You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kiev promises 'restraint' as army nears rebel Donetsk

Francois Hollande and Angela Merkel have urged for a political solution to be reached.

Ukraine Ukrainian tanks roll to the base in Devhenke village, Kharkiv, on Monday. AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka / Evgeniy Maloletka

REBEL STRONGHOLDS IN eastern Ukraine are braced for more fighting as Western leaders piled more pressure on Kiev to strike a truce with pro-Russian separatists.

In a telephone call, French President Francois Hollande and German Chancellor Angela Merkel urged the Western-backed President Petro Poroshenko to move toward a political solution and said he promised to exercise “restraint” in the continuing drive to establish control in eastern Ukraine.

Poroshenko said however that the rebels were still receiving weapons from Russian territory and lamented a “lack of progress” in even agreeing the next round of talks with Moscow.

In Lugansk — one of two regional capitals still held by the insurgents — the streets were deserted and an AFP team heard regular artillery fire to the north of the city with shooting seeming to be focused around the rebels’ military headquarters.

Ukrainian defence ministry said that troops had to repel a rebel attack on the Lugansk airport.

Ukraine Army jets fly over the Ukrainian government military base while troops wait for President Petro Poroshenko. AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka / Evgeniy Maloletka

“Let them bomb us, let them kill us,” said a distraught local resident called Olga. “We have nowhere to go. Where could we go?” asked her husband Yevgeny.

The couple said they were trying to get their young son out of town as he was too scared to sleep at night.

Three people were killed in the city and five injured in the past 24 hours, local authorities said.

Another three servicemen were killed and four injured in clashes across east Ukraine in the same period, Kiev’s National Security and Defence Council said Wednesday.

In Slavyansk, the flashpoint town that was left by the rebels at the weekend, shell-shocked residents said they had hopes that Kiev’s promises to rebuild it from the rubble were not just words.

Ukraine Petro Poroshenko, center, and Minister of Defense, Valery Heletey, left, inspect weapons captured from rebels in Devhenke village. AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka AP Photo / Evgeniy Maloletka / Evgeniy Maloletka

“If (Poroshenko) wants to be the president of the whole country, I think they will rebuild it,” 62-year-old pensioner Nina said after meeting the Ukrainian leader Tuesday evening on his lightning visit to the ravaged Slavyansk where basic supplies were now distributed to queues of people.

The three-way call between Merkel, Hollande and Poroshenko lasted forty minutes, and Paris said it resulted in assurances by the Ukrainian leader to “exercise necessary restraint… to spare civilians” as Kiev is faced with the rebels now housed in a much larger city of Donetsk.

Poroshenko said air force officer Nadiya Savchenko, who was captured by militants in eastern Ukraine, was now in a jail in central Russian city of Voronezh, calling it “unacceptable”.

Russia said Wednesday that Savchenko, known as “GI Jane” in her home country, has been arrested and charged with accessory to murder over the killed Russian state television journalists in June, and that she crossed the border herself without documents, pretending to be a refugee.

The Kremlin has been unusually restrained since the string of military advances by Kiev with analysts saying Putin could be distancing himself from the rebels despite calls from hawks to send troops across the border.

- © AFP, 2014

Read: Ukraine claims rebels have been flushed from a main stronghold >

More: Ceasefire falls through in Ukraine as military launches ‘massive offensive’ >

View 31 comments
31 Comments
    Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:44 PM

American christian fundamentalists interfering in our affairs.

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Favourite Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:24 PM

where exactly does the article talk about American christian fundamentalists interfering in our affairs ?

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:40 PM

It’s well known that the American Christian right give substantial funding to the Irish anti-choice movement.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute zedabelzer
    Favourite zedabelzer
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:42 PM

It’s common knowledge that the likes of Youth Defence are hugely funded from the US. Who do you think is donating if not Christian fundamentalists? Atheist liberals?

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:48 PM

youth defense have a very big support base in Ireland , many professional workers contribute substantially to their kitty , and so they should , there a great bunch of lads and girls doing wonderful work in this country.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:55 PM

When you try to make a donation on the Youth Defence website it’s in US dollars via Truthtv.org, an American company, can’t ignore such facts when it suits

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:56 PM

If there is one thing American christian fundamentalists like, its interfering in the affairs of others. That and bombing people in the middle east. As long as your a fetus your grand.

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:58 PM

What good do they do?

Mute Carl Douglas
    Favourite Carl Douglas
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:21 PM

and it’s well known Chuck Feeney US billionaire funds Irish pro abortion outfits.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:40 PM

Feeney is Irish-American, and it’s no secret where the funding comes from, he has invested over €600m in higher education in both Northern Ireland and the Republic, but as usual, anti-choice folk love to have a boogeyman, it’s like Chinese whispers. There is no evidence to suggest Feeney has provided any funding for pro-choice organisations, he has donated to the Irish Council for Civil Liberties, which encompasses all civil rights issues.

