You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Danny Johnston/AP

Up to 16 killed by US outbreak of listeria

A batch of contanimated cantaloupes from Colorado has been blamed for 72 infections, and at least 13 deaths.

US HEALTH OFFICIALS say as many as 16 people have died from possible listeria illnesses traced to Colorado cantaloupes, the deadliest food outbreak in more than a decade.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimate that 72 illnesses – 13 of them fatal – can be linked to the tainted fruit. State and local officials say they are investigating three additional deaths that may be connected.

The death toll released by the CDC — including newly confirmed deaths in Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Texas — surpassed the number of deaths linked to an outbreak of salmonella in peanuts almost three years ago. Nine people died in that outbreak.

The CDC said yesterday it had confirmed two deaths in Texas and one death each in in Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. Last week the CDC reported two deaths in Colorado, four deaths in New Mexico, one in Oklahoma and one in Maryland.

New Mexico officials said yesterday they are investigating a fifth death, while health authorities in Kansas and Wyoming said they too are investigating additional deaths possibly linked to the tainted fruit.

Listeria is more deadly than well-known pathogens like salmonella and E. coli, though those outbreaks generally cause many more illnesses.

Twenty-one people died in an outbreak of listeria poisoning in 1998 traced to contaminated hot dogs and possibly deli meats made by Bil Mar Foods, a subsidiary of Sara Lee. Another large listeria outbreak in 1985 killed 52 people and was linked to Mexican-style soft cheese.

Listeria generally only sickens the elderly, pregnant women and others with compromised immune systems. The CDC said the median age of those sickened is 78 and that one in five who contract the disease can die.

The death toll may rise in coming weeks, as it can take four weeks or more for a person to fall ill after eating food contaminated with listeria.

The outbreak has been traced to Jensen Farms in Holly, Colorado, which recalled the tainted cantaloupes earlier this month.

Unlike many pathogens, listeria bacteria can grow at room temperatures and even refrigerator temperatures.

About 800 cases of listeria are found in the United States each year, according to CDC, and there usually are three or four outbreaks. Most of these are traced to deli meat and soft cheeses, where listeria is most common.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute James Franco
    Favourite James Franco
    May 28th 2014, 7:49 PM

Typical overpaid smug pen pushing civil servant whose not in the least bit civil

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    May 28th 2014, 9:22 PM

Can no one in Ireland give an honest answer to any court or inquiry any more?!?!?

Mute Andrew Halpin
    Favourite Andrew Halpin
    May 28th 2014, 10:28 PM

That seems to be the way it works. Feather each other’s nest until the plebs catch on and then refuse to answer questions on the basis of a future investigation because what you say could be used as evidence by that future investigation.?? There’s the truth of it. This country is corrupt, it works from the top down and there’s no telling how far it goes or where it ends, if at all.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 28th 2014, 10:40 PM

Where’s Enda’s accountability when we need it.

May 28th 2014, 11:20 PM

Jill Enda’s accountability has gone missing along with his transparency…..

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    May 29th 2014, 1:10 AM

Spot on Andrew. I’ve been saying this for years, this country is rotten to the core. Maybe Purcell should have turned whistle blower himself and opened up the whole sordid can of worms that passes for a Justice system in this country. Now wouldn’t that make a refreshing change !!!

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Favourite finbarr ocormac
    May 28th 2014, 7:53 PM

Enda Kenny will not answer questions in the Dail over this….It goes to show that in any other Industry Purcell would have been gone weeks ago..But he probably has some nice juicey information on someone in Gov so he is going nowhere

Mute Colette Mullins
    Favourite Colette Mullins
    May 28th 2014, 7:51 PM

Yet another untouchable civil servant laughing at the system built to protect them

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 28th 2014, 9:17 PM

A bit of arse covering for Enda seems to be the logical conclusion to this farce by the not so civil servant.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 28th 2014, 8:14 PM

A public servant, especially one so high in rank, refusing to answer questions asked by public representatives in a committee is EXTREMELY serious. This should not go away.

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    May 28th 2014, 8:23 PM

When has a high ranking public servant ever told the truth, cooperated or acted in the best interest of the country. “Choo choo all aboard the gravy chain”

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    May 28th 2014, 8:46 PM

He’s perfectly entitled not to answer in law. There is no limits to what questions the committee can ask. There is limits on which can/ should be answered.

