You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Cardy via PA Images

70% of Irish people would not support a state visit by Donald Trump

Trump has been a divisive figure in politics across the world since he took over as US president in January of this year.

A TOTAL OF 70% of Irish people would not support a state visit by US president Donald Trump in the next year, according to a new poll.

The results of the TheJournal.ie and Claire Byrne Live Amarách Research poll shows that majority of Irish people don’t want Trump to visit Ireland in an official capacity any time soon.

Just one in five (21%) of people say that they would support a state visit by Trump, while 9% said they were undecided.

Trump has been a divisive figure in politics across the world since he took over as US president in January of this year.

Thousands of protesters in the attended a protest in London in February against Trump visiting the UK. A petition protesting the visit garnered over 1.8 million signatures.

However, Trump has been welcomed with open arms by many world leaders, visiting France for Bastille Day in July and China in November, among other places.

An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar indicated in November that an invitation for Trump to come to Ireland still stands, but that no arrangements are being made.

The invitation to Trump to visit Ireland came from former Taoiseach Enda Kenny who made the annual St Patrick’s Day trip to the White House last March.

Former US president Barack Obama visited Ireland in 2011 during his first term to much fanfare.

Read: Trump signs order to send astronauts to the moon, to Mars and ‘perhaps many worlds beyond’

Read: Judge rules transgender people are free to enlist in the US military from January

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:46 PM

No idea who these 70% are…they don’t represent me.
    If the democratically elected President of the United States honoured us with a visit during his term in office I for one think it’d be fantastic.

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:48 PM

@Frank Dubogovik: That’s why you’re in the 0.0099%.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Justin Barrett: Em… 30%…

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:03 AM

@Woke Bloke: Em, 21%. Read the article, Santy is bringing you an abacus and World of Warcraft expansion kit for Christmas!

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:03 AM

@Justin Barrett: Pardon me, 21% Though I don’t remember this journal poll, was it long ago?

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:04 AM

@Justin Barrett: Don’t worry, I’m able to correct myself. I was still closer than your %

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:05 AM

@Woke Bloke: Have a Twinky!

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:08 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: Yuck.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:09 AM

@Justin Barrett: Wtf is a twinky? Can you even get them over here? What a stupid phrase. You’d have been better off saying, have a package o crips or an aul fruitsalad bar or something.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:14 AM

@Justin Barrett: Wow. What an offer. I’m good thanks. Eat shit troll.

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:15 AM

@Woke Bloke: You’ll come round!

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:20 AM

@Justin Barrett: The only people who come round to yours are the odd Jehovah’s witnesses, whom you rush to invite in to have some human company, if only for a while. Unfortunately, they are so grossed out by the sight of you, with your sickly looking, pasty skin and your semen encrusted tracksuit bottoms.. they soon leave. Poor widdle you :-(

Mute Stonerpug
    Favourite Stonerpug
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:33 AM

@Woke Bloke: BOOM! 1-0 woke bloke

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:00 AM

@Stonerpug: they are so stupid that they don’t even know that they Trumped each other.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:15 AM

@Justin Barrett: Good one (cringe)

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:16 AM

@David Dickson: Who you calling stoopid? I’ll take you on any day sunshine.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 4:30 AM

@Woke Bloke: you don’t remember the journal poll because it wasn’t carried out by the journal as clearly stated in the article, also online polls are absolutely worthless. Not that I think this poll has any value at all, I’d like to see how the question was phrased. Is there a chance people took supporting a visit to mean actively promoting it. I’m no fan of the president but he’s the president and should be treated as any other leader of a nation whose history is intertwined with our own.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 4:33 AM

@Justin Barrett: it would be impossible for someone to be your intellectual inferior and manage to post a comment here.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Dec 12th 2017, 6:11 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: Frank,democracy is a funny old business, it gave us Hitler and Mussolini and now it has given us Trump. So you are more than welcome to this loud mouth fantasist. I’m sure you might find half a dozen left over Blue Shirts from the 1930s to join you in a welcoming party, but .I’m pretty sure it will probably be the smallest welcoming party since the one that welcomed the Black & Tans back in the 1920.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Dec 12th 2017, 6:24 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: I agree

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Dec 12th 2017, 6:30 AM

@Charles Williams: Hey Charles, like I tell everyone who makes the Trump- Hitler comparison, go visit Auschwitz then tell me how Trump compares to Hitler? I think this comparison is a short cut to thinking as it’s easier to just jump on the latest trends or hash tag. Trump may be low brow, not afraid of making (often hilarious) comments which could ruin himself and short of political expertise. But an early to mid 20th century fascist dictator he certainly is not!

