, given the growing number of indictments being handed out by the grand jury there is plenty of evidence of wrong doing by multiple parties.

Also personal leverage (such as the bed wetting incidents) would be outside the scope of the Mueller investigation

Mute hyippy
    Favourite hyippy
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:48 PM

@Tom Purcell: how incompetent would Mueller be if he let the information he has on Trump get out before he had a chance to interview him. This is how an investigation works. You gather the info, interview the subject and see what they have to say. We don’t know what info Mueller has on trump until he f8les an indictment. No one knew what he had on Manafort until he filed the indictment, why would Trump be any different.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:01 PM

@Tom Purcell: There’s an old saying that a grand jury would ‘indict a ham sandwich’ if a prosecutor asked, because no opposing lawyer is present, and grand juries only have to consider ‘probable cause, as opposed to ‘beyond reasonable doubt’.

Mute Shane Kelly
    Favourite Shane Kelly
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:04 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: you’re out of touch with the huge majority mate. People want peace not war. You and the American media/press want a WWIII and whoever survives are then back to the future in the Stone Age. Trump is no genius but he is a successful business man. And even if he saves one life by negotiation with Putin then he has my support.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:31 PM

@Shane Kelly: You’re spinning the same narrative as the rest of the fake accounts. “Peace not war”.

It’s about holding Putin to account for his actions. For meddling in US elections. For shooting down a passenger jet, killing hundreds of civilians. For illegally invading Ukraine and annexing Crimea.

It’s about Trump ignoring the findings of his own intelligence services and publicly shaming them by accepting the word of Putin.

But most importantly, it’s about unraveling all of the political influence Putin has over Trump.

And no, I’m not out of touch with the “huge majority”. Trump has the lowest approval average in the history of the US for a president. Public opinion polling in multiple countries show the majority of the public do not like him.

Save your propaganda.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:46 PM

@JimmyMc: You Cant’t even spen Robert Mueller’s name right, get a life you bot…

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:00 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: would they be the same pollsters who said Hilary would win the election by a landslide?

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:26 PM

@Clever Jake: Incorrect. She was well ahead in the ‘polls’ right up to the election night, with pollsters and statisticians giving Clinton odds of between 75 and 99 percent of winning

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-election-polls/how-the-polls-including-ours-missed-trumps-victory-idUSKBN1343O6

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:32 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: Fake accounts? My account is very real.

Mute Walk On By
    Favourite Walk On By
    Jul 17th 2018, 9:15 PM

@Clever Jake: When Comey told the electorate that Clinton was under investigation,he never bothered to mentioned that Trump was also under investigation…it all came down to about 77,000 votes in three states…but anyhow’s…it is what it is..

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:36 PM

Undermined the EU, undermined NATO, slated the UK whilst there, basically did Putin’s bidding. Then this. I just wanna know what Russia’s got on him…..

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:49 PM

@chinaski: I’m thinking the hooker’s in the pee-pee tape might be underage…

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:15 PM

@Dave Doyle: really ? Because there not the ones who had a 13-year-old file a complaint against them.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:57 PM

@chinaski: The EU, NATO,the UK. The track record of your mates is really something. That bunch together have a record of interfering in and destroying nations throughout their ignoble histories.

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:21 PM

Hold on a second…. he was vilified for warmongering with Korea, vilified for making peace, vilified for tweeting against Russian action now vilified again for brokering peace???
    Certain sections just condemn whatever the outcome here. He was asked about the investigation in front of Putin at a summit….. he would have been an idiot to risk it all by openly condemning them for the 2016 election

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:27 PM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: so better to say he doesn’t believe his own intelligence agency and turn on his own people than to upset Putin? That’s a strange view I have.

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:52 PM

@Jane: even if is true the Russians have done the ordinary folks of the United States and the world a favour.. Just imagine what that war hungry phychopath hillary would be doing with the likes of North Korea and Russia now..

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Acedeuce: Go away bot, Trump wants to invade countires in Middle America like of Venezuela and any nations that are rich in natural minerals. Which is Americas policy, no matter if Repbulican or Democrat.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Acedeuce: __ Russia and NK would have known better than to yank Hillary’s chain, they’d have been grovelling at her feet for forgiveness, and would have been sent to bed with no supper.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:59 PM

@Ted Murray: Like Bill was, poor auld fella.

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:04 PM

The Art of the Deal by The Fool on the Hill

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:10 PM

@Mick Barnier: Apparently Donald Jr is writing a sequel. The Art of the Squeal..forward by one R. Muller..