Mute ListenToWoody
    Favourite ListenToWoody
    May 28th 2014, 10:05 PM

He should not answer to showboating politicians..all seem to forget that we had a referendum not two years ago in which the people were asked if they wanted to give dail committees the power of investigation., and to make judgements on people..the people answered overwhelmingly “absolutely not” …and for good reason..yet this kangaroo court, and the PAC, is carrying on regardless,as if they are some sort of moral compass, crusading for right….and making de facto judgements on peoples character…. political point scoring in its most crude and disingenuous form..all you that think they are great better hope you are never summoned before a hearing..where they will then make judgement on you..I suspect you would all be singing a different song then…………down with this sort of thing..careful now.

Mute Andrew Halpin
    Favourite Andrew Halpin
    May 28th 2014, 11:28 PM

@listentowoody @alanharte. We cannot use the fifth amendment because in Irish law refusing to answer questions is interpreted as a sign of guilt. He wasn’t been questioned in law. That referendum was in 2011 and it would have undermined the individuals right to a fair hearing in any dealings with any government department. An individual would have had no recourse but to accept their decision as final. Therefore a state body could be wrong but also right.
    As someone who is familiar with kangaroo courts in Ireland where you are judged on hearsay evidence; Mr Purcell did point out that all of the allegations in Sergeant McCabe’s dossiers were not facts and needed to be investigated; I fully appreciate how Mr Purcell might feel were he in that position. However he’s not nor was he put in that position, as the PAC have no powers to convict or sentence him for any wrong doing.
    It may be that those members are showboating to protect their seats or parties interests. However we as a people need to be informed because they represent our interest directly and indirectly. If they are showboating it will be recalled come election time.

Mute ListenToWoody
    Favourite ListenToWoody
    May 29th 2014, 12:10 AM

Quite the opposite Andrew..in Irish Law it is your right to refuse to answer and no inference be taken from the refusal (except in certain anti terrorist/gang legislation)..the caution that is the cornerstone of the protection of citizen begins “you are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so”. I am aware that PAC and other dail committees have no power to convict or sentence for wrongdoing, I never said that they did..they do however , as I said, make “de facto” judgements on peoples character and are continuously political point scoring. I wonder would any of the Sinn Fein committee members be as vocal if the Justice committee was inquiring into the murders of Timmy Parry age 12, Jonathan Ball age 4 , Jean McConville, Robert McCartney..the list goes on..to listen to Sinn Fein members in particular tut-tutting from the moral high ground is stomach churning.

Mute Artisan Bee
    Favourite Artisan Bee
    May 29th 2014, 2:05 AM

@ ListenToWoody

“I am aware that PAC and other dail committees have no power to convict or sentence for wrongdoing, I never said that they did..”

Explain this so:

“yet this kangaroo court, and the PAC,”

Why say ‘kangaroo court’ if you believe “that PAC and other dail committees have no power to convict or sentence for wrongdoing”? Are you implying that the’Justice Committee’ has no authority to carry out its duty? Do you support subverting democratic processes?

This other tripe from you can only be described as PATHETIC:

“I wonder would any of the Sinn Fein committee members be as vocal if the Justice committee was inquiring into the murders of Timmy Parry age 12, Jonathan Ball age 4 , Jean McConville, Robert McCartney..the list goes on..to listen to Sinn Fein members in particular tut-tutting from the moral high ground is stomach churning.”

Mute ListenToWoody
    Favourite ListenToWoody
    May 29th 2014, 1:32 PM

Kangaroo Court -”a mock court in which the principles of law and justice are disregarded or perverted.The term may also apply to a court held by a legitimate judicial authority who intentionally disregards the court’s legal or ethical obligations. A kangaroo court is often held by a group or a community to give the appearance of a fair and just trial, even though the verdict has in reality already been decided before the trial has begun”.
    Why are you Shinners so sensitive? Still the instinct to bully opposing views, when political ammunition runs low, inevitably the rusty artillery of abuse is always wheeled into action.
    Calm down laddie…

Mute Artisan Bee
    Favourite Artisan Bee
    May 29th 2014, 2:19 PM

@ Listentowoody

“Why are you Shinners so sensitive?”

Please don’t mistake my abhorrence to fascism with being “sensitive”.

