You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Xi Jinping. PA

China’s President Xi Jinping calls for military growth amid tension with US

The Communist Party congress comes amid a painful economic slump and tension with Washington and Asian neighbours over trade, technology and security.

CHINESE LEADER XI Jinping has called for faster military development and announced no change in policies that have strained relations with Washington and tightened the ruling Communist Party’s control over society and the economy.

China’s most influential figure in decades spoke as the party opened a congress that is being closely watched by companies, governments and the Chinese public for signs of its economic and political direction.

It comes amid a painful economic slump and tension with Washington and Asian neighbours over trade, technology and security.

The congress will install leaders for the next five years.

Xi is expected to break with tradition and award himself a third five-year term as the party’s general secretary, entrenching his vision of reasserting its dominance in the economy, society and culture following four decades of market-style liberalisation.

The 69-year-old called for accelerating military and technology development to propel the “rejuvenation of the Chinese nation” in a televised speech of one hour and 45 minutes to some 2,000 delegates in the cavernous Great Hall of the People.

The party’s military wing, the People’s Liberation Army, needs to “safeguard China’s dignity and core interests”, the president said, referring to a list of territorial claims and other issues over which Beijing says it is ready to go to war.

The PLA is the world’s second-largest military after the United States and is trying to extend its reach by developing ballistic missiles.

“We will work faster to modernise military theory, personnel and weapons,” Mr Xi said in the speech, which was punctuated by brief bursts of applause from the masked delegates. “We will enhance the military’s strategic capabilities.”

He cited his government’s severe “zero-Covid” strategy, which has shut down major cities and disrupted travel and business, as a success. He gave no indication of a possible change despite public frustration with its rising cost.

The congress will name a party Standing Committee, the ruling inner circle of power.

Economic officials are not due to be named until China’s ceremonial legislature meets next year. But the party line-up, due to be revealed after the congress ends next Saturday, will indicate who is likely to succeed Premier Li Keqiang as the top economic official and take other posts.

Xi is widely expected to promote allies who share his ambition for state-led development.

Analysts are watching whether a slump that saw economic growth fall to below half of the official 5.5% annual target might force him to compromise and promote supporters of market-style reform and entrepreneurs who generate wealth and jobs.

Today, Xi gave no indication whether he would pursue a third term as leader or when he might step down.

During his decade in power, his government has pursued an increasingly assertive foreign policy while tightening control at home on information and dissent.

Beijing is feuding with Japan, India and Southeast Asian governments over conflicting claims to the South China and East China Seas and a section of the Himalayas. The United States, Japan, Australia and India formed a strategic group dubbed the Quad in response.

The party has increased the dominance of state-owned industry and poured money into strategic initiatives aimed at nurturing Chinese creators of renewable energy, electric car, computer chip, aerospace and other technologies.

19 Comments
    Mute seanbrowne
    Favourite seanbrowne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:04 PM

Hugh go out and have a few pints for yourself ..if there’s no news that’s alright..

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:09 PM

You don’t think the next leader of our country is news?

Mute seanbrowne
    Favourite seanbrowne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:12 PM

The people decide that not fine Gael..if you read the piece it’s about leader of a political party ..not the country. .so no it’s not news

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:13 PM

Which party do you think is going to have more seats than FG in 2016 Sean?

Mute seanbrowne
    Favourite seanbrowne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:18 PM

just because you have most seats won’t necessarily mean you will lead the government. .they have already ruled out coalition with anyone bar Labour. .but they are going to be wiped out

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:21 PM

Yeah I can picture FG being charitable and letting FF taking the reigns even though they have less seats….

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:42 PM

If FF and Sinn Fein go into coalition, the largest party would not be in govt. That has happened in past with FF largest party but in opposition to a FG/lab govt.

Mute Mark O'Connor
    Favourite Mark O'Connor
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:03 PM

So you’d want idiots to go in to coalition with the muppets who caused a lot of the recent problems in Ireland to lead the next government.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:11 PM

It’s not news because the next leader of FG is completely obvious.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:41 PM

Alan Kelly’s a shoo in.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:54 PM

Blame ff fg labour our future looks bright!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:13 AM

All the pictures above i find vomit inducing.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Aug 17th 2015, 1:57 AM

He’s not in FG

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:30 AM

Kate, Little jim is using sarcasm. Because labour have become even more right wing than FG.

