You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Covid-19 vaccination centre in the Aviva stadium Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Vaccine rollout breaks single day record for 2nd day running, with over 52,000 vaccines administered on Friday

A total of 1,799,190 doses have been administered so far in the rollout.

LAST UPDATE | 9 May 2021

IRELAND’S VACCINE ROLLOUT has broken its record for vaccinations administered in a single day for the second day running, at over 52,000 jabs done on Friday.

There were a total of 52,278 doses administered on Friday.

Of these, 38,011 were first doses, bringing the total number of first doses administered to 1,305,178.

A total of 14,267 were second doses, now bringing the number of people fully vaccinated against Covid-19 to 494,012.

A total of 1,799,190 doses have been administered so far in the rollout, with The Journal reporting yesterday that it would be possible for the government to hit 80% first doses by the first week of July.

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said that the HSE expects to have administered around 230,000 vaccines this week.

Of the types of vaccines administered so far:

• 1,233,160 have been Pfizer/BioNTech
  • 477,394 have been AstraZeneca
  • 88,499 have been Moderna
  • 137 have been Janssen

Speaking on RTÉ after he received his jab, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said that the HSE are expecting that between 250,000 and 270,000 doses of vaccine will be administered next week.

On RTÉ’s This Week, Donnelly says that target of 450,000 vaccines being administered per week is expected to be hit in June.

“It’ll be a combination of the vaccination centres, we’ve 38 of those, the GP’s who’ve been doing a fantastic job. I want to see a more prominent role as well for the pharmacists. They’re really eager to get involved and I think the Janssen vaccine, in particular, will be one where they’ll be able to get stuck in very quickly.”

On whether or not the HSE will be administering Janssen vaccines to people between the age of 45 and 50, as reported by the Sunday Times today, Donnelly said that the Department of Health is currently working with the National Immunisation Advisory Committee (NIAC) on that.

Donnelly says that they may potentially have an excess of vaccines, which they don’t want, so there is a period of time where offering Janssen vaccines to those under 50 would be possible.

According to Donnelly, he will continue to work with the Department and NIAC on the issue and hopes to bring a recommendation to the government next week.

Hospitalisations

As of 8am this morning, there are 116 patients with confirmed cases of Covid-19 being treated in hospital. There were 11 admissions in the last 24 hours, with three discharges.

However, it should be noted that many hospitals do not discharge patients at the same rate over the weekend.

In ICU, there are 31 patients receiving treatment as of 11:30 this morning. There have been no additional admissions to ICU in the last 24 hours, with one discharge.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    May 9th 2021, 12:22 PM

Now we are moving!!!!

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    May 9th 2021, 12:30 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: Great keep it up

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 9th 2021, 1:00 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: defo, got mine on Friday in Richmond barracks, all happened so quick a phone call the night before to be there at 11:30 the next day, quick and easy

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts

@Darren Mc Mahon: mother registered on Thursday getting her jab Tueaday

Mute Neil Neart
    Favourite Neil Neart
    May 9th 2021, 1:05 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: Being told to snuggle up to within 1m of each other in the Qs in the Helix was intriguing. We were told it is as special zone, indoors, with everyone wearing masks so 1m is fine. It’s like a military operation. Huge credit and respect to everyone working there for clear communications and for creating a wonderful relaxed efficient atmosphere. I didnt get a star though. :-(

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    May 9th 2021, 12:23 PM

Excellent, six more weeks and we should have the back broken on this. School/universities be closed for the summer and should balance out any up tick from retail/personal services being open. Cant wait to go back to the cinema/concerts, hopefully by the middle july start of August.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    May 9th 2021, 2:50 PM

@Denis Ryan: I don’t get it. Why aren’t people giving out like they usually do about all of this stuff?

Mute Kieran Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Staunton
    May 9th 2021, 4:53 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: because common sense will always prevail. This is superb news, and I can’t wait to see the back of this pandemic!! Almost there hopefully.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    May 9th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: the resident 40 or so whingers will find something else to gripe anonymously about, don’t worry.

