You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Shutterstock/Lolostock

Poll: Should the TV licence fee be extended to include watching content on phones and laptops?

The government plans to pivot to a “device independent broadcasting charge” by 2024.

WITHIN THE NEXT five years, the government plans to expand the existing TV licence scheme to also include a requirement to pay a fee if you watch content on your phone or laptop. 

The expansion will cover people who use such devices to access the RTÉ Player or RTÉ radio online. 

Minister for Communications Richard Bruton said this change will recognise “that the landscape in which broadcasters operate is undergoing a transformation”. 

“Audiences are transitioning away from traditional platforms and are increasingly accessing content online through digital mediums,” he added. It currently costs €160 a year for a TV licence.

So, what do you think? Should the TV licence fee be extended to include watching content on phones and laptops?

Poll Results:

No (10717)
Yes (2332)
Not sure (296)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

166 Comments
    Mute Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Favourite Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:17 AM

If they want people to pay a fee for using the RTÉ player and other online services it should be behind a paywall. A paywall which can be accessed from a unique code on your tv license. The same for tv content on saorview and sky etc.

Then they can leave us who don’t use RTÉ services alone and stop bother us about watching YouTube or playing PlayStation on a “Television”

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:25 AM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick: and who’s going to investigate all the corruption etc ant and dec

Mute Wild Goose
    Favourite Wild Goose
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:36 AM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick: That’s ‘licence’.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:43 AM

@Wild Goose: There you go again, jaysus, you’re on fire this morning. You can now smugly go about your day comfort in the knowledge that you have corrected two peoples autocorrect mistakes. I bet your parents are so proud.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:43 AM

@Wild Goose: Jane run quick the spelling police are after you. They don’t take kindly to that kind of American spelling around here.

Mute Fr Romeo sensini.
    Favourite Fr Romeo sensini.
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:53 AM

@Wild Goose: stop being a tit.

Mute Narl O Keill
    Favourite Narl O Keill
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:55 AM

@Wild Goose: what a clever clogs you must be.

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:56 AM

@Darren Byrne: Careful Darren, it’s Jayme, not Jane. Wild Goose will crucify you for that one!

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:02 AM

@Conor Thorne: you think rte investigate corruption?

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:26 AM

@Thomas Maher: eh what do
    You call the crèche investigation a week ago

Mute Kevin Organ
    Favourite Kevin Organ
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:37 AM

@Wild Goose: Both terms are linguistically valid you absolute spanner

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:48 AM

@Conor Thorne: Pity they wouldn’t investigate FG/FF. Now there’s corruption!

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:16 AM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick:
    Just scrap the TV licence alltogether.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:26 AM

@Conor Thorne: people who like watching investigations maybe, but perhaps aren’t bothered about funding eurovision, rte canteen dancing competitions etc

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:45 AM

@Conor Thorne: you think that’s investigating corruption? Thats exposing miss management, bad company practise and possibly assault of children, a corruption investigation would be how does a man purchase a company seemingly dying but has had its debts written off by nama when the company was in the process of being awarded a government contract, investigating corruption would be an investigation into a government pushed biometric card which is i beleive is about to be reported as ilegal, hope that helps, let me know if you need more examples

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:03 PM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick: It is called a TV license but it covers all forms of broadcast media. So it is not just for RTE and televisions

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:29 PM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick: well let’s do something sign the petition!
    http://chng.it/G67D6bG9

Mute Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Favourite Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Aug 2nd 2019, 4:47 PM

@Gary Kearney: if it is for all broadcasting then all broadcasting should be funded from it and that doesn’t happen. With RTÉ’s monopoly on funding does it contravene competition laws?

Mute Pat Farrelly
    Favourite Pat Farrelly
    Aug 2nd 2019, 5:50 PM

@Conor Thorne: You won’t find them investigating the vastly overpaid ‘stars’ of RTE anytime soon.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 5:57 PM

RTE’s remit is to manage the populations attitudes to government policy, to defend the main parties actions to ignore their corruption and condemn and demonise public protest. So the government will give them what the ask for coz the government must control the information the people get. For Instance the Fine Gael party was found cheating on their taxes for 9 consecutive years, how many people knew about that? we should fight this charge like the water charges. That’s if they figure a way around the data privacy laws.