Mute zedabelzer
    Favourite zedabelzer
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:44 PM

‘There (I assume you mean they’re?) a great bunch of lads doing wonderful work blah blah blah. You’ve shown yourself to be a troll so therefore no further communication necessary.

Mute Niall Noonan
    Favourite Niall Noonan
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:31 PM

Judging by the lack of printed signs, funded events, national advertising, buses to take people to rallies, sound systems, giant tv screens and online ad campaigns, if I were Feeney I’d be asking serious questions about where the millions in prochoice funding is going.

I often wonder if Karl and the anti-choicers read back their obvious lies and realise how ridiculous they sound. I guess not.

Mute Darren Swords
    Favourite Darren Swords
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:50 PM

Owned by Gaius.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 14th 2013, 11:03 PM

Youth Defence are thugs. I witnessed them in Molesworth Street in 1983 get out of a van with Hurley sticks. They discredit the pro-life agenda and they are the incipience of a fascist movement in Ireland.

Threatening your fellow citizens is anti-democratic.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Feb 15th 2013, 12:41 AM

Peter, I’d be interested in hearing about your experiences that day. Please email, FB, Google, or Tweet me, if you’re happy to chat.

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 18th 2013, 11:11 AM

peter richardson says ” they are the incipience of a fascist movement in Ireland”

I think you’ll find peter that the only fascists at present monopolising the media (print and online) telling people what to do and how they should think are the pro abortionist / anti life brigade , sadly good people like youth defense are not allowed any coverage in the irish media , the same media which is supposed to be award winning for its openess but yet seeks to vilify anybody questioning the libertarian agenda or anybody questioning EU treaties at referendum times , these people are not allowed in the so called “new Ireland” media , however by keeping people down only serves to make them stronger as we’ve seen down through generations of Irish history.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Feb 18th 2013, 5:09 PM

On the contrary, I think you’ll find that the ones acting like fascists are Youth Defence, who are demanding that the government ignore supreme court judgements, and who insist on telling women what to do with their bodies.

Mute Brian Houlihan
    Favourite Brian Houlihan
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:34 PM

Hardly a surprise

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:06 PM

Hardly surprising.. The vast majority of the funding and support for the anti choice campaign comes from the states, and due to their actions they have a reputation for disrespecting people’s privacy and using sneaky tactics to push their agenda..

You just know that they did this in this specific manner knowing full well that there would be nothing anyone could do about it. Just like when they spam your Facebook news feed with their “sponsored” statuses and shoving their leaflets in your hand and telling rape victims that they were to blame for their attack..

Such a highly moral group eh?

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:27 PM

It seems the so called pro life crowd don’t like you stating facts about how they get their funding

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:19 PM

That’s fair enough, they’re entitled to not like it, it doesn’t change the facts.

As Geoffshorts has proven through analysing the following of these groups – most of their support is indeed American.
    American Christian lobbyists have admitted that they contribute massively to the Irish anti choice campaign (and they do these call for them).
    And their representatives make rather insensitive comments to rape victims such as the following:
    https://m.facebook.com/notalwaysabetteroption/posts/570196166324049

If they don’t like that – perhaps they should move to change the campaigns tactics rather than just having an issue with the truth..

Mute Damien Moore
    Favourite Damien Moore
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:38 PM

Couldn’t the authorities order phone companies to block incoming calls from the number?
    Sure the number would change periodically but it might be a way to cut down on the annoyance and uphold some sort of law.

Mute youdontknowme
    Favourite youdontknowme
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:45 PM

Not if it comes from voip. Number could change every day if they wanted.its only anti choice nonsense just ignore them and make sure you make your views heard

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:11 PM

Desperate times need desperate measures. The anti-abortion zealots know their time is coming to a close.

Mute Graham
    Favourite Graham
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:04 PM

Wow I’m shocked lol. Who would of thought those calls came from America. I thought Pro Life only got their funding from there.

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:32 PM

But if the calls were”feigned from the United States” and “came fro across the Atlantic” does that not mean they came from Europe (or maybe Ireland)? Can Journalexplain?

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:58 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong, but didn’t they need someone in Ireland to set up the Dublin landline through which the calls were routed? Can’t the Ireland-based accomplices be prosecuted? (if they exist)

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:05 PM

Setting a phone number to divert its calls elsewhere isn’t a crime. That’s all the Irish person would have needed to do.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:26 PM

Well hopefully the regulations can be altered to include people who assist nuisance callers in the future. ARE YOU LISTENING COM REG?

Mute Declan McCabe
    Favourite Declan McCabe
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:10 PM

Maybe you could try diverting your message to them? What if they dont see it here?

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:27 PM

They’re ComReg. They see all on the internets.

