You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov

More than 80% of people to be offered first vaccine dose by the end of June, says Tánaiste

The Tánaiste says he hopes government can do better than the September target.

TÁNAISTE LEO VARADKAR has said he expects more than 80% of people will be offered their first dose of the Covid-19 vaccine by the end of June.

Speaking at tonight’s Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting, he told TDs and senators that he believes the September vaccination target can be met, but hopes we can do better than that.

The meeting heard, if approved by the European Medicines Agency on 11 March, the  single dose Johnson&Johnson vaccine will be in deployed in the country in April.

It is hoped that the government will be able to inform people reliably by the end of the month when they can expect to get their jab, the meeting was told. 

The Tánaiste also addressed concerns that were raised in relation to recent vaccine targets not being met. 

The HSE failed to hit the Government’s target of administering 100,000 vaccine doses last week due to delivery issues with the AstraZeneca dose.

The Taoiseach told the Dáil today: “The company believes that shortfall will be made up in the next week and will come through.”

Varadkar said the missed target was outside of the Government’s control as it was down to an AstraZeneca order not being met. He said this will happen from time to time but targets will be exceeded in other weeks.

The Fianna Fáil parliamentary party meeting also heard from Brendan Smith and Dara Calleary over missed target concerns, however it is understood that Health Minister Stephen Donnelly was not at the meeting this evening. 

Due to Donnelly’s absence, Calleary is understood to have asked for the issue be tabled to be a specific agenda item next week. He also raised concerns with the Taoiseach about GPs only being contacted now about housebound patients two months into the vaccine roll out, stating there is confusion among GPs. 

The Taoiseach said he would speak to the HSE boss Paul Reid about finding urgent solutions.

He said he had been in direct contact with the HSE on a dedicated line to respond to queries regarding the vaccine rollout and to assist with queries from GPs .

Micheál Martin also said a package of supports will be developed for young people many of whom have been impacted by the pandemic.

Regarding Bank of Ireland closing branches across the country, which a number of TDs have raised concerns about in the Dáil today and its impact on rural Ireland, Varadkar said it could create opportunities for some landmark buildings in towns and villages nationwide to potentially be used for other purposes for their local communities.

The Taoiseach also told members that the unilateral move by the UK government on the Northern Ireland Protocol is”unhelpful and a cause for concern”.

“We need to work through the issues in a calm way,” he said.

Varadkar is also understood to “not have held back” when discussing the matter of a Green Party TD launching a High Court challenge against the government’s plans to sign up to the Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement (Ceta).

Patrick Costello, TD for Dublin South Central, told his party on Monday evening that he had lodged proceedings.

The Tánaiste said he views it to be as serious, if not more so, than a government TD voting against the coalition in the Dáil.

He said he has discussed the matter with Green Party leader Eamon Ryan, telling Fine Gael members this evening that he can not think of another time that such an issue has arisen.

The Taoiseach also spoke about the issue of illegal adoption, which is being featured in an RTÉ Prime Time Investigates programme this evening. He said the cases are “shocking”.

“We will ensure those affected are helped and supported. It is critical that they have access to their identity and we are advancing the information tracing legislation as a priority,” he said, stating that Heads of Bill are expected at the end of this month.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:29 PM

It won’t be…….. fumble after fumble.

Mute Brendan Harlowe
    Favourite Brendan Harlowe
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:36 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: like will they stop talking !! They should set the bar ow and impress us when they exceed it

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:07 PM

@Brendan Harlowe: I hear ya pal. They are hoping that if we believe that they will deliver on vaccines we will stay at home. It’s just unreal.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:31 PM

@Brendan Harlowe: i hear you but this is Ireland – they set the bar low and still fail to meet it

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:40 PM

It still seems shocking slow compared to other countries. We seem also to have lost sight of the fact that the lockdowns were to give hospitals a chance with the vulnerable. Now that some are getting their vaccination why isint there more talk of society re opening.
    Its a question that needs to be asked, because not only are more livlihoods been lost on a weekly basis, i cant be the only one concerned about the cost of this lockdown.

