You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Archive

Vatican notes "extreme seriousness" of WikiLeaks breach

…but the Holy See’s press office says the data in a WikiLeaks cable is merely the opinion of the one who wrote it.

THE VATICAN has dismissed the latest publications by whistleblowing website WikiLeaks, which include a series of cables sent to Washington by the US embassy to the Holy See, implying that the publication of “secret and confidential material” is a matter of “extreme seriousness”.

In a release published last night, the Holy See’s Press Office said that while it noted the publication of the documents, it would not venture to “evaluate the extreme seriousness of publishing such a large amount” of classified documents, “and its possible consequences”.

The press release adds that the Vatican believed the leaked documents “reflect the perceptions and opinions of the people who wrote them and cannot be considered as expressions of the Holy See itself, nor as exact quotations of the words of its officials.”

In that light, the Vatican said, “their reliability must, then, be evaluated carefully and with great prudence”.

The brief statement did not address any of the substantive issues of the many documents released yesterday originating from the US embassy, which included the admission that the Vatican was “offended” at being asked to assist with the workings of the Murphy Commission into clerical sexual abuse in the Archdiocese of Dublin.

The Vatican had stonewalled on any requests to oblige with its inquiries, saying the requests – which came directly from the Commission, which operated separate to the state, rather than through the usual diplomatic means – were an “affront” to the Vatican’s sovereignty as an independent state.

The Papal Nuncio to Ireland, Dr Giuseppe Leanza, also declined to take part in the inquiry, citing his status as an envoy of a sovereign entity.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:30 AM

Kenny keeping the head down again. Does he have an opinion on anything or does he need to wait for his handlers to provide prompts?

Mute Chicken George
    Favourite Chicken George
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:40 AM

Maybe he’s not staring at his phone waiting to be outraged?

Mute Scutterjocks O'reilly
    Favourite Scutterjocks O'reilly
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:43 AM

Kerry the mice in Kenny’s head are not awake yet.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:44 AM

Confirmed George Soros trying to influence Irish affairs and interfere in our democracy: http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/billionaire-soros-funding-groups-fighting-to-repeal-irish-abortion-ban-34980624.html

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:45 AM

Ye brown skinned haters are really obsessed with this Soros dude..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:55 AM

He is their bogey man, Sea. Along with Atlantic Philanthropies once they can point to them and say “look, this isn’t what real Irish people want, these outsiders are influencing them” they can happily convince themselves that their backward bead-rattling views are what we all actually believe is right.

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:57 AM

Amnesty international and Colm O’gorman confirmed to be in bed with Soros and his Open Society Foundation: http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/billionaire-soros-funding-groups-fighting-to-repeal-irish-abortion-ban-34980624.html

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:58 AM

Foreign money flowing in to Ireland to interference with issues surrounding our constitution? Are you OK with this?

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:04 AM

Hahahah!! But Rome trying to influence our political decisions is perfectly ok. Oh and also right-wing Americans financing the ‘No’ camp in the SSM ref. We’re just going to sweep all that under the carpet? How Catholic.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:13 AM

I’m as OK with that as being told what to do by an Argentinian lad wearing a fish hat

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:14 AM

How about no foreign bodies interfering in Irish democracy and constitutional affairs? Wasn’t Soros supported Clinton and her campaign just whinging about potential Russian interference in American democracy? I see Soros doesn’t practice what he and his candidate preach.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:21 AM

ive no problem with foreign bodies interfering with me, as long as they throw me an aul hand shandy afterwards

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:26 AM

Classy girl,I’d say she’s a keeper.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:32 AM

“Foreign money flowing in to Ireland to interference with issues surrounding our constitution? Are you OK with this?”

So let me get this straight, Sam…

Amnesty International, Atlantic Philanthropies etc. all open about the funding they receive, all audited, all spent in accordance with the law = A MASSIVE PROBLEM

Ten a penny bead rattling pro-life (borderline hate) groups being funded by right wing christian extremist groups from the southern US = GRAND

Is that it?

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:36 AM

Phil did you miss my comment above saying how about no foreign interference in our constitutional affairs? Where did I say I am OK with evangelical Americans interfering? I didn’t because I don’t agree with that just as I don’t agree with George Soros or Chuck Feeney meddling with our democratic process.

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:37 AM

You really are king of the straw man argument Phil.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:39 AM

Can I just say if this is a completely pro choice abortion then fair play to them making that choice to travel. I’m more concerned about the women facing fatal-foetal abnormalities and making sure they get the physical and psychological support they need.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:00 PM

Sam, our constitution is adapted from the British and has a Vatican twist. Should we just scrap the whole thing so? Also, since when are people not allowed to fund causes they believe in abroad? Guess we shouldn’t have sent all that money and those priests to Africa

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:03 PM

Cormac, you are disgusting. Also, pick up a biology book. There never was a baby. There was a potential baby.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:10 PM

Dave get out go to a pub or a walk in the park

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:11 PM

I seem to remember an awful lot of money flowing in this direction when it came to the San referendum? But was that all ok because it was flowing into the coffers of the “right” institutions? But now that the money is flowing the other way all the rosary rattlers are out in force shouting FOUL? Well what was sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander or the other way around in this case so just suck it up with your sour grapes.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:29 PM

Max, ypu know how the Internet works right? And mobile data?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:41 PM

Sam — Chuck Feeney is an Irish citizen you absolute knob end.

Mute Karen Kelly
    Favourite Karen Kelly
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:58 PM

How dare you?! You have no right to judge a woman and her choices! What planet do you come from that you think it’s ok for a “man”, I use this term loosely, to judge a woman on her choices?? You have no idea of her circumstances! Wishing suffering on someone is even worse again!

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:03 PM

You do know how to put ur phone down right and to have a friend

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:43 PM

How do I arrange to go for pints with my friends without my phone? Carrier pigeon? Anyway, do ypu have anything to say about the issues in the article or are you just here to fail at insulting people?

Mute RMcG
    Favourite RMcG
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:52 PM

@Cormac how very Christian of you, wishing ill on someone else

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:08 PM

“Idiot. So Kenny(who I can’t stand) is meant to answer the phone to every slapper who goes and gets pregnant?”

No.

That you think that makes the first part of your comment terribly ironic.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:17 PM

Are you simple you don’t need to go on the journal or the Internet to arrange it

Aug 20th 2016, 4:17 PM

Why would Kenny reply? He will never have an unwanted/non-viable pregnancy, he will never have to find thousands of euros for a medical procedure, he will never have to make that horrible journey for the procedure that should be legal here. Why would Kenny reply?

Mute Patrick Kearns
    Favourite Patrick Kearns
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:27 PM

I think that’s an actual picture of Max…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:44 PM

Max, you didn’t tell me to get off the Internet, you told me to get away from my phone. Still nothing to say on the actual topic? Just petty attempts at insults again

Mute Mark Owen
    Favourite Mark Owen
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:13 PM

Are you a priest?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:16 PM

That is a photo of Max as a twelve year old foetus. Bless him.

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:02 PM

No woman wants to have an abortion but at times they are making the best choice for them. Not all ‘Pro Life’ are religious nuts, Pro Choice aren’t Baby Killers. People this a very emotive topic , stop the childish name calling as it distracts from the issue. I have no doubt that this is the hardest journey this woman, will ever make, she will be taking no joy in these tweets, she is highlighting that woman do not have access to safe abortions in Ireland. Sad day but brave women

Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin

people are being fooled into thinking that voting to repeal the 8th is compassionate. Hearts behind their slogan and all sorts of “It’s my body and I should have a choice” jargon. I love women, they surpass men in so many ways. This is different though. This is not an individual decision, this argument will dictate the state of humanity in Ireland going into the future. Pro-abortionists never discuss the actual heart beat of the “group of cells” they wish to kill. And the argument that abortion is carried out everywhere else and we are behind the times doesn’t wash either. Just because it is allowed elsewhere doesn’t make it right.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:46 PM

Right… heartbeats. Let’s talk about them. Why you think there’s some intrinsic value to a heartbeat that goes beyond its function of pumping oxygen around a body. I’m happy to discuss this with you as a “pro-abortionist” but be warned now, “a heart eat is special” does not an argument make.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:44 PM

Can I kill you? Is your life worthless since it currently serves no purpose? Contraception is widely available to deal with this at the start, up to 48 hrs from conception, use it and stop annoying the rest of us

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:07 PM

@ Gone, I must admit you’ve made me reconsider. Perhaps sentience doesn’t equal an intelligent life form. Bravo.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:10 PM

It would be great if people stayed on topic and not rant about their selfish anti abortion rubbish. These women are making a very valid point in an innovative way. They are not just highlighting that is not exclusively cattle and software we export but our problems when it comes to it. On so many levels they are also highlighting the gormless excuse for a leader we have running the country, we knew how bad he was but he has raised the bar on incompence since he weaseled his way back for a second term. The so and so has his head way down even during a crisis marring our participation in The Olympics, you can bet had we avoided such scandal and won just one gold medal he would have been all over the news but no he is in hiding. No doubt on the say so of his advisors, sipping tea chosen by his advisors, and stirred as many times as his advisors recommend. These brave women are brilliant in letting Enda know that he soon will have no place to hide. Those of you who fly the anti abortion flag really should be ashamed of what you want to put our sisters through. Women will not be dragged off the street to have their babies yanked out against their will, people just want a choice not to have to travel so you will not save one single life with your propaganda.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:30 PM

Titus, reconsider what? You already want to euthanise sentient life because you assume you are superior to it. You aren’t, you are just in a more powerful position. Contraception is widely available for everything short of rape(though the 48 hr pill is there for that). I fully agree that abortion should be available for mothers health, cases of rape and unviable embryos.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:13 PM

A great call “It would be great if people stayed on topic….” but then fell apart with “…..and not rant about their selfish anti abortion rubbish” end of debate.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:38 PM

But of course – the gormless leader as you call him Jho – it is not his decision. Whatever you think of him. A referendum to resolve the unintended consequences of the 8th – would this be a simple passable first step? I don’t believe the tweeters have said if this is a case of fatal or not?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:40 PM

Is Corden the father to be ? Have they commented on this ?

