You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Uniqlo's outlet in Paris AP Photo/Thibault Camus

A Japanese label with 'performance workwear' has discovered how to make men love shopping

The secret is to keep things simple.

JAPANESE CLOTHING GIANT Uniqlo has plans to take over America.

To accomplish this goal, the brand, which has 1,500 stores around the world, is going to great lengths to attract male shoppers.

Apparel retailers have traditionally gone after women, who tend to shop more often and seek out trendy designs.

“We take the men’s business not as a secondary business, but a primary one,” Steven Sare, chief merchandising officer, said.

While the brand is already the biggest apparel chain in Asia, executives are currently going after the Western market and have opened nearly 40 stores in America. That number could eventually expand to 1,000.

Sare said that half of Uniqlo’s customers are men, while its specialty retail competitors tend to have more female customers.

uniqlo chinnian chinnian

Here are a few reasons why men love shopping at Uniqlo:

Not trendy

Uniqlo started in Hiroshima, Japan in the mid-1980s as a unisex clothing company. As a result, many of its designs are simple and classic.

Tadashi Yanai, Uniqlo’s founder, reportedly studied and emulated Gap’s business model. But while the American retailer has tried to market trendy clothing as of late, Uniqlo stuck to the basics.

“The clothes are fairly basic and you don’t have to be a fashionista to figure out how to wear them,” Laura Gurski, a partner of the Retail Practice at consultancy A.T. Kearney, told Business Insider.

Men like this because they can mix and match fairly easily, and don’t have to think too hard about it.”

Uniqlo Socks Socks at a Uniqlo store bfishadow bfishadow

Uniqlo offers the same men’s shirts in dozens of different colors to simplify the process for men, Sare said.

Men can find a work shirt that fits, buy it in a couple of different colors, buy some jeans, and be done,” he said.

He said that male shoppers tend to come in less frequently than women, but spend more money per trip.

Business Insider technology editor Steve Kovach said the simplicity of the store has made him a loyal Uniqlo customer.

I know my size, and can blast through the store in 15 minutes and get the same shirt in just about every pattern,” Kovach said.

China Economy A Uniqlo store in Shanghai, China AP Photo / Eugene Hoshiko AP Photo / Eugene Hoshiko / Eugene Hoshiko

Performance fabrics

Many athletic-wear companies say their products are sweat-wicking, cooling, or thermal.

But Uniqlo was the first company to market the performance qualities of its workwear.

Uniqlo sells work pants that are guaranteed to keep men cool. It also sells a polo with “technology so sweat dries for a smooth, dry, and comfortable feel.”

Men are often persuaded to buy this type of clothing because it is practical and solves a problem, according to Sare.

Having a product with value and functionality is something that appeals to men over fashion,” he said.

FRANCE JAPAN UNIQLO Japanese billionaire and Uniqlo founder Tadashi Yanai AP Photo / Thibault Camus AP Photo / Thibault Camus / Thibault Camus

It also resonates with what many of Uniqlo’s male customers have been doing for decades: shopping for performance clothing.

“Many men spend their teens and 20s in sports clothes, so this language is very familiar to them,” Gurski said. “Ultimately, this makes purchasing Uniqlo a familiar experience.”

Just as sportswear brands like Nike and Under Armour sign endorsement deals with celebrity athletes, Uniqlo has paid athletes like tennis star Novak Djokovic to tout its products.

UNIQLO Wimbledon - Collection Launch Novak Djokovic unveils Uniqlo's Wimbledon collection Joel Ryan / Invision/AP Joel Ryan / Invision/AP / Invision/AP

Value proposition

A core tenet of Uniqlo’s business strategy is to market high quality and low prices.

The brand’s inexpensive clothing rose to prominence in Japan during an economic slump in the early ’90s.

“Our prices are incredible,” Sare said. “They’re really wonderful prices given the quality.”

A typical cashmere sweater at Uniqlo costs $89.90 (€82). A similar cashmere sweater at J. Crew costs $225 (€205).

China Uniqlo AP Photo / Eugene Hoshiko AP Photo / Eugene Hoshiko / Eugene Hoshiko

The brand can afford to offer lower prices because of its limited clothing selections, according to New York Magazine.