Mute Andy K
    Favourite Andy K
    Dec 12th 2017, 6:54 AM

@JC: Replace Jews with Muslims and immigrants. Hitler did not build Auschwitz on day one. It was many years after.

If you fail to see comparisons then you do not know hitler.

Mute Cathal S Byrne
    Favourite Cathal S Byrne
    Dec 12th 2017, 7:57 AM

@Andy K: there is no comparison Andy….none

Mute Mitch Peterson
    Favourite Mitch Peterson
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:22 AM

@Cathal S Byrne: Hilter was a populist, so is Trump. There’s one for you Cathal.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:19 AM

@Andy K: Jeez grow up. You obviously got a fail in history. You also deserve a fail in your knowledge of current affairs. Where do you get your info as regards persecution of Muslims from? The ISIS manual.

Mute Richard Carroll
    Favourite Richard Carroll
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:38 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: Spot on Frank. Journal making up stuff as usual.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 11:15 AM

@Mitch Peterson: EVERY politician is a populist. Fail.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:11 PM

@Eddie Nugent: I don’t agree

Mute Joe Ryan
    Favourite Joe Ryan
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:53 PM

@Justin Barrett: frank 590

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Dec 12th 2017, 2:01 PM

@Andy K: Although I have to admit to not “knowing” Hitler I have read a number of books. When Trump manages to dismantle Congress and names himself supreme leader, drives legal immigrants out of their homes, invades Canada and builds up a private army then I’ll admit he is heading towards a similar outcome. But unfortunately it’s just not true. Labelling somebody a nazi is pretty much as low as you can go and is a way of stifling debate. Like famous “nazi” Ben Shapiro says, where do you go from there? How do you debate with a supposed nazi? Stop being lazy and make an argument as to why the travel ban is a bad thing instead of labelling someone a left wing german dictator from 80 years ago.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:10 PM

@Frank Dubogovik: me too.

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Dec 13th 2017, 12:42 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: agreed but the rest of the sheep love their blue shirt party!

Mute John O'rourke
    Favourite John O'rourke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:00 AM

SO 30% WOULD WELCOME HIM TO IRELAND. I’M IN THE 30% !

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:02 AM

@John O’rourke: 21%

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett

@John O’rourke: Lol! Alt-Right and numbers, and life, and lack of brains. Bless their cotton socks!

Mute John O'rourke
    Favourite John O'rourke

@Larry Doyle: THANKS LARRY. DIDN’T READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE. 21% ISN’T TOO BAD EITHER. I’M IN THE 21%

Mute John O'rourke
    Favourite John O'rourke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:06 AM

@neilo: sorry

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett

@John O’rourke: Are you sure? You were way off last time numbnuts!

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:10 AM

@John O’rourke: Shhhhhhh.

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:48 AM

@John O’rourke: We get it – you’re a Trump fan. No need to shout it.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:02 AM

@John O’rourke: sssshhhhhhh

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Dec 12th 2017, 7:27 AM

@John O’rourke: proud to support an idiot sexual predator are ye?

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:29 AM

@John O’rourke: Thumbs mean everything.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:12 PM

@John O’rourke: good little boy

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:27 PM

@Seth Cheffetz: Donald Trump is not a sexual predator, you are parroting what you have read. If there was any truth in that fake news do you really believe he would be in office today? cop on and think for yourself.
    I wish we had a leader like him here, The mans a genius.

