You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Latest Alec Baldwin parody takes aim squarely at Trump's 'dodgy dossier'

The long-running Saturday night comedy staple began its new season much as it ended its last – with a skewering of the President Elect.

Saturday Night Live / YouTube

ALEC BALDWIN IS now renowned for his Donald Trump impression.

In carrying out the parody over the last four months, Baldwin has never shied away from the seedier elements of allegations surrounding the US President-Elect.

Last night was no exception.

In reprising what seems to have become his signature role, Baldwin took on Trump’s notorious press conference from last week, #PeeGate, and his inauguration, among other things.

Journalists just can’t help but ask about it.

apee

There were A LOT of puns

I am going to bring back a thick stream of jobs back to this country.
This country will be literally showered with jobs, because I am a major whizz with jobs.
Who’s with me? You’re in? You’re in? You’re in? (say it quickly)

https://www.facebook.com/snl/videos/10154860351226303/

If precedent is anything to go by, expect a caps-locked rebuttal from Trump himself as soon as he wakes up. Any moment now.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/01/img2-thejournal-577.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3187797" class="alignnone" /end]

Obama presenting Joe Biden with his medal has become the loveliest meme

Kerry’s Eye has outdone itself with the ultimate ‘only in Ireland’ headline

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute John Fegan
    Favourite John Fegan
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:55 PM

A lot of people taking this way too seriously when it’s obviously just a piss-take!

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:05 PM

Piss poor in fairness, not even remotely funny.

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Favourite Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:59 PM

Saturday Night Live as a whole is well past its sell by date.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 15th 2017, 5:00 PM

Some very delicate snowflakes out there who can’t handle criticism or parody of Trump!

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Jan 15th 2017, 9:13 PM

@Rochelle: well said, Heather.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Jan 15th 2017, 11:45 PM

There’s Mikail, trumps Russian in Ireland again

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:19 PM

@John Fegan: So it is funny if your told or you do not to like the guy but would it be funny if he did the same to Obama or Hillary?
    Funny these days is sneering at people your told not to like, in order to reinforce the negative attitudes towards the person/s like bullies do???

Mute Brian Lilly
    Favourite Brian Lilly
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:59 PM

Genuinely amazed how openly people have mocked, criticised and continue to ridicule “President Elect” Chump. Personally, I found this sketch hilarious.

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:08 PM

“ALEC BALDWIN IS now renowned for his Donald Trump impression” not so long ago it was his hateful homophobia he was renowned for but they forgive very quickly once you’re of the right political persuasion.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:15 PM

True.
    He had a late night talk show lined up on MSNBC but they cancelled it because he was caught on camera chasing down a paparazzi near his New York home hurling homophobic slurs at him.

Mute Early Cuyler
    Favourite Early Cuyler
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:26 PM

@Mikhail Valtazar: it’s a pretty crap impression. Nice to see Trump created employment for the ungrateful sh*te all the same!

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:50 PM

Ha ha! Butthurt Trumpkins! ‘Trumpkins,Transform!’

Mute Pádraig Ó Raghaill
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Raghaill
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:55 PM

The Yellow Emperor was meant to have said, “Heaven was created by the concentration of Yang, the force of Light; earth, was created by the concentration of Yin, the forces of Darkness. Yang stands for peace and serenity, but stands for destruction and brings about disintegration. Yin stands for confusion and turmoil, but stands for conservation and brings shape to things.”

You cannot have Yin without Yang; it is this imbalance in the world that is our problem. It is embodied in the Journal commentary. If you understand how centrism works, who knows, maybe we can fix this pox bolloxed Western world we dwell.

Interpret as needed

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:13 PM

Russian troll?

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 15th 2017, 3:11 PM

There is a real irony in a Trumpette complaining about an actor being homophobic, especially when you see what Baldwin actually said – we use fvxxer as a universal term of abuse but in this PC world to use c0xksuxxer is apparently homophobic. Really funny. And so sensitive of you Mickeleen.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 15th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Pádraig Ó Raghaill: So Trump is called a racist, which can equate to discriminating against a person based on the colour of their skin, yet you pour scorn of Trump based of the colour of his hair.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jan 15th 2017, 11:28 PM

Val, you may be a bit confused. Unless you really think Trump frequently speaks of yin and yang.