By offering huge quantities of a few items, Uniqlo can better negotiate on the price of the fabrics it uses.

The company can then pass that cost savings on to consumers. Low prices particularly interest men, because they care more about practicality than fashion when shopping.

Uniqlo unveils new summer collection of UT brand T-shirts AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Tailored looks

Uniqlo’s research and development department tirelessly works to improve the fit of its clothing, Gurski said.

“Uniqlo’s clothing is often more fitted than [offerings from] many competitors, because they have done extensive research on what male shoppers want to wear,” she said.

The company has realized that a significant segment of men don’t want to wear a shirt that looking like a box; they want fitted clothes.”

Jil Sander for Uniqlo Zak Hussein / PA Archive Zak Hussein / PA Archive / PA Archive

Uniqlo also offers complimentary tailoring on its jeans, a great perk considering most of the brand’s pants cost less than $50 .

Business Insider lifestyle reporter and Uniqlo customer Dennis Green says the fits at Uniqlo are better than they are many comparable retailers.

Their typical fit is much more flattering to the average male on the skinny side compared to anything from a similar retailer like Gap or department stores, which frequently design their clothes with much more generous cuts,” Green said.

READ: Shoppers should soon get a lot more rights – here’s how >

READ: How Forever 21′s founders went from pumping gas to a $6 billion fortune >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 10 comments
10 Comments
    Mute Nathan Hayes
    Favourite Nathan Hayes
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:09 PM

Now that’s why you don’t hold up a banner with ‘England get out of Ireland’

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:13 PM

@Nathan Hayes: Funny, you never complained for the 71 years previous when the banner was presented and FF and FG Taoiseach marched in front of it to get votes. Funny old world.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:17 PM

@Cal Mooney: You do know that it is one of only 2 banners of its nature formally approved by New York City to be paraded every single year since 1948. Why do you suddenly have a problem with it. You gave to admit that it does come across as hypocrisy.

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute Condorcanqui
    Favourite Condorcanqui
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:27 PM

@Cal Mooney: That’s telling Cal, ….. Cal!

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:29 PM

@Cal Mooney: the reason he didn’t have a problem with it before now is because nobody knew about the banner. The banner became public knowledge here when the leader of SF decided to act stupid and March behind it. Let’s be honest if Leo or mehole were there instead of Mary Lou, you’d be singing the riot act to.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:40 PM

@Roy Dowling: Do you really want me to start posting links with FF and FG saying they were in support of the banner in years gone by.

Mute Nathan Hayes
    Favourite Nathan Hayes
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:46 PM

@Cal Mooney: As a person who’s half English, I have a problem who tells anyone my mother to leave, including ff and fg, or anyone else for that matter.

Mute Nathan Hayes
    Favourite Nathan Hayes
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:49 PM

@Cal Mooney: And as a person under the age of 20, I don’t have first hand experience with the last 71 years of Irish history.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe

@Cal Mooney: back in your box Cal

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:52 PM

@Condorcanqui: Its a Cal-off

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:56 PM

@Nathan Hayes: Your mis-interpreting the banner, its directed at single people its directed at the occupation of the island of Ireland by the british. I have english friends and family but still dont agree with the occupation

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:57 PM

@Will Thompson: *not

Mute Nathan Hayes
    Favourite Nathan Hayes
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:00 PM

@Will Thompson: In the modern republic, there isn’t an occupation. So the leader of the SF party in the republic shouldnt hold up such a banner, it has super negative connotations, regardless of what it truly means.

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:05 PM

@Nathan Hayes: because you’ll sell the north out again?

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:07 PM

@Cal Mooney: you show a picture of the leader of FF, FG marching behind that banner and I’ll take back my comment

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:07 PM

@Nathan Hayes: SF is an all Ireland party Mary Lou is its leader. Michelle is its leader in the assembly.

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:16 PM

@Nathan Hayes: Exactly why I said Island. Negative connotations. How about the countless number of soldiers that fought and died for their right to occupy their own land who are now classed as terrorists but as soon the brits or yanks stick their nose in somewhere they’re called an army. Get a grip, its an 800 year occupation and as long as they’re there they will meet resistance!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:17 PM

@The Risen:

“Michelle is its leader in the assembly.”

