You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Video: Turkish-Bulgarian politician escapes assassination attempt

Dramatic video captures the moment Ahmet Dogan had a gun pointed at him before it appeared to jam and security guards jumped in.

DRAMATIC VIDEO HAS captured the moment that a Turkish-Bulgarian politician was the subject of a botched assassination attempt in Sofia earlier today.

The video shows a man jumping on stage and pointing a gun at the leader of the Movement for Rights and Freedoms (MRF), Ahmet Dogan, as he was giving a speech during a party congress in the Bulgarian capital.

The gun appears to jam as the would-be assailant attempts to fire it before security guards jump in and drag the man to the ground, beating and kicking the attacker.

(Warning: viewers may find some of the content of this footage disturbing and/or upsetting)

YouTube: nieuwsupdate

Dogan has led MRF for the last 25 years. The centrist party represents ethnic Turks and Muslims which make up about 12 per cent of Bulgaria’s over 7 million population, according to World Bulletin.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Favourite Desmond O'Toole
    Jan 6th 2012, 1:26 PM

Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein fighting with each other to splutter the greatest populist outrage. The issue is very straightforward, about a quarter of pensioners have been failing to declare income for tax purposes. This came to light because under THIS government, for the first time, the Dept fo Social Protection has finally begun to talk to Revenue about pension/social welfare income. Under FF, no such co-ordination ever took place.

Those indentified as owing tax will be dealt with in the same professional way that Revenue tends to deal with these issues. No-one’s going to be left on the bread line because of this. It’s time FF and SF, rather than bang the populist drum, actually took some tome out to think of the vast majority of pensioners who did declare additional income and who were fully tax-complaint. Or do SF and FF think these pensioners should be treated as fools for payihg the correct level of tax?

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Jan 6th 2012, 3:25 PM

Would love to know how many FF politicians get hit with this, since it is a legacy issue of theirs

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Jan 6th 2012, 6:31 PM

In all honesty there argument is about how the situation has been handled bot that these people are going to be hit! SF has said the revenue commission and the government should of made people aware of the situation before dumping this new tax onto them and FF are asking how long has the government been aware of the situation without letting there pensioners know!

Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Jan 6th 2012, 6:54 PM

@Daryl … wouldn’t agree with that interpretation, I’m afraid. It’s a typical political tactic by FF & SF. When you haven’t got anything meaningful to say about the substantive issue, then complain about the modalities.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Jan 6th 2012, 1:36 PM

The problem is this government will spend thousands to collect the fiver that it believes that it is owed. What the right thing to do would be to issue a general amnesty, cut the losses and improve the system, move on.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:08 PM

Couldnt agree more, and i think its totally wrong the way this FG/Labour government have handld this … They could at least have gone on the airwaves and let folks know what a screw up they had made and warn folks that this is coming … and they should have drawn a line under their own mismaagement and told folks that it will be a forward taxation, ie no impact to those that were unervalued by the Government and Revenues prior to this. How fair is it, that we have folks in their 80′s and 90′s getting letters to say that they are not tax complaint and owe the government back tax… ??? Bloody sickening as far as i am concenerned bg FG and Labour. And these are the same two parties in opposition that would have screamed the house down over this same treatment of old age pensioners ……

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:20 PM

Well said lads. This government is making me sick. They will spend countless hours collecting “cents” when if they want “euros” all they have to do is introduce a fairer method of taxation. But they won’t they’ll continue to spread “doom and gloom” and we’ll be called “begrudgers”. I couldn’t give a sh!t. Can’t shut us all up.

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:30 PM

Agree. Well, mostly. Discomforted by patronising references to folk in their 80s and 90s. It is possible to be 90 and extremely well off and be non-tax compliant…

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:32 PM

Or should that be tax non-compliant? Whatever…

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 6th 2012, 4:34 PM

Joe Sixtwo
    You are spot on . Draw a line , get people tax compliant from today and MOVE ON….. God Almighty it is so tiring stating the obvious ….. It will cost nothing and bring in revenue immediately .
    Cal Mooney
    You are right
    It is awful to think of very elderly / more vulnerable individuals getting these letters …. Heartless fools that sent them out.
    Reada
    We wont be shut up !!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jan 7th 2012, 12:59 AM

Reada & Eileen!
    Hell would freeze over first!

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:07 PM

I may be wrong but,
    Wasn’t Barry Cowen’s brother convicted as a tax defaulters?

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:17 PM

Brilliant tactical move by government to move us on from talking about 40% hike in levy on health insurance.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 6th 2012, 4:42 PM

Ahhh ! Conor , Glad to see that you are beginning to see the bigger picture !

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Jan 6th 2012, 8:54 PM

Good to see that someone else can see thru them

Mute chicken ball ann
    Favourite chicken ball ann
    Jan 6th 2012, 1:27 PM

Surprise surprise….

