You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Tubridy drops more listeners in latest JNLR figures

Ryan Tubridy has lost 27,000 listeners in six months – with his audience now less than half of his previous listenership on Radio 1.

2FM’s big names like Ryan Tubridy have continued to lose listeners, according to the latest Joint National Listenership Research (JNLR) audience figures published this evening – with Tubridy’s listenership now at an all-time low.

Listener numbers to Tubridy’s two-hour 9am show on 2fm now stand at 175,000 – losing a further 11,000 listeners on top of the 16,000 he had lost in the previous quarter.

His audience is now less than half of the 363,000 peak audience he had enjoyed on Radio 1 before his move to fill the slot vacated by Gerry Ryan; Ryan’s listenership stood at 303,000 in the last figures released before his death in April of last year.

Station manager John McMahon said he was confident that “ongoing work we’re doing to improve both Hector [Ó hEochagáin]and Ryan’s shows, and indeed every show on 2fm, will pay dividends over time”, but conceded that there were “changes that have to bed down fully”.

The station did not release audience details for Ó hÉochagáin’s ‘Breakfast with Hector’ show.

Its veteran Larry Gogan performed strongly, however, with his Golden Hour adding 7,000 listeners to 85,000, while the Colm Hayes Show also added listeners.

RTÉ Radio 1 remains the country’s most listened-to radio station, with 18 of the 20 most popular programmes on radio, as Morning Ireland remaining easily the most listened-to radio programme in the country.

Its listenership  has fallen slightly, however, from 460,000 in the last quarterly update to 454,000 in today’s data.

Liveline is the second most popular programme with an audience of 398,000 – though its audience is also down, by 2,000.

Many of the station’s daytime shows saw their audiences fall slightly, though they remain increased on the same period from last year.

Today FM consolidated its status as the country’s second most popular station, with Ray D’Arcy’s audience up by 16,000 listeners to 228,000 – further widening the gap between his show and Tubridy’s to 53,000 – though the RTÉ star’s show is an hour shorter.

There were also modest gains for Ian Dempsey and Tony Fenton, who both gained 1,000 listeners each, though Matt Cooper saw his Last Word audience fall by the same amount. Ray Foley’s lunchtime show fell by 4,000 to 141,000.

The station’s chief executive Willie O’Reilly said the station was “in a growth phase” and was winning listeners which had previously been held by opposing stations.

His Newstalk counterpart Frank Cronin said he was “delighted” with Newstalk’s performance, which sees it break the cumulative barrier of 300,000 listeners per day.

Its Breakfast show now commands an audience of 115,000, closing the gap on the station’s most popular show The Right Hook which commands an audience of 121,000.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute jimmy
    Favourite jimmy
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:06 PM

RTE need to wake up here tubridy has not the mix for the show full stop.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:44 PM

Tubrity has the Gravitas of a plank. An MDF plank at that.

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:03 PM

That’s unfair, a plank can be put to some use.

Mute Graham Julie
    Favourite Graham Julie
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:24 PM

Does everyone have to be called a plank?

Mute Bazza
    Favourite Bazza
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:49 PM

Jaysus “sheelagh” you are on to this now that FF gallagher has lost the election

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Oct 27th 2011, 10:51 PM

Is that Brian Featherstone?

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:07 PM

Agreed, Moncrieff is one of Ireland’s best broadcasters. Tubridy has even poached some of his regulars in an effort to fix his train wreck of a show.

Mute JSLeFanu
    Favourite JSLeFanu
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:10 PM

Agreed Huey, Moncrieff is a first class broadcaster whose success is based on talent and hard work and not, unlike Tubridy, family connections. How many generations of the useless, workshy and dense Andrews clan are going to be inflicted on the nation?

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:57 PM

Moncrieff is good, but not great in his present slot-he’s the only option in the afternoon to be honest-Gareth is stuck in 1995 (lose the applause O’ Callaghan, you are NOT Steve Wright, and your studio is not filled with happy clappers either!), the chap on 2fm who talks too fast and sounds like Ray Cokes on MTV about twenty years ago does my head in, and the less said about Mooney, the better.

I reckon Sean has two full time stealth contributors, one English and one from the US, who, together with their wives pretend to be different people, because every time I tune in, he’s got someone from either part of the world, peddling something, and they always sound the same. Or else Paolo Tullio talking about food and making me hungry.

Mute JSLeFanu
    Favourite JSLeFanu
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:08 PM

Ryan Tubridy is yet another first class example of how far the right family connections will still get you in Ireland. Those figures are catastrophic yet RTE seem to think they can rearrange the deck chairs. Were RTE a purely commercial enterprise Tubridy would have had to clear his desk by now. Were RTE a purely commercial enterprise I wouldn’t care less that they’re carrying dead wood like Tubridy, but it really is an insult to the general public that this pampered and talentless pup is going to get to continue to stuff his pockets every week with money confiscated from the general public.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Oct 28th 2011, 1:06 AM

Tubridy is a very good broadcaster, not my cup of tea though. Suggesting that there’s some sort of nepotism is unfair and suggests that he is without talent and this is untrue.

