You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Olivier Douliery via PA Images

Trump warns Kim Jong Un had 'everything' to lose through hostility towards US

This comes as Pyongyang said it had carried out a major new weapons test.

US PRESIDENT DONALD Trump has warned that North Korea’s Kim Jong Un had “everything” to lose through hostility towards the United States, after Pyongyang said it had carried out a major new weapons test.

“Kim Jong Un is too smart and has far too much to lose, everything actually, if he acts in a hostile way,” Trump tweeted in response to the unspecified test at the Sohae space launch centre.

The announcement of Saturday’s test came just hours after Trump said he would be “surprised” by any hostile action from the North, emphasising his “very good relationship” with Kim.

Trump and Kim engaged in months of mutual insults and threats of devastation in 2017, sending tensions soaring before a diplomatic rapprochement the following year.

The pair have met three times since June 2018 but with little progress towards denuclearisation. Pyongyang has set Washington a 31 December deadline to make new concessions to kickstart stalled talks.

“North Korea, under the leadership of Kim Jong Un, has tremendous economic potential, but it must denuclearize as promised,” Trump tweeted. 

“NATO, China, Russia, Japan, and the entire world is unified on this issue!”

Writing that Kim had “signed a strong Denuclearization Agreement” at their June 2018 summit in Singapore,” Trump warned: “He does not want to void his special relationship with the President of the United States or interfere with the U.S. Presidential Election in November.”

Separately, interviewed on the CBS TV news program Face the Nation, US National Security Advisor Robert O’Brien was asked whether North Korea was preparing to restart nuclear tests.

“I hope not. That would be a mistake on the part of North Korea,” O’Brien said.

“Kim Jong Un promised to denuclearise North Korea,” O’Brien said. “And we expect him to live up to the promise he made at the summit in Singapore. And we hope he’ll do so.”

On Saturday, South Korea’s President Moon Jae-in spoke by phone with Trump and agreed to maintain dialogue with Pyongyang.

The 30-minute talk was the first conversation between Trump and the South Korean leader since they met at the UN General Assembly in New York in September.

“The two leaders shared an assessment that the current situation on the Korean peninsula is grave,” said South Korean presidential spokeswoman Ko Min-jung, adding that Trump had requested the call.

donald-trump-kim-jong-un-meeting US President Donald Trump and North Korea leader Kim Jong Un in June 2019 Xinhua News Agency / PA Images Xinhua News Agency / PA Images / PA Images

‘Very important test’

A spokesperson for North Korea’s Academy of National Defense Science said Saturday’s “very important test” would have an “important effect” on changing the “strategic position” of North Korea, in a statement carried by the official KCNA news agency.

The statement provided no further details on the test.

A senior US administration official earlier said Washington had seen reports of a test and was “coordinating closely with allies and partners”.

Trump indicated that military action was still possible when he was asked about Pyongyang on the sidelines of a NATO summit in Britain last week.

North Korea fired back that if the United States used military force, it would take “prompt corresponding actions at any level”.

UN diplomats fear that the North will resume long-range nuclear or ballistic tests if progress is not made soon in talks with Washington.

Sohae, on North Korea’s northwest coast, is ostensibly a facility designed for putting satellites into orbit.

But Pyongyang has carried out several rocket launches there that were condemned by the US and others as disguised long-range ballistic missile tests.

Following the Singapore summit, Trump said Kim had agreed to destroy “a major missile engine testing site”, without naming the facility.

Kim then agreed to shutter the Sohae site during a summit last year with Moon in Pyongyang as part of trust-building measures.

- © AFP 2019

View 7 comments
7 Comments
    Mute Liam Brophy
    Favourite Liam Brophy
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:18 PM

kids pass Ann Summers on O’Connell street daily without so much as a second glance.

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:25 PM

That’s a clothes shop though.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:26 PM

People love wearing dildos alright

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:30 PM

I know I do…..

