You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Varadkar dubs some Trump comments 'highly inappropriate' but says Govt will work with whoever is elected

The Taoiseach said the government will ‘do its best’ to work with whoever wins the next US election.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said the Irish government will do its best to work with whoever is elected the next president of the United States. 

“I think whoever’s elected is American president in November, we’ve a responsibility to work with them, whether it’s President Biden re-elected or President Trump re-elected, we’ll do our best to work with whoever the US president is,” said the Taoiseach.

Speaking to reporters in Bucharest at the European Peoples’ Party conference, Varadkar was reminded of comments made by former Taoiseach Enda Kenny prior to Trump being elected last time around, whereby he said Trump’s language was “racist and dangerous”.

It made for an awkward first meeting for Kenny and Trump in the White House, when an Irish reporter asked the newly-inaugurated US President how it felt to sit beside a man who had called his policies racist and dangerous?

Varadkar, sidestepping repeating such remarks, stating:

“I certainly agree that some of the comments that he’s [Trump] made in the past have been highly inappropriate. But we have to respect the decision of the American people,” Varadkar said today.

‘Rocky relationship’

However, the Taoiseach acknowledged that the relationship between Europe and the US was “rocky during the last Trump presidency, adding: “But did survive the last Trump presidency.”

His comments come after Biden and Trump swept the state primaries on Super Tuesday, all but cementing a November rematch.

Both the 81-year-old Biden and the 77-year-old Trump continue to dominate their parties despite facing questions about age and neither having broad popularity across the general electorate.

Varadkar said the he believes the relationship between the US and Europe “can remain strong no matter who is president in the White House”.

However, he stated that Europe needed to “stand on our own two feet”.

“Americans are great allies, great friends. I hope that will continue… America has been stronger than Europe economically, stronger than Europe in Defence Security terms for a very long time and we need to be able to stand our own two feet,” he concluded.

Varadkar is to make two visits to the White House this year as part of the St Patrick’s Day engagements in Washington DC.

On 15 March, US President Joe Biden will host Varadkar for a bilateral meeting. 

US Vice President Kamala Harris and her husband Douglas Emhoff will host the Taoiseach and his partner Matthew Barrett for a breakfast at the Naval Observatory that morning.

Varadkar will then attend the St Patrick’s Day celebration at the White House on 17 March.

Biden is the second US president Varadkar has met as Taoiseach, having already met with Trump for previous celebrations

With reporting by Jane Matthews in Bucharest 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:33 AM

So he’ll work with anyone bar Sinn Fein

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:54 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: If push comes to shove after the next general election Varadkar will probably state he was misinterpreted in his comment regarding working with SinnFein…Just like when he now states he was misinterpreted when he made comments concerning the upcoming referendum. Even the free air time he got from lightweight interviewers and no opposition to respond to this comments..Varadkar still F.cked it up. The Attorney General is looking good to get him off the hook again regarding ( Misinterpreted).

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:33 PM

@Nigel Hayden: sinn fein should refuse to work with that pompous clown

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 7th 2024, 2:32 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: Would disagree with you. SF is second largest political party in the 26 counties by one uncontested seat . It took Martin to save Varadkar’s political career, believed me if after the next election if Varadkar is again in the shit he will talk to anyone to save himself an FG.

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:33 AM

Working with Trump or Israel is fine for Leo but doing the same with Sinn Féin is totally out of the question.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:38 AM

@John Dennehy: The cases are in no way similar. If there were a ‘Trump Party’ in this country, I don’t think any party (except the far-right microparties) would wish to form a coalition with it. But the President of the USA is a different matter: refusing to work with him would constitute self-harm for this country.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:52 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Ah, but Leo also said that the EPP would work with radical parties, if they ‘respect European values’.

Which means they would find a way.

We should never work *with* demagogues.

No matter where they are.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:59 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: just imagine if there WAS a Trump Party in Ireland though….. housing, health & immigration would all be ‘sorted’ in first few months…… lobbiests would be out of work, the President of Peace will never be in vested interests ‘pockets’. I guess you’re right though….we’d be too ‘small fry’ for him…. its best to leave the President ofPeace take the BIG stage. He does have a HUGE ‘job of work’ ahead if him after the landside victory Nov5th.

MAGA

TRUMP2024

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:00 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: Comedy gold, Ken.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:02 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: cheers…you gotta have a bit o craic

Mar 7th 2024, 12:11 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: “… housing, health & immigration would all be ‘sorted’ in first few months…”

You’re exactly right.

Trump “sorted” the pandemic by reducing testing.

If there are no tests, then is no illness, and no pandemic.

A Trumpist party would solve homelessness in the same way.
    Don’t measure it, and it wont exist.
    Same with immigration.
    Or anything else.

Trumpists/Far-right see 1984 as a textbook, not the warning we do.
    A warning against you lot.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:15 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: lol….do all biden.bots gets a ‘humour’ extractment procedure when they bow to messiah biden???

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:20 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: So you’re claiming that your hundreds of pro-Trump rants are intentionally humorous?

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:34 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: hi liz, Kevin ker, cornelious – you’d be some craic down the pub, NOT, lol

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:39 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: You claimed recently that you are hampered by dyslexia, yet you worship a man who openly mocks disabled people. How does that work?

