Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The devastation caused by Typhoon Haiyan, are seen today in Tacloban city. Toti Navales/AP/PA

Gilmore announces €1m emergency fund for Philippines relief effort

200 tarpaulins, 85 family tents, 10,000 blankets and other basic food and hygiene necessities are also being sent.

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has announced emergency funding of €1 million towards the relief effort for Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines, as well as essential shelter items for distribution to these affected.

The €1 million Irish Aid funding will be made available through trusted Irish NGOs and will go towards shelter, food, water and health. Tents, blankets and other basic necessitates, will be made available by Irish Aid and distributed in the Philippines through NGO Plan Ireland. Ireland’s Rapid Response Corps is also on standby to provide expert help to UN agencies operating on the ground.

Speaking today, Gilmore said his thoughts are with the families of those who have perished and those waiting to hear of news from their loved ones.

Minister for Trade and Development, Joe Costello said his officials have been in contact with NGO and UN partners on the ground since Thursday to see how to best assist.

“While there are difficulties with access and the scale of the disaster is not yet clear, it’s important that we respond quickly,” he commented.

The Irish Aid funding will be provided to NGOs and will be distributed on the basis of needs assessments currently being carried out by UN, Red Cross and NGOs in the affected areas.

200 tarpaulins, 85 family tents, 10,000 blankets and other basic food and hygiene necessities are being made available from Irish Aid stocks, pre-positioned in Dubai and are due to reach the Philippines tomorrow.

Related: Irish aid workers in Philippines report roads ‘blocked due to dead bodies’>

Read: Typhoon death toll could reach 10,000 in one city alone>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

126 Comments
    Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:58 PM

For all those moaning about a million quid, we have thousands of Filipinos working in healthcare here who are paying a fortune in taxes, PRSI, USC and health insurance etc. The least we can do is send some of their contributions back to their homeland to help them rebuild.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:08 PM

That’s grand but if something happens here I hope someone is going to send us aid/money

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:13 PM

We are getting by on foreign aid right now!
    I have no doubt that if we were hit by a natural disaster and 10,000 people in the one area died while 10s of thousands were made homeless and left without food, water, shelter and meds, that other countries would come to our aid.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:20 PM

@ Tommy We are most certainly not getting by on foreign aid now. We are getting loans, that we are repaying with interest, that ain’t foreign aid!!!….. That apart, I agree with us helping those affected by this disaster.

Mute Seán Ó Dobhailen-Osb
    Favourite Seán Ó Dobhailen-Osb
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:25 PM

They have & they do Chopstix

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:25 PM

@ tommy
    It’s loans with interest we got not aid there is a huge difference

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:30 PM

The Filipino people didnt bring on this storm. Many of the Irish people are responsible for their own storm.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:33 PM

Now you are just taking out your rear tommy

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:34 PM

Stick to the topic at hand and stop being a tool.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:39 PM

Yea tommy like you’re staying on topic

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:53 PM

SORRY Tommy auld chap, but these taxes you mention belong to the Banks and the Bondholders, nothing to do with us.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:55 PM

Tommy do you need toilet paper to wipe around your mouth?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:15 PM

This report is about us giving 1 million quid to a country that has suffered a natural disaster and youre still moaning about bond holders. Try and avoid hospitals because its people like me and thousands of Filipinos who will be expected to look after you.

Mute first_timer
    Favourite first_timer
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:21 PM

Likelihood is many of these health workers will head back to help in whatever way they can… As any of us would if we were in similar circumstances working away. I wonder how much this loss will stress out health system given our reliance on them. Have had experience of some Philippino workers and all where brilliant, so sad see such devistation

Mute Laidel May Pilapil Ebuna
    Favourite Laidel May Pilapil Ebuna
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:33 PM

Thanks! I’m one of the thousands Filipinos working here in Ireland and it’s indeed a good news to read that Ireland is sending aid to my country.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:35 PM

Why don’t you go back to being pedantic on the limerick article, the one with the lady who lost her brother a while. You are a vile troll chopstix

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:41 PM

Leslie your the biggest troll on here

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:45 PM

Tommy the point you neglect to mention is we are BANKRUPT.we dont have any money and when our own mentally handicapped people need services we dont have any money to fund them.you can understand,or at least i can,people wondering where these millions come from all of a sudden.charity begins at home yea.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:08 PM

These millions? I thought it was one million

Mute Willy Willyson
    Favourite Willy Willyson
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:45 PM

Why argue? No one wins

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:20 PM

First Timer, these people have jobs here and as career breaks dont exist anymore they wont take time off to go back. They need to stay here to earn money to send home to help rebuild.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 11th 2013, 1:19 AM

Chop, the American Ireland fund has sent millions to Ireland!
    Go look it up!