Mute Christopher O'Brien
    Favourite Christopher O'Brien
    May 9th 2021, 5:38 PM

@DJ François: just to keep ye happy, plandemic, sheep, sheeple, conspiracy, control, rights and freedoms, microchips, Bill Gates, New World Order, the government are rubbish. Did I miss anything?

Mute guineon
    Favourite guineon
    May 9th 2021, 5:42 PM

@Christopher O’Brien: you forgot to mention FFG a number of times and also to blame the government for anything and everything they can think of

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    May 9th 2021, 5:56 PM

@DJ François: they’ve all moved onto the housing crisis news feed. Can’t bring themselves to comment on something positive

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    May 9th 2021, 12:38 PM

In fairness…they are starting to deliver as promised despite logistics problems, they did say at the start that Q2 vaccinations would ramp up significantly …getting my 1st jab tomorrow

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh

@Kevin50: Oh, oh, you’re not supposed to say that. Surely there must be SOMETHING that you can whinge about and blame the government for.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    May 9th 2021, 12:40 PM

Fantastic work. Great to see them delivering on a promise for a change. Excellent effort despite all of the challenges. Looks like we might meet, if not break, this target after all. Well done to all of those involved in the effort.

Mute Joey
    Favourite Joey
    May 9th 2021, 1:56 PM

Fantastic to see this! Wonderful to see the reopening of society underway. Never again will I take for granted a stroll around town or relaxing in a cafe watching the world go by.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    May 9th 2021, 12:22 PM

Great positive advances, normality soon..n ta feck witg the moaners.

Mute Joe Lynch
    Favourite Joe Lynch
    May 9th 2021, 2:11 PM

I got mine yesterday in the Aviva I have to commend the fantastic staff there and they way everything is organised. I was on and out in an hour.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    May 9th 2021, 1:50 PM

Had my first dose on Friday.
    80mins in total from arrival, queuing, administration, and observation. Very well organised tbf. Glad to be step closer to the end.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    May 9th 2021, 12:53 PM

None of your fancy stuff, just horse it into me

Mute jeanette
    Favourite jeanette
    May 9th 2021, 2:59 PM

I got mine on Friday at City West. I was extremely impressed with the organisation from entering the car parking to driving home and all so friendly. It was a great day to remember. Well done to all involved

Mute patrick malone
    Favourite patrick malone
    May 9th 2021, 1:59 PM

Must be going well no sign of Alan Kelly

Mute Laura Halpenny
    Favourite Laura Halpenny
    May 9th 2021, 2:20 PM

My mum’s fully vaccinated now and booking a sun holiday…delighted for her – have booked mine now via HSE’s online booking so fingers crossed I’ll be on that plane with her

Mute Veronica Conway
    Favourite Veronica Conway
    May 9th 2021, 4:00 PM

@Laura Halpenny: hope ye will have a wonderful holiday and its good to read a good news story.!

Mute Dave Potter
    Favourite Dave Potter
    May 9th 2021, 9:42 PM

@Laura Halpenny: great news. The HSE are now taking biokibgs fir Sun Holidays. Enjoy

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    May 9th 2021, 3:38 PM

Got mine in the Helix in DCU two weeks ago and they were flying! Very impressed with the organisation and how they kept things flowing. Was there for less than 30 minutes and given the amount of people queuing that was no mean achievement…

Mute .
    Favourite .
    May 9th 2021, 12:46 PM

Can’t wait until we have everyone vaccinated and nobody in hospital and the government will still make us wear masks and social distance “just to be safe”

Mute Eoghan P O'Leary
    Favourite Eoghan P O'Leary
    May 9th 2021, 12:47 PM

@.: that’s the spirit.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    May 9th 2021, 1:35 PM

@.: everyone?, are u speaking on behalf of the entire population there

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 9th 2021, 4:52 PM

@Hugo Bugo: He’s obviously not speaking for everyone. Poor chap appears to be under the impression that everyone cares about those around them and is willing to get the vaccine to help get this mess over and done with. He seems unaware of the anti-science mob.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    May 9th 2021, 5:53 PM

