You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

UKIP leader splits with partner over 'racist' Meghan Markle texts

Jo Marney said that Meghan Markle would “taint” the royal family.

UKIP National Conference UKIP leader Henry Bolton Ben Birchall / PA Images Ben Birchall / PA Images / PA Images

UKIP LEADER HENRY Bolton has said he has split from his girlfriend after she allegedly made racist comments about Meghan Markle.

Jo Marney is said to have written texts saying that “black American” Markle would “taint the royal family, and her marriage to Prince Harry would pave the way for a “black king”.

In a statement to the Daily Mail apologising, Marney said she was “absolutely devastated by the messages that [she] sent and the distress [she] caused anyone by those messages”.

They were unnecessary. They were reckless and they were overly exaggerated purely for effect.

Royal visit to Reprezent FM Yui Mok / PA Images Yui Mok / PA Images / PA Images

Speaking to the BBC today, Bolton said his relationship with Marney was “obviously quite incompatible” with his role as party leader.

“We have together made the decision that the romantic element of our relationship should end,” he said.

She is utterly distraught and close to breakdown over all of this. She never intended any of these messages to be made public. They were made some time ago and indeed, although utterly indefensible, there is some context to them which in time will be revealed.

The messages were said to have been sent before Bolton and Marney began their relationship.

The 54-year-old, recently-elected UKIP leader also said that 25-year-old model had been suspended from the party over the comments.

Read: Nigel Farage says maybe there should be a second Brexit referendum

Read: Nigel Farage says top EU negotiator ‘clearly doesn’t understand Brexit’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:25 PM

This web summit crowd sound like an arrogant pack of smug w@nkers tbh.

Del
    Mute Del
    Favourite Del
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:50 PM

So do you

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:51 PM

I take it you’ll be off to Portugal next year then.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:28 PM

Good one Del.

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:37 PM

Is there a way to block stories about the Web Summit appearing on my news feed?

Mute Joe P
    Favourite Joe P
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:44 PM

So true, Cosgrave’s spin to get free publicity again.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:16 PM

Why would you invite a virus, too a web summit?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:23 PM

I think fine Gael know they have to keep enda away from the spotlight and prying media before the election because he’s bound to make a fool of himself again at some stage.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:33 PM

In September, the indo’s front page was all about senior FG saying that we would see less of him leading up to the election. They obviously know that he is a liability but, with the verbal bucket-shuffling he’s been doing, i’d say they’d like to put him down now.

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:31 PM

Im glad, i might attend now

Mute Maire Ui Riain
    Favourite Maire Ui Riain
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:34 PM

Spot on

Mute lostintallaght
    Favourite lostintallaght
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:31 PM

The invite arrived last Friday, didn’t give him much notice did they? He should tell them he’s busy washing his hair that day.

Nov 1st 2015, 6:11 PM

Or in discussions with the security services about surrounding the banks and ATM’s?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:36 PM

Now now Kerry, you know that was a dream he had and is just a bit confused about fact or fiction?

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:46 PM

I’m sure they’ll release all of the emails in a spectaculary unprofessional manner to make themselves seem better.
    Paddy Cosgrave is a pox.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:18 PM

Enda Kenny isn’t?

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:24 PM

The Web summit is turning into another garath brooks type of fiasco, enough is enough it’s gone to Lisbon grand, no one really cares if Kenny was invited or not, more he said she said crap

Al
    Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:27 PM

Do the orgainsers of this web summit believe hotels in Lisbon will be any cheaper than Dublin? Deluded if so.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:37 PM

All you need, is the weather.

Mute Jonathan McKee
    Favourite Jonathan McKee
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:23 PM

Yes but as per Paddy Cosgraves usual requirements more than likely Enda will have to buy a ticket :-)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:37 PM

“Sorry lads, I’d love to attend, but I’m busy reconfiguring the large hadron collider with this fella I bumped into in Narnia.”

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:05 PM

Nah, he’ll be on manouvers with the army that week.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:19 PM

ATM watch?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:44 PM

It’s like being invited to dinner at your girlfriend’s house who you just bent over backwards for, after she has announced she’d having a fling with a guy she met in Ibiza and moving over there to live with him.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:47 PM

@ Supernova: Good. I can picture him at a talk about cloud computing remarking about how its always overcast in Castlebar.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:50 PM

Haha, he’d ramble on about how the entire summit is under attack from the hacker group lizard squad. Send in the army!!

