You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
REPUBLICAN VICE PRESIDENTIAL nominee JD Vance has said Russia is a US adversary but suggested it is counterproductive to approach Moscow as an enemy.
The Ohio senator also said Donald Trump is committed to Nato, the transatlantic military alliance seen as the bulwark preventing further Russian aggression in Europe, although the former president has pledged to “finish the process we began under my administration of fundamentally reevaluating Nato’s purpose and Nato’s mission.”
Vance, in a series of television interviews that aired today, nine days before the election, made clear that Trump, if back in the White House, would press European members to spend more on defence and that their administration would work to wind down quickly Moscow’s war in Ukraine.
“We’re not in a war with him, and I don’t want to be in a war with Vladimir Putin’s Russia,” Vance said when pressed during an interview with NBC’s Meet The Press on whether Russia is an enemy.
Vance said “we have to be careful about the language that we use in international diplomacy. We can recognise, obviously, that we have adversarial interests with Russia.”
US officials this past week confirmed that North Korea has sent 3,000 troops to Russia for training before potentially being deployed in Ukraine.
US officials say Russia has ramped up a disinformation campaign aimed at sowing distrust in the results in US election on November 5.
Officials on Friday confirmed Moscow’s role in creating a video that appears to show the destruction of mail ballots in Pennsylvania, in what was the latest effort linked to Russia on spreading false information on social media.
Democratic presidential nominee Kamala Harris has argued that Trump is too cozy with Putin and that Trump’s return to the White House would be calamitous for Ukraine and America’s European allies.
Vance was circumspect about supporting further sanctions against Russia, saying the Biden administration’s use of the tool for Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has been as effective as a “wet firecracker”.
“I don’t think that we should overreact to anything. What we should do is encourage our fellow Americans to be careful,” Vance told CBS’ Face The Nation.
“Don’t trust everything that you see on social media. And of course, we should push back where appropriate. But that’s the big question is, what is an appropriate response to a country making social media videos? I’m not going to make a commitment to that sitting right here.”
Trump has boasted of having had an effective relationship with Putin when Trump was in office. The former president has praised the Russian leader, suggested cutting US money for Ukraine and repeatedly criticised Nato.
The former president has said he would not defend Nato members who failed to meet defence spending targets, and warned he would “encourage” Russia “to do whatever the hell they want” to alliance countries that he considered “delinquent”.
Vance underscored that a Trump administration would continue to support Nato but that it would lean on Europe to increase defence spending.
Nato announced in June that a record 23 of the 32 member nations were reaching the alliance’s defence spending target, 2% of GDP, this year. That is a nearly fourfold increase from 2021, when only six nations were meeting the goal.
“Of course, we’re going to honour our Nato commitments,” Vance said. “But I think it’s important … that we recognise that Nato is not just a welfare client. It should be a real alliance.”
Liz Cheney, a prominent Republican critic of Trump who has endorsed Harris, said Trump’s approach to Putin demonstrates “a total lack of understanding of the importance of our allies in keeping the peace”.
Trump “talks about our allies as though he were a mafia boss”, Cheney said on CNN’s State Of The Union.
“He seems to completely fail to understand that, in order to keep peace, we have to have allies with us.”
In the wide-ranging interviews, which included with CNN, Vance also played down recent comments by Trump about ending the federal income tax.
Trump said in a Fox News appearance last week “there is a way, if what I’m planning comes out” to do away with it. He told podcaster Joe Rogan on Friday that he was serious about replacing revenue the income tax by raising tariffs.
Trump has pledged to also end taxes on tips, Social Security and overtime pay if elected.
“He’s talking aspirationally about something that he himself thinks is less of a focus than cutting taxes on tips,” Vance said of Trump’s call to eliminate the federal income tax.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
140 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Firstly I’m guilty myself oh posting on this articles on a regular basis. However a very quick scroll through the comments not readying any of them and seeing the same profiles posting the same stuff over and over on both sides is really sad. It was a bank holiday Sunday folks, enjoy your families and leave the bickering for during the week. One side believe they’re correct the other the same. There is no adult dialogue in any of these comment sections. Just remember the ones that insult are on the losing side. All that being said I’m sure I’ll see you all on Tuesday. Enjoy your bank holiday Monday folks
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: BLM is a funded criminal group that cost millions of dollars of damage in America that then did phuck all for the black community with the millions in donations it received. Defunding police, a great idea.