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:05 PM

@Jayme Mc Goldrick: rte always look as if they are out of their depth. Like children playing at being grown ups… Most of the presenters are really flat and talentless..

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:10 PM

@Gary Kearney: obviously rte will take the bulk of the cash.. To sustain their chronically lack of talent..

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:17 AM

No. There should be a subscription model. If you want it, you pay like Sky or Neflick. If you don’t then fair enough, you dont pay.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:46 AM

@Dan: they’re afraid to do that in case nobody subscribes.

Mute InvaderSkoodge
    Favourite InvaderSkoodge
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:58 AM

@Adam Conroy: They’re afraid to do that BECAUSE no one will subscribe. FTFY

Mute The Quare Fella
    Favourite The Quare Fella
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:10 PM

@Dan:
    That was suggested a couple of years ago and apparently RTE executives went grey with worry that would exactly happen. Unsurprisingly, the govt dropped the idea.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:31 PM

No bloody way… Also, if we remove FG at the next election and vote FF in we’ll get the exact same. This broadcasting charge covering all devices was in the pipes under the last FF government and they’ll push it through when they’re back in as well. So the Irish people have to break from the habit of a lifetime and vote in a government that does not include FG or FF!

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:41 PM

@Dan: VAT paid on device purchase and VAT paid to Internet service provider monthly. Enough is enough. I will not pay this ‘license fee’ as access to the internet is now a human right.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:29 PM

@Dan: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Shane Dunne
    Favourite Shane Dunne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:20 AM

When you download RTÉ player you should be asked for your TV license number.

That way those who want the service can pay for it and those who don’t – won’t.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:29 AM

@Shane Dunne: and that makes it a subscription service … fair play.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:30 PM

@WoodlandBard: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:29 AM

The TV license should be abolished. Why should I or anyone else have to pay a fee for something I don’t use.

Mute Wild Goose
    Favourite Wild Goose
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:33 AM

@Mr Bojangles: Thats ‘licence’.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:39 AM

@Wild Goose: teachers pet…

Mute Mark Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Mark Fitzmaurice
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:40 AM

@Dan: that’s teacher’s

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:00 AM

@Wild Goose: it would have thought it should be ‘That’s’

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:27 AM

@Mr Bojangles: my taxes pay for childcare but I don’t have any that’s the way it goes

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:44 AM

@Mr Bojangles: Why am I paying for things that help old people?

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:10 AM

@Ed: Because, if you’re lucky, you will be old some day yourself you tool.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:58 AM

@Mr Bojangles: growing up is mandatory, growing old is a privilege granted to few.

Mute páraicS
    Favourite páraicS
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:13 AM

@tommytukamomo: Hahahaha

Mute Leroy Brown
    Favourite Leroy Brown
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:25 AM

@Wild Goose: *That’s quite pleasing.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:45 PM
    Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Mr Bojangles: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:34 AM

We do not get value for our money from RTE.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Aug 3rd 2019, 3:05 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: so very true.

Mute Declan Hickey
    Favourite Declan Hickey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:48 AM

RTE should sell the D4 site and move West. That site is worth a lot and there are towns in the west that could use the jobs and population boost.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:55 AM

@Declan Hickey: but then they’d have to get out of their D4 mentalist and interact with actual culchies.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:44 AM

@Declan Hickey: could you imagine Fair city being made in Roscommon?

Mute 5hbeZh0I
    Favourite 5hbeZh0I
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:22 PM

@Brendan Hughes: can’t be much worse than it already is

Mute Sean Bradley
    Favourite Sean Bradley
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:55 PM

@Brendan Hughes: Ros na rún?