The Assembly they abandoned over 2 years ago?

Leaving the North without a Government during the most precarious period in over 20 years?

The Assembly where they achieved nothing in the prior 10 years?

That Assembly?

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:25 PM

@Nathan Hayes: but that’s not what it’s saying, I don’t support SF,but I haven’t met an Irish person that doesn’t want the English establishment out of Ireland,it’s nothing against your mother or you.

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:28 PM

@Daniel Roche: Then you haven’t met an Irish person with a nuanced sensibility

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:29 PM

@Nathan Hayes: please open your eyes son,out country still has 6 counties occupied by England,our 26 counties is only temporary, just cause your happy to forget about 6 counties of Ireland, doesn’t mean I do or the leader of an Irish republican party

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:30 PM

@Daniel Roche: that’s a very sweeping statement, which doesn’t take much to disprove, like just one person out of the 4.7 million from the 26 counties, let alone those up north who identify as Irish. Odds aren’t in favour of you being right

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:48 PM

@Nathan Hayes: Google it! You probably use it for your life questions anyway!

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:10 PM

@The Risen: Their bull doesn’t work on us south of the border, thankfully.

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:13 PM

@Nathan Hayes: His phone must be broke……

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:50 PM

@Nathan Hayes: bullshit media spin next red they will gain votes ….fact!

Mute Elizabeth Hourihane
    Favourite Elizabeth Hourihane
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:18 PM

@Nathan Hayes: I understand your concerns however what is meant by England out of Ireland means the establisment having any say on the island of Ireland and it certainly does not mean english people in general whom we are friends with are related to and most definately love. The ties between the English and Irish people goes far beyond a sign held at some parare.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:34 PM

@Daniel Roche: The unionists are Irish .

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:36 PM

@Daniel Roche: Its not your country it’s an island and what makes you think it belongs to you .

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:22 AM

@Nathan Hayes: nobody is telling your mother or any British person to leave. We are clearly telling the British establishment to get out of our country.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Mar 31st 2019, 2:50 AM

@Will Thompson: just England, The English? Not Scotland, Wales etc.. just the English? Ffs

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Mar 31st 2019, 7:03 AM

@Frankie Mangan: it’s not our country, it’s a piece of turf on terra firma. Broaden your mind.

Mar 31st 2019, 7:38 AM

@Cal Mooney: time has moved on for some of us…..

Mar 31st 2019, 7:40 AM

@Nathan Hayes: stupid, ill judged effort by yer wan now showing up in the latest poll..

Mar 31st 2019, 7:42 AM

@The Risen: not really an all Ireland party when they refuse to take their seats in the British Parliament allowing the DUP nutters an open goal.

Mar 31st 2019, 7:43 AM

@Will Thompson: is it 2019 or still 1619 with you buddy?

Mar 31st 2019, 7:44 AM

@Daniel Roche: rubbish

Mute Sinéad O'Brien
    Favourite Sinéad O'Brien
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:58 AM

@Nathan Hayes: You should re-evaluate your understanding of the English word; the banner says England get out of Ireland NOT English get out of Ireland .There is a difference and the SF objective is for a united Ireland ergo England should not be Governing any part of Ireland . We still are living the effects of the plantations .

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 31st 2019, 3:24 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Not an all Ireland party for refusing to take their seats in the BRITISH parliament?

Didn’t really think that one true, did you Gus?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 31st 2019, 3:24 PM

* through

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Mar 31st 2019, 3:30 PM

@Nathan Hayes: It says England not English out of Ireland.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn

Fine Gael going nowhere, they’ve never had a Dáil majority and they never will. They do no represent the majority of the Irish people. Ireland’s Tory party out

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan

@P Quinn:
    And FF in ?????

