You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Duke of Edinburgh arriving for the Queen's Christmas lunch at Buckingham Palace. Joe Giddens

Most Irish people think there shouldn't be an upper age-limit for drivers

A further 38% said there should be an age limit, but disagreed on what the maximum age for drivers should be.

THE MAJORITY OF Irish people think that there shouldn’t be an upper age limit. 

In response to a poll for Claire Byrne Live/Amárach Research, 47% responded to say that there shouldn’t be an upper age limit.

A further 38% said there should be an age limit, but disagreed on what the maximum age for drivers should be.

4% said that drivers in their 70s should forfeit their licence, 18% said it should extend to drivers in their 80s, and 16% said people aged in their 90s should be the maximum allowed.

Another 15% said that they didn’t know.

A debate on whether there should be a maximum age limit for drivers was sparked last week after 97-year-old Prince Philip was involved in a car crash. Two women and a baby were the occupants of the other car, and were treated in hospital for minor injuries.

Today, police questioned the Duke of Edinburgh for driving without a seatbelt. Images published in Sunday newspapers appeared to show him behind the wheel of a replacement Land Rover on a private estate on Saturday.

A Norfolk Constabulary spokeswoman said the force was aware of the photographs and that “suitable words of advice have been given to the driver”.

The poll questions were carried out by Amarách Research for Claire Byrne Live earlier today, Monday 21 January. 

The Claire Byrne Live/Amarách Research Panel consists of over 1,000 Irish adults.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Pat Mangan
    Favourite Pat Mangan
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:40 PM

If votes switch from DUP to UUP, then the new Assembly and Executive could be quite different. I wonder how ordinary Unionists view Arlene Foster after all this.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:46 PM

Arlene Foster switched from the UUP to the DUP. Unfortunately they’ll still vote en masse for the Bible bashing lunatics!

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:33 PM

Ashes to Ashes dust to dust, if there’s corruption involved then an Election is a must……..

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:50 PM

Too many words in that rhyme lad.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:33 PM

The parties will return the basically same as they are now minus ppp. Then what..????? Awful system of government..

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:00 PM

@PaulJ: Just watched the party representatives being interviewed on BBC News at Stormont. The DUP spokesman coming out with scripture quotes from the bible to justify themselves was truly cringe-worthy. Where do they get these headbangers.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:05 PM

SF 27 seats. UU 37 seats. Same old stalemate

Mute Liz
    Favourite Liz
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:34 PM

@pat I’m an ordinary protestant and DUP have never had my vote and they never will!! Arlene Foster needs brought back down of her fcking pedestal and put in her place!

Mute Sean O'Brien
    Favourite Sean O'Brien
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:48 PM

Liz, we love you , tell everyone you know.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:46 PM

Agreed. A move back from the fascist extremes to the UUP/SDLP middle ground is what NI needs.

Jan 16th 2017, 10:18 PM

Diarmuid have you forgotten Trimble dancing hand in hand with Paisley down the Garvaghy Road? They were trying to out do one another. It was pathetic. An isolated Nationalist community being forced to endure a hate march through their area. Orange men aided and abetted by the RUC who beat the locals off the road when they staged a sit down protest. I’ll never forget the scenes, the sheer brutality. Apartheid state. Was illegal and unworkable from the get go.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Stephen Duffy: not necessarily if we can get Nationalist population to come out in strength and match the unionist turn out it will strengthen the entire Nationalist bloc at stormont and end the terminal decline of Nationalist vote that’s been happening over the past 10 year’s..

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:27 PM

Two years ago at least a thousand comments would have been posted by now. This site started out as wonderful and free and a voice for all.. now it’s so scared of litigation, barely 70 comments are allowed on articles. A shame really.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:43 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin: As an environmental campaigner dedicated to ending the renewable energy scam, I how Sinn Fein calls Foster corrupt when they are promoting the wind energy scam.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:01 AM

@Jamie McCormack: Unfortunately this comment is largely true. But, I see things as having improved for the Nationalists in the past 10 years. The current political arrangements were working, but perhaps the DUP could have been a bit more helpful.

It is possible the electorate will return the exact same players. Many Catholics I talk to are scared about a united Ireland. It has been my experience that were it not for the border, we could not live in the south. I am a catholic by birth. The south has some horrible politicians. The worst being Eamon Ryan, but most others are a shocking dose RTE is an organ of the state, the papers are bought off and we are stuck with the EU for now. Lucky Northerners

Mute Deirdre Doherty
    Favourite Deirdre Doherty
    Jan 17th 2017, 10:41 AM

Respect liz.