Mute Ivor Hardy
    Favourite Ivor Hardy
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:28 PM

Why can’t Enda grow some balls and appear on Vincent Browne? Thats where we all want to see the clown make an ass of himself.

Nov 1st 2015, 6:36 PM

Need to be GM balls then Ivor…

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:08 PM

You mean Angela Merkel’s ear-rings

Nov 1st 2015, 9:33 PM

Funny place for her to have ears and earring lol.

Nov 1st 2015, 5:27 PM

I’m sure they’ll manage away fine without him. And i think he should buy a ticket like everybody else if he wants his photo opp, as thats all he’s gonna be there for.

Nov 1st 2015, 5:33 PM

Merkel and Draghi might buy hm a ticket. They might see it as another opportunity for him to make a threatening statement about capital controls aimed at the portugese, like when he was in madrid, when they used him to warn the portugese that if they don’t sign up to eu inposed austerity, the money supply to portugal will dry up.

Nov 1st 2015, 6:09 PM

In fairness opening a email can be a difficult task. Possibly beyond Enda….

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:35 PM

Has to remain under lock and key. Accident waiting to happen. FG won’t release him..

Nov 1st 2015, 6:55 PM

I’m sure his busy schedule will involve a lot of dithering and indecision and trying to think up some more badly thought out tall tales.

Mute Wrath of Cheney
    Favourite Wrath of Cheney
    Nov 1st 2015, 5:26 PM

Fcukin nerds.

Nov 1st 2015, 9:34 PM

Nerds invented sex toys and computer games lol.

Nov 1st 2015, 6:24 PM

Sulking in the corner, what a leader lol.

Mute Sean O'Nilbud
    Favourite Sean O'Nilbud
    Nov 6th 2015, 12:19 AM

Why don’t you give it a rest slow boy your three and four year old tales of disaster are as stale as your ideas.

Nov 6th 2015, 11:38 PM

Insults rather than having a debate, I do not think I an even a year on the journal…
    I think you need to educate yourself on what is happening rather than believing all the nonsense from this government. Because we are in a mess and the only ones who can’t see it are those who are F.G. / Labour supporters…

Nov 6th 2015, 11:44 PM

If you want a debate then go ahead but Ireland is in a mess as the unemployment figures are 400,000 but over 70,000 are on so called schemes like scambridge etc…
    I could go into a debate with you but after seeing your twitter profile with 4 photos of Hitler on them, I see you are just a troll looking to pick on someone… Have a nice life…

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:05 PM

Oh, thank God ! He’d probably declare war on China or Russia or something. He can’t be trusted in public…

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:19 PM

a calculated snub showing a stupid degree of arrogance

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:07 PM

Weird.

I came in here looking for news…

Nov 1st 2015, 6:25 PM

Your car is on fire, that is news lol.

njh
    Mute njh
    Favourite njh
    Nov 2nd 2015, 8:05 AM

I think Portugal will be a flop. there was a synergy to Dublin – lot of US tech companies already here. made sense for a lot of executives to travel and tie it in with a visit to their European headquarters. Ridiculous state of affairs that this is moving given our dependence and national “brand” associated with US tech. A combination of a greedy promoter and foolish government that has come to this.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:01 PM

Enda did the right thing by not attending their web Summit, after they dumped Dublin for Lisbon.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:02 PM

“Come into my parlour” said the spider to the fly…

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Nov 2nd 2015, 8:11 AM

AAAAhhhh Enda please go lets see if you can put both feet into your big mouth, You might need the army to stand around you in case there is a problem, but then they might be standing at all the ATM machines to keep fthe foreign beggar’s from sitting under or beside them. Would you just go somewhere out of this country & take the rest of your cronies with you.

Mute Richard Mccarthy
    Favourite Richard Mccarthy
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:32 PM

Whatever,im outa here.

Mute Richard Mccarthy
    Favourite Richard Mccarthy
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:33 PM

Whatever