You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Probst/AP/Press Association Images

US stocks fall on economy fears

More market jitters in the US today as the Dow Jones closes down almost 400 points, while the S&P500 and Nasdaq fall also.

US MARKETS CLOSED sharply lower today on fears that the world is heading towards another recession.

Concerns about a double-dip recession led to investors selling off stocks, while commodities also saw a rout.

Investors’ worries were compounded by weak data coming out of China today, says Reuters.

The Dow Jones industrial average hemorrhaged as much as 527 points, the second consecutive rout since the Federal Reserve announced a change in strategy for fighting the economic slowdown.

At the close of trading, the Dow was down 391.01 points, or 3.51 per cent, at 10,733.83. The Standard & Poor’s 500 index fell 37.18, or 3.19 per cent, to 1,129.58. The Nasdaq composite fell 82.52, or 3.3 per cent, to 2,455.67.

Nineteen stocks fell for every one that rose as investors fled.

Traders sought the safety of Treasury bonds instead of the usual havens of oil and metal.

Gold, which has been seen as a type of security blanket lately, also dropped nearly 4 per cent. The Wall Street Journal said that the fall happened as investors looked to raise cash they had lost elsewhere.

Oil equities also sunk with Exxon Mobil, Chevron and Marathon Oil all down.

-Additional reporting by the AP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:37 PM

Don’t go to mass which is my choice but I reckon pope Francis is a legend

Mute Gary o Barry
    Favourite Gary o Barry
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:44 PM

I agree a great man.
    But I suspect he won’t be pope for too long, all that institutional wealth is at risk with his behaviour.

Mute Gary o Barry
    Favourite Gary o Barry
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:58 PM

Anybody who red thumbed me is a jerk.

Mute keith o brien
    Favourite keith o brien
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:06 PM

I lost all faith in religion , but I believe he is a good man .

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:03 PM

You calling me a jerk, Gary?

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:49 PM

That’s right. Remember John Paul 1st.

Mute Just Chief Now
    Favourite Just Chief Now
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:36 PM

I only remember from John Paul lI. Or maybe a pope before him that died after a month?

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:14 AM

I want the most red thumps

Mute declan hegarty
    Favourite declan hegarty
    Dec 18th 2013, 2:54 AM

Can I go to the palace for breakfast

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Dec 18th 2013, 7:28 AM

I’m not into religion but he seems like a decent bloke. Its this decency that will scare the Hell out of those so called Christians within the church, he’s far too much like Jesus for them.

Mute Moccy Fondoo
    Favourite Moccy Fondoo
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:40 AM

- This reminds me of the joke about the Pope & the tramp, – a reporter saw the pope blessing a tramp, who was drinking a pint of milk.
    The tramp put down the bottle & stared at the Pope, eyes glazed over with tears.
    The reporter approached the tramp & asked him what the Pope said,
    The tramp replied ;- ” put down that pint of milk & f**k off out of here…!! ”
    (with the appropriate hand gestures)

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Dec 18th 2013, 11:50 AM

A good man. Arrived too late.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:49 PM

The simple actions of one man cannot wipe away the greatest crimes committed against humanity by the RCC. Child rape , slavery and abuse internationally . Most of their victims will never see justice nor their clerical abusers receive punishment . The church still protects the names of paedo clerics .

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:02 PM

The chap refuses to stay in the papal apartments, seems like an all round decent guy, not that religious at all but his morales / principles alone are enough to respect the man. Long may it be the way. He’s exactly what the Catholic church need.

Mute Bernadette Connell Lanigan
    Favourite Bernadette Connell Lanigan
    Dec 18th 2013, 4:24 AM

Dozens of homeless are camped out, yet only four are chosen. A little too selective for me. PR.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Favourite Richie Caldwell
    Dec 18th 2013, 5:11 AM

Why is it always the liberated women with double-barrelled names with an axe to grind?

Dec 18th 2013, 5:27 AM

Ah go on Ritchie, say my name…… Now WWJD, Jesus would have fed the lot of them. No axe, just a Christian observation. Isn’t just grand to be liberated and free thinking.