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:31 PM

@P Quinn: after the Next General Election they’ll still have more seats than any other party, what do you suggest we do then?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:35 PM

@Roy Dowling:
    FF SF

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:38 PM

@Patrick Nolan: Yea not going to happen

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan

@P Quinn:
    To be fair right across Europe no party is getting overall majorities any more, they can’t even manage it in the UK with their FPtP system.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:47 PM

@Roy Dowling:
    Why not? If you want to destroy SF it’s the only way. A few years as FFs mudflap should do the trick.

Mute John Somers
    Favourite John Somers
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:53 PM

@Patrick Nolan: so the gangsters who bankrupted the country and the totally clueless? You’d have to hope the Irish electorate are smarter than that.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:04 PM

@John Somers:
    I can assure you John I will not be voting for either but after the next election we will most likely either have a continuation of the existing government or FF SF. Can’t see anything else happening.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:16 PM

@P Quinn: applying your logic means FF did represent the majority of Ireland.

But yet FF basically opposed marriage equality and repeal 8th referendum s, both of which passed by a landslide majority. Repeal 8th had the biggest landslide of any ref.

So it’s a bit much to claim or even suggest that just FF held a majority in the Dail that the represented a majority of Ireland.

I’m no fan of FG and they’ve made a balls of a good few things, but they’ve handled numerous things including Brexit far better then FF ever could.

Mute Mushy Peas
    Favourite Mushy Peas
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:23 PM

@Barry Somers: any party could have done what FG has done for Brexit. Read the EU script.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:42 PM

@Patrick Nolan: who said i want to destroy SF?.

Mute Paddy Doherty
    Favourite Paddy Doherty
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:57 PM

@P Quinn: 6 point ahead of nearest rival!!!!

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:24 PM

@Paddy Doherty: Ye don`t get a medal halfway through a race, cool your jets,

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:36 PM

@P Quinn: sinn fein is far too toxic to be attractive as a coalition partner for any of the mainstream parties, although if the figures added up for FF, who knows what would happen?

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Mar 31st 2019, 2:44 AM

@Paddy Doherty: yeah same as last election but with an arrogant leader we’re back to base

Mar 31st 2019, 7:49 AM

@Roy Dowling: emigrate, or suffer their continuing mismanagement .

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:17 PM

@Roy Dowling: vote for someone else someone who has no connection to either of the f party’s ?

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:53 PM

Good good for Sinn Fein, who want to tax me 62% so I’ll work for the state until 9.45am Thursday to pay for benefits for the 5.1% not doing any work or making any contribution to the public finances.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:57 PM

@Tony Shaw: LOL! Any tax increase under SF wouldn’t kick in on any money you earn until after you’ve cleared €100,000

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:33 PM

@The Risen: Are you actually thick enough to believe that?

Mute Common sense
    Favourite Common sense
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:02 PM

@The Risen: Sinn Fein would tax the life out of companies who create jobs, they would of course increase cooperation tax of multinationals who would in turn move to Eastern Europe taking jobs with them and also Sinn Fein would screw the farmers with tax hikes the back bone of this country.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:11 PM

@The Risen: so it won’t affect you. Ever.

Amazing how people are in favour of additional taxes that they don’t have to pay.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:14 PM

^

Love these lads trotting out idle speculation as fact.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:20 PM

@The Risen: Too easy.

Mute Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Favourite Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:58 PM

@The Risen: your an expert at farting out idle comments as facts

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:04 AM

@Mairtin Antaine O Conaill: Nope, just an expert when it comes to the correct usage of the words your and you’re.

Shall I book you in for a lesson?

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Mar 31st 2019, 7:11 AM

@The Risen: pontificator of all things it appears. Amazing how such a talent spends his days trying to educate the masses on all things of your own opinion. Must be exhausting correcting people. Fed up being successful are we?

