You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pandemic Unemployment Payment to be extended for months, but reduced for part-timers

The Taoiseach made the announcement at midday today.

LAST UPDATE | 4 Jun 2020

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has told the Dáil that the pandemic unemployment payment will be extended “for months, not weeks”, but that those who worked part-time prior to the crisis will see the amount they receive cut.

He said that those who were working full-time prior to receiving the Covid-19 unemployment payment will continue to receive €350 a week into the future.

However, those who were working part-time will see their payment reduced. 

The Taoiseach added that such people will receive more than they had done while working part-time. 

He said that a decision will be forthcoming from Cabinet tomorrow. 

Earlier, a Minister of State in the Department of Finance has said there has been “no decision made” on cutting the pandemic unemployment payment by 40% for people who worked part-time prior to the crisis. 

Speaking to RTÉ Radio One’s Today with Sarah McInerney, Patrick O’Donovan said it was “always envisaged” that the temporary schemes introduced by the government would be reviewed in the middle of June. 

The Limerick County TD was pressed on the issue after a report in today’s Irish Independent said the government was planning to reduce the Covid-19 unemployment payment from €350 a week to €203 a week, in line with jobseekers allowance. 

The government has already indicated that it will be extending both the unemployment scheme and the temporary wage subsidy scheme beyond the original June date.

Last week, Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection Regina Doherty told the Dáil she will bring forward proposals for some changes to the Covid-19 Pandemic Unemployment Payment and the wage subsidy scheme within the next week or so.

And, yesterday, Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe said that the government is hoping to make an announcement in the coming days that will outline the “future of the wage subsidy scheme across coming months into the future and the pandemic unemployment payment – we want to give guidance for both of those”.

Following today’s report on the 40% cut, O’Donovan said that the matter would be discussed at Cabinet and added it is “a bit early to be speculating how the government will react”. 

He also referred to the stark Exchequer figures which were published yesterday, which highlighted a €6 billion deficit at the end of May. 

The minister of state said today the figures were “dire in terms of the economy”

He said there would be less demand for the unemployment scheme as people returned to work but reiterated no decision had yet been made regarding cutting the payment for people who worked part-time.

On the same programme, Sinn Féin’s finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty said it was important that clarity was provided to those in receipt of the payment. 

He said that cutting the payment – or getting rid of it altogether – would be “not acceptable, not fair and not what is needed for the economy”. 

Doherty said that Sinn Féin would prefer the payments continued in some form to the end of the year, and that any inconsistencies in the scheme should be addressed. 

He also called for the government to provide greater supports to businesses in need of stimulus as the economy reels from the effects of Covid-19. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

160 Comments
    Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:55 AM

Actually there’s an €8.3 billion surplus when the Apple Tax receipts are taken into account.

Mute Sharp Elsi Mate
    Favourite Sharp Elsi Mate
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:20 AM

@Sean Byrne: yet another who beats the apple drum not knowing how it works. its not (all) ours.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: the EU courts says it’s all ours and we disagree saying that apple fully complied with our tax laws. If we do a U turn it will set a dangerous precedent in regards to our tax laws, to the detriment of the states future revenues.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:34 AM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: This money was awarded to revenue.ie, no other EU country has made demands on it and the argument that it will have to be shared with other EU countries is beyond the remit of EU state aid rules. Maybe if one other country made a demand on this money it could make the Government of Ireland case untenable and some citizens of the EU could benefit from it.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:39 AM

@Big Smokey: the EU also wants Ireland to raise its corporation taxes to match the rest of Europe. There’s a reason why corporations have set up in Ireland and if they were to leave you’d know all about it.

Mute Minamino
    Favourite Minamino
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Stephen: so where would they leave to go to? Wouldn’t the whole moving process also cost a lot of money

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Stephen: I’m for our tax policy and how it’s being used.
    I’m just saying that all that the EU ruled that the apple money is ours.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey

@Minamino: no it would be relatively easy to move.

Mute Karl Mc Cauley
    Favourite Karl Mc Cauley
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:52 AM

@Big Smokey: no the EU said we should collect it, difference is huge. Other EU countries then to come to us for their share if they can prove its owed to them..

Mute Quia Timet
    Favourite Quia Timet
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Sean Byrne: I am sorry but that is categorically incorrect and I do not blame anyone for not understanding what is a very complicated case, I did my thesis on it. At present Apple pays any mandatory EU corporation tax in Ireland, the argument of the Competition Commission is that taxes should arise where economic activity takes place.

The result of that is that an Irish company (Apple) would need to fairly account for their profits where they occur. That is not a feature of our or indeed any member states tax regime and it is being read into our tax law.