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:53 PM

No, this is stupid and tedious as hell. There are literally at least 5 good reasons of the top of my head I can think of (excluding the fact that sentient beings are aborted in the VAST majority of cases, they are not, so you’re either trying to bluff me or you’re dumb) why saying “take a contraceptive pill” is just ill informed and myopic and I’m not engaging with that because a Google search, a simple Google search, would satisfactorily answer your question. And as a matter of fact, if you care so much about life, why is the foetus from a rape OK to abort, but not anything else? Are they physiologically different?

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:54 PM

*not aborted.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:49 PM

If you can’t see the difference between rape or normal pregnancy then you are more lost than I thought. I guess you are referring to effectiveness then check the effectiveness of multiple forms at the same time.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:37 PM

Oh shut up. You haven’t even answered anything. I’m talking about LOTS more than effectiveness actually. Again, if you’d bother research the point you’d see what those are. You’re on about heartbeats. If you’re arguing that in any kind of sense the heart of a rapists baby and that of a wanted baby are different then you’re deficient. They’re the same. I’m not the one talking about heartbeats, so it matters not to me but since you are and suggesting it’s some how relevant it’s YOUR job to articulate how, if a heartbeat is inherently important, then why is the same heartbeat different in two different foetuses.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:42 PM

Are you high? Not once did I say heartbeats.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:58 PM

Oh sorry, it was the other idiot. Point still stands though. Why is the life of a rapists foetus worth less than that of a non rapists foetus? Life is either sacred and abortion is wrong or it isn’t… simple as.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:23 PM

My argument isn’t with life being sacred. My argument is that there are an endless supply of contraceptive choices available, if a man and woman can’t manage to use them then that’s their fault. Though can’t ask a rapist if he minds putting a condom on 1st

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:32 PM

Titus The difference between rape and a normal pregnancy is a violent crime has been committed. In this case the woman has been wronged and should not have to bear a pregnancy to a child that has the same genetics as a rapist. But convenience abortion should not be allowed. People need to start taking personal responsibility for their actions. This lady travelling to England just publicized the destruction of her baby’s life and acted like she was the victim because she had to get on a cheap flight. The UN and James Corden will claim we’re denying her her human rights when in reality our humanity relies on our willingness to protect increasingly vulnerable human life. The 8th will fall in Ireland soon, so you’ll get your way in the end.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:48 PM

All abortions are “convenience abortions” whether the woman or girl has been raped by a family member, partner or stranger, has a FFA diagnosis or she’s just not ready or able to be pregnant.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:52 PM

I’m sorry but factually, even if used correctly contraception is not 100% effective. And not everyone has food enough sex education to know how to use it properly or access the particularly effective options. And I do not for one second advocate women taking extra birth control. “Women of any age should avoid combination hormonal birth control if they have a history of uncontrolled high blood pressure, chest pain, diabetes, severe headaches, heart or liver disease, blood clots or stroke. Cardiovascular risks increase with age, weight, family history of heart disease, and number of cigarettes smoked per day (>15)” which encapsulates an awful lot of women. And stop acting as if abortions are the new birth control. The assertion that they aren’t typically a last resort is so beyond stupid.

Mute Duey Sol
    Favourite Duey Sol
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:08 PM

Gone Feishin,
    you do realise that most accidental pregnancies are not realised until at least a few weeks in when it’s too late to take emergency contraception? For a number of reasons, from their contraception (pill or other) failing, maybe because they had other health issues which reduced it’s effectiveness, or whatever,.. Do you think that if a woman does not want, and cannot afford to support a child, she should be forced to carry and give birth to it and hand it over to the state or a stranger? And what if she cannot afford the health care during the pregnancy, nor afford to take a few months out of her career or studies, or she does not want to put her health and life at risk? and these are just the common standard reasons for needing a termination, there are much more serious reasons, such as cultural, religious or family/partner reasons that she would be treated very bad or be in danger if she carried through with the pregnancy. What if she has some genetic defect which she does not want to make a child ever suffer through?
    But no she should sacrifice all of these things and her life for 9 months to carry and give away a child she did not want.. and how will that affect her mental and physical well-being, and that of the child who is left to the dysfunctional system.
    I am not saying that adoption isn’t right for some people. But nobody can tell somebody to just continue with the pregnancy and give the child up for adoption, knowing what we know about that system and all the implications of that act.

Mute Janice Leahy
    Favourite Janice Leahy
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:58 PM

Seriously your comment is so disgusting, I have friends that have had no other choice then to travel as there baby has been so deformed and would not live.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:14 PM

Explain this to me … Why should a woman have to go through nine months with an unwanted pregnancy & go through all of the risks that a pregnancy entails ? Risks, like death..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:58 PM

Pro-lifers stop giving a shit after birth. Then they’ll happily chastise the single mother on social welfare. Well worth pointing out that there is a direct link between abortion being legal and a fall in crime rates 18 years later

Mute Angie McKelvey
    Favourite Angie McKelvey
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:04 PM

Very well put. Totally agree with everything you wrote.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:14 PM

I never said contraception was 100% effective, but if you get pregnant that’s the hand you’ve been dealt. Deal with it. If they do go ahead and have the child, after loving the child for a few years, the thought you wanted to abort him/her should disgust you.

Mute Laughs @ Antis 24/7
    Favourite Laughs @ Antis 24/7
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:33 PM

Jinxy I am laughing out loud at you telling a woman to ‘deal with it’ with her unwanted pregnancy ..If she wants to terminate her pregnancy ,then the earlier that she does it the better ..It has 100% nothing to do with you ..lol ..Funny guy..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:38 PM

Jynxy, having seen the stories of what happens to some unwanted children in this country you should be disgusted at your own comment.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Aug 21st 2016, 12:08 AM

Pro abortionists never consider the fact that they may not exist if the 8th didn’t exist in this country. I’m not disgusted at my own comment and nothing a pro abortionist could say would make me change my mind. Respect human life. It’s our most valuable resource

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 21st 2016, 12:17 AM

Just going by that last comment of yours,thejynxeffect -I would say that you’ve been spending way too much time with the likes of Cora ..Jus’ sayin’

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Aug 21st 2016, 3:07 AM

It is not Abortion that causes the gap between Pro-Life and Pro-Choice, the gap is caused by the Lack of actual Compassion as given to each other by both groups. So a pregnant woman cannot bring herself to give birth to a baby for a multitude of reasons and decides of her own free will to have an abortion, but where will she get the after care ? Not in her own Home Country, she becomes an alien. She has to leave Mother Ireland and go to another country for assistance. Isn’t that Mother Ireland abandoning one of her children and when you look at the statistics how many did Mother Ireland throw to the Wolves, ? ?
    Thousands ! It’s time we looked after our own honestly, fairly and without any prejudice. Pro-Help thy neighbour would make a nice change to ALL.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:34 AM

No comment from Enda. We should be ashamed of ourselves for electing a cabbage to run the country.

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:46 AM

I was surprised how he didn’t comment when I live tweeted him a photo of my cornflakes this morning. OUTRAGE.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:52 AM

It’s worse than that, no comment from our leader AND no comment from our opposition leader. Neither of them want to go near anything which could upset their core grey vote. Leaders who are afraid to lead, only in Ireland.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

Dan it was his his cabbage-ham coalition that got my vote

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:12 AM

No comment from the child’s father either.

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:38 AM

Endangered Kenny and Michael Martin are not leaders, they simply surf the wave of public opinion. They are interested in authority which is totally different to leadership but very often confused with it. These two women are leaders.

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:40 AM

*Enda lol, maybe my autocorrect knows something??

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:43 AM

I’m sorry but am I missing the part where my emotional heart strings are meant to be pulled here? These women are in fine health and so is there foetus? And no comment from the father? This actually worries me more than anything!

Mute Rosie Murray
    Favourite Rosie Murray
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:46 AM

One side: two women blogging about their day travelling to the UK to get an abortion. The other side: a live blog that is literally the countdown of that child’s life. Chilling

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:48 AM

nah james, alot of woman are abandoned usually after a crisis pregnancy, abortion only affects a small number of poor women. no man should tell a poor woman she has to stay pregnant, it’s called bodily autonomy.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:04 PM

Rosie, I agree with you. I support a woman’s right to terminate her pregnancy for whatever reason but live-tweeting the details of the abortion? This is not acceptable to me as I feel that it should be a private matter for the woman involved only, not out in public for us to read.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:05 PM

Rosie, there is no baby. Its a potential baby

Aug 20th 2016, 12:14 PM

Rosie , exactly. .

