You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Students in the library last night. UCC Students' Union via Facebook

Students stage 'study-in' at UCC library over opening hours

The students’ union president has said that studying at home simply isn’t an option for some students.

DOZENS OF STUDENTS at University College Cork last night staged a sit-in at the campus library in protest over its opening hours.

The Students’ Union said that as a result of the college recently switching to a semester-based system of examinations, students are now under more pressure and need more time to study in the run-up to Christmas exams.

SU President Mark Stanton told TheJournal.ie as many as 150 students refused to leave the library last night for up to two hours.

“I wouldn’t really call it a sit-in, we just stayed behind studying until 11pm,” Stanton said.

We’ve no posters, chanting, or anything we like that. 150 students simply got two hours extra to study.

Students have vowed to take similar action again.

He claimed that the university had failed to engage with the student body on the issue, and that emails to college officials have gone unanswered.

“We’ve voiced it at every committee we could. The university should have seen this kind of issue coming,” Stanton continued, noting that the entire university switched to the new system of examination, rather than staggering the process.

1907873_10154876102975471_5072777152248168351_n UCC Students' Union UCC Students' Union

He said there is demand among students for extended library hours, with SU-run study initiatives attracting a high attendance.

“Like everywhere, there’s an accommodation crisis in Cork, meaning a lot of our students might not have a comfortable or quiet place to study where they’ve living. Some are even still in hostels or couch surfing.”

What’s the point in having a fantastic multi-million euro library if it closes at nine?

A spokesperson for the university said a meeting between the Students’ Union and the Head of Student Experience yesterday was unsuccessful in finding a solution.

“University College Cork regrets that it is unable to extend further the opening hours of the Boole Library due to lack of resources,” they added.

The Library recognises that the optimum space for students to study in is the Library and Library management will continue to seek additional resources to extend opening hours.  Additional study space has been made available through the opening of a range of other rooms and lecture theatres.

“The Library adjusted its opening hours with the introduction of semesterisation based on statistics on usage/demand in pre-exams periods and exam periods. The pattern of use in peak times demanded early opening, more Sunday opening and extended Saturday opening.”

Similar concerns have been raised in other universities over the past few years.

Opinion: ‘I want to support my students, I don’t want to judge them’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:04 PM

God help the democrats if that the best lot they could find. Millions of dollars wasted already. Trump will be a shoe in if they don’t up their game

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 5:49 PM

@Martin Sinnott: trumpy is somehow a better candidate than which of them exactly? He’s polling, yes I know, behind every one of the top 5 Dems.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Sep 13th 2019, 6:25 PM

@GrahamMManning: #Fakenews

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 13th 2019, 6:47 PM

@GrahamMManning: Yeah a bit like the North Carolina Congressional election the other night where the Dem and Rep. candidates were 50-50 in the polls but the Republican won 60%-40%. You’re leaving yourself open to ridicule at this stage by believing so strongly in the polls. I wouldn’t necessarily blame the polling companies though. More like people are reluctant to admit openly supporting conservatism in general. So they lie to their colleagues, friends and pollsters, then vote the other way. It’s hard to blame them in the present atmosphere.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 13th 2019, 8:52 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    Desperate Dems haven’t a hope in hell going by that show, not an American flag in sight, between the lot of them they openly threatened the constitution, 1st and 2nd amendments.
    Playing the identity politics game to boot.
    Get a grip of yourself.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:30 PM

@Darren: cos that’s a well though argument. Wanna throw in a “snowflake” and “libtard” for alt-rite numpty bingo?

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:32 PM

@GrahamMManning: well thought out

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:37 PM

@Burn_the_Witch: so one or more polls are wrong meaning all poles are wrong? Solid logic there. Where did I believe so strongly? The “yes I know” was replying in advance to your obvious position. And people being cautious in being openly conservative with pollsters is cos of the litany of negative things conservatism, especially in the US, now stands for or is associated with. If you can’t say what you believe in a free society then perhaps you should be looking at what you believe?

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:42 PM

@➕The Gray➕: “Desperate Dems”? Pupil of the esteemed Trumpy school of wit I see. Yup feck ideas, empathy and intelligence tis flags they need! You do know the word amendment literally means changing legislation? Changing the constitution is not threatening it. It’s literally the job politicians. A constitution being immutable and set in stone is a recent, mental, let’s stay in the past forever American invention. And I already got someone to grip me thanks.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:52 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    What part of, “We the people….&….shall not be infringed”, do you not understand?
    It’s not up to the politicians to decide, the constitution is there for the people, by the people.
    Make sure you know what your gicking on about next time.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 13th 2019, 10:44 PM

@GrahamMManning: So the fact that the 2016 polls got it so wrong means nothing to you and doesn’t make you question them, I find quite interesting.