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:32 PM

Hahaahahaha, you have to get comment of the week for that

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:44 PM

Clothing and….’accessories’ David G. ;)

Mute Liam Brophy
    Favourite Liam Brophy
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:04 PM

David G you just proved my point, if you cant tell what a sex shop is how are these kids supposed to.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:37 PM

Do they sell sex……

Mute L-Plate
    Favourite L-Plate
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:47 PM

You’re right, more than two glances

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:12 PM

I’m sure that what they see on the outside of the shop is nothing compared to what they see on TV and the internet.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:31 PM

Irish society has gone downhill since the referendum.

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

ya the gays are to blame for it just like bad weather cancer and ever thing else that is bad. are you one of those religious nuts from the bible belt in America

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:47 PM

Says the man named superior

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:53 PM

Fair play James and Qwerty, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one surprised with the lovely weather we have today what with the gays and the referendum and all that.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:56 PM

My troll comment worked.

Jun 10th 2015, 4:57 PM

I don’t see how my user name is relevant Al coholic. Please explain.

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:57 PM

The loud & proud Yes voters are worse for entertaining those comments. Ye’re on it like a fly around shite! It’s like there’s ppl just sitting there waiting for someone like ur man above to comment. Just leave it. The result is in. We don’t need to hear the campaign all over again. Grinds my gears!

Jun 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

Hi Ken. After being abused spat at beaten up ect for who we are through out our lives. I think we are allowed our few weeks of glory.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:12 PM

Donkey hole !

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:13 PM

Qwerty

Mute Michelle Corry
    Favourite Michelle Corry
    Jun 11th 2015, 6:17 AM

I’m moving back to Ireland from Holland this summer, and it’s comments like this that make we worry if I’m doing the right thing. Here in Holland, where sex shops, prostitutes etc are all the norm, residential areas and schools are taken into account. How on earth would young kids see inappropriate stuff on TV and the Internet if their parents didn’t let them see it. I’m really disappointed the attitude that ah wee, there’s nothing we can do about it seems to be so prevalent.

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian

It’s not as if they’re going to lure the kids in and then strap dildos to their foreheads.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:11 PM

Beano, Bunty..Bare Arse Monthly

Mute [REDACTED]
    Favourite [REDACTED]
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:20 PM

“I think these kinds of shops should be in designated areas”. Designated areas = Where she doesn’t have to look at them. These kinds of shops are presumably going to operate age restrictions so it’s not as if some first year can walk in and spend their lunch money on a range of sex toys. Would these people be as vocal if a chipper opened up in the same spot and those school children spent every lunchtime in there eating greasy, fatty food for most of the school year? I doubt it. Snobbery personified.

Mute John Dowd
    Favourite John Dowd
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:07 PM

God bless chubby brown

Mute Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:19 PM

Misses Lovejoy “I don’t think we are talking about love here, we talking about S.E.X., in front of the C.H.I.L.D.R.E.N. ”

Kursty: “SEX CAULDRON!!! I THOUGHT THEY CLOSED THAT PLACE DOWN”

There is a simpsons quote for every occasion.

Mute Judy PlayBlue
    Favourite Judy PlayBlue
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:03 PM

Hi PlayBlue Here!
    We’d love the chance to reassure locals in Drumcondra that the new shop we are opening will be at the very modern high end. Anyone with any dealings with PlayBlue will know we are a million miles removed from the traditional seedy image of adult stores.
    Our shop will be totally covered from the outside, with plants outside and the only things visible will be our name PlayBlue over the shop, our logo and the over 18s sign on the door.
    We are very strict in only allowing over 18s and err on the side of caution.
    We would hope locals wait to see the new shop open before they pass judgement and I’m sure they will be pleasantly surprised.
    In Kilkenny hundreds of school kids pass our shop without incident daily.

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:57 PM

You should be ashamed of yourselves setting up so close to a national school.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:32 PM

just say a decade of the rosary J’s back…you’ll be grand.