It is also unreasonable to compare anybody who follows in Ryan’s footsteps with Ryan himself. He had a huge personal following.

Tubridy is in the wrong slot and, to be frank, I’m doubt that 2FM will find another broadcaster that will achieve the numbers that Ryan was doing.

On a point of information – Staff at RTE are paid from income generated from commercial advertising and the licence fee. There is no money confiscated from the public to pay them.

Mute sean smith
    Favourite sean smith
    Oct 28th 2011, 6:52 AM

You’ve said it all for me!

Mute thomas walsh
    Favourite thomas walsh
    Oct 28th 2011, 9:09 AM

@Brian Daly, and the licence fee is voluntary now is it?!

Mute JSLeFanu
    Favourite JSLeFanu
    Oct 28th 2011, 10:11 AM

@Brian_Daly “On a point of information – Staff at RTE are paid from income generated from commercial advertising and the licence fee. There is no money confiscated from the public to pay them.”

The license fee is money confiscated from the public.

Mute nalex1013
    Favourite nalex1013
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:19 PM

Used to really like Tubridy on 2fm morning show years ago, less so on radio 1 but now his show is all people complaining about recession related woe and him being condescending to them. I’ll listen when he rewinds his style but until then Tom Dunne on newstalk is much better listening.

Mute Gus Lynch
    Favourite Gus Lynch
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:38 PM

Good. Any danger he’d disappear up his own arse? (Where he spends most of his broadcast time).

Waste of (air) space.

Mute Eire
    Favourite Eire
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:02 PM

News Talk Tom Dunne & Sean Moncrieff are head & shoulders above RT & work hard to entertain & genuinely are interested in their Jobs the likes of Ryan & most of Mont Rose reminds me of a person who just has to turn up do a half assed job & still get paid ……He will be responsible for the death nail of the Late Late no harm & morning chat….RTE has to throw hard cash make you text & sit their through the complete & utter tripe just so you can take the call to collect the cash in the hope you can now pay for your licence fee & then put food on the table

Mute OccupyForFairness
    Favourite OccupyForFairness

half assed job & still get paid …. Plus don’t forget their so overpaid that they have a HUGE sense of self-importance and think that we all live for their pearls of wisdom!!!!!

Mute Stephen G
    Favourite Stephen G
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:55 PM

2fm is done for, done diddly un for.

Mute Ian Noctor
    Favourite Ian Noctor
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:02 PM

Well my listenership figures went up! Noctor till 6 on WLRfm.com 4-6 pm. Great chat and great music. What more do you want?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:15 PM

Entirely down to the quality of your sometime political pundit ;) Congrats!

Mute Deirdre Farrelly
    Favourite Deirdre Farrelly
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:37 PM

Well done ian! ( coyne)

Mute Alan Murphy™
    Favourite Alan Murphy™
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:14 PM

Nice one Ian. Blaa fm’s best ex national news jock

Mute Ian Noctor
    Favourite Ian Noctor
    Oct 28th 2011, 11:27 AM

Thanks all. Please get all your friends to tune in so I can post another positive result in three months time. :-)
    Gavan, the increase in figures is of course down to the quality of your contributions, along with help from some other equally passionate contributors. Thanks again for your help.

Deirdre Coyne! Now there’s a blast. Thanks D. Hope all is well in Farrelly land.

Alan Murphy. Thanks buddy. Tell your friends to tune in!

O&O

Mute Vinny Doherty
    Favourite Vinny Doherty
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:45 PM

Turbridy has to be the worst presenter in the history of the state!I always thought Pat Kenny was terrible,and he was, but this fella is just absolutely terrible. He knows nothing about sport, thinks he knows all about JFK and the American political system, can not engage properly with any guest and then falls flat on his trying to be funny. Along with Brendan O’Connor,god help the TV license man coming around these parts looking for cash to pay these fools.

Mute Fran Ruth
    Favourite Fran Ruth
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:10 PM

gerry ryan was the best

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:02 PM

Let’s not forget ourselves-Gerry Ryan was often boorish and arrogant, and spent half his time on ear munching into the mike, and the other half bigging up his buddies in exchange for freebies (Harry Crosbie, anyone?)

But what he did have, and which Tubridy will never even come close to, is the ability to talk naturally to people, get a laugh and a story out of them and also the ability to steer a show for two or three hours without sucking the life and the fun out of everything in sight, while floating along in a bubble of jellybeans, Mad Men, The West Wing, JFK, and the Beatles.

Tubbers is also a FF hack, so that makes me loathe him even more.

Mute Gus Lynch
    Favourite Gus Lynch
    Oct 28th 2011, 12:54 AM

No. He was not. You are mistaken.