Mute Jim Higgs
    Favourite Jim Higgs
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:11 AM

How many homeless people do you have breakfast with?

Dec 18th 2013, 4:09 PM

Do it on a regular basis here, it’s called “In from the cold”. Dinner, bed for night, breakfast and a packed lunch. It’s put on through the churches and I volunteer.

Mute Pauric McKenna
    Favourite Pauric McKenna
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:45 PM

Hat’s off to the man. A real Christian..

Mute Crazy
    Favourite Crazy
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:35 PM

Now that is my kind of pope!!! Lovely gesture. Respect!!!

Mute Maeve
    Favourite Maeve
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:25 PM

Those who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones… How many of ye who are giving out have had a homeless person in your home for breakfast? Ha! Thought not.
    This Pope is a great man.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:26 PM

Maeve, you doing anything this weekend?

What can I say, Mitch Connor likes how you are put together!

Mute New totwit
    Favourite New totwit
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:13 AM

Oh my god… Mitch,I’m free right now xxxx

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:40 PM

The pope could find the cure for cancer, eliminate world hunger and bring world peace and the same old cynics would say it’s a PR stunt. The man seems to want to lead by example, so credit to him

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:33 PM

So if, Anto, he wants to lead by example, why not open up the Vatican and let the homeless sleep there instead of in the square outside.

Mute Emma Challacombe
    Favourite Emma Challacombe
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:18 AM

Haha the iront here anto is that he has control of the wealth that COULD end world hunger, could fund research for a cancer cure and head of a church that has caused wars, but yet this will never happen

Mute Robbie Cummins
    Favourite Robbie Cummins
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:25 AM

enough with the Catholic bashing, what have you done for your fellow man you miserable sod

Mute Emma Challacombe
    Favourite Emma Challacombe
    Dec 18th 2013, 1:01 AM

Far more than most catholics i know. !!!!!

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:22 PM

I’m not very religious nor do I attend mass but I do like this pope… he seems a decent sort of bloke unlike the last few we had…

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:44 PM

Was the Dog Fed?

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:44 PM

Fed to the three lads, Jim.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:07 PM

Deadly

Mute Brendan McCaffrey
    Favourite Brendan McCaffrey
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:46 PM

Class act mister pope!!!

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:39 PM

Mmmm papal pancakes

Mute Jambon Decapabanana
    Favourite Jambon Decapabanana
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:50 PM

That’s not god, it’s a waffle that got stuck to the ceiling!

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:22 PM

Should be happy to get either pancakes or waffles.. Previous Pope only ever had Eggs Benedict.. :/

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:51 PM

If he ever loses his job as Pope, I’d hire him as head of PR in an instant. Can’t really think of any real improvements he has made to the church policy, but he has done absolute wonders with their image.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:27 PM

Lots of people disliked my comment, nobody disagreed and gave an example. Sounds about right.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:48 PM

There was an atheist mass (sorry, Atheist Sunday Assembly) in Temple Bar at the weekend. How much did they raise for charity?

I know my parish raised over €12,000 for the St Vincent De Paul last week alone.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:18 PM

@Richie If the recent CRC scandal taught us anything is that there is a difference between selling charity and doing charity. The CRC no doubt did actual charitable things with the funds they raised, but they also excessively profited off the top of that. Is the RCC in the business of selling charity or actually doing charity? Who knows, as charities go they are easy one of the least transparent ones out there, though the amount assets they hold certainly suggests one over the other.

In any case this isn’t an answer to my question, the church was involved in charity before the new pope took office, therefore nothing as changed.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:27 PM

How do you lose your job as Pope?

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:26 PM

Your congregation did more than the pope then, who gave four guys a bit of grub. And you haven’t got it plastered all over the news..

Mute Mustafa Cezar
    Favourite Mustafa Cezar
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:38 PM

John Horan, obviously I’m not a Catholic or Christian, but fair play to this guy. Btw how many times you did give breakfast to homeless people?