@Tommy Roche: mob, so hurtful, lol,freedom to choose group more like it, apology accepted.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 9th 2021, 11:13 PM

@Hugo Bugo: You’re right, of course. Everyone has the freedom to choose to give two fingers to the rest of society. Rebels Without A Clue.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 9th 2021, 3:58 PM

Great to read so many happy posts about getting vaccinated, I got mine nearly 5 weeks ago as a highly vulnerable person and was in and out in half an hour.
    The figures are rising steadily and we are all going to be free from lockdown in the not to distant future.
    Our numbers are good in comparison to the rest of the Europe, around the Finish and Norwegian numbers and better than Denmark. That is an achievement.
    Only a short while longer so stay the course and dont run amok and in no time, we will all have neat hair and a having a sociable drink with friends.

Mute Michael Healy
    Favourite Michael Healy
    May 9th 2021, 5:24 PM

@Gary Kearney: enough with the bit longer stuff, it’s like a badly recycled movie, too many have used it the last 14 months and just like we are all in this together, it’s lost its meaning a long time ago….let’s just be happy we are vaccinating so many and get open so people can get back working and we never have to hear phrases like, a little longer, hold the course, shifting winds and the rest

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    May 9th 2021, 12:40 PM

Things cannot be processed by the Human brain as normal till all hospitality is fully open. Even if you hate pubs, societal norms are processed by the external stimuli of seeing people coming and going from pubs.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    May 9th 2021, 3:37 PM

@Margaret Doyle: What???

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 9th 2021, 4:18 PM

@Justin Gillespie: a “YouTube” quote? only a lonely would put that on record

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 9th 2021, 5:27 PM

@Justin Gillespie: I know a couple of families who, until the pubs were closed, never lived what the rest of us would consider to be normal family lives. Swings and roundabouts.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    May 9th 2021, 12:50 PM

After 6 weeks of negative publicity conflating the supply shortage with an inability to get it in arms.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    May 9th 2021, 4:20 PM

Credit were credit is due, we give them enough kickings when they get it wrong. Great to see ya finally getting on top of things. Positive times ahead.

Mute jeanette
    Favourite jeanette
    May 9th 2021, 2:59 PM

I got mine on Friday at City West. I was extremely impressed with the organisation from entering the car parking to driving home and all so friendly. It was a great day to remember. Well done to all involved

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    May 9th 2021, 4:13 PM

@jeanette: Two doses the same day. That’s great.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    May 9th 2021, 1:45 PM

We’re getting there at last. Open the pubs.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 9th 2021, 3:48 PM

@Noel Martin: Only a little longer.

Mute conex
    Favourite conex
    May 9th 2021, 1:12 PM

Genuine questions.

Do we legally have to get the vaccine ?

When vaccine passports are up and running , will a negative test be enough to travel or will they insist on you being vaccinated?

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    May 9th 2021, 1:23 PM

@conex: No, a negative test should be enough. Depending on the rate of infection in the country travelled to quarantine might be still in effect on the way back.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 9th 2021, 1:25 PM

@Denis Ryan: I would imagine some countries will not let you in unless you have the vaccine

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron

@conex: yes according to the EU people can travel without Being vaccinated once you have a negative PCR test or recently recovered from Covid.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    May 9th 2021, 1:28 PM

@bmul: That’s a possibility as well, cant tell a second country how they should deal with the public health of their country.

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    May 9th 2021, 3:37 PM

@conex: you don’t have to get the vaccine that is your personal right, however countries may insist you have it before allowing you to enter…precedents would be like yellow fever etc. Also organisations and others may insist that you be vaccinated to protect their staff and others on site within their facility as is their right.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 9th 2021, 3:53 PM

@conex: Have you thought about carrying the virus and giving it to somebody else?
    Or even Long Covid, not a nice illness to have.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    May 9th 2021, 2:51 PM

Tony H is not too happy about people purchasing the Antigen testing kit, I wonder why?

