You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
buying advice
Looking for a new family car? 3 underrated models you should probably check out
We look at the family models which don’t always get their dues.
3.25pm, 3 Sep 2018
THERE ARE MANY very competent and well-known family cars on the market, some of which have become household names. The Nissan Qashqai, Citroen C4 Picasso and Ford Focus have all earned their place as popular models with families, picking up significant sales figures along the way.
But if you’re looking for something that’s a bit different, or a car that might be a little underrated we’ve compiled a list of some that might be worth a look.
Honda isn’t the first name that many people think of when it comes to SUVs, but the CR-V has been around for several years. It packs in plenty of practical features into its design, not to mention a generous boot and a diesel engine that’s one of the best around.
Few other cars can divide opinion quite as much as the C4 Cactus. While the second generation is just arriving on Irish roads around now, its predecessor is just as interesting a proposition. Falling more into the crossover category, it drives remarkably well, thanks in part to its low weight.
The petrol engine is our preference, but both it and the diesel provide low running costs. Those air bumps on the side should save it from any car park dings from less considerate drivers. Some parents may prefer the fact that the rear windows don’t slide down, but only pop open at the rear.
No, not the cutesy supermini but the slightly more substantial crossover. People love to knock Fiat at the very mention of its name, but we think that reputation isn’t deserved.
The 500X isn’t the most spacious in the small SUV segment but its raised driving position, good infotainment system and most importantly, fuel-sipping engines with tax-friendly emissions make this one that’s deserving of a second look.
Do you have a family car that you think is underrated? Let us know in the comments section!
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Of course, it’s worth mentioning that Sinn Féin Councillor Críona Ní Dhálaigh is the current Ard-Mhéara (Mayor) of Dublin and she resides in the Mansion House. Garrett failed. Just saying.
Doing a great job Mary Lou, keep up the good work, a credit to your party and the citizens of this country. Somebody at last who will stand up for equality and fairness in society.
If you had a proper understand of what happened in Greece you would know they faced destruction via grexit or destruction via further austerity forced upon by the troika. Syriza are still the majority party and as such they have called time and time again for other eu countries to start talking about debt, of which all economists aknowledge Greece still needs a write down. We would do well to argue ireland deserves a write down having had taken such a large brunt of the austerity over the past years.
Any idiot who can read can understand what happened in Greece. They borrowed and spent like drunks to the tune of over €200 Billion and then wanted yet ANOTHER bail out from the Germans. And then screamed about democracy. Ironic that no one on the left even attempted to understand, never mind defend, the German nation’s democratically elected government when they stopped playing ball
To which was done by Pasok and New Democracy, none of whom are in Syriza. Syria got elected in 2014 & they do not deny the mistakes of those before them but equally they cannot manage their own economy as the troika do. I fully understand the german position, if Greece get debt write downs then others will request the same and it will shun german growth in favour of other nations. Problem is in their denial they choke the Greek people. Putting aside the fact you blame syriza for stuff that was caused by right wing parties before them I would enjoy hearing what alternative you would offer the Greek people?
Sinn Fein abandoned their abstentionist policy, ended up supporting the GFA and the end to IRA violence and are now helping to administer British rule in NI. I’d say Garrett and Maggie got exactly what they wanted. Just saying.
Great to see Mary Lou interacting on social media.
At least she is interacting unlike our Taoiseach who had to be publicly ridiculed and embarrassed before going to visit parts of the country that have been decimated over the past 5 weeks with flooding. Of course our Táiniste thought she would get in on the PR as well re the floods. How embarrassing for her when she fell out of a boat only to stand up in water that was only ankle deep.
Good to know you offer no alternative, except syriza which you’ve been trying to bash do and it’s a good one. Give us a better deal on the debt so we can growth and thus pay back the money faster. It’s a fiscally responsible and workable thing to do. Let the troika name it whatever they want for image purposes but you won’t find an economist who will tell you that debt is sustainable.
Anybody who votes for sinn fein,know nothing about politics.There is no substance in any of their policies and they only say what people want to hear. The country is in a bad enough state without those clowns getting into power.
Oh ye of little faith. Sinn Fein/Right to change are a legitimate alternative. I’ve had enough of the Denis the Menace/ Fine Gael/ Labour coalition brand of cronyism politics.
Mark. What exactly do you know about politics? All politicians say what they believe people want to hear it’s why FG promised reform and produced none. It’s why they promised to fight for a better deal for Ireland and then didn’t bother instead they destroyed 2 billion this year to pay off illegal promissory notes that they made sovereign while destroying all public services especially health. It’s why labour are the party of “sure isn’t that what you do in an election” anyone that votes for the same corrupt muppets of FF FG LAB knows nothing about politics.