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:36 AM

@The Risen: were is that document were this is written down on

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:22 PM

@ToNY S

Mute Gee
    Favourite Gee
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:15 PM

It is a party of protest. Very populist like! Always against, never constructive.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:22 PM

@Gee: Yeah, sorry SF are against things like not trying to solve the Health service and homeless crises. Sorry for being in support of holding ministers who manage to overspend 1.3 billion on a hospital. I know you are all for it. I could go on, but I don’t think you listen very well my friend.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:33 PM

@Cal Mooney: under Provisional SF homelessness in NI has reached a level that is six times worse per capita, than the disastrous level FG is responsible for here

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:38 PM

@Stephen Kearon: If you knew anything about the North, you would know that how homelessness is measured is very different to the South. Everyone on HAP would be considered as homeless using your methodology. Using that metric down here would leave 800,000 homeless. You must try harder Stephen.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:44 PM

@Cal Mooney: if you knew anything you would know that homelessness there has increased by over 30%, jog on if you think anyone with a brain believes Shinner maths

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly

@Stephen Kearon: under ff our country was destroyed for several generations including all those without a home in this republic

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:50 PM

@matthew o reilly: I can’t wait for FF leadership to expel this obviously broken tool from their arsenal.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Funny that. The shinners got their math right for the last election, while FF/FG were left looking rather foolish.

https://www.thejournal.ie/fiscal-space-2586172-Feb2016/

‘The phantom €2 billion: How everyone except Sinn Féin got the maths wrong’

:)

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:08 PM

@The Risen:
    As much as I dislike SF the Risen is correct on that.
    The phrase”Fiscal Space” will haunt FG party strategists for decades.

Mute SidNolan
    Favourite SidNolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:14 PM

@Cal Mooney: Be sarcastic all you want. Doesn’t change the fact, that even when the 2 main parties are so truly terrible, SF can only manage 13%.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:17 PM

@Cal Mooney: to be fair its easy for SF to say things from the sidelines, they can’t even form a government in Northern Ireland.

Mute Common sense
    Favourite Common sense
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:50 PM

@Cal Mooney: of course Sinn Fein would wave their magic fairy dust and making everything better.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:06 PM

@Patrick Nolan: that’s because Pearce Doherty is a mathematical end economic genius.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:13 PM

@Chin Feeyin: Well he’s enough of a genius to spell his name correctly….it’s ‘Pearse’

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:34 PM

@The Risen: whatever way you spell it, he’s still a genius.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:42 PM

@Chin Feeyin:
    I think SF fiscal policies would be economic suicide but there is no doubt that “Pearce” Doherty nailed Noonan back in the 2016 GE and I believe contributed to the loss of seats FG took.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:55 PM

@SidNolan: Wow, this week of all weeks demonstrated that the ‘Conservative and Unionist’ party in England couldn’t even get their brethren in the North of this Island to come on board after 2 years and billion euro bribes .. but I like what you did there, make out that SF are the ones that are unreasonable. The rest of Europe is just open mouth aghast at how intransigent the DUP are, but you make it out that it’s SF that don’t want to share power?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:05 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Ireland just uses 3 Catergories of ETHOS Light typology re ‘official’ homeless figures and excludes most Catergories.
    The UK just excludes 1 Catergory of ETHOS Light Categories!
    Also Northern Ireland has compiled a Report using all 13/14 Catergories of full version of ETHOS typology!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:38 PM

@Barry Somers: can’t, or won’t?

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore

Sinn Fein have badly let down their electorate up North and its probably having a domino effect on this pole.
    Non participation and shouting abuse from the sidelines is that parties speciality and more people thankfully seem to be realising this.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:59 PM

@sean de paore: Up north, they won their seats on a policy of abstention. Amazing the amount of people so used to being let down post election, that still have a problem with politicians who actually stick to their word.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:23 PM

@The Risen: I though that you are not a SF supporters??

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:07 PM

Thought Renua went out with the dial up modem

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty

Red sea and businesses post oviouly as usless guide to living in ireland as fine gael and fianna fail spin

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:14 PM

@Richard Doherty: absolutely Richard. Smoke and Mirrors of the highest order

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:02 PM

@Donnacha Bhoicaire: unless it’s good for SF and others, then the polls are correct obviously

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:35 PM

@Richard Doherty: I’d ask for a refund of your education, looking at your spelling and grammar.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:04 PM

@George Salter: 9and why should i george your the idiot with uneducated comments

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:16 PM

@George Salter: “I’d ask for a refund on the education you received, judging by your spelling and grammar”

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:11 AM

@George Salter: I’d ask for a refund just for being named George

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 31st 2019, 9:06 AM

@Pixie McMullen:
    ‘Pixie?”

