You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Take a break and check out these lads vaping big style on RTÉ News

Like a sauna.

ABOUT HALF WAY through RTÉ’s Nine O’Clock News last night, Eileen Dunne started into what looked like a standard report.

She threw to a reporter who was going to tell us that there’s now evidence that vaping and e-cigarettes help people give up smoking. But it wasn’t a normal segment:

She was interviewing these lads in a Dublin vape café

vapecafe RTÉ RTÉ

Throwing absolute shapes and making it rain, vaping-style.

The viewers immediately copped that these lads were worth watching

And that the RTÉ News rarely sees this level of gangsta

If you can’t see the video, click here

It was a serious report, no doubt, but the lads had everyone in stitches

Never had vaping been such an artform for the cameras

vapecafe2 RTÉ RTÉ

One of them described it as a hobby, too

“Ah… The 9 O’Clock News” – only in Ireland

So gangster.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

More A wonderful Bill O’Herlihy mural has been unveiled on the wall of this Dublin pub>

More No, an old man hasn’t been arrested in Cork for turning strangers’ TVs to Babestation>

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/04/img2-thejournal-394.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2742274" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute crookshank
    Favourite crookshank
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:44 AM

There is one women hiding at the back in the picture, probably one of their mothers to pick them up.

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:29 PM

For the people who have never smoked that make comments such as “just give them up” please keep those comment to yourself as you haven’t a clue what your talking about. I smoked since I was 13 (23yrs smoking) and tried every available smoking cessation aid from gum to patches to hypnotism and even cold turkey… but always slipped back on them after a period of time. E-cigarettes are to date the only aid that had successfully kept me away from cigarettes with no wish to go back smoking again. To date I’m am 3 years cigarette free, My nicotine level is the lowest that you can use without being zero at 3mg. I feel better, better breathing, no pains in my chest in the mornings, I can run more than 20feet without being winded and my color has returned from what was previously a shade of grey when smoking cigarettes to a healthy pink.

Yesterday was what should have been a positive day for e-cigarettes with a recognised medical institute publishing a report on how e-cigarettes are beneficial to aid in quitting cigarettes and once again RTE has done a fine Job of taking what was apparently a much more detailed report and turning into a media circus to be ridiculed and laughed at.

Ultimately e-cigarettes are not only a way for a group of friends to meet up and blow smoke rings and do tricks as this report would make you think to watch it. This activity is no doubt a part of smoke groups within the e-cigarette user culture but it is not what done by everyone that uses e-cigarettes but only a minority.

At the end of the day if you smoke and want to give up give e-cigarettes a try.. you won’t be expected to blow smoke rings.. if they are not for you then fine, find another method that suits or just keep smoking, it’s up to you.

If your not a smoker then don’t begrudge or belittle what you really have no idea about and carry on with your own life.

Mute Platypus Parcel
    Favourite Platypus Parcel
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:03 PM

Yeah…. but hey look stupid

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Apr 29th 2016, 6:10 PM

Totally agree with you Michael and well done on giving up the cigs. I’m 2 months off them myself and down to 6mg so nearly there!

Mute Michael Griffin
    Apr 29th 2016, 6:57 PM

Well thats your opinion and your entitled to it. But as I said not everyone that uses E-cigarettes chooses to use them as they were shown on the RTE report. It’s down to personal choice. Are you a smoker?

Mute Michael Griffin
    Apr 29th 2016, 7:00 PM

Well done Michael on staying off them. Keep going and whether you choose to keep using the e-cigarette or give them up aswell stay away from the cigarettes anyway.

Mute Ryan Hardy
    Favourite Ryan Hardy
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:33 AM

Thug Life

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:35 AM

tug*

Mute lorna
    Favourite lorna
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:57 AM

Ffs looks more like a coffee shop in Amsterdam, doesn’t show the reality of people using e-cigs,rte the biggest eejits going

Mute Shane Terry
    Favourite Shane Terry
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:01 PM

It’s actually a coffee shop in Dublin on Capel Street.

Mute itsonlyme
    Favourite itsonlyme
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:20 PM

Would like to drink a coffee there still to be convinced they are safe

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:37 AM

High achievers having time out no doubt !

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Apr 29th 2016, 12:41 PM

Here quick, look at that plume, fookin deadly wha!

Mute Michael Fox
    Favourite Michael Fox
    Apr 29th 2016, 7:57 PM

Let’s be clear. RTE were reporting on an evidence based report from the Royal College of Physicians which basically stated that e-cigarettes are 95% safer than smoking tobacco. They made an editorial decision to ‘balance’ the piece, as if balance was needed, with a spokesperson from the Irish Cancer Society who, based on no evidence whatsoever, maintain the apparently irrational policy that Ecigarettes should not be used, despite their stated aim to reduce cancer in Irish society. The ICS are funded by GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, Novartis and other pharmaceutical companies, which are losing millions because of reduced sales of largely ineffective nicotine replacement products. RTE threw in footage of Vapers looking like idiots for good measure. Our national public service broadcaster, and the ICS are overtly serving the interests of pharmaceutical companies over the interest of public health. RTE does this repeatedly. RTE is a disgrace to journalism.