@Eric Gaffney: stop deflecting. It’s not a stupid question when Trump asked his previous VP to ignore constitutional procedures. Pense was strong enough to ignore him, we don’t know if Vance will be if it happens again, that’s why it’s important
@Trump24: Saved for a pathological liar, a felon, a narcissist and a bigot. A bluffer and a complete buffoon, couldn’t run a tap. What was so great about his last effort to MAGA? Nothing.
@offside again: just noticed that’s the second poster here you’ve labelled with a mental health slur cause they have the audacity to disagree with your juvenile ramblings….. a little respect would make this comments section far more rewarding
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: ??? The ones he insulted are Trump supporters, as in they’re FOR peace & prosperity, they unambiguous in their stand against evil, against proxy wars, against funding deaths and destruction. Anyhows, labelling ANY poster as “insane” is really sickening schoolyard bullying & has no place in a comments section such as this, besides being at odds with the ethos & ethical rules of the journal.ie
Anyone with half a brain can see that what Trump really wants is for the rich and powerful to share all the spoils. Unfortunately the more Americans see of Kamalla the less they like. Trump starting to look like a shoe in and the gullible Maga faithful are about to experience a grotesque case of Animal Farm.
@Louis Jacob: American and global elite. the irony is that Trump will be dead and gone in a couple of years. But the consequences of his proposed actions won’t just disappear. BTW, I wouldn’t agree that he is a shoe in at all. But Harris needs to make the last couple of weeks count. Relying on calling him out as a fascist isn’t going to do him any harm (even if it is true). I also can’t see how celebrity endorsements will count for much either. I’d say it might come down to whichever party can mobilise the most voters. And maybe women’s votes?
@Alan: I just can’t believe she hasn’t been able to articulate her economic policies more lucidly. She only needs to rattle off a few big ideas lucidly but she seems unable. Opportunity Economy is a silly vapid phrase. Even at it’s worst the American economy is always an opportunity economy.
@Trump24: can’t wait to see that beautiful menu of safety, peace, economic growth, controlled immigration & normal inflation the President of Peace is going to serve us up , it’ll be like the NO WAR days 2016-2020. Great to see hiles picked a ln honourable and obviously ver capable successor to lead us through the years 2028-2036 in Peace and prosperity
@offside again: Not JUST the French, nearly every self respecting media outlet now admitting the world is on the brink of peace thankfully. All they inflicted on an innocent man, their lies, their weaponizing the justice department against him, multiple baseless court cases,not to mention the multiple assassin attempts on the president of peace……. all for nought…. they could never derail the JUGGERNAUT OF PEACE
@Brendan O’Brien: genuine question brenny, we all know the mother ones, chutes, d peado & offside ones…. yes, we’re familiar with them but how many trolling accounts you really operate here?
@Brendan O’Brien: was thinking just the same thing. It’s a hard life organising a variety of accounts. The least he could do is vary the phraseology, grammar, punctuation.
So Donald didn’t get to see the Big Shiny Red Button in the Oval Office the last time he was there because Mike Pence hid it from him.
Now if he returns to the Oval Office, you can be dam sure that Vance will find it and bring it to the Turnip and they will start N.W.W.3. and that means we are all finished
@Tommy: www3 is already started albeit a slow burner, Biden and Harris’s ( typical democrat war mongers) arming of a c0rrupt Ukrainian regime will end when trump wins.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: the Ukraine war started in 2014 when the Ukrainian regime banned russian in schools and the public shere, considering the east of Ukraine (the ukraine never existed as a country before 1991 the new country did not take into account that the east and crimea was overwhelmingly ethnically russian) the people of the east put up a fight. The neo n@zi azov battalion was used to terrorise ethnic russians. We all know about the rise of Ukrainian neo n@zism ( see 2014 channel 4 documentory highlighting the issue) We also know how eager Ukrainian fascists are to act out atrocities, see Ukrainian volunteers holocaust and racist attacks on foreign students who tried to leave after russian intervention. Facts are facts
@Keith Butler: Are you a russian propaganda shill or just gullible?
This all started with Putin trying to install puppet regimes in Kiev from the early 2000s on.
He even poisoned a presidential candidate, as you should remember.
He tried twice, and failed twice.
After the 2nd failure he invaded Crimea.
After that he invaded the industrial heartland of Ukraine called the Donbass, which straddles parts of the Luhansk and Donetsk provinces.