Mute Pádraig Ó Raghaill
    Jan 16th 2017, 2:14 AM

@Val Martin:

Jesus, Val, the Yellow Emperor is from Chinese mythology. The principle of Yin and Yang is a fundamental concept in Chinese philosophy.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 15th 2017, 4:34 PM

Baldwin he is fantastic.A great skit. Very funny.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:10 PM

Given Trump’s taste in classy interior decor, a penchant for golden showers it is hardly surprising.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 15th 2017, 10:15 PM

@alphanautica: The dossier was a fake and CNN published it. They have destroyed their credibility that of other media outlets.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jan 15th 2017, 11:25 PM

Val, you may want to look up the facts. The dossier exists. It’s the contents that are in question. The dossier was at all times reported as unverified.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Jan 15th 2017, 11:48 PM

But fake bullsh€t is fine to elect him.???The guy is open about lady grabbing ,is it beyond credulity he would engage in watersports ?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:58 PM

@Tensing Norgay: You know that is pee???

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:07 PM

Warning.
    This video contains Alec Baldwin.

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:11 PM

Warning – the next US presidency contains Donald Trump.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Alex Falcone: It would have potentially been far funnier to parody Meryl Streep this week. She made a complete tit out of herself.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:43 PM

Alex you seem pissed off!

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone

@Mr Snuffleupagus:
    Nothing more annoying than Hollywood celebs using industry platforms to make political speeches.
    To be fair to her though she probably got caught up in the spirit of the event.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:03 PM

@winston smith:
    A pithy observation.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 15th 2017, 4:35 PM

@Ken Loughman:
    Nice one

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Jan 15th 2017, 11:34 PM

Alex feeling sorry for the Pissedent elect

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Jan 16th 2017, 12:54 AM

@Mr Snuffleupagus: Streep isn’t about to take the reins of the free world.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:31 PM

Every day without fail, two or three absolute scutter filled anti-Trump articles are posted. I picture all the lumberjack shirt wearing, bearded, beanie hat wearing Liberal types in the Journal sitting around a conference table self congratulating themselves on another job well done. They have certainly stuck it to him, day after day.

The bias is ridiculous, but you know what? In 5 days Donald Trump will be President of the United States. And there’s nothing The Journal, AFP, Alec Baldwin, the Democrats or Liberals in general can do about that. Narrative after narrative has failed to make even a dent in his support, in fact the opposite! The left are unaware that it was THEY who ensured Trump was elected by fielding the most corrupt candidate in the history of US elections, ignoring her failings, blaming others, not allowing other opinions to be heard by anyone they disagreed with, scapegoating cops, enabling domestic terrorism by the Black Lives Matter movement and falsely reporting things that Donald Trump said – (ILLEGAL immigration, Allegedly mocking a disabled reporter etc.). The American people weren’t buying what they were selling and the beneficiary of that was always going to be the other guy – who just so happened to be Donald Trump.

So keep it coming…

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:34 PM

U ok hun xx.

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:40 PM

That hate Trump so much at Journal Towers but he is so good for their bottom line, he’s a ratings and traffic monster.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Keelan O’neill: Enjoy the next 8 years Keelan.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:43 PM

@Mikhail Valtazar: God knows they need it, €800k loss in 2014, €600k loss in 2015, running a €4.7 million deficit.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:46 PM

Don’t knock the journal only place on Irish media where a pro Trump comment is allowed

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus

@Eamonn: It was echo chamber publications exactly like this one that unwittingly made Trump president. Long may it continue

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:51 PM

@Eamonn; PM me Hun XOXO

Mute Pádraig Ó Raghaill
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:01 PM

@Mr Snuffleupagus:

Totally incorrect

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:16 PM

@Eamonn I’ve enjoyed the proceeding 30 years so I doubt the next 4 years will be any different, not 8 I can’t see Trump getting a 2nd term.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Pádraig Ó Raghaill: They made him underdog and didn’t take him seriously, or his chances seriously, at any point. They totally underestimated him, and completely missed the public mood as they were too busy listening to themselves in that echo chamber. Between that, and the democrats and Clinton sabotaging Sanders, it was a perfect storm. I don’t like Trump or what he represents, but I sure as hell prefer him to Clinton. Cleary, so did many Americans.

Mute Pádraig Ó Raghaill
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:29 PM

@Mr Snuffleupagus:

“It was echo chamber publications exactly like this one that unwittingly made Trump president. Long may it continue.”

That insinuates that the media made Trump win, which is not the case. The media professed he would not win, ran blatant campaigns against him. Would have added to the overall swing, but that foundational swing had little to do with the media.

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 15th 2017, 3:16 PM

Eating, one of the great things about democracy is that public figures are open to ridicule. And if they do or say things that a large portion of transportation find funny or stupid, they will be ridiculed. Deal with it.

