You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A damaged building in the port city of Mariupol, Ukraine earlier this week. Xinhua News Agency/PA Images

UN sends new Mariupol convoy to rescue civilians from 'bleak hell'

Ten weeks into the war, Russia has focused its efforts on Ukraine’s east and south.

A NEW UN convoy is expected in Mariupol today to evacuate civilians from the “bleak hell” of a besieged steel plant that has become the last pocket of resistance against invading Russian forces in the southern port city.

The Russian military had announced a three-day ceasefire at the site starting yesterday but a Ukrainian commander said there was still heavy fighting at the sprawling Azovstal complex, where hundreds of soldiers and civilians have been holed up for weeks under heavy bombardment.

Ten weeks into a war that has killed thousands, destroyed cities and uprooted more than 13 million people, Russia has focused its efforts on Ukraine’s east and south, and taking full control of the now-flattened Mariupol would be a major victory for Moscow.

“A convoy is proceeding to get to Azovstal by tomorrow morning hopefully to receive those civilians remaining in that bleak hell,” UN humanitarian chief Martin Griffiths told a Ukraine donor conference in Warsaw on Thursday.

The mayor of Mariupol estimates around 200 civilians remain sheltering in dismal conditions in the plant’s Soviet-era underground tunnels.

“We still have to evacuate civilians from there, women and children. Just imagine… more than two months of constant bombing and constant death,” Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy said in his evening address yesterday.

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) told AFP “that a safe passage operation is ongoing” in coordination with the UN. The two organisations have already worked together to evacuate some 100 civilians from the complex.

Speaking to the Israeli prime minister yesterday, Russian President Vladimir Putin said his military was ready to allow civilians to leave, according to the Kremlin.

“As for the militants remaining at Azovstal, the Kyiv authorities must give them an order to lay down their arms,” Putin said.

A commander of the Azov regiment defending the factory said in a video on Telegram that there was still heavy bloody fighting.

“The Russians violated the promise of a truce and did not allow the evacuation of civilians who continue to hide from shelling in the basement of the plant,” Svyatoslav Palamar said.

Pentagon denial

Since failing to take Kyiv early on in its invasion, which began February 24, Russia has focused its efforts on Ukraine’s east and south.

Seizing the strategically located Mariupol would allow Moscow to create a land bridge between the separatist pro-Russian regions in eastern Ukraine and Crimea, which it annexed in 2014.

The Kremlin conceded Thursday that Kyiv’s Western partners had prevented a quick end to Moscow’s campaign by sharing intelligence and weapons with Ukraine, but that it was “incapable of hindering the achievement” of Russia’s military operation.

The United States is among Ukraine’s biggest backers, supplying military equipment and munitions worth billions of dollars as well as intelligence and training.

But the White House has sought to limit knowledge of the full extent of its assistance to avoid provoking Russia into a broader conflict beyond Ukraine.

Washington yesterday denied an explosive report in The New York Times that it helped Ukraine target Russian generals.

“The United States provides battlefield intelligence to help the Ukrainians defend their country,” National Security Council spokesperson Adrienne Watson said.

“We do not provide intelligence with the intent to kill Russian generals.”

Separately, US media reported Thursday that Washington had shared intelligence that helped Ukraine sink the Russian warship Moskva last month.

However a US official, who spoke on condition of anonymity, told AFP that the United States does not “provide specific targeting information on ships.”

Fiji seizes oligarch’s yacht

Ukraine’s government has estimated at least $600 billion (€570 billion) will be needed to rebuild the country after the war.

President Zelenskyy, who has tirelessly campaigned for help from allies, launched a global crowdfunding platform called United24 to help Ukraine win the war and rebuild its infrastructure.

More than €6 billion was collected at a donors’ conference in Warsaw, Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki said.

In addition to financial and military assistance, Ukraine’s allies have also punished Russia for the invasion with unprecedented sanctions.

In one of the latest such moves, the British government said yesterday it had frozen the assets of UK-based steel and mining firm Evraz as it is of strategic significance for Russia’s war effort.

Evraz’s main shareholder is Russian oligarch Roman Abramovich, who is already under sanctions, and its main operations are in Russia.