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:15 PM

Dave http://www.theguardian.com › World › Abortion
    Remember what the headline on that article says.” My baby in a box” , after the lady went to England and aborted her unborn baby

Aug 20th 2016, 12:16 PM

Dave , you’d be great support to a woman who’s just miscarried. ..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:26 PM

Oh so miscarrying is fine, Suzie, those women deserve support, but you object to women opting not to have to go through the process of giving birth to babied with fatal foetal abnormalities?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:34 PM

Suzie, should the gardai be alerted for miscarriages? Also, never even dare to assume you know my personal circumstances. Understanding how pregnancy works and understanding the devastating loss that is a miscarriage are not mutually exclusive.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:38 PM

Con, if you want me to read an article you should probably provide a link to it rather than a link to a newspapers homepage with no mention of the headline you’re talking about on it. Just shows how people are on this issue. They supported you without even reading it

Aug 20th 2016, 12:43 PM

Phil, you are assuming a lot there .. I never objected to the woman having an abortion.. I object to her live tweeting about it . It’s not highlighting a thing .she’s just tweeting about her day travelling to England for an abortion .

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:43 PM

Suzie you don’t know how every woman who has miscarried feels, less of the bullshit please

Aug 20th 2016, 12:44 PM

Dave , I never said I did …

Aug 20th 2016, 12:46 PM

Teene, again I never said I did know how every woman feels who has miscarried. .

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:49 PM

“Phil, you are assuming a lot there .. I never objected to the woman having an abortion.. I object to her live tweeting about it . It’s not highlighting a thing .she’s just tweeting about her day travelling to England for an abortion .”

That’s the point, she wasn’t live tweeting her abortion, as you claim she was and object to. SHE WAS LIVE TWEETING ABOUT HAVING TO TRAVEL TO LONDON TO HAVE HER ABORTION.

If she could have had a safe and legal abortion in Ireland she wouldn’t have had to travel.

THAT WAS THE POINT OF THE TWEETING.

Jesus. How stupid are you people?!

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:50 PM

“Oh so miscarrying is fine”

Who ever said otherwise?

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy

This whole tweeting thing is pathetic! If they have healthy babies in them then they should do this privately as it says nothing to me that requires me to “feel bad” for them. Not the society I want where we somehow celebrate abortions.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:05 PM

well james, an anon woman wrote for the journal, look it up, she said everyone in ireland let her down by making her and her partner go to england for a abortion for her baby that was already going to meet a bad end, you can guess what the pro “life” comments were. This all need to be in the public…… Its a condemnation not a celebration.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:10 PM

I’m not letting anyone down if it’s their choice. Who we are actually letting down is the cases of fatal-foetal who wanted their child and face horrible prospects. Maybe these women can enjoy the freedom of some shopping while they have the freedom of their abortion.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:27 PM

fool

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:48 PM

James, if they have a baby in them then something has gone seriously wrong. It is a foetus.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:51 PM

Suzie, you assumed I’d be useless to a woman that had miscarried (a term I hate as it implies blame on the woman) based on my understanding that a foetus and a baby are different. You don’t call a caterpillar a butterfly, you could however call it a possible future butterfly

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:08 PM
    Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:26 PM

I agree he’s a cabbage, but there are more important things than some trollop who decides to timeline her whole experience of travelling to UK like she’s on holidays!

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:29 PM

More nice slut shaming going on today ..

Aug 20th 2016, 4:29 PM

John you are right she shouldn’t have to tweet this but in Ireland a woman’s body is not private. It is obligated by law to carry a foetus to natural conclusion. Imagine a law like that on your body? This should be a private medical procedure in her own country and nobody else’s business but it’s not. For shame.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:48 PM

Con, different source same result, another failed link.

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:09 PM

My mind just frocking exploded imagining a foetus setting up a Twitter account Rosie!!

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:08 PM

@Damien why do u call her a trollop?

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:09 PM

You cannot mention the word BABY you bitch.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:18 PM

Grim Reaper is full of bull.

Mute eileen
    Favourite eileen
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:50 AM

For those on here saying these women are oversharing.. This is abortion Irish style and they are doing a great job highlighting what 12 Irish women have to go through every day… If abortion was free, safe and legal here these 2 women wouldn’t be live tweeting their experience. Wise up… I have a 12 year old daughter and hope that the 8th is repealed soon so she never has to go through a similar experience…

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:33 AM

I don’t think she is oversharing … we know nothing of her circumstances.

It could be her 4th such trip in the last year, it could be a deliberate conception specifically for this protest, it could be she is a victim of criminal violent abuse, she might be getting revenge on a boyfriend who abandoned her, maybe it is a same sex partnership and they’ve changed their mind after artificial insemination, it could be the baby is fatally compromised , it could be that having a baby just doesn’t suit her career right now and she’d prefer to start a family some other time or she doesn’t feel like being a mother. There are an infinity of possible reasons.

One thing makes sense though: she should not share her circumstances as that would just divert attention from the issue she is highlighting. And it is an issue that should be highlighted. The State should not enforce it’s assumed ‘morality’ on individuals. This is first and foremost a health issue to be decided by the individual.

Mute Amy Smith
    Favourite Amy Smith
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:05 PM

You really have high hopes for your daughter don’t you? Expecting her to be irresponsible and have unprotected sex and then get pregnant and instead of encouraging her to be responsible and keep the baby you want her to take the cowards way out and kill her baby. You are one lousy parent. I feel sorry for your daughter.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:06 PM

I feel for women who don’t have a choice.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:12 PM

Why do we feel sorry for women who have no choice when clearly, as these women are demonstrating, have no barriers to abortion at all. I want abortion for fatal foetal but these women can head off to England for all I care.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:18 PM

Another one who knows why this woman opted for an abortion. Do tell us the details, James? How do you know them?

Funny how it is only the ones who are condemning this who know the intimate details and are unwilling to share the and their sources.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:54 PM

Well they haven’t shared? But it’s irrelevant to you anyways you’d support it either way.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:09 PM

They haven’t, yet you and people like you have decided to judge them anyway.

Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:28 PM

Advise her to use contraception! then she wont have to end a life

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:30 PM

Dave

Contraceptives fail.Just like your post!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:51 PM

Damien, my knowledge of biology isn’t the best but I think it’s too late for contraception.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:57 PM

Damien, are foetus’ counted on the census?

Mute Róisín Ni Conmhaic
    Favourite Róisín Ni Conmhaic
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:45 PM

Amy, really?

what if her daughter, god forbid was sexually assaulted? What if her form of contraception failed? what if like many young Irish women who do not want children are constantly denied sterilization in case ‘they change they’re mind’ being told by a doctor that they do not know what they want and what to do with they’re bodies and something happened with her contraception that lead to pregnancy?

Not every conception is created by irresponsibility and unprotected sex….are you aware of that?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:57 PM

And the 8th needs to be amended to allow for fatal foetal instances. For the rest – a bit of personal responsibility please. You know when you at risk – yea ?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:16 PM

Lav, yes these irresponsible women getting raped, how dare they.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:21 PM

Lavbeer – contraceptives can fail if a woman has a dose of diarrhea for 24 hours -imagine that ,eh ?Tsk ! Tsk! Don’t like abortion,don’t have one. Simples.

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:37 AM

It takes a special kind of twisted to broadcast something like that to the world. An abortion is not something to be proud of and certainly not something to publicise on social media.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:39 AM

In your opinion….

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View

Her body,her choice.
    Her choice to broadcast it,too..Do try to keep up.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:49 AM

Sam, she is not publicising an abortion. She is publicising the lack of first world medical procedure availability in Ireland

Aug 20th 2016, 11:05 AM

She should be concentrating on what she’s about to do instead of live tweeting .. she’s not highlighting anything at all ..she’s just tweeting about her trip over to have an abortion ..

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:08 AM

Go back to bed!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey

Hard luck Sam. Ur missing the point

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

come back to bed

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:42 AM

@Sam Hunt. So you support Irish women having no autonomy over their body and being dictated to by men in power, yet you are so concerned over the plight of Muslim women. I’m curious why you think that Muslim women are more deserving of equality and bodily agency than Irish women. Banning abortion goes against the grain of Western values – in fact it could be said to be anti Western.
    Even Islam doesn’t see abortion up to 4 months as an offence https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islam_and_abortion

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:49 AM

Too right Anne.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

Sam Hunt – there is more than a touch of the Marion Murphy about you. Where is angry dishonest Maria too?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:34 PM

She is lurking around on some other site,Paul..

Mute eric nelligan
    Favourite eric nelligan

Two women and an unborn human being traveling Manchester, only the two women plan to return.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:05 AM

One man who can’t and won’t ever be in the same position as this lady, doesn’t know her circumstances and has no idea what life this unborn being may be subjected to and is in no position to offer assistance passes a passive aggressive remark online… Change the record!

Mute eric nelligan
    Favourite eric nelligan
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:18 AM

So because I’m a man I can’t have empathy for someone’s life, this life that within 48 will be over. Please cop on Red.

It seems the best many pro choice supporters can disregard my distain and disgust at abortion is because of gender, you need to look into the mirror when you ask me to change the record.