Mute Brian Carr
    Favourite Brian Carr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:49 PM

@mark connolly: compare it to other countries, name all the ones doing a better job

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:53 PM

@Brian Carr: From what i can gather most are! relative to population, and size. The point is more about society re opening to acceptable levels. Ireland has endured not only the longest but also one of the most strictest from what i am seeing. Given that there is other states/countries re opening, and we have no clear cut plan, it seems a few questions should be asked.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:56 PM

@Brian Carr: Malta, Denmark, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, Greece and Cyprus

Mute Brian Carr
    Favourite Brian Carr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:01 PM

@mark connolly: did you look it up, not many have more vaccinations per head of population then us , so why say most countries doing better

Mute Brian Carr
    Favourite Brian Carr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:02 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: so that’s most countries in the world is it

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:08 PM

@Brian Carr: Because there are a few with a clear cut plan for re opening. Whether its early or not the few places that opened, Texas for example seems to be quite confident they have all the vaccine supplies they need. The UK hopes for June from what im told.
    However its not the point. Other places have not endured our level of Lockdowns. Its having a huge effect on people in many ways not just financially. Our government don’t seem to want to open anything as far as i can tell till most people are vaccinated. Keeping things closed is going to cause more hardships in the long run

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan

@Brian Carr: Only the UK, US and Israel are doing significantly better than us. Denmark is slightly ahead:

https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus-data-explorer?zoomToSelection=true&time=2021-01-01..latest&country=IRL~DNK~USA~GBR~ISR&region=World&vaccinationsMetric=true&interval=total&perCapita=true&smoothing=0&pickerMetric=population&pickerSort=desc

We are doing better than most European countries e.g. France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Czech Republic etc. We are above the European and EU average

https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus-data-explorer?zoomToSelection=true&time=2021-01-01..latest&country=IRL~Europe~EuropeanUnion&region=World&vaccinationsMetric=true&interval=total&perCapita=true&smoothing=0&pickerMetric=population&pickerSort=desc

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:13 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: “Malta, Denmark, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, Greece and Cyprus”

They are not really far ahead of us:

https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus-data-explorer?zoomToSelection=true&time=2021-01-01..latest&country=IRL~DNK~USA~GBR~ISR~GRC~HUN~LTU~CYP&region=World&vaccinationsMetric=true&interval=total&perCapita=true&smoothing=0&pickerMetric=population&pickerSort=desc

The US, UK and Israel are the 3 countries that are exceptions, that are far ahead of us.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:34 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: we are ahead of Hermany, Belgium , Spain Italy Portugal, USA to name a few

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:36 PM

@mark connolly: the UK are bout opening up either till their population is 80% vaccinated. We will probably do the same

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:37 PM

@mark connolly: strictest lockdowns? You really have to be taking the p i s s

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:37 PM

@mark connolly: strictest lockdowns? You really have to be taking the p i $ $

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:43 PM

@GClare: What a polite comment! However i’m actually not. We are known for having the strictest in Europe at least. Rural areas have felt like they have been on level 5 for a year. In terms of people sticking by the rules, thats one thing, but if your been the good citizen and sticking by the rules then yes we have had the strictest and longest

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:16 PM

@mark connolly: we haven’t been in level 5 for a year, the UK have also been in and out of their highest level

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:20 PM

@SmallbutMighty: I never said we were on level 5 for a year. I said rural areas have felt like they have been on level 5 for a year. Lokdowns are effecting everyone different in different areas. Im sure in a city its different when they changed to level 3, but in smaller areas where either the local bar, or something was the center of the community there has been no difference for a year. Villages and small towns are like ghost towns

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:58 PM

@mark connolly: sorry I miss read that you “felt” like you’re in level 5, but it is what you make of it. The UK has had the same the level of lock downs as us, some counties have had much stricter, its pointless to compare countries because there are far too many variables. The schools are being phased back in, its pointless to open up any sector until they are all back and the situation is assessed otherwise it would be impossible to understand if the schools are a contributing in any major way.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:17 AM

@SmallbutMighty: True! there are a lot of variables. It just seems a little apathy has set in with a lot of people. The fallout from this is extremely concerning. We should be trying to safely open society as quick as possible

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:18 AM

@Brian Carr:

426,070 total doses given

8.63 doses per 100 people

thats Ireland…

1,436,682 total doses given

21.11 doses per 100 people

thats serbia…

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:22 AM

@mark connolly: it is shocking…..and you are right….we are not going quickly enough….

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:34 AM

@mark connolly: you don’t think getting children back to school in isolation is the beginning of opening society is a safe manner? We’ve come this far we can stick it out another few months as the vaccinations rise the numbers will drop and hopefully we will be opening up for good this time. Hang in there and look for the positives that have come out of it.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:57 AM

@SmallbutMighty: I hear ya, and yes it does look like a start. My concern is that the government had to do something to start re opening, and it could change withing weeks. They even said it themselves. Im really trying for the positives, and do enjoy the conversation here for the most part. Just the last year has made me aware enough to look at a few things more closely

Mute John Elliott
    Favourite John Elliott
    Mar 4th 2021, 7:22 AM

@Brian Carr: the brits have over a third of their population vaxed were at 1/20th says it all

Mute Padraic Burke
    Favourite Padraic Burke
    Mar 4th 2021, 7:56 AM

@mark connolly: we are 20th overall globally. So there are 175 countires doing worse.