This area, like all Ukrainian provinces had earlier voted to be free of russia.
Russia tried to portray this was as sone sort of struggle for freedom from Ukraine, but this was always a Russian military operation organized by the Russian FSB, the successor organisation to the KGB. One Igor Girkin, aka Strelkov, was a key FSB organiser and was made “Defense Minister” of this Donetsk Peoples Republic, or whatever they called it.This was after his role in the invasion of Crimea.
But let me ask you one simple question.
Even if Ukraine had mandated that Russian could no longer be used, does that give Russia any right to invade?
To kill and maim, men women and children?
To destroy the homes, schools, hospitals, workplaces, the towns and villages of Donetsk and Luhansk?
In any case, Ukraine – in recognition of the appalling abuses of their Russian oppressors – merely wanted to encourage a blossoming of their own civilisation, now that they had their freedom.
Just as we did.
Russian was never banned. Ukrainian was just made the preferred language, but if the people concerned could not speak Ukrainian then Russian was used.
Zelensky himself was a native Russian speaker, and did not begin to learn Ukrainian until *after* the russian invasion of 2014.
Never forget: Russia lies, and lies, and lies.
And lies.
Russia is built on layers of lie upon lie, upon lie.
@Robert Bell: it’ll be a hell of a party for sure, a good ‘starter’ for the main event in Nov, we can nearly ‘smell’ the beautiful victory now. Really need to focus on the ‘walk on’ music for the great victory…….. I’m thinking….
A) BEAUTIFUL DAY- U2
B) something inside so strong- labbi saffri.
C) no regrets- edit piano
D) don’t stop me now- queen
@Robert Bell: yes, there will be over 5 million in attendance , according to Trump. Just like 29,000 we’re outside McDonald’s last week according to him. In a town of 24,000 people! The real crowd was about 500.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: what ye dembots gonna do after the failure of the ‘orange man bad’ mantra in Nov???? After the crying there’s really nothing left for ye when peace & prosperity return is there??
#greatvictorynov2024
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: oh sweet child, look at the polls, look at the betting odds…. . The US are voting in their droves for PEACE AND STABILITY, it’ll be a landside victory for the president of peace….. cry as much as you like…. but even now, ye are still welcome on board the peace train.
#peaceisnearnow
@Frank Mc Carthy: Can you explain how betting odds are supposed to reflect the intentions of the voter?
Betting odds merely reflect the amount of money gambled. And gamblers are imbeciles.
It is well known that Republicans are flooding the zone with shit polls.
They did the same in 2022.
Republicans were supposed to take control of the Senate, and by a large margin – 54-55 seats.
Didn’t happen.
There was going to be a Republican Red Tsunami in Congress.
Didn’t happen.
Democrats, on the other hand, have out-performed the polls in every single election since the last GE across the width and breath of the country by at least 5% (one by 24%}.
So, again, why do you think a loser who had lost more support since the last election can win the next one?
The absolute state of this comment section. On both sides. I have more respect for the troll accounts at this stage. You lads keep knocking lumps out of each other, well done! But the people you’re advocating for are clearly psychopathic. It’s like two drunks arguing over a kebab they found on the ground. Don’t anyone give me the “least worse” argument. The option is there to choose neither. There is no excuse for supporting either of these genocide enablers
@Darth O’Leary: This is a straight choice between Fascism and Democracy.
There is no other option.
Are you suggesting Democrats stay at home, and don’t vote, don’t stand up for decency and stand against evil?
Are you suggesting Democrats stay silent and don’t counter lies and propaganda?
Are you suggesting Democrats stay cowered and don’t stand up for victims of thugs?
That is how democracy dies.
In darkness and in silence, and in cowardice.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: your argument presupposes that the democratic nominee is decent. I disagree. I have no time for either because they are terrible human beings and because they are ultimately beholden to the same vested interests. You’re somehow able to look past that.
Tom Wood’s Law #3: No matter whom you vote for, you always wind up getting John McCain
@Darth O’Leary: Your argument ignores that the Democratic candidate is a Democrat, one who believes in and will uphold the principles of democracy, while the Republican candidate is a Fascist who aims to overthrow democracy to install a Fascist tyranny.