As for ‘a free society’, I would question whether it is really free at all when for example Democratic members of Congress and Hollywood actresses openly call for the public to Dox conservative politicians and donors. Wear a red hat, and not even a Maga one, and you have a good chance of getting attacked. Admit supporting Trump and you may find yourself not getting that promotion at work. No, it has nothing to do with being ashamed of ones politics and everything to do with being in fear of the literally lunatic left and how unstable they have become. A lot seem to have jumped on board the so called ‘Revolution’ and lost touch with reality.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 12:34 AM

@➕The Gray➕: ok seeing as English doesn’t seem to be your thing maybe google can help. Google “amendment” read the definition, ask someone to explain any big words there, maybe with pictures and then come back to me. The US constitution has been changed again and again over the years, why is that not permitted now? Progress scary????

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 12:39 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: my first comment did question them, if apparently too opaquely for you. But one or more poles being wrong doesn’t invalidate all poles. And yes your public shame is exactly for the reasons i already articulated. Why fear your imaginarily dangerous “lunatic left”??? Tis the lads on the right who’ve got all the guns.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:00 AM

@GrahamMManning: So glad to see that you took a rest as you must be absolutely exhausted dealing with likes of ‘The Gray’ & ‘Burn the Witch’ :-)

Burn the Witch says that Dan Bishop won by 60% – 40 % ,wrong! In a heavily gerrymandered district,in favour of Bishop,the poor oul’ chap just won the election by 2% ( 96,004 -92,066) Yikes! Another burning for the witch..

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:01 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    Like I said, it’s for the PEOPLE to decide, it’s not for clown show, Mexican priveledge, Francis O’Rourke to be lecturing the public on who should have guns when it’s written right there in the constitution. After all, what gives and Irishman, who pretends to be Mexican, the right to lecture the public on what’s right and wrong…
    Deplorable?
    https://twitter.com/TheGray1776/status/1172767033320267776?s=09

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:24 AM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Haha hilarious. Wrong race my foolish friend. Republican Gregory Murphy easily defeated Democrat Allen Thomas in North Carolina’s Third Congressional District on Tuesday, 61.7 percent to 37.5 percent. Worse than I thought myself. Thanks Fran.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:40 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: Please put up your source which will prove that that ‘particular’ contest ,at the extremely gerrymandered state,was at 50-50 at the polls :-) Hilarious stuff from the ‘witch’ ;-p

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:53 AM

@➕The Gray➕: or for the representatives they elect to enact sensible gun control measures that have the support of a significant majority. And you’ll have to try better than equating drunk driving with owning an AR-15…

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 9:55 AM

@Francis Mc Carthy: I don’t have a link because i don’t save links to everything I read or watch. Do you? What is it with people like you who can’t do a simple search. Is it laziness, maybe a lack of ability to do some basic research? Either way, man up and do your own research, I’m not your butler. I’ll give you a hint, it was on CNN or NBC as far as i remember and it was very amusing watching them flailing about looking for excuses. It was a link on my Google homepage Friday morning. I’m sure you’ll find it if you bother to look.
    If the state is so extremely gerrymandered, why did a dem win the state last time out? If those on the left are so afraid of cheating, why are they so against Trump’s voter id cards. What’s there to be so afraid of? Rhetorical question, we know why, don’t we.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 9:58 AM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Still waiting for your apology for accusing me of getting the NC race was so wrong. I was a lefty all my life so im still a bit overly sensitive. The left a difficult cult to escape from.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 10:07 AM

@GrahamMManning: Public shame me arse, I’m not ashamed for not following the quasi religion the left are pushing these days, pretending they care while letting their cities fall apart while the citizens make do with an opioid epidemic. Meanwhile they want free healthcare for illegal immigrants while denying same to their own homeless. I could go on and on but you are so far down the hole you’re not worth arguing with.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 10:11 AM

@GrahamMManning: And why fear the lunatic left you say. Hmmm, maybe you’re not keeping up. Spend some time researching videos of Trump supporters being attacked in shops, playgrounds, car parks, on the streets. There’s more than enough to kerp you entertained for the day. I’m sure you’d be one of them if you lived over there.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 10:12 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: keep

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 11:10 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: quasi-religion??? What are you on about? And the opioid epidemic is now a solely democratic issue, how exactly? the majority of dems want healthcare for everyone unlike most Trumpyites who only want it for those who can afford it. No idea what hole I’m down but I’m pretty sure whose you’re up. Xoxo