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 31st 2019, 9:20 AM

@Patrick Nolan: Don’t joke about his childhood nickname, he flips out.
    Can’t take it. Dishes it, but can’t take it.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:10 PM

Excellent…..

Mute iComment
    Favourite iComment

SF need to take their seats in Westminister stop the DUP getting no deal Brexit….Votes next week will be very close…

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:36 PM

@iComment: SF taking there seats won’t make a slight bit if difference. And the fact there is more votes Next Week is an insult to democracy and another reason SF shouldn’t take there seats.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace

@iComment: Sinn Fein want a hard no deal Brexit, no matter what they may say in public

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:42 PM

@Roy Dowling: Provisional SFs never ending support for IRA terrorists is real insult to democracy, such as them applauding killers of our Gardai at their Ard Fheis

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Stephen Kearon: Speaking of supporting the IRA, didn’t the former leader of your party, charlie haughey, get caught up in a scandal trying to import guns for them?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:45 PM
    Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney

@Stephen Kearon: Funny, U have always objected to a proper public inquiry into the Dublin Monaghan bombings which killed 3 times more people in the South in one day than all the IRA activities. Do you deliberately pick sound bites to suit your argument? You are on another thread tonight saying that all the civilians murdered in Gaza, Men Women and a disproportionate number of children died from something other than a disproportionate military response by the Israelis and that the murdered and injured are too stupid to know what freedom they need.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:32 PM

@iComment: you do realize,they get elected cause they don’t take there seats, like I don’t vote SF,but you have to respect a party sticking to there election promises

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:37 PM

@James Wallace: of course they want a hard no deal Brexit, increases the support for a border patrol. But, has anyone figured out what would happen if the North votes for unification but the south votes against accepting the £12 billion a year liability a year that the north is?

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:48 PM

@Daniel Roche:
    Election promises have little to do with elections in NI and everything to do with a sectarian head count.
    Just over half the population vote DUP to keep SF out and the rest vote SF to try get DUP out.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:25 AM

@Vocal Outrage:Jaysus man, it was only 9 billion according to your estimates a year ago. Did Denis Oobrien get in contact with your party since the 2018 estimate? International and prize winning economists say that within 5 years it would be a 15 billion boon positive to thisIslands economy. But I should defer to your economic genius on this one. Why would I ever doubt your motives.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:30 AM

@Stephen Kearon: I’m no supporter of SF, FG, FF or any of the political parties. There all as bad as each other.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:54 PM

Mary Lou is not the right leader. She certainly hasn’t got her finger on the pulse over Northern Ireland and I’m not quite sure where she is on Brexit.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:00 PM

@ted hagan: Compare that to any Party leader. Where do any of them differ?

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Mar 31st 2019, 7:25 AM

@Cal Mooney: they would probably take seats in Westminster also and go toe to toe over there for their cause. Abstentionism is a kop out and even suits the opposition. It’s not rocket science that given the situation over there SF could be very influential. Swear allegiance to the Queen (lie, after all, they are politicians) and get in the trenches.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:30 PM

Provisional SF’s magic beans economics and naked sectarianism has being exposed, they utterly bombed in Aras18 despite the huge money they spent. Wonder how long before real puppet masters in Belfast intervene, especially as Provisional SF always get less in real election than polls

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:42 PM

@Stephen Kearon: ‘especially as Provisional SF always get less in real election than polls’

Says the master at getting less in elections….Nothing to say of FF economics which has wrecked the country twice in my lifetime.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Stephen Kearon: Oh, hi stephen. Having fun propping leo and simon up in power??

Mute Adam O'Donoghue
    Favourite Adam O'Donoghue
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:02 PM

@Stephen Kearon: magic beans economics of SF ?? FF ruined the economy 10 years ago and FG are giving us the absolute disgrace of the National children’s hospital which is coming in at least €800 million over budget. Saying SF economics are “magic beans” really doesn’t fly anymore,FF and FG have actually screwed the country’s finances to an unforgivable degree .

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe

@The Risen: if it wasn’t our country it’d be funny seeing how bad things have to get before ff feel confident enough to withdraw support. The many crises we’ve had and they still know they have no chance.