In short, this is a very simplified explanation, if you want to know more about it please read up on the ‘at arms length’ accounting principle and the ‘double Irish with a Dutch filling sandwich’ accounting trick.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:11 PM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: Doesn’t matter if only 20 cent of it is ours. If they owe tax, they owe tax. Same as anyone else.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Stephen: There is no EU corporate tax rate, so you’re lying on that assertion.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Stephen: If they only enforced that rate we would be far better off instead the effective rate for most multinationals is less than 1% that is why the e.u are going nuts. The amount of loopholes for corporate tax avoidance in Ireland is mindboggling

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Sean Byrne: There is an old tale about a farmer and a goose who laid golden eggs.
    You should read it.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:47 PM

@Big Smokey: yes I agree. The argument is that they should have paid corporation tax in Ireland as that was where the operations were based. There is no remit for other countries to get their hands on this. We are not talking about VAT.
    If the EU wins (which they won’t) Ireland will get all of the money but it will undermine Revenue and the transparency of our tax laws making us less attractive for investment due to the uncertainty it would create.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:51 PM

@Karl Mc Cauley: how will they prove it’s owed to them? It’s corporation tax not VAT. If the money came to Ireland that because of their transfer pricing agreements and therefore is taxable in Ireland if the EU wins.
    The EU will lose so the whole conversation is a waste of time.

Mute Colm Malone
    Favourite Colm Malone
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:55 PM

@Minamino: they could pack up operations in a month and leave us with a load of empty buildings and a load of people out of the job. Our economy is unbelievably dependent on multinational tech companies

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Ian Breathnach: read my post. To match other EU countries. We have one of the lowest if not the lowest corporation taxes in the EU.That’s all I’m saying, whether it’s right or wrong I don’t know. I’m not an expert maybe you are?
    I think most people got what I was trying to say.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Joe: the ruling from the Eu was that we helped apple avoid paying taxes in other Eu countries by funneling through us so if that ruling becomes binding we will have to dole put to the various countries where it wasn’t paid

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Colm Malone: not as much as people think for direct employment and not any more than other countries. The win would be for Ireland to lose this case, as we would get the full amount (we are entitled to this 100% if it was anti competitive, no other country has “dibs”), and show Apple and other MNCs that we will defend their right for international tax law to be applied to them. The majority of people commenting don’t get this case at all (it was never about tax avoidance or sweetheart deals, but interpretation of transfer pricing).

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:47 PM

@Seán O’Sullivan: was it really? Where did you read that? The Commission’s ruling was about giving Apple an unfair advantage against other companies in Ireland and amounted to illegal state aid.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:20 PM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: Wonder if Sean has made any attempt to understand why.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:26 PM

@Sean Byrne: And we’d never have another multinational again grace our shores bringing with them jobs, which mean our taxes don’t go up further and more of us can enjoy our magnolia coloured semi-detached homes and hybrid cars.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:31 PM

@Michael McGrath: If we ever started investigating business license addresses, we’d cease being useful to many, many businesses registered here. I know of three people who have family members in Europe who’s businesses are registered here but aren’t trading here. We are our own worst enemy.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:34 PM

@Stephen: We have an unfair advantage among other European countries in the stakes to win multi-national corps? You don’t say.

Mute David Gaule
    Favourite David Gaule
    Jun 4th 2020, 5:38 PM

@Sean Byrne: we raised 1.2billion euros more in corporate tax in May of this versus the same period last year. Despite our entire economy being effectively shut down. If this doesn’t highlight to you how incredibly dependent on corporate tax we are as country, it should. Such a narrow reliance would ordinarily be a bad thing, obviously, but right now we’re very fortunate to have so many MNC’s keeping us afloat.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Jun 4th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Minamino: No,

Mute Karllye kripton
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Michael McGrath: and how many jobs would be lost if they weren’t here, imagine how many lads would be on the dole and no more taxes coming form all them employees, all them employees making money and spending it on goods that also have taxes on them , for our wee country it would have serious bad effect on our over all economic standing

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Sean Byrne: rubbish comment as usual

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Karllye kripton: I never said that did i but the nominal rate is still far cheaper than the rest of Europe and we dont exercise it at all. So do you agree that the middle earner continually gets screwed while corporate wealth continues to grow exponentially. That excuse that companies up sticks and leave is a load of shite they have to pay tax in every country

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:48 PM

@Sean Byrne: we dont have it so we dont count it. When we do get it most of it will be claimed by our “partners in Europe”.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:27 AM

Shinners promising free money. There’s a surprise.

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Steve:

Pearse Doherty lost for words when asked how to find the 4.3 Billion required to continue the schemes. In the end he suggests borrowing it. Not the brightest Pearse , but then what does one expect from a guy whose prime educational qualification is an average Leaving Cert.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Steve: As opposed to FGF giving free money to bankers and politicians.