I ask: Why are you Blueshirts so pathetic?

“Still the instinct to bully opposing views, when political ammunition runs low, inevitably the rusty artillery of abuse is always wheeled into action.
Calm down laddie…”

Classic Freudian projection. Let me remind you what you said:

“I wonder would any of the Sinn Fein committee members be as vocal if the Justice committee was inquiring into the murders of Timmy Parry age 12, Jonathan Ball age 4 , Jean McConville, Robert McCartney..the list goes on..to listen to Sinn Fein members in particular tut-tutting from the moral high ground is stomach churning.”

Mute ListenToWoody
    Favourite ListenToWoody
    May 29th 2014, 2:55 PM

Wow your copy and past buttons must be worn out…

Here is some worthwhile copy and pasting—
    ” I don’t want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal food trough wiper! I fart in your general direction! Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries! You tiny-brained wiper of other people’s bottoms! ” – Perhaps you huge intellect recognizes it ? No, oh never mind.
    Good day to you sir….and please don’t call me anymore.

Mute Dermot Purcell
    Favourite Dermot Purcell
    May 29th 2014, 3:46 PM

Tractor im afraid ita lot worse than people not cooperating with this inquiry.Corruption and criminal activity has reached every arm of the state.this guy purcell has just given the two fingers to the decent people in this country.for people shouting for a revolution can hold this up and say purcell kearns flannery fitzpatrick ahearn cowen shatter callinan is this the form of democracy you want.no accountability.

Mute Artisan Bee
    Favourite Artisan Bee
    May 29th 2014, 4:16 PM

@ ListenToWoody

“Wow your copy and past buttons must be worn out…”

Extracting QUOTES from statements you made was an easy way for me to reinforce my point of view.

Well – you certainly lost the argument with this tripe:

“Here is some worthwhile copy and pasting—
    ” I don’t want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal food trough wiper! I fart in your general direction! Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries! You tiny-brained wiper of other people’s bottoms! ” – Perhaps you huge intellect recognizes it ? No, oh never mind.
    Good day to you sir….and please don’t call me anymore.”

Mute ListenToWoody
    Favourite ListenToWoody
    May 29th 2014, 5:51 PM

Lol….Thought it would go straight over your head…Monty Python is always worthwhile…..you should look it up….educate yourself….

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    May 28th 2014, 8:03 PM

Sack the tosser, do what your told or go

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 28th 2014, 8:42 PM

of course he will not answer and he knows he will be protected by enda as only he and callinan know what kennys message was……..

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 28th 2014, 7:45 PM

I can’t wait for the trials in the next decade of people who have been accused in their village of not being a good Republican. Or accused of witchcraft because they earn too much.

Mute Alan Reardon
    Favourite Alan Reardon
    May 28th 2014, 9:14 PM

This man believes that he is accountable to no one and displayed that disgracefully today, it’s a pity he could not have been told answer the question or collect your P45. In any other job he would be dismissed forthwith.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    May 28th 2014, 11:41 PM

Bit of a Catch 22 in that case, given that if he DID answer those questions he’d have been sacked by the Government.

Mute scartboy
    Favourite scartboy
    May 29th 2014, 1:19 AM

Need to also ask is he competent and has he got credibility within gov and staff. If not credible why should he stay in role?

Mute joan donnellan
    Favourite joan donnellan
    May 28th 2014, 8:12 PM

Jaysus JG are you playing with a full deck there???

Mute scartboy
    Favourite scartboy
    May 28th 2014, 9:35 PM

Over life of gov why has no dept sec been fired. Letters go missing for weeks and they survive. Finance was only dept that hired outside the inner circle and is now only dept that appears to have made progress. We blame ministers for crap in health, justice etc but really it’s the dept heads that should also walk as they allow crap service to taxpayer continue. If current gov has made one big error it’s not sacking a few inefficient depts secretary and bring in some private sector heads that know what real world is like to start fixing and removing bad waste practise. We spens enough tax payers money to have a decent health service but waste still exists.. How many pen pushers are in hse that add zero value?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    May 28th 2014, 10:24 PM

Yes Scarrboy maybe they should hire from the ranks of the private sector bankers, property magnates and other geniuses who ran out country into the ground. Numerous SG posts have been openly and publicly advertised and no private sector person has been appointed except for Finance and, guess what, he was an ex-civil servant as well! Why is this so. Simple. The jobs do not pay enough money or contain enough perks to attract people from outside the civil and public service considering the workload and responsibilities attached. Grow up!

