You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Homeless charity says proposal on council house offer refusals is a distraction tactic

Focus Ireland said the fact that people are turning down offers is actually “symptomatic of the failure of housing policy”.

FOCUS IRELAND HAS said a proposal floated last week about families who refuse social housing offers is a distraction from the bigger housing issues the government is dealing with. 

It was reported last Sunday that Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy is considering creating new rules which would mean families who turn down two offers of social housing would not get another for five years. At the moment, anyone who rejects two offers is suspended from the waiting list for one year.

Focus Ireland campaigns and advocacy manager Roughan McNamara said the charity does not tend to see people turning down accommodation that is suitable for them.

“While there might well be a small number of cases where people turn them down for not great reasons, what we see is that when people do turn them down it is for genuine reasons, such as an offer in an area where there aren’t any amenities,” he explained to TheJournal.ie.

“In fact we had one mother who was being offered a place outside Dublin, she has two small children and I think she was offered this same place twice. She doesn’t have a car, it was in the middle of nowhere and there was no bus service.

These are some of the realities of cases that aren’t always put forward. Also, something that can be belittled in this discussion is the idea of uprooting someone from their local community. If people have already gone through the trauma of being homeless and the unsettlement of that, they have been through a lot already. Family supports and keeping kids in the stability of their schools shouldn’t be underestimated.

‘It’s a distraction’

He said the news of the proposal this week “did smack of blaming families and individuals” who refuse offers. 

McNamara drew a comparison between this topic and the controversial welfare fraud campaign launched by the government two years ago.

“They made a big deal of that and when you dug down into that it was a one day wonder with media headlines and the actual amount of fraud uncovered was significantly smaller than was being portrayed.

This is not the main issue – it’s a distraction from the main issue. 

He said the focus should be on the need to build more social housing and move away from the reliance on the private rental market, which he said is not just affecting people on the social housing waiting list. 

“It’s hiking up rents for everyone and cutting the available private rental stock for people who are trying to find a home.”

McNamara said the fact that people are refusing offers is actually “symptomatic of the failure of housing policy to deliver more social housing”. 

“If housing was being delivered we wouldn’t have people getting offers that weren’t suitable and we’d have vibrant communities around the country. ”

‘Draconian’

Sinn Féin TD Eoin Ó Broin was also critical of the proposal, describing it as “draconian and unnecessary”.

He suggested a move to ‘choice based letting’ by all councils.

“This is an online allocation system in which applicants bid for properties. It provides the applicant with an element of control and choice while eliminating time wasted during the more traditional allocations process.

Choice based letting has been in operation for many years in councils such as South Dublin and should be the primary source of allocations across the state.

He also said he was concerned at the prominence given to the story and said he would urge the minister to provide evidence to support the proposal to the Oireachtas Housing Committee to allow for a full debate of the issue before any decision is made by Cabinet.

Progress

This week Minister Murphy released figures on new social housing builds, with 4,251 constructed in 2018. Though the figure was 4% below target, he said the government’s housing plan is now showing real progress in the delivery of new homes and new social housing homes.

He also said that these new builds as well as long-term leasing solutions are helping to “move away from Hap solutions”. The level of Hap did not increase over the year.

Murphy also noted that there had been a ‘moderation’ in rents and property prices.

This month it was revealed that nationwide rents rose by an average of 9.8% in the 12 months to December 2018, according to the latest quarterly Rental Report by Daft.ie.

While this marks another record high in national average rents, the rate of increase is the slowest in almost three years.

House prices are expected to rise by around 5% in 2019 after stabilising in the last quarter of 2018 according to a recent end-of-year report. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

77 Comments
    Mute Marcello Mobelli
    Favourite Marcello Mobelli
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:28 PM

Green thumbs for that sultry vixen.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:11 PM

Has she no job to go to?

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:43 PM

Easier ways to sell records I’m sure..maybe they should go on the Voice, Cian Egan might be finally be able to kill them off altogether since Putin is having difficulty.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:14 PM

Doing a better job than either of ye guldies

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:58 PM

Wtf is a guldie?

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay

I don’t think I’m in a band that are actually any good. I’d certainly give her a lash but I wouldn’t buy any of her music…

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:05 PM

It’s not about music, it’s about standing up for your rights. Do you thinks this case would be headline news if pussy riot weren’t there? Fair play to them, they are brave people putting their own personal freedom and possibly their lives on the line in order to show up the tyrant Putin.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:24 PM

Although they are crappy musicians what they are doing is showing the world how intolerant of any form of critism Putin and his cronies are. He is terrified that what happened in Ukraine could spread to Moscow or other Russian cities. It was the Russian people that brought down the old Soviet regime and now he is cracking down on anything that could be a catalyst for bigger demonstrations against him.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:11 PM

There’s only one Nadezhda Tolokonnikova

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:17 PM

Yes, I must admit, and I normally reserve myself and never comment on people’s appearances, but she’s pretty hot.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:13 PM

Pussy Riot are doing doing more harm to equal rights than good. They are silly girls, sick of hearing about them

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:43 PM

Does you campaign for equal rights start or end with you sitting on that couch?

