You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

HSE confirms 22 vials of vaccine unusable after incorrect storage at nursing home

The HSE said an appropriate cold chain was not in place.

THE HSE HAS confirmed that 22 vials of the coronavirus vaccine could not be used because they had been incorrectly stored after being delivered to a nursing home.

The incident, first reported by RTÉ, occurred with vials that were sent to a nursing home in the Midlands Louth Meath Community Health Organisation. 

In a statement, the HSE said an appropriate cold chain was not in place at the nursing home and these vials, which contained doses of the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine, cannot be used. Each vial contains at least five doses.

“It is disappointing for all concerned, residents and staff. We are sorry that this incident has taken place,” the HSE said.

“However, 49 residents and staff were successfully vaccinated at the facility. The community healthcare organisation will now work with national colleagues to undertake the remaining vaccinations at the longterm residential care facility as soon as possible.”

The HSE said it is conscious that this news is upsetting for families, residents and staff who are working hard to protect residents. It said a range of supports are being offered to all concerned.

“The breach has been reported and all necessary processes will be followed,” it said.

Up to Sunday, 143,000 vaccine doses have been administered across the country. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Ian Graydon
    Favourite Ian Graydon
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:29 AM

They should put cycle tracks beside the new luas lines and retro fit them beside the existing luas and dart lines. The land is already there and it’s safer than dodging buses and drains. Just my 2 cent.

Mute Keith Ellis
    Favourite Keith Ellis
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:37 AM

That would be forward thinking Ian and to think we need a special ‘cycle’ engineer for that, all the engineers in the Roads Dept of the council should have been thinking about cyclists when designs are being made. As Gracie said, they didn’t spend all that shitty time and money in college for nothing and no reward at the end.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:08 AM

The land isn’t there, the green line runs tightly on the old harcourt line and its tight most if the way. The Dart is also very tight most of the way.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:15 AM

It might prove difficult at traffic lights.
    Most cyclist don’t know what a red light is never mind the line signal on the luas routes.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:18 AM

Gerard motorists are not much better, they all think it’s ok for five cars to go through when the lights turn red, they think it’s ok to turn without looking in the mirrors and to indicate once they’ve made their turn.
    They also think that to right you must hug the kerb on the left.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:21 AM

Motorist are an awful lot better at obeying red lights. I have rarely seen a cyclist stopped at a red light. I have seen plenty of cars.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:23 AM

Look closer. Think what damage a cyclist going through a red light dies compared to a motorist

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:27 AM

You said it, dies…

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:42 AM

Great idea ian very smart. They could also do the same with the dart line

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:43 AM

I was crossing a junction this morning and so many cars went through the red lights that the pedestrian lights were turning red just when it was safe to step out onto the road.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:45 AM

That’s a lie.

Mute David Slevin
    Favourite David Slevin
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:23 AM

You might see a few more Gerard if you looked up from your phone now and again! :-)

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:28 AM

I don’t hold my phone when driving, too difficult with a beer in one hand and a smoke in the other. Steering with my knees.
    You know how it is……

Mute Tony Doran
    Favourite Tony Doran
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:26 AM

I wonder who’s relative gets this job???

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:48 AM

probably a friend of FG

Mute Gareth Keane
    Favourite Gareth Keane
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:36 AM

Dublin is a cyclist’s dream from a geography perspective. The flat terrain that most of the city consists of is ideal for cycling and it’s a shame we’re only picking up on this now. It’s good though to see Dubliners embracing a more healthy and active approach to the daily slog of commuting. People for years have been too averse to the notion of anything other that being crammed together on overcrowded buses and trains even though I can personally attest to how soul destroying such tedious and arduous journeys can be day in day out.

Cycling to work for 30-45 mins in the morning leaves me feeling more awake and refreshed when I come into the office. And not everyone needs to be decked out like Bradley Wiggins in their Tour de France spandex shorts. Just cycle at a medium pace in some comfortable clothes and you’ll get where you’re going no bother without coming into the office dripping with sweat and needing a shower. After a while you’ll be healthy enough that you’ll barely even break a sweat after some mild cycling.

Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Favourite Breandán O Conchúir
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:42 AM

the problem is infrastructure, I have only cycled once in Dublin and it was not something I look forward to having to do again. busses and taxies looking to force you off the road are not something I enjoy.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:25 PM

Realistically you are going to need a shower when you get into work but that is something we can work on.Still cycling a pretty great way to get exercise and efficient use of time. My dad has never seen the inside of gym in his life but cycling several times a week and taking the stairs makes him ridiculously fit.

It’s sorta insane how people compartmentalize their time. As lazy a possible, driving everywhere 90% of the time and then a few hours of killing themselves in a gym. Cycling half the time, taking the stairs and going for a walk a lunch is far more sustainable than trying to stay fit in the gym. Eventually people run out of time and stop going to the gym.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:30 PM

The Cycle lanes put in place for the most part are a joke, Sticking Cyclists in with buses, where there is barely enough room for the bus is crazy and half arsed.