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 11:15 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: yawn. BS mountain waffling, really? You seriously wanna compare tallies of violence? I don’t by the way, violence against anyone for the political views alone is abhorrent. But seeing as you started it…El Paso. Comfortably eclipses everything you mentioned. And regardless of where I live I’d only raise my hand to someone who did so to me or mine or training.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 14th 2019, 11:30 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    Robert Francis wasn’t elected to enact any sort of gun control, lad! In fact, he supported gun ownership initially. Plenty of online content to support his hypocrisy.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 1:23 PM

@GrahamMManning: I’m not talking about shootings as you well know, so using that as your defense is pretty pathetic really Graham. I’m talking about the regular everyday Americans who are being attacked on a daily basis for supporting the President. That is what we were talking about after all. Changing the topic to win the argument just shows what a weak argument you have. How well you never brought up about the attempted burning down of a detention centre by those on the left. Who would have died if it had succeeded? The migrants they claim to love so much is who? The Dayton shooter was a registered Democrat who supported Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren and antifa. There are plenty other examples as well.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:07 PM

@➕The Gray➕: so politicians cant have an opinion or take any action on something they didn’t expressly campaign on? Even those the population at large support. Your arguments are getting weaker honey, sure you wanna keep going?

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:20 PM

@Burn_the_Witch: so those murdered by a right wing extremist with military grade weaponry aren’t “regular everyday Americans”? Okay. And you brought up the topic of violence not me. Even said I’d engage in it. Not my fault you need a safe space from the fact right wing violence in the US is, in general, more serious/pervasive than that of the left. And one of the differences between Dayton and El Paso is one shooter was politically motivated while there’s no evidence the other was. Wanna guess who’s who?

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:49 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    Define “military grade” lol

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle
    Sep 14th 2019, 3:57 PM

@Burn_the_Witch: ‘if the state is so gerrymandered’ <- there is no if about it,kiddo ;-) Normally I would go & put up a credible source to prove that pesky fact,but I know that it would just be ignored by your good self.
    Take a day off from the trolling,go for a stroll on the beach for yourself,the salt air might even do you the world of good.Poor pet

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 3:59 PM

@➕The Gray➕: the federal government usually refers to a military-style weapon capable of firing multiple rounds, either semi-automatic or a fully automatic firearm. Obviously I ain’t a gun guy so my terminology may not be exact. There’s no reason any civilian should have an automatic or semi-automatic weapon.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 14th 2019, 5:54 PM

@GrahamMManning: Why do you keep bringing up shootings when it’s not the type of attacks we were talking about. I agree there are nutters with weapons on both sides. However we are talking about physical attacks, harassment etc on people going about their everyday business just because they support the President. Look, if you can’t bring yourself to admit that, that’s absolutely fine. But if you can’t then don’t bother replying. Enjoy the match if your watching.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 14th 2019, 6:07 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    Yeah, it’s obvious you ain’t a gun guy because your talking crap about something you haven’t a clue about. Why shouldn’t a law abiding citizen have a semi auto or full auto weapon? What gives you the right to say what they can or can’t protect their families, themselves or their property with?

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 8:55 PM

@➕The Gray➕: they shouldn’t have them for the same reason they shouldn’t have tanks, missiles, military aircraft etc. they don’t need them and their presence ensures tens of thousands of deaths a year. Compare US gun deaths to another other 1st world country! If your freedom to have an unnecessary weapon is more important than all those lives then you’re more of a lost cause than you seem, which is saying something. Sad.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 9:02 PM

@Burn_the_Witch: I mention it cos you brought up violence. Was unaware you got to define the parameters of the violence as well? And just to repeat violence against anyone cos of their political views alone is abhorrent and should be swiftly and harshly dealt with. Is the type of assault you describe a widespread issue? Not to my knowledge but provide a link and educate me. Obviously even one case is too many. But again politically motivated violence in the US specifically is, presently, more of a right than left issue. Nah didn’t watch. Thanks. Would be more into the UFC on ltr.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 14th 2019, 9:58 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    You just don’t get it do you, it’s not about owning a weapon for the sake of it, it’s the right to bear arms in the defence of tyranny, it’s the right to defend yourself and your family from enemies foreign and domestic. Hitler, Mao, Stalin and Pol Pot to name a few all grabbed their citizens guns and in turn their only means to defend themselves, and what happened? The British tried with my ancestors m, and failed. Human nature hasn’t changed next you suddenly feel all “progressive” and “liberal”. And criminals don’t obey gun laws by the way.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 10:36 PM

@➕The Gray➕: hehe…since independence how often has that been necessary in the continental US? How often in the last 100 years? How many people have died cos of that right to guns in that time? How many countries have sensible gun control and are somehow free from the tyranny you describe? Should I start listing em? It’ll take a while. It’s almost like your point is sensationalist nonsense. But no that couldn’t be true could it???