Mute James Moran
    Favourite James Moran
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:47 PM

I’m sure that people thought the same about the suffragettes!.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:17 PM

I’m all for equal rights and highlighting injustices but those pussy riot girls seem like they have a death wish! While no doubt noble in their cause it’s just coming across as attention seeking at this stage! Reign it in girls there’s other ways to get your point across without putting yourselves in so much danger!

Mute Deirdre Foley
    Favourite Deirdre Foley
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:26 PM

Most depressing comment I’ve read all day. “Attention seeking” is the point, their aim is to highlight a myriad of injustices and malpractices being carried out in Russia.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:33 PM

They are seeking attention for themselves, not for injustice in Russia. It is blatantly obvious

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute John Do
    Favourite John Do
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:34 PM

Well said deidre, can’t believe some of comments here, we could do with more people with these women’s courage DNS convictions in this country

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:38 PM

Now Sochi is over the focus will shift. Same as Bahrain. Come F1 time we will all remember human rights. When it moves on, it will be put on the back burner. Sad but true.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:53 PM

Deidre if your depressed by my comment it’s probably because it’s the reality, the world isn’t a rosy place where people click their fingers and all the horrible things that are happening just stop! Like I said they are no doubt noble in their cause but they aren’t the only ones highlighting what’s happening in Russia, there are many more people out there fighting for what’s right without courting the media every five minutes, and they are also appealing to the UN, leaders of countries and humanitarian organizations, not like pussy riot who only appeal to the media under the guise of protesting for what’s right! Call me cynical but it seems to me the only cause they are furthering is their own quest for attention and fame!

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:00 PM

Rachel as you say there are others but have they gotten the attention of the worlds media the same way these girls have? It’s all well and good getting the attention of diplomats and dry burocrates but how much of the public would get to hear about what was going on if only left to them?

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:15 PM

I suppose MLK was just seeking attention too?

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:19 PM

Rachel we are hearing about their cause on a regular basis do obviously what they are doing is working! It’s too easy to criticise them. They are a credit to their generation and women worldwide (in my humble opinion)

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:22 PM

I would have thought, assuming it’s possible for them to do so, they’d cause a far greater stir outside Russia than in it. Any western country’s media would go crazy for them and have them on primetime TV. Would Putin let them back in though?

I suspect they may be worried about family if they did leave.

I’m not much of a fan of theirs in some respects in truth, but I certainly admire and applaud what they are trying to do and wish them well.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:29 PM

There’s celebrities like Stephen Fry also highlighting the cause Mick, I just think there’s more to these girls protests than meets the eye, in a world of celebrity some people just want to jump up and use whatever means necessary to further their own personal celebrity status, when they were in Ireland Sinead O’ Connor was all over them like flies on manure as was Madonna in America, they’re no doubt enjoying their new found fame and now have to keep it going and these protests are just the thing to do the job! With Sochi happening the eyes if the world are trained firmly on Russia there is no need for these protests now, when the Olympics is over and everyone has moved on then is the time for these protests to occur to try and keep Russia firmly in people’s minds! By these girls getting arrested now they are shooting themselves in the foot, they could be locked up by the time the Olympics are over and who will draw attention to Russia then? People that protest because they genuinely care and aren’t looking for fame, that’s who!

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:33 PM

Cynical people on here but that’s nothing new do I don’t know why I’m surprised!

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:44 PM

Nialls I might be cynical but mine is just one person’s opinion, I’m genuinely all for equal rights and it saddens me how LGBT people are treated not only in Russia but world wide, I just hate to see the cause used as a personal quest for celebrity is all :)

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:45 PM

Madonna is not an activist. Sinead O’Connor is. Please never mix that up

Mute Ancient History
    Favourite Ancient History
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:48 PM

Oh ffs.

Mute Kardia Skepsi
    Favourite Kardia Skepsi
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:50 PM

I don’t give a fu#k if they’re in it for cult glory. They’re drawing attention to their country’s sad story.