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    May 9th 2021, 3:40 PM

@Noel Martin: coz they are not reliable especially in the hands of amateurs they offer false negatives and positives and people will have a false sense of security

Mute Tracktrack
    Favourite Tracktrack

Hopefully B1617 from India won’t scupper everything. The WHO chief scientist stated it may evade current vaccines (see other journal article).

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 9th 2021, 1:26 PM

@Tracktrack: they say that about every variant until they no for sure.

Mute Tracktrack
    Favourite Tracktrack
    May 9th 2021, 1:29 PM

@bmul: Agreed. However with that B1617 variant transmitting thousands of times a day in India, the chances of a more concerning mutation happening also increases.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 9th 2021, 3:50 PM

@Tracktrack: They are working on mutations at present the same way they do with the flu vaccine.
    Thats how it works but with the Covid vaccines it is all open source material so it happens much faster.
    It is going to be you get your flu shot and you covid shot at the same time.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 9th 2021, 5:23 PM

Brillant works by HSE STAFF

Mute Fergal O'Hagan
    Favourite Fergal O'Hagan
    May 9th 2021, 4:03 PM

GERIT INTA YA CYNTHIA

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    May 9th 2021, 4:45 PM

Finally catching up with our neighbours great news its the equivalent of the UK doing 500K a day which isn’t bad at all. Got mine on Friday too was absolutely delighted to get a text out of the blue calling me in for my jab he was unbelievably well organised with everyone in a great mood even giving out little bags of sweets saying congratulations to everyone that had their jabs.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    May 9th 2021, 5:49 PM

@Joe Thorpe: what did you get

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    May 9th 2021, 6:21 PM

@trebloc01: The Pfizer one

Mute Marky Mark
    Favourite Marky Mark
    May 10th 2021, 12:15 AM

@trebloc01: Bon Bon’s

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    May 9th 2021, 1:11 PM

Breaks the Irish record, get it right

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan

@trebloc01: First word of the article, try reading it instead of running to the comments.

Mute Michael Healy
    Favourite Michael Healy
    May 9th 2021, 2:24 PM

Go on ya good thing…..

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    May 9th 2021, 6:00 PM

Evidence that the bumps along the road were indeed due to supply issues. Well done to all involved

Mute Ger Walsh
    Favourite Ger Walsh
    May 9th 2021, 4:33 PM

No way would I get it.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    May 9th 2021, 5:18 PM

@Ger Walsh: Just keep away from the rest of us!

Mute david proudfoot
    Favourite david proudfoot
    May 9th 2021, 7:13 PM

Brought my mother in law on weds to the aviva to get her first jab, have to say staff there were brilliant well done to al

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    May 9th 2021, 4:21 PM

Breaks the Irish record, nothing to write home about

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    May 9th 2021, 5:19 PM

@trebloc01: It is actually!

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    May 9th 2021, 1:46 PM

They did a similar back patting exercise when they broke the 40k mark..they didn’t say much when that slipped back to less than 18k a day last week

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 9th 2021, 2:48 PM

@dublindamo: if they hit 50,000 six days a week and 18,000 one for the next few weeks I’ll be happy

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 9th 2021, 5:32 PM

@dublindamo: You should start up a vaccine manufacturing facility in your shed, Damo. That way we’d have consistency of supply, targets would be met and most importantly of all you wouldn’t have time for this nonstop whinging.

Mute Itsonlyme
    Favourite Itsonlyme
    May 10th 2021, 4:58 AM

It’s actually a slight relief to see how many positive comments there are on this thread.

Mute Dave McCabe
    Favourite Dave McCabe
    May 9th 2021, 8:23 PM

Given the EU hasn’t ordered any mote AZ vaccine after June , what’s Ireland going to use for all those 2nd jabs.

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    May 9th 2021, 8:45 PM

@Dave McCabe: any of the jabs, it’s perfectly fine to mix them as long as they are the same type I believe

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 9th 2021, 8:56 PM

@Dave McCabe: AZ have to fill outstanding orders so should be plenty for 2nd jabs