You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This amazing story about two young Irish lads escaping to New York has taken over Facebook

What a story.

FACEBOOK PAGE RARE Irish Stuff recently posted a story about a couple of Irish boys who ran off to New York, and it’s blowing up the net.

aaa1 Keith Byrne with his mother, Theresa, at Coolock Garda Station, 1985. Rare Irish Stuff, Dermot O'Shea, RTE Rare Irish Stuff, Dermot O'Shea, RTE

The story tells the tale of two Darndale boys in 1985 and their escape to the Big Apple without being detected.

Keith Byrne, 10, and Noel Murray, 13, made headlines when they hopped on a Dart and dodged authorities in three countries to make it to New York.

The post, a retelling of an Irish Times article by Alison Healy, documents the boys’ journey when Keith said he wanted to see his favourite TV star, B A Baracus from the A Team.

B-A-Baracus-the-a-team-37372814-1280-848

When his mammy said ‘don’t go far, your dinner’s nearly ready’, he said he wouldn’t.

Lies.

The pair got the Dart down as far as Dun Laoghaire and managed to wrangle their way on the ferry to Holyhead, where they managed to sneak on the train to London and on an Air India flight to New York.

image_preview Keith Byrne now. RTE RTE

They only got caught when they left JFK and asked a cop which way was it ‘to town’. The lads made headlines all over the world. Keith Byrne is now 40, Noel is 43, and they both live in Darndale.

Since it was posted yesterday, the amazing story has been liked over 27,000 times, and shared over 11,000, with people commending the lads for their big adventure.

aa3

aa1

aa2

You can listen to the entire Radio 1 documentary here.

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-157.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2507268" class="alignnone" /end]

Read: The Irish student’s Swedish doppelganger flew to Dublin to meet her >

Read: The little girl in the Cornflakes ad now has a little girl of her own >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:45 PM

‘Which way to town’
    Hahaha.
    Class.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:45 PM

Would make a good film.

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Dec 16th 2015, 11:09 PM

It’s in the works already I hear.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:43 PM

even getting as far as London was impressive, but all the way to new York, amazing.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:19 PM

It proves how poor airport security was at that time

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:01 PM

Ah, back in the days of innocence! When you could board a plane without being x-rayed inside and out…

Mute JournalChatter
    Favourite JournalChatter
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:49 PM

Hilarious fair play to them. Looks like he’s still gutted he got caught face like a slapped arse in the current photo

Mute Suzanne Bell
    Favourite Suzanne Bell
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:13 PM

Hahaha love the slapped arse comment, unless he’s trying to replicate his younger face

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:33 PM

The American cops involved sound great to be honest. Really clued in. Treated the lads well, gave them money, took them sight seeing and made sure they got home safely. Got a good kick out of the two young Dublin lads.
    Fair play to them.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 16th 2015, 10:45 PM

Ah tommy..you’re showing your softer side. You actually listened to the doc.

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:16 PM

Great story. It’s like ‘Into the West’, but with less horses and more intercontinental air travel.

And let’s face it: there’s no way B A Baracus was getting on a plane to meet them – not without Hannibal slipping him a drugged hamburger.

Mute yelkcub
    Favourite yelkcub
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:27 PM

I ain’t gettin’ on no plane fool!

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:39 PM

An old story and a great RTE radio documentary.

BTW RTE have a great documentary archive going back I think to the 1950s

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:17 PM

In 1985 this country was a real kip unemployment was sky high the madness was in high gear up north the people had been driven so crazy by church and state that they began seeing moving statues, the best option was to bail out and that’s what a lot of our people did do accross the Atlantic and the Irish Sea

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:28 PM

You’re a miserable oul Bllx, a great story like this and you have to poop all over it…

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:21 PM

Actually paddy it was a great place..its a time and place I met most of my lifelong friends . Yes it was tough on my parents, it was a struggle on most families, interest rates up on 15% and all that. Families losing homes, we lost ours. I now have a list of life long friends that helped us. Anyway the music, the videos and the dancing of my teenage years way overshadowed the hardship. Being out late, 1am!!!, with all my girlfriends, reading the next mag to see whats in fashion, dragging my mam to shaws to see if they had it, reading the next smash hits mag to get the words of the songs..all that was only 10-15 years ago. The country might still be a kip, actually it is. But at least we can still have some resemblance of a life. Thats what we need.

Mute yelkcub
    Favourite yelkcub
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:26 PM

Great comment. Am of that vintage too, but unfortunately it’s not 10 or 15 years ago but 30. Doesn’t seem like it but it is.

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Dec 16th 2015, 11:10 PM

A name change might be in order… Paddy O’Moan

Mute Barbara O'Reilly
    Favourite Barbara O'Reilly
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:15 AM

Yes great quality documentaries. Love that one in particular.

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:58 PM

If they went to Cape Canaveral, just imagine how further they could’ve gotten. One small step, an’ all dah.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:45 PM

How did they get on a flight without tickets or passports?

Mute thomasreilly
    Favourite thomasreilly
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:54 PM

When asked their line was “mammy is coming behind us with the tickets” and kept walking.

Mute Rizwan
    Favourite Rizwan
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:46 PM

Great script for a Hollywood movie.

WJH
    Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Dec 16th 2015, 8:03 PM

I pity the fools

Mute Kelly Sandy
    Favourite Kelly Sandy
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:36 AM

This country is not a kip, I hate that word. Make of it what you will. If your life is so miserable go back to school and make it better, it’s relatively cheap here…

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Dec 16th 2015, 7:41 PM

Why did you come back.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Dec 17th 2015, 5:52 AM

Best blag story ever, and by two Irish lads so young. What guile!

Hope Keith and Noel get adequately rewarded, 30 years on, for their daring 1985 adventure.

SMcB
    Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:09 PM

Yeah… Looks like Keith Byrne’s claim to fame alright ….

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:01 AM

There was a crazy airline story a few years ago when a few SAUDI Arabians got onto a plane and crashed them into the world trade centre. Then the world reacted by destroying IRAQ.

Mute Peter Hargan
    Favourite Peter Hargan
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:28 AM

Let’s hope the Irish film board get on to this and get this story on the big screen,classic

Mute Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    Favourite Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:10 PM

they were disguised as air hostess.s

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:42 AM

This is what I see 2 kids that got through all the security barriers here England and the USA only for they asked the police officer Which way to Town (priceless)God only knows what would have became of these kids .New York is the greatest city in the world but there a lot of lunatics floating around there