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:37 PM

J there’s worse on Mtv.
    These guys are far from seedy and I’m sure they have put a lot of thought into how the shop will look on the outside with the restrictions in place.
    If this wasn’t in the media I’m pretty sure this would have gone unnoticed.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:45 PM

j every time I pass a church I’m reminded of all the horrific stuff the church and clergy did to Irish citizens.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:10 PM

Every time I pass a sex shop I’m reminded I haven’t been laid in 2 years.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:16 PM

J you made me feel so guilty I but myself 50 time with a piece if would with a rust nail and said 5000 hail Marys. …thanks I’m saved from the filth now

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:11 PM

They will have stiff competition

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:05 PM

I guess nothing is inappropriate for some journal readers

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:21 PM

They will see more on the top shelf of the local newsagent than in the front of this shop, let alone the universe of adult porn available on their smartphone.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:27 PM

Let’s sweep sex under the carpet and make sure everyone feels shame and guilt about it again. Good ol’ church tactics!

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:15 PM

Isn’t there already a hardware shop on the other corner? If they don’t have an issue with the many pubs and fast food joints currently available in the area, then there isn’t a problem with adult shops.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:37 PM

This whole American obsession with sex is ridiculous. Because let’s not kid ourselves, much of our recent moral standards have been heavily influenced by prevailing trends in the US. American moral standards: guns, violence, blood all perfectly fine for children. The idea of two adults having sex, or that sex is even a thing: outrageous, obscene.

There are worse things in the world than sex.

Mute Daniel R
    Favourite Daniel R
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

So true

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:14 PM

Unfortunately kids have access to waves and waves of graphic material on the internet these days. So I’m not sure if it would have too much of an impact on the,.

Mute Daniel R
    Favourite Daniel R

‘Only 12 schoolchildren permitted at any one time’

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:40 PM

Lets just ban everything from areas where there are schools. Wouldn’t want kids growing up with any sense of how the real world works.

I don’t have kids, but when I do I expect they will live with me until they are 40 because Im certainly not going to burst any little bubbles of reality for them. Santa presents for a 39 year old might get expensive but it should be worth it to raise a socially inept man/woman-child.

Jun 10th 2015, 4:53 PM

If those people who complain could take their minds out of the bedroom for five minutes they would realise that young children don’t think about sex all day. like they do. half of them won’t even recognise the shop.

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

I agree completely.

Perhaps they are afraid the other half might, god forbid, ask a question regarding the nature of such a shop. It would be terrible to be put on the spot like that, having to come up with an explanation for a basic part of human life.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:01 PM

True James, I grew up not too far from Soho, to me as a kid they were just shops, and unless they sold penny bars I couldn’t give a flying fiddlers.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:40 PM

Surely a school near a pub or fast food outlet would be worse?

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:39 PM

Down with this sort of thing

But not as down as there low low prices

It’s just a shop that sells adult toys doesn’t matter where it opened people will complain till some else comes along to wrap their fragile little minds

Mute David Farrelly
    Favourite David Farrelly
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:16 PM

Make it handier for when they want to teach sex education

Mute Ewan Scott-Douglas
    Favourite Ewan Scott-Douglas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:41 PM

Hiding kids from sexuality isn’t really going to work is it? I mean we have done that for centuries and look at what happens, girls get pregnant at teenage, STDs etc.

Expressing and exploring your sexuality in a safe way is part of being healthy , I don’t get why some people want to shame someone for going into a sex shop etc.

I mean they aren’t going to allow in a 13 year old are they? Presumably its an 18+ establishment

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:23 PM

Anyone who knows the area will know its no place for a sex shop. The locals won’t put up with it so there is no way it is going to happen.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:48 PM

Typical NIMBY mentality from wannabe snobs. counsellor Rock needn’t worry about moral fibre as practically every teen has a smart phone with net access & nearly 80% of Web content is sex related. More nit picking by people with nothing to do. sure a good orgasm would probably kill them.