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 11th 2013, 1:20 AM

Chop, are you trolling again? How old are you 16?

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 11th 2013, 9:38 AM

Deco
    If you had any brains you would see that these comments are about on the spot disaster relief

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:27 PM

Reading the posts above the word selfish comes to mind. No matter how “poor” we are we are rich in comparison to the people hit by this disaster.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:49 PM

We gave over £7 million after live aid in 1985 out of our own pockets. Things were even worse then and we were happy and proud to give what we had. The tiger has a lot to answer for.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:52 PM

Nice comment, William. I don’t agree with you on very much but you are spot on here. The milk of human kindness should never be lost.

Mute Metassus
    Favourite Metassus
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:54 PM

Well said, William.

I have rarely been more disgusted to read the thoughts of many of those that have posted on this thread. The lack of both basic compassion and any form of perspective is shocking.

To those of you who equate bond holders and bailouts with 10,000 deaths in a day, shame on you.

You truly are disgustingly, pathetically, parochial.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:06 PM

But how much of it got to the people in need?

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:47 PM

Its 1 million more than they had

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:50 PM

Why didn’t Saint Gilmore make it 5million, sure it’s all borrowed money anyway and I will be well rotted before it’s paid back anyway.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:04 PM

Unbelievable (some) comments. 1 million euro is nothing. Over 10,000 people have died and hundreds of thousands displaced. FFS the Dept of Taoiseach spent 3.5m in first 6 months of this year.

Mute Graham Mc Donnell
    Favourite Graham Mc Donnell
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:59 PM

I’m ashamed at some of the comments on this article. These people are dieing and thousands dead. Put down your cup of tea and really bloody think about this.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 11th 2013, 9:51 AM

Graham the Irish people will collect, donate and do a massive amount to help the people effected by this disaster as we always will and have done before.
    My problem is Gilmore handing over tax payers money that’s borrowed and does not belong to him.
    He has and continues to use his position for his own benefit, reports of jobs for his family, a plot of land sold for 1/2 a million barely worth a quarter of that and so on.
    If mr Gilmore wants to donate €1million let him do a whip around his family, friends and rich colleagues in his party and his union pals.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:15 PM

A million !!!!. How about skipping a bondholder payment and helping these people out.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:38 PM

@Mike Clinton, I totally agree with that…

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:49 PM

How about skipping a bondholder payment to help our own people out.or do ee not have any people in crisis.im afraid i beg to differ.typical irish.wr must look good abroad but f— our own people.what a shower of hypocrites

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:45 PM

Paul — I’m cringing for you, you absolute muppet.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:55 PM

Paul, are you serious !!!!!!. These people have lost EVERYTHING including their famlies.
    There are hundreds of Filipino working here and not knowing the fate of their families and friends.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:22 PM

Paul Gurney, did you say that to Michael D when you met him or did you just shake his hand and gurn for photgraphs you coward.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Nov 11th 2013, 1:07 AM

@ MIKE ,great idea BUT “we ” have to pay our debts ,oh sorry gombeen fools of politicians loaded private debt onto the backs of IRISH people ,so “we ” pay , but let us never loose our compassion for the innocent victims of a disaster home or abroad

Mute Jimbob Finishline Mac Cormac
    Favourite Jimbob Finishline Mac Cormac
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:22 PM

Fair play ,it will help a lot of poor people that are sleeping in among the bodies of there lost family and friends ,is there any calls for volunteers to rebuild needed structures yet ,might head there if they need us ,I was in America for sandy relief ,it is good to do .

Mute Lee Alawaddin
    Favourite Lee Alawaddin
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:51 PM

Thank you Ireland for remembering Philippines in times of humanitarian crisis

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:43 PM

Charity begins at home

Mute Jean Keely
    Favourite Jean Keely
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:50 PM

Next time your in hospital look at the nurse who is looking after you she or he will more than likely be Philippine they are a great asset to our country they at least deserve our help.

