You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Peaches Geldof had to apologise for tweeting about the Ian Watkins case. PA Wire/Press Association Images

Be careful what you tweet: British social media users face fines

Facebook and Twitter users got official Government warning from today on discussing details of ongoing court cases.

THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT is to tell Twitter and Facebook users how to avoid “inadvertently breaking the law” by revealing banned details from court cases.

Legal advisories previously sent only to the mainstream media will be published on social media networks in recognition of the fact that newspapers and television no longer have a monopoly on news.

There are strict rules in place in the UK on what can be reported or publicly discussed about a court case, with fines levied on those deemed to have prejudiced a fair trial, while it is also illegal to identify some victims of crime.

But these rules are increasingly being broken by users of social networks, most recently when socialite Peaches Geldof tweeted the names of two mothers whose babies were involved in sexual abuse orchestrated by disgraced rock star Ian Watkins.

Geldof apologised and swiftly deleted the tweets but police are considering whether to press charges under the law protecting the identity of victims in sexual offences cases.

“Blogs and social media sites like Twitter and Facebook mean that individuals can now reach thousands of people with a single tweet or post,” said Attorney General Dominic Grieve, the government’s chief legal advisor.

“This is an exciting prospect, but it can pose certain challenges to the criminal justice system.

“In days gone by, it was only the mainstream media that had the opportunity to bring information relating to a court case to such a large group of people that it could put a court case at risk. That is no longer the case, and is why I have decided to publish the advisories that I have previously only issued to the media.”

“This is not about telling people what they can or cannot talk about on social media; quite the opposite in fact, it’s designed to help facilitate commentary in a lawful way.

Grieve said he hoped to “stop people from inadvertently breaking the law”.

The British attorney general’s advisories will be published on his website and his Twitter account.

In Ireland, there has been no official warning about social media and legal cases, in terms of prejudicing legal cases. On a personal level, however, businessman Declan Ganley reached a minor settlement out of court and received an apology in January from a blogger who made defamatory comments about him on Twitter this time last year.

© – AFP 2013

Read: Peaches Geldof defends tweeting names of mothers involved in Lostprophets court case >

Can you get arrested for things you say on Facebook and Twitter?>

Read: French court says Twitter must identify racist tweet authors >

View 30 comments
30 Comments
    Mute Eliza Mac
    Favourite Eliza Mac
    Dec 4th 2013, 3:42 PM

I would happily back a news blackout on such stories until slime sacks like Watkins are rotting behind bars. If saying the “wrong thing” could help his case in any way, then just shut up.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:22 PM

Eliza

Calling Watkins a slime sack, could lead you open to legal action for slander, however your defence could be honest opinion.

Until Watkins is convicted in court he is entitled to his innocence that is the law.

Regardless of the above I agree with you.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:26 PM

Not slander; libel, and if its true then its not libel or slander

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:26 PM

Identifying the children involved is the issue, he’s already pleaded guilty.

Mute joe stodge
    Favourite joe stodge
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:34 PM

Watkins has been convicted in court, go mad…

Mute Niall Boylan
    Favourite Niall Boylan
    Dec 4th 2013, 5:27 PM

Actually the laws of libel and slander are gone, as it is all covered under defamation since January 2010.

One was the spoken word and one is the written word. Defamation covers both now.

Mute Niall Boylan
    Favourite Niall Boylan
    Dec 4th 2013, 6:12 PM

Anti-social network, Also in relation to your comment about libel. The police are not looking at it as libel, as it’s clearly contempt of court and breach of subjudice as directed by the courts.

Mute thomas the tank
    Favourite thomas the tank
    Dec 4th 2013, 7:33 PM

He admitted guilt,dirtbag should be set on fire

Mute Tom Toms
    Favourite Tom Toms
    Dec 5th 2013, 12:06 AM

Not libel; Defamation. The 2009 Defamation Act abolished the separate torts of slander and libel and created “the tort of defamation”.

Mute Pauric McKenna
    Favourite Pauric McKenna
    Dec 4th 2013, 3:27 PM

So its still ok to say what I like on thejournal.ie?

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:36 PM

I’ve seen people in court cases identified on here and elsewhere by posters. The post gets deleted pretty lively when it does happen to be fair. But it only takes a few people to view it, and word of mouth and the rumour mill take over.

That’s the nature of realtime commenting, and as a result the net can be a dangerous place for online publications.

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:12 PM

They should just jail your wan of the Geldofs anyway, it might shut her up for a while.

Mute Nigel Sinnott
    Favourite Nigel Sinnott
    Dec 4th 2013, 3:44 PM

The Irish authorities will bring in similar legislation soon after the Brits do. That’s how our system works, just copy the Brits.