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:53 PM

@Declan Hickey: listen they pay George Hamiliton 187 000 euro a year to commentate on football matches that we pay for the flights and hotels wherever Ireland play just to hear him keep saying ‘Danger HERE’ every 5 mins in a match – nobody is looking to poach him away to the UK ? Marrian Finnucane earns 360 000 euro just to do a weekend radio show thats 2 hours max , ya know Turbidy gets almost half a million , D’arcy 450 000 – its reality distortion field out there – they have enjoyed ads and license fee and times are moving on – they really need a serious rethink on how better to structure the public service broadcasting in ireland ( and no repeats from the UK or US does not count – neither is repeating friends 500 times – ) they are sorely lacking fresh thinking that its a hell of a task to over haul – but it would be in everyones interest – the public and the wider staff in RTE ( who are not on hundreds of thousands each ) to build a public service broadcaster for the future – but these tired old arguments and shifting deck chairs approach will not last into the next decade )

Mute Paul O'Sullivan

I do not think we get value for our money from RTE.

Mute Leroy Brown
    Favourite Leroy Brown
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:26 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: come again?

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Paul O’Sullivan: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:55 AM

How can RTE/Government justify the TV licence?

The UK pay a licence to prop up the BBC, but on the BBC, you get no ads, no sponsored programmes, and a large selection of excellent funded shows on multiple channels.

RTE on the other hand, has the TV licence (revenue) ads every 15 minutes (revenue), programmes sponsored (generally the sponsor covers the cost of the show, so huge revenue) and they only produce a smattering of funded shows. They also can’t seem to get it together to get the rights to show our national football or rugby team.

Channel 6/TV3/Virgin – no revenue from TV licence and yet is doing more than RTE, especially around sport.

I feel the licence isn’t propping up RTE but propping up the enormous salaries of the like of Ryan Tubridy and constant showings of wee Daniel and Nathan on the Late Late Show and TG4

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:34 PM

@JC: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:13 PM

@JC: sheer boredom!!!

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor

Another tax .

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:31 PM

@Leo Lalor: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:32 AM

We pay our tv licence only because we have to, we don’t watch rte and don’t intend to.
    We listen to Newstalk and only watch Sat channels.
    RTE is basically biased rubbish.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@tommytukamomo: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Aug 2nd 2019, 3:08 PM

@tommytukamomo: You listen to Newstalk and think RTE is biased rubbish???

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:12 PM

@Squiddley Diddley: Newstalk is Fine Gael fm. They don’t even hide it. Most of our media including print are biased towards the state and the main political parties.

Mute Mandy Seiler
    Favourite Mandy Seiler
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:42 AM

Nope. No. Nu-uh. Already paying TV license for the privilege to have a TV, I rightfully own, in my living room. I have no boxes (sky, etc) attached and have no channels other than Netflix, which i pay for as well. I have not watched RTE in years. On the rare occasion that they actually had a program worth watching I tried to watch it on the player, which is a dreadful app. Crashes, editing is non-existent, gets stuck on far too may ads that start in mid-sentence of the person talking. Irritating, poor service. I am happy to pay for programs I want to see – assuming they are ad free then. As for the license. Ludicrous money spent for no service as is.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:32 PM

@Mandy Seiler: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Mandy Seiler
    Favourite Mandy Seiler
    Aug 3rd 2019, 12:56 AM

@Me_a_monkey: Signed! And shared. Thanks!

Mute Marty from Sligo
    Favourite Marty from Sligo
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:39 AM

I think the TV licence should be scrapped because a lot of people do not watch RTE television. If RTE want more money they should advertise more.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:31 PM

@Marty from Sligo: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Thomas L
    Favourite Thomas L
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:28 AM

Nobody under 35 sits and watches television, it just doesnt happen, now rte want money from the up and coming generations because their viewer base has one foot in the grave, no offense to the oldies here but this is the truth. Rte should be sold and privatised and the license issue is a non starter.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:04 PM

@Thomas L: actually yes they do, quite heavily but they don’t watch the sh!te RTE spits out.

You could probably argue at this stage that the licence is unconstitutional because it’s a subscription to a set of services anyone in the country under 50 rarely use.

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:38 PM

@Me_a_monkey: They sit and watch on-demand content on a screen for hours on end, but they don’t watch television.