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:32 PM

@Adam O’Donoghue: Twit. The fact that FF/FG economics are dodgy, doesnt suddenly make SF snake oil valid. I have no particular issue with any party, but SF can’t do basic sums, let alone complicated stuff like compound interest

Mute Adam O'Donoghue
    Favourite Adam O'Donoghue
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:47 PM

@George Salter: but SF can do sums,their budget submissions have all been tested by the Department for finance.FG do sums to deliberately screw the public purse in favour of their pals in business and to help their own business interests

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:16 PM

@George Salter: ‘but SF can’t do basic sums’

Example….

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:14 AM

@George Salter: Their sums were basic enough to spot Noonans Fiscal €2 Billion gaping hole

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:09 PM

Good. Flutes. Eternally in the oppositon with no real intent to lead because they haven’t got the ability to. How the leader acts in a very public settings is a good example of this.

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage

I’m struggling here, but can someone help me, can anyone name one half decent TD from FG one just one?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:21 PM

@Michael Sage:
    Damien English
    Simon Coveney
    Helen McEntee
    That’s three. Richard Bruton isn’t bad either.

Now, can anyone name more than one sinn fein td? Anyone who isn’t a member of the cult, that is.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:25 PM

@John Mulligan: Simon Coveney who bet his political career on solving the homeless crisis and then legged it?? THAT Simon Coveney??

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:39 PM

@Pixie McMullen: the guy who steered us through the Brexit process with a far steadier hand than varadkar would have done.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:50 PM

ohn Mulligan: Through the Brexit process??? – are you telling me it is over???
    when did the Brexit debacle finish?? what is the end result??
    you are better off trying to peddle that book in Waterstones, because your non fiction here is crap

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:17 AM

@John Mulligan: Isn`t Damien English another clown with the title of Minister for Housing and Urban Development.??
    hows his portfolio working out?
    Jesus, but you back some losers – i`d say you lost everything but your virginity at Cheltenham

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:52 AM

@John Mulligan: are you for real,if Mr English ever tells the truth???as for the other two the less said!!!!!!!

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:49 PM

SF under Mary Lou: how the mediocre have fallen. :)

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:27 PM

@Clifford Brennan: Could be worse, we could have a liar of a leader who cares about socks more than his own people

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:27 AM

@Pixie McMullen: Sock derangement syndrome claims another shinner. My sympathies. :)

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 31st 2019, 2:18 AM

@Clifford Brennan: Am i wrong??

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Mar 31st 2019, 7:10 AM

@Pixie McMullen: Frequently.

Mute Gavin Carney
    Favourite Gavin Carney
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:47 PM

Thanks be to God for that. An appalling bunch of people

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:13 PM

@Gavin Carney: such an uncouth bunch of raggle taggle dear boy

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Mar 31st 2019, 9:12 AM

@Gavin Carney: Ok Gav enough about FG.

Mute alan doyle
    Favourite alan doyle
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:36 PM

Knackers

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:19 PM

@Noel McGuinness: ah! The kraken wakes!
    Must be an election coming.

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Mar 31st 2019, 11:50 AM

@John Mulligan:He’s on twitter every day have a look

Mute dominic jones
    Favourite dominic jones
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:27 PM

You ever notice SF always seem to be slipping in the polls and winning more seats

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:17 PM

@dominic jones: vote early and often…

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:37 PM

We’re lucky to have the stability of Fine Gael. A good party attracting the right people.

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:03 PM

@Tim Oleary: like Varadker, Harris,Murpy, how lucky are we lol

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy

Mehole will have to face public soon and real truth shall be revealed. FFG will be down again ….

Mute SidNolan
    Favourite SidNolan
    Mar 30th 2019, 8:18 PM

@Willy: Even during the worst crash in our history, caused by FF, SF couldn’t become relevant. So you guys keep telling yourself they will come out on top, sane people not only don’t believe it, they don’t even waste time thinking about SF. Completely irrelevant.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:42 PM

@SidNolan: Puzzles how their down in polls ever time election is near and yet gain more seats… Someone’s telling porkies …

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:11 PM

@SidNolan: in the forthcoming general election the sale of Pampers is going to go through the roof , what are they going to hide behind lol

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor

Couldn’t happen to a nicer bunch of peoplel

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:02 PM

Are people finally wishing up to the IRA?
    Or will their popularity jump up a bit when they shake a few promises out of the magic Venezuelan money tree?