Your “belief” that Kamala Harris is not decent does not bear even rudimentary scrutiny.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: The democratic party are beholden to the same vested interests as the republican party. I’m not wasting my time quibbling about “principles of democracy” when both parties are prepared to enable genocide. You can somehow look past that and focus on comparative trivialities (almost everything is comparatively trivial when compared to genocide, I’m sure you agree)
Trump is detestable but both candidates are very obviously Fascist. Mussolini, the creator of Fascism, described Fascism as interchangeable with Corporatism. Perfect description of US “democracy”
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Oh capital letters. That’s that then. I’ll leave you off to enjoy your lovely democracy. Pity about all those dead children. They’ll be glad to hear about your democracy though I’m sure
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: As rambling, evasive and incoherent as Trump was on Rogan’s podcast…..in America this is viewed as ‘the common touch’. Simply making an appearance and chatting about ultimate fighters!!!! The country is a shambles and the voters have to accept most of the blame. The courts have ended up having to take the responsibility for the failures of so many voters and so many politicians. That places judges, juries and court staff in a very vulnerable position.
Elon Musk was subpoenaed in the Jeffrey Epstein sex trafficking case. (P.) Diddy helped Elon purchase Twitter. Musk was friends with Ghislaine Maxwell who pimped out little girls? Is Musk trying to buy the Presidency to stay out of prison?
Both parties have been very weak when it comes to foreign policy. Republicans have been very cowardly when it comes to giving Ukraine the military weapons and funding that they require and I’m not fully reassured by Vance saying that Trump will stay in NATO. His repeated rhetoric on the campaign says otherwise. When it comes to Israel, Democrats have been the cowardly ones. Harris has repeatedly conditioned military aid to Israel instead of giving them all the firepower they need and she kept pressuring Netanyahu not to enter Rafah, even though this decision is what allowed them to kill Sinwar. Several Congressional Democrats have also voted against funding for the Iron Dome and Harris has stayed silent on reprimanding them. We need someone who is both strongly pro-Ukraine and pro-Israel.
@Frank O’Hara: we need a PROVEN LEADER, a proven man of peace, a NO WAR President, & thankfully, despite all their assassin attempts, a man frequently likened to Ghandi, Mandela & Martin LK is ready & willing to serve us again. Throwing billions at Ukraine & Israel is NOT the way toward peace.
#peaceisnear
@Frank O’Hara: You think Israel should be committing genocide at an even faster pace?
The fact that US aid to a genocidal regime has effectively been unconditional is a huge stain on Biden’s record. But the Democrats are still better than the cultists.
@Frank Mc Carthy: Peace is not always a good thing. All it does is embolden the enemies of the West and lead them into believing that they won’t suffer any pushback if they misbehave. America is the greatest country in the world and we need them front and centre, pushing Western values across the world. When America is weak, the rest of the world is weak. Trump can complain about sending 60 billion in aid to Ukraine all he wants, but when it comes to the mostly costly thing for the government, Social Security and Medicare (2.3 trillion a year), he is silent. Nothing on privatising it, nothing even on reforming benefits. That tells me a lot. Ukraine and Israel are important Western allies, they need all the weapons and support that they require. Proper peace doesn’t come without victory.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Are you bone-headed or something? Israel isn’t committing any genocide. The population of Gaza has increased by 2% every year since 1948. 10,400 of these supposed “dead bodies” have no proof of ID or that they even existed in the first place. 14,000 of the dead people in Gaza are Islamic militants. There is no top-down memorandum of operation from the IDF which states that there is a policy of deliberately targeting civilians. Maybe tell your friends in Hamas to stop hiding behind civilians and putting their missile launchers beside hospitals and schools.
@Brendan O’Brien: You know right well that there is no genocide being committed, you pro-Hamas bot. Israel is one of the greatest countries in the world and the IDF is one of the greatest armies in the world. You are lying and you have no proof, just like the pro-Putin bots say that there is genocide going on against Russians in Eastern Ukraine. You all sing from the same propaganda music sheet. The population of Gaza has increased by 2% every year since 1948. 10,400 of the “dead bodies” have no proof of ID or even that they existed in the first place. 14,000 of the dead people are Islamic militants. Good man Brendan, standing up for the Hamas terrorists who stone women and gays. Your handlers must be very proud.