Mute Liz
    Favourite Liz
    Jan 17th 2017, 3:15 PM

@Sean everyone knows lol

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:05 PM

Very ‘one sided’ list of businesses and groups that benefited from the scheme. Its disgusting such bigotry is allowed and it’s difficult to see things improving when Unionists won’t even acknowledge their failings or how corrupt they are and instead they roll out the victim card and try to pin it on Sinn Fein.Sinn Fein once again looking like the statesmen again in the mess of a coalition.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:45 PM

@james: Well the Nationalists are in on the wind farm scam, so its balanced

Mute Ken O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ken O'Sullivan
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:04 PM

Good job the election wasn’t called for the 1st March……..That’s ASH Wednesday

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:45 PM

@Ken O’Sullivan: Be April 1st I bet?

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:41 PM

Well see ya Arlene.. Fingers Bleedin crossed.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:55 PM

Never mind the election what are the odds north and south of a SF story/crisis or victim of the day being rolled out by pro-unionist parties north and south so as to bolster their unionist allies in the North? My money would be on a massive media/political attack using Austin Stack with the help of his Fianna Fail comrades. As for Kenny and his Blue shirts it doesn’t matter really so long as they say what the Independent News and Media “JOURNALIST” tells them.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:17 PM

@Brian Ward: Fianna Fail are looking for a foothold in Northern Ireland politics. I’m sure some blatant and well choreographed faux controversy is just around the corner.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:41 PM

@For Connolly: over the past 10 year’s total Nationalist vote has been declining across the 6 county state which is absolutely disgraceful at this stage it should be hovering around 47% instead it is at 38% all because the Nationalist population have a no choice only hard left and soft left parties to choose from fermanagh and south tyrone constituency has Nationalist majority of 20 thousand and it was lost this on belivable there was time west of the bann had 90 % Nationalist turn out .it time for a new Nationalist centrist party who can united rural /urban /working class / middle class Nationalist population right across the North

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:52 PM

Little question for the shinnerbots above….

When Arlene Foster is returned as political leader of the largest party in NI, will you accept her as your First Minister, or hand back direct rule to the London Tory Government?

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 12:08 AM

@Bobby wilson: Why (sinse 1922) has violent republicanism always been left leaning?

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:09 AM

@Bobby wilson: The catholics don’t want a united Ireland. In fact moving to N.I. may be the only way southern youngsters will be able to get a house. I know a few who moves and they would not come back. Life is easier in N.I. there is more personal freedom and better public services.

No pot holes either. Their farmers come up here and buy my cattle in the mart.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:48 PM

Arlene Foster is a disgrace to women and to her party. She’s tried every angle to hang onto her pew and when it is failing she blames ring a woman and then the man who had more grace than her. The muppets who think she’s right won’t be happy till there’s no peace again. I hope their kids and grandkids have the stomach for the changes this stupid woman is bringing their way

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:04 PM

Exactly. She is trying her hardest to turn it around and lay the finger of blame on SF. If the shoe was on the other foot with regards to the ash for cash scandal, she would not have been as patient or tolerant as Martin McGuinness was. You can see the hatred in her eyes. She has no one to blame but herself for this. All to try and cling on to power when she should have just stepped aside for a few weeks and let an investigation commence. If she had nothing to hide, this should not have been a problem.The blame for all of this lies with her and nobody else. She alone has brought chaos and turmoil to the political landscape which has resulted in this election. I have no sympathy for someone who hates anything we as an Irish people stand for and less tolerance for anyone who claims to called themselves Irish yet backs the likes of her knowing she is in the wrong just to have a go at SF. They are nearly worse than the hardcore Unionists.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:47 PM

@Mary Murphy: She was watching Duncan Stewart on Eco Eye and he did a programme saying wood was the way to go for renewable energy. Arlene believed him. Duncan burn wood and she did? Whats the problem?

Mute Liam Flag
    Favourite Liam Flag
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:06 PM

There once was a first minister Arlene, Her reputation she couldn’t keep clean, On this cash for ash scandal, She could keep not a handle, So old Gerry is ready to get mean.

Mute Robert Christopher
    Favourite Robert Christopher
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:40 PM

Ashes to Ashes!!

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:07 PM

Cash for Sash and Cash for Ash.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:13 PM

Hahaha very good Niallers!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:44 PM

@Niallers: Cash for a lap dance?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:02 PM

GOOD

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:05 PM

(Pity the commments section on related articles will be filled with hate filled bile and vitriol from the usual suspects)

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:18 PM

Can people not express a view that differs from yours!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:36 PM

‘Views’ like referring to Martin McGuinness serious illness as ‘karma’?

