You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Ukraine has offered to release Russian prisoners in exchange for the safe evacuation of badly injured fighters trapped inside a steel mill in Mariupol PA Images
NATO
Russia continues assault on east Ukraine as Finland moves towards joining Nato
Kyiv is preparing for its first war crimes trial of a captured Russian soldier.
7.05am, 12 May 2022
LAST UPDATE|12 May 2022
FINLAND TOOK A step towards fast-track membership of NATO, triggering a blunt warning from the Kremlin, as Russian forces pounded areas in Ukraine’s east today, including the last pocket of resistance in besieged Mariupol.
In Geneva, the UN Human Rights Council decided to probe alleged Russian atrocities in Ukraine, in a vote overwhelmingly approved by its members but snubbed by Russia.
Announcing a seismic change in policy since Russia invaded its neighbour in February, Finland’s leaders declared their nation must apply to join NATO “without delay.”
“NATO membership would strengthen Finland’s security,” President Sauli Niinisto and Prime Minister Sanna Marin said in a joint statement in Helsinki.
“As a member of NATO, Finland would strengthen the entire defence alliance.”
But Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov warned Russia would “definitely” see Finnish membership as a threat.
The Russian foreign ministry said Moscow would be “forced to take reciprocal steps, military-technical and other, to address the resulting threats to its national security.”
In launching the invasion of Ukraine, President Vladimir Putin cited in part what he called the threat from NATO, which expanded eastwards after the Cold War.
The foreign ministry accused NATO of seeking to create “another flank for the military threat to our country.”
“Helsinki should be aware of its responsibility and the consequences of such a move,” it said.
Finland has been a declared neutral in East-West crises for decades, and as recently as January its leaders ruled out NATO membership of the alliance.
But the 24 February invasion shocked the Nordic nation.
It shares a 1,300-kilometre border with Russia and its past is studded with conflict with its giant neighbour.
NATO has already declared it will warmly embrace the two countries with deep pockets and well-equipped armies.
Press Association Images
Finland’s entry will be “smooth and swift,” NATO chief Jens Stoltenberg promised on Thursday.
Germany, France and the powerful US Senate Foreign Relations Committee also strongly voiced their support, and Britain has already pledged its assistance.
A special committee will announce Finland’s formal decision on a membership bid on Sunday. Sweden, another neutral state, is widely expected to follow its neighbour.
Russian gas
Russia’s flow of gas to Europe fell meanwhile, spurring fears for Germany and other heavily-dependent economies.
Russian energy giant Gazprom announced it would stop supplying gas via the Polish part of the Yamal-Europe pipeline following retaliatory sanctions that Russia slapped on Western companies yesterday.
Gazprom also said gas transiting to Europe via Ukraine had dropped by a third – a fall it blamed on Ukraine’s pipeline operator, which the company denies, pointing the finger at Russia.
Ukraine and Poland are major supply routes for Russian gas to Europe and the two sides have kept flows going despite the conflict.
The European Union’s heavy reliance on Russian energy has made it reluctant to add oil and gas imports to sanctions that are inflicting a toll on Russia’s economy.
Nadiya Trubchaninova (70) sits next to a plastic bag that contains the body of her son Vadym Trubchaninov (48), who was killed by Russian soldiers in Bucha on 30 March. PA Images
PA Images
Germany accused Russia of using “energy as a weapon.”
“The situation is coming to a head,” Economy Minister Robert Habeck said.
The EU is struggling to overcome Hungarian resistance for plans to ban Russian oil.
Mykhailo Podolyak, a senior aide to Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, drew a parallel with the 1930s as he urged the bloc to impose an immediate embargo.
“If the leaders had acted decisively in 1938, Europe could have avoided WWII,” he wrote on Twitter. “History won’t forgive us if we make the same mistake again.”#
Shelling
Fighting in Ukraine has been concentrated on the south and east since Russia abandoned attempts to seize Kyiv in the opening weeks of the war.
Ukraine’s presidency said shelling continued throughout Lugansk – part of the Donbas region where Ukrainian forces are fiercely opposing Russian armour and Kremlin-backed separatists.
Russian troops are trying to take complete control of Rubizhne, block a key highway between Lysychansk and Bakhmut and seize Severodonetsk, the office said.
In the northeastern region of Chernihiv three people were killed and 12 others wounded early Thursday in a strike on a school in Novgorod-Siversky, the emergency services said.
In the southern port city of Mariupol, besieged troops in the vast Azovstal steelworks have been holding out against weeks-long bombardment, refusing demands to surrender.
