You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A boy stands next to a burned cars following Saturday night's rocket attacks from the Gaza Strip, in Ashdod, southern Israel, early Sunday, 30 October. Ariel Schalit/AP/Press Association Images

Two killed after Israeli aircraft strike Gaza Strip

Two men reported dead after Israeli aircraft struck the southern Gaza Strip targeting rocket-launching militants.

ISRAELI AIRCRAFT STRUCK the southern Gaza Strip targeting rocket-launching militants, the military said today, and Palestinian officials reported that two men were found dead in the area.

The strike came after two days of rocket attacks and airstrikes that risked escalating into a more serious cycle of violence, although Israel’s defence minister downplayed the chances that a large-scale ground offensive into Gaza would be launched.

The Israeli military said in a statement that its aircraft attacked a squad that had just fired a rocket into Israel.

Palestinian security officials said two bodies were discovered around dawn wearing the uniform of al-Ahrar, or “The Free People”, a little-known group with ties to Gaza’s militant Hamas rulers that previously had no history of violence against Israel.

The men were unarmed and no rocket launchers were found in the area, the officials said.

Deadly violence between Israel and Gaza militants flared over the weekend. In earlier exchanges of rockets and airstrikes, 10 militants and an Israeli civilian were killed.

But despite the worst bloodshed in months, both sides have indicated they were interested in restoring calm.

Israeli defence officials are eager to contain the attacks on southern Israel, where more than 1 million people live within the range of Gaza militants’ rockets.

Israeli defence officials have confirmed that contingency plans have been drawn up for a broad invasion of Gaza to topple Hamas, which would require Israel to reoccupy the territory.

But they said this is a worst-case scenario among many options, and the preference is to restore the calm that has largely prevailed since 2009.

“I don’t rule out that at some point we might find ourselves required to embark upon a full-fledged operation (in Gaza),” Defense Minister Ehud Barak told Army Radio on Monday. “(But) I am not one of those people who miss returning to Gaza.”

Most of the violence this weekend has been between Israel and Islamic Jihad, an Iranian-backed group that is considered even more extreme than Hamas.

On Sunday, Islamic Jihad said it was prepared to halt the violence provided Israel would do so, too.

While acknowledging that Hamas militants were not directly responsible for the recent rocket fire, Israel says it holds the group accountable for attacks from Gaza. And there is little doubt that Hamas’ control — when it wants to exercise it — is strong.

Hamas, which overran Gaza in June 2007, lost hundreds of men in a fierce Israeli war against rocket squads three years ago and has largely maintained calm since then.

The group is also waiting for Israel to free more than 500 Palestinian prisoners in a second phase of a swap for a long-held Israeli soldier.

Read: Gaza militants offer ceasefire as attacks continue>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Fiona Ní HAnrachtaigh
    Favourite Fiona Ní HAnrachtaigh
    Sep 16th 2013, 9:46 AM

i didnt think it possible that there are still soooooo many stupid people out there…..peoples…..u dont pay fines online or sign up to help someone claim 200 billion dollars cause your name is similar to that of a deceased 2000 miles away ….wake up….smell the coffee!!!!!!! they should have mental institutions for those dumb enuf to pay this crap….to be THAT stupid is a crime!

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:10 AM

Jeez it must be great to be you Fiona. Unfortunately, there are many people who are not as au fait as you obviously are with a computer. These articles are generally aimed at those people in the hope that they won’t be caught out.
    By the way, the people I think should be locked up are those who spell ‘you’ ‘u’ and enough ‘enuf’ to name a couple, and who neglect to use any form of grammar or punctuation.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:30 AM

Does that mean the very religious Widow of the Nigerian Foreign Minister will not be sending her husbands money to my Bank Account ?

Mute David Harris
    Favourite David Harris
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:35 AM

On a related topic the Garda badge and other Garda marked items such as hats and mugs are freely on sale in various Dublin city center shops. This is easily incorporated into a wallet to produce a credible Yards id. Why is this permitted?

Mute David Harris
    Favourite David Harris
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:39 AM

For Yards read Garda….. Monday morning, stubby fingers and too smart phone!

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:59 AM

Maybe make the Gardai aware of these products , it is possible they don’t know about them

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:14 AM

Garda badge can be used as a logo under license. Same as nypd. But wearing it here bit of a grey area its fine but if it resembles a uniform its an offence and can be taken.

As for ransomware best thing is to have a good firewall and anti virus. Nothing guards can do as the servers are located in russia and we know how helpful they are.

If you get infected with this here is wiick fix.

Turn off your pc by holding down power button for 5 seconds till it dies.

Restart and after bios screen which is very very first thing on screen press f8 and hold.

Menu pops up. Select safe mode with networking.

Start windows. Will look awful but open your Internet go to google search anti malware . download whatever you choose run it and it will root it out. After that restart.

Done sorted.

Now please sent me 50 euro care of the journal.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:59 AM

The Garda name, logo and corporate identity is a registered trademark and subject to copyright. The logo can only be used with the permission of the Garda Commissioner.

Gardaí have seized such goods from several shops in the past. It is possible that some goods in tourist shops etc. are licensed as souvenirs. See related article here:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2007/0703/ireland/businessman-warned-over-misuse-of-garda-logo-36354.html

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:01 PM

Send me your account details, PIN number, mothers maiden name and I will deposit the 50 in! ;)

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Sep 16th 2013, 2:14 PM

The logo can be used with permission on mugs, keyrings and that kind of thing. Not allowed on items of clothing at all.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:03 PM

Certainly a good few crimes against grammar in your post there, Fiona. Not everyone has the shining brilliance you seem to think you possess!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:39 PM

Scotland Yard guard is it?!

