You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

RTÉ programme urged not to air scene of presenter killing turkey

An animal rights group said there is “nothing festive” about killing an animal on-screen.

AN ANIMAL RIGHTS Group has urged RTÉ programme Ear to the Ground to reconsider airing a scene tonight that reportedly involves presenter Ella McSweeney killing a turkey.

The Animal Rights Action Network (ARAN), which is calling for the scene to be removed, said there is “nothing traditional about killing a fully conscious, sentient animal who, like any dog or cat, values their life too”.

ARAN also expressed concern at the programme airing before the watershed as it said children should not be “exposed to such scenes given the recent disturbing events of cruelty to animals in Ireland.

In correspondence with ARAN, seen by TheJournal.ie, a spokesperson for the programme said in this week’s edition, McSweeney visits a free range turkey farmer and “they humanely slaughter one of his flock for Christmas dinner”.

They said this is part of a story “about a traditional Christmas and aims to give viewers an interesting insight into rural life in times gone by”.

The method of slaughter used is swift, humane and you will see when it airs, how calm the bird is. In fact this method of slaughter on the farm avoids all the stress of transport etc associated with more commercial units

In response to concerns about airing the show pre-watershed, they explained that that there are no “graphic, violent or abusive images”.

Our programme seeks to educate in a responsible way, all age groups about the journey our food takes from farm to plate and thus facilitate more informed debate about such issues in the future.

Clare Downes of ARAN said there is “nothing festive” about this on-screen killing of an animal and claimed it was an attempt to grab attention.

“Many people think of turkeys as little more than holiday centrepieces, but turkeys are social, playful birds who enjoy the company of others,” the group said in a statement. “They relish having their feathers stroked and like to chirp, cluck, and gobble along to their favourite tunes. Anyone who spends time with them on farm sanctuaries quickly learns that turkeys are as varied in personality as dogs and cats.”

This latest Ear to the Ground programme will air tonight on RTÉ One at 8.30pm.

Read: Over 40 complaints lodged over Love/Hate cat shooting scene>

Read: Animal rights group to contact schools after cats killed with firecrackers in Drogheda>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:35 AM

You mean animals are killed before we eat them? I am shocked and disgusted. I always thought we only eat meat from animals that die peacefully in their own bed, surrounded by family, of old age.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:41 AM

Does that mean that there’s no doggy heaven as well?

Mute Keith Shanghai Irish
    Favourite Keith Shanghai Irish
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:03 AM

My mates sis honestly thought farmers went round their fields every morning looking for dead animals to cut up and send to the butchers, she’s 24 years of age and only said the above last year.

Mute John Doee
    Favourite John Doee
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:09 AM

Turkey going to get it.It’s a gang war in montrose at rte, First the love/hate cat gets whacked, now the turkey

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:45 AM

Is it Dustin? That wouldn’t be so bad, though he is a bit past his sell by date

Mute Dave McG
    Favourite Dave McG
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:57 AM

I like to imagine them all dying heroicially saving another animal like *spoiler alert* Spock at the end of ‘The Wrath of Khan’.
    Then I look down at the bird, resting in baking tray and say “Of all the souls that I’ve met on my travels, he was the most *whimper* human….” then I fire the bird into the oven as a single tear streaks down my face, while bagpipes strain out ‘Amazing Grace’.
    It’s a fitting tribute to a fine meal.

Mute StephenBrody
    Favourite StephenBrody
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:13 AM

Might aswell ban all Nature programmes while their at it then

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:53 PM

City Slickers…⁉️

Mute Sarah Dowd
    Favourite Sarah Dowd
    Dec 20th 2013, 2:31 AM

Don;t worry, all dogs go to heaven!

Mute Joe Valentine
    Favourite Joe Valentine
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:39 AM

Some people simply need a good slap across the face with reality.
    I’m sure that turkey doesn’t want to die but neither does any animal in the food chain. I’d rather people know where their meat comes from than thinking it just magically appears boned and rolled. Ex butcher

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:27 AM

As a vegetarian, I completely agree with you. People should know what they’re eating and make an informed choice.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:34 AM

People should know how their food reaches their plate.

Anyway, if done correctly, there’ll be no blood or gore, as the neck is broken or the bird is stunned to death & then should be plucked & hung upside down for several days to bleed out.