Can’t have it both ways. It wasn’t SF that landed the country in 200 billion of debt.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:40 AM

@Steve: how is it free money.?? … the people that are getting the two payments are people who are /were working and paying into the system….. Clown of a comment..

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:28 PM

@Colonel Grant: Who found the massive multi billion hole in Noonans last budget? You are absolutely braind dead and clearly facts are not your strong suit.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Colonel Grant: very like Simon Harris I’d say.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:46 PM

@Colonel Grant: He enrolled in a civil engineering degree course at Dublin Institute of Technology in 1996. He completed two years of the course, earning a national certificate that entitled him to work as a civil engineering technician. He then left third-level education to pursue a job in that field.[3] Doherty later resumed his studies by enrolling in another civil engineering course at Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Honeybee: so you agree. He’s not exactly highly educated then.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:22 PM

@Colonel Grant: lols

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:31 PM

@Colonel Grant: If your talking about prime educational qualifications maybe you should look into the educational qualifications of the man heading the dept that has the whole country shut down at the moment if your going to be slinging stones.

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:44 PM

@Colonel Grant: Whats wrong with an average leaving cert? Ridiculous comment.

Mute Seamus Bridgeman
    Favourite Seamus Bridgeman
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Colonel Grant: Simon 18 other coronaviruses Harris what did he study in college

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:51 PM

@Honeybee: Ah yes the great days of the college with The Doc in Aula Maxima Letterkenny.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:00 PM

@Seamus Bridgeman: Journalism for a while before he dropped out to “further his political career” i.e make tea for Frances Fitzgerald

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:03 PM

@Colonel Grant: well at least he’s not Minister for Health who also has a standard leaving cert qualification.and secondly it wasn’t Paschal the wonderful minister for finance who highlighted the insurance rip offs but Pearse Doherty who contrary to your prejudice is known as an extremely astute financier.And thirdly I heard that interview and didn’t hear Pearse in any difficulty but to answer with the fact that he would get the money the very same place the govt were going to get it.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Honeybee: what’s a civil engineering technician.?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:27 PM

@paul gurney: in other words put us more in debt ? Borrow give borrow give , rinse repeat. There has to be a bit of pay back too. That’s the catch. It will be interesting when we are being taxed more to pay all this back how loud the keep the payments forever people will be about austerity. There will be short memories.

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:37 PM

@Steve: thats why is making its way to Oz And trumpland

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:38 PM

@Colonel Grant: from a bank in belfast sterilization for all

Mute artur filip
    Favourite artur filip
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:00 AM

Someone told that non-EU english language school students getting 350e a week I was wondering if thats true?

Mute Paul Kennedy
    Favourite Paul Kennedy
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:00 AM

@artur filip: yep

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:01 AM

@artur filip: They must have worked here otherwise they won’t see that.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Carla R
    Favourite Carla R
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:03 AM

@artur filip: yes but most of them have been working minimum 40hour weeks paying taxes so why shouldn’t they get it?

Mute Paul Kennedy
    Favourite Paul Kennedy
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Carla R: if they are working minimum of 40 hrs a week then they are working illegally as they can only work maximum 20 hrs with student visa

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:07 AM

@artur filip: if they were working and lost their job because of covid they would be entitled but otherwise no

Mute artur filip
    Favourite artur filip

@Carla R: 40 hrs per week is not legal. Since 1st January 2016 students holding a valid immigration stamp 2 are permitted to work 40 hours per week during the months of May, June, July and August and from 15 December to 15 January inclusive. At all other times they will be limited to working 20 hours per week.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic

@Paul Kennedy: Indeed Stamp 2 visa can work during the pandemic for up to 40h until the schools are reopening but they weren’t allowed before.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:09 AM

@Carla R: as pointed out they are only allowed work 20 hours a week. Of course many sign up for language schools just to work. That is why so many were closed down as it was a scam to work in Ireland.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:13 AM

@artur filip: they were getting the payment before they could work 40hours a week

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:25 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I remember hearing of a loophole that if they were working in the same area as their study they could work 40hr weeks, an old colleague used it before (long time ago and as such, I stand to be corrected)

Mute Loreto Suarez
    Favourite Loreto Suarez
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:47 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I’m afraid that stopped a few years ago. Stamp 2 is not so easy to get ow just cause you signed up an english school. You have to show documents, attendance, money and insurance and government don’t let people work more than 20 hours what’s leaving them with around €800/month after taxes they MUST pay. This was a pandemic, something extraordinary and all people who were working are getting it so I can’t understand why would be an issue if they are also getting it. As for sure 90% of students have been paying non refundable taxes to the gov as they should be since Ireland opened language schools programme.