Dec 18th 2013, 4:02 AM

John, Greg Burke is the Vatican’s PR man.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Dec 18th 2013, 9:30 AM

watch the borgias that will give you an idea of how a pope can be removed.

Mute enda1... begrudgers0
    Favourite enda1... begrudgers0
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:55 PM

This man is a legend

Mute Maurice Riordan
    Favourite Maurice Riordan
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:45 PM

They facilitated the rape of young children all over the world, then covered it up and are still covering it up under this ‘Saint’ so many people have been taken in by. A lash of sausages flogged to a few winos doesn’t really make up for that. Hand over the money that he owes the survivors of the institutions and laundries and maybe then he can have some respect.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:51 PM

Respect? Like the respect you show in your post to the men you condemn as winos without knowing a thing about them?

Shame on you.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:29 PM

Bloody hell Maurice, that post is wrong in so many ways……

Mute Ben Flanagan
    Favourite Ben Flanagan
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:43 PM

Nicely done lad

Mute Ben Flanagan
    Favourite Ben Flanagan
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:46 PM

^ meant for Alan O’Connor

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:47 PM

@ Maurice – disgrace.

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:33 PM

@justin
    Give me one ? If you can I’m sure Maurice will take it back.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:39 PM

“A lash of sausages flogged to a few winos”?

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:43 PM

How so Justin , everything he said is true , or do you have evidence to the contrary .

Mute The Bourgeois Pope
    Favourite The Bourgeois Pope
    Dec 18th 2013, 7:05 AM

I presume you won’t be putting up a tree this year.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:52 PM

You focus on the wino comment but ignore the truth about child rape Alan. What does that say about you !

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:54 PM

justin are you saying the church didn’t cover up child rape . Your post speaks volumes .

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:50 AM

It says that I didn’t like the association the comment made between homelessness and alcoholism. If you think it says anything else then you need psychiatric help.

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:08 PM

Big deal. 4 homeless people for 1 breakfast, that the well paid servants of the ridiculously opulent basilica in Rome rustled up. Meanwhile in soup kitchens around the world millions of homeless people are been fed on a shoe string budget as the out of touch with reality men in robes of Rome count their money, make up ridiculous rules and duck and dive when it comes to facing up to their crimes against innocent kids. Now, kneel down before him and kiss his gold ring like a good flock.

Mute Red4fred
    Favourite Red4fred
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:26 PM

I disagree with you. Every journey starts with a single step. And they let the dog have breakfast too.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:32 PM

I presume you’re aware of the tireless and thankless work done by both religious and non-religious charities across the world.
    Also, I assume you’re aware of the tireless work the bloke did helping disadvantaged people for most of his career.
    That he continues this when he’ in one of the most high-profile positions in the world it’s not exactly surprising that it gets coverage.

Mute Maria Conroy Byrne
    Favourite Maria Conroy Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:46 PM

Haven’t seen any pope who seemed to be living a particularly opulent lifestyle. In fact, all the recent popes seemed to embrace pretty simple lifestyles. It’s not like they own the art works or famous treasures in the Vatican. Before officially taking on the role, the Pope-elect’s private property is donated to the Church, transferred to another relative, used to endow a foundation or placed in trust. He can also choose to retain controlling ownership and use his will to specify what should happen to everything when he dies. When John Paul II died in 2005 he left no possessions.

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:55 PM

FOUR. That’s it. Seriously? The man in charge of the greatest wealth on the planet is to be lauded for giving FOUR people breakfast. Blooming heck but sorry, no applause here

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:39 PM

u took the words put of my mouth – pure PR from one of the wealthiest organizations on the palnet – and the people are taken in by it
    this guy could have taught Edward Bernays [ the father of modern propaganda ] a few tricks.