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:44 PM

I’d take Trump over the Pope any day of the week tbphwy.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:45 PM

@Féach News: neither thanks

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:47 PM

@Féach News: I definitely would, 18 months of stupidity versus centuries of Catholic terrorism? No competition.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:49 AM

@Justin Barrett: be thankful trump won’t live that long

Mute Simon O'Connor
    Favourite Simon O'Connor
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:38 AM

@Justin Barrett: You failed as Cultural Marxist and you will quickly burn all of your bridges with this profile too you pathetic waste of cream

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:03 PM

@Simon O’Connor: do you think Justin applies frankfurts school’s Marxist ideology to the social sciences? Or do you like spouting nazi propaganda? The term comes directly from nazi germany.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:13 PM

@Simon O’Connor: nasty

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Dec 12th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Justin Barrett: ”Centuries of Catholic terrorism” you are such an eejit.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:58 PM

It is either an unrepresentative or misleading poll. Otherwise we should be worried as it appears media brainwashing is more effective than previously imagined.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:26 AM

@Deano Cracow: Not surprising considering that most Irish people get their news from RTE or the BBC.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:49 AM

@neilo: Suggesting not allowing an elected President of the US to visit Ireland.
    One who has started no wars. You would want to be in some ivory tower to support that idea.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 4:36 AM

@Deano Cracow: I agree with you on the question at hand but to say he what’s started no wars is a bit misleading considering he Jason increased overseas deployments by a substantial amount and the US military are in countries now that they weren’t in before January.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 5:14 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: *has, no offense intended to all you Jasons out there

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Deano Cracow: o I’d say it’s pretty accurate

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Deano Cracow: are you brainwashed by trumps lies then ?

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:43 PM

@neilo: So you think he should be barred for something he might do in the future. Very rational thinking there.

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig

Leo should also cancel his Paddy’s day visit to Washington.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:35 AM

@Padraig: that’s insane. You don’t have to respect the man but we should respect the office and what it represents. We shouldn’t get involved in internal US politics.

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:56 PM

This is a ridiculous poll. I would support a state visit.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:58 PM

@John Reid: I wouldn’t.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Paul Lanigan: Neither would I.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:13 AM

There are lies, damn lies and statistics. Donald Trump is just a man, a state visit represents the mutual respect and perceived friendship between 2 countries. Donald Trump is the head of state of the United States, he was elected in a free and fair vote. The exact same way Obama and Clinton were appointed to this role.
    It would be beyond stupid to shun the elected leader of arguably the most powerful nation on earth for the sake of some empty virtue signaling. How many American companies are employing tens of thousands here? How important is the American market for Irish exporters? With the European Union looking set to get more fractured in the coming years would I healthy relationship with America possibly be of benefit?
    If people just thought about the situation deeply a sane rational person would likely conclude that there is nothing to be gained from insulting the man and everything t be lost. You Also look at the political Muppets leading the calls for a Trump’s invitation to be revoked. Idiots who know they will never ever be in power and will never have to deal with the fallout. There just taking this line to appear popular.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:29 AM

@John Fergus: It really does not matter what 70% of Irish people think. If Trump decides to visit Ireland on an official visit it will be accommodated. It’s as simple as that.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:07 AM

@John Fergus: I protested when Reagan visited Galway years ago because of his thinking and I would do the same if this prìck came.
    Get a bit of cop-on.

Mute Micheál De Bhaldraithe
    Favourite Micheál De Bhaldraithe
    Dec 12th 2017, 5:28 PM

@JimmyMc: a head of state can’t decide to visit another sovern state, they must be invited! simple as that!

Mute Don Shavago
    Favourite Don Shavago

They are Journal readers and Claire Byrne watchers. 99% of them believe the “ok to be white” hashtag is racist, that words are equivalent to actual violence and that it should be illegal to use a pronoun that a deluded person doesn’t like. Even if their ‘preferred’ pronoun is a 16 digit number.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 5:07 AM

@Don Shavago: the poll wasn’t specifically carried out on journal readers or Claire Byrne viewers, so other than your entire premise being wrong and your opinion of yourself being so low I think you’re doing a great job, well done.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:18 PM

@Don Shavago: what a load of tosh

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke

Impromptu Poll: Supportive of visit? Yes or no please. Thumb to vote.

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke

YES

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:07 AM

NO

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:11 AM

@neilo: I’m just curious is all :-)

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:25 AM

@Justin Barrett: I had assistance. Your ma helped me.