Mute Jacques_DaCosta
    Favourite Jacques_DaCosta
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:17 PM

Leo Varadkar.
    “The Health Minister has long been tipped as a potential successor to Enda Kenny given the admirable way in which he went public about his sexuality”
    Seriously.
    What the fcuk does that even mean?

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:53 AM

it means f*ck policy.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:56 AM

No coincidence. Nobody likes troll boobs, now be a dear and fk off back under your bridge.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:08 PM

Fitzgerald would bring us back decades. Her tenure has overseen promoting to the job of commissioner an officer that operated at the highest levels of the last administration. Ludicrously, she’s a big fan of criminalising prostitution.

This woman is stuck in the 1970′s. .

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:22 PM

And showed zero leadership when DOB went to court and the country was in limbo for a period of days.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

And even less since the serious leak last week about charges being brought against the protesters.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:54 PM

And IMO the jury is still out on Leo until he starts actually doing something instead of talking about it. He can start with emergency departments.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:05 PM

Agreed. I wonder how many elderly people were stuck on trolleys when Leo was on the media the other day sniping at the Right2Water movement.

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:13 PM

Old people don’t really deserve hopsital beds though. Waste of taxpayer’s money. They’ll die anyway, may as well leave them on the floor and sweep away the bodies every morning.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:18 PM

A lot of people might be fooled into thinking that’s a joke Lindsay but I suspect it is actual FG policy.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:55 PM

Like there’s a difference, Lindsay.

Mute Brendan Colfer
    Favourite Brendan Colfer
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:21 AM

I’m in and out of this forum
    Talking to some guys that have totally givin up on it
    It used to be a good place to have a debate
    Connely stroke wer jamin and the other end Tony slap have destroyed it
    Lads feck off and let in an honest debate

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:38 AM

That’s sad, Brendan. At least you still like me. ;)

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:42 AM

it’s best to just ignore they thrive on attention .

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 17th 2015, 1:10 AM

Stop being rude about us actresses.

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly

Hayes? ?????? Hahaha.

Mute Colin Webber
    Favourite Colin Webber
    Aug 17th 2015, 11:22 AM

Well said Kate Ellen. Hayes and Harris are two very unlikeable characters. Both of them are beyond pompous. Coveney’s conduct during the leadership challenge in 2010 should rule him out. What was he at? Leo is the man to lead FG next. The only man. Interesting to see if he gets it. I hear he’s not as popular with his FG colleagues as he is with the public.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Aug 17th 2015, 11:53 AM

You left out BOSCO they are all muppets.What experience have any of them except on how to line their own pockets

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Aug 17th 2015, 5:50 PM

Maybe leo but the rest including your beloved leader will struggle to get re elected and rightly so

Mute Jacques_DaCosta
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:39 PM

Simon Harris?
    Jesus help us all if that conceited, arrogant, pompous, stuck-up, cocky, overbearing, puffed up, presumptuous, self-opinionated little upstart ever takes the reins of power in the republic.
    Probably the second most annoying person in Ireland after Panti Bliss.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:51 PM

“Jesus help us all if that conceited, arrogant, pompous, stuck-up, cocky, overbearing, puffed up, presumptuous, self-opinionated little upstart”

You just listed Fine Gael’s best qualities!

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

Shudder at the thought of that jacques, if he ever took the reins of Power I’d leave the country for good. He’s the most annoying pompous arrogant man I’ve ever seen in government.

To be honest who cares we all know they have no interest in the Irish citizen happy to see them on their knees while they pick up their gold plated pension.

Mute Mark O'Connor
    Favourite Mark O'Connor
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:05 PM

Driving us out of a recession and reducing unemployment, yet you say they have no interest in the Irish citizen… Odd.

Aug 16th 2015, 11:10 PM

Check again Mark you know look at self harm figures and when you have time tell me I’m wrong.

Mute Mark O'Connor
    Favourite Mark O'Connor
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:28 PM

I’d say the self-harming figures were up in every country that is going through recession. I assume FG are at fault for those too??

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 17th 2015, 11:16 AM

Don’t tell me Mark, let me guess… You’re an aspiring leader of YFG right?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:29 PM

It’s like staring into the toilet before you flush.

Mute Jacques_DaCosta
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:34 PM

Hahaha!