Mute Seamus Grant
    Favourite Seamus Grant
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:33 PM

Leo the leak

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:41 PM

September of which year?

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Favourite Daimhín De Naois
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:41 PM

Jaysus would they ever whisht. Pullin numbers outta their .s. and they havent hit a target yet

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:20 PM

@Daimhín De Naois: the target for the previous week was to administer 80k doses, they administered 82k.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:42 PM

embarrassing vaccine rollout, should be begging Boris to be help us out

Mute AL
    Favourite AL
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:47 PM

While I know everyone loves being negative, this is good news, it means by summer there’ll be virtually zero deaths and very little cases per day. Regardless, it is good to have a definitive end in sight which is only a matter of months away. I am hopeful that it can be earlier than september though.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:57 PM

@AL: but the problem is they have made so many false promises and missed so many targets not just on vaccines, but everything surrounding COVID that it is impossible to believe him

Mute AL
    Favourite AL
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:03 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: yes they’ve absolutely made huge errors in the handling of covid but I don’t think they have done so with the vaccine rollout so far. They are still on course with the amount they said at the beginning for the end of March. They always said it would be slow in the first quarter before ramping up in the second quarter. Small logistical issues like this week will always happen but will be made up for next week.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:44 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: what huge errors and what broken promises. We’ve one of the lowest per head fatality rates in the world and one of the swiftest per head vaccination programmes so far. We’ve got to be positive. We’re doing great. Gotta keep it going.

Mute AL
    Favourite AL
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:46 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: that’s more like it! Need more like you. Name doesn’t match though

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 4th 2021, 2:23 PM

@AL: Youre right, too many gloomy gooses on this! btw i loved your cardigan ever since MTV unplugged.

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:10 PM

Shame the vaccine production lines aren’t powered by hot air. With Leo and My hole we would be flying through

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:30 PM

Who are the 20% that won’t be offered it before then?

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:37 PM

@David Byrne: kids

Mute Brendan Harlowe

@David Byrne: everyone who spoke negatively of the govt on the journal comments . MM has a list

Mute Brendan Harlowe

@David Byrne: everyone who spoke negatively of the govt on the journal comments . MM has a list

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:39 PM

@David Byrne: kids I imagine, should be at least. Protect the vulnerable first. I’ll be amazed if they manage 80% though.

Mute Marlnor
    Favourite Marlnor
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:15 PM

@David Clements: I don’t think so all of their numbers before have been 80% of adults etc. we don’t know yet whether the 18-35 year olds are at the end or if it is the 35-55 year olds. The kids aren’t even on the radar yet but I bet they will start vaccinating them in the uk when they get to the end of their current schedule.

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Mar 4th 2021, 10:03 AM

@Brendan Harlowe: Is that you suggesting he is checking it twice??

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Mar 4th 2021, 10:04 AM

@Marlnor: are you sure they are starting to vaccinate kids in the UK? There is currently no vaccine authorised for use in under 16s in Europe.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

These parliamentary party meetings are an affr0nt to the people. If you have something to say, say it to us, the people. If not, keep quiet

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@David Clements: government by Whatsapp. It’s a dreadful state of affairs

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:05 PM

Really exciting new on the J&J vaccine, EMA expected to deliver their opinion in 9 days time and we take delivery in April. We have ordered 2.2 million doses of this vaccine. The great thing about the J&J vaccine is that it can be stored at normal refrigeration temps and only 1 dose required.

Government doing a good job on the vaccine roll out with the majority of the vaccines being the Pfizer variety, which requires more specialised storage, but news now it can be stored in normal hospital freezers. it also offers better protection against new variants.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:19 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Not so exciting of Leo not liking Democracy and wanting to be the Caesar of a Fascist state .

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:59 PM

@Da Dell: Hi Da Dell, you seem angry? Is it because Leo is angry with the Green Party TD? I think the CETA deal is really bad actually, reminds me of the deep dive John Oliver did on Tobacco. However Da Dell, you know Switzerland are already ahead of Europe with reagrds to trade deals with Canada, they have an FTA in place. Does that make Guy Parmelin a leader of a fascist state?

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:32 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Leo is giving out about someone not following the Partly line while in past has given out about other parties for giving out about people not following the party line. Maybe do a deeper dive on Switzerland, they have Direct Democracy, every deal had to be ratified by the people after any politicians decisions. The Politicians cant get into Gov on one mandate and then change their stance while in Gov and get away with it.