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:51 PM

It works out at less than 30 cent per person, you scab

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:56 PM

Don’t deny that jean. They do a great job. Unfortunately if the well is dry, we can’t give anymore no matter how great the cause is. People are losing houses and extra taxes are being added to an already burdened nation . If we have enough money in the kitty to donate to Iran and Philippines for whatever the cause, we might have enough to reduce the pressure on those families in ireland

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:03 PM

@Lloyd. Do that calculation again and work out how much this is per Tax payer to give a more accurate perspective, not everyone in this country contributes.
    I’m actually in favour of aid like this, makes a lot more sense than the yearly millions we throw at corrupt regimes to be used for weapons and to further prop up corrupt governments

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:04 PM

No problem with the government donating funds for natural disaster relief, any person with a conscience should not be opposed to this. Giving millions to African governments that spend hundreds of millions on military equipment is another thing altogether.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:16 PM

“Charity begins at home”

But it doesn’t end there.

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:46 PM

@Petr. Charity should be optional and left up to people to decide whether they want to contribute or not, they forced contribution of public money by politicians to make themselves look good is bullsh*t!!!

Mute Jean Keely
    Favourite Jean Keely

Murphy a million would not fix the problems here but you can’t imagine the difference it will make over there and our well is not dry we are a resilient country

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Nov 11th 2013, 7:25 AM

@Murph11 – you are a complete clown. The Philippines is a poor country which has been decimated by a natural disaster and where people are now without food, water and shelter.

You on the other hand live in a rich country which has suffered no such disaster.

Why should charity begin at home? Are you saying your dole payments aren’t enough? Do you not have enough perhaps because you’re not smart enough or capable enough to get on?

Desperate people who need our help urgently should always be preferenced over people like you who just want, want, want simply because you can’t, can’t, can’t.

Shame on you and your ignorance and selfishness. I’d like to see how someone like you with your sense of entitlement and lack of self-reliance would fare in a disaster scenario. Natural selection suggests the weak like you go first…

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:26 PM

The country has been hit with a major disaster and all some people can do is moan about handing over money for a well needed cause… In case you didn’t read some roads are blocked because of dead bodies so they cant get to a shop or running water…. Imagine one of your loved ones were caught in that disaster like a lot of people were in thiland in 2004 when the tsunami hit….. people have lost lose ones & their livelihood; we should be thankful for the little things we have that we forget; most of those poor people now have nothing & depend on relief aid. For a cause like this I don’t mind donating…

Mute Mark Campbell
    Favourite Mark Campbell

Our country is broke yet people say only one million? Do a lot of people not realise the financial position ireland is in?

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:06 PM

Just like the world came rushing to our aid, when we were starving. One million € is a drop in the ocean,we should be ashamed of ourselves.

Mute Mark Campbell
    Favourite Mark Campbell
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:08 PM

Are you a deluded public sector worker that thinks the magic money tree will solve the problem?

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:10 PM

Speak for yourself

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:22 PM

It is reported that 10,000 people have been killed and 300,000 left homeless in one small city alone, Tacloban. The Irish charity aid workers of Plan Ireland have seen children ripped away in the wind from their parents arms and found later drowned and mutilated by flying timber, masonary and metal hoarding after the parents own homes had their roofs ripped off.
    A whole province has been devastated.
    Bodies are all over the place.
    This is the perspective, I’m sure no Irish person would begrudge help for the Philippine people just this once.
    1 million euros is a drop in the bucket of the Irish exchequer, paid a thousand-fold via the income tax Philippine workers have contributed in Irish taxes for the last 15 years or so.
    If anything , 1 million is not enough. More should be paid at this crucial time for the Philippine people in their hour of need.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:32 PM

How much are the Germans sending ?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed

Well chopstix if you must know.. german resue teams were the first to be deployed along with american rescue teams. From germany alone an initial package of 23 tonnes and 3 million. Britain are pledging 9.3million. A quick google search verifies this.

I think its right we send aid. It is the compassionate thing to do. We don’t have to base what we do or give on any other countries donations, we are our irish and im proud to say we are in general a generous country

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:02 PM

It was a rhetorical question
    I haven’t a prob with aid being sent as long as we get it if we need it works both ways

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:28 PM

Why give if your only doing it to get something back in return, a contradiction of charitable aid by all accounts . It takes the good out of it. I do believe if ireland was hit with a massive disaster that the world would help. The americans and the brits be the first in.