Moaning about their methods of protest is a waste of time and should be spent complaining about Russian government crime.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:50 PM

Never said either were activists just that they were allover the girls

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:54 PM

Like I said Rachel there are others but they haven’t gotten the recognition and captured the same Media attention as they have. Nadezhda Tolokonnikova could make a fortune here in the West with her looks. But she and the others has chosen to stay in Russia and risk arrest and prison to highlight what an intolerant dictator Putin actually is.

Mute Angie O Riain
    Favourite Angie O Riain
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:55 PM

There are people that fighting in Russia??? Ure might be joking, right??
    If u would ever try to do anything against government not on international level (like these girls) u would be buried alive and no one would ever look for u. Publicity for them is sort of security and fight for what’s right! They ready to die for their country. They have very little to do with the music as such either. They r fighters and they don’t have fear. I wish the rest of Russia would rise…

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:01 PM

Mick despite our differences in drug policy reform you are bang on with this one.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:10 PM

Kevin Because we disagree on some things like adults we can see past that when we see a terrible injustice.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:33 PM

For the record I do see terrible injustices when it comes to the failed war on drugs but anyway

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:46 PM

Mick and Kevin I agree with both of you in most respects but the two ladies above are ex pussy riot members the original group also criticizes them for their celebrity attention seeking! I agree with the msg I just don’t agree with how it’s delivered, it’s a case of “the end justifies the means while we become famous” for them, they only say in the media because they are bizarre and their protests are bizarre, I could go out tomorrow and shove a raw chicken up inside me or throw some live cats at people like some of the members if that group under what ever cause I wanted and I’d be on every newspaper in Ireland, the cause I stood for would become a byline and people would only be interested in having a gawp at the loon who acted so outrageously, some interviews a book deal and I’d be a z list celeb, I’d then have to act even more outrageously to keep the whole charade going!

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Feb 24th 2014, 9:06 PM

Mick – How is Putin an intolerant dictator?

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 24th 2014, 9:34 PM

James if you have to ask then you have been hiding in a dark closet or a supporter of Putin.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:21 AM

Ok James lets look at why. He has Jailed and Bankrupted anyone that is/was a potential political threat to him. He has destroyed the free press in Russia. He has altered the constitution to give himself most total power and allowed him to run for president indefinatly. He has usurped the Judicial system to the point that he decides who is guilty and what sentence is handed down. He has passed laws that practically make it an offence to publicly criticise him or his government. He has passed laws that make it an offence to protest in any shape or form against him or his government or their policies.
    Is that not the actions of a dictator?

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 25th 2014, 1:00 AM

In fairness Mick, though I agree, many of those that bankrupted Russia were also jailed

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 25th 2014, 1:08 AM

But only those that didn’t support Putin. A lot of those Oligarchs that support Putin arrived some of the biggest criminals in Russian history but are walking freely around Moscow.

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Feb 25th 2014, 5:53 AM

First, Putin came to power directly after Yeltsin in the chaotic post-soviet days when Russia was totally rudderless. The oligarchs he jailed or chased off were trying to buy the political system with there ill gotten gains. Putin put his foot down and jailed Khodorkofsky while other big name oligarchs like Beresovsky fled. I think Berezovski had actually financed Putin and thought he could control him but he was wrong. Putin could have had a very comfortable life if he had played along with these guys. He chose to defend the interests of the Russian people instead.

And the Russian people like Putin. It’s hard to call him a dictator when he’s been elected again and again and has high approval ratings among Russian people. If they don’t have a problem with him using some political artifice to prolong his term who am I to criticize? Perhaps you think it’s a personal lust for power. I don’t. He is inaugurating a hugely complex political system with no precedents to lean on. He has more work to do.

The treatment he has given the media in Russia is something I’m not that familiar with but I think it is part of his campaign against the usual suspects –the oligarchs. Berezovsky was funding media from outside Russia and Putin probably squelched it. But I never heard the specifics of these cases. There is no evidence he killed Politkovskaya but Western media always blame him for it

It’s not illegal to criticize Putin in Russia. Nor is it illegal to protest but they do have laws requiring permits as they do here in the US and in Ireland. Here in the US they are very strict about it. People are always getting arrested and jailed for demonstrating without a permit and not obeying police orders. A group of disabled activists were arrested and hauled off right in front of the White House last month.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Feb 25th 2014, 12:05 PM

Horseshit. There are Oligarchs wandering around Russia today that are as big thieves as any Putin had arrested. But they support Putin that is the difference. Here you need a permit only if your rally is likey to cause traffic disruption. In Russia any Rally/Demonsration no matter how small needs a permit and if the rally/demonstration is for anything that is anti Putin you can guarantee it will be denyed. And as for the media he has shut down any and all forms of media that was in any way shape or form critical of him.
    As for his being re elected time and time again. Why wouldn’t he. He has disposed of anyone that could be a serious threat to him. Plus remember the last election where an election official was caught on video stuffing a ballot box with voting papers for Putin. Thats just one that happened to be caught how many others weren’t? Russia currently ranks 127 out of 177 in the World Corruption Index. If Putin is so good at arresting corrupt Oligarchs he seems to be missing everyone else.