Mute scartboy
    Favourite scartboy
    May 29th 2014, 12:15 AM

Not the most mature, logical or intelligent response I have seen. Bankers are part of private sector but not all. There are other examples ie kerry group so I would recommend you take a wholistic view rather than narrow one.. Are you hse mgt

Mute James Kelly
    Favourite James Kelly
    May 28th 2014, 9:45 PM

If the committee chairperson cannot compel him to answer then why cite him in the first place ?
    What is the point when you know he will refuse to answer as it just brings the whole process of government into disrepute?
    Could this government employee not have been issued with an advance copy of the questions and asked to confirm which questions he was unwilling or unable to answer thereby saving time, money resources and above all an embarrassing farce as clearly described by some members of the committee.
    This should not go away as the questions asked are of legitimate public concern and if this government employee won’t answer then he should be disciplined for gross misconduct in his public office.
    Who told him he should not answer to an Oriochteas committee properly constituted ?

Mute Andrew Halpin
    Favourite Andrew Halpin
    May 28th 2014, 10:39 PM

@james once he made his opening statement, he then proceeded to answer questions from a prepared script. That was objected to by several members of the PAC.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 28th 2014, 9:36 PM

What a disrespectful b@stard.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    May 28th 2014, 8:31 PM

In fairness why is this guy getting such a hard time? Looks like he is just being thrown to the lions.

Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    May 28th 2014, 9:30 PM

Justice Committee by name but alas not by nature

Mute kopper96
    Favourite kopper96
    May 28th 2014, 9:32 PM

Reminds me of Sir Humphrey Appleby………talk for hours but saying nothing!!!!

Mute Michael Flynn
    Favourite Michael Flynn
    May 28th 2014, 9:13 PM

Our Civil Servants are similar to priests in the Confessional .

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    May 28th 2014, 8:36 PM

Johngahan get over it fg/Tories got their ars. Slaped last week time to move on but dont worry none of ur boys and girls will ever be held to account for the rape and destruction of the country to please ur master in eu ps tell Denis I was asking for him the next time yous are selling off something else for pennies

Mute Flash gordon
    Favourite Flash gordon
    May 28th 2014, 9:12 PM

What are you smoking ?!

Mute Daire Hickey
    Favourite Daire Hickey
    May 28th 2014, 11:19 PM

He is a civil servant. IF he doesn’t co-operate he should be sacked.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    May 28th 2014, 11:39 PM

Cooperate with what? Questions from grandstanding politicians who know very well that he’s legally constrained from answering them? As head of a Government Department his ultimate responsibility is to the Government, not the Oireachtas. It’s the Government – or, more specifically, Enda – who put him in this position, and it’s Enda who should be held to account by the Oireachtas.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    May 29th 2014, 12:24 AM

Yeah. Government shouldn’t be required to be accountable to the people. What do you think we’re running here, a democracy?

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    May 29th 2014, 12:40 AM

Of course the Government should be accountable to the people. My point is that the Government has told Purcell not to discuss this particular issue with the Committee, so it’s the Government you should be going after – and, of course, that’s who the Committee is really after. Purcell is just being used as a pawn in their game.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    May 28th 2014, 9:48 PM

Does Finian know where his terrorist mates from Columbia are now? He jas as much credibility as Purcell.

Mute Sam Stears
    Favourite Sam Stears
    May 29th 2014, 2:47 AM

This guy Purcell seems to be a bit of a Humphrey out of the television ” Yes Minister”. He is arrogant in the extreme, he should be forced to answer fully for his actions, and stop with the bull shit.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 29th 2014, 9:23 AM

No Alan he is not being thrown to the Lions, they were well fed with Callinan, Shatter and the confidential recipient.

He is the person who is the key to this whole sordid affair, he is in charge of the day running of the Department of Justice.

He is the person who did not deal with the Whistleblowers allegations.

He has apoligised for his departments failings – which was led by him.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 29th 2014, 9:16 AM

And the new Ministers is silent.

If he does not go, then she will – this could be the final nail for this entire Government.