Read Next
Related Reads
Russia urged to annex Ukraine's Kherson, Moscow claims Kyiv bombed Russian city
Ukrainian Deputy Prime Minister Iryna Vereshchuk said “difficult talks” were underway over the evacuation of 38 seriously wounded troops.
War crimes probe
In Geneva, the UN Human Rights Council voted 33-2, with 12 abstentions, to investigate alleged atrocities BY Russian troops.
The resolution, brought by Ukraine, will focus on alleged crimes in the Kyiv, Chernihiv, Kharkiv and Sumy regions in late February and in March, “with a view to holding those responsible to account.”
“These have been 10 weeks of sheer horror to the people of my country,” Deputy Foreign Minister Emine Dzhaparova told the UN meeting from Kyiv.
“Only the world standing strong in solidarity with the Ukrainian people can defeat this pure evil.”
The International Criminal Court (ICC) in The Hague has already begun its own inquiry, sending investigators to the Kyiv suburb of Bucha.
The invasion has sparked an exodus of nearly six million civilians, many of whom describe torture, sexual violence and indiscriminate destruction.
Ukrainian prosecutors say they have received reports of more than 10,000 alleged crimes, with 622 suspects identified.
Yesterday, the office said it would launch the first trial for war crimes.
Vadim Shishimarin, a 21-year-old Russian soldier, is accused of killing an unarmed 62-year-old civilian as he fled with four other soldiers in a stolen car.
Dilemmas
Across Ukraine, lives have been turned upside down, forcing millions to make anguished choices of how to respond.
Zhanna Protsenko, a social worker in the frontline town of Orikhiv, spoke to AFP as she was about to head off on her bicycle to visit people who refused or were unable to evacuate.
“How can I leave them here?” the 56-year-old asked, standing near a hospital that was hit by a strike in the past week.
“We work. We have no time to hide,” she said as contractors repaired rows of blown-out windows and an oil drum-sized hole blasted in the hospital’s brick facade.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Is this a joke? Quotes from the article, such as “…in the fortunate position that her husband could bear the brunt of the rent…”; “…being more aware of lunch spending can make a big difference…”; “…I set up a direct debit to take €250 out of each paycheck. I get paid fortnightly so I was saving €500 a month!” What if you’re only paid €250 a week and can’t afford to do anything else but make your own lunches anyway? As for having a partner who could ‘bear the brunt of the rent’ – anyone interested in bearing the brunt of my €1,000 Dublin rent?
@Smidgen Dublin: So, you are paid 1000 per month? There are 156 hours in a normal working month.
Are you paid 6 euro an hour?
Minimum wage is €9.15
So, either you are only working part-time (and therefore can increase that either by changing job or by taking on more hours), or you are in a REALLY shit job. Either way, you shouldn’t be living in a 1000 euro a month apartment on 1000 gross wages, but I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you that.
I’m sure there are similar badly paid jobs for you available all over the country, but your accommodation costs would come right down.
@Wurps: Thanks for your kind and informed insightful comment. You read my post carefully and responded appropriately. You have really have opened my eyes.
Not only is this article ridiculous in its “simplicity” its also down right insulting to the majority who it pertains to be target!
So tell me all ye wonderful superior people in this article, say your, oh I dunno late 30′s. Single income of say 39,000. Supporting a wife and two kids. Wife stays at home with kids due to childcare costs.
Rent 1000pm
Car a necessity to travel to work which is 40 miles away so fuel up on 140 euros a fortnight.
No public transport option
you have to pay rent, bills, heating, food, look after two kids and all on less than 40k
And you give me this “put 250 a fortnight away” BS to make me feel better!!!
is that Aaron McKenna the journal contributor who is always on about cutting the minimum wage and PS pay ??
I mean are ye for fecking real here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do u not see the irony here!!
There’s a solution that myself and thousands of other people have used and it works a charm. It’s called emigration. I save 50% of my wages and still get to live a normal life.
What I like to see is how my grand parents on one wage bought a house, raised 5 kids on what is now called free ranged and organic, had one basic car,
I know we have wifi, phones, cars etc… but even with this we are relay unpaid these days if my grand parents both worked they be very well off, not like most Irish couples just about surviving these days,
In my current situation, my girlfriend and I commute from Westmeath to south Dublin every day. We work within 1km, as we are able to share the commute, and diesel costs. We both have cars. The commute takes around 80mins each way, depending on traffic. I used to live in south Dublin, but moved out in 2014. I Just looked on daft a few mins ago, and compared the rents from my current house, to a similar house where I used to live, there was exactly 1k per month in the difference. The diesel costs are around €250 between the 2 of us, that leaves roughly a saving of €750 a month. We both have cars, and still would have them if we lived in dublin, so the tax/insurance costs are the same as when I lived in Dublin. I must say, its not easy, Leaving the house at 6:30am, returning home usually around 7pm. We have very little free time, and we are usually exhausted when we get home. However, in our view its worth it, as we are able to put away 750 a month.