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:07 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: ?? I’m not ‘hampered’ by anything!!! I don’t even see it as a ‘failing’ ……. as I always thought my kids growing up…’ if OTHER PEOPLE have a problem with you, your hair, your clothes etc.. that’s ON THEM!!”.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:13 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: It’s not a failing, but you did claim to be hampered, becoming highly indignant when I made joke based on a typo.

What’s your view on Trump’s mocking of disabled people?

Mar 7th 2024, 1:55 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: I dunno…

I have come across some who are completely absorbed by the cult.

But then, they were Americans.

Still, I suppose we must have some of that kind here, or they couldn’t have got to America in the first place.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 6:20 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Do you think of dyslexia as a disability, Brendan?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:36 AM

I wonder if Leo realises just how disliked he actually is, as a politician and also sadly as a person. That must suck. Poor guy : (

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:39 AM

@Mike: If he were as disliked as you think, he would never have made it to the highest political office in the land,

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:44 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Leo got elected by the skin of his teeth on the 5th count in the 2020 election, that would not be a great vote of confidence in his popularity in anyone’s opinion.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:45 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: What? Through the back door? (absolutely no pun intended).

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:49 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: crawled into office through the dog flap…

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:50 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: The point Brendan, in case you missed it is that Trump is obviously an extremely hated, mocked and derided individual. Here we have an article with Leo saying he would work with him regardless. Trump made it to be US president, do you not think he is disliked? Now apply a similar thinking to our beloved Leaky. Do you get it yet?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:51 AM

@John Dennehy: He was duly elected like everyone else. And some backlash against a sitting taoiseach wasn’t surprising in the circumstances.

Mute Brendan O'Brien

@Mike: Trump, sadly, is hugely popular.

Mute Brendan O'Brien

@Mike: There is no ‘back door’ in Irish elections.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:32 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Indeed he is. Also, hugely disliked, as with the Leakster. See my original point.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:37 PM

@Mike: You’re now saying that Varadkar is hugely popular and also hugely disliked?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:47 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: I never said that. Reread my comment, Bren. I’m not bothered debating nonsense with you all day, dude. No offense. Leo is hugely disliked, it’s a simple point. If you can’t grasp it, you’re on your own. Chat to you later if you’re providing any valuable insight or entertainment value perhaps. Until then, I hope you enjoy this sunny Spring day!

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:52 PM

@Mike: I’m certainly not a fan politically, but I can’t say I know him well enough to decide if I dislike him personally. What’s he like to talk to, Mike? Is he that bad?

Mute Brian Hackett
    Favourite Brian Hackett
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:10 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: elected by his own party not by the people… We never wanted him and that shone through in the election

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:14 PM

@Brian Hackett: No taoiseach has ever been ‘elected by the people’.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:38 PM

@stephen deegan: I’ve never met him in person, but he comes across as a two faced, self serving **** who has helped run this country into the ground. What is your impression of him? Do you like what he has achieved in his tenure?

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Mar 7th 2024, 3:00 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Because he is a total spoofer, that systematically and single mindedly promoted himself as a brand since his appearance in politics, through constantly expressing opinions in the media, on every issue except the one’s he was actually responsible for during his roles in government.

And through being apparently 100% teflon coated whenever there has been any political blowback on him or allegations of any kind.

You can’t help but grudgingly admire his ability to consistently manipulate circumstances to his own personal advantage, despite his never having actually contributed anything whatsoever during his political career and while having all the personal carisma of a cardboard cutout.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 7th 2024, 6:07 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: It was Martin who had to go cap in had to Varadkar who saved Varadkar. FG under Varadkar lost seats in the last general election finishing third. Varadkar will go down as probably the worst Taoiseach in the history of the state. Judging the incompetence of some of his predecessors in that office it says a lot about him.

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:50 AM

I hope Trump shows him up for the disgraceful failure to his country that he is.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:42 AM

Trump evil

Ghana, who just outlawed being gay, still good apparently!

Lefties torn as they can’t be seen to criticise non-white governments!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Mar 7th 2024, 11:49 AM

@Paul: ‘Lefties’ criticise such laws everywhere (whereas ‘righties’ couldn’t care less).

https://www.amnesty.org/en/latest/news/2024/02/ghana-president-nana-akufo-addo-must-not-sign-deeply-discriminatory-anti-lgbt-law/

Mar 7th 2024, 11:54 AM

@Paul: Ah, projection – putting your own traits onto others – again.

It’s the right that believes in imposing its will onto others.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:32 PM

Who cares what that pompous s ob thinks. Trump will eat him for breakfast

Mute Tommy445
    Favourite Tommy445
    Mar 7th 2024, 1:07 PM

save Palestinian children from israeli terrorists

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Mar 7th 2024, 6:35 PM

The country dubs Leo wholly inappropriate for trying to remove mother from the constitution .

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Mar 7th 2024, 12:38 PM

Ahahahah !!!
    Definition of a loser. No further comment

Mar 7th 2024, 1:58 PM

@Dominic Leleu: Trump?

Yep.

He has cost the US Republican Party control of the Senate, and Congress, the Presidency, and multiple state houses.

Everything Trump Touches Dies