Mute Don Shavago
    Favourite Don Shavago
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:25 AM

@Woke Bloke: Yes!

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:36 AM

@Don Shavago: lol

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:31 AM

@Woke Bloke: online polls are inaccurate and prove absolutely nothing. In saying that I voted for the visit

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Dec 12th 2017, 9:53 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: Well that proves something.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: oh good for you yat

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 12th 2017, 2:03 AM

Must have done the survey amongst the students of journalism in DCU. The main production line for the blinded SJW “journalists” that so blight the media these days. Their function being to turn news into propaganda.

Mute Denis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Denis Mc Kenna
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:47 AM

Ridiculous poll.Do people here not realise how insignificant and pathetic this poll is. We as a small island in the Atlantic are having a poll to decide whether the elected leader of the most powerful country in the world is welcome here.He is the democratically elected leader of a country which creates hundreds of thousands jobs here.This allows thousands of Irish people to remain in their own country without having to emigrate.The anti Trump opinions from the usual suspects are reminiscent of the juvenile nonsense one would hear from tax funded naive college students who have no experience of the real world..One may not like Trump as a human being and while the over paid self righteous liberal set in RTE take their predicable position,in the real world jobs matter.Sorry children it’s time to grow up. So Mr. President can I carry your bag.

Mute Hubert Dworniok
    Favourite Hubert Dworniok
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:09 AM

@Denis Mc Kenna: President Trump is the only one who cares about Christian roots of Europe. Neoliberal want to destroy Europe’s heritage and bring millions of muslim terrorists to Ireland.

Mute Macdonald Avril
    Favourite Macdonald Avril
    Dec 12th 2017, 6:42 AM

@Hubert Dworniok: is that why he supports murdering innocent Palestinian Christians everyday by the Yiddish people ?

Mute Denis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Denis Mc Kenna
    Dec 12th 2017, 7:38 AM

@Con O’Driscoll: and the relevance is?

Mute Denis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Denis Mc Kenna
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:13 AM

@Con O’Driscoll: Gotcha

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Hubert Dworniok: u seem like a well balanced person.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Hubert Dworniok: who, neoliberal or otherwise, has suggested bringing millions of terrorists to Ireland?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:43 PM

Why not his a lovely bloke

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 11th 2017, 11:56 PM

That’s a pity will have to wait 7 years for next democrat president before we can have a visit…

Mute Michael farrelly
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:22 PM

@John003: that’s not even a bit funny

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett

0.009% of those who do support a visit suffer from severe paranoia and slither around the most liberal left-leaning news website’s comments section because they know it’s the only tolerant place that will tolerate their bigotry, the irony!

Mute Don Shavago
    Favourite Don Shavago
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:27 AM

@Justin Barrett: what the duck are you on about?

Mute Hubert Dworniok
    Favourite Hubert Dworniok
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:07 AM

In every country only minority of people are clever and wise ones. Those are those 21% in the survey really caring about the country. Remaining ones are FF FG SF electorate who are responsible for ireland bankruptcy and housing crisis. Trump will win 2020 second US election regardless how hard you bark.

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:39 AM

@Hubert Dworniok: Whether helps you sleep at night, pal.

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:39 AM

@Ken Loughman: *Whatever*

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:50 AM

Trump is something but he’s still better than Killary, well just about. Can’t believe he is the best that the US can offer its citizens.

Mute Aodhan Kerr
    Favourite Aodhan Kerr
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:47 AM

The title of this article is 100% bullshit. It is not 70% of Irish people, it is 70% of some random website poll that 99.99% of Irish people did not see or hear about.

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Aodhan Kerr: eh, thats how polls work. You use a sample of the population.

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:18 AM

Is that 70% of ten people interviewed??

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 11:44 AM

@Vincent Sharpe: why don’t you go find out instead of making baseless statements

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:13 AM

FAKE NEWS

Mute Ian McGrath
    Favourite Ian McGrath
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:00 AM

Go on invite him for the laugh. Wouldn’t cost a thing and he wouldn’t embarrass himself at all. For a man who hasn’t got a clue will fit right in with the government.