Mute Gina Carroll
    Favourite Gina Carroll
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:07 PM

@artur filip: why?

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:39 PM

@Sam Glynn: If they are legally working, that is.

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:42 PM

@Link: if that was the case in the past it’s definitely not the case now, the rules on stamp 2 visas are very simple and black and white, they can work 20 hours per week with the exception of 15th December – 15th January and then 1st June to 30th September where they can work 40 hours regardless of the field of work they are in

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:36 PM

@Loreto Suarez: they should not be getting it because they were not earning that much before. Going from 200 to 350 a week is the loop hole they should have fixed at the beginning. Actually it should have been your net pay in my opinion that you got as payment. If someone was on 500 a week , it should have been 400 ish, 1000/ 650 or so, 100/100. It would have still worked out close to what we are paying now. But that’s just my opinion which is all it is, an opinion, and worth no more than yours.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:01 PM

some people were earning more than the 350 p/week before the pandemic, others less. I’ve no problem splitting the difference (personally) and me and someone who worked less getting an equal amount. What we dont need is to be turning on each other. Ultimately people our out of work and their out of work because the country (majority) was shut down for the 2 months and counting for majority of people.. Covid didn’t shut the place down for that time, that was a goverment decision. Payments should continue until everyone has an equal oppurtunity to return to work. How could a goverment say we’re cutting the payment but you still have to wait until this phase to return to work? if by that stage there’s any work.

Mute Lilian Nolan
    Favourite Lilian Nolan
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:40 PM

@John Egan: well said, at last some reason and humanity.

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:09 PM

@John Egan: why would we continue to pay someone who worked six hours a week before the shut down €350? I agree with giving people support and understand that it was brought in quickly but that needs to be addressed. It’s meant to help us all manage our way through this but it’s not meant to be a financial windfall.

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:29 PM

@Sara Davis: I agree with your point , so why do we pay public servants full-pay to stay at home, since last March many of which do not work from home and thats a lot more that 350, what has that cost the tax payer. It seem to me it depends who you are and as we well know the privater sector always gets hit first.

Mute Chris Quigley
    Favourite Chris Quigley
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:24 PM

@Sara Davis: If it’s a financial windfall to make minimum wage every week you were in a dire position to begin with.

I don’t feel anyone with a 0 Hour contract should agree to go back to work without minimum hour guarantees.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Jun 4th 2020, 8:21 PM

@John Egan: tell ya what why don’t you pay double to them yourself, I couldn’t disagree strongly enough ,

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:42 PM

@Chris Quigley: refuse your old job back because you earn more on the 350 and you lose it.

MB
    Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:04 AM

They should do an average of what each person was earning in the 8 weeks to the end of February and each person gets 70% of their respective earnings subject to a €350 limit. This can’t go on forever or as a country we will never get out of this. The Apple argument is ridiculous!!

Mute Carla R
    Favourite Carla R
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:14 AM

@MB: I worked full-time all of last year but in January I fell ill and was out of work for 6 weeks, if they take my jan/feb average it’s NOTHING compared to what I would’ve been earning if I had been healthy

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:17 AM

@MB: we don’t want it to go on forever… the only way out of a recession is to spend. Put money in people’s pockets and they will spend it and get the cogs of industry moving again .Take it out of people’s pockets and this recession will last a very long time….

Mute Shell
    Favourite Shell
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:13 PM

@Carla R: yeah… but you werent!

Mute Mick Jones Arm (aka Ciarán)
    Favourite Mick Jones Arm (aka Ciarán)
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:34 PM

@MB: Seasonal workers in the tourist industry would have been on minimal hours early in the year but normally be working full time now. So that doesn’t work.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

@MB: If they were to do that for 1.5m applicants it’d be a 6 month waiting list for anyone to receive any payment. The whole point of a set fee is to prevent the costs and time for processing.

Mute Josephus Miller
    Favourite Josephus Miller
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:14 PM

@MB: Yeah but that doesn’t really work for seasonal industries. My own example of being a Wedding Photographer, December-February is generally quiet, in-fact late Nov’19 to last weekend in Feb ’20 I had no income and solely reliant on savings built up over the busier summer season (as is usually the case and planned for).

Under your proposal I’d get 70% of nothing, when in fact to date I’ve still received less in PUP than I paid in income tax last year (which I paid in January since I don’t like waiting until the October deadline, again having planned to do so and saved for over the busy season).

And with no clear guidance in the roadmap around weddings & events my next confirmed job isn’t until late september and some couples for october – december rescheduled anyway rather than taking the chance.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:03 PM

@MB: Nice idea but the antiques we have in the public service would take years to process all that

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:44 PM

@Carla R: Exactly why those on maternity leave complained.