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:26 PM

In The Netherlands you can buy nude magazines in the supermarkets, next to the gossip and pc magazine. I’m not talking Zoo, I’m talking real porn, get a grip, nothing will happen.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:34 PM

Kids aren’t going to be going in there, so it’s fine. Such a non issue. It’s not as if a sweet shop is selling porn.

Mute Tom Doherty
    Favourite Tom Doherty
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:06 PM

Jesus no. People might actually have to talk to thier kids about sex! Can we get the opinion of a bishop please?

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:48 PM

Congrats to this business , I’m sure it will be tastefully presented – there will be no exposure to our children

Mute Niall Cassidy
    Favourite Niall Cassidy
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:12 PM

Are Safesounds relocating or gone bang?

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:51 PM

Safesounds are still going strong & open for business, but they now have a smaller shop at the front.

Mute Dvd Dnh
    Favourite Dvd Dnh
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:40 PM

Oh FFS!
    Are the same folks not concerned about the sex shops on Capel St being located next door to buildings where lots of young Asian children live? Of course not.

Grow up Ireland.
    The normalising of the realities of human sexuality from a young age is a good thing.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:11 PM

it’s just a shop that sells sex stuff. ….what’s the problem? …..they won’t be forcing kids to become customers. ….the kids probably know more about sex than most adults anyway

Mute Aoife Gregg
    Favourite Aoife Gregg
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:04 PM

Oh come on!!!! They are hardly going to be luring the kids in at the school gates are they. Lighten up everyone…. Look at it that it’s a good sign of the economy, a new business opening!!!

Mute Liz Finn
    Favourite Liz Finn
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:44 PM

I dunno, I heard one of the people working there is gonna stand outside the school gates with a big net dressed as the child catcher from chitty chitty bang bang….purple monkey dishwasher

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:10 PM

Amazing how different the reactions were when it’s a mcdonalds that tries to set up anywhere near a school! Sex shop is ok but McDonalds is a big no no to journal commies.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:22 PM

That’s because a sex shop is highly unlikely to serve their young kids, while fast food outlets, on the other hand, will often put on “school lunch specials” or Happy Meals aimed directly at them.

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:56 PM

Sexualisation of our youth is a massive problem even more so then them scoffing down chicken nuggets at lunchtime.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:28 PM

Maybe it is, Js, but sex shops are one of the few places that don’t play any hand, act or part in that sexualisation, as they are strictly adults only.

Mute Liz Finn
    Favourite Liz Finn
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:42 PM

It’s alright j, the kids will be so out of shape from all the fast food they won’t have the energy to sexualised…..

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:31 PM

There is a pub and a separate off-license close to there , but I suppose they are grand because they are for adults…

before I forget there are a number of fast food outlets there , might as well move tem on while we are at it too…

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:49 PM

Sure it is ok aren’t the selling rubber johns

Mute Russell Stein
    Favourite Russell Stein
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:43 PM

Down with that sort of thing and careful now. Nuff said.

Mute Mary O Sullivan
    Favourite Mary O Sullivan
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:14 PM

Anyone who knows this area can tell this poor misguided man that there may be a lot of traffic but there is f**k all parking in this area. No way is his thinking clever.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:55 PM

McDonald should be allowed across from a school too.

Mute Maurice Dancer
    Favourite Maurice Dancer
    Jun 11th 2015, 2:07 PM

Nothing but prudes in this country. How do other countries manage with graphic displays in sex shop windows? A load of Irish whinge bags

Mute MJ MJ
    Favourite MJ MJ
    Nov 28th 2016, 9:15 PM

Hi JuicyCherries HERE.
    Each of us likes sex, so let’s stop pretend that we do not like to do. Access to pornography today is so very easy that we should not hide it.

Jun 12th 2015, 1:14 AM

Please Ms, have you a rubber lol.

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:29 PM

Where do you work these days ?

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:58 PM

I’m still working in Kehoe & Co, why?

Mute philobrien
    Favourite philobrien
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:38 AM

They should move the school