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Feb 25th 2014, 6:40 PM

Ireland’s laws must be more liberal than America’s in that case. Here if you “block” the sidewalk you can be arrested. My theory is that oligarchs only get in trouble with Putin if they try to influence politics with their wealth. It’s not that they have to support Putin, it’s just that they have to stay out of politics. Putin was like a personification of a campaign finance law. I don’t think this will last though. It was just something needed at the beginning of Russia’s birth as a democracy.

All the polls showing Putin’s popularity in Russia support the results of the elections. The elections weren’t fraudulent.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:45 PM

Funny hearing people on this saying they are attention seeking when they where at the protest. It’s the media that gave them the attention.

What made me laugh the most though is that some people are saying they are doing nothing when they actually attended a protest over the injustice that is jailing someone for a peaceful protest.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:24 PM

they should be jailed for crimes against music…..

weren’t those 2 kicked out of the “band” as the others felt they sold out by going on their European media tour…..

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:37 PM

Putin must feel like a Riot pussy after the Courthouse protest and all the bad Press that he is getting lately….

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:42 PM

Apparently the whipping incident video may have been completely staged according to media reports today…. It was all done as part of their publicity………Im not sure myself but….
    I have to say It does look odd in that video that their were media waiting around for them to arrive, they found a wall that there was nobody else near despite all the ppl in the area and the black haired one suffers no reaction to pepper spray… pepper spray effects last at least a half hour and she doesnt suffer at all after her initial screams….I found that very odd

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:55 PM

I’ve experienced pepper spray first hand and you are right about the 30ish minutes but the video ended before you can see.

Everyone knew it was staged. What both pussy riot and media did not know is that they would be man handled, whipped and have their hair pulled.

If that stunt happened in Ireland the guards would do nothing as no law is broken. In Russia however…

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:10 PM

The bit at the end with the chickens is quite odd.. however after reading the story behind why they were giving them chickens, its even odder!!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:19 PM

Didn’t actually see that mark. I think the result regardless is that they showed Russian police brutality to the world. A horsewhip was used which still has me shocked.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone

on protest was an orgy in a museum… the second was they stole a frozen chicken by one of the girls placing it in her vagina and performing sex acts with it…. Im not sure what statement that was supposed to make,

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:00 PM

Didn’t understand any of that I’m afraid. I’ll check that out but I only know em for the church gig and the Sochi stunt

Mute Erica Corcoran
    Favourite Erica Corcoran
    Feb 24th 2014, 9:18 PM

Kevin, from what I’ve read they weren’t Russian police in that video, they were Ukrainian Cossacks.

Mute Ancient History
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:50 PM

Most annoying people on earth at present.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:51 PM

You ever hear of justin beiber?

Mute Ancient History
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:45 PM

Forgot about him.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 25th 2014, 2:04 AM

Would you prefer they were called pussy quiet?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:28 PM

Has this done anything for album sales or a string of gigs even

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:57 PM

Have to admit i thought she was a cold weirdo when she appeared on the Saturday show ! There was some craic about not letting the host Brendan kiss her on the cheek ! Don’t think she won many irish fans that night ..

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:05 PM

It was a complete failure on rte’s part. They were unprepared and you could see that throughout the whole interview

Mute Lenny Leonard
    Favourite Lenny Leonard
    Feb 24th 2014, 6:16 PM

Anyone see : Scientists say they have observed a record-breaking impact on the Moon.
    Meteorite

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:29 PM

Bless the attention seekers

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 24th 2014, 7:37 PM

Who pays you to comment on the journal all day with a severe right wing agenda?

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 25th 2014, 2:08 AM

Let’s hope the police beat some sense into these idiots. I’m just waiting on the sex tape they will release next on their attention seeking quest

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 25th 2014, 2:33 AM

Kevin, who pays you to comment all day on the journal?

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2014, 8:26 PM

Credit to these girls. Putting themselves repeatedly in danger of brutality and/or imprisonment to demonstrate to the world how oppressive and corrupt Russia is.

Bonkers how people think they are trying to promote their music.

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    Feb 24th 2014, 11:02 PM

Pussy Riot, I’ll say it again, those girls have balls, fair play to them.

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Feb 24th 2014, 9:53 PM

Where was the outrage from the Irish people towards Russia when Putin got “elected” two years ago? Faux outrage