In saying that I really do believe in having an impartial media source that can’t be bought over by capitalist interests, but it needs to be provided for by the taxes already generated.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:08 PM

@Cynical: usually they watch it on a television from experience. It’s the best way to watch Netflix, amazon prime, sky box sets, virgin on demand, Illegal streaming etc.

RTE is dead, and over the next two generations it will have literally eff all subscribers. Hence why they’re trying to do something with the TV licence.

If they’re successful it wouldn’t surprise me if all the online subscription based providers didn’t start to look for a piece of the pie which based on RTE, they may be entitled to….

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Aug 2nd 2019, 3:40 PM

@Me_a_monkey: If the new licence fee does go ahead, I hope other providers such as TheJournal.ie do get a piece of the pie. They would be more than entitled to an equal share.

I do suppose you’re right about the term television being the same for the modern audiences even if they are not receiving a transmitted signal.

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:15 PM

@Thomas L: do the rte presenters seriously consider themselves talanted

Mute Marian O Sullivan
    Favourite Marian O Sullivan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:13 AM

TV licence shouldn’t be there in the first place!

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:33 PM

@Marian O Sullivan: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:10 AM

It’s an attempt to get easy cash to pay for the national broadband plan

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Anne Marie Devlin: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:49 AM

Ridiculous. At this stage they’re just taxing everything to the hilt. Also I don’t see how they could possibly enforce this. I think I may just invest in a few dogs and a large gate instead.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Adam Conroy: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Aug 2nd 2019, 9:24 AM

If they wanted to implement this fairly, they could charge people to buy or subscribe to the apps to watch RTE. A lot more easier to do and a lot more fairer, rather than forcing everybody with a device to pay for what is essentially the govs biggest publicity and self promotional asset.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:31 AM

For the service RTE give they are not worth tuppence, no fee at all.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Eugene Comaskey: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:23 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: rte should look up in the dictionary the words.. Talent.. And creative.. And then see if their output measures up to their findings… They are crying out for new faces.. New ideas.. Especially in drama… Sport.. News presentation.. Light entertainment.. Presenters.. And improving the T in. TH..!!

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:43 AM

the licence fee should be scrapped altogether – RTE should have to earn its money through advertising- and maybe if it paid its so called ‘stars’ a bit less they need not be as greedy . most people already use a subscription service for their tv -sky ,netflix, vodafone tv , virgin media – which ever one, as well as paying rental and call charges to the phone companies for broadband etc . everything this government comes up with is another charge or tax – we have little left at the end of the month as it is !

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:24 PM

@Eric Davies: so called STARS!!!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:52 AM

Rte is not value for money.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@@mdmak33: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Eddie Mc Keown
    Favourite Eddie Mc Keown
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:00 AM

Why should we pay for tubbs salary outdated shows and big wig cronies. Rte should not get the lience fee .it shouldn’t get tax payers money.
    Just pull the plug already.

What about other providers
    Where is there share ???

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:35 PM

@Eddie Mc Keown: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:32 PM

@Eddie Mc Keown: tubs is so really flat.. Surely the ratings have to be fake news.. In ratings certain sets are measured to gauge whom is watching what programs.. Tam ratings.. But somebody watching a program for ten minutes is counted as a view…!!!!

Mute A J
    Favourite A J
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:30 AM

So RTE reckon the output they broadcast is worth more than Netflix or Prime? Somehow I don’t think so – they regurgitate the cheapest thing they can find on the market – they don’t even have a proper news team. I can watch many news channels free via my Apple TV box and with a cheap monthly subscription to Netflix can watch the latest and greatest TV shows and movies from around the world.
    Why am I forced to pay for rubbish I do not want or need?
    The government should accept that the country neither wants nor can afford RTE, scrap the licence fee and let the service find its own way in the world.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@A J: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:08 PM

@A J: The TV ratings disagree with you.

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:24 AM

Proper broadcasting has to be paid for if not you get Sky News or Fox News round the clock, sorry you cannot have it for nuffink so pay up

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:32 AM

@Karl Phillips: RTE news can fairly biased as well.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett

@Karl Phillips: i think people might pay for a licence if salaries for those big wigs in Rte were slashed. Also if there were some decent programs on. I for one dont watch Rte and subscribe to Netflix. I get the news on local radio station and loads of stations on free sat . Enough money has been pumped into that Rte quagmire only for retired Presenters to appear on the screen again.