Mute maura
    Favourite maura
    Jan 6th 2012, 5:35 PM

Why should pensioners with large private income not pay tax on their benefits from Social Protection. If you become unemployed, your unemployment benefit under PRSi is taxable so why not pensions. If you are on a 3 day week your benefit is taxable. WHY NOT HAVE ALL FILE A TAX RETURN EACH YEAR STATING TOTAL INCOME FROM WHATEVER SOURCE INCLUDING UNEMPLOYMENT , CHILDREN’S ALLOWANCE AND RENT ALLOWANCE OR WHATEVER, THEN EVERYONE WOULD BE TAX COMPLIANT. IT IS ABOUT TIME DSP SENT INFORMATION TO REVENUE. WELL DONE

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 7th 2012, 2:46 AM

Maura
    Why you ask ….. Because people who have worked all of their lives AND saved and contributed to private pensions to have a comfortable retirement have already paid taxes, now if the revenue want to chase after cents then do so , but from today . The government are not fools . Look at the bigger picture and ask yourself why they want us all arguing over this . They are deflecting our attention from all the other stuff that is happening…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 6th 2012, 3:40 PM

In the great tradition of FF turn one section of society on another hence everyones eye off the ball cudos to you FG/Lab didn’t take ye long to learn but hey ye have been learning from FF for 10+ years.

Mute Billy Fisher
    Favourite Billy Fisher
    Jan 6th 2012, 2:22 PM

Got it in one, Desmond , well said !

Mute Desmond O'Toole
    Jan 6th 2012, 7:23 PM

Thanks Billy. To read some of the other posters here it seems that people not declaring their income for tax purposes is ALL the government’s fault. The old habits of not playing by the rules go deep, supported by the cynical populism of FF & SF. Those of us who do play by the rules are treated as mugs. No more, I’m afraid. It’s time we took our country back from the cute hoors.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 7th 2012, 12:05 AM

That is not true Desmond. We’re just sick of the order that this shower in government take.

I love paying tax. I love the fact that it pays our teachers, nurses, Gardaí, unemployed, those on social welfare and anyone in need. What I don’t appreciate is paying it into a big black bank hole!

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Jan 6th 2012, 5:29 PM

Let’s be very careful about the ageist types of comments and the need to protect elderly cuddly pensioner types……….after all Mr Fingleton is over seventy and Sean Quinn is somewhere in his mid sixties if I’m not mistaken!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jan 7th 2012, 1:04 AM

Fingers will have no problem counting down his cosseted retirement years on his E11,000 watch bought by the uninformed taxpayer who funded it.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 7th 2012, 3:02 AM

My widowed Mother is 84 and is tax compliant , but she is not fully compus mentus (excuse any misspelling) and as such she would be so worried and upset if she opened a letter like this, she would worry about it for ever . It is a disgraceful move by the revenue . They well know how to check up without causing unnecessary worry . Of course people should pay their dues but if they have not and they are genuinely ignorant of the ”crime” then draw a line and start from today… Not all non compliant pensioners are in the same financial brackets as S Quinn or mr Fingleton!!!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 7th 2012, 3:05 AM

Well said Eileen. It’s just the type of despicable move I’ve come to expect. Disgraceful!

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Jan 6th 2012, 5:55 PM

By the way Reada your tone is unusually offensive for a woman and how would you know that the current activity of the Revenue is seeking out “cents” when non payment of taxes on contributory State pensions where the recipient already exceeds the threshold would run into thousands in any one year.
    Your further criticism of the Government implies that they direct the Revenue authorities on a day to day basis.
    Would you like to reconsider your rant?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 7th 2012, 12:46 AM

Mark. I get a bit annoyed at times but I don’t think that my being a female should deter me from expressing my anger. Do i detect a bit of sexism there. I tend to shoot from the hip when I see these scoundrels and the order in which they chose to reform the system.

And thanks for the invitation Mark but I’ll pass on the invitation to reconsider. I meant every word of it.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Jan 7th 2012, 1:23 AM

Reada you recently commented on the idea that most readers have no idea that your name is actually female and therefor much of your overexcited commentaries may well be viewed as male like! It is not inappropriate to consider many of your rants as aggressive.
    Indeed I was much more concerned at your gross misunderstanding of the duties and responsibilities of officials within the Revenue Authorities and the rather silly idea that they work on the day to day direction, supervision and control of the Government.
    The constant criticism from many quarters that public servants are less than diligent is belied by this particular issue where they have evidence of tax evasion or non payment and protect tax paying citizens and the State by doing their duty. How can you possibly find fault with that and then load your vulgar hostility on the Government of the day?
    Still no room for a recant?

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 7th 2012, 2:52 AM

Mark Rodgers
    Why are you being so defensive of such an outrageous decision by the revenue commissioners ? I am amazed at the lack of empathy of so many people on this thread for people who have worked all their lives AND contributed towards their own retirement plan… I just do not understand the attitudes displayed .

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 7th 2012, 3:15 AM

No recant necessary Mark. I mean what I say and I say what I mean. I’ve already responded to Desmond above. But ftr I am a very proud Irishwoman and I love my country very much. 

I am one of those people who consider it a privilege to pay tax. As I said to Desmond. I love paying tax. I love the fact that it pays our teachers, nurses, Gardaí, unemployed, those on social welfare and anyone in need. What I don’t appreciate is paying it into a big black bank hole!

My government is letting us all down.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 7th 2012, 3:21 AM

And mark if you have any further queries please use the reply button beneath my comment. I hate to see a question go unanswered.

But goodnight. I can be kind as well. I do try anyway. :-)

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Jan 7th 2012, 9:45 AM

Now more than ever, the Revenue are behaving like extortionists. They have become the enforcement arm of the ECB/IMF mafia.