You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said he will attend a public rally against violence in Drogheda on Saturday.
The rally is being held following the gruesome murder of 17-year-old Keane Mulready-Woods who was dismembered.
The murder is believed to be connected to a local feud.
The Mayor of Drogheda confirmed last week that he will hold a rally in the town to allow people to articulate how they feel about the ongoing feud and the killing of the teenager.
When asked by reporters today about the really, Varadkar confirmed that he would be in attendance.
“I do intend to be there,” Varadkar said.
“My office is in discussions with the Mayor of Drogheda just on the arrangements because I do want to be there to stand shoulder to shoulder with the people of Drogheda, but I don’t want to politicise the event in any way either,” he added.
“We just want to make sure that we have the arrangements right.”
This confirmation comes after Varadkar last week said he couldn’t commit to attending but would consider it.
Speaking last week, he said that “the nation is shocked by the depravity of the murder” and that he himself expressed his “revulsion and total condemnation” at the killing.
Related Reads
Drogheda feud: Gardaí target 'every little detail' in search for perpetrators
“I really want people to know the crime doesn’t pay, that those who are responsible for this will be brought to justice, and also to encourage anyone who does have information to give it to us because we need to secure convictions here,” he said.
Mulready-Woods’ body parts were discovered in Coolock and Drumcondra, both in north Dublin, in the past seven days.
Gardaí believe there was “no coincidence” about the location of the body parts and are probing if they were left in these areas as a warning to criminal gangs who were associated with Keane.
With reporting by Garreth MacNamee and Rónan Duffy
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
63 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Michael: Or take those hundreds of millions that we’d spend on that and invest in breaking the cycle with at-risk youths. How many kids in this country never get fed at home and get zero love at home – so when a dealer takes them aside at 13 and gives them a hundred quid, it’s the most positive experience they’ve had in their lives. Meanwhile, legalise and decriminalise the drugs that are giving these gangs so much power.
@Zippy: The present Blueshirt government could have used the Special criminal court, They had no problem using it against Republicans, Yet when it came to using it against criminal elements as usual the blueshirts buried their heads in the sand.
@Ciarán Ó Fallúin: Bless your heart that you can attribute such evil to a disadvantaged childhood that can be prevented by spending more money in the social services. That was an incredibly evil act, and the perpetrator needs to be brought to justice and separated from society indefinitely if that is even possible in Ireland anymore.
“We just want to make sure that we have the arrangements right”. In other words pull as many Garda from other well needed duties to keep an eye on him.
Why does he want to inflict the people of Drogheda with his presence. Have they not enough problems dealing with criminal gangsters than having to stomach political gangsters on top.
FF are the reason for the major increase in youth criminal activity in recent years. The recession was due to their incompetence. A massive percentage of the recent gangland activity has been in the 17-23 age group, all children of the recession caused by FF, and further exacerbated by FG’s complete lack of funding for youth projects
@Chin Feeyin: It is of course their own fault, but when you grow up with absolutely nothing and start making money illegally, the decision is already made for you. You turn to making money illegally, thinking you’ve finally made something of yourself. This combined with zero investment in youth projects leads to a path of no return
@Séadna O’Grádaigh: i don’t think any more “opportunities for young people” will make any difference. There are plenty – they even built stables for horses in parts of Dublin!
The solution is more Gardai and more prison places.
@Chin Feeyin: Opportunities for young people would make massive difference. How about real facilities, sports in particular, sports at a young age is proven to keep kids on a good path. When was the last time kids as young as 11 were involved in gangs in Ireland? It’s crazy! Any as for the solution to the problem facing us today? I think it’s already gone too far, I think the guards have little choice now but to pick a side they believe have the advantage and do all in their power to put the other side behind bars until it dies down. It’s only a short term solution, the long term solution is regulation of some form. Even if you halved the criminal revenue you’d go a long way to halving the crime
@John Joe Bridie: God forbid that an element of free will was involved in such an evil act. One can’t possibly hold anybody responsible for an ill deed as we deflect responsibility to the nanny state the modern stand-in for God, who incidentally cost us less.
@Séadna O’Grádaigh: any more plausible excuses you can offer that will inform us concerning the crime of dismemberment? There are no excuses for such a brutal crime.