Mute Brian Henoll
    Favourite Brian Henoll
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:33 AM

Seems you don’t know how food reaches your plate.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:17 AM

That’s how we did it Brian. Every year my grandfather would pick up a live turkey for each member of the family who didn’t live at home.

They ran around in the garden in leafy Dublin 5 for a couple of days before he’d wring their necks & pluck them some time around the 20th/21st Dec.

They’d then have their feet bound & be hung in the garage. He’d place a container under each & make an incision in their necks & allow them to bleed out before delivering them to the family.

The grandkids would have ranged in age between 5-12 & would see all this & help out some times.

//reminiscing…

As a boy growing up, you became a man the first time you wrapped both hands around the meaty tube & squeezed & twisted tightly until it spurted its last gobble, then tugged on the fleshy mass repeatedly until it was bald. But Grandad was the only one allowed to do the turkeys.

Mute Dave McG
    Favourite Dave McG
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:14 AM

Context is everything. For an animal rights organisation who rountinely use placards with graphic images of mistreated animals (during the day, pre-watershed, in the middle of the street where children can see) to claim that the regular method of killing an animal – an act which happens countless times every day – is somehow the most offensive thing imaginable requires a considerable amount of self-delusion about how ARAN go about their work.
    While RTÉ are offering the measured context of “this is how this is done before every meal reaches your plate”, ARAN think this is unreasonable, & that somehow only their own pictures of mistreated & abused animals represents human/ animal interaction accurately.

Also, for ARAN to claim that RTÉ are making an attempt at attention grabbing completely ignores the fact that ARAN protested the pretend death of a cat on a fictional TV program.

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:37 AM

I think Kids should be exposed to seeing this kind of thing. Not against their will, but for people who eat meat, it doesn’t oroginate in the packaging.

Mute robscanlon
    Favourite robscanlon
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:44 AM

Meat means killing an animal. I disagree with aran. People ought know what meat production involves. Chicken had become a ubiquitous protein source with all the animal rights implication of factory farming. Some states ban any recording in slaughter houses, giving carte blanche for cruelty during the slaughter process. We have had pork contamination and horse meat in beef. More openness and engagement of the public with the meat supply could never be harmful.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:35 AM

“They relish having their feathers stroked and like to chirp, cluck, and gobble along to their favourite tunes.” Is that a joke, because I can think of a few tunes turkey’s probably won’t like at this time of year…

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:43 AM

In my experience they are vicious mean spirited b*stards who’d peck the eyes out of you soon as look at you! A great aunt of mine used to raise them in Wicklow and my mum and all my relatives have the same stories of fear of attack from the b*ggers!

Mute Fox Trot
    Favourite Fox Trot

Stuff the turkeys hole with holly tra la la la la.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:55 AM

Advert currently running on tele for Irish lamb farmer strolling through fields talking about grass and rain etc no sign of a living lamb anywhere same thing really we like our meat but we don’t want to know how it gets to the table

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:29 AM

Are you watching Silence of the Lambs?

Mute Cormac Ryan
    Favourite Cormac Ryan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:18 AM

It’s the same as the mcdonnalds ad talkin about their burgers

Mute Maureen Ellen McGill
    Favourite Maureen Ellen McGill
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:31 PM

I remember a sheep farmer talking about how sad he was to have lost a beloved ewe. When asked why he said because she had been a great breeder and he had profited from all her offspring. As a vegan I find that one strange type of love. She must have got fed up being a living factory.

Mute Cormac Ryan
    Favourite Cormac Ryan
    Jan 2nd 2014, 4:57 PM

alot of ppl find the bond between farmer and beast strange. farmers will curse and threaten things to many a creature that isn’t cooperating but he’d still stay up all night to ensure the same beast got the right treatment.
    But as far as sheep go…talk to any vet and they’ll all tell you the same thing, sheep die easily, by the time they show signs of sickness its often gone too far to be cured

Mute neutralneuron
    Favourite neutralneuron
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:57 AM

If you don’t want to watch it, don’t tune in. Simple.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke

Who knew? I’m off to bond with my turkey before I kill and eat it.

Mute Grainne Maguire
    Favourite Grainne Maguire

From the turkey’s perspective:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HePQnzc-Vto

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:43 AM

Any chance its Dustin

Mute Claire Ward
    Favourite Claire Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:25 AM

Sicko

Mute Gavin
    Favourite Gavin
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:53 AM

How many plates are going to be stuffed with ham and turkey globally this Christmas? Millions I imagine.
    I’m a veggie but I don’t see the harm in showing the reality of where all this meat comes from as long as it’s done with as little stress to the animal as possible. I could think of a lot worse things being shown on the telly although it would be different if they were to slaughter a dog or a cat in the same manner. I see their point in this respect. They don’t place higher value on one over the other which is fair enough.
    Society norm simply dictates our behaviour.