Yep, really furthering the discussion that one.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:47 PM

While I wouldn’t personally refer to him like that, they are still views and someone like hime with a past you can understand why there may be a lot of animosity towards him.

Plenty of Irish would refer to people for example in British army the same way and so on.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:41 PM

@For Connolly:
    I think Foster has been a disgrace, and an election is correct. However I dread the daily stable of sectarianism that we will be feed over the next couple of months with the combination of the election and attempt to form a government. If i was a betting person I can see a possibility of this ending in direct rule from Westminster. This will test whether some form of normal politics can surpass tribalism and sectarianism. Sadly and I hope I am wrong, I do not think the north is ready for that yet.

Mute Eadbhard MagUiginn
    Favourite Eadbhard MagUiginn
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:52 PM

This all boils to one thing- certain elements of the Protestant land owning class still don’t want to share power with Catholics but the days of them dictating though are long gone. Their days of ruling with fear, extortion and collusion are well and truly over.

Jan 16th 2017, 9:39 PM

Very true, and a return to Direct Rule from London is not an option. If the power-sharing arrangement can’t be seen to function effectively, the alternative is joint authority which equates to joint sovereignty. This is a nightmare scenario for Unionists. Although in the greater scheme of things, this set up would just be another one of those stepping-stones that have yet to be skipped past. All in good time.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:50 PM

@Eadbhard MagUiginn: I wish someone would tell me why promoting wood burning is large quantities is wrong and paying wind farmers to turn off their turbines is right. What is the difference\?

Jan 16th 2017, 11:07 PM

Small potatoes Val, this is about sovereignty and equality and a beautiful land to call home.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:04 AM

@Jamie McCormack: So thousands of miles of pylons and 6,000 wind turbines each 150 meters high will make it a “beautiful land”.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:41 PM

Looking forward to 6 weeks of listening to this drivel 24/7…..

Mute Ned Flanders
    Favourite Ned Flanders
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:39 PM

And may the odds be forever in your favour…

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:49 PM

@Ned Flanders: May the Foster be with you Luke?

Mute Ned Flanders
    Favourite Ned Flanders
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:09 PM

No

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:46 PM

With Brexit, May might want to sell N. Ireland now???

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:48 PM

A case where Waterford whispers did the nail on the head as per.. UK to NI, honestly we couldn’t give a shite. Fair play to M Mcguinness he may have had his other reasons ,those dinosaurs have NI in a trap of bigotry. What a mess.

Mute Mr T
    Favourite Mr T
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:17 PM

Mr Brokenshire has presided over a brokensire!

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon

Really silly comment That. Cop on.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:24 PM

Up to now I wasn’t aware that Arlene fosters father was murdered by IRA . Totally sympathise with her loss but I’m not sure whether she should have been in that position. As it clearly shows now it was never going to work,this Sinnfein/DUP power sharing. Now look at the mess. Direct rule again front london

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:30 PM

Why not direct rule from Dublin.? Why not direct rule from an Anglo-Irish ministerial council.? It’s undemocratic. The people will have their say and if need be their say again until this is resolved.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:04 PM

Arlene Fosters da wasn’t murdered by the IRA Gerry.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:01 PM

Andrew.On the RTE news at 5 today They said her dad was murdered by the IRA. AS I said I was not aware of this before the RTE report. So you’re 100%sure he wasn’t yeah? I genuinely would like to know.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:23 PM

@Gerry Fallon: Arlene Fosters dad wasn’t murdered by the IRA, Andrew is correct.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:17 AM

@John Brendan Mullen: Oh my God, would you be that cruel?

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 17th 2017, 5:15 PM

Ok Andrew. I accept that point. It was RTE who reported that he was killed by the IRA . In fact in 1979 he was a serving RUC officer and was shot by the IRA but survived ok.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 17th 2017, 5:17 PM

For connelly. But he was shot by the IRA in 1979.he survived ok. RTE got it wrong.