Mute Corinne Wilson Muller
    Favourite Corinne Wilson Muller
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:51 PM

Seeing is believing. Story after story and just nonsense. Circus Circus

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:17 PM

Leo said a lot more, “He added that Mr Costello’s argument that was he taking the challenge as a private individual and not an elected member of Government “didn’t wash with him”.” He seems to have a serious issue with people of integrity and those that will put whats best for the Irish People over Party Politics. The hypocrisy of this man knows no bounds, seeing he has complained about other parties if they force their members to tow the party line . FG is not a normal party.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40237442.html

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:15 PM

@Da Dell: Costello is a TD of a governing party. What he us doing is embarasing.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:25 PM

@David Clements: Nothing embarrassing about having integrity and standing up for your countries best interest ..
    Imagine CETA had already been ratified pre Covid and companies suing the Irish Taxpayers because regulations had ‘impacted’ their profits !!

Mute Bowzer Okocha
    Favourite Bowzer Okocha
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:17 PM

Its an absolute shambles, open up the Vaccination Centres and get things moving. Don’t talk about it, go and bloody do it.
    If things keep been delayed and delayed people keep getting annoyed and you’ll see more scenes like Saturday again.

Mute Sean Condon
    Favourite Sean Condon
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:14 PM

More waffle. They must think the Irish public are simple

Mute Trevor Conroy
    Favourite Trevor Conroy

September……..2027

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:05 PM

If you get the vaccine does that mean you can head to Spain this summer with no quarantine when you get back does anyone know?

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:06 PM

Absolutely no chance.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:29 PM

Spoofers

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:07 AM

Hands up who expects to be in the 20%

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Mar 4th 2021, 3:24 AM

Varadkar is really beginning to annoy me- with all his kite- flying and daily pronouncements- which really are his saying ‘I am great’, ‘I’ve got this, lads’, making wild predictions, based on nothing but his need to look good…
    he doesn’t know any more than the rest of us- how many will be offered the vaccine next week, let alone in 3 months time….
    I used to think he had an ability to say what we were all thinking but now I realise he just likes spouting on so much that occasionally he gets it right… as they say a broken clock tells the correct time twice a day.

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 3rd 2021, 8:42 PM

you better give Eoghan his dose now…..he’ll want the next flight out.

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:21 AM

No way the V programme will be completed here by the end of this year……NO WAY……..

Mute MarkQ
    Favourite MarkQ
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:33 PM

More spin and lies..get your finger out and start showing some real data about vaccines received and vaccines administered..until those figures are produced we can’t really pat you on the back..government are so out of touch it’s scary

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Mar 4th 2021, 8:24 AM

“He expects…” “He believes…” “It is hoped…”
    “…will be able to inform people reliably by the end of the month…”
    So, no news, no change, no government.

Mute Rhoda Cunningham
    Favourite Rhoda Cunningham
    Mar 4th 2021, 6:41 AM

You’re gas Leo

Mute Johnny Harris
    Favourite Johnny Harris
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:48 PM

Ask me knob

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Mar 4th 2021, 6:31 AM

Already missing targets in February. Only into the 2nd month of vaccination. How can anybody believe anything they predict? A health minister that wouldn’t look out of place handing out flyers at a circus.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Mar 4th 2021, 8:50 AM

Vested interests haven’t had enough time to figure out how to make as much money as possible out of this particular crisis yet…give them time!

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:27 AM

Projections for full rollout of vaccine for Ireland has us at the end of 2021 into 2022….Places like the Congo come in at 2023……and most of Africa…..for that matter…..you read it here first…..dont believe the govt spin….

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:44 PM

Every time Leo the slithering b@l@x opens his gob I Harry Potter in hogwarts speaking parcel tongue to a door with snakes on it to open, a fairy tale this clown lives devoid of compassion, reason and honesty. On a more serious note it would be advisable to let those who have trained in various medical settings in preparation to administer the vaccine, administer the vaccine! No? oh wait there’s not enough vaccines. Clown

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Mar 4th 2021, 8:15 AM

The one thing you know is if Leo is opening his mouth, what’s coming out is pure mule.

Mute artur fil
    Favourite artur fil
    Mar 4th 2021, 12:00 AM

@David Jordan: some of the countries you have mentioned in your comments sourcing vaccine outside of EU so numbers will dramatically change next week. I have been checking Hungary last few days they really jumped few places they only got russian vaccine two weeks ago.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Mar 4th 2021, 11:17 AM

The Tánaiste says a lot of things