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 15th 2019, 7:22 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    So what are you saying, responsibly owning an AR is worse than drink driving?

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 15th 2019, 8:04 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    Give me the statistics of average annual gun deaths in the US, for example, suicide, homicide, self defense, accidental discharge etc. Let’s see if you really know what you’re talking about.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 15th 2019, 8:31 AM

@➕The Gray➕: im saying one is designed to kill the other is for transportation which if badly misused can kill. There’s a difference of which you can’t be too dense/blinkered to miss

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 15th 2019, 8:36 AM

@➕The Gray➕: ah Jebus, there I was assuming we were both adults who could work google! I’d google a link bout how to work but, we’ll twouldn’t be much use to ya would it? Sarcasm aside and assuming what ur getting at, I’m well aware the proportion of guns deaths that are the result of those and could be hugely lessened if people didn’t have such easy access to…what??? I’ll let ya google it. Good practice.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 15th 2019, 9:12 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    Easy access makes no difference, criminals and just about anyone can get a gun illegally if they wished, Alcohol prohibition of the past and the war on drugs are prime examples. Either way aul Beta Francis O’Rourke nor any of the Dem candidates on that stage will see the inside of the White House. Tulsi Gabbard is their only hope and even she is a threat to them.

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 15th 2019, 9:33 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    So which do you blame? The shooter or the gun, the drunk driver or the car???

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 15th 2019, 10:40 PM

@➕The Gray➕: access makes all the difference but right wing ignoring reality is hardly new. And comparing guns to alcohol & drugs is deranged, unless you use your firearm in some less than standard ways??? They may or may not beat Trumpy but a dozen of em have a better chance than Tulsi (Homophobia ain’t a good look) and 3/4 have an actual chance but time will tell.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 15th 2019, 10:44 PM

@➕The Gray➕: moronic question. You really need to try harder to keep it vaguely interesting. Guns and cars are not equatable as already explained, does it need further dumbing down for you? That aside It’s obviously the fault of the individual but if, in the case of a gun, they didn’t have access then the damage wrought is prevented or hugely lessened.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:02 PM

No Tulsi, no interest!

Mute jacquoranda
    Favourite jacquoranda
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:07 PM

@Jack Simpson: She’s the only one who could actually beat Trump.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 5:49 PM

@jacquoranda: how ya figure?

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Sep 13th 2019, 11:06 PM

@GrahamMManning: Because the average American doesn’t really feel like a large tax hike is what they need in their lives right now. Simple as that. The dems seem misguided, not everything is decided on emotion. They need to recognize that because independent voters do. Unfortunately that seems to be what they’re pushing right now. Apart from Biden (though he is still bootlicking that side of the base, he won’t follow through), but in reality it’s looking like a race between Warren and Bernie. Trump would make a complete mockery of the cost of their policies in a debate. The public won’t buy it I’m afraid. That’s why Trump has been working so hard on getting a deal done with the Pharma companies, the mass psychological meltdown next November is going to be epic in nature.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 12:44 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: they don’t want a tax hike but are fine with Trumpy giving himself and his mates a massive tax break and ballooning the deficit??? You that think republicans are meant to want to control, til they got their collective tongues stuck to mango Mussolini’s posterior that is. And Trumpy engaging any dem on policy not to mind trying to mock them would be hilarious. He probably can’t even say the word, tis harder than origins.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 12:44 AM

@GrahamMManning: “you know that thing”

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:35 PM

@GrahamMManning: You immediately lose all credability when you start comparing Trump to Mussolini.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 4:02 PM

@Jack Simpson: thats it honey. Run from the facts cos you don’t like my insults. And yes I’m well aware of the stark differences between the two and no Trumpy isn’t a fascist (much as he might cream his pants at the thought of being) but tis funny so…meh

Mute McGregor Pub Lad
    Favourite McGregor Pub Lad
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:16 PM

Andrew Yang and Tulsi gabbard are refreshing new candidates. They’re true liberals who believe in personal liberty and free speech while also being progressive. They’re my favourites anyway. Naturally the establishment hates them.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 5:51 PM

@McGregor Pub Lad: Yang fair enough but Tulsi? Think her opinions on LGTB…etc could be a bit of an issue. Which of the other candidates isn’t liberal?