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Sep 17th 2013, 12:10 AM

Nice one Mary !

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:29 AM

On the off chance anyone reading the article is infected with that bit of malware. The simple fix is start the pc tapping f8. Get into the repair my computer screen and do a system restore back to a date before you were infected

Mute Pat Kavanagh
    Favourite Pat Kavanagh
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:56 PM

This is a good short term solution but if a computer has come into contact with this virus it is most likely due to be lack of Internet security and rolling it back will not remove it fully. Any time I’ve seen this virus it usually has different virus’s close by waiting to infect the machine again. To make sure the any virus is gone you need to ask a professional to take a look at it

Mute Jim Nielsen
    Favourite Jim Nielsen
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:19 PM

While it makes sense to perform a system restore to remove virus it creates a false sense of security. To protect data such as images, documents and music try moving it from the default folder preferably on a partition other than the default system partition – and of course ensure that any virus software is updated t latest definition file.
    Virus software can be dloaded free of charge (avg, panda as well as MS Security Essentials)

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Sep 16th 2013, 8:10 PM

To remove this virus restart your computer in Safe Mode with Command Prompt, press F8 when booting and choose “Safe Mode with Command Prompt” from the options provided.
    If using XP at the command prompt, type rstrui.exe, and then press Enter, or if you are using Windows Vista, 7 and 8, you can type: C:\windows\system32\rstrui.exe , and press Enter.
    System Restore should start, and you will display also a list of restore points. Try using a restore point created just before the date and time the virus has infected your computer.
    When System Restore has completed its task, start your computer in Windows regular mode, and perform a scan with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

http://malwaretips.com/download-malwarebytes

Mute Stephen MacMahon
    Favourite Stephen MacMahon
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:00 AM

Was in the Garda station renewing my passport a while back and this old chap had brought his laptop into the station. The screen was frozen, even after rebooting . He was in the Garda station to pay in person, as ironically he didn’t trust online payments. So it does happen. I just butted in and recommended that he, reboot, hold down f12 and let the laptop boot as normal. Seemed to work

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:08 PM

I got an email from some guy saying he was the favourite some of a very rich chief. His da was in a spot f bother with the government and needed to hide tonnes of money somewhere. Offered me 10% if I would put a couple of million in my bank account. Quinn I think he said, from Fermanagh or somewhere..
    Needless to say I copped that it was a scam right away.. ;-)

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Favourite Jackie Culligan
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:39 PM

“a victim of such crime should report it to their local Garda station” so the Garda at the desk can look at you as if you have two heads while informing you that the Garda don’t deal with this sorta thing

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®
    Sep 16th 2013, 9:45 AM

I’m guessing, if ya have done something wrong,a Garda will call to your door! Eg non payment of TV license, jay,-walking, sneezing! As apposed to playing second google in Anglo bank where you get diplomatic immunity!

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:33 PM

@Bob, jaywalking and sneezing are not an offence and the Gardai are not tv licence inspectors, they just follow up on a court issued warrant if a court fine isn’t paid. And if you were just trying to be funny, it was a pretty poor effort

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:37 PM

I want to read the advice on the Garda website but my computer says that it’s locked…

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:40 AM

Linux

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:05 PM

First tine I’ve agreed with you, Morticia!

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:26 AM

Annette I hope u r readin dis an my spelin is gud enuf for u. I luv fcuking de english language.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Sep 16th 2013, 12:02 PM

If your name is anything to go by, you love f*cking the Irish language too.

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    Sep 16th 2013, 1:09 PM

Tristan, if you have no problem with people thinking you’re an illiterate idiot… Well then neither do I. :)

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:13 PM

Not that Fiona is any better in writing “as Gaeilge”. Surely the “h” in Ní HAnrachtaigh should be lower case as it’s used to inflect the name, the first letter of which is A, ie, Ní hAnrachtaigh?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:41 PM

Wha???

Mute Niall Connery
    Favourite Niall Connery
    Sep 16th 2013, 10:35 AM

I paid my unlock fee last month and it worked. So it does happen.

Mute Conor Gallagher
    Favourite Conor Gallagher
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:06 AM

Hello, I’m the wallet inspector, can I see your wallet please?

Mute Gary Mason™
    Favourite Gary Mason™
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:26 AM

Well done you

Mute Patrick Jackman
    Favourite Patrick Jackman
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:18 AM

If it looks like a scam it is a scam. There is another one doing the rounds, you get a call from someone claiming to be a garda saying you left a petrol pump without paying and unless you pay now i.e. submit your card details they are coming around to make an arrest.

Mute jake mansfield
    Favourite jake mansfield
    Sep 16th 2013, 6:07 PM

Where the hell is Harry?

Mute Alan Downes
    Favourite Alan Downes
    Sep 16th 2013, 5:04 PM

Payment is made at a pay point in a local store to these scammers, so why don’t they just get these accounts blocked by pay point.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Sep 16th 2013, 3:12 PM

The Gardai don’t bother with the internet. They will just con you out on the streets….

Mute Paul McGeough
    Favourite Paul McGeough
    Sep 16th 2013, 5:45 PM

Hilarious

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Sep 16th 2013, 7:24 PM

Hi, I’m some guy you’ve never heard of, from Latvia, or Nigeria. Send me a grand, and your bank account details, and ill lodge 10 mil into your account. Sigh!