And in another action against oligarchs close to Putin, authorities in Fiji seized the $300 million (€285 million) yacht of Suleiman Kerimov after the United States requested be held for sanctions violations and ties to corruption.

Fighting has continued across eastern Ukraine.

Donbas regional governor Pavlo Kyrylenko said at least 25 civilians were wounded in an overnight Russian strike on the city of Kramatorsk.

Elsewhere, the Ukrainian army said it had retaken control of “several settlements on the border of Mykolaiv and Kherson regions”.

© AFP 2022

View 11 comments
11 Comments
    Mute Jock Doyle
    Favourite Jock Doyle
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:34 AM

Another taxpayer funded waster, it’s such a pity that expensive talking shop wasn’t abolished

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:47 AM

@Jock Doyle: please explain that to me . Your throw away comment with no evidence or reasoning behind it , is a poor way to start your side of an argument.

Mute Jock Doyle
    Favourite Jock Doyle
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:52 AM

@David Fox: non elected, a room full of wafflers, talking nonsense and getting paid for it courtesy of real working people

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:12 AM

@Jock Doyle: isn’t that government puppet, Paul Reid ( €400K + HSE spoofer) , running the talking shop???

Mute Jock Doyle
    Favourite Jock Doyle
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:14 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: another bollox

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:21 AM

@Jock Doyle: ” spoofer” is the correct term

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:23 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy: no hes not..

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:48 AM

@Jock Doyle: she talks a lot of sense, unlike yourself. Only problem is, who’s listening?

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:09 AM

@Kevin Kerr: do ye trolls / stalkers get any break of a bank holiday weekend??

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:17 AM

@Jock Doyle: Define ‘real working people’ and also ‘fake working people’?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Oct 28th 2024, 9:00 AM

@Jock Doyle: the criminalisation approach is a “tax payer funded waster” and the money from drugs all goes to crime. But sure let’s keep lining the kinehans pockets and putting kids in jail for nothing while violent sociopaths walk free.

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Oct 28th 2024, 11:58 AM

@Jock Doyle: sure look at the barbie kardashin case in court the other day, trans male to female prisoner, threated to harm both a female prisoner and female prison officer, used the term rape , freely admitted this in court and the jury found them not guilty, yes lets makenit easier for criminals to get away with crime

Mute mani mus
    Favourite mani mus
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:25 AM

The people giving out about because they don’t like the Seanad should actually read this article and the report it describes, because it has the potential to change our country for the better, to save lives and communities, and to prevent so much unnecessary pain and suffering. We all owe it to ourselves to support this.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:36 AM

@mani mus: And many young males have a tendency to drive faster than is safe for them and other people. Should we decriminalise speeding etc. ?

Mute mani mus
    Favourite mani mus
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:01 AM

@thomas molloy: can you present a solid, evidence-based argument showing that prohibition of speeding has failed, and decriminalisation would lead to better outcomes? If so, write your report and let’s see it. If not, you’re not adding anything useful to this discussion.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:36 PM

@mani mus: Decriminalisation would kill and maim more drivers and other people and traumatise more families.

Mute Super241946
    Favourite Super241946
    Oct 27th 2024, 5:35 PM

@mani mus: BS!

Mute 58liamo
    Favourite 58liamo
    Oct 30th 2024, 1:57 PM

@mani mus: Do you think they have the attention span ??

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:44 AM

Ludicrous article,as you’d expect from this author! The idea of locking up criminals is primarily to protect wider society, by acting as a deterrent while also taking the offender off the streets for a period of time. Whether it’s off any ‘benefit’ to the perpetrator is way down the list of concerns, frankly who cares? Prison is a punishment, not a focus group or rehab centre!

Mute mani mus
    Favourite mani mus
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:19 AM

@Jonn: well, if you decriminalise, they won’t be criminals, so you won’t need to lock them up. The question you need to ask yourself is, why? Why would people who are at least as intelligent as you, and who have spent years studying the whole issue of drugs, conclude that criminalising drug use has failed, and makes things worse for everyone in society?

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:26 AM

@Jonn: you are clearly far removed from the issues around drug use and drug addiction..