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Sep 13th 2019, 6:24 PM

@GrahamMManning: “her opinions on LGBT” – You do know she is pro-LGBT right? What other issues do you have with her?

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:48 PM

@McGregor Pub Lad:
    “I’m Asian, so I know a lot of Doctors” – Yang.
    Identity politics, refreshing.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 13th 2019, 9:48 PM

@Jack Simpson: in the late 90’s she worked for 2 anti-LGTBQ organisations les by her dad. Her evolution is to get elected nothing more. Not that she will of course. In 2004 she gave out about “homosexual extremists”, was against civil unions, and didn’t want young people thinking homosexuality was “normal and natural”.

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Sep 13th 2019, 11:23 PM

@GrahamMManning:
    She is 38 now or half the age of Joe Biden. In 2004 she would have been 23. I know I don’t hold the exact same views I did from 2004 or when I was 23.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 12:45 AM

@Maurice: were you a bigot then?

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Sep 14th 2019, 10:51 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    Perhaps I should explain my comment better. You said she worked in the late 90s (she would have been late teens) when she worked for her dad at anti LGBT groups. Its quite apparent she was raised like that. They were led by her dad. When she got older and more independent she sees that this is wrong then changes her mind. Far more logical than your idea of using it as a presidential election tool for 15 years later. If you have more recent examples I too would consider changing my mind and she is a bigot in hiding.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 11:24 AM

@Maurice: you could very well be right. But I don’t think so. I had my own mind at 23 as, I imagine did you, neither of us (?) would’ve agreed with her. She only changed her position when running for elected office. I believe this was/is disingenuous, self serving and cos she knew she couldn’t get elected otherwise. Completely aware I could be wrong, I just don’t think So. in a 2016 interview she said her personal views hadn’t changed she just didn’t agree with imposing them on people anymore. She has also recently defended bigots like Brian Buescher.

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Sep 14th 2019, 11:56 AM

@GrahamMManning:
    I don’t know who Brian Buescher is so I’m not going to comment on that.
    Maybe you’re right but if she is at a level of personal thoughts and views should not be imposed on others, a live and let live but with tutting to oneself, I’d accept that.

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:29 PM

@Maurice: fair nuff. She’s entitled to believe whatever she’s wants. Personally, if I was a yank, I’d have an issue voting for someone who held those views even if she’d, for now, decided twas wrong to impose them on others.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:33 PM

@GrahamMManning: 1) Yes, we know that. She admitted as much, acknowledged her mistake and changed her views. Imo, it is actually refreshing to hear someone acknowledge a past mistake, learn from it and change views and move forward. Rarely happens in politics nowadays.
    2) If you brought the same level of scrutiny to examining the past of other politicians, e.g. Obama and HRC, you would find much worse, e.g. we all know about HRC’s previous LGBT views. I take it then that you do not like or support any politicians then, seeing as all have past baggage?! What is your view of Obama?
    3) “Her evolution is to get elected” – Of course it is. It would be odd if it wasn’t!

Mute GrahamMManning
    Favourite GrahamMManning
    Sep 14th 2019, 4:11 PM

@Jack Simpson: 1) Agree twould be refreshing but that’s not what she did. She still holds the same views just doesn’t want to impose them on people now which, while an admitted improvement, is opportunism for electoral gain so could be reversed just as easily. 2) I judge each as they come. Not a Hillary fan. Disappointed with Obama overall but support some of what he did. 3) which isn’t the genuine change of view she and you just portrayed it as. A genuine change is something I could respect. That said tis all relative conjecture with circumstantial proof either way so I could be entirely wrong. Not like tis a huge deal as she hasn’t got a hope.

Mute Pat Frost
    Favourite Pat Frost
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:19 PM

No president in that lot.Dems are in trouble.No visable contender yet.The Super delegates could change all that as they did last time.

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Sep 13th 2019, 4:49 PM

@Pat Frost: no ” president” in situ right now either.
    Anyone but Trump!

Mute Maurice
    Favourite Maurice
    Sep 13th 2019, 3:50 PM

To copy a lot of Youtube commentators. I’d like to see Beto, personally, try and take those weapons from Americans in the flyover states.

Mute Joe Shea
    Favourite Joe Shea
    Sep 13th 2019, 2:07 PM

The’ loudest voice ‘ on sky is well worth watching.

Mute iComment
    Favourite iComment
    Sep 13th 2019, 4:58 PM
    Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Sep 13th 2019, 5:43 PM

Power hungry bast**ds.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Sep 14th 2019, 2:08 PM

Why have debates when everyone knows that the SUPERdelegates will pick Biden???