To be fair the vast majority of Dublin Bus drivers are aware and make allowances to cyclists (from my own experience). Taxi Drivers can’t all be tarred with the same brush i’ve personally met some who think it’s fantastic how many people are cycling now. and i’ve met some who by all accounts it seems have tried to kill me!

There are as many idiot Cyclists as there are idiot drivers. If everyone had a bit more patience and awareness it would all be a hell of alot easier. But realistically that will not happen to easily. so we need to plan properly and not putting a cycle lane in a bus lane which will allow one cyclist at busy times to hold up 90 people on a bus or having someone cycle withing inches of a 12tonne bus would be a good start!!

Mute Gareth Keane
    Favourite Gareth Keane
    Nov 12th 2014, 3:36 PM

“Realistically you are going to need a shower”

That’s never made me have a shower before and it’s not gonna make me now!

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:07 AM

Great news. Most of us live within cycling distance to our place of work, but because of little, none, or token farcical bike lanes we are inhibited from cycling.

Add to that the outa touch George Hook mentality, cyclists really are demonised and overlooked. Most buildings/offices as an example have no where save to lock up your bike, and if it does get nicked nothing will be done……Garda stats…

Delighted to hear of this appointment, now please please please get cracking with PROPER bicycle lanes.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:13 AM

Yes that’s the reason. Not that too many people are lazy. No, sir.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:17 AM

43k a year and all I’ll have to do is ride…. I’m sold !

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:20 AM

Glen whatever you do for a living (if anything) seems pretty easy as it is, you spend all day on the journal…

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race

Glen is a paid shill for the cycling confederacy that really runs this country.

Mute Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Favourite Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:33 AM

Glen it’s a nine to five shift not just 5 minutes a day ! You would never last

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:43 AM

Glen is putting me off reading the comments section on the journal which I usually enjoy.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:06 AM

Sorry Jason it was a poor attempt at humour.
    Jake how’s tricks at Monsanto ?

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:16 AM

1st task is to remove ridiculous “cycle” lanes that everyone drives on and replace with lanes that have preventative barriers of some kind.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:10 AM

Bet the job goes to a non cyclists, like the gaelteaht roles the new appointee ” can learn to cycle”

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:18 AM

Is there a work related rewards scheme?

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery

They’ll provide you with a car and driver.

Mute Gracie
    Favourite Gracie
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:24 AM

@Jack. Not in Local Authority. The bonus is extra unpaid working hours, pay cuts, USC all thanks to this Government. If something can be done to reduce city traffic if it works other Authorities should look at doing the same. €43k is not a high engineering wage. People forget the years and cost involved in college. The number of years on shity wages gaining experience. Don’t be so quick off the mark with the smart comments. Well done Dublin for starting to do something positive for the city.

Mute Keith Ellis
    Favourite Keith Ellis
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:24 AM

Lots of rewards Jack and a pension and a bonus and a work related bonus and a turning up on time bonus and a do your work bonus, there’s loads of wonga going, don’t ya know? And if you are really good at your work, they may give you a bonus.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:34 AM

Thanks for the clarification Keith.I might apply.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:17 AM

€43k isn’t great for a skilled engineering job, but there’s no actual engineering in being a cycling czar. You just have to talk to engineers, which is something that a reasonably competent council employee could learn in no more than six months.

Mute Keith Ellis
    Favourite Keith Ellis
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:38 AM

Emily, are you serious that 43k isn’t great for an engineer? That over €820 odd a week. How much do you think they should be on?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:11 AM

Keith that’s before Tax, for a qualified engineer it’s not good.

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:19 AM

STOP CYCLISTS USING PAVEMENTS AND FOOTBRIDGES

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:54 AM

Half the time the bike lane is put on the footpath, they need to be consistent

Mute Dog Standard
    Favourite Dog Standard
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:32 AM

And also stop cars driving and parking in cycle lanes. Goes both ways.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:38 AM

Seems custom made for some ex TD from the Green party. Need some pocket money Eamonn?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:35 AM

Put cycle lanes on the East Wall Road. The pavements are more than wide enough to take a few feet of them!

Mute Ciaran Conneely
    Favourite Ciaran Conneely
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:10 PM

Good idea Reg. But would there be enough room left on the pavement for all the cars that are regularly parked on them?

Nov 12th 2014, 8:22 AM

What a waste of money

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Favourite One-Off Ireland
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:26 AM

thousands of cyclists in Dublin. We need someone advocating for them. Get rid of one of the traffic engineers

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:55 AM

Advocate for them, do you mean by getting rid of the Rules of the Road?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:00 PM

Traffic costs the city millions a year. Cyclists reduce traffic, reduce pollution in the city, reduce the need for parking spaces. It’s money well spent.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:40 AM

Will this person teach other cyclists the rules of the road or even some basic hand signals. I’m sick of trying to use mind reading to judge where they will swerve to next. also the amount of cyclists dressed head to toe in black is worring it’s almost like they are trying to be invisible. cue the back lash from the cycling community saying they all obey the rules of the road, anyone that drives to work will tell you about 1% of cyclists use hand signals and all of them break the lights. and it’s the driver who gets the blame when we knock you down. cop yourselfs on and think next time you get on your bikes, can I be seen, do I have enough lights(more is better) and maybe I should let the other road users know what my intended direction is at junctions.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:52 AM

I don’t break lights! Many do but many don’t!