I know this will not work for everyone, especially anybody with kids.
your commute is costing you €12.5/hour, this is the fiscal costs of your time driving in and out and because your time is a resource, this what you need to earn in overtime for the same time. Therefore, if you earned after tax €20/hour instead of commuting this would be savings. it is a waste of everyone’s time not having proper infrastructure, and as visible above, it is lost revenue for spending and saving.
I see where you get the figures from. However, I am on the high rate of tax, so its the same as me being on €25/hour before tax. As you say, my time is a resource, however it depends on what you decide to do with that time. Sit in traffic and save €12.50 per hour, or rent in dublin, and and save nothing.
The simplest is don’t buy a car. Or if you are a couple, share a car. Between depreciation, tax and insurance, you are looking at more than €3,000 per year before you even put a drop of petrol into it.
I know it’s not practical for people living outside the large cities, but that’s where most 20-something’s live nowadays anyway.
Walking, cycling, using public transport and getting a GoCar/hire car when you need it works out a lot cheaper.
KBC bank of course…is there any such thing as bad publicity because KBC are doing a pretty good job at it on here daily with their patronising financial advice.
Im in my 30s dont have a family home where i can live rent free.. so pay rent pay for car pay weekly & monthly bills ect tbh id rather live like this and enjoy my free time my takeaway once a week my nights out than sit in saving every penny…. we are all going to end up in the same box in the ground regardless of how much money saved!!! But maybe thats just me!!!
I’ll say this, it is possible to save money / get yourself out of debt, but the one thing you really need (especially if you’re already under a mountain of debt) is luck or someone who can protect you from your creditors.
It’s all well and good spouting waffle about Nescafe Azera or your hubby bailing you out, but when you’re left with €15 or €30 a week after rent and bills (but before transport or groceries); that’s of no use to you. If you can get even one of your creditors (lets say a credit card company) to leave you alone for 6 months, it could be the makings of your salvation. Similarly, an unexpected tax rebate or PPI refund could wipe out an outstanding balance.
Perhaps KBC would like to give people a few interest free loans with a 3, 6 or 12 month interest free period to get people back on their feet?
Learn to be self sufficient. Instead of paying for your car to be serviced, buy some simple tools and DIY. Paint your own house. It’s far too easy to always pay someone else to do things you can easily do yourself. It goes back to the old proverb “give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day, teach him to fish and he’ll eat forever” Also treat savings as someone else’s money, don’t touch it until you NEED to.
@Emachine: this is supposed to be for people who don’t own their own home, what are they painting? If its rented accommodation don’t even buy the paint and do it yourself, thats the landlords responsibility.
In fact it is about people in their 20s and 30s who are successful savers. The intro doesn’t mention home ownership. That is an assumption on your part. There are more things in life to save for than a house deposit, you will find that out if you ever own a house. Saving doesn’t stop when you sign a mortgage contract. My examples were exactly that… examples.
I think it’s because when renting you have no security at all. I would have no problem renting for my entire life if I knew that the house I live in will be available for me for as long as I need/want without the fear of random rent homes and/or sudden eviction. Also if I could modify the house as I see fit.
You will get used to living frugally and it’s worth it in the end. Luckily my parents live in the Dublin area so I could move back home. I was able to save €750 a month or 40% of my income for a long time and eventually had enough for a deposit. I bought my cheap banger of a car for cash a few years ago. All my direct debits ( eg health and car insurance, phone bill etc) are set up to leave my account the day after pay day. I cut down on going out expenses by not drinking much and avoiding taxis where possible. Groupon is your friend for essential but luxury things like getting your hair done or eating out. Most of my wardrobe is from Penneys. I continue to use my debit card and avoid cash so that I can monitor my expenditure better. I identified what I could cut down on for example I used to grab a take away coffee every morning but that was setting me back 65 euro a month so I cut that out. It’s not easy but unless you’ve a rich partner or parents, you need to be careful with what you spend if you want to save for what you want.