Mute Redmond O'Hanlon
    Favourite Redmond O'Hanlon
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:03 PM

The people most invested in e-cigs not being successful is big tobacco, there a well versed in marketing and lobbying – see this article from yesterday from an unbiased and well-respected group. http://www.bbc.com/news/health-36139618

Mute itsonlyme
    Favourite itsonlyme
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:22 PM

Why would you smoke at all cig or e-cig?

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:49 PM

JTI tobacco own one of the bigger Ecigarette companies ….

Mute Cal McLaughlin
    Favourite Cal McLaughlin
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:43 AM

Takes a lot of effort to look so cool.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:46 AM

Extremists in every walk of life ruin everything :(

Mute Ciaran Rooney
    Favourite Ciaran Rooney
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:58 AM

this is what rte do with tv licence money??

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:55 PM

You actually think RTE invested in a Vaping Café?

Mute paddy Jennings
    Favourite paddy Jennings
    Apr 29th 2016, 11:37 AM

Eejits Wat turd burglars

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Apr 29th 2016, 12:39 PM

Give it five years the effects of vaping will be obvious

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Apr 29th 2016, 6:51 PM

What’s the number of the vape crisis centre?

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Apr 29th 2016, 12:49 PM

Better than smoking but still not healthy.

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:50 PM

FFs vape some decent herbs like damiana.

Mute Cian Michael Eustace
    Favourite Cian Michael Eustace
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:01 PM

Here guys im the bloke in the wine hoddie that was blowing os im vaping 2years now and ues i can do a few tricks and stuff rte asked me and the lads to do some and for the people who are saying look he is callung it a hoobby there wad a lot more siad on my part i was interviewd for 10 mins okay ya dont like it ring up rye and make your own video

Mute Neil O'Reilly
    Favourite Neil O'Reilly
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:06 PM

Hang on till I put that through Google translate.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:19 PM

Neil, Google translate would explode trying to decipher that comment.

Mute skeyes
    Favourite skeyes
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:44 PM

I think he might have something mind- altering in that e-cig

Mute TDV
    Favourite TDV
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:06 PM

Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Apr 29th 2016, 7:14 PM

Jesus, I think I see some of the side effects of vaping !

Mute Cian Michael Eustace
    Favourite Cian Michael Eustace
    Apr 29th 2016, 12:54 PM

Alridhy guys im one of the lads that was intevied me abd the other guys done what rte asked and fo the hobbie thing that i siad i was interviewd for more than ten mins i siad alot more thing then its now turning into a hobbie wlright

Mute ACMHH11
    Favourite ACMHH11
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:09 PM

Trying to make ‘vaping cool’ for the younger generation??.. Do not show this again on tv, where children have easy access to this and will most definitely try this if they see it

Apr 29th 2016, 2:26 PM

As a non smoker these fumes make me sick compared to the old cigs, I really believe these things are bad for you as people used die of nicotine poisoning when they used nicotine as a pesticide once.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:31 PM

Yeah, because stale tobacco smoke smells a whole lot better than vapour….

Mute TDV
    Favourite TDV
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:11 PM

You cannot compare carboxelated tobacco with hundreds of poisonous chemicals added to it to some e-cig vapour containing nicotine, glycerine and another couple of chemicals

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:14 PM

You can when you’re ignorant to the facts ;)

Mute Keith Gaule
    Favourite Keith Gaule
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:15 PM

It’s amazing that you don’t even realise how ill-informed your opinion is. You’d rather see us all smoking, instead of the scientifically proven, 95% safer, vaping? Do you even know what this is in relation to? You clearly haven’t even read up on the latest findings? Also, if nicotine is your major concern, why don’t you go moan at your local pharmacist for selling nicotine patches, gum and sprays over the counter? Tell them they’re poisoning everyone … see how that goes.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:23 PM

We should probably ban vegetables as well since many of them naturally have nicotine in them.

May 2nd 2016, 12:46 AM

Why not ask a non smoker, I got a lungful of that vapour stuff once and it made me as sick as a dog but it seems there is more nicotine in vapours than cigs?

May 2nd 2016, 12:47 AM

Keith, I never said that, I just think that the nicotine levels are very high, even toxic really with those vapours…

Mute Michael Griffin
    May 2nd 2016, 10:46 PM

Oh God.. I’m in stitches.. no really I am.. Mr Sands you should really do some research on the topics you choose to comment on. Nicotine is toxic yes, as is caffeine in large enough quantities.. the same applies to nicotine. Also the levels of nicotine in e-cigarette vapor is much lower than that of cigarette smoke. On a side note.. the earth also is not flat contrary to what you heard the lad sitting at the bar at your local saying.

May 5th 2016, 1:28 AM
    Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Apr 29th 2016, 9:10 PM

CHOOO CHOOOOO!

Mute Esteban
    Favourite Esteban
    Apr 29th 2016, 12:26 PM

What’s yer wan at in the left background. She looks so satisfied if you ask me…

Mute Michael Griffin
    May 2nd 2016, 10:34 PM

Clearly Mr Sands your just another misinformed individual riding on the belief of second hand information that is completely incorrect. You should do some research on the topics you choose to comment on.