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:26 AM

Don`t do it then.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 17th 2015, 3:00 AM

The floating voters.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran

Not happy with your leader Hugh.Have noticed this trend in your articles .Seen the light ? :)

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:11 PM

Enda has never been questioned over the death of a mother of 10.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Aug 17th 2015, 1:36 AM

Your beloved leader Enda should be questioned about the homeless and the out of control suicides that plague this country thanks to his never ending austerity agenda blueshirt troll.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

Too many clowns to choose from & all equally useless political hacks. Perhaps they could job share & then share the blame! FG are deluded as a party. In the last election votes poured in for them in order to give FF a deserved kicking but that won’t be the case next time. A rotten party for rotten people.

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:28 PM

You cray cray?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:37 PM

Harris could have had a tan this summer but sought shelter up Enda’s arse.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:59 AM

Different kind of tan, that. Kind of goes with black.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim

Insufferable bunch of insipid insiders. That offensive language filter is getting annoying.

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price

Hater.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:45 PM

Ohh yes.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:18 PM

Replace Enda…..hmmmmmmm

Why bother, he appears to be doing a great job in creating schisms in the party and alienating the electorate all by himself!

Besides I have begun to enjoy the “Absentee Taioseach” approach he has adopted.

A modest man with much to be modest about, apparently.

I hope they keep him as leader of FG for another 20 yrs!

I hope the electorate use their vote wisely.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:26 PM

I reckon the most suitable next leader of Fine Gael would be Alan Kelly.

Sure, he’s a member of the Labour party but what does that even mean anymore?

Mute Brian Duffy
    Favourite Brian Duffy

Couldn’t give a flying fcuk! Every single one of these parasites are uninspiring and unoriginal.

We the people need to move away from this style of political thinking and remove these leeches!

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:58 PM

Absolute puke for a Sunday night.

Mute PropogEnda
    Favourite PropogEnda

BURN THE BOND HOLDERS

Mute PropogEnda
    Favourite PropogEnda

Covney if he survives being lynched by the farmers

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer

Coveney has Bilderberg experience – they should give him a chance…

Mute Cyril
    Favourite Cyril
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:01 PM

I think Fat Freddy Thompson make a great leader at least he does not hide the fact he is a crook. But I don’t think Angle Merkel would like him.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:45 AM

jeez Cyril , haven’t heard that name in a long time !

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 17th 2015, 3:04 AM

He liked to splash the cash too. As do his family apparently. 50k for the most pretentious headstone you’ve ever seen. Sure it’s in the culture boss. Will revenue follow that one up, while they’re checking out our credit and debit cards, I wonder!?

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan

NOT A HOPE……..NEXT PLEASE!!!!

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine

Well Fg had their Ard fheis a couple of years ago in the South Court Hotel in limerick. I was queuing for the atm at the shop next to the hotel. The place was filling with Fg ers all out for smokes or chips. Well the talk outside that shop was all about Simon Coveneys bid for the leadership. That bid seems to be a done deal. He appeared to have done a lot of networking there with all the delegates. So I suppose it’s just a matter of when. Fg ers take note loose lips outside Ard fheis may mean stuff ends up on the journal lol

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:25 PM

Coveney doing a Dr. Evil impression isn’t likely to inspire confidence

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Where’s Wally?

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:37 PM

Who gives a flying f@uk !!!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:40 PM

Bruce Lee?

Aug 16th 2015, 10:44 PM

He’s dead hopefully like these parties?

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:04 PM

Wow, how insensitive.

Mute Máire Ní Riain
    Favourite Máire Ní Riain
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:05 AM

Harris is a pompous ass.

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne

All good choices but I believe Enda has what it takes to lead FG to an overall majority in 2016.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran

Tap Solny

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne

Nope that’s not one of my ones.

Mute Rooney
    Favourite Rooney

Good thing everything you believe is warped!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer

Only FG could take record homelessness, poverty and endless debt and dress it up like its a slight recovery.

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne

Poverty is a choice and one that the government does not make for people.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky

It’s well past your bedtime……

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:53 PM

Disbanding FG would be a better option than speculating about who their next Führer will be!

Aug 17th 2015, 12:14 AM

Makes no difference who the leader is because they are all dead in the water anyhow

Aug 17th 2015, 12:51 AM

Looked at Alois Irlmaier’s predictions and he says nothing about a55holes in it…

Mute lotto blotto
    Favourite lotto blotto
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:09 PM

I think Enda had been a great leader. both when FG crashed 13 years ago and in his role as Taoiseach. my money would be in Fitzgerald for next leader of the party.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:39 PM

€10 doesn’t really count.