Mute olive skin
    Favourite olive skin
    Oct 27th 2011, 6:38 PM

is it not rte and not tubrity that has lost the viewers and listeners due to their ongoing one sided veiw in supporting this eu bailout to pay their wage bill

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:01 PM

Exactly Olive

Mute OccupyForFairness
    Favourite OccupyForFairness
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:05 PM

and also their “reluctance” to show any demos/protest against ANYTHING (with the exception of Roscommon Hosp but that’s only Inda was there)…..

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Oct 27th 2011, 10:40 PM

I am no lover of any of them but Jesus ye all must be brilliant at your jobs. That’s what gone wrong with this country,we are all ready to kick people when their down.
    If you can do better apply for their jobs

Mute jrbmc
    Favourite jrbmc
    Oct 27th 2011, 11:42 PM

Well said Paddy!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Oct 28th 2011, 12:43 AM

we’re not on half a mil of taxpayers money for a few hours a week

when the likes of brendan o’connor host anything things have to be really, really bad

but maybe you should apply for thier jobs. you seem to have assimilated the ridiculous cliches that pass for critical opinion in places like rte!

Mute Noel Cosgrave
    Favourite Noel Cosgrave
    Oct 28th 2011, 9:34 AM

Given the ridiculous sums they are paid and that we have to pay a TV tax masquerading as a “license” to contribute towards their salaries, I don’t see any reason why we can’t comment.

Mute JSLeFanu
    Favourite JSLeFanu
    Oct 28th 2011, 10:17 AM

@Paddy Murray, is that Ryan Turbidy when he’s down? Really? I think most people would exchange his down for their up, any day of the week. The guy is sitting pretty while his slot goes to the dogs. Down would be if he got what anyone working for a commercial enterprise would get if they delivered results as rubbish as his i.e. sacked. But like every Andrews before him Turbidy will continue to coin it irrespective of his value because like all the Andrew’s clan he’s taken care to position himself at the teat of the public purse.

Mute Maggie Donnelly
    Favourite Maggie Donnelly
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:26 PM

good stuff.. no loss Ryan…. he has become boring – shallow… nothing enduring

Mute Barbara Mcgovern
    Favourite Barbara Mcgovern
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:25 PM

Ryan Tubridy was great on RTE 1. his show was interesting and witty but when he moved to RTE 2 it dumbed down. Such a pity.

Mute Julie Carney
    Favourite Julie Carney
    Oct 27th 2011, 7:59 PM

Well it’s clear to see that the fabulous Radio Nova has had a definite impact on not only 2FM’s figures, but also on 98FM’s, Spin’s and Q102′s!!!! Very proud Novette today, as are all the staff :-)

Mute Billygoatmuff
    Favourite Billygoatmuff
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:13 PM

The man is a kids presenter at best.

Mute Debbie Ennis
    Favourite Debbie Ennis
    Oct 27th 2011, 11:08 PM

Everything on rte is shite just look at the crap on tonight mike murphy interviewing that bastard Bertie and this why we pay €160 a year for this shit wonder how much the bertie fella was paid for that garbage oh wouldn’t watch the crap giving them ratings for this shite as they wil have cowen the clown on next

Mute Derek Mc Greevy
    Favourite Derek Mc Greevy

bored them to death maybe

Mute Paul carew
    Favourite Paul carew
    Oct 28th 2011, 1:02 AM

Tubridy is too much by the book and likes to play it safe look at the ronan keating interview he completely avoided the elephant in the room ,for his wage he should really get stuck in

Mute Des Byrne
    Favourite Des Byrne
    Oct 27th 2011, 11:59 PM

Strange that RTE won’t pub use Hectors figures….?.

Mute Des Byrne
    Favourite Des Byrne
    Oct 28th 2011, 12:00 AM

Should be publish

Mute Collie Woods
    Favourite Collie Woods
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:54 PM

@Ryan Murphy

MTV most wanted with ray cokes was the best program ever. Ray was the man and not forgetting naughty nympho nina.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Oct 28th 2011, 2:17 PM

I remember it well.

Mute Mark Garrigan
    Favourite Mark Garrigan
    Oct 28th 2011, 12:06 AM

CANT STAND HIM ON RADIO OR TV

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Oct 28th 2011, 12:29 AM

All Irish Radio is formulaic pants apart from Mid West Radio which is actually broadcast from another planet. The rest of it is all about opinionated big heads spouting hot air or playing music the rest of the world has told them they should be playing. Just press Scan and you could be waiting a month to hear something innovative. Get rid of the lot. Silence is better.

Mute Julian King
    Favourite Julian King
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:29 PM

I hate radio.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Oct 27th 2011, 8:38 PM

is there a link to the full results?

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Jul 27th 2012, 8:57 PM

Tubridy was covering for somebody on BBC radio 2 a few weeks ago. Heard some people from work talking about how crap he was. How does he get these gigs? It’s shocking, he’s even back I think next week to cover for somebody.