You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An ambulance outside the Emergency Department of the Healing Garden University Hospital Waterford. Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ie

University Hospital Waterford closed to all visitors due to Covid-19 outbreak

Pressures on UHW has intensified since a fire in Wexford General Hospital, after which some patients were transferred to Waterford.

LAST UPDATE | 23 Mar 2023

UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL WATERFORD (UHW) has closed to all visitors “due to an outbreak” of Covid-19.

In a statement to The Journal, a spokesperson for the hospital said “the matter is being reviewed on a daily basis”.

As a result, visiting to the hospital is now reserved for “exceptional circumstances”, such as visiting critically ill patients, children, or those who require special assistance.

This can be arranged by contacting the relevant ward manager.

Earlier yesterday, the hospital also advised patients that it “remains under significant pressure”.

UHW said it had experienced “record attendances in the Emergency Department, causing increased pressure on bed availability”.

It warned that those who do attend the ED for “routine and/or non-urgent treatment will experience long wait times”.

Pressures on UHW have intensified since a fire in Wexford General Hospital on 1 March.

More than 200 patients had to be evacuated from the building, with patients then transferred to UHW, as well as to hospitals in Kilkenny, Dublin and Cork.

A temporary structure was recently erected outside UHW in order to cater for the increase in ED attendances following the fire at Wexford General Hospital.

In the ten days following the fire, University Hospital Waterford experienced a 27% increase in weekday patient presentations, a 41% increase in weekend presentations, as well as a 59% increase in Ambulance arrivals, according to the South/South West Hospital Group.

Waterford Independent TD Matt Shanahan, who was elected to the Dáil following a lengthy campaign based around resourcing for UHW, recently warned that if a plan is not implemented in the short-term, then elective procedures are likely to be cancelled.

Any additional resources would require beds, he said.

“There’s no way that University Hospital, given where we are in terms of outpatient waiting lists, in terms of our already delayed schedule of elective care and the impact this is having on our A&E staff, can continue to provide care not only for the Waterford population but also the A&E capacity of Wexford. It’s impossible to do.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Clinton Daly
    Favourite Clinton Daly
    Oct 26th 2014, 4:35 PM

Fair play young dude

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Oct 26th 2014, 4:54 PM

We need to teach coding at a young age. Take religion out of primary school and introduce very basic programming to kids. It should also be availible for junior and leaving cert. I am learning C# at the moment and really regret i have not learnt to code at a younger age.

Mute Niall Ó Claonadh
    Favourite Niall Ó Claonadh
    Oct 26th 2014, 5:08 PM

The poor kid , he is very young to be getting into the dog eat dog. We idolise tech “leaders” so much today , I hope he isn’t chewed up in the cogs

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Oct 26th 2014, 5:31 PM

Is there an adult version of coder dojo anywhere? Don’t know if I would like to do it as a career but wouldn’t mind learning the basics. Coder dojo seems like a nice way to do that but don’t wana be shown up by a bunch of ten ye old! ;-)

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Oct 26th 2014, 5:37 PM

Plenty of courses you can pay for. I’m not sure how many people will dedicate time to teach adults for free. Although there’s a huge amount of free courses online… Do a google for “mooc” to get started.

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Oct 26th 2014, 5:40 PM

Didn’t realise coder dojo was free. Wouldn’t mind paying for a few casual classes but going as far as a night course seems a big commitment considering I know some people who did entire college courses and hated every minute. Will try some of the online options. Cheers.

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Oct 26th 2014, 5:54 PM

edx.org have a brilliant free online course from Harvard cs50 i think its what it is called. Also FAS e collage do a great “Changing yyour carer to the I.T sector online. It prepares you to get a MTA qualification in Networking, Software development, or Database analysis. Its free if you are on job seekers and its not too expensive if you are working. I am doing both courses and they compliment each other very well.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Oct 26th 2014, 6:04 PM

Have a look at night classes in your local community schools. Usually quite cheap and no long term commitment. I think usually 8-10 weeks at about a tenner a week.

Best of luck, I really hope it works out for you.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Oct 26th 2014, 6:07 PM

And forget about people who did comp sci and hated it. Massive overgeneralisation here on my part but I find they only did comp sci ‘cos computers are easy’ without knowing what they were getting into. If you have the interest then you already have a much better chance of success than them!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Oct 26th 2014, 9:18 PM

Give this a lash Barry, http://www.codecademy.com
    Maybe skip the HTML/CSS course and try the Javascript or one of the others first.

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Oct 26th 2014, 9:27 PM

Thanks for all the help. Loads to look at there. Maybe the first thing I’ll do when I’m able to program is create an education comparison site! There’s so much out there, some offering certifications some just the training and knowledge.

In people’s experience if you can show that you can code and write your own programs/apps/websites whatever, do employers look for proof of training? Does someone in the workplace who may be just as able and “self” taught earn as much as someone who has a degree or diploma or does the lack of paperwork hold people back?

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Oct 26th 2014, 11:17 PM

It’s helpful to have certifications in order to get the foot in the door but not essential. I’m self-learned and am an engineer in one of the biggest IT companies in the world. But I started at a technician in PC World.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Oct 27th 2014, 12:28 AM

There are also one year conversion courses you can do that might be worth looking into if you already have a level 8 degree in another area and are in the position where you can spend a year in college. As far as I know most of them are being paid for by the government because there’s a skills shortage.

Mute Craig Tackler O Neill
    Favourite Craig Tackler O Neill
    Oct 26th 2014, 8:47 PM

Codecademy.com go learn a language… I bet you enjoy it and I bet you will want to learn more!!

Mute Janet De Hora
    Favourite Janet De Hora
    Oct 27th 2014, 7:37 AM

This is a new one- I was expecting to read The Journal comments section had won the Nigerian lotto!!

Mute Dolphy Anderson
    Favourite Dolphy Anderson
    Oct 27th 2014, 6:12 AM

CHRIST APOSTOLIC CHURCH(C.A.C) CREDIT UNION
    Email: cacinternationalloanfirm@gmail.com
    Head office Address……Dalston 52 Ashwin Street F9 7DL, united states

========================================================================
    Hello, I bring greetings from the Lord to everyone here. I am a senior pastor of C.A.C and a Zonal Overseer of C.A.C Credit Union. I am here to announce to you that C.A.C Credit Union is giving out secure and affordable special xmans loan package to all believer’s in Christ anywhere in the world both individuals and organization’s for as low as 3% interest rate for whatever purpose you want to use it for be it business or personal. C.A.C credit union was originally set up to assist all it’s members worldwide who may be going through some financial challenges to get a soft loan to meet up with their challenges. We know that as this year come to an end, all believer’s in Christ might be needing funds for various purposes. For this reason, we have decided to extend our loan services to both members and none members of C.A.C worldwide. We offer both personal and business loans with capital base between the amounts of $1,000.00 to $50,000,000.00 US Dollars Or GB Pounds. The most interesting thing is that NO COLLATERAL NEEDED. NO HIDDEN CHARGES. All you need do is get a third part PPI to secure your loan. Wow! God is telling you that it is not too late. you can still achieve what you want to achieve before the year ends. Grab this opportunity and make this year your year of financial breakthrough. Hurry now and and contact us via email ( cacinternationalloanfirm@gmail.com )

GOD BLESS YOU as I await to here from you

Rev. Dolphy Anderson
    Zonal Overseer(C.A.C) Credit Union