You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE RUSSIAN FOREIGN Affairs Minister Sergei Lavrov has warned that a return to the “nightmare scenario of military confrontation” in Ukraine is highly likely.
Speaking at an Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) meeting in Stockholm, Lavrov accused NATO of bringing its military infrastructure “closer to the Russian borders.”
US Secretary of State Antony Blinken has urged Russia to “de-escalate” on Ukraine and use “diplomacy”, reiterating his threat of “serious consequences” if Russia resorts to “aggression”.
“We have deep concerns about Russia’s plans for renewed aggression against Ukraine,” Blinken told Sergei Lavrov during the talks in Sweden.
The US reiterated it’s stance today, after threatening “high impact” sanctions yesterday.
Lavrov earlier urged the West to seriously consider “relevant proposals” Moscow would be presenting soon to prevent NATO’s expansion to the east.
“A Direct Threat”
His comments come after the Kremlin said that Ukraine’s stated goal of retaking Crimea, which Moscow seized in 2014, amounted to a “direct threat” to Russia, as tensions soar over Kiev’s conflict with pro-Russia separatists.
Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky said yesterday that Crimea was Ukrainian territory and Kiev’s goal was to “liberate” it.
He focused however on diplomatic solutions and made no mention of taking the peninsula by force.
“Speaking in parliament, Zelensky said that the return of Crimea should be the main goal and philosophy of Ukraine,” Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov told reporters.
“We see this as a direct threat to Russia.”
“Such wording of course means that the Kiev regime intends to use all available means — including force, in order to encroach on a Russian region. This is how we are leaning towards perceiving it.”
Kiev’s Western allies have warned in recent weeks that a Russian invasion of Ukraine may be imminent and that Moscow may use a threat to its security as a pretext.
“The likelihood of hostilities in Ukraine is still high,” Peskov said.
“This remains a matter of particular concern and worry for us. We are seeing an increase in the intensity of provocative actions on the contact line.”
Meeting Tomorrow
Top US diplomats and their Russian counterparts are set to meet in Sweden tomorrow after Washington expressed concern about a Russian military buildup near Ukraine.
Pro-Moscow rebels seized two eastern Ukrainian regions shortly after Russia annexed Crimea in a long-simmering conflict that has claimed over 13,000 lives.
Kiev and its Western allies accuse Moscow of backing the separatist fighters with forces and weapons, claims the Kremlin denies.
Earlier, Ukraine’s army said one of its soldiers was killed in clashes with the separatists this week.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
19 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
We need a harsh rule to stop career criminals, to be honest we could start at 100 strikes and you get a life sentence and it woujd still improve things!
Sounds like a plan – when interviewing Anglo bankers, slip some laxative in their coffee. When the mess ensues, the judge will go to town on them later. Their barrister may be able to bamboozle the court on corruption and fraud charges, but try weasel out of the defecation charge.
Sean Fitzpatrick: 10 years
Fingers Fingleton: 15 years
Matt Moran : 50 years
I am not saying any of these individuals are guilty of any financial wrongdoing , but we could fit them up for a defecation offense
and we struggle with budgets to keep Garda stations opened, so for stealing 16 euro’s of Fairy Liquid, pooping – we spend a further 121,333 euro keeping him in Mount Joy – great lads !
Back in my day a cop would have put on rubber gloves and cleaned it up. Nowadays, they outsource it. Poor Gardai, they don’t like the rain or cleaning up a bit of shit.
Idiot do you think they went in with a wet wipe and picked it up. It is unknown what diseases that scuumbag is harbouring I would think that room was given a deep clean.
Martin you are not looking at the bigger picture. He got caught 165 times stealing so how many times didn’t he get caught? Multiply that by the amount of goods he stole each time and I’m fairly sure it would add up to much more than €16 and that’s why he is locked up.
Even with a deep clean by someone with the HACCP courses done (like me) a rate of 131 euro for half an hours work done is pretty good going – don’t assume were all idiots – Alesis
I didn’t assume it, Martin. I’m simply pointing out how ludicrous is it that a Garda can;t clean a room or cell in 2015. What would happen if it happened in a station in a small town in the middle of the country? Would the Gardai call someone in from the city to clean it? If so, that’s outrageous and a shcoking waste of money.
“So by ur logic nurses have to clean a hospital” – Yes. That happened up to very recently and is now yet another reason why the health service is in shit and costs a bloody fortune to run,. We know have manky hospitals and superbugs Bring back the Matron – they ran a tight ship and at least cleaned the bloody place.
“teachers clean the schools” – as a matter of fact yes. Teachers AND students used to clean the schools in days gone by. Imagine that. What depravity eh?
That’s true Martin, I reckon instead of blaming the guy who appears to have had a fairly good start in life and to end up pooping in a garda station needs to be looked at, simply rearresting him over and over again for the same crimes and it not working is like the definition of madness repeating the same mistakes over and over again and expecting different results, at least the guy can plead that he was out of his head on gear, what’s the judicial systems excuse?
Would ya cop on. All public buildings have cleaning and or cleaning contractors. Please reply when u know what u are talking about. I would rather have nurses teachers etc employed to do the job they are paid to do rather than clean the building they work from. I wonder how many apple or metronic employees have to clean the building they work in? None I’d guess and rightly so.