Mute Hairy lemon
    Favourite Hairy lemon
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:56 AM

If God didn’t want us to eat animals he wouldn’t have made them out of meat…

:-)

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:46 AM

We’re made of meat too. Does ‘God’ want us to be cannibals?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:47 AM

Ross, if you’re Catholic then yes. At mass you eat flesh and drink blood… not a representation of them, but actual human tissue and bodily fluid.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:57 AM

Well thank Dog I’m not a catholic then

Mute Claire Ward
    Favourite Claire Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:22 AM

What a load of bull ha

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:05 AM

While I am sensitive to animal rights, I really don’t see the value in NOT showing the scene. This is the reality of meat, and if anything it’s the mild end of the scale considering the majority of meat production is highly industrial and a lot more horrific than one bird in a rural setting. People should understand the impact of their choices- we are adults. And if anything, an exposé into slaughter houses and the like would be a valuable thing.

Mute Ian Fitzgerald
    Favourite Ian Fitzgerald
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:49 AM

It’s more festive than anything. Where else does everything think ALL OF THEIR MEAT comes from? If you can’t face the fact that you are eating something that died then don’t eat meat.

Mute Eamonn Kavanagh
    Favourite Eamonn Kavanagh
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:26 AM

Anyone that would listen to Claire Downes from ARAN would want to go away and have a sit down with themselves.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:10 AM

They could sit down with a few turkeys…..they are very sociable birds!

Mute Clare Downes
    Favourite Clare Downes
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:51 PM

Why is that?

Mute Eamonn Kavanagh
    Favourite Eamonn Kavanagh
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:30 PM

Because its Ear to the ground-a farming program not the Cartoon Network.The birds are bred reared and killed in Ireland to the highest standards and fairy talk about time you spent stroking feathers in a sanctuary somewhere is irrelevant.The program is educational so if you don’t want to be educated Claire don’t watch it.The responses and thumbs above to your comments say it all..

Mute enda1... begrudgers0
    Favourite enda1... begrudgers0
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:52 AM

So where does the turkey come from so? These groups are complete idiots why on earth are they given air time

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:33 AM

One bird killing another bird.
    Happy Xmas my ar*e..

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:53 AM

who cares what a bunch of vegan loons thinks, this group wouldnt make it in to the funny section of a national paper, yet they get “front page” here

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:54 AM

Is she having a laugh! meat is meat. What about cows, geese, pigs and sheep. Food has to come from somewhere and why not know where it comes from.

Mute Keith Shanghai Irish
    Favourite Keith Shanghai Irish
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:57 AM

I thought farmers were all mythical grim reaper types? Wondering around farms all over the world, preying on weak animals and delivering them straight into tescos fridges.

How foolish was I? The poor things are actually slaughtered, nae, murdered? My god I feel ill so I do.

Mute msmini
    Favourite msmini
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:38 AM

Oh for goodness sake. Get real! Probably the best of all the Irish tv programmes ever made, covering such interesting articles. Don’t watch it if you can’t hack it. But I am very interested in finding out what u actually think happens the birds?? I mean how do u think they get from farm to fork, naturally????

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop

Its kinda of amusing,

If anything, showing alot of people how meat is prepared would actually put people off the meat. So if anything you should be encouraging people to know where meat comes from.

Its the faceless meat that means people have no problem eating anything,

i say this as a meat eater, not as one of those veg only people….I’d be fecked without chicken and beef :)

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:14 AM

Faceless meat? Sorry….but I like all my meat to be faceless!

Mute Pauline Harney Keogh
    Favourite Pauline Harney Keogh
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:17 AM

When stores advertise hometown Irish turkeys do some people think they grow out of the ground like vegetables or that pre packed meat on your supermarket shelves just magically appears? If you eat meat or poultry then you must accept that it was alive once and had to be killed before it reaches your plate. Over sensitivity gone mad!!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:38 AM

Meat doesn’t come from the Meat Fairy, you know. Everyone sitting down to their traditional Christmas dinner should know where their food comes from and the reality of food production.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:22 AM

You should feel priveleged to have seen that old lady kill the chicken, cook it and slap it on the table in front of you! Today kids are eating chickens that may come from Thailand reared in god knows what kind of place! That woman in black was the ultimate “green”! No air miles, carbon footprint or unknown additives for her food!!