At least I’m not hiding behind some anonymous gender neutral account.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:31 AM

I use an anonymous account for the journal because there are too many oddballs that track people down online-FYI. I’m a 28yr old mother who would not choose to have an abortion unless in extreme circumstances like abuse etc. But I have empathy for mothers who are made to continue 9months through a pregnancy of a foetus they are told will not live and a number of different situations. People are condemned for having children in terrible situations and also condemned for choosing not to bring a child into bad circumstances. If I was 3 months pregnant, and the doctors told me my child had no chance of survival, I wouldn’t carry on for the 9 months and deliver a still birth, that would be horrific and I would like to have to travel to England because my country makes me feel like a murderer. Not all abortions are a case of carelessness so maybe you should have more empathy for the mothers too.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal

*wouldn’t like to have to travel to England

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:35 AM

your digest and distain that stems from a certain church just is just that, yours. Stop forcing it on you don’t know women. No empathy for a rape victim them?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

disgust…

woman are getting abortions anyways, just the set up is hypocritical, “I’m going to canada on holidays, they kill babies, I know that but that’s nothing to do with me because WE don’t do that where I live…logic” “non irish BABIES lives don’t matter unless they live in a poor country we can force our churn morality on….”

repeal repeal!!

Mute Anne Warren
    Favourite Anne Warren
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:40 PM

won’t you think of what it might mean for a child to be unwanted? The mother is forced by law to carry on with a pregnancy she doesn’t want and then to bring up a child she never wanted? Is that the basis for a good relationship?

And if the child is given up for adoption s/he may well always wonder about the biological family, quiz the mother’s motivations, maybe even try to find the biological mother and risk disrupting whatever new life or families she has managed to create.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell

The hypocrisy of pro lifers who put up gory doctored posters all over the place, complaining about these women over sharing, when they are talking about their actual experience.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:55 AM

do you not think the ‘reach’ is significantly different Dell? A live tweet that has global reach instantly as opposed to discommoding a few pedestrians with a few posters on O’Connell street?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:06 PM

Saoirse, are you saying the pro-life community don’t know how to use the Internet?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:10 PM

no. Just referring to Dells reference to placards being objectionable and contrasting it with whats happening in this live tweet publicity stunt.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:25 PM

Saoirse, there are also countless doctored YouTube videos and cora sherlock has a very active twitter account amongst many other pro lifers. Also a few posters on o connell Street? Do you have any idea what these loons say and do when you say no to signing the petition shoved in your face? also what’s the problem with the rest of the world knowing the reality that these women are living? And thousands of other Irish women for that matter?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:28 PM

“no. Just referring to Dells reference to placards being objectionable and contrasting it with whats happening in this live tweet publicity stunt.”

Maybe I missed the tweet where she went around the back of the clinic and stuck her iPhone in the bins for a shocking shot.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:44 PM

No Saoirse that’s not what you were doing. Your comment implied that the pro-life movement had no means of reaching the same number of people

Mute saoirse janneau
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:08 PM

“Maybe I missed the tweet where she went around the back of the clinic and stuck her iPhone in the bins for a shocking shot.”
    She mentioned posters not bins. Re read her message.

Mute saoirse janneau

re read her message and re read my response. Pretty self explanatory.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe

Saoirse, your argument about reach is based on the false assessment that the posters are not available online. Where do you think they get them from?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:11 PM

“She mentioned posters not bins. Re read her message.”

And where do you think these gore obsessed “pro-lifers” get the gory images for their posters?

Dell did mention that in the comment you replied to:
    “The hypocrisy of pro lifers who put up gory doctored posters all over the place, complaining about these women over sharing, when they are talking about their actual experience.”

Maybe you should re-read it.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:31 AM

So.
    Social media given preference over the life of an innocent child.
    How did humanity ever come to such a moral impasse?

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:36 AM

Explain exactly how it is a) innocent & b) a child ? Thanks.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum

What do you think it’s guilty of?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:47 AM

Joey, perhaps the pregnancy is unviable? Perhaps there are other issues that you are not aware of. Maybe the individual is not a Roman Catholic and does not share your belief in when life starts.

But all of that aside the individual should live exactly by someone else’s religious dogma

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:48 AM

Billionaire George Soros meddling in Irish affairs and attempting to disrupt our democratic process. Colm O’Gorman and Amnesty International confirmed to be in bed with Soros: http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/billionaire-soros-funding-groups-fighting-to-repeal-irish-abortion-ban-34980624.html

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Better George soros than the bunch of evangelical nutters from America funding the pro life campaign.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:07 AM

@Sam.
    Guess they had to find dollars somewhere given that Atlantic Philanthropies are shutting down its manipulation of Ireland’s democratic process.
    But George Soros?
    Seems like Colm ‘O’Gorman’s Amnesty would climb into bed with the devil for a few bucks.
    Appalling behaviour.
    Absolutely appalling.
    Why am I not surprised?

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:10 AM

How about no foreign bodies interfering in Irish democracy and constitutional affairs? Wasn’t Soros supported Clinton and her campaign just whinging about potential Russian interference in American democracy? I see Soros doesn’t practice what he preaches.

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View

Hi Lorem- long time no see with that ‘account’ of yours ..

Never said that the foetus was guilty of something…why would I say such a dumb thing as that ?That would be as dumb as me calling it ‘innocent.’

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh

Problem with George seros, but no problem with David Quinn and Breda O’Brien appearing on US TV begging for donations and then saying they didn’t!

Mute saoirse janneau
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:15 AM

@Joey totally agree. This is way off the scale of the macabre. This will have the opposite effect that was intended. It will austracise them rather than endear them to the general public.

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:19 AM

Wayne could you please cite some proof of such an allegation? We know for 100% fact Soros is meddling in Irish democracy.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:22 AM

100% is a bit low, could we say 150%?

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:45 AM
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:49 AM

I am feeling generous this morning Sam so here you go

http://youtu.be/O17hbfowvhw

Now both Breda and David have denied Iona receive US donations in their weekly propaganda pieces on the times and Independent and on Prime time, Vinecent brown and other to broadcasts

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:21 PM

So Sam, you have a problem with Soros “interfering” with Irish democracy, are you now going to condem, self appointed, religious zealots funded bye US donations. A group that refuses to declare public account or abide bye political standards, yet appoints itself as a political think tank!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

Lorem, guilty of original sin.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:36 PM

Thats right, child was born a sinner, perish the thought of it.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:52 PM

Ok, so Daisy you’re arguing for abortion on the grounds that the foetus is guilty of original sin? I didn’t realise that was a capital offence

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

well it got them into limbo didn’t it?

Lorem, get a sense of humour… it’s a must.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:16 PM

Yeah you’re right, this is all one big laugh-a-thon

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:04 PM

It has to be, male priests with no families(that we know of) dictating to poor women the world over…….

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:04 PM

have you seen some of the pro life moments on here? one really has to laugh.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:37 PM

It’s a joke that they had to go to these lengths in the first place ..

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:29 PM

Thats the sick joke Francis. gods people do comedy well.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:16 AM

Third abortion promoting article so far.
    The journal says it’s not agenda driven? What a laugh!

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:23 AM

is that how you felt with their stance on SSM?

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane

Yes it is.

See 35 more replies ▾
    Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:51 AM

okay so your a churched, all the better, these girls mayn’t be catholic, people at the journal mayn’t be catholic, so this non church agenda will prevail like it always does, keep that religious filth from sane people, thank you.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane

What is “a churched”?
    Your post is like it was written by a 13 year old.
    When you refer to the Catholic Church you use ‘Church’ not ‘church’.
    It’s always fascinating to see how many people promote equal rights but not if you’re Catholic.
    Get your mam to explain that to you.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:27 PM

what rights are you missing as a catholic man Dan?

Churched as in brainwashed, my native country is not animist anymore thanks to religious people, will you take to me about these people’s right to not be sold lies? THESE LIES KILL.

want a capital g for god too? you’ll be waiting fool :)

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:29 PM

Teena. Who is talking about a church and “religious filth from sane people” In the last ten days I have seen Catholics like Usain Bolt, Katie Ledecky and Simone Biles all believing Catholics winning a bag full of gold medals and are you calling those people insane. You will be going back to school in a few weeks time so enjoy the rest of you holidays

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:30 PM

Teena, your country , which is Ireland of course

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:34 PM

the things your church cult thing things about gay people, I’m guess you agree and voted no to SSM right? you agree with the evangelicals making homosexuality illegal in places like nigeria and ghana, let’s say ireland as a nation has trade with those countries, you don’t disagree with that right? Your lot are dangerous and I am so happy the churches are finding it hard to keep the live, check out how many ideologies they have had to discard to keep up with modern society, remember purgatory? gone, souls? and the ulti gem, “aids is bad but not as bad as condoms’ said the man in the dress with thought child rape was a crime god can forgive you for and had to “step down” when british legal law was going to show him who is actually in charge in this world and have him arrested for being an accomplice in the rape murder and torture of children and adults, people not god.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:42 PM

Con, are you saying God won them their medals? And that if I believed in God I would have won medals? Nothing to do with the hours of hard work and dedication to their craft, it was the prayers before bed that did it.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:47 PM
    Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:48 PM
    Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:09 PM

good thing happens…God

bad thing happens…its a test, the devil, it;s most certainly is not god and if it is she has her reasons…

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:42 PM

@teen (good choice of name) – we note you are the one who becomes abusive which is always indicative of a loser in a debate.
    As you can’t debate like an adult (as you aren’t one) or write properly it’s hard to continue with you.
    If you formulate an objective argument please reply otherwise please go back to your mind numbing computer games.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:55 PM

haha do can answer my question? here it is again darling

what rights are you missing as a catholic man Dan?
    As a christian your “human rights” are affecting woman negatively…… disagree all you want

it’s Teene, dope.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:58 PM

Dan, being abusive while stating that being abusive is always indicative of a loser in a debate may not be the right path to go down. Also abusing someone for whom English may not be their first language is a pathetic tactic.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:01 PM

I’m not from Ireland….. jesus freak.