@Frank O’Hara: Something tells me that you’ve never seen combat, big talker. Peace is not dependent on “victory” Do you realise how ridiculous that premise is when considering that both sides in conflict desire “victory”
Peace is not profitable for the neo colonial interests running the west. That’s why we live in this age of perpetual war
@Darth O’Leary: “Neo-colonial interests” – did they teach you that line in activist camp? I suppose Churchill should have just negotiated peace with Hitler in 1940 and then everything would be alright. The difference is that unlike your naïve and peace-loving hippie mindset where’s there’s no bad guy, there is a clear right and wrong in today’s conflicts. Russia and Hamas are clearly the bad guys who illegally invaded two sovereign countries and committed massacres. Ukraine and Israel are clearly the good guys. They are both democracies who support the West and its values and are fighting enemies of our way of life. They are also fighting precisely to make the other side sue for peace. All this ceasefire nonsense that you people talk about is just smoke and mirrors.
@Frank Mc Carthy: I’m speaking factual information to someone who is parroting pro-Hamas talking points in the same manner that I do to pro-Putin bots. These people deserved to be called out on the nonsense that they are spouting. If no one does, they get away with their perpetual lying.
@Frank O’Hara: Israel has killed tens of thousands of civilians, mostly women and children. Even some Israelis are horrified by the actions of their far-right government.
How can you care about the human rights of Ukrainians if you don’t care about the human rights of Palestinians? We’re all equally human.
‘We have been horrified by the war crimes committed by Hamas and other organizations on 7 October and we are horrified by the countless war crimes that Israel is committing. Unfortunately, the majority of Israelis support the continuation of the war and massacres, and a change from within is not currently feasible. The state of Israel is on a suicidal path and sows destruction and devastation that increase day by day.’
@Frank O’Hara: a bit ott but essentially I agree with you. People don’t realise that it’s the west under attack. If you agree or not with what the west has done or is doing is besides the point. Our enemies hate us. What do we do ? If necessary, what Israel is doing. War is hell so if you don’t want one, don’t start one.
You don’t know what you have got until it’s gone.
@Frank O’Hara: The populations of the Nazi concentration camps increased too.
Does that mean they did not commit genocide?
Those that call themselves Israeli have no right to any of Palestine.
They are merely racist colonists of the land of the Palestinian.
The Palestinian is the descendant of those who have lived there since time immemorial, the true people of that land.
The Israeli merely claim to be descendant from those who left long ago.
And just as the descendants of those who left our shores long ago have no right to return here, no right to establish terrorist groups like Hannah,The Stern Gang or Irgun, no right to attack our people to drive them off our land to take it for themselves, no right to attack our government to steal our country for themselves, then neither do the racist, murderous, war-criming, genocidal israeli.
Like all fascists before them, the Israeli lie.
And lie.
And lie.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: There’s no such thing as a “Palestinian” you dope. They’re a Soviet creation in order to expand their hegemony in the Middle East. There is no genealogy of a “Palestinian” and none of their surnames are indigenous to the area because they were only created in 1964. Yasser Arafat was a KGB agent. Yuri Andropov, the head of the KGB and Ion Pacepa, Arafat’s handler confirm this. The Irgun and the Lehi were heroes who fought for the independence of Israel just like Collins and De Valera. Yitzhak Shamir had the codename ‘Michael’ because he was such a fan of him. No doubt you thought that the Irish independence fighters were bad people as well and the British were the good guys, you Castle Catholic. The only right the “Palestinians” have is to go f**k themselves.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Also, the population of the concentration camps didn’t increase, 6 million people were literally eradicated from them and they were nearly empty by the time the Americans got there. I suppose you probably think that didn’t happen. The reason that the border wall exists in Gaza is because it was the main location for importing arms, bombs and submersibles during the Second Intifada. Why don’t you throw a temper tantrum about Egypt having an anti-terrorism border wall as well? Hamas is an offshoot of the Muslim Brotherhood who committed numerous terror attacks against the Egypt people. Oh right, because it’s only Jews you hate. How come “Palestinians” didn’t resist when Jordan controlled Judea and Samaria and Egypt controlled Gaza? That’s right, you didn’t exist.
@Brendan O’Brien: I don’t care about people who cheer when terrorists fly planes into the Twin Towers and when 6,000 terrorists invade a sovereign country and rape and murder 1,200 people. Do you know that 85% of people in Gaza either supported or strongly supported the October 7th attack? You cannot feel sorry for or reason with a Jihadist mindset, just like I don’t feel sorry when ISIS or Al-Qaeda gets their base of operations bombed. Maybe if you cared about the civilians, you would tell your Hamas buddies to stop hiding their missile launchers in civilian areas. Also, funny how Hamas hasn’t built a single bomb shelter in Gaza and civilians are not allowed to enter the vast tunnel network, but sure blame Israel because it’s an easy propaganda win.