Mute Carol C. is Social Distancing from You
    Favourite Carol C. is Social Distancing from You
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:32 PM

@MB: But January to mid February is the time when the likes of Retail workers are working their least hours, because it is the quietest period. How would that be fair?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:39 PM

@Josephus Miller: grand, your average over the year then.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Favourite Oleksandr Savitskyy

And if i worked 48 hours per week on a part time contract? I have a child and pay 1500 rent?

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: Forgot to add that i and my wife paid 18k in taxes last year as well.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: you wouldn’t be part time if you do that as your normal hours. If you happened to do it once in a while you would be part time. There are rules about employment. I paid more tax on my own and not entitled to most state supports if I lose my job

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:12 PM

@Craic_a_tower: nope. Still part time. Even as a part timer i had to send my application myself ( directives given by my HR). All the people who employed full time got payment automatically and were applied by employer. The thing is that after 2008 recetion hotels and some other business have probably half of staff working full time on part time contracts. So in case of new recession they can just drop hours and people will leave themselves rather then do redundancies.

Mute Shell
    Favourite Shell
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: 48 hours is not part time though

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Shell: but i am on a part time contract. The government and employer calculate from that. Because of amount of applications nobody was and is looking on how many hours u worked. U just fill in a single page form and send it to Social and they already had the list of employers. Does not matter how many hours u worked

Mute Gareth Keenan
    Favourite Gareth Keenan

@Shell: what he means is he’s on a part time contract. I.e. not permanent full time.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Shell: about 80% of employees in the hospitality industry are on part time contracts, even if they work 35 hours or more per week. Legally speaking, we are part time employees with flexible hours. Plenty of weeks where I worked 50, 60 and 70 hours in a week. Full time means you have an agreed-upon number of hours at, say, 39, 40 or whatever number of hours which you must be paid for and anything above that counts as overtime which is paid at a higher rate. Those in hospitality are paid the same rate, irrespective of number of hours worked, be that 8 or 68 per week, and now the government wants to punish these insecure workers while those with better security get a higher rate to ensure them yet even more security.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy

@Shell: as i understand it works very basic , nobody is looking into how much tax u paid or hours worked. The government has a list of employers. All the full time workers applications were sent by employer and the got payments direct to their account same as wage. Part timers send applications by themselves with bank details on it. Then ppl in social check your name on the list and confirm. So now i will get paid the same as someone who worked 5 hours a week. The other thing for me is amazing for me that the government bowed under pressure from the people who lucky to keep their jobs and are very concerned that the student next door getting rich with ” big money ” for 3 months. It is shows how easy to devide ppl. The public was not that concerned during bailing the corrupt bankers or with current property crisis which is just amazing.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:33 PM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: you really need to look up employment law because it doesn’t matter what your contract says if you work full time hours for a prolonged period. The government do not hold records of who is a part time employee or not. You also sound like you are mixing up PUP and employers paying. You have said so much that is not correct that you need to start looking up actual information from official sources.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:28 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I was not looking for information from official sources as most my life i worked and it is right on what u wrote for normal circumstances if i become unemployed . But as I understand u work for yourself and dont know how Covid 19 payments payments to employees were orginized. I described the process above. The amount of applications is that high that they had to shut down passport office to deal with them . People were split in 2 groups. Full time contract and part time contract. I could be wrong and we may see it in forseen future that those cuts will work the same. Nobody will look at the cases individually as it will require additional staff and will take months to process. Like this not what I read on social media. This is reality on how i am getting paid.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Given your knowledge of employment law may be u can help me. Last 1.5 years i worked on average 48 hours per week. Why as per government guidelines my employer asked me to apply for Covid 19 myself as a part time worker compare to full time workers who were applied by employer and got payments direct to their accounts?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:06 PM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: As you understand it would be wrong. I am self employed but work on the Covid 19 payment system for the DEASP. So yes I know it very well. No the passport office was not closed to process claims. People are not divided into part time and full time. You are mixing up employer payments which are discretionary and PUP. Your employer decided that they would treat their part time staff differently. Go to citizen advice and look up employment contracts as you will need a lot more information than can be posted here. As I understand what you are saying and the law you should have a full time contract as you have been working full time long enough. Don’t get your information from random sources but go to official channels.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:47 PM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: Curious as to why you didn’t update your status as full-time with your company prior to the pandemic?

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:53 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: Wonder how people could stop those unfair employment practices?