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:39 AM

@Stiles:
    Ask any business owner or shop owner in the inner city who’s on the front line of dealing with drug users hassling and intimidating staff,stealing,hassling customers, drug paraphernalia lying around on streets etc etc if they think the current ‘turn a blind eye’ soft policing approach is working..for anybody,including drug users..and we both know what the answer would be!

Mute Peter James Carroll
    Favourite Peter James Carroll
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:41 AM

@Jonn: so it’s all right to get blind drunk in a pub after all it’s socially acceptable to buy drink it puts money into the government coffers? Drink causes as much if not more harm than drugs. I seen an interview with a US Sheriff he said that in over 20 yrs he’d never been called to a domestic involving cannabis but he’d lost count on the amount involving alcohol. Coke is readily available in every town in Ireland, it’s as easy to get as a takeaway pizza. Heroin is also easy to get aswell. Addiction is a terrible thing , like blindly believing what your told without looking into it yourself. Portugal has seen a decrease in street crime since it set up its programme, I’m not saying it suits every addict but it dies the majority & hopefully either a bit of compassion , we will do the same

Mute Patrck
    Favourite Patrck
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:14 PM

@Peter James Carroll: but think about that difference between the alcohol being legal and the cannabis not being…

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:16 PM

@Jonn: You somehow managed to completely miss the point of the article in your rush to peddle your outdated and inaccurate views. The evidence is so overwhelming now that the debate has moved on. The current laws, by your own admission, have failed. It’s about time we base our laws on evidenced based research and proven experience. Your inability to accept reality is prolonging the harm and creating the scenario you claim to want to fix. You can’t have it both ways. Please catch up or get out of the way.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:22 PM

@Jonn: you just described our current broken system… criminalising people for drugs has achieved nothing.. its made the problem worse.. if you can’t see that then I don’t know what else to say to ya. youre entitled to your opinion even if it is wrong.. have a good weekend..

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Oct 28th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Jonn: they used to lock up men for being gay too.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:05 AM

The only safe way for an addict to deal with drugs is not take drugs. Because a substance is legal for personal use doesn’t mean that deaths with stop. The author tells us the “evidence says otherwise” yet and I may be mistake there is not one link posted to show that evidence. I worked for 13 years in the field, am in recovery myself. I have met literally thousands of addicts over the last 20 years. Those that use have an unmanageability about their life’s that is not good for anyone why advocate for such unhappiness?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Oct 28th 2024, 9:02 AM

@Mick O’K: quite right. Time to ban booze. Addicts just can’t help themselves. Lock up the wine drinkers and grape growers.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 28th 2024, 10:14 AM

@Mick O’K: she posted the link to the oireachtas report on the same link you can find all the recordings of the oireachtas committee on drugs public meetings where experts from around the world were brought in to give evidence. theres so many incorrect issues with your comment it shows no matter what your experience is you too are wrong. if you really wanted harm reduction you’d be onboard with decriminalisation. absolutely nothing is achieved with prohibition.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:25 AM

Boredom can function like a gateway drug for addictions. It’s one of the unintended consequences of our welfare cash system. Importing of almost all factory produced products from abroad is a cause of unemployment amongst ordinary people and they become idle with cash.

Mute mani mus
    Favourite mani mus
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:42 AM

@thomas molloy: if you want people working, you must be in favour of decriminalisation – a drugs conviction doesn’t exactly help you find a job. Then, maybe the money we could save from ending wasteful, failed prohibition policies could be reinvested in the kind of disadvantaged communities you’re worried about. Educate and support people to build meaningful, productive lives for themselves.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:40 PM

@mani mus: Prevention is best.

Mute Yvonne Melia
    Favourite Yvonne Melia
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:57 AM

Joint Committee on Drugs….reporting on Cannibas usage….anyone else see the joke there :)

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:17 AM

Drug use – decriminalised or not – brings drug dealers. All this element care about is money and you only have to look at their tactics to see the mayhem opening the doors will cause. As for a possession conviction stopping you getting a visa – the US Australia etc don’t want drug users coming to their country so like it or lump it…..don’t get a possession charge. And I sure as hell don’t want a habitual drug user running my kids youth club or teaching them so they should be vetted and possession of drugs should be on their record (although with the prevalence of coke and weed these days I conceded it’s already highly likely to be happening). I grew up in a similar area to the author but disagree fundamentally with her stance here.