@Tom o brien: It’s a bit more nuanced than that. Take the average young lad leaving school, he might decide to go to college but his Grant is unlikely to cover his education, assuming he gets one. So, he might have to get a part time job to supplement his education. Then, after three or four years he’ll probably find that his degree isn’t worth what he thought it was and a post grad degree is needed. More money, a lot more. So he invests the time, money and effort. So do his proud parents, it’ll all be worth it, they say.
Meanwhile the little gurrier who fell out of school at the same time to be a drug dealer has climbed the ladder. He only wears designer clothes, changes his cars twice a year, owns a string of properties and has people working for him. Hard to say crime doesn’t pay.
@Arch Angel: When you put it like that!! I do agree! Also young lads in areas seen as ‘deprived’ (where I grew up), see the older lads in fancy cars with ‘status’ and perks and it’s seen as instant ‘glory’ and adrenaline flows. . But in saying that it’s still a choice. It’s also not all about money as we had very little growing up but had love and support and we were watched by our parents and given a dig if we got out of line. The vulnerable ones are the ones with lack of emotional support and not always lack financial support. And in some cases no matter what parents did, one in the family fell into the drugs scene. So many imbalances in society
@523StarBar: As I said, it’s a very subtle and nuanced issue. While not always, those with a lack of support, family and financial, tend to be more vulnerable to all sorts of abuse. Even now we all still judge status not by accent or someone’s address but by their income. What do you earn? We may judge that by what sort of card you drive or your house, rental or mortgage etc. these are a means of assessing income.
It’s difficult to tell the lad who chooses the college route, two degrees, that, approaching his 30′s, he start on a low wage. If he can afford a car it won’t be much. A house is impossible, and will be without help for the deposit and someone else paying the mortgage. Remind where the criminals are here?
@Michael Kavanagh: Your point seems relevant given the recent levels of violence among certain drug gangs. There’s no doubt that violence, and even death, are associated with crime, it’s often seen as an occupational hazard, the higher the reward the greater the risk.
There’s also a tendency to maybe glorify the violence among youth associated with crime, in what they wear, how they speak, social media, etc. Among their peers, they may be expected to graduate from low level crime, stealing bicycles and the like to stealing cars. After that they’ll be committing crimes, eventually for reward.
The kids who go to college have to first grow up with this taking place in their communities, the so-called disadvantaged areas. What makes them disadvantaged? It’s the years of neglect, crime allowed to run rampant with petty theft, open drug dealing, intimidation and, eventually, extreme violence, houses burned out and murders. But most of those getting hurt and killed cause the disadvantage in their own areas, it’s those innocent people trying to eke out an existence I feel sorry for.
Kids who manage to ignore this going on in their midst, ignore the obvious wealth it brings and still go to college deserve recognition. Instead society is telling them, “sorry, but not good enough, you’ve got to do more”, some will, if they can manage the expense. For others it’s just too much, and they can’t be blamed, maybe they’ll get jobs. In any case if the kids with the post grad degrees get jobs their pay rarely reflects their education, I’ve known kids with PhD’s work for minimum wage. Society is telling these kids that, after spending years, and a small fortune, on their education they can’t buy a house without their parents giving them the deposit and a partner, hopefully earning more. If they have siblings or want to start a family they’re in trouble.
So, when you hear the argument, which many agree with but I personally don’t, that drugs should be legalised who are the criminals here? Is it those who offer kids a choice, very high rewards with high risks of violence or those who give other kids no choice. They can slave away for years with little chance of ever getting anything more than a ton of debt over their heads. You decide.
I welcome this & while it’s a platitude and almost insignificant it at least tells the people of Drogheda who include my children that they are being listened to.
@Morning Gus: I think your missing the point. This is not in support of this young lad. I’m of the view this is in response to the level of violence committed against him & others. I would not support it otherwise.
You don’t just “need to secure convictions here” though. You need to get all the right people and not settle for a scapegoat or two that’ll make you look good in the papers
This is a people’s protest and if Politicians wish to attend they should stand in the crowd with the people. No politicians should be allowed on the podium or let near a microphone
Leave the forum open to community leaders and those directly affected by the criminality in the town.
This event should not be used for Grandstanding.
I note he still in his own FG way can’t equate his use and purchase of illicit drugs with funding drug lords
It’s now a private matter – tell that to those of us being terrified by drug addicts as we walk the streets
Don't forget! The clocks go forward by an hour tonight
1 hr ago
ekrem imamoglu
Thousands take to streets of Istanbul to protest over mayor’s arrest
1 hr ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say