Mute Paddy Lions
    Favourite Paddy Lions
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:11 PM

Arlene is a spirited lady whose family suffered at the blood-soaked hands of the IRA. She deserves our praise, sympathy and understanding.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:15 PM

There’s a slow boat to China waiting for you Paddy.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:16 PM

Cosy pellet fire should help for now

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:30 PM

What you meant to say was Arlene is a bitter woman who’s father was a member of the hated b-specials, and who has p*ssed away half a billion pounds of tax payers money over the next 20 years, thus ensuring money that could have been spent on schools, hospitals, infrastructure and job creation goes to her pellet burning buddies instead.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:31 PM

*whose.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 16th 2017, 7:53 PM

@Paddy Lions: The Irish state was born out of civil war and most of the Free State government had blood on their hands and managed to move on from it. Arlene Foster is no exception and needs to move on from the past for the benefit of everyone in Northern Ireland. If she can’t do that then she has a serious problem.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:37 PM

Should live in the republic. About 200 billion to date

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:10 PM

@Paddy Lions: thanks for the laugh paddy !!

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:55 PM

@Paddy Lions: … Both cummuinities have suffered as much as the other Nationalist population have excepted over the past 18 years unionist first ministers will the unionists population except a Nationalist first minister…

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford

Who cares

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:35 PM

We all should care ok.EC P

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:52 PM

@EC P Ford: The pylon ones and especially the tax payers here who throw money from here to them up north to the Unionists and Nationalists… …

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:55 PM

What’s going to change-absolutely nothing

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Jan 16th 2017, 5:42 PM

Another cold snap….

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:25 PM

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:48 PM

@Gash: Their necks I think?

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:29 PM

I wonder what odds Paddy Power are offering on direct rule

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:06 PM

@Diarmuid: Nationalist population have excepted unionist first ministers over the past 18 years the question is will they except Nationalist like the way they did in belfast city council No Catholic lord mayor was ever elected in 90 years since it was created..

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:13 PM

So Cameron leads his party and the U.K. over the cliff and into uncertain shark infested waters, resigns; the UKIP leader resigns after “winning” the Leave vote; no Snap election called.

McGuinness resigns to score political points and there’s a snap election in Northern Ireland.

Priorities!!!

Mute Cranium
    Favourite Cranium
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:20 PM

I don’t think you understand how the power sharing agreement works. In fact you obviously haven’t a clue.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism

@MadMike, if you support Equality you would understand why McGuinness has resigned

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:20 AM

@Mad Mike: There never was a person who could not be done without.

Cameron lost so he left. Farage won but had been rejected by the British voters in South Tannet.

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley

Ferry ugly bunch of politicians indeed,

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:01 PM

Growing support for Sinn Fein in the North indicates that a referendum on union with the Republic is not that far away
    and now is the time to jettison the old political hacks and install a new crop of young republicans without a shady past.

The Orange Order and its agencies of political and militant influence should be simply shunned also so that the youth
    of Northern Ireland can entangle itself from a violent and tragic past and get on with building an Ireland that we can all
    be proud of.

Perhaps, in a minor way, the results of the election can also be tacit comment on Brexit which could draw the Six Counties closer to the Republic.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 17th 2017, 7:14 AM

@Moorooka Mick: A referendum on union with the south would fail miserably. The south is run by Bono, Mary Robbinus, Peter Sutherland and George Soros. Gang land murder rules Dublin, A lot of poverty and its getting worse.

Carbon tax, globull warming everywhere. Eamon Ryan, Censored media. Wouldn’t you run a mile;

Never vote in the Republic, stay at home, leave it to them they cant do much ,more harm.

Jan 16th 2017, 9:24 PM

Good to see Martin McGuinness looking better, almost back to himself.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jan 16th 2017, 8:27 PM

They need to ditch the extremist parties in the north to stand any chance of progression. SF and DUP have had far too long putting fear into their own communities, forcing them to vote purely out of fear. Extremism is always doomed to fail.

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Jan 16th 2017, 6:39 PM

Sinn Fein can help them over brexit

Mute Mícheál de Burca
    Favourite Mícheál de Burca
    Jan 16th 2017, 9:25 PM

Incredibly poor body language in the photo.

Mute Deirdre Doherty
    Favourite Deirdre Doherty
    Jan 17th 2017, 10:55 AM

Arelene foster needs a reality check .who was the minister who was looking after this scheme. It wasn’t a sinn fein mla .typical dup trying to deflect from there own failings .Martin McGuinness had been very patient he has worked with Ian Paisley and they said they would never got on then Peter robinson… so u have arelene foster arogence ..lack of respect for the Irish language .the ash for cash scandal. The lack of respect of other people regardless of creed and sexual orientation. The people can have there say .

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Jan 16th 2017, 10:01 PM

I miss the chuckle brothers

Mute Angel
    Favourite Angel
    Jan 16th 2017, 11:54 PM

Just Look them what a picture