Mute Derek Williams
    Favourite Derek Williams
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:31 AM

In other news… ARAN sieze any opportunity to get media coverage and succeed…

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:09 AM

I am a huge animal lover and supporter of animal rights but I also love to eat meat and make no apologies for it. What is important is to know and respect where your food comes from. It doesn’t magic itself onto shelves in plastic. It is this sanitised form of sale that means people grow up ignorant of how it is produced. High lighting what happens to animals is important to allow for an informed decision to eat meat or not eat it. Smaller portions of humanely reared, free range meat and poultry is preferable to mass produced, tasteless meat full of growth hormones and the animal has been provided with a good life up to slaughter. Kids especially need to be educated about food and where it comes from. I will never forget hearing a child who looked about 8 asking it’s mum what my potatoes were at the checkout in a supermarket last year. They’re what you get your chips from was her answer. If that’s an example can you imagine where some kids think meat comes from.

Mute Aoife Squiffy McLoughlin
    Favourite Aoife Squiffy McLoughlin
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:39 PM

I made a very similar comment to this under the founder of Arans page whos post was on my timeline on facebook, when I was challenged I responded about censorship, properly informing general public and also about how we must differentiate between promoting animal cruelty and normal humane practice for organic meat production. I also referred to Hugh Fearnely’s Chicken Out campaign and asked should this have been censored too? My comments have been since deleted from his page and he also defriended me! I am a huge animal activist for anyone that know me and am shocked that my opinion was censored my Arans founder. WTF??!!! Censoring me i feel is a huge lack of respect for public opinion which is very important to ARANS cause as its the key communicating the right message!

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:52 AM

Salacious TV as usual. Does nothing for anyone’s good. There’s a time and place for everything. Programmers should sensitive to their audience needs especially children but the way things have become in society we’ve gone straight back to being in the cave albeit in a technological one.
    As a very small child on a visit to Achill Island once we were at a small whitewashed cottage. I wandered freely outside when the old woman in black appeared and swiftly picked up a bird by the legs, lashed it down onto a block and chopped its head off before me. Next thing I remember is seeing her approach the table with a roasted bird on a plate. I have never since been able to eat fowl. Deep associative influences playing havoc with logic for life. If we really are to come outbid the cave, we need to start with how we affect our children.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:37 AM

Cop on. Any child born in the country see their food being killed regularly. I remember my nanny wringing the chickens neck, plucking it and hanging it outside. The same with rabbits.

If you’d rather raise stupid children who think meat is made in tescos, you go ahead. But don’t expect everyone else to live in your little sanitised bubble.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:11 AM

This cave… is that where you hide from the reality of food production? You can’t eat fowl since seeing how it gets to the table. Do you think it’s any different for cattle? Your steak wasn’t grown in a lab, you know.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:54 AM

We all know where meat comes from we are not stupid but it is unnecessary to show killing, it serves absolutely no purpose.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:12 AM

Youre right….lets just pretend it doesnt happen!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:58 AM

If knowing where your christmas dinner comes from offends you yhen simply don’t eatch this programme.

Far too many peiple think yhat meat comes from the supermarket. If they know exactly how an animal is raised, nurtured, slaughtered and butchered they will have far more appreciation for their food.

Mute John 'Trips' Gallen
    Favourite John 'Trips' Gallen
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:45 AM

This IS TOTALLY STUPID and IDIOTIC! It’s bad enough some kids grow up hardly knowing the names of their veg, they should be allowed to see where their bloody Christmas dinner comes from. Put a sock in it ARAN ya muppets.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:12 AM

I understand it could be upsetting to see but I think if your going to eat meat( and I do) you should know and maybe occasionally see how its killed. I don’t think people really connect that piece of meat in supermarket and the actual living animal.my friends a primary school teacher was doing a lesson on animals and what they give us sheep-wool etc and when she asked her 1st class students where beef comes from the answer was the shop, she said yes but what animal does it come from and a lot of the kids were completely confused by the concept that the meat in the shop came from an animal

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:17 AM

Most people would appear to prefer not to see a bird or animal killed because it might stress them out,but i have seen animals that have been highly stressed out before being slaughtered,and it can affect peoples meat eating choices, but it might do no harm to educate them on the way food arrives on their dinner plate.