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:13 PM

Dave. Not at all . Just pointing pointing to Teena that those eminent people believe in that “religious “filth” that she despises.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane

@teen – I’m not missing any rights and nor would anyone else if they kept within the faith.

Keep up the name calling.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:18 PM

-Dave – I’ll take your opinion as much as I value an opinion from someone with tattoos on their fingers.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

eminent? are they not blessed?

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:23 PM

Teena. I voted for ssm in the referendum and I canvassed for ssm
    Now Teena could you explain this passage in English please. I know you are only twelve years of age but you should be better than that.
    “aids is bad but not as bad as condoms’ said the man in the dress with thought child rape was a crime god can forgive you for and had to “step down” when british legal law was going to show him who is actually in charge in this world and have him arrested for being an accomplice in the rape murder and torture of children and adults,

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power

Dave seriously ya need to get out more

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:27 PM

Teena. I think I have hit the nail on the head saying that you are Irish and all you can do is call me names. I have found you out bluffing that you are from a foreign country.

Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:47 PM

If you’re not from Ireland wtf has this IRISH referendum got to do with you

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:05 PM

What Irish referendum? There is no referendum.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

so your not a catholic Con?

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:02 PM

Ah Con, yer a gas man! And there was me thinking these athletes won because they ran faster than the others, not because of some pleas they mumbled to an invisible something or other. LOL

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:02 PM

Hahaha, Dan thinks I have tattoos on my knuckles. Max, at least I’m giving my opinion on the article rather than making assumptions about a complete stranger

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:23 PM

Also Damien, not being from Ireland doesn’t mean a person can’t comment on an Irish news story. The American election is a good example, very few American commenters on those stories

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:24 PM

Fintanoflaois .I’ve met one or two I wouldn’t mind having in mine. But they are all young and pretty women pastors in the Nordic region. I’d love to ride them so hard that they’d be speaking in tongues.
    Any more thought on your ideas abusing these those ladies. I also notice you are a racist commenting about my African friends which I have. Your knowledge of The Olympics Games is the same as your respect for women. which is zeroKatey Ledecky. is a swimmer and Simone Biles is a Gymnast. And Fintan of the rape capital of Europe (Sweden) . I just mentioned that these athletes were Catholics, They are my heroes, your heroes are Dawkins, Stalin and Lenin>

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:16 PM

Nurse!!! Con spat out his pills and is raving again.

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:32 PM

Fintanof Sweden. I am telling the truth. and you can try and be funny if you like but the words I quote are yours. and I will keep publishing then about you and your attitude to women

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:06 PM

Con, that you thought Teene was born in Ireland in the first place is worrying. She has never hidden that fact. Your attitude towards people in general alis appalling.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 21st 2016, 7:48 AM

@ Con O’Sullivan

“I quote are yours. and I will keep publishing then about you and your attitude to women —”

Other posters can easily figure out what my attitude to women is, Con, you poor latchiko! I respect them as equals and support their absolute right to control their own bodies and reproductive processes. That is something you deny them

When I mentioned that I had met some very attractive young women pastors and that I wouldn’t mind giving them a rub of the relic, you automatically accuse me of advocating – rape! You really are obsessed with that, aren’t you? But I’d advise against it, as it is a very serious crime.

You have heard of consensual sex, haven’t you? Believe it or not, quite many women indulge in it and even enjoy it.

You ought to try it, rather than traipsing all over the country with that fair-haired women (your mother or aunt?) from one flowers- and kitch-strewn religious shrine to another, as those pictures on your Facebook page show. And what is racist about enquiring about how you are getting on with that African “princess”, with whom you are so obviously infatuated? I put “princess” in quotes because I am always sceptical about the titles of royalty that some people from distant lands use when they arrive in Europe.

Now have a nice day and don’t miss Mass. LOL

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 21st 2016, 11:08 AM

FintanofLaois. What would any young respectable woman have to do with a old creep like you. I note you are admirer of Sweden the rape capital of Europe so maybe you agree with that type of thing. You are advocating rape, for none of these ladies would bother with you and your twisted mind> I am not infatuated with my African “Princess” , she is the Mother of my God son and a very good friend but then nothing I will say will influence your dirty mind. Yes I am going to 12 noon Mass in St Mary’s Yougha and I will light a candle for you, you need it badly

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 21st 2016, 11:08 AM

FintanofLaois. What would any young respectable woman have to do with a old creep like you. I note you are admirer of Sweden the rape capital of Europe so maybe you agree with that type of thing. You are advocating rape, for none of these ladies would bother with you and your twisted mind> I am not infatuated with my African “Princess” , she is the Mother of my God son and a very good friend but then nothing I will say will influence your dirty mind. Yes I am going to 12 noon Mass in St Mary’s Youghal and I will light a candle for you, you need it badly

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 21st 2016, 9:39 PM

” I will light a candle for you, you need it badly”

Make sure it’s a big candle. And you know where you can shove it. If you enjoy it, all the better. LOL

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:36 AM

Was this a healty baby being terminated, who said everyone will have their fifteen minutes of fame………

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle

Andy Warhol.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:41 AM

Thanks

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View

Hahaha!

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt

Sean the journalists never see fit to report these important pieces of the story.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

Sam – yes the do and they have on many occasions in cases of FFA, on those occasions posters on here lambast them for using the woman and her emotional story for forwarding their political agenda. Now go and hide behind a flower pot and hopefully Enda will find you when he wakes up later.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:59 AM

i think it was actually The Dandy Warhols

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy

Maybe the person getting the abortion doesn’t think it’s your business why they’ve chosen to get an abortion. That woman doesn’t owe you an explanation.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:37 AM

woman answer to men in the bible, I think that were all this thinking is coming from…..

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt

Gareth clearly the person getting this abortion thinks her abortion is the entire world’s business that’s why she is broadcasting it globally on social Media.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:45 AM

Why tweet about it then……..

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:47 AM

One thing that majorly pisses me off on the pro choice side, is that they think all pro lifers are somehow religious, with conservative ideals. There’s so much more to it than that!

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

“Gareth clearly the person getting this abortion thinks her abortion is the entire world’s business that’s why she is broadcasting it globally on social Media.”

No, she clearly thinks the fact that being unable to get an abortion in Ireland and being forced to travel to the UK is the entire world’s business that’s why she is broadcasting it globally on social Media.

And she’s right.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:51 AM

Sean, what if the unborn child is already dead before the abortion? Do you consider that double murder so? So two life sentences is it? I really hope the reply function is working today

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:18 PM

How is this journalism, how do we know this isn’t fake, what reasons are given, who are these people, this is a joke of an article

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:31 PM

Edward, you are insufferable.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:46 PM

Edward, who are you? How do we know you’re real? What are your circumstances? See how that works? I don’t even think it matters of its a fake, the reality is that what is described will really happen ten times today

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward

So it’s OK for an article to have absolutely no journalistic integrity once it agrees with the regressive world view

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:39 PM

We need to find out who those pesky wimmin are.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:07 PM

You know there’s a witch hunt underway by the oh so christian compassionate “pro-Lifers” as we speak, don’t you?

Mute JohnWest
    Favourite JohnWest

Is there any information about the reason for the abortion? Was the health of the baby or mother at risk ?

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)

Yes there is, the reason is the same as any other abortion and the only reason required.

The women after careful consideration decided of her own accord without interference or restriction from church, state or anyone else that the best option for her at this time in her life was to terminate this pregnancy…

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:56 AM

Good point John as those questions are what are vitally important to our discussion here in Ireland. As usual though pro abortion side seem to think they should be allowed set the parameters of the discussion.

Mute JohnWest
    Favourite JohnWest
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:02 AM

Where did you read that Drew? “The reason is the same as any other abortion”. A very educated and well researched response from you I see. Let’s be clear on one thing the reasons are not always the same.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum

Maybe Drew. Or maybe it’s a girl

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-31596968

As Ann Furedi says, if you want to support a woman’s right to choose you can’t be squeamish about the reasons

Mute Anne Warren
    Favourite Anne Warren
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:47 PM

indeed neither church nor state has a role to play in what women decide to do with their own bodies
    https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/abortion-on-demand-now/

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:32 AM

Put it on the back burner FG… What yee are good at.. All will eventually burn yee…

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum

If they aren’t careful they could get someone in trouble here. UK law doesn’t allow “abortion on demand”. The other is required to meet with two independent medical doctors who certify that an abortion is necessary to prevent harm/injury coming to her. Of course, everyone knows this is routinely ignored but it’s still the law

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/law-and-order/10807990/Pre-signing-abortion-forms-is-illegal-General-Medical-Council-admits.html

Mute Sam Hunt
    Favourite Sam Hunt

Knowing the pro abortion lobby the two girls are really just offer on a shopping trip down the King’s Road and using this as a stunt.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:32 PM

So you bitch either way ..