Mute Anne Roberts
    Favourite Anne Roberts
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:20 PM

Agreed

Mute Alan Grouse
    Favourite Alan Grouse
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:02 PM

@Anne

Can i ask where you found such information to back up your claim that the church has the greatest amount of wealth ever? I am not poking fun or attempting to antagonise, i merely am interested in these things and any new sources which can be shared would be of great appreciation. Many thanks

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:35 AM

@ Alan
    A good start would be their Assets Alan. It’s usually a good indication of someone’s wealth. Ah the ol collection at mass every Sunday. The greatest charity known to man. Dig deeper and I bet you’d find some top- ups being thrown around there.

Mute Gobblor
    Favourite Gobblor
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:46 PM

Nice little PR charade.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:33 PM

Not really. He’s got a record of working with the poor for the best part of his career.

Mute Gobblor
    Favourite Gobblor
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:36 PM

Yes really – that’s why he’s in that position. Not because they wanted him as pope, but because they needed some good PR. I acknowledge that he himself is a good guy – but he’s a puppet.

Mute Maria Conroy Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:53 PM

Doesn’t seem too much like a puppet to me!

Mute Gobblor
    Favourite Gobblor
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:07 AM

That’s because you’re a simpleton, Maria.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2013, 3:50 AM

Particularly insightful comments, Gobblor. I’m sure Maria and I appreciate them.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:42 PM

“Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me….

now GET OUT!”

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:39 PM

And after breakfast he kicked the back out on to the street?

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:42 PM

I dunno. What do you do with the homeless people you invite to breakfast on your birthday?

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:43 PM

Few games of call of duty?

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:50 PM

Na you got it all wrong few games of GTA

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:28 PM

I think you all missed the point here.What I want to know is how Vatican City can keep it’s homeless problem down to just 4 men and a dog???

Mute Winston Leonard Spencer ThePug
    Favourite Winston Leonard Spencer ThePug
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:07 PM

Nice one, Pope Frankie!

It’s more then his sinister looking predecessor ever did. More interested in poring over obscure academic works than righting the wrongs of the Church. Lest we forget, the keep-fit Pope (JPII) was little better.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:41 PM

You can’t have one without the other: feed the poor, of course, but why bother if there’s no higher purpose?

By equal measure, there’s no point in intellectuals locking themselves in ivory towers either if great swathes outside are dying.

Francis complements Benedict. There is no great rupture that the secular media yearn for so badly.

Mute Winston Leonard Spencer ThePug
    Favourite Winston Leonard Spencer ThePug
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:36 PM

I wasn’t suggesting any great schism Richie, but I do know who I prefer :)

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:52 PM

this PR campaign is up there with the videos on youtube for Anchorman 2.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:31 PM

to all the red thumbs. Youtube is a video sharing website set up by former Paypal workers. Anchorman 2 like the 1st film parodies the life of Bryan Dobson off of RTE News.

Peace out.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:15 PM

What a truly astounding feat of generosity to share you breakfast table with your fellow man ! I’m sure the men in question were delighted to be invited by someone so high and mighty to dine with them . I bet their Not as delighted as the Vatican is to get publicity for it though. Look at me , look at me I ‘m the pope and I ‘m so great ! tell everyone I’ve had breakfast with homeless people on my birthday.They will all surely think I’m a great guy ( suckers ).

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 7:48 PM

Hook line and sinker , just like Obama

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:35 PM

Like it needs to be pointed out, Pope Francis has a well established history of helping the poor. Unlike Obama who didn’t really have much of a history at all.

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:41 PM

Like it needs to be pointed out, Pope Francis has a well established history of helping the poor. ”

he stood idly by in Argentina while the poor and others were butchered

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:23 PM

When I see child raping priests in prison , Madeleine survivors compensated by the church and not the state , sadistic nuns held to account , women be allowed to become priests , abuse victims compensated and the clergy living modest lifestyles not living in luxury , then I might have some respect for the man and his cult . Until then it’s nothing more than a pr stunt . And all of you red thumbing Christians , it’s the likes of you that allowed this vile organisation get away with what it has done down through the yrs .

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:25 PM

So how does he help the poor, Alan, by taking a few guys off the street, feeding them up and sending them out again to their sleeping bags and cardboard?