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Hana Barbera: It gives companies in the industry the flexibility to reduce staff hours when business is slow. This is ideal for the hospitality sector in, say, midweek in January when people aren’t going out as much or staying overnight in hotels, and allows companies to reduce overheads when income is low. Many, but not all, who are employed in the industry are students and this suits them, too, as they can work weekends while studying midweek. But, these terms of employment are provided irrespective of your age or student status. Usually, those not in school pick up the hours during midweek. But, they are still liable for reduced hours, too. So, we are part time flexible workers and will likely have our payments reduced, even though we may have worked more hours than 9-5 jobs.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: I agree wholeheartedly with what you are saying about flexible employment in the hospitality trade. Did it when I was college and it worked great. Lots of people appreciate such work with many a small village dependant on a large local estates for extra money. The problem here is they weren’t doing that they had a person working full time while saying they were part time. If a part time person does the same hours as a full time employee they are entitled to be a full time employee. What they did here was let all their part time staff go and keep the full time on the books. I don’t think Olekasandr understands that. Even if you argue the full time staff do over 48 hours there is a problem because that is illegal to prolong and only allowed once the average comes down to 48

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2020, 5:42 PM

@Craic_a_tower: And they get away with it because it’s not prolonged. They will give you 3 or 4 weeks of over full time hours followed by a couple of weeks of less than 24 hours or even less. Any complaints about the hours or attempts to claim full time and you will find yourself rostered for zero hours.

cars
    Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Jun 4th 2020, 5:52 PM

@Oleksandr Savitskyy: its highly possible that you are better off on the PUP. If you are classed as a part time worker, you will have a minimum hourly contract be it 8,12,20 hrs or similar. The Wage Subsidy Scheme pays 70% , and its discretionary what the employer pays, ie weather they top this up or not. I’m no expert, but I do have a slight understanding of how it all works. If the Wage Subsidy works on contracted hrs rather than average hours worked over a certain period, I’d imagine you are definitely better off. Notwithstanding, it seems that your employer is pulling a fast one If you are continuously working full time hrs, on a low hr contract, and possibly not acting within the boundaries of Employment Law.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:09 PM

@Hana Barbera: This is the way hospitality sector works now after 2008 so instead of redundancies companies can just drop your hours. In most places. The contract is kind of fair and legal. Also on part time contract u get paid per hour. In hospitality if u are on full time contract hotel will give u hours back. The thing is normally if u not happy with hours u go for another job. I am happy with my employed, wage and especially location as i dont have to commute to Dublin. My concern is that with payments cuts i will be treated as part timer.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Thank you and “cars” for the advise. I look into it and if i see u some time on The Journal will tell u the result.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: that really wouldn’t work an not what was said

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:48 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: I have a full time job, specified 40 hours in my contract. On a fixed salary. I regularly work 50+ hours per week. No extra money. Yes I’m guaranteed the 40, but a lot of salary paid people work longer than 40 hours per week.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:15 AM

A 6 billion deficit and the govt are going into panic mode, the apple argument is not ridiculous as that money is there so use it. If it has to be paid back in the future so be it. There are individuals in this country who are worth this amount and more who could be contributing a lot more as well.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:38 AM

@Derek Poutch: and Billions more have accumulated since the EU judgement against the Ireland and Apple.

But not all that money belongs to Ireland, but our share of it can contribute a tidy sum of money to offset, debts accumulated.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Derek Poutch: using the apple money wouldn’t change the deficit (our debt). We would just be changing the lender, the EU central bank, to a 3rd party lender.

It would, in essence, be like moving your own mortgage from the Irish bank to a vulture fund.

I’m assuming that Ireland wins it’s battle with the EU court here.

Doug
    Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:45 PM

@Derek Poutch:
    You need to learn what an Escrow account is. That’s where the money stays until the court makes a decision on the original EU ruling. It’s not available to anyone to do with as they wish, either the state or Apple.

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: that’s great if and when we get it but for now we need people back to work and get the economy moving again

Mute Karllye kripton
    Jun 4th 2020, 8:17 PM

@Derek Poutch: their companies are worth that I don’t think they have it in cash sitting in the personal savings account

Mute Mary Brennan
    Favourite Mary Brennan
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:59 AM

They bowed to pressure from they high earners.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:42 PM

@Mary Brennan: how? Is it justified that someone previously earning €110 a week is now pocketing €350? Where is the incentive to go back?

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:18 PM

@Ian Breathnach: In addition, if the temporary pandemic unemployment payment is extended into 2021 it could be argued that it is a new base rate for a standard unemployment payment. The definition of temporary would be gone!

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Daniel Kelly: then the temporary unemployed will be the high earners

Mute Sean Salmon
    Favourite Sean Salmon
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:20 PM

@Ian Breathnach: what about a company getting paid 410 euro per week per employee that is paying 70 per cent of their small wages and pocketing the difference. Why is it the less well off that always deserve nothing and why do the already well off get a free pass on their immoral earnings that we all have to pay for

Mute Johnny Rielly
    Favourite Johnny Rielly
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:13 PM

@Mary Brennan: The payment was/is absolutely deserved to anyone working for a living . However the system is being completely abused. Just this week we hear about Romanian gangs who never worked here drawing this payment.. do we allow them to continue. … and I know several students living at home with their parents drawing the payment. They get any tax they pay back from their part time jobs.