Mute John Power
    Favourite John Power

This day an age travelling to england is a last resort…if the woman was sexually active and never planned for a baby there are various methods of contraception that would have prevented this trip.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon

Or perhaps she did plan for this trip.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus

Yes, John, because all methods of contraception work 100%

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:11 AM

Contraceptives fail …

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

abstinence is yer only man

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy

Well unless she has access to time travel those contraceptives that she didn’t use or that failed to work are irrelevant.

Mute Noel Synnott
    Favourite Noel Synnott

Mother live tweets the murder of her child. She should be arrested, not glorified

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:56 AM

There is no glory in been forced to leave your country to get a basic medical procedure done

Mute Ashling O'Brien
    Favourite Ashling O'Brien
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:00 AM

And if she was arrested, what punishment would you see fit? If it is murder as you claim the only punishment should be life imprisonment. Would you agree with that sentence?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:03 AM

I would. I know technically the lawyers will say it’s not murder but it’s the same result at the end if the day.

Mute Ashling O'Brien
    Favourite Ashling O'Brien
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:07 AM

@mickmc, every woman or girl who has an abortion?

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal

It’s funny how men have such strong opinions on this, yet they can easily conceive a child, decide its not for them and do a runner avoiding any kind of responsibility while women re forced to take full ownership, even in horrific circumstances like sexual abuse and unviable pregnancy. Your opinion means zilch!

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:15 AM

They do indeed,Petal,you only have to look at the statistics of the single parent households in Ireland ..The overwhelming majority are run by women …

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:27 AM

Noel i am just going to put this out there and im sorry to do it but, based on your photos, have you hit puberty yet?

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:31 AM

In the same way I regard your comment petal. In your comment of course you conveniently forget to mention all the unmarried father who are denied access to their children for no good reason.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal

@mickmc yes, that is terrible too. Of course fathers should be allowed to see their children. What’s your point?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

derailment petal, dude has no points.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

Red, I’m sorry but you can’t just dismiss men’s opinions on this issue just because there are some men who don’t support their children. There are plenty of men who are refused fair access to their children and are not treated equally as a parent.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc

Well you were making sweeping generalisation of men because of what a few irresponsible men do. Though I do the same as I think of a good mate of mine in such a position. Anyway it kind of off the point of the article

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:53 AM

Noel, what if the child is already dead before the abortion?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:57 AM

He doesnt care Aaron, the f he does.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:13 PM

Mick is way off point here! I’m not justifying it “because all men abandon their kids”, that’s not what I said so don’t try twist it to suit your agenda. Men can, if they choose, conceive a child and do a runner with no long term effects. A woman can’t do the same, nor is she allowed the “privilege” to discontinue a pregnancy regardless of the circumstances, in this country and funnily enough, people then complain about having to “support single mothers who chose to have kids they can’t support”. Some people get great satisfaction in knocking others down and placing blame.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc

Well rather than killing an innocent baby maybe the women should make better choices when choose or sexual partner. Or even choose better forms of contraception.

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal

So are you suggesting a woman is at fault for rape or that she somehow chooses whether it’s is a viable pregnancy? What a stupid comment, especially in a country that is rampant with sexual abuse!

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:06 PM

suggesting? he knows it…

Mute Neal not Neil
    Favourite Neal not Neil

There’s such a thing as over-sharing. If you’re left with noother options and have to get an abortion, fair enough, but at least Have so me humility and self-respect the do it quietly and not turn yourself into a circus.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:53 AM

The circus is the fact they have to leave this country to get basic medical care.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:27 AM

angry commenters ASSEMBLE!

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:29 AM

Meh

Mute James Costello
    Favourite James Costello

This government could make a lot of money from abortion as well as providing jobs! Unfair to make somebody have a child if they don’t want it, I understand the claims of ‘use protection’ but there are many diverse situations and we do not knoll the full story.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:06 PM

oh we know James, girls and woman just can’t keep their legs closed :( sad indictment on us.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:50 AM

Wouldn’t surprise me if she deliberately got herself pregnant just to make a point. Just goes to show how cheap human life is to some people.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

What a discusting comment. Goes to show how little you understand and empathise with others.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:01 AM

I’ve understand and empathy with the her little baby that she killed so as to make a point and create two minutes for fame for herself. If anything is disgusting that is.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:02 AM

Bull it’s simple they got pregnant irresponsibly and now they think it’s ok to have an abortion. They should have thought about it before that passionate night

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:11 AM

Mickmc, there’s a deal on tinfoil at Tesco, incase you need a new hat

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:18 AM

Majority of those “irresponsible” women that got an abortion are already mothers …So,why do you lot believe that ye know what is best for these women and their families.Do tell..

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy

Judge dredd has spoken, the punishment for getting an unwanted pregnancy (through carelessness or otherwise) shall be forced gestation for a period of approximately 9 months. There have been around 250k abortions carried out on Irish women over the last few decades. It’s a safe bet that all you people calling them murderers etc… have a “murderer” in your life. A family member, friend, work colleague, someone you care about.

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:23 PM

250k over the last few decades, how many happen in the UK each year?

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd

Who funded them seems very suspicious they managed to get all this attention ?

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:54 AM

Twitter accounts are free

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View

There is a new page on twitter if you feel like donating a few €€€€€€€€€€€..I’ll go and have a look for you & I’ll put up the link for you..No need to thank me..You’re most welcome!

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland

Colm O’Gorman’s Amnesty probably.
    Meanwhile in some third world hell hole run by some tin pot dictator a person of conscience sits in a windowless cell wondering:
    ‘Why haven’t Amnesty contacted me’

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:24 AM

Jaysus joey go do some research. Amnesty are campaigning worldwide

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:52 AM

Joey isn’t very smart. Most people like him aren’t. Most people like him don’t realise that O’Gorman is Executive Director of Amnesty International *IN IRELAND*, not worldwide.

Most people like him don’t like O’Gormam because he says things they don’t like and so have decided that because, they believe, he is head of Amnesty International the organisation is not only about what O’Gorman says and thus have written off the whole organisation and the massive work they do, but that these small minded swivel eyed idiots don’t know about.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:07 PM

Phil still believes Amnesty is a humanitarian organization.
    Phil is not very bright.
    Phil lives in a liberal bubble.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:16 PM

No, I believe Amnesty International is a human rights organisation.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:23 PM

Joey go back to bed will you. Amnesty have done more for human rights issues worldwide than you could ever hope to achieve.

Mute Ann McNamara
    Favourite Ann McNamara
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:01 PM

It’s terrible that a lady has to tweet her abortion experience to get people talking about repealing the eight. The media and citizens of Ireland should stand together and keep the pressure on enda until he says he hold a referendum. It should be in your face every day of the week because that is the reality women leave Ireland every day for whatever reason to get an abortion.

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:35 PM

I hope they enjoy their weekend away . I wonder did the the journal pay for this trip to London with a shopping spree and a show thrown in for those two who of course are not named. I hope a nice hotel was picked for them. “You can fool some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time but you can’t fool all of the people all of the time” Abraham Lincoln

Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:49 PM

Another pro murderer

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:06 PM

There’s a lot of truth in that Abraham Lincoln quote, but the way religion is fading away shows that a lot of the people have stopped being fooled. As another American, Samuel Clemens, said: “Religion was invented when the first con man met the first fool.”

What’s wrong with you today, by the way? Not a single mention ofastheists like Stalin, Kim Il Sung or Pol Pot.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:06 PM

There’s a lot of truth in that Abraham Lincoln quote, but the way religion is fading away shows that a lot of the people have stopped being fooled. As another American, Samuel Clemens, said: “Religion was invented when the first con man met the first fool.”

What’s wrong with you today, by the way? Not a single mention ofastheists like Stalin, Kim Il Sung or Pol Pot.

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:31 PM

Fiontanof the rapecapitalof Europe(Sweden) Funny think about Twain , his funeral was conducted by his friend a Presbyterian On his work on Joan of Arc Catholic Saint he wrote “I like Joan of Arc best of all my books; and it is the best; I know it perfectly well. And besides, it furnished me seven times the pleasure afforded me by any of the others; twelve years of preparation, and two years of writing. The others needed no preparation and got none.”

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:28 PM

Jaysus, are we still in the 1950s? We should have sorted this problem out long ago: If a woman thinks abortion is wrong, just don’t have one. Simples. Likewise, every other woman has the same right to decide.

It is no business of anyone else, least of all a religious cult that would long ago have declared abortion a sacrament of priests or altar boys could get pregnant.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:03 PM

So Fintan.
    Is it none of your business if I beat my wife.

You see it’s not simples.
    It’s much more than simples.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:15 PM

Too right Fintan, notice the thing not in the ten commandments, child rape, slavery. I wonder why good didn’t put them there?

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:50 PM

“Is it none of your business if I beat my wife.”

Yes, it is my business and the business of everyone else in society if you beat ANYONE. But ill-treating another person is not the same as terminating a pregnancy. If you don’t know that, you really need to cop yourself on.

But what has committing violence against other persons have to do with a woman wishing to exercise her right to bodily autonomy?

I doubt whether you have a wife, but if you have and she has a problem pregnancy, would you force her to do what you think is right rather than allowing her to make a decision about her own body?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:12 PM

these people have zero empathy Fintan, took so much to got the protection of life bill, 2013 when it was too freakin late. Too scared of Rome and imaginary hell.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:22 PM

Tom comes out with some airy fairy stuff..