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Oct 28th 2024, 9:04 AM

@Niall Whyte: drug dealers like Heineken and Diageo?

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 28th 2024, 11:27 AM

@Niall Whyte: it’s not her stance it’s the whole oireachtas committees stance. they worked from a report from a citizen assembly who worked from a report from a earlier oireachtas committee.. all arriving at the same conclusion
    you didn’t even read the article, easier to jump to the drugs are bad BS. the conclusion the that decriminalisation is going to reduce harm came from facts..you can have your own opinion but you can’t have your own facts.. open your mind to the fact that decriminalisation / regulation are not an endorsement to take drugs.. its an attempt to reduce the harm caused by them.. and for you to insinuate that all people who use drugs are bad and shouldn’t be around kids while ignoring alcohol is sold in most GAA/sports clubhouses is funny.. you’re completely ignorant on this topic.. no matter how many reassuring thumbs up you get..

JP
    Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:53 AM

No country has found an answer to the problem so don’t expect Ireland to do so.

Mute mani mus
    Favourite mani mus
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:06 AM

@JP: it’s not about solving the problem, it’s about making the harm as small as possible.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:24 AM

@JP: There are no complete solutions in any aspect of the human mess, but we are supposed to ‘try’ and minimise the problems. Imo Irish people aren’t psychologically ready for trying anything in the realm of change. Currently we can even tie our laces, let along run the race.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:26 AM

@JP: Let’s never try then. Ok

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:25 AM

Anybody unfortunate enough to end up depending on drugs to get them through life, a path we all travel, should most definitely be helped by our society, the current government of the day etc…… while those caught in the control of, transporting of, selling of and the profiting of drug (death) dealing, it’s those that should be given severe sentences, none of the suspended or over lenient small sentences we continue to see. Severe sentences would and should act as a deterrent, keeping them off our streets and in some part saving our communities from being further ravaged and destroyed by illegal drugs and those that carry it out! STOP making it so complicated, it’s not rocket science! What we need is a government and a society to tackle drugs head without all the bluster!

Mute Paul B
    Favourite Paul B
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:11 PM

@Niall Binéad: Reading recent headlines the Govt courtesy of the Gardai are making big inroads into the dealing etc. Admittedly more needs to and will be done… there’s no ‘Blustering’ actions speak for themselves. It’s a BIG problem and HIGHLY organised not too easy the world over. Going by your comment anyone would think it’s easy and only here in Ireland and of course the Government’s fault.

Mute Jock Doyle
    Favourite Jock Doyle
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:32 AM

George and Lynn

Mute mark duggan
    Favourite mark duggan
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:14 AM

Thanks for letting me through to do my job last week miss Lynn white van man ,

Mute Brian Lyons
    Favourite Brian Lyons
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:26 AM
    Mute Ed Brennan
    Favourite Ed Brennan
    Oct 28th 2024, 10:07 AM

Lynn, (there’s a bandwagon) says it all really.
    Lets get down with the kids ‘gino’, and be “cool”.
    We can stay relevant, by undermining Law and order.
    Addicts need help in the form of rehab, not by decriminalising illegal drugs.

Mute 58liamo
    Favourite 58liamo
    Oct 30th 2024, 2:00 PM

@Ed Brennan: Ed, ‘Rehab’ itself is a load of BS for a lot of people. Drug use has no place in the Legal system.

Mute Keith Butler
    Favourite Keith Butler
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:26 PM

It is high time ( no pun intended) to legalise the growing of cannabis for personal use. The issue of opiates and other major drugs needs a health led treatment approach. If the money is taken away from criminal gangs society will benefit.

Mute Jack Betal
    Favourite Jack Betal
    Oct 28th 2024, 11:25 AM

This needs to be supported and any with concerns or even possible fundamental disagreements on it should voice them constructively. Not only does all well researched scientific evidence support what Senator Ruane is saying but proof of the pudding is available through the lived experiences and empirical evidence which Portugal has provided through its brave move in its legislation on drugs. We must follow the proof and facts rather than our blind biases.