On Election Night 2016, I’m going to take a moment to sit back, crack open a bottle of beer, toast the Irish nation and reflect on how the people of our Republic used the ballot box to remind Mary Lou and Sinn Fein of the contempt in which they are held and their place in Irish society, languishing on the peripheries- making lots of noise but never, ever next nor near power.
Mary Lou may well become both the first female and Sinn Fein Taoiseach of this State, a warrior queen who fights for her people. I’d be up for that, instead of the usual back scratchers.
Oh Jamie, please tell me you’re joking – that one can’t make an independent decision or give her own opinion without first seeking sanction from ‘he who must be obeyed’. And if alI else fails she can have a hissy fit in the Dail and get it suspended. If any of that shower get into Government it’ll be a sad state of affairs for this country. It’s bad enough that Gerry Adams gets to stand and spout drivel in the Dail – I find it quit appalling actually that so many people have been hoodwinked by him – it’s a damning indictment on their intelligence or lack thereof.
You guys are living in cloud cuckoo land. The next government will be a single party FG government. Many thanks to SF, AAA and FF who will divide the electorate in smithereens.
Show your support by giving red thumbs. Now don’t get confused!
People need to realise that if they do not use their vote wisely this will happen. FG / FF in together and God help us all. Sinn Fein/ Right to Change IS the alternative.
I really hope sinn fein get in. I never would have been a supporter but this country needs something different. If only to see an alternative to dob/developer owned minions running things into the ground. Ill vote for you once sinn fein, up to you to make me do it twice.
Wow! I am sure that all rational intelligent people will be swayed by your reasoning. We do not need a government that is capable of delivering economic stability and growth. What we need is a party that supported/s murder, mayhem, bombs and bullets. A party that lent its support to unimaginable heinous crimes against man and nature.
This whole sf not being good at the economy stuff, where did it come from? There last budget had costed measures and was within the fiscal compact which lead to them equaling the money spend of fine gael. SF policy for self employed and SMEs are brilliant if anyone would bother to give them a read. They didn’t crash the country nor have they ever been given the chance to make it better.
There – A place (e.g., I want to go there). Hint: you’ll find the word “here” inside of “there.” Both of these words are places. If you can swap out “here” for “there” in your sentence, you need this t-h-e-r-e form.
They’re – A contraction meaning “they are.” Why do contractions continue to baffle us? The world will never know.
Their – A possessive pronoun (e.g. That was their dog). Hint: you’ll find the word “heir” inside of “their.” And an heir has lots of stuff to possess, right?
So this country needs a lot of lying, murderous, bombastic (Thats just the McDonald one in fairness) Stalinists in power? Yeah, the present lot haven’t been perfect by any stretch but I’ll take them over Sinn Fein.
Poor old Tap, are you still smarting from looking like a bigger fool than usual when you ranted on about “them” being elected on an article about a “disappeared” woman in NI only to realize too late that it was Loyalists that had committed the crime? Your buddies in the DUP and FG must have been shaking their heads at such a stupid mistake. Not even your comrade Wee Willie “who’s fleg is that?”Frazer would have been that stupid!
Ok so far nobody has addressed the question. I’ve been convinced by SF policy that it will bring great employment, sustainability and progress regarding the economy and if anyone is able to convince me otherwise please do try, I’m all ears
I have a modest striploin in the fridge which I’m going to cook shortly along with a rake of skinny fries and a fried onion and a small tin of baked beans. Salt and vinegar on the chips and red Aromat and salt on the steak. I can’t wait but yet I am so hungry and lazy.
@ Tap, that was almost 100 years ago, let it go, we celebrate it now. And anyway, the Brits did as much as us, we’ll obviously not you, you’d have been hiding under someone’s skirt till all the rough nasty business was over.
The Anglo-Irish agreement was in his words to “stop the rise in Sinn Fein” Another major fail. The Indo/Sindo keep repeating the same mistake in vain. Up the Shinners
Fine Gael and their’ dirty tricks, still at it today. Only difference is we have social media now and don’t have to rely on the Independent, we can source the real news elsewhere.
You need to be sent on a re-education programme. I am sure that there is a suitable camp near you that you could contact. If elected you might not need to make contact as they will contact you.
I was born in 75, great year to be born. I hope to see a govt that isn’t led by FF/FG some day, just to see if anything changes. A left-wing govt for once, not one that is in the pocket of wealthy capitalists.
If you were born in 1994 you probably have no idea what life in Ireland was like in the 80s. The economy and unemployment situation then made the more recent crash seem like a mere bump in the road. Meanwhile the IRA were murdering people on an almost daily basis – and not just British soldiers, but random civilians and even Guardai – and carrying on a massive organised crime operation to sustain their activities. Sinn Fein at the time openly supported all of the above, and refused to play any part in normal political institutions or processes. That’s the party you’re expressing support for – and in many cases the same individuals are still there. If you think you’ve changed their ways, I’d suggest you are very naive (but to be fair, most of us were the same when we were in our early 20s).