Jesus you’re not too bright are you. The Gardai and nurses deal with intoxicated people every night of the week. It’s part of the job description. Apple don;t and nor do public companies. There is no parallel.
I’m not to bright . U can’t even answer what I have stated. There are cleaners employed to do the job of cleaning. Nurses nurse, teachers teach and gardai police. Do you get ta concept or will I have to spell it out slower for you. The point about apple etc was that public and private bodies have a similar policy when it comes to cleaning the buildings they work in. Try understand stop making a fool of your self
You’ll find there is a hospital orderly to do that job most of the time a nurses aid and what have you. In some cases I suppose a nurse has to deal with a person who is incontent etc. My point is that cleaners are employed to clean public buildings but for some reason alesis thinks the gardai should have to clean the garda stations. I wonder does he have an axe to grind the fool
naoibh b- few would suggest that the gardai should have to clean the garda stations. However many would think that one of them could have gloved up, picked up the turd and wiped the floor with disinfectant instead of calling the cleaners in specifically to carry out that one small five minute task. If a child did it in a classroom I am pretty certain that a teacher would clean it up rather than calling in the cleaners to pick it up for them.
I find it hard to equate the innocent mistake of a child with that of a prisoner deliberately doing that in ta corner of an interview room. Accordingly I would find it hard to think a garda should have to clean up after its just not the same. Would you do it? Even it you would I feel you shouldn’t have to. I think the gardai were fully entitled to call in the cleaners on this occasion. Not easy for them either btw
naoibh b if the choice was clean it up in 5 minutes myself or call the cleaners specifically to do it at a cost to the taxpayer, then yes I would clean it up myself. Maybe if I worked in the public sector I’d feel differently about using resources
Naoibh we don’t have orderlies or nurses aids in Ireland. We have healthcare assistants and porters. And it stills stands, the nurses still clean up the bodily fluids.
165 previous convictions, I know that most of these boyos normally say that they “couldn`t give a shit” – but this fella obviously could.
sort of Karma that he will be slopping out his own cell for the next 16 months, ah well, they say practice makes perfect.
Fionn…165 previous’s ….. He deserved a lot more,the ignorant filthy pig…. People moaning over DOB continually,is just boring at this stage … Fair play to him for making billions…we all would if we could !!!
We all would?? Maybe you! But I’m of the opinion that the inequality of wealth is at the core of humanity’s problems.
Especially wealth amassed by fraudulent and corrupt behaviour!
If the tribunals findings were followed up on then we could find a situation whereby DOBS investments since this time each amount to an illegal transaction!
One rule for the powerful, anyone espousing differently is either a fool or a knave!
I’m a realist who dosent spend his time moaning and whining at every opportunity . Life’s too short ..stop moaning and grow up..there will always be very rich, rich,middle class ,working class and poor …that’s life …communism never worked …ask half of Eastern Europe !!!
The man is obviously critically mentally unstable. I think 16 months in prison was a bit harsh. He needs rehab and counselling as prison won’t help him or us he needs someone of good influence to help him turn his life around. I’ve seen bigger criminals get away with a lot less than 16 months for bigger crimes.
Then he should have gotten help a long time ago. He is mentally unstable and Jail time will increase that instability tenfold doing both him and society no favor as he will be out robbing again in no time. He needs someone of good influence to turn his life around. He’s fallen from the ladder and just needs counselling and to be sent to a mental hospital until he gets better.
Agree Stephen. The dude is obviously destroyed because of his addiction & the answer is put him on a methadone programme & lock him up. There is nowhere else to put him only back into the prison system where he learns more ways to scam for his habit & has endless amounts of it. The system is stuffed full of addicts and people with mental problems that are considered criminals. They might have committed a criminal act but have serious underlying issues that can be managed & fixed with the right attitude & skills. In prisons they are used by proper criminals for holding gear, phones whatever in cells. Ireland is going the same route as the US prison system which is clogged with people that will never get out of the it because they throw them altogether & don’t deal with the core problem. We need more facility’s for the mentally challenged. More facilities for drug addicts & properly trained staff in them. Crime is not our problem,yet. Addiction is
Stephen do you really think that the approach that you have mentioned was not tried in the past? He’s a recidivist and has to take some level of responsibility himself.
Isn’t it ironic? You can scam the nation of billions, bribe Ministers to secure a lucrative licence, Evade Tax, silence debate on important public issues, ——But, make a nuisance in a cop shop – and you’e banged up..
More Prisons Please
The legal lobby don’t want more prisons as their customers are repeat offenders. Somebody with numerous convictions can potentially make solicitors, Junior council and Senior Council a huge amount of money. They also make money from the damage caused in insurance claims. Of course the judges and their families are all involved in the business so the status quo is maintained. It’s a huge business and if offenders were imprisoned it would seriously effect their business. People’ lives are put in danger to allow criminals continue to prosper and the legal profession to thrive. The moral in the Gardai is shot to pieces with repeat offenders constantly getting off cries. Shame on our government.
Campaign of harassment against student at on-campus housing 'deeply concerning'
27 mins ago
The Morning Lead
Diplomacy through other means: Why this drone shadowed the Tánaiste's every move in Lebanon
Niall O'Connor
5 hrs ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say