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2013, 3:54 AM

He, organisations he’s worked with and followers of his faith who do incredible work for disadvantaged people do a little more than feeding them up and sending them out again to their sleeping bags and cardboard.

Mute The Bourgeois Pope
    Favourite The Bourgeois Pope
    Dec 18th 2013, 7:08 AM

Yep, no Christmas tirkey for John the cult hatter.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:49 AM

So what happened those four guys after their slap up breakfast, Alan? Do we know? And do we know what he personally does? We know what great work organisations do. They go out there in the night with soup and sandwiches and sleeping bags, they don’t make grand, empty gestures

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Dec 18th 2013, 9:24 AM

Fair enough Grainne but one person cannot reasonably to fix all the problems of the world by himself.

His role in this is leading by example in the hope that everyone will do a little which will make a big difference.

Christ himself cured lepers but didn’t eradicate leprosy, he cured the lame but people still limp.

What Francis did causes me to look at my attitude to the homeless & disadvantaged & l am not ashamed to admit that I could do a lot more. Bro Kevin Crowley does huge work in Dublin feeding the hungry & there are people like him all over Ireland. St Vincent dePaul are in every village in Ireland & are collecting at the moment.

If we all did a little then problems like homelessness could be done away with overnight & Francis by highlighting the issue has done well.

Mute Rod Cassidy
    Favourite Rod Cassidy
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:52 PM

Everybody falling for the Vatican propaganda machine

Mute the flying picket
    Favourite the flying picket
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:34 PM

Is that the tatooed guy from boyzone ?

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Dec 17th 2013, 8:59 PM

PR stunt.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:37 PM

For all the people that are pro Pope PR here,if you believe this is more than a PR stunt,let me ask you this.How many of you pious,carte blanche Christians,will be inviting the homeless into your home this Christmas ??? I mean the birth day of your saviour would be the perfect time to emulate his holiness.

I propose that all Christians should be required to celebrate Christmas at midnight mass,so you get a chance to meet the homeless person who will be staying without until Stephen’s day.How better to emulate,the Pope and Christ himself,

No need to thank me,I’m just here to help.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Dec 17th 2013, 9:44 PM

True, I won’t be inviting a homeless man into my house.
    But that’s because the Pope’s a better man than I am.
    Is he a better man than you too?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:04 PM

Actually no,he’s not a better man than me but then I’m not a carte blanche Christian!!!

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:21 PM

Ru.. Do you mean an “a la carte” Christian as opposed to “carte blanche” Christian??

Mute Kevin Elliott
    Favourite Kevin Elliott
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:55 PM

Spending your time complaining about the religious and not doing anything yourself. Does that mean you are emulating Dawkins?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:09 PM

@ Sinead : Nope,I most definitely meant “carte blanche Christian.”

@ Kevin : I couldn’t tell you,as I am only vaguely familiar with Dawkins work.As hard as it will be for you to understand,but I don’t need a man,a book or a belief as my moral compass.That is entirely down to me.

As for “complaining about the religious” what sort of anti theist would I be if I didn’t ???

Mute Kevin Elliott
    Favourite Kevin Elliott
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:21 PM

Access all area Christians??

Ha ha…I appreciate your honesty on the last part

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:32 PM

He didn’t invite him into his house. He invited them into the Vatican, and got someone else to cook them breakfast. And I bet someone else washed up too, while the lads went back to their sleeping bags.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:45 PM

Nope “carte blanche” defined in it’s simplest terms “the freedom to act as one wishes” which makes “carte blanche Christian” an oxymoron,and when you get right down to it,that is what Christianity is.

The first part of my comment was also honest.Although,obviously I am aware of Richard Dawkins and what he is about but I have never read The God Delusion (the atheist bible LOL) which I’m assuming that was what your Dawkins reference was in relation to.

Mute Maria Conroy Byrne
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:52 PM

How many who give out about the wealth of the Church will be having a homeless person for Christmas dinner?Easier to light a candle than to curse the darkness. Any change has to start with me!