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 15th 2017, 3:20 PM

Do you even know what that means snuffleupagus? The journal is certainly not an echo chamber for you and the comments section here is about 50/ 50 pro and anti Trump. Not an echo chamber at all.

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 15th 2017, 3:56 PM

*Eamonn

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 4:00 PM

@Keelan O’neill: you probably didn’t think he’d get a first term.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Jan 15th 2017, 5:45 PM

Shouldn’t all you Trump groupies be at home peeing on your wives you dirtbirds?

Mute donal bigley
    Favourite donal bigley
    Jan 15th 2017, 7:42 PM

Eamonn please enlighten me on the corruption charges that hillary faces. Or is it just in your opinion or that of trump before the election he was going to put a special prosecutor to investigate her. This seems to have gone away from his ahenda. Yes trump will be president and the media have a job to hold him to account. I for one am worried about a man who said he would date his daughter if she wasn’t his daughter. What sort of Man even contemplates such thoughts of his daughter. Can you explain that one to me please??

Mute Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Favourite Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Jan 16th 2017, 1:04 PM

I can’t see him fulfilling his first term not amid get a second one!

Mute Peggy Webster
    Favourite Peggy Webster
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:42 PM

Sorry you are wrong. Trump’s support has dropped since Nov 8 based on latest polls. From 44% to 34%. Only 12% think he is doing a great job. The mocking of the disabled reporter is ON VIDEO. We can see it.

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:05 PM

Could somebody please tell Americans that sketch shows are supposed to end after three six-episode seasons while they’re still funny?

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:08 PM

Democrats are easily amused.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:09 PM

Republicans and Trump are easily mocked.

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:14 PM

@Alex Falcone: serial opioid abuse within those circles, it’s the only explanation for John Oliver’s popularity.

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Jan 15th 2017, 5:37 PM

@Larry Doyle: They provide so much material!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jan 15th 2017, 7:16 PM

His speech on Friday- ” Do not ask what this country can do for me.”

Mute Mikhail Valtazar
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:09 PM

Alec Baldwin is a woman beater.

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Jan 15th 2017, 5:36 PM

And a racist. The”birther ” movement was simply because some people didn’t want a black man as potus.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jan 15th 2017, 4:52 PM

Trump seems to want to out parody himself in response to the parodies of him by others.

I have very low expectations of Trump when he becomes President.

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:17 PM

It’s hard to beat watching Trump on the podium for entertainment. This is just a cheap take on an easy target. Load of shite!!

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:27 PM

Load of piss you mean

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Jan 15th 2017, 5:12 PM

Leave Trump alone. Give the guy a chance. He’s going to save billions on security alone by disbanding all U.S. Intelligence agencies and contracting out to Russia. He’s a genius.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jan 15th 2017, 1:42 PM

LOL! and very educational also.

Mute Heckler davies
    Favourite Heckler davies
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:19 PM

baldwins career going down the toilet this is what he is reduced to. what a plonket

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:22 PM

Plonket,lol!

Mute Heckler davies
    Favourite Heckler davies
    Jan 15th 2017, 2:14 PM

Baldwins career going down the toilet this is all he’s got now. Plonker

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Heckler davies: And after his brother was on his show… Your fired???

Mute johnp
    Favourite johnp
    Jan 15th 2017, 8:38 PM

He does a great trump in fairness spot on

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Jan 15th 2017, 7:34 PM

I would say its more a skewering of the US media, which are fixated on salacious rumours that would be irrelevant even if they were true, rather than serious issues.

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jan 15th 2017, 7:50 PM

About as funny as a fart in an elevator.

Mute John Fegan
    Favourite John Fegan
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:07 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: Holding the people in power up to ridicule is part and parcel of free speech. I’m open to a good laugh at a sketch about Hillary or something about the Obama/Biden bromance if you know of one. You’re going to have a busy four years if you’re taking offence on behalf of Donald J Trump every time someone ridicules him. It’s going to happen a lot. As for bullying, have you read any of Trump’s books? That’s pretty much the key to his success, go in bigger and louder than the other player and annihilate their so called achievements at every opportunity. No warm fuzzy tears or big love-ins in the Whitehouse under the Trumpmeister. That’s not a criticism, just a fact.

Mute John Fegan
    Favourite John Fegan
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:09 PM

This is a reply to another comment, not meant to be here in the main comment section.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:20 PM

IF the wind changes, he be f…ed? lol.

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Jan 15th 2017, 6:24 PM

You have to laugh at yourself before laughing at others, it was what we all done prior PC inventions, result people are to serious!