Mute Carl Douglas
    Favourite Carl Douglas
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:24 PM

Change the regulations and then who decides what is classified as a “nuisance call”?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:54 PM

Carl.
    As someone who worked in the industry and is familiar with communications regulation I should inform you of the regulations surrounding unsolicited calls.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Feb 14th 2013, 11:44 PM

@Carl – Who decides what a nuisance call is? Well, all of the people who complain about getting them for a start. And I think what Shanti explained there has the definition pretty well covered.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:41 PM

Ultimately I see this as a good news story for the Pro-Choice side. The more people know about where the pro-lifers get their funding, the better. Hopefully more people will see that the web videos, print ads and robo-calls are just re-packaged foreign propaganda masquerading as the views of a non-existent Irish majority.

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:51 PM

Agreed. Whoever runs their promotional arm should get their ass kicked. Between robo-calls, misleading poster ads they didn’t have image rights to, and spamming Facebook feeds they’re not exactly winning any friends which is brilliant frankly. Keep on keeping in YD.

Mute Anna Marie Joyce
    Favourite Anna Marie Joyce
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:32 PM

I received one of these calls and was not impressed My views and opinions are my own and I certainly dont need a bunch of idiots trying to “convert” me Cant understand how someone in the U.S. can get my phone number when I am ex directory ….so much for privacy!!

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:20 PM

Well said Anna Marie, That’s exactly what I’ve been wondering. I’m ex Directory too. I confirmed it with Vodafone this afternoon. That’s what needs investigating. How and who leaked our information to that group and what else did they get hold of, our direct debit details, our credit card numbers?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:59 PM

I sincerely hope that they do not have your details, if it is any consolation automated diallers can be set in different ways, some are simply going to call all numbers within a certain range, some will be connected and others won’t.
    There are dialler systems which operate with specific details too, but I would imagine setting it to call all numbers from 100000-999999 with a specific prefix is much easier to program..

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:38 PM

I dont see what the problem is , I got one and was more than happy to receive it unlike the FG/FF rubbish that comes in the letterbox

Mute Brian O'Se
    Favourite Brian O'Se
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:41 PM

Would you prefer the Claire daly/boyd barrett version instead is it?

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:44 PM

No , none of them , there all the same , europhiliacs to the core.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:47 PM

You may not have a problem with unsolicited voice-mail, but they have no right to bother us with their calls.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:31 PM

Do you like spam email as well?

One can only assume that you must think it’s fine to be spammed with nonsense you never requested.

If you’d like to give me your email address I’ll be happy to sign you up to more spam email,

After all you don’t see the problem with spam,

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:35 PM

I get spam emails all the time like everyone else on the planet , its part of life , I’m not going to write an Article about it or kick up a big fuss .

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:08 PM

So your excuse now is, it just happens and it’s part of life and sure isn’t a big deal.

Great, let’s not do anything about stuff that happens even if it’s illegal.

Your defense is a joke, get back under your rock.

Mute Carl Douglas
    Favourite Carl Douglas
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:19 PM

But these calls aren’t illegal.

Mute Catherine Rotte-Murray
    Favourite Catherine Rotte-Murray
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:23 PM

Well I’d love to know what Irish group are behind the Life Institute full page “pro-life” anti-legislation ads in the local media? Dungarvan Observer carried one today and I wonder if they’re in other papers too. These ads don’t come cheap.
    Three quotes from obstetricians/psychiatrists from the hearings – wonder if they appreciate being linked to this dubious outfit, and also if the quotes out of context are truly representational?

Mute Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:56 PM

Adoption arguments aside, I would consider this a legal loophole that should be closed up. If an identifying number accompanies a message (textual or voice), then the reciever should be entitled to consider that identifier as being true or accurate. This not being the case – where the identifier is apparently just supplied as a take-it-or-leave-it courtesy – leaves great room for misuse (think of phishing scams or stalking).

Understandably, where mass-messaging is concerned (eg. school texting services, or commercial ‘update’ services) then considerations would have to be made, but the ultimate originator of the message should surely be located within the same legal jurisdiction, and therefore subject to the same communication laws that apply to everyone else.

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:27 PM

The Irish regulator should place every Irish phone number on the USA’s “Do Not Call” list.

It’s free and would mean that the USA government would be able to legally pursue these thugs in the future.

Mute susanna smyth
    Favourite susanna smyth
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:17 PM

Wouldn’t these people be better off spending their time directing their energies towards campaigning to change the gun laws in the US

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Feb 15th 2013, 12:22 PM

They’re the ones who are most intend on keeping their guns, the right wing christian fundamentalists are the most pro gun faction in the US, think tea party types! The same numpties are also trying to interfere in the abortion debate over here hence the dirty tricks, groups like youth defence are being funded by these right wing religious zealots who see it as their right to shoot living people but at the same time protect foetuses! Crazy people!