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles

@Karl Phillips: Proper broadcasting? Jaysus, I’m after spitting my Cornflakes all over the floor bhahahahah

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:40 AM

@Mr Bojangles: lol

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:44 AM

@Dave Barrett: you do realise that the TV license also provides additional non-commercial funding to local radio stations who would be too small to be otherwise commercially viable?

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:46 AM

@Mr Bojangles: Are they Kellogg’s Cornflakes? If not that shouldn’t be a capital c. ; )

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:58 AM

@Karl Phillips: Pay up for not using it? Should I pay to keep your car running as well? Numpty

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:08 AM

@Darren Byrne: Absolutely Darren, I’m not going to pay my TV license anymore. With the money I’m saving I can afford to bypass Aldi and Lidl products and go for the top brands.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:30 AM

@Vocal Outrage: the stations i listen to fund them selves from goo advertising and dont need funding from license fees

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:33 PM

@Dave Barrett: ex news reader!!!

Mute G.M Lockjoy
    Favourite G.M Lockjoy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:09 AM

Poll:
    Should we have to pay for the tripe on RTÉ?
    Yes?
    No?
    Absolutely Not?

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@G.M Lockjoy: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:58 AM

Back to a Nokia 3310 so

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Aug 5th 2019, 12:32 AM

@Sean Whelan: ? they already have !

Mute Life is short enjoy it
    Favourite Life is short enjoy it
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:47 AM

Time for those to move with the times RTE needs to be rebranded and come as subscription. And the licence fees s thing of the past.

Then with normal radio , I am guessing the state still controls the air waves. So each radio station rents the frequency from the state. To cover maintenance costs.

Online radio up to the person whom runs wheather it charges or not.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Life is short enjoy it: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute LManuelCB
    Favourite LManuelCB
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:39 AM

So are we ready to go out to the streets? People have the power to change legislations. This is very unfair and needs change.

Mute Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Favourite Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:59 AM

RTE must be telling their employees to vote “Yes”, there is NO WAY that someone would vote “Yes” to this, paying tax to use the internet! That should be a right of the people not a tax.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:07 PM

@Declan Tiberius Kelly: I bet you have a nice tin foil hat.

Mute Rodney Williams
    Favourite Rodney Williams
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:08 AM

I only listen to the wireless.
    Can I have a wireless only licence please?

Mute Lorr
    Favourite Lorr
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:40 AM

Tv licence is a joke. I rang yesterday to say that I am moving out of a rental property back home (to a house with a tv licence already) and could I cancel the dd every month as I don’t need a tv licence now. I was told no I have to keep paying for it until it expires in 2020. Essentially stealing money from me for another year for something I no longer need.. so no scrap it or make them shorter terms I.e. 3 months or 6 months +. Ridiculous carry on

Mute Ciarán Purcell
    Favourite Ciarán Purcell
    Aug 2nd 2019, 3:49 PM

@Lorr: just cancel your DD and there is nothing they can do. Its your money.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:10 AM

No, it should be scrapped altogether..
    We don’t need hundreds of small taxes

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:20 AM

How many times does RTE need to be told. Well should be able to subscribe BY choice not forced its a dictatorship

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:10 PM

FG told us the USC charge was temporary. It’s still they. They did reduce it but looks like they are going to use this as another way to take money off everyone.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:20 AM

Should be paid for with advertising on the channel…. oh wait…

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Anthony Clark: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:52 AM

Ha ha, who watches RTÉ anyway? Fück off!

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@Cosmological: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Simon Moore
    Favourite Simon Moore
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:43 AM

No, put the likes of RTE behind a paywall and people who want it can pay for it. Much smarter!

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:46 AM

There’s a lot of people here who claim they never watch anything on RTE.

Mute Ken Bramley
    Favourite Ken Bramley
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:38 AM

@Ed: Eh maybe the 200,000 Polish !