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:58 PM

@Sean Salmon: Per Leo they’ll take that up where they find that happening and there will be strict penalties for it. He also said this isn’t a time for ”what ifs”. If you know someone doing that, surely there’s a hotline set up to complain.

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:54 PM

@Mary Brennan: it makes no sense to continue paying 350 to part time workers. There will be no incentive to return to work. We need everyone back to work ASAP otherwise the country will be on its knees again

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 4th 2020, 5:35 PM

@Sean Salmon: it’s 70% up to €410, what’s your point. All the figures are entered into Revenue’s system so it’s all transparent. If you know wrongdoings is welfare fraud report these companies.

cars
    Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Jun 4th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Ian Breathnach: God forbid someone low paid possibly with a min hour contract, or someone who works part time because they can’t get full time work manages to win the feckin lotto by getting €350 from the government for a few month. What about teachers and civil servants at home on full salaries.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Sean Salmon: what’s immoral about a ahead working person earning good money?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:57 PM

@John fitzpatrick: *hard working

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77

Ah good old SF…the party for those who think money is just grows on trees…..the party for the simple minded.

cars
    Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:21 PM

@IRL77: It seems to grow on trees for politicians, bankers and developers.

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:23 PM

Its only right that these payments are cut.also anyone who refuses to return to their previous employment should be reported by the employer and have their payments cut.this needs to be done to get people back to work

Mute Martin Woods
    Favourite Martin Woods
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:21 AM

Heard some employers are still paying their employees the payments even though they are back full time how does that work?

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:30 AM

@Martin Woods: I’d imagine that’s the wage subsidy scheme?

Mute Martin Woods
    Favourite Martin Woods
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:42 AM

@NotMyIreland: yes but the employees are working 50hours a week and only getting paid for 39 is that legal

Mute Shimo Tbay
    Favourite Shimo Tbay
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Martin Woods: the answer is no and the employer should be reported to revenue as they are taking the piss

Mute Hana Barbera
    Favourite Hana Barbera
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:03 PM

@Martin Woods: Would not surprise me, but without evidence this is just gossip.

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:57 PM

@Martin Woods: that 350 paid to employers is to allow their business to get back on it feet again and will be subject to revenue audit to ensure that turnover is back by at least 25% while its being claimed

Mute Karllye kripton
    Jun 4th 2020, 8:18 PM

@Martin Woods: it’s called a scam and a bad f,ing employer

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:34 PM

Austerity will be savage soon as FFG know nothing else and Greens will truly exasperate the austerity with save the planet taxes. Lieo and Mehole will bend over backwards for Eamon to remain at the trough at our expensive pain…

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: there’s going to be austerity no matter who is in power. Get used to it. This will be no parties fault. Borrow = repay = tax. Millions of 350s = billions borrowed = billions in tax needed.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:43 AM

Minister flying a Kite to test the mood of the Nation Afraid to make the changes l guess

Mute Florin Strango
    Favourite Florin Strango

Ah well i can feel a cold breath on my neck….buckle up it will be a bumpy ride…after those 5 phases will be finished the real problem starts….RECESSION…I was getting 600 a week after tax ,my wife 500, now we get 700 ….we have an 8 year boy,last 10 weeks we lost 4000 euro income…that’s 4 months rent.When we will go back to work…if….hospitality sector will recover full after 1 to 2 years,so again the employer he will complain,about this situation,less money per hour,less hours,more work anyway i understand them….

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:50 PM

@Florin Strango: wow only 1000 a month rent, so lucky. Myself and my husband were both bringing in total of 1600 per month with rent of 1450 plus bills. I’m sure you can manage until such time you can go back to work full time. Also have a teen and newborn to support.

Mute Laura Clayton
    Favourite Laura Clayton
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:07 PM

@Sam Glynn: your problems don’t make Florins problems any less. What a belittling comment

Mute Florin Strango
    Favourite Florin Strango
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:13 PM

@Sam Glynn: I live here from 2014 …always on time..not a bad property….across matter hospital…terraced house 2 bedrooms…last contract signed 2018 for 3 years….990 per month…60 on internet …150 electricity…garbage 20 …brita water 7 …food 500 ….80 electric guitar for my son…40 for swimming for my son…80 for me drinking at home….around 2000 ….then 1000 savings…the rest of 1100 holidays money …2 per year….clothing…..beauty.. for my wife….going out…send some money home for my parents …cinema…take aways 2 times a month…that’s about it…

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:16 PM

@Laura Clayton: you must of picked up my comment wrong. Simply trying to let Florins know that they will get through it, even with the temp financial loss, giving my long term situation as an example. Trying to send encouragement during these crazy times. If I can do it with more rent and less than half their normal earnings, I can only assume you can do it now. Ps I work in travel and it seems Florins works in hospitality so I also understand the concern with this industry getting back up and running again.