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:24 AM

women that get drunk have sex then kill babies should not be celebrated but this is what kardsahian society looks like celebrity culture has destroyed ireland soo much for the easter rising

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin

also males should keep thier willys in there pants aswelll unless they have protection

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

Jesus, the extremes on both sides of this abortion debate are the pits

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:54 AM

all your missing is telling men to rape people or or children and that’s society sorted, good man davlin.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:05 PM

to stop*

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:42 AM

This happening today and Noel Rocks article being published at the same time (while kennys in hiding), what an AMAZING coincidence…..

How important these two must feel that they think Enda Kenny is just going to tweet them ..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

How idiotic you must me when you realise that’s not what they’re aiming for.

See 14 more replies ▾

Phil. . I know full well what their aim is .

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:53 AM

Then why make the comment you did?

At what point did they say they expected a response from Kenny on twitter?

Oh I see, you were trying to be a smartass.

Aug 20th 2016, 12:20 PM

Phil , they tweet his account so I’d say they’re hoping to get some response. ..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:31 PM

You really are thick.

They tweeted his account to make a point. To raise awareness. That was the “some response”, which they did get.

Nobody but an utter moron would have expected Kenny to tweet back to them FFS.

Aug 20th 2016, 12:50 PM

Phil .. thanks for the explanation . I was totally lost but you’ve put me straight again … forever grateful…

Phil .. you seem to think you are the only one who knows what this article is about .. which of course , is not the case ..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:22 PM

“Phil .. you seem to think you are the only one who knows what this article is about .. which of course , is not the case ..”

No, others get it too. You’re clearly not one of them if you though they were doing this in expectation for a tweet from Enda Kenny.

In normal circumstances I’d be embarrassed for someone like you.

Aug 20th 2016, 1:34 PM

Ah Phil. . Relax yourself there .. good lad .

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

well they can’t tweet the pope…

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:13 PM

“Ah Phil. . Relax yourself there .. good lad .”

Life must be so easy for a simple minded idiot like you.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:16 PM

it is Phil. I honestly wouldn’t bother…

Aug 20th 2016, 5:48 PM

Phil , one thing I don’t do is resort to name calling .. it really shows oneself up …

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:59 PM

It’s not name calling, it’s speaking the truth. You clearly are a simple minded idiot.

As for showing one’s self up, have you read the comments you’ve made here?!

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 21st 2016, 9:07 AM

One of their aims, Suzie dear, is to shame Ireland into scrapping savage legislation that denies women an essential human right: the right to bodily autonomy. A right that their sisters virtually everywhere else in Europe have long enjoyed.

Their tweet stunt (a brilliant idea) has already attracted quite a lot of comment in other European countries, and that is not something that our leaders will enjoy when they are trying to burnish the image of Ireland as a odern, with-it, progressive society that is an ideal place to invest in, send your top executives to live in, yadda, yadda, yadda –

They might as well be trying to polish a turd as long as our women are treated as incubation units and a discredited, corrupt, kiddy-fiddling cult still calls too many of the shots and our craven politicians fear them.

Thanks to those admirable ladies, more and more spotlight is being focused on Ireland, so the dark age must soon end.

Just one example of the negative publicity we are getting. Five shocking facts about abortion in Ireland https://www.amnesty.fi/6-jarkyttavaa-faktaa-abortista-irlannissa/

Mute Dean Burroughs
    Favourite Dean Burroughs
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:29 AM

I killed my baby for my vision Ireland and gave the little boy/girl all the respect of a public execution live on twitter…..ISIS would be proud of these women.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan

“ISIS would be proud of these women.”

There was a few contenders but congratulations Dean you are our biggest moron of the day. A lot of hard work or does it just come natural to you?

Mute Sean O Ceallaigh
    Favourite Sean O Ceallaigh

First world problems. A woman ‘forced’ to make a day trip to London livetweeting the sheer inconvenience of it all. Sadly I wouldnt be surprised if she got herself pregnant on purpose to showcase her ‘suffering’ to the gullible.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:59 AM

haha people really love roman rule here. crazy.

Mute Paddy Scully
    Favourite Paddy Scully

Oh! It’s the weekend again. Time for a little social engineering, nudge nudge towards the acceptance of killing a living human. No excuses necessary, just blah! It’s interesting to see the big international money is queuing up to support the killing machine.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon

My friend got an abortion in this country, why is the irish state murdering healthy babies? :( are you counting paddy, all the dead corpes of innocent live babies.. will this put all all in hell for not stopping this baby genocide?

Mute Cashel Woods
    Favourite Cashel Woods

Max, Devlin and all of your ilk commenting here. You are presenting the EXACT same levels of conservatism, ignorance and blind prejudice on the woman’s rights as the Taliban or ISIS. Your days of power and control are over so go say a few prayers in your morally corrupt churches and then molest someone.
    Unfortunately the world is a far more complex place than your little minds can handle.

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin

pray in the church lol i havnt step foot in a church in ages as i dont believe in organised religion and dont believe in the dogma of organised religion i study all religions and take the spiritual aspects from them all and you accuse of me being some christian conservative lol i am the complete opposite you idiot just because i dont believe in abortion expect in some cases i beleive in sex education maybe dosnt make me some right wing idiot i have stuck up for muslims on here when they were being assaulted and abuse by idiots that dont have a clue so cashel do your research cause havnt got a clue about me a lot of my views in fact most would be consider left wing

Yes churches are morally corrupt and trust me im the first to criticise the catholic church

Mute Cashel Woods
    Favourite Cashel Woods
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:55 AM

Devlin, good to hear you’re not a knuckle dragger.
    So tell me what are the circumstances behind these girls abortion in the Uk?
    What are the circumstances you believe are OK for an abortion?
    Do you think it’s acceptable that women should travel to the Uk for an abortion?
    Given the circumstances of an abortion meet your approval, should the state be obliged to have the proper medical services in Ireland?

Mute Amy Smith
    Favourite Amy Smith
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:18 PM

She’s killing her unborn baby and all the selfish biatch can think about is how she “could be home by noon in another world”. Isn’t she a peach.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:37 PM

She’s undergoing an experience which, as anyone who works in the field or has undergone it themselves will tell you, IS NOT a light-hearted experience. You know absolutely nothing about this woman or her circumstances. Yet all you can think about is how it offends you personally. Who exactly is being ‘selfish’ here?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:38 PM

how is being called a female dog an insult?

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:26 PM

Your right harry, we know nothing about her, fine journalist this one

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:43 PM

If I was this woman ,I wouldn’t give ye lot the steam off my pi$$ if ye were gasping for it ..

We all know the way Tara Flynn was treated just not too long ago..

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:42 AM
    Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:17 AM

I wonder what these girls have to say about the growth in popularity, in the UK, of pre Natal testing being used as a means to decide whether or not carry a pregnancy full term. We are in danger of sleep walking into eugenics.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:30 AM

yeh but then i get out of bed and im grand

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Whether u agree on not about adoration, bad taste from the girls glorifying it.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:44 AM

exposing. Ireland has no issue doing business deals with country’s that “kill babies” I’m guessing the only fear they have is losing votes from frank’s club goers. You know, they man with the cool hats and dresses.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:06 PM

How are they “glorifying” what they had to go through today?

They’re highlighting that they had to leave the country to have an abortion. They’re highlighting that they had to get up at the crack of dawn, fly to a different country, go through a traumatic procedure and spend time recovering in some unhomely hotel bedroom. Something hundreds of women have to do alone.

“Glorifying” it? My hairy hole they are!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

When was documenting something 12 Irish women do every day “glorifying”?

Mute Graham Austin
    Favourite Graham Austin
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:14 PM

As a man who was adopted 33 years ago, who’s biological mother CHOSE to give me a chance in life- 33 years ago in rural India & carry me for the 9months basically hidden away & give me up for adoption to a family that could take care of me, what that girl is doing is wrong – and to blog about it for “awareness” is just a different level.

I don’t know her background story, but unless it’s an extreme case of rape or absolutely NO quality of life for the child.

Go and have the baby. Suffer the 9 months because you got pregnant ( & yes the father is equally responsible if he knows ) & give the child & some family who’d happily adopt a chance for a happy life.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:29 PM

Don’t even know where to start, actually lost for words here…

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:06 PM

Fair comment but to say ‘Suffer the 9 months because you got pregnant…’ sounds merciless, because as you say none of us know the circumstances that lead to her decision.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:53 PM

Graham, I too was adopted and am in contact with my birth mother, are you? She may not have had a choice in a) pregnancy or b) adoption. My mother had to move away from her family during her pregnancy and only told her mother recently that any of it happened. The shame heaped onto women by society was and is ridiculous.

Mute janey mackle
    Favourite janey mackle
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:39 PM

If only shed have taken the other option. To love her unborn child. No matter what the circumstance is it’s better than heading off to have it torn out of her body by someone who gets paid alot of money to do so.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:32 PM

“Hit the road”, “home by noon”‘ “bated breaths” – doesn’t sound like someone supposedly in distress or in need of medical procedures as they like to call it.
    Sounds to me like sloppy journalism in an attempt to promote this terrible action.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

This from the kind of person who is only too happy to force women to give birth against their wished, often in circumstances in which they have been forced to carry a baby to full term knowing it has no chance of survival outside the womb.