Mute SeanGabriel1453
    Favourite SeanGabriel1453
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:24 AM

Really?? If true, which I doubt, its a testimony to the unrelenting negativity of the Irish media elite who have not yet, one year on, not got over the shock that their much loved Hilary Clinton was rejected at the polls…

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:37 PM

@SeanGabriel1453: why do Trump supporters have to bring Obama or Clinton into very conversation? Get over it she’s no longer relevant. Clinton wasn’t rejected at the polls, she got 3 million more votes than Trump.

Mute SeanGabriel1453
    Favourite SeanGabriel1453
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:51 PM

@EillieEs: Oh sorry…I forgot Hilary “won” the election, but that inconvenience of the Electoral college thwarted her..ha ha

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Dec 12th 2017, 5:16 AM

Would not support is not the same as would oppose.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:08 AM

If he is thinking about running for a second germ he will probably visit for the Irish American vote. He isn’t going to come here to top up the tan anyway.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Catherine Sims: He visits here quite often, he has a business here and employs hundreds of Irish people. His children visited this country quite regularly when they were younger and were raised with an Irish nanny who still resides with his first wife.

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:51 AM

I wonder how many of the people who support a visit by Trump don’t like him but feel that good relations need to be maintained with the Americans regardless of who’s riding shotgun?

Mute Nigel Mcatamney
    Favourite Nigel Mcatamney
    Dec 12th 2017, 7:36 AM

Sure why not, he’d be able to meet Enda Kelly and Alex Higgins. And he could probably grab Leo by the pu$$y while he’s here

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Dec 12th 2017, 1:36 AM

Should send him to Derry or Armagh to make a speech about Brexit and borders, how could he F that up?

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Dec 12th 2017, 8:00 AM

I would support him in a visit to the Cliffs of Moher then withdraw my support on the edge ,

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin
    Dec 12th 2017, 12:12 PM

I was never asked to take part in this poll so therefor this does not represent me.

Mute General Info
    Favourite General Info

This is nuts…the ‘look at the other guy’ apologists for a democratic? (thanks Putin) dictator president shaming America day after day. It’s a short stop to full right wing lunacy…Democrats need to shut down the Snowflakes and assert Centrist policy with a clear ‘mob friendly’ message. Tweeted from the loo, having a dump thinking of trump.

Mute Lesley McCarthy
    Favourite Lesley McCarthy
    Dec 12th 2017, 2:50 AM

Didn’t read anything but the title and I thought the best place for him is like in the movie dogma. Keep him physically alive so pence won’t be the next eejit. But don’t kill him. As much as the world would benefit.

Dec 12th 2017, 11:25 AM

Probably the same 70% that continuously vote the grossly incompetent gombeen FF and FG politicians, probably the worst performing bunch of politicians in the EU, who only bankrupt the country a decade ago, back into gov.

Mute Bobby mcgee
    Favourite Bobby mcgee
    Dec 12th 2017, 7:28 PM

70% of irish people belive everything u tell them. Trump is a nazi racist homophobe who sleeps nude in an oxygen tent he belives gives him sexual powers!!!!

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Dec 12th 2017, 10:20 PM

@Bobby mcgee: Please explain in what way is President Donald Trump a Nazi racist homophobe, if you can, or is it pure crap like the rest of your post.

Mute Deus Meproteja
    Favourite Deus Meproteja
    Jan 7th 2018, 1:55 AM

Irish people should not allowed the Kardashian visit Ireland. They will pollution the irish woman brains. Brainless. Waste all the money buy makeup brush. For 300 dollars. Crazy. Hh

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Dec 13th 2017, 5:45 PM

Must be 70% of the idiots who do not know the back of their necks from their butts. If it was not for Trump the globalist dogs would be well on their way to implementing their New World order. Did anybody happen to see the scandalous Putin’s Revenge on Rte the other night. I do not believe I have ever seen such a blatant piece of lefty propoganda in all my days, although coming from a position of actually knowing the truth it provided me with one of the best laugh’s I had in a long time

Mute Keith Duffy
    Favourite Keith Duffy
    Dec 12th 2017, 3:49 AM

But they would Fianna Fáil.