Mute Laura Clayton
    Favourite Laura Clayton
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:12 PM

@Ed: I don’t watch RTE, I don’t have RTE in my home and I don’t want RTE in my home. Why should I pay for it?

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:05 PM

@Laura Clayton: I don’t have any children so why should my taxes be spent on anything child related?

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:07 PM

Another tax. Shower of ……..

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:43 AM

Useless app , the times I went to watch anything it was painful and full of ads before the program even starts.
    But we know that’s not the reason they just want hit the 15% without a tv tax licence.
    To be honest it’s an outdated model of revenue collection, although the uk still sells black and white tv licenses ffs

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey

@John Walsh: well let’s do something sign the petition!

Mute Tony Corbàn
    Favourite Tony Corbàn
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:54 PM

I pay Vat on everything so I already pay tax on my phone & Wifi and the Electricity

Mute Fox&hounddog
    Favourite Fox&hounddog
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:46 AM

No

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:57 AM

No way. I already to without a TV as can’t afford or want to pay the license, which is my choice, and one I’ve lived with for 17years now but to take my phone away from me too is stupid. Just because I could technically watch TV on the tiny screen, hurting my eyes, giving me headaches, if the signal was strong enough, does not mean I am going to I have my phone to contact people and check emails and the likes f the journal. Beep off if you thinking your charging a TV license for my phone!!!

Mute SkylineSi
    Favourite SkylineSi
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:07 AM

Also opens a can of worms if you work from home and have a work notebook and phone – who pays?

Mute Michael Mcgregor
    Favourite Michael Mcgregor
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:40 AM

This may entrap more people into buying licences thus increasing their income. You can also bet there will be a hefty increase in the fee on top of that too.

Mute tipptop9
    Favourite tipptop9
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:05 PM

Wow, 17% of turkeys are voting for Christmas.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:52 AM

IPTV is the future

Mute Laz Mahon
    Favourite Laz Mahon
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:57 PM

This pandering to RTE will very much turn into a situation like the demonstration for the water charges . Who cares about RTE spin, with its ongoing biased media output platform . Not many people watch RTE and if the organisation who constantly waste Irish Tax payers money believe in such rubbish, put  it up on pay per view and give the Irish people the option to choose, and see what happens . They are still in debt of 18million if not more, even after selling prime land. This ” Gravy train” will soon stop as the Irish people are fed up pumping money into a failed incompetatant not fit for purpose organisation. 
    Sack the Management now .
    Start by cutting your workforce, for instance, why do you need four to six staff lying around drinking coffee prior to reading the news on Morning Ireland. The Management have some cheek fishing constantly for  additional funding, how do you think the private TV companies survive and make money . What a sham . I think Leo needs more invitations from RTE than watching only one program, Dancing with the stars final with Dee Forbes for a proper shake down to increase the licence TV fee .This is very much like trying to hide a TV licence increase under a new name called the Broadcasting charge. Irish people will not be conned again.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:44 PM

What is the charge for exactly? Is it a charge to use RTÉ? Or if it a charge to own a device that’s theoretically capable of broadcasting RTÉ? I have no problem with the former. The latter rankles a little though. I don’t really use RTÉ and I’m not sure I understand why my owning a smartphone means I have to send money their way.

Mute Delboy79
    Favourite Delboy79
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:05 AM

Tv licence for phones and laptops!!! Get the f**k.

Mute Rodney Williams
    Favourite Rodney Williams
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:09 AM

@Delboy79:
    Won’t be as simple as that …
    They’ll do it via “sneaky” charges

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:20 PM

QUOTE: “For political reasons, the government does not want to be seen as bringing in anything called a ‘household charge’, even if that is essentially what this is.”
    #WAKETHEPEOPLEUP

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/new-broadcasting-charge-how-will-it-work-how-much-will-it-cost-who-has-to-pay-38369134.html

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Aug 2nd 2019, 10:22 AM

That enough people pay tv licence certificate should include PIN number put TV & mobile & tablet all for one €160

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:08 PM

@Brian Flavin: why? We already pay a subscription to online services, why should the government be able to cash in again on them when they already charge vat on these services?