I’ve read extensively about events up north and how it also effected the south and UK. All I can say is stormont needs more independence, sinn fein were and are key to peace and to suggest only one side was at fault is a distortion of history.
I know a few people very well who grew up in the North during the troubles, were not involved in the armed struggle and they support Sinn Fein 100%. Everybody can’t be wrong.
I’m not suggesting only one side was at fault – I actually lived through it and was at the direct receiving end of some nasty stuff from “the other side”.
However, Sinn Fein is the only party in the Republic that was at fault. The same people who are in charge now openly supported (a) murder of innocent people and (b) organised crime, while refusing to even do the jobs they were elected to (and paid to) do. And although some of them try to pretend that they just *supported* those activities, as opposed to actively partaking in them, I don’t believe them. But either way, their track record makes them completely unfit for any kind of public office.
Only party that was at fault.. You mean only party that lived through it up north? Their track record shows world class diplomacy, a great vision for Ireland and a consistent strive for peace. People seem all to quick to forget about the occupying force, although they still occupy financially and that’s something sinn fein will fix while FF/FG hide away from the 6 counties. I posses no nationalism but Westminster treat NI like dirt & SF are the only major party up north trying to help.
Have a look at the thumbing above. SF/IRA have become expert at using their multi-aliased accounts in Parnell Square. Jammin, Supernova and the others must be worn out!
Bull Powerabbey, I can’t even dislike your comment, it’s been disabled but I will get to the bottom of it. Three emails I have sent to the journal today and will continue to do so until I find out what is going on.
@ Cornelius, IRA never murdered anyone in the Guardian, they were murdered by the FG blueshirts at the same time the were murdering spanish women and children, remember, when they were helping their friend Franco, he was also helped by his other friend Hitler, do you not rember, how far back do you want to go ?, we can even bring the church into it, although they mostly raped and murdered children, still though, we can include them if you like, tell me do you go and show your support for them every week ?
Not The Guardian Conri – Guards – ie police officers. The IRA most definitely did murder Irish guards. Going on about the Spanish civil war is a bit odd, considering it happened before any current politicians were born. The IRA’s campaign of murder and organised crime was in full swing while numerous current senior Sinn Fein figures were in charge – ie they personally supported/participated in it.
Aye Damian. Garret was an intellectual and a gentleman but he personified the whole pro Brit slavishness of the Free-state at that time, and indeed now, and he got treated like a toe rag by Margaret Thatcher. They had nt the balls to spit it out and support their Northern fellow citizens who were being murdered by State collusion as they were legally obliged to do by the Constitution. In fact, they themselves colluded with the British and covered up for their crimes in the State such as the Dublin bombings. Even yet, they will not admit to the Irish people what they know privately about this. May he rest in peace. He was indeed an intellectual and a gentleman but we needed people with balls and backbone and the Republican Movement were the only ones not to blink when dealing with the British. Roll on 2016.
Don’t start on murders. I and many others can give you a list of those murdered by the IRA. Yes, murdered, not people killed while the IRA protected their areas or ghettos, but murdered. Stop with the revisionism, too many of us have lived during those times to know the difference.
Its a myth that garret fitzgerald was a good taoiseach, perpetrated by the media, rte and the indo. He was in truth one of our worst ever leaders and im old enough to remember him and dont need to rely on the media for my view of him and we were a fg family but didnt vote for him.
All of the YFG kiddies were probably sent to bed early in case they heard the fireworks and thought that the Big Bad Fenians were starting the Rising early!
Garrett Fitzgerald was a terrible Taoiseach, sure even Leo Varadkaar said this a few years ago. His woolly thinking and ‘intellectualism’ prolonged the 1980s recession unnecessarily.
Sorry, first off, the majority in the Republic couldn’t care less about the six counties. Sided with the Unionists? They hated him because of the Anglo Irish Agreement. You do realise Garret Fitzgerald did what no FF administration could manage? A say in Northern affairs. Jesus there is some amount of revisionism going on here this evening.
Greatest crime of all? I have nothing in common with people from the North, green or orange, After almost a century apart we are different. We share an island, thats all.
My concern is the the use of words such as “unfortunately”. You guys are supposed to be unbiased journalists. Your reporting has more often than not shown where your allegiances lie. That was blatant! I’m no Sinn Fein supporter, but if I were a journalist I would never use such biased language.
Powering through and praying: Your stories of the GP crisis in Ireland
4 hrs ago
teacher shortage
Over 13,500 unqualified individuals were employed at Irish schools last year
5 hrs ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say