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:43 PM

Best news I’ve had today.

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the politicians with some integrity from across all the party’s got together and formed a new one that actually put the people at the top of their agenda… oh wait. Never mind…

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:02 AM

The Shinner abstentionist policy from Westminster, & their collapsing of the Stormont executive, has rendered them irrelevant in the current critical discourse, so they have only themselves to blame.
    They have given the DUP a free hand on Brexit, & left the remain constituency in NI, both nationalist & unionist, with just 1 spokesperson in parliament.
    This purist abstentionism had a mandate & justification in 1919, but it most certainly is nonsense today, when pragmatic politics is struggling to sustain & propagate the western style democracies that have served us well since 1945. Even more so in Ireland, where democratic politics succeeded in establishing a peaceful co-existence after 30 years of terrorism.
    The people deserve representation from those they have entrusted with their votes.

Mute Johnny Conway
    Favourite Johnny Conway
    Mar 30th 2019, 9:25 PM

All these red c polls are all lies and propaganda trying to influence the sheepy voter

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:24 PM

@Johnny Conway: if you compare Red C polls with actual elections you will find them to be one of the most accurate polling companies. They also publish full details of the methodology of their polls for anyone bothered to read

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:26 PM

@Johnny Conway: Your evidence?

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:35 PM

@Johnny Conway: Not the only time they got it wrong, remember?

Mute Roy O'Rourke
    Favourite Roy O'Rourke

Sinn Fein go down and Fianna Fáil go up. It’s like a horrible 69′r. Arlene’s raspberries will be like bullets tonight. Big, thick, sink plug ones

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan

@Roy O’Rourke:
    Juvenile.

Mute Adrian Aungier
    Favourite Adrian Aungier
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:07 PM

We need a strong real right wing party in Ireland.

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Mar 31st 2019, 2:18 PM

A drop in support for SF. Goodness, I wonder why.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:13 AM

Good to see Fianna Fáil edging back towards the top. People are finally beginning to realise the crash wasn’t Fianna Fáil’s fault

Mute pat murphy
    Favourite pat murphy
    Mar 31st 2019, 2:43 AM

They havent gone away yeno

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:14 PM

Yould have to say she is not a great salesperson. It was a stupid thing to do and be photographed doing. With that attitude a united Ireland will never happen. And Cal you are deluded!!!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:10 PM

Does anyone have a link to any poll that showed FG might/would lose 26 seats in 2016 General Election?

Mute Daniel Whelan Tiling
    Favourite Daniel Whelan Tiling
    Mar 31st 2019, 8:10 AM

It’s not the banner. She is a plonker

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    Mar 30th 2019, 11:10 PM

In fairness, as a country we a screwed! There’s not one party worth a vote

Mute Adrian Aungier
    Favourite Adrian Aungier
    Mar 30th 2019, 10:02 PM

FF the puppets of FG.All these FF tossers in Fingal cant get a Garda station open in Malahide yet an independent muppet can. Remember the FF wasters in Fingal when it comes to election time. Fickle voters in Malahide or idiots blinded by family dynasties. Of course I forgot sure Malahide are all blow ins.

Mute Frank Mullen
    Favourite Frank Mullen
    Mar 31st 2019, 11:48 AM

Major gains anyway for FF FG….The stupidity of the Irish electorate continues to astound me.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Mar 31st 2019, 1:34 PM

SF vote is down because they supported Lord Ross’s mental drink driving laws.
    They have only themselves to blame.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Mar 31st 2019, 12:57 PM

That poll is so stupid the power of media while the only Party that hold Fine Gael accountable for there actions every single day in the Dail .FF sit back and watch Fine Gael tear this Country a part and do absolutely nothing. I don’t think the people of Ire are going to be that stupid when it comes to the Elections.