RTE is the only thing being funded by the licence fees and it’s tv and radio stations are pure tripe.

Mute Matthew Handibode
    Favourite Matthew Handibode
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:06 PM

Hold up, why are we still paying for rte? They made over 300 million last year from advertising revenue alone. Not for profit my arse.

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:17 PM

Why is the tv licence in Uk is for bbc because they have no adds to generate money, but RTÉ have loads of adds and licence? Also don’t watch RTÉ from one end of the year to another, absolute garbage on all them. Only watch sky/Netflix?

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 2nd 2019, 4:32 PM

It should be scrapped just like RTÉ paying big saleries for clowns

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Aug 2nd 2019, 11:17 AM

@life
    What bs that is ,just go ahead the direct debit.
    What are they to do?

Mute James McArdle
    Favourite James McArdle
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:03 PM

The irony of Michael Healy Rae giving out about a new way of collecting an already existing charge on RTÉ with no idea that without public service broadcasting, in the current billionaire controlled media, his opposition views would be plainly ignored. The future without public service news content is currently playing itself out in the US. People can complain about the fee, or it’s collection, but must also think of the implications of getting all their news from private interests, such as Facebook, who’s influence was seen in the Brexit and US elections.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Aug 2nd 2019, 6:08 PM

This Government are in a Race to Crucify the elderly, this is a step too far. TOO FECKIN FAR WHILE MONEY IS FIRED LEFT RIGHT AND CENTRE INTO USELESS RTÉ 1, 2, AND TG 4, Amalgamate the lot into ONE.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:51 PM

Close down rte nobody looks at ir its crap

Mute Stephen Walshe
    Favourite Stephen Walshe
    Aug 3rd 2019, 7:31 AM

I recently moved into a new house didn’t bother with getting sky or any of the “normal srvices” never watched them in the old house,so i just got Netflix, so Im expected to pay for Miriam o callaghan ridiculous wage to host rubbish shows and ray Darcy for that farce of a saturday night show no chance.

Mute Paddy O Rourke
    Favourite Paddy O Rourke
    Aug 2nd 2019, 4:53 PM

Tom Cruise moving to Fair City

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Aug 5th 2019, 12:37 AM

@Paddy O Rourke: another good reason NOT to watch it then !

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Aug 3rd 2019, 3:02 PM

Make RTE a subscription service, then they will get all the money they are worthy of. Instead of stealing money off of those who have no interest in absolute rubbish they show.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Aug 2nd 2019, 9:46 PM

Who are the nearly two thousand godshites who said yes , are they well in the head

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:07 PM

The TV license is not only about RTE. All the wailing and nashing of teeth and you dont understand what the damn thing pays for.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:56 PM

@Gary Kearney: it also pays for radio stations but many will argue that they don’t listen to radio either because it is full of ads and someone else’s choice of music only use Spotify. The world has changed.

Mute Rosiemonstre
    Favourite Rosiemonstre
    Aug 2nd 2019, 2:44 PM

It also pays for the orchestras, funds specialist radio, performing groups. It’s actually the most erroneously named tax. Basically, it pays for culture.

Mute Cindy Brolin
    Favourite Cindy Brolin
    Aug 3rd 2019, 3:33 PM

This system was introduced in Sweden a few years ago, but was overthrown after being challenged in court by a private citizen (with no legal training, I might add!). The licensing authorities had to refund millions to ppl who had been charged and had paid this illicit fee. The same should be done here, not least since Public Service broadcasts in Ireland are commercialized. And, of course, since PS these days have very little of interest to offer it’s public!
    Another cooking program, property show or OTT soap, anyone??

Mute Michael Hogan
    Favourite Michael Hogan
    Aug 2nd 2019, 8:25 PM

I would have no problem with the License fee if RTE upped their output and didn’t bombard us with Repeat programmes.
    Can anybody tell me what percentage of RTE Television schedule are Repeats.

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Aug 3rd 2019, 4:54 AM

Another Fianna gael tax