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:46 PM

Whose phones are they targeting, is it random, or do they have confidential information which they are not entitled to use?? There’s the questions need answering.
    And if I ever get some interfering God-bothering bible-thumping knobend phoning me, I will tell them in no uncertain terms to “feck off” and mind their own business. That’s harassment and it isn’t right.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:06 PM

Only it was a recording. Your F off would have literally landed on the same deaf ears as trying to reason with them in person..

As I said above, hopefully they don’t have actual info and merely set the dialler to call a range eg (01)100000 – (01) 9999999. But as you say it is rather important that we find out what method was used to select numbers to ensure there has not been a breach of confidence with a database here.

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:02 PM

But Sean , I thought you Libertarian people had the philosophy that everyone is entitled to exert their rights even if it offends others.

Mute Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Favourite Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:19 PM

Can I have your number so? I’d like to say some things to you!

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:21 PM

@Freebies, I see you have complained about EU interference in Ireland, but don’t have any problem with US interference in Ireland, hypocritical methinks

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:28 PM

hold on a minute . the article says nothing about US interference or anything else

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:48 PM

Hang on Freebies, I think I have a bigger shovel in the shed

Mute Geoff Irwin
    Favourite Geoff Irwin
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:00 PM

Try reading it again but with your eyes open this time.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:06 PM

#1 – I don’t ever remember professing to being a Libertarian. (Assuming this is directed at me, the only Seán in the comments).

#2 That is not what Libertarianism states. Freedom of speech and freedom of expression do not include actively harassing people on the phone via unsolicited calls. That is illegal.

So if someone wants to setup a stall in the middle of a city, and share their views where people have the option of coming over and listening – I’m all for it. But what I’m not for is illegal harassment over the phone. It’s clear you’re so warped, that you’re incapable of seeing the wrongness and illegality of spam phone calls.

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 15th 2013, 6:34 PM

seanie, how can you be harassed by a robotic message ??

Mute Carl Douglas
    Favourite Carl Douglas
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:27 PM

Typical reaction from Irish nanny-staters something they don’t like and there has to be a government intervention or more rules and regulations. Ever hear of the concept of hanging up the phone? Not everything has to require some form of government intervention.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:03 PM

Carl.
    These calls were received by people who had specifically requested no unsolicited calls, people who were ex directory and so their number should not have been available to unknown strangers, some people’s children answered the phone, some women who had had abortions for very personal and painful reasons were hit with these calls..

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:06 PM

Carl, you know your right.

It’s a nanny state, we should allow abortions…. After all who is the state to tell us we can’t or to put rules in place?

Free choice for all women, down with the nanny state

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Feb 15th 2013, 12:44 AM

Meh, can’t even take his “argument” remotely seriously: Carl’s a troll.

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Feb 15th 2013, 2:21 PM

Barry , what does free choice actually mean , am I free to go out and take someone elses life without being imprisoned ? no , therefore why should you want to make an exception for a woman to do just that

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 14th 2013, 11:10 PM

I just clicked off the receiver. I was not called again. Of course it is wrong that these robocalls are made but they are counterproductive.

Mute hsianloon
    Favourite hsianloon
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:59 PM

Drone attacks are legal too. Careful

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Feb 14th 2013, 5:59 PM
    Mute Pdrg Mrdt
    Favourite Pdrg Mrdt
    Feb 15th 2013, 1:51 PM

Professor Eamon O’Dwyer is linked in a number of articles on Youth Defence website, including the following
    http://www.youthdefence.ie/latest-news/major-medical-symposium-in-dublin-concludes-that-abortion-is-not-medically-necessary-to-save-the-life-of-a-mother/
    The calls were traced to a company called Parenthood USA – a Pro Life campaign group. Interestingly in their news section they mention that Professor Eamon O’Dwyer was the lead spokesman at a Youth Defence-organised conference at which Professor Eamon O’Dwyer made the comments used in the phone message
    http://www.personhoodusa.com/news

Mute Pdrg Mrdt
    Favourite Pdrg Mrdt
    Feb 15th 2013, 2:01 PM

Interestingly as well there is another link between Youth Defence & Parenthood USA – Keith Mason from Personhood USA and Dr. Eoghan de Faoite chairperson of Youth Defence attended a conference in Portugal as 2 of the 10 worldwide Pro Life organisions involved in the Pro Life referendum in 2012
    http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/global-pro-life-summit-attracts-media-attention-to-portugal-pro-life-refere/
    The Irish contigent apparently “shared their cutting-edge pro-life strategies to educate the public on abortion”.

Mute Wesley Whitworth
    Favourite Wesley Whitworth
    Feb 17th 2013, 3:54 PM

Good to know you can get around Irish law if you just commit the crime from another country where it is not illegal.