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:53 PM

Noble sentiments indeed but tell that to the person sleeping tonight in a cardboard box because of a few thousand euro of a debt unpaid.-million euro is a substantial amount to someone on the edge .

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:53 PM

Would rather see it going to Crumlin Hospital

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:14 PM

How much of the 1 Million would reach Crumlin Hospital itself do you think ?

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:28 PM

How much will reach these people ? Considering they have one of the most corrupt Governments on East Asia !

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:07 PM

If you read the article you would see the money is not going to the government

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:14 PM

Dermot if I gave you a million euro tomorrow would you give it to “Fix Crumlin” campaign or sent to the Philippines ?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:31 PM

Ben, I watched a programme on Panorama about the Philipines last week. its not corrupt. We have a corrupt government and we have since we became a Republic.

Mute Merliza Pader Lahive
    Favourite Merliza Pader Lahive
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:05 PM

Biggest typhoon ever..and governments can’t make allowance for that…1 million is pittens..they are talking now about tens of thousands dead. If the major countries even spent 10% of their aggressive war budgets(that kill millions) on disaster responses…idiots, there will always be inequality unless people rise up and say NO

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:21 PM

Hear hear!

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:25 PM

In all fairness for the amount of stick the US gets for it military budget, in 2012 over 30 billion dollars went on overseas development aid….thats not even counting disaster relief aid. So the US at least spent 20% of its military budget on development aid. Also that isn’t including military or economic aid to countries like Pakistan or Afghanistan.

Its is disgusting though to see all these people here giving out about a measly €1 mil and some tents and food. When I first saw the headline I though it was a typo to see such a tiny amount of money being donated.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:42 PM

Agreed on the negative comments, it’s hard to believe they are actually real.

But “military or economic aid to countries like Pakistan or Afghanistan” is given to further the interests of the ruling class in the US; they don’t benefit the people in those countries, they buy the acquiescence of the rulers. These countries would be better off without this ‘aid’.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Nov 11th 2013, 12:08 AM

I agree with ya Petr. I was trying to separate the different types of aid that the US give to the third world and developing nations. I only consider things to be aid when they are used building infrastructure and amenities that benefit the society or things that go directly to disaster relief efforts.

Giving friends of senators or congressmen the contracts to build oil refineries or arm the countries military isn’t aid. They should at least be up front about that….its not like anyone thinks otherwise.

But yeah it is a disgrace to see people being so selfish. I was in the Indonesia after the tsunami years ago, and to see what had happened to people was devastating. There is no doubt we have problems in Ireland but at least we do not have to deal with the wrath of nature often. The people of the Philippines need help and the Irish government should do a bit more.

Mute BreakingNews.ie
    Favourite BreakingNews.ie
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:51 PM

Do God sake, more than 10,000 people have died and all some of ye are thinking about is the money problem? Get a reality check and grow some dignity!

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Nov 11th 2013, 8:15 AM

Well Said! I always say we have a lot to be thankful for here… Even if we get battered by a storm most that happens is we loose electricity for a day or 2 but these poor people have lost everything…

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith

The HSE didn’t have the funds to pay for plenty of critical operations on Irish children with various rare conditions but the Government pulls funds for countries who due to their geographical location will always get mother nature’s brunt look after the issues at home first get the house in order then look after the neighbours.

Mute Konrad Kaczor
    Favourite Konrad Kaczor
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:21 PM

James, people’s needs are indefinite so there will never be a situation when everyone is happy and every local need is covered and funded and still loads of spare money is left to do something with. So it will never be the right time to help somebody else abroad – following this logic. European Union just allocated 3 milion EUR fund for same http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-13-1059_en.htm

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:27 PM

No way Konrad thanks for enlightening me! You mean to say life is unfair wow what a turn up for the books. The State will never be perfect but I’d rather see it’s citzens particularly the very vulnerable looked after before we give money to others any spare blankets for the homeless in Ireland? Any donations to sick children in Ireland needing very expensive life changing operations?

Mute Konrad Kaczor
    Favourite Konrad Kaczor
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:40 PM

So James are you implying there is nothing here for hospitals and homeless and every penny is being pumped out by government for foreign aid? There is charity money spend at home, there is charity money send for foreign aid…simple. Every developed country in the world participates in foreign aids, many are much poorer than Ireland and each of them has own issues too…does it stop them? No!
    If Ireland was sending money to fund someone’s operations and health care you could have a point, but there is different scale and nature of the problem I think. Maybe you just need perspective.