Why would anyone want to save money today in a negative yielding interest rate environment for deposits!!!??? Doesnt make any sense in the most litteral sense
Regardless of interest, it is common sense to try and put some money away for a rainy day if your circumstances allow you to do so. I wouldn’t let the interest rates put me off putting something away. You never know when life will drop a bill on your lap, so it is nice to have something behind you.
A commentator on the journal.ie referred to YNAB approx 2 years ago.
It’s a software program downloadable for your PC/Mac with an accompanying smart-phone app.
I have used it daily since on my iPhone to record purchases and I cannot recommend it highly enough for helping you save money by changing your mind-set towards your spending habits.
There’s a month’s free trial and following that period, you can sign up if you so wish. I think it costs approx €50 per annum. (I signed up when there was a once-off charge but they’ve since changed it to a subscription based model).
Plenty of info on their website as well as tutorials on YouTube along with numerous very positive reviews.
Well worth a try. Stick with it everyday for the month’s trial and see how you view money differently. There are videos on YouTube, along with free-to join live online tutorials to help you understand the software as there is a learning curve involved to make full use of it.
Also google Dave Ramsey (Another US based financial advice guy with his own version of the software).
@Lukey: its not that complicated. I took out & paid back 2 x €10k Credit Union loans over 2 years so I had a good loan record with them. Then I borrowed €10k from my sister, lodged it into my shares, and got a loan of €55k (3 x share balance). Gave her back her €10k, and still had my 8% deposit and stamp duty sorted.
You just need a bit of aptitude and resourcefulness. I had zero savings and still managed to sort it out. A Credit Union loan doesn’t come up in your credit check for a mortgage. Needs to be declared voluntarily.
Limit the damage on nights out, leave the card at home and bring out a set amount. Also, avoid getting sick in taxis (that ones from personal experience)
… a commentator tried to follow mr.church’s savings tips in Dublin and ended up with hospital bills of €180k after being ploughed of his bicycle in the city centre by an uninsured taxi driver. he await the judgement by the Irish insurance fund for damages to the driver.
Money can be saved: but the government and bosses use thst as a brick to slash pay and raise taxes while the bail out the rich. The money we were able to save is then gone…
I’ve never been on a holiday, I’ve never been to a concert, I shop in Lidl & Aldi, I’m very responsible money-wise…yet I have barely anything left over at the end of the month because I rent in Dublin and I don’t have a salary. So no, it’s not our fault that we can’t save up. Stop with all this ‘you can’t save because you’re irresponsible with your money or you’re splurging’ rubbish.
WHEN ALL HOPE IS LOST IN WINNING THE LOTTERY MEGA MILLION AND DEEPLY SWIMMING IN UNPAYABLE DEBTS, LOOSING YOUR FAMILY AND THE ONES YOU LOVE AROUND YOU TO AN ABJECT POVERTY CONTACT THE VOODOO SPELL CASTER FOR LOTTERY SPELL,CASINO GAMBLING SPELLS,WIN LOTTERY JACKPOT,EURO MILLION JACKPOT, WIN YOUR CASINO GAMBLING GAMES WITH THE HELP OF A SPELL CASTER DR.OGUDU
My name is REG ABARE from ENGLAND before i meet DR OGUDU i have been in frustrating debts for about 6 years i have did everything possible to pay my debts and live a normal happy life with my family and friends but to no avail, I have played lottery for more than 9 years but never win big always been mock about spending my little earns on tickets that does not yield result but i was very determined and never give up on myself with hopes of earning a better life with the mega million games, The situation continued like this for about 8 years until i saw i heart touching testimonies of some many lottery winners who give all there vote of thanks and appreciation to DR OGUDU the lottery spell caster namely where BRYON STEWART, MARIE HOLMES, JULIE LEACK and more more others who he heard help in winning the lottery so i got his email and website online after deliberate thinking i decided to give him a try by contacting him through his email address and website behold after my encounter with DR.OGUDU my first winning tickets after he gave me some numbers to see his powers on lottery spell i won FIVE MILLION POUNDS[5.000.000] My life have totally changed for good and many more which he have done for me too numerous to mention if you have tried winning the lottery but no results contact DR OGUDU for life changing tickets and lottery numbers now VIA EMAIL [OGUDUSPELLTEMPLE@YAHOO.COM] WHATS-APP NUMBER +2348106058254″”WEBSITE_ http://oguduspelltemple.wixsite.com/drogudu
Apple's Irish subsidiary incurs $25 billion corporation tax charge as pre-tax profits hit $76 billion
33 mins ago
evening fix
Here's What Happened Today: Friday
56 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say