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:29 AM

So Ru Ni Digs, you’re a better man than he is then? He had some homeless people around for breakie on his birthday. What have you done to top that?

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:41 AM

I wish I had you’re Intelligence.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:53 AM

@ James : I don’t need to publicize or take pictures of the things I do.I don’t need validation for doing them.

@ George :I’m not usually a grammar nazi but when you are making snide smartarse comments about people’s intelligence, please try and find what out the difference between “your” and “you’re.”It would make your comment far less ironic ;-)

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:40 PM

The surroundings in the picture are mind boggling. How many billions is the Vatican worth? I’m not sure what the pope represents anymore. Here we have a couple of homeless people invited in for breakfast! After breakfast , what happened then ?

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:52 PM

Go on red thumber show your face and let’s have a proper discussion on why you think what I said is wrong!

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:52 PM

I don’t know, what do you do after you invite homeless people in for a meal?

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:34 PM

Paddy, when I live in a vast mansion and have servants to cook for me and do the washing up, I’ll invite the entire neighbourhood in. And ring the newspapers to tell them how great I am.

Mute Mary Costello
    Favourite Mary Costello
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:00 AM

“This view that women are somehow inferior to men is not restricted to one religion or belief. Women are prevented from playing a full and equal role in many faiths. Nor, tragically, does its influence stop at the walls of the church, mosque, synagogue or temple. This discrimination, unjustifiably attributed to a Higher Authority, has provided a reason or excuse for the deprivation of women’s equal rights across the world for centuries. At its most repugnant, the belief that women must be subjugated to the wishes of men excuses slavery, violence, forced prostitution, genital mutilation and national laws that omit rape as a crime. But it also costs many millions of girls and women control over their own bodies and lives, and continues to deny them fair access to education, health, employment and influence within their own communities…. The truth is that male religious leaders have had — and still have — an option to interpret holy teachings either to exalt or subjugate women. They have, for their own selfish ends, overwhelmingly chosen the latter.” JIMMY CARTER, Losing My Religion for Equality.

http://rhrealitycheck.org/article/2013/12/11/the-peoples-pope-if-by-people-you-dont-mean-women/

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:44 PM

A Papal song and dance man a complete PR merchant

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    Dec 17th 2013, 11:45 PM

The pope is the 2nd or 3rd largest landowner in the world after the queen. He controls trillions in wealth, and people like him cos he gave a few homeless guys a couple of sandwiches?

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 18th 2013, 1:03 AM

How’s the rage against God going?

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:27 AM

@Richie
    Not sure we are on the same page Richie. Jesus now probably would have been the homeless person!

Mute dee lawson
    Favourite dee lawson
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:33 PM

This is just to look good for the catholics and take away the spotlight for all thats gone on wrong in Ireland -smart move …

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2013, 3:53 AM

Sorry now, you’re suggesting that the head of the catholic church has continued doing the good deeds he’s been doing for homeless and poverty stricken since his early days as a priest is all to distract some people (who?) from the widely know and utterly unconscionable behaviour of the Church in Ireland previously?

That’s more than a little unlikely.

Mute Trevmac
    Favourite Trevmac
    Dec 18th 2013, 12:22 AM

I reckon he is actually a good bloke, but I also know how clever the Catholic church is and they are losing so many followers so they decide to bring in a reformist, a nice guy, a people’s man, the German didn’t really work after the popular John Paul……….I respect people religions and beliefs but I agree with this “Pope Francis is not just the spiritual leader of one of the world’s major religions: He’s also the head of what’s probably the wealthiest institution in the entire world. The Catholic Church’s global spending matches the annual revenues of the planet’s largest firms, and its assets—huge amounts of real estate, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Vatican City, some of the world’s greatest art—surely exceed those of any corporation by an order of magnitude.* ” Nobody even knows how rich it is but plenty “guestimates” going into trillions of $$.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 18th 2013, 1:02 AM

St Patrick’s Cathedral???