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon

America voted for the reality tv personality to be their president. No use crying over it now. Unfortunately it can have huge negative affects on other countries.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 18th 2018, 9:11 AM

@Seán Dillon: Had Obama met Putin and said what Trump said it wouldn’t have been an issue

There is a campaign to discredit and remove Trump from office .

No denying this

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:22 PM

I now feel that I have been vindicated for my attitude towards this fella. For those that cheered for him, weelll, I’m sure that some kind of lesson has been learned.

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:33 PM

@Patabake Kennedy: well aint you just swell :)

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy

@Conor Walsh: Thank’s Conor. Lovely gesture.

Mute Conor Fitz
    Favourite Conor Fitz
    Jul 17th 2018, 4:37 PM
    Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Conor Fitz: A very good article. But it wont suit the consensus here.

Mute Brian Kearns
    Favourite Brian Kearns
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:25 PM

Wonder how long after he is out off office before he announces that the Trump brand is building a few hundred hotels across Russia, With steel from China?

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:07 PM

The EU can only blame itself for becoming redundant. If you go to Brussels you will receive a lecture on penguins and plastic straw’s.

At least Russia is a relevant country with huge oil and gas reserves where a relevant conversation is possible.

Obama and Hillary have weaponized the DOJ, FBI and CIA. This is the greatest threat to our democracy.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:36 PM

@Clever Jake: The Telegraph. If it’s not Russia and Puting it’s pumping out lies about, it’s Corbyn.

Jul 17th 2018, 4:30 PM

I wish we had media in Ireland that’s like what they have in the UK or the US, our gombeen FF and FG led gov wouldn’t last a full day!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

@Adrian: The problem is we have the exact same style media.

Jul 17th 2018, 4:59 PM

@Dave Doyle: Our media are pussy cats compared to the US and UK media, and our inferior, glorified local councillor level TDs, who being very little experience to their roles in gov from the real world, they get away with murder!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

@Adrian: I wouldn’t call O’Brien owned and directed media inferior to anyone else’s media.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:08 PM

@Adrian: We have the same media

@Austin Rock: looking forward to Saturday night live so on RTE next weekend!

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:09 PM

@Adrian: __ The UK media is good at persuading morons to vote for what the media barons want. Social media and online comments sections steer the morons in this country.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Jul 17th 2018, 7:14 PM

@Adrian: If only you were right, some are decent enough but afraid. Most are out and out prestitutes. Its amazing any independent journalism is allowed atall at this stage of our journey into the Orwellian dystopia.

Jul 17th 2018, 8:53 PM

@Jointheclubtoo: now I agree with you there. RTE is basically the political establishment (FF, FG, lab) propaganda tv station. And sur weren’t FG caught a few months ago paying some papers to write positive biased pro gov news stories. And did anything happen when they were caught, not a jot!

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:07 PM

2+ years into his term and here we all discussing in another monster comment thread another mistake by Trump and he is soaring in the ratings.

Mute Conor Fitz
    Favourite Conor Fitz
    Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:05 PM

I can safely say, trump couldn’t give a rats a1se what anyone thinks least of all the MSM

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    Jul 17th 2018, 5:51 PM

Trump’s the biggest threat to world peace and stability ever. Dangerous cret*n.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Jul 17th 2018, 6:29 PM

Senator Rand Paul is interesting on this matter

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Jul 18th 2018, 10:22 AM

We get it . The press doesn’t like Trump. We know already!.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jul 17th 2018, 8:02 PM

Putin was always going to demand his pound of flesh. He’s got Trump exactly where he wants him. In his pocket.

Mute Mary Cull
    Favourite Mary Cull
    Jul 17th 2018, 10:06 PM

A President who is doing what he said he would. He is draining that swamp. Putin has the goodies. They are all in shyte street.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jul 18th 2018, 11:30 AM

@Mary Cull: the only ones that are being ‘culled’ are the ones that he put in…this is hilarious stuff..

Mute Mary Cull
    Favourite Mary Cull
    Jul 17th 2018, 10:02 PM

Ah the man is deaininf the swamp. Look at what putin has against them. They are running scared.

Mute Mark Mc Steve
    Favourite Mark Mc Steve
    Jul 18th 2018, 2:50 PM

The amount of freaks on this some of you people need to get a grip. Like nuclear war is better than peace?? Trumps the king :)