Mute Darren Martin
    Favourite Darren Martin
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:20 PM

Like the smoking ban??… Ohhh wait…

Mute Matt Crosbie
    Favourite Matt Crosbie
    Dec 4th 2013, 6:51 PM

Peaches is a dumb c***. what Watkins did is absolutely deplorable, no question. But now she not only selfishly compromised the case but the anonymity and safety that watkins victims deserve just for the sake of twitter hits

Mute Sknik
    Favourite Sknik
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:10 PM

Censorship on the horizon lads. Best download all the kinky stuff while you still have the chance.

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 4th 2013, 3:32 PM

Shinnerbots beware :)

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Dec 4th 2013, 3:51 PM

Do you ever give it a rest ken?

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:12 PM

You spout libelous slander on here all the time and seem to know an awful lot about shady goings on. So you will need to shut up too. By the way do you ever go to the gardai with your evidence?

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:33 PM

Wow,Kenneth,2 words,lie down for a few hours,that must have been mentally exhausting for you!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:21 PM

Im no fan of Peaches Geldof, but its sad she may be prosecuted for reporting valuable info about a predator. Its really getting to the stage that anything you say might get you in trouble, even when you’re in the right.

Mute Peter Gibney
    Favourite Peter Gibney
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:32 PM

The issue is that by revealing the names of the women, she implicitly revealed the names of the victims. It’s the victims’ right to anonymity that’s the issue here, not the perpetrator’s. Hence Watkins does not have anonymity.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:45 PM

The difference is though its written. If you wrote something on the wall lets say in the 1970s like politician A is a paedo or whatever, you wouldnt be suprised in the albeit unlikely event of being arrested if identified

Its impossible to enforce this twitter thing. PErsonally I would ban twitter but thats not going to happen. For all newpsapers with comment sections below like this one they should not allow comments on cases involving an ongoing or upcoming court case or appeal.

If this peaches character had merely told a friend verbally on the telephone for example she knew the name the name would get out by the grapevine and she wouldn’t be in any trouble because it would be impossible to identify where the ‘rumour’ or ‘name’ came from.

Its almost impossible to cut this sort of event or similar from happening again. In this case Peaches was stupid and just stupid as someone who ran into a shopping mall and shouted the names of the children. The only solution is to get rid of brain fart media like twitter and fbook will never happen though for obvious reasons. It will be used as another excuse for governments to try and control anonymity on the internet. It will certainly create more work for lawyers.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Dec 4th 2013, 5:21 PM

Sean ffs would you ever just inform yourself. Your just like Peaches. The reason these women were not named in court was to protect the identity of the children/victims. Do you have an issue with protecting these victims as they would have gone through more than enough already. I think these women should be exposed but I’m willing to waive that to protect these children.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2013, 5:58 PM

Mjhint As a matter of fact I agree with you re the protection issue and that changes my stance, but on a broader level I think its outrageous the way the media has synced with social media to make an even more contemptible, morally all over the place entity that allows footballers to seek injunctions when they cheat but not someone to give details to add to a criminal case. But I do agree now that protecting children, in such a case as this, is actually paramount.

Mute Cloven Clover
    Favourite Cloven Clover
    Dec 5th 2013, 12:17 AM

Apparently the courts website published the names originally and that’s where Peaches Geldof got them. So what was viewed as a “clerical error” on the courts behalf is considered punishable on hers. Seems a bit unfair to me. I totally understand why the names have to be kept secret for the victims but the court did publish them first.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Dec 4th 2013, 6:04 PM

“This is not about telling people what they can or cannot talk about on social media; quite the opposite in fact, it’s designed to help facilitate commentary in a lawful way”.said Attorney General Dominic Grieve, the government’s chief legal advisor.
    It sounds like that is precicely what you are doing Mr Grieve! This is more about scaremongering to bring in censorship of the internet now that the usual prattle about children being bullied on social media has died down. They don’t miss a trick! Now people can’t even have a good gossip online without them sticking their oar in. What they will publish next is a list of “pre-aproved, government sanctioned topics of conversation to be allowed on social media.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2013, 4:18 PM

It’s beyond control whether they like it or not.

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 4th 2013, 11:54 PM

Shinnerbots- glorifying terrorism us a crime in the uk :)

Mute Paul Murray
    Favourite Paul Murray
    Dec 5th 2013, 1:23 AM

Shinnerbots Is that the best thing you could come up with. Your after posting it so much today that it seems you think it’s the funniest thing since your mother got laid. Hears a hint for you spambot, it ain’t bloody funny. The only thing funny about it us that it makes you look like a tool.