@Brendan O’Brien: Also, funny how you don’t mention that the Hamas-run Gaza Health Ministry was caught lying about the number of women and children who have died. Back in May they suddenly changed the number from 24,000 to 12,800 after they were caught lying. This is completely urbanised conflict. Even the UN says that typically in such densely populated areas, 90% of casualties would be civilians, but this is nowhere near that level in Gaza, whose civilian to militant ratio is about 2:1. Even in normal wars which don’t have predominantly urbanised fighting, the average ratio is about 4:1. The government in Israel is far-right? That’s a funny joke. Exactly like how propaganda mouthpieces said Zelensky was a Nazi. Goebbels would be proud of you.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: You dope, that name came from the Romans, who named it after the Philistines in order to insult the Jews, who called the area Judea. You know that the League of Nations (United Nations) San Remo Conference in 1920 partitioned the British Mandate into an Arab State called Transjordan which was 77% of the land and a Jewish State from the Mediterranean to the Jordan River and which was 23% of the land and whose name was to be decided by the Jews. The Arab representatives at the conference didn’t mention the word “Palestinian” or “Palestinian State” once. I wonder why? Oh yeah, because they hadn’t been created yet. Gaza is Jewish land, Judea and Samaria (West Bank) is Jewish land, the “Palestinians” need to go back to Jordan and stop squatting on Jewish land.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Thanks for confirming what I suspected. You people don’t want coexistence with Israel, you want to exterminate it. Guess what buddy, you don’t just get to make up a fake identity and then start claiming land that isn’t yours. Egypt renounced their claim of ownership to Gaza in 1979 and Jordan renounced their claim of ownership to Judea and Samaria (West Bank) in 1988. Therefore, Israel is the only legitimate country with a sovereign claim to the territory, so it is theirs under the international law principle of Terra Nullius. Anyway, go ahead and cry more you Jihadi Islamist, Israel is here to stay and there’s nothing that you can do about it.
@Frank O’Hara: Do those who are descendants from Irish people would left our shores long so have the right to return here?
No!
Right?
And they certainly do not have the right to drive us off our lands to take it for themselves, to ovetthroen our government to steal our homeland for themselves.
That is what those who call themselves Israeli dd to the Palestinian.
The Palestinians who *is* the actual descendants of those who REMAINED in the region.
The Palestinians are the TRUE people of that land.
The Israeli are merely colonial invaders. Murderous, racist, war-criming, genocidal, colonial invaders.
Justice required that Palestine is restored to the Palestinian.
Justice DEMANDS that the stain on humanity that is Israel be excised from this Earth like Nazi Germany before it, and that the Israeli is held fully to account for their crimes against humanity
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: No, you don’t have the right to start a war to eliminate the Jews and after you’ve been defeated have the right to turn back the clock. The Arabs rejected a Partition Plan from the United Nations in 1947 and then declared war. They’re so backward, they couldn’t even accept a plan that permitted them to steal even more land than was given to them in the San Remo Conference in 1920. The Palestinians are a bunch of medieval savages who think it’s okay to stone women because they leave the house on their own and don’t cover their hair and gay people because they are gay. Israel is the greatest country
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: In the Middle East and one of the greatest countries in the world. The “Palestinians” are not indigenous and there is no proof that they were in the land before the Jews. There is no coins, no artefacts, no ruins and no archeology that shows any evidence of “Palestinians.” Also, Islam is 2,600 years older than Judaism, did these “Palestinians” somehow learn the secret of time travel? No, of course not. Their leaders did not call themselves “Palestinians” until 1964. They were also a bunch of Nazi collaborators who had a role in the Holocaust. Every one of the Arab leaders in the Holy Land went to meet Hitler and stayed in Berlin for the entirety of World War II.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Also, how is Israel a racist state? 60% of the Jewish population came from Arab countries that they were expelled from in 1948. What about the 20% of the population who is Israeli-Arab? They have the exact same rights as the Jewish citizens and the hold jobs in the highest positions including Supreme Court Justices, surgeons, government ministers and CEOs. Do you know that it was an Arab judge, George Karra, who put away Moshe Katsav, the President of Israel, for corruption and obstruction of justice because that what a democracy does. Everyone is treated equally under the law. I don’t see Jews in the highest positions of society in Arab countries. Your accusations have no sort of merit just like the rest of the nonsensical gibberish which you are spewing.