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:29 PM

Phil is your pro muslim, pro choice regressive, the absolute pinnacle of popular thinking leftists, don’t bother arguing with something incapable of researching anything outside of its favourite echo chamber

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:36 PM

Edward, maybe you could discuss the issue at hand rather than, you know, exercising your personal dislike of me generally. Good lad.

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:46 PM

It is possible to be pro-abortion, without what the UK currently allows, this is a very complicated issue and the infuriating bumper sticker style argument “her body, her choice” over simplifies and detracts from the underlying causes of so many abortions, primarily lack of education and poor access to quality contraception. I’m all for first term abortions, and second term for foetal problems, but after that you better have a Damn good excuse, and the father, who after all will have an expectation to care for the child if it lives, should have a say in the termination.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:55 PM

“the infuriating bumper sticker style argument “her body, her choice” over simplifies and detracts from the underlying causes of so many abortions”

from the contributor who have us comments such as:

“48 hours away from home, first world problems, I hope they enjoy their holiday”

Good lad.

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:05 PM

There you go. Asks me to provide an argument which I do, completely ignores it as usual and points to a different post where I make a joke of the article, which has absolutely no facts attached, just some possibly fake twitter account. Won’t catch me twice.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

No facts? Twelve women a day go though the exact same ordeal the ones on this twitter account did. That’s not made up. That’s a fact.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:51 PM

Edward

Worry about your own relationship & not some stranger that you don’t know ..
    I actually find that this helps me…greatly..

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater

Hey everybody look at me , I’m going to England to terminate a life, and tweeting the countdown thats has to be the lowest, hope a bit of bad karma is heading your way.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:01 PM

If they didn’t have to travel they wouldn’t have to tweet.

Seems the bad karma has hit you already having to live your life being a woman hating f__kwit.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary

So she’ll blame the government for not being able to keep her legs closed, oh and murder her unborn child at the same time and tweet about it. Classy girl.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:44 PM

You’ll never need an abortion, Gary, so it’s easy for you to talk.

I doubt whether you have ever had sex with a woman, but what if the one you had it with had become pregnant and then discovered that the foetul had a fatal abnormality? What would you have demanded of her? And what makes you think you have any right to make such demands?

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:19 PM

“..home by noon.” The poor darlings. How inconvenient for them. Maybe ‘Drive-Thru’ abortions would be more acceptable to them, or perhaps a callout service? Terrible they might miss lunch while their offspring are being put to death.

Mute Derek o keeffe
    Favourite Derek o keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:58 AM

Why would anyone support this girl? She and her partner or what ever it was, got pregnant. So an innocent life should be killed, as she was irresponsible?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

What were the circumstances of her pregnancy, Derek?

Mute Derek o keeffe
    Favourite Derek o keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:13 PM

If she was subject to sexual assault or anything like that, i am sure it would of been in the headline. To go on Twitter and glorify it, is crazy. Her decision which is fine, at the end of the day, its a life being taken. Would you support her if she live tweeted the murder of a newborn baby? It pretty much the same thing.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:33 PM

What were the circumstances of her pregnancy, Derek?

You said:
    Why would anyone support this girl? She and her partner or what ever it was, got pregnant. So an innocent life should be killed, as she was irresponsible?

No ifs not buts that what you said, so you seem to know. Tell us.

Mute Derek o keeffe
    Favourite Derek o keeffe

She had sex with someone and got pregnant, Its quite obvious. There are the circumstances. If there was anything else involved im sure we would know. Someone willing to live tweet an abortion, is hardly a private person. As i said before if she was raped or anything like that it would have been in the article. There is contraception out there if you don’t want to get pregnant, i know it fails from time to time, but if she can tweet, she knows the risk and there is a chance she can pregnant. So i presume you support her? Why? Freedom of choice? It is an innocent life at the end of the day. Just because you can’t see it doesn’t make it any different to a baby.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:56 PM

“She had sex with someone and got pregnant, Its quite obvious. There are the circumstances. ”

Was it consentual, Derek? Who was this someone?

“If there was anything else involved im sure we would know. ”

But YOU DO KNOW, remember? You said:
    “She and her partner or what ever it was, got pregnant. So an innocent life should be killed, as she was irresponsible?”

So, what happened? Was it consensual sex? Was the chap involved a long term partner/husband? A fling? What were the circumstances of the pregnancy? Was there contraception involved? Did it fail?
    What of the health of the baby or the mother? Was he in the proper condition to give birth without any significant risk to herself? Was the baby is good health?

Tell us all, Derek. Please.

Mute Derek o keeffe
    Favourite Derek o keeffe
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:59 PM

Also, if there was any issues with the baby itself, she would be upset with having to go through with, rather than complaining about the inconvienence of jetting across to England on social media. You only have to look at her blasè attitude on Twitter about it all, to understand that.

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward

Jesus Phil you are insufferable.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

No, Derek. No Ifs or buts, you said:

“Why would anyone support this girl? She and her partner or what ever it was, got pregnant. So an innocent life should be killed, as she was irresponsible?”

So tell us the exact details of this pregnancy. Tell us exactly how she was irresponsible, as you have claimed she was.

Go on. Do it.

Or man up and accept you know f__k all about the circumstances of this abortion and have branded a woman whom you know nothing about as “irresponsible” simply because you’re a hate-filed reactionary “pro-lifer” mouthing off.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:31 PM

Phil Blanc is an A-hole looking for a reaction, trying to provoke, quite aggressive really, probably the type to make his girlfriend go for an abortion…..

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:58 PM

So Phil you are saying the murder of children is justified if the excuse to kill them sounds good but yet you do not know why either?

Mute janey mackle
    Favourite janey mackle
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:59 PM

As she waits in that room “weighted by bated breaths”- her little unborn child waits for its life to be ended. The only life he/she ever had. Not even given a chance to be born. That was his/her life story. Nobody can argue that an unborn child isn’t a human being. It’s scientific fact. Not up for opinion. An unwanted or crisis pregnancy is awful for the woman in particular and my heart goes out to her but at the end of the day it comes down to another human life too and that’s why there should never be any reason or circumstance where it’s okay to kill an unborn child. The thoughts of killing a newborn would make everyone here sick at the thought. So why such a large margin between that and killing an unborn child just a few months earlier. It’s doesn’t just miraculously become a human when it’s born. Or at 20 weeks onwards etc. … it’s human from the beginning. Unique to any other human who ever existed. With its DNA determined, talents, personality. All it needs is nourishment and time. Life is precious. And this story is so sad because there’s absolutely no regard for the innocent life at the centre of it all. That’s her child. Always will be . But she’ll never get to know him/her.

Mute Laughs @ Antis 24/7
    Favourite Laughs @ Antis 24/7
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:44 PM

When I used to call myself Oggie the 4th, ( Human Being Activist) I would be laughing out loud at your nonsense ..You came on this site before,telling porkies ..lol ..Anyway,I’ve read all of that nonsense that you just wrote on all the anti choice sites that I’ve ever visited ..lol ..I have a child up with me at the moment ..waiting for him to drop off to sleep ..Those two embryos are now uniquely gone ..lol

Mute Devlin
    Favourite Devlin

The right wing fundamentalists in this country actually have so much in common with isis isis are basically right wing

Mute salam Habibi
    Favourite salam Habibi
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:38 PM

Abortion weighs you down. It’s like a heavy stone on your back and it changes your life . You will never forget it and you will never get over it. You will always regret it. Whatever your circumstances do not choose abortion. Life is nature and positivity always comes from a negative scary situation. Choose life and don’t carry this burden with you your whole life. Choose adoption even ..choose anything but abortion. I’m not a religious nut. I’m just a woman who has been in this situation.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:29 PM

Don’t worry about any other woman as the majority(95%) don’t regret having had one.And those that do said it was the right decision for them at that time in their lives ..Hope this helps..And adoption is an alternative to parenting..Nice words, though..

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:56 PM

I wonder if this is just not another made up story by the journal to push their agenda and bias upon the masses of sheep? But if it is and these women feel they need to tweet their journey to have their foetus killed, it doesn’t say much for their morals in my opinion. And why would Enda Kenny need reply to their tweets? What are they trying to provoke? And I didn’t even know James Cordon until I read this article, but big deal if a tabloid ‘celeb’ supports them, what significance does that have?
    What are the point of these articles? I think what they hope to achieve is the brainwashing of of the readers into thinking that irresponsible behaviours carry no consequences in the short term, but what of the long term impacts to women, and men? Oh wait, aborting a baby could have nothing whatsoever to do with the father of that baby now could? If you do not want to have an abortion, do not have an unwanted pregnancy, if you do have an unwanted pregnancy, have some back bone and do the right thing, not the selfish thing. Comments like, ‘My body, my choice’ what a screwed up thought process….. I also often wondered why men are never brought up in these discussions or these ‘stories’, perhaps it’s that those men never even know about the pregnancy in the first place and the women snuck out the back door to make their ‘lonely’ journey to kill their unborn kid. Or maybe, and I suspect this is more likely case, that these women are getting pregnant as a result of drunken one night stands and in many cases, multiple times, the problem for them is not that it’s not allowed here by law, but because of the expense and inconvenience involved in travelling to have the procedure. Instead of holding themselves accountable for their