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:17 PM

Konrad you can take whatever implication you want from my comment but don’t put words I haven’t used in a comment and assume thats what im saying and my perspective is fine don’t be so presumptuous or arrogantly misconstrue my context.

Mute Konrad Kaczor
    Favourite Konrad Kaczor
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:43 PM

James, peace, I am bit lost as to what is your pint in this discussion after all, but either way, last thing I wanted is to argue :) so Have a good night [shake a hand]

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:55 PM

Olive branch accepted Konrad (virtual hanshake accepted)

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:13 PM

yes, but…

HSE paid UK firm €28.8m for fostering service

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/hse-paid-uk-firm-288m-for-fostering-service-236289.html

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:29 PM

James, children in Ireland have access to clean water, a bed, food and meds. These kids are cared for by Filipinos in hospital. Stop whinging.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:46 PM

How exactly does it work that they’re pre-positioned in Dubai? Is it a kind of “in case of emergency” thing does anyone know?

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:21 PM

How come I got a red thumb for asking a genuine question? There must be someone out there trolling every article and red thumbing every comment just for the fun of it.

Mute Conor Black
    Favourite Conor Black
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:03 PM

Yes it is in case of an emergency thing, fairly sure there is another base in Italy

Mute Pete Cool
    Favourite Pete Cool
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:35 PM

I’d love to get into this debate as I have an opinion but……I’ve got Man Flu and I don’t have the energy. Hopefully I’ll make it through the night.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:09 PM

The sub human filth are out in force tonight.

Mute John Paul ODea
    Favourite John Paul ODea
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:52 PM

So 200 tarpaulins, 85 tents and 10,000 blankets cost 1 million euro ???

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:03 PM

you know gilmore, his wife probably just setup an outdoors supply company

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C

John Paul, the private sector put their prices up when they know payment is coming from the public purse.

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:28 PM

That supply is in addition to the €1ml

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:06 PM

It’s a million euro plus the kit.

Mute Noel Barnes
    Favourite Noel Barnes
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:38 PM

There is an Irish guy living on one if the islands that was devastated Malapascua island. Beautiful place.
    His business was destroyed over night
    But the people there now have no water or food. He is doing his best to help them. Pls check out his Facebook page “evolution diving” if anyone would like to help.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Nov 11th 2013, 5:35 PM

Noel, posted it out to all colleagues and friends. David, is a nice chap, delighted that they are okay, we need to generate more cash for them to do more help as they are on the ground helping.

Mute Gráinne Owens
    Favourite Gráinne Owens
    Nov 11th 2013, 12:46 AM

Absolutely ashamed by some of the comments on this. Just shows what the Celtic tiger has done to some of us. Alright, we may be scrimping and saving the pennies. But we havent had our homes, lives and loved ones wiped out in the last few days. These people have NOTHING!! Christ almighty we have it bad in Ireland but it just goes to show there is always people worse off. It’s time we all got a grip.

Mute Bernard Gallagher
    Favourite Bernard Gallagher
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:04 PM

Hope its coming out of the 600 million euro we are still giving to Africa every year

Mute Da Vi D
    Favourite Da Vi D
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:41 PM

Token.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Nov 10th 2013, 9:19 PM

Hopefully all possible will be done to help those affected by this disaster. The Japanese & American military could do a lot to help in the area if fully mobilised.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:44 PM

One million€ is like Queen Victoria donating £2,000 to Ireland the time of the Great Famine

Mute Alby Benny
    Favourite Alby Benny

Better than nothing?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:06 PM

Incidentally, the pope at the time gave £1000 to the irish famine.
    Probably the most generous donation to the irish famine fund, per head of population, came from the Choctaw Indians, who despite being in dire straits with meagre resources themselves, donated $170.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:20 PM

How much is the pope giving now? Enough money there to feed and clothe and house the entire planet.

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Nov 10th 2013, 6:59 PM

I thought we were cutting back on foreign aid??????

Mute Tequila Gold
    Favourite Tequila Gold
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:02 PM

You should cut on cake

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Nov 10th 2013, 8:10 PM

This isn’t foreign aid, it’s emergency relief.