Do the descendants of those who left Irish shores long ago have the right to come back here, throw us off our land, out of our homes, into small enclaves in our own country?
Your rampant racism is showing.
As is typical of the Israeli,and their supporters.
I, as a Jew, am entitled to “return” to
Why would anyone expect those colonial invaders would be doind a good thing if they offered to allow us to keep a part of OUR country, when we are entitled to ALL of it, and the invader is entitled to nothing except to be put in front of war crimes tribunals?
@Frank O’Hara: I, as a Jew, am entitled to “return” to this Israel, as do all other Jews, despite that they might only have a single Jewish grandparent.
While the Palestinians driven off thie land by the Israeli have no such right of return.
Israel is clearly an Apartheid State.
Or racist in simple terms.
You made a claim that the Palestinian are not descendant from those who have lived there for millennia.
Care to back that claim up with evidence?
No.
Of course not, for this is just another lie.
Because you have no justification for the existence of Israel.
Because there *is* no justification for the existence of Israel.
And those who support Israel are complicit in Israeli great crimes against humanity.
And hopefully people like you will be held to account too.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: You really are a thick eejit aren’t you? You didn’t bother to debunk anything that I said because you know that it’s all true. Your statement about Irish coming back here makes no sense. Firstly, the Irish didn’t start a war to eliminate the British, they were forced to emigrate because of the Great Famine. The Arabs started a war to eliminate the Jews and they were defeated. Secondly, no Irish leader told the Irish to flee the country. The Arab leaders told their people to leave the area as they expected an easy victory against the Jews and wait until the fighting was over because they thought of themselves as being superior and the fact that they were six armies versus one. They then got their asses kicked and were comprehensively beaten as you know.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: So now you’re claiming you’re Jewish? Well if you are and you still take these positions, you’re like the Jews who sold out their own people to the Nazis for money. I’ve already told you how the “Palestinians” are not indigenous above, but since you’re simple, I’ll repeat myself. Every single “Palestinian” is not indigenous to the area of the Holy Land because there is not single example of “Palestinian” artefacts, coins, historical documents or ruins in the Holy Land but there are numerous Jewish ones. Jews are so-called because they come from Judea, the area of the Holy Land. There is no record of any Arab leader calling themselves “Palestinian” before 1964, there is no example of Arab leaders from other countries using the world “Palestinian” before 1964.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: When pilgrims and travellers came to the Holy Land from Europe and America over 200 years ago, they noted that they had met Circassians, Bedouins, Jews, Arabs, Druze but not one of them mentioned that they met a single “Palestinian.” As for your dumb claim about “Apartheid”, such a wild statement can easily be taken down by the fact that Israeli-Arabs have the exact same rights as Jews in Israel and they get to enjoy the exact same democratic freedoms. This does not exist in states which practice Apartheid and it makes me think that you either don’t know the meaning of the definition (which might be possible considering how stupid you have proven yourself to be) or you’re just deliberately lying again, which is also highly possible.
@Vincent Hickey: You could at least learn to spell “counselling” correctly, you uneducated eejit. As I said earlier, you’ve got absolutely no proof whatsoever that this “genocide” is happening. You people are exactly the same as the mouthpieces who claim that Ukraine is committing “genocide” against Russians in Eastern Ukraine. Guess what, just because you keep throwing random words out, doesn’t make them any less false. Anyway Vincent, I hate to break it to you, but Israel and Ukraine are winning, and the thugs that you suck up to are losing. Just like pro-Putin apologists, you pro-Hamas apologists are a stain on humanity and an embarrassment to yourselves and your families.
Let’s see. Russia, the mafia state aligns itself with North Korea, China, Iran. The dictatorships/theocracy. I wonder why Trump likes them? Literally all of the dictators sticking together. Bizarre that a former and again potential US president would steer America that way but then most voters probably don’t know the first thing about any of it. Also this new redesign of the journal comments section is not user friendly.Can barely see what you’re typing.
Four dead as Texas-Mexico border hit by severe flooding after heavy rainfall
43 mins ago
Research
Trinity warns staff not to answer US government request for diversity and equality information
1 hr ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
13 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say