Mute Humphrey Murphy
    Favourite Humphrey Murphy
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:10 AM

Lucky the photographer was there too. #publicitystunt

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:09 AM

Finally the catholic church is getting a shake up! I am not a religious person but I’ll say this ‘Long my he reign”!

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:59 PM

I see you took your red thumb back!

Mute Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Favourite Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:56 AM

Ok I expect the HIGHEST amount now of red thumbs..but he is SO SO SO GOOD!!
    A real PURE PR man! The catholic church is so desperate to loose control as THANK GOD they do and so they put out the best PR man they could find. After Pope Benedict, which I have huge respect for, they had to put out a REAL good PR and people Pope. And they did!
    Never forget the Vatican is one of the biggest and dirtiest Cooperation out there and they need the power back. And it frightens me HOW many people are turning around and starting to join the sheep flock again…

Well everybody has the right to decide what they think they need….but be aware!
    As all that will turn all very dark – from the first moment I DID NOT trust him and we will see more of the Church!!!

Now keep the red thumbs rolling in ;-)

Mute Eamon Ryan
    Favourite Eamon Ryan
    Dec 18th 2013, 8:35 AM

What is the point of a PR gesture like this, why does he not do something to make sure they do not remain homeless, a good brekkie, some photos, then back on the street doesn’t work.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Dec 18th 2013, 1:20 PM

Eamon

That is up to us.

All any leader like Francis can do is give example & lead from the front. If we want the problem solved then let’s get out there & solve it.

It’s just as well Christ didn’t feed the 5,000 today or we would have people here saying “what about the following day?” or “what about the 50,000 down the road?”

One man on his own, even if he is Pope, is very limited in what he can do. But everyone doing a little could transform everything.

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Favourite Winston Teardrops
    Dec 18th 2013, 9:59 AM

What a great Victory for Il Papa to Reach Out to these homeless #ostentatiouskindnessissuspect

Mute Paul Fisher
    Favourite Paul Fisher
    Dec 18th 2013, 11:29 AM

I like Pope Francis and all, but isn’t this exactly the kind of behaviour that senior religious figures are supposed to get up to?

It’s pretty amazing that a Pope helping the needy is global news. Just goes to show how far off track organised religion has got.

Mute Sven-Olav Back
    Favourite Sven-Olav Back
    Dec 18th 2013, 9:17 AM

Well done by pope Francis. However, would a truly humble man really want publicity for his good deed?

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Dec 17th 2013, 10:58 PM

Good man Paddy. Take a wild guess?

Mute Marist '59
    Favourite Marist '59
    Dec 18th 2013, 4:35 AM

Did he discuss the talking snake with them?

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:01 AM

What I can’t figure out is why the conclave went for this guy. He’s not the theological type clearly and , of course, he’s a Jesuit. Maybe the church is changing at the higher level. Important to remember that he’s in his seventies though and the next guy could be another herr direktor.

Mute Adrienne Sojka
    Favourite Adrienne Sojka
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:23 AM

Sounds more and more like he is the people’s pope–

Mute Grace Hope
    Favourite Grace Hope
    Dec 18th 2013, 4:18 PM

It is very distressing to read the comments from people that have such anger towards christians. Yes, the catholic church has many serious, unacceptable faults but this should not stop you from reaching out and opening your hearts to God and Christ. The primary objective of the church should be helping and guiding the poor of spirit.
    Our logical minds spend so much time dis-proving God, his existence and his love for us, if that time was spent on strengthening our relationship with him what a different world we would live in. I suggest spending time researching the messages given to st. Faustina, garabandal, our lady of aitka and maria divine mercy. There you will hear from your Father and note that evil infiltrated the Catholic Church a long time ago. I truely feel sorry for those that proudly and boastfully declare the are atheists. Without realising it they are missing out on true fulfilment , how sad it is and how hurful for your Creator.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Dec 18th 2013, 10:44 PM

Grace it is yourself you should feel sorry for if you give credence to an organisation that has facilitated and covered up child rape and slavery internationally . We were fooled once. !
    WE WILL NEVER. ! EVER BE F @€KING FOOLED AGAIN !