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Florin Strango: I know it’s not easy. I also have gas, electricity bills, food, public transport funds, phone bills and Internet bills. We have had to do with TV subscriptions and any luxury extras, no holidays, gave up drinking many years ago as couldn’t afford it, no car, no lessons, no cinema, no take aways, no beauty treatments except I get my hair trimmed every 2-3 months for 15euro as cannot do it myself, but we are happy, we are close. We made the adjustments in order to survive and we spend what little money we have wisely. I understand you might find it difficult and unfair right now but I believe you can do it, I believe you can make the changes needed temporarily to get by the next few months.

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Florin Strango: also ; I work in travel so I understand the uncertainty of the industry getting back on its feet properly any time soon. I have redone my cv just incase and prepared myself for possible carrer change if needed. My husband is also will to change carrer and applying for new positions during this time. We all need to try and stay positive and embrace the changes as best we can right now, if not for us but for our children.

Mute Laura Clayton
    Favourite Laura Clayton
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:29 PM

@Sam Glynn: apologies

Mute Robaird O Raighne
    Favourite Robaird O Raighne
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:49 PM

Will we see a large reduction in the “lockdown cheerleaders” when the €350 payment is reduced. I am afraid more people will start being hit with the economic effects of this that have been cripling SME, hospitality and retail this last 3 months and it will be the ordinary people in society that will pay the highest price.

Mute SteveBuzzard
    Favourite SteveBuzzard
    Jun 4th 2020, 1:18 PM

This was an ill thought out scheme from start…. 200,000 part time people were/are being paid MORE than they were earning; i.e. a student on €100 pw part time, getting €350….surely a resigning matter for those in charge for wasting Millions in taxes.

Mute Bernard A Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard A Kavanagh
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:29 PM

Tis never “Rise in corporation Tax” or “TD pay cut” or “Bank CEOs fined for mismanagement” or “vulture funds stopped” tis always put on the back of workers…f…@FineGael f… @fiannafailparty, PR spinnin bully boys.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:19 PM

Agree on that. And the most amazing how easy to clash people. Especially there is a contrast with bailing out the banks and developers . Majority just took it in. Mau be complained at the back of their kitchen. Yet now it seems a big concern that a person who lost job will get rich for 350 a month and it will be disaster for the government.

Mute Seán Pól Ó Muireasa
    Favourite Seán Pól Ó Muireasa

What about those who work more than one job? Always been a grey are but more than happy to tax you to the hilt on it. Just saying.

Mute Seán Pól Ó Muireasa
    Favourite Seán Pól Ó Muireasa
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Seán Pól Ó Muireasa: area

Mute david cotter
    Favourite david cotter
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:04 PM

How will they determine what constitutes part time work ? I could work two days a week for a very generous employer who pays me €500. Or I could work five hours a day for five days and get €260.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:00 PM

They’ve had weeks to reduce the payment on a forthright basis. Now people are living the high life and don’t want to let go.

cars
    Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Jun 4th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Eddie Michael: yeah, living the high life in this country on €350 a week. Get a grip.

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Eddie Michael:

Agreed. The usual everything for free brigade are already planning their holidays in Lanzarotty for later in the year.
    End it now.

Mute Luap Dier
    Favourite Luap Dier

What about people who worked part time on €20 or more? Can’t expect them to be penalised because they don’t work as many hours.

Mute Luap Dier
    Favourite Luap Dier

@Luap Dier: I meant, €20 or more per hour.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jun 4th 2020, 4:30 PM

And what about self employed people also affected. This covid payment does not allow for this. For example if you used to earn €4k but now only earn €500 you are still earning and therefore would get nothing?!

Mute Mikey B Maguire
    Favourite Mikey B Maguire
    Jun 4th 2020, 3:55 PM

What about seasonal workers? We should all be working an average 6 days a week since Paddys weekend to the end of Oct, but are not entitled to the Covid payment. Its a ridiculous and unfair situation.

Mute Darren Carroll
    Favourite Darren Carroll
    Jun 4th 2020, 8:25 PM

Hes good a reading a prepared speech

Mute Steve Saunders
    Favourite Steve Saunders
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:40 PM

@ Sean Byrne.

I believe that money was put into Escrow pending the result of our Government’s appeal. That money can’t be taken out by the Government in the meantime.