Mute Evelyn Hughes
    Favourite Evelyn Hughes
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:00 AM

I would live to b vegetarian except I love pig & poultry too much! The idea that they don’t arrive on the earth pre packed is shocking – do everyone good to see a bit of reality. That’s Ireland’s problem they want it all sterile & ‘nice’. Get a grip

Mute Conor Davey
    Favourite Conor Davey
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:05 AM

It’s stupid little things like this that annoy me about modern society. People are being brainwashed into thinking natural and instinctive things are cruel and wrong. Almost every other animal would tear a turkey apart to get its meat. If anything the turkey is lucky

Mute Graham Bolton
    Favourite Graham Bolton
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:08 PM

“They relish having their feathers stroked and gobbling and singing along” wtf is she on about. It’s a turkey, not a pisshead on his way home from the pub

Mute Claire Ward
    Favourite Claire Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:21 AM

All the jokes aside, thousands of living, breathing animals are murdered every day so fat pigs can gorge on their carcasses…. it’s just sick

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:20 AM

This never happened on Glenroe.

Knowing thejournal.ie they’ll spend hours thinking about which side to be on and eventually they’ll think: this is wrong. After hours of painstaking left leaning thinking and Guardian newspaper articles.

And then most of them will eat Turkey at Christmas.

Meanwhile, over at the real Guardian: http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2013/dec/18/how-to-eat-christmas-dinner *

Mute Madge Hetherington Carter
    Favourite Madge Hetherington Carter
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:08 PM

Dear RTE
    As you are so adept at glorifing abuse to sentient non humans in such programmes as Ear to the Ground, Kill it Cook it Eat it and every cookery show that abounds perhaps you might like to air “Earthlings” or how about “Blackfish” on Christmas day perhaps at dinner time?

Mute Daddy De La Noche
    Favourite Daddy De La Noche
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:02 PM

I support animal rights but I do love turkey and not just at Christmas

Mute Shay Balaftuna Leon
    Favourite Shay Balaftuna Leon
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:37 PM

I support women’s rights but I do love a little rape sometimes and not just on Christmas

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:21 PM

Its actually ARAN trying to grab some headlines here.

“Kill it,cook it,eat it” has been of for months and it hides nothing!

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:04 PM

Looks like choking the chicken is the way to go !

Mute y6Qe5BN3
    Favourite y6Qe5BN3
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:21 PM

I genuinely would have thought that Animal Rights campaigners would be ADVOCATING that the slaughter of animals be shown live on television, in order to publicize the barbaric practice which precedes our Xmas dinners.
    They really are a funny ol bunch.

Mute Robert Clarke
    Favourite Robert Clarke
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:30 PM

I want to know when are Aran going to start sticking up for vegetables rights

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:50 AM

Should not be allowed, off to shoot now to get a couple of cock pheasants for christmas

Mute Barbara Henderson
    Favourite Barbara Henderson
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:40 PM

Whatever about slaughtering the turkey, why is the Presenter, Ms. McSweeney doing it????

Mute Sean P
    Favourite Sean P
    Dec 23rd 2013, 8:38 AM

I have great respect for animal welfare/rescue groups and the hardship they deal with on a daily basis.
    I also eat meat and fish and have killed my own “prey”.

What I do not understand, appreciate or accept is why broadcasting the killing of an animal raised for consumption (who according to the report on ETTG had a great outdoor life) is less acceptable under the aspect of showing the animal’s “suffering” compared to using the images of abused and/or neglected animals – regardless whether they are pets or commercial animals, wildlife, local foxes killed by a pack of hounds, the slaughtering of whales or dolphines or the fate spanish bulls – for reasons of r”aising awareness” or funds/donations.

The means are the same only the ends are of different sentiment.

After all the discussion, I watched ETTG last night. What was shown was the preparation of the bird, the explanation of the method but not the actual deed itself. Of course, I do not know whether that has been cut out since the first broadcast.

Mute Francis Foley
    Favourite Francis Foley
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:47 PM

Why did my comment disappear?

All I said was from memory: “Yes of course it should be shown because animals die to feed us. I also said it should be shown before the watershed as reality is often cruel.”

Mute mikeobrien4FM
    Favourite mikeobrien4FM
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:36 PM

Gobble gobble!