Mute Lindsay Price
    Favourite Lindsay Price
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:48 PM

Does €50?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Aug 17th 2015, 12:33 AM

Zzzzzzzzzz

Mute Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Favourite Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:08 AM

Great choice from a bumbling moron to two corrupt incompetent lying parasitic weasels…. reminds of the titanic

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2015, 3:15 AM

OUT OUT OUT!!

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Aug 17th 2015, 8:38 AM

Hey Hugh, you left Bosco off the candidates list….

Mute Kathleen Kavanagh
    Favourite Kathleen Kavanagh
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:15 PM

I agree Katie Byrne – not ready yet to shuffle the cards as to what’s on the Game Table.

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne

Ty KK x

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Aug 17th 2015, 7:47 AM

If this was an article about incompetence, each and every one of them would get my vote.

Mute Enda Rochford
    Favourite Enda Rochford
    Aug 17th 2015, 9:10 AM

Harris probably scares me the most. At 28 he may be the youngest but he also seems the most committed to the party mantra. I can see him reading the FG election manifesto at the foot of his bed each night before he goes to sleep. I think Varadkar could take the leadership role though. He’s shown he can be effective while Minister for Transport and now at Health, where he acts as corporate hatchetman, running the services into the ground and then privatising as much as possible. He can achieve spending targets that keep the Germans happy, regardlewss of the human costs. Even if he doesn’t make leader, there will be plenty of private sector roles open to him in the future.

Mute vallarmorghullis
    Favourite vallarmorghullis
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:23 AM

Worked as a jobridge intern in HSE for eight months, needless to say witnessed and endured the kind of abuse and corruption endemic in the system. Spent six months fighting for someone, anyone to address the issues and having to deal with the typical HSE response, if we ignore it long enough it will go away. In desperation contacted the minister for health and received a personal reply within three days. Three days. Practically saved my life. Never gave a vote to FG before but if I could vote for Leo alone I would. You can say what you want about the man but his heart is in the right place and he can get the job done. I agree with journal though, probably not just yet.

Mute Irish Political Maps
    Favourite Irish Political Maps
    Aug 17th 2015, 11:06 AM

A person has to be at least 35 years old in order to become Taoiseach, so it seems odd to have included Simon Harris in this list in the first place.

Aug 17th 2015, 10:13 AM

Just wondering, what happens if kenny doesn’t get elected in the next election as leader of fg. Can he still become taoiseach? If not, will they just change the law and just make him taoiseach, like they easily changed it to be able to directly take money out of peoples bank accounts and welfare payments to pay the irish water bill, or will they be legally prevented from changing the law, just like they were prevented from stopping an increase in their own political pensions!

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Aug 30th 2015, 11:49 PM

Does it matter who is leader of a party that destroyed our country.The party who single handed destroyed our health services They closed down essential services such as A+E’s and destroyed our ambulance service
    More and more patients left on trollies and left with no dignity in hospitals because of the bed cut-backs
    This party have seen more protests taking place in Ireland since they took office four and half years ago
    They imposed taxes such as pensions levies and USC’s Property taxes and Water charges and all the hidden taxes. Have seen more evictions and Homelessness Children sleep on the streets…………….
    They have seen most of our young people leave our shore for gainful employment Enda said recently that most of those young people will unlikely come home because of our very high taxes and All Fine Gael members have sat back and allowed Cabinet to impose such hardships on the people of Ireland
    Fine Gael should be obliterated in the next election never mind be worried about who will be leader

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Feb 21st 2016, 10:08 AM

Leo me thinks

Mute Thomas Skelly
    Favourite Thomas Skelly
    Aug 17th 2015, 4:32 PM

All headless chickens. They are only into helping themselves, family, and friends. Not one decent politician among the lot of them. All the above has put the country back sixty years. Criminals, the lot of them. I want to see each one held accountable for destroying the welfare of our citizens.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Aug 17th 2015, 7:47 AM

No mention of Francis underwood !

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Aug 17th 2015, 2:36 PM

When it comes to a choice between these candidates – - you couldn’t rule out the likes of Jedward or Fr Dougle McGuire for comparable competence.