Mute Richard Cynical
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:00 AM

You are the 1 % reg

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:13 AM

Maybe you’re right! Breaking lights is such a bad habit to get into, just not worth it. Had a word with female cyclist during the summer when she cycled through a junction in Blackrock. The same junction where another woman was killed on a bike last year.

Also had a good chuckle to myself on the Rock Road a few weeks ago when cop pulled in three cyclists for breaking a light. I just cycled past them all further up the road when they were being done!. Old bull….young bull.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:43 AM

I would have loved to see that reg. that stretch of road is lethal for cars and bikes. every day on my way home I see the same cyclists break the lights at the tara towers it’s like the junction does not exist, I squeeze my car as close to the curb as possible when I’m stopped at those lights in tbe hope of stopping some of them or at least force them on to the path. someone is going to get seriously hurt at that junction it’s only a matter of time

Mute Dog Standard
    Favourite Dog Standard
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:39 AM

” I squeeze my car as close to the curb as possible when I’m stopped at those lights in tbe hope of stopping some of them or at least force them on to the path”

You are seriously one of the problems cyclists have on the road. Unless you cycle the roads you’ll never feel the wind from a wing mirror racing past you at speed, close enough that if you try to avoid on of the many potholes you’ll be hit. Bicycles are supposed to be ahead of cars at a junction, at some there are provided cycles boxes. It is not your job to hold a cyclist back amoung cars that weigh much more than them. There are issues on all sides, from motorists, cyclists, pedestrians. Blaming one side goes nowhere to educating all. Using your car as an educational tool is beyond the realms of ignorance, it’s simply dangerous.

Mute paudi
    Favourite paudi
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:42 AM

@ Richard that is just creating more problems. You should just concentrate on your own driving without using your vehicle to influence other road users behaviour. if some idiots want to go through red lights why do you feel you have to stop them?

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:13 AM

It should never have come to this in the first place if the road engineers did their job in the first place!!! I’m not knocking this job but seriously why not have a look at Amsterdam for example where the tram meets car meets cyclist meets pedestrian all very nicely. Mostly they all adhere to their section of the road and a cyclist dare not cycle on any other part as they’re liable. I dont even recall there’s a path in the most part (fares major cheap on tram too so traffic is less – just sayin’)…

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:15 AM

Lydia, maybe the Dutch are just good at obeying traffic law or their police bother to enforce it.
    There should be an on the spot fine of 100e for cyclists who break traffic lights, cycle on footpaths, the wrong way on one way streets and with no lights. The same should apply pro rata to motorists who park in cycle lanes or on footpaths.
    We have all the laws but no enforcement and no fit penalties, some cycling offences carry fines of 60c.

Mute Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Favourite Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:13 AM

I enjoy riding in the streets of Dublin. Not on a bike though.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:28 AM

And when Keegan wants his or her views he will give them to him or her

Mute Gary Curran
    Favourite Gary Curran
    Nov 12th 2014, 9:06 AM

Build a canopy above existing Luas line with ramps for cyclists to join and exit at various parts of the city. No traffic up there.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:47 AM

The entry and exit ramps that are required would either be too long or to steep. It would have no advantage.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:49 AM

Definitely needed- there are three car parks at Sandymount Strand…but no bike parking at all and no cycle lane on the very busy strand road. I heard resident associations were against bike parking.

The canal cycle lane remains a white elephant – we need practical safe routes into the city center not useless canal lanes that go nowhere.
    The cycle lanes to UCD are appalling.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:27 PM

Yeah it’s unreal there is no cycle lane along there. Of course they all want to park on the road like the currently do but it should be tough luck for them.

Mute Cian Ginty
    Favourite Cian Ginty
    Nov 12th 2014, 6:54 PM

Not sure how the city section of the Grand Canal cycle and walking route can be described as a white elephant given that it’s used by thousands of people a day cycling alone and thousands more walking.

Mute stephen cleary
    Favourite stephen cleary
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:00 PM

Maybe who ever gets this job can make all bus driver, taxi driver and truck drives cycle the streets of Dublin for a day and they might get an idea why cycling requires more than the two inches they seem to think is plenty of room.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:40 AM

Sounds like a ridicules bottle neck with all projects having to be signed off by a single person. Replacing traffic lights, has the cycling tzar signed off on that yet…oh dear please join the queue should get to you in the next eight to nine months,

Mute StephenG
    Favourite StephenG
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:25 AM

Why the hell would a person need an engineering degree to do this job. Surely being a regular cyclist in the city with a reasonable amount of cop on would be the best qualification needed. Anyway, it will be filled internally like all those jobs are.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:15 AM

Were is the job being advertised, or will be another person hired from ‘within’

Mute Brian Heffernan
    Favourite Brian Heffernan
    Nov 12th 2014, 2:07 PM

We badly need a two-way cycle lane that runs, unbroken along the quays from the city centre to Heuston at least. Both sides are currently treacherous – It’s only a matter of time before lives are lost.