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Nov 11th 2013, 12:16 AM

We could assist lots more than this, these people are devastated not like the Irish welfare person who thinks they are hard done by and suffering will laughing at all of us, or the poor unfortunate labourer who now has a 6 bedroom house to pay for- my heart bleeds for these people

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:45 PM

i thought the country was broke?

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Nov 10th 2013, 7:18 PM

A token to try make Gilmore look good to the Irish people. Be a lot more of this let’s make labour look good before local elections

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 10th 2013, 10:09 PM

Pete that is probably the most stupid comment I’ve ever read on the journal and that is saying something.

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary
    Nov 10th 2013, 11:04 PM

At least we are generous as a small nation. News reports I have read says USA gave $ 100 k and AUS gave €350 k. These are tiny sums by comparison.

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Nov 11th 2013, 8:10 AM

That’s great how supportive Ireland is; I hope the Philippines close neighbour China will step up their efforts and pay equivalent to its population which should be around €300 million in aid (in relation to what Ireland paid).

Mute Jacquie Redmond Roberts
    Favourite Jacquie Redmond Roberts
    Nov 11th 2013, 9:37 AM

Holy God I know it is a disaster and god help these people they need it
    I want to know where did the Minister for finance pull this € one million from?? As this country is a disaster financially !!!
    Sorry if I am upsetting people but this is the truth of the matter.

Mute Jacquie Redmond Roberts
    Favourite Jacquie Redmond Roberts
    Nov 11th 2013, 10:46 AM

I am not saying dont give it as they need it but I am asking where did this € million come from????

Mute Mary O'Flaherty
    Favourite Mary O'Flaherty
    Nov 12th 2013, 12:20 AM

Were can we donate. People should set up a collection and send it through the right agencies….I would prefer to help these people out than have Christmas. I just can’t watch the news as its awful. One man was burying his whole family….pure despair and it’s just hitting me hard to watch these people suffer.

Mute Brian Gallagher
    Favourite Brian Gallagher
    Nov 12th 2013, 3:10 AM

What the hell is wrong with most of youse? Have Irish people no compassion anymore? More than 10,000 people are dead and millions homeless. Moan, moan, moan!!!! “We’re so poor”. “Government taking all our money” “now they’re giving it to strangers” Etc etc.. Poor souls is what I say! .Youse honestly haven’t a clue what goes on outside your own parish by the sounds of it. Have a bit of respect and stop being so selfish!

Mute Margaret O'Connor
    Favourite Margaret O'Connor
    Nov 11th 2013, 9:56 AM

I agree we need to send help and fast. My question is where does our cash strapped government suddenly come up with the funds. I thought we were almost broke…?

Mute Des Smyth
    Favourite Des Smyth
    Nov 11th 2013, 8:37 AM

Just heard on the Aussie news that the state of Victoria (population of 6m) is sending $100,000 (€70,000) Gud auld Ireland “a fool and his money is easy parted”……

Mute John Farrell
    Favourite John Farrell
    Nov 11th 2013, 4:55 AM

Im blown away

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Nov 11th 2013, 2:04 AM

It’s a pity they can’t send some of our skilled people over to help these people recover and rebuild their lives and damaged infrastructure.

Mute Niall Doheny
    Favourite Niall Doheny
    Nov 11th 2013, 3:13 AM

Mike c talkin ass again !

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Nov 11th 2013, 11:32 AM

Im all in favour of giving aid. Its the right thing to do. What I have always wondered though is, why dont the money printers (ECB, Rothschilds, World Bank etc) dont just deliver this money to the country straight away as a gift/buy supplies instead of countries who are already Im debt, borrow this money at interest and then ‘donate’ it to the country that needs it. These banks are already in the region, they could pay the US military etc straight away.

If the money lenders want it back, then they can arrange a trade agreement later. The way it is happening now where countries borrow money as aid, seems like a scam.

This way, say Ireland for example- one million plus interest would be saved or if we have already it borrowed, we can use it for our schools, health etc.
    Yes, in the grand scheme of things, one million isnt that much, but on the ground, its a huge amount.

Again, is the above not more logical? Victims of the disaster benefit quicker.

Mute Jon De Castro Enerio
    Favourite Jon De Castro Enerio
    Nov 12th 2013, 1:46 PM

PhP 57,925,486.00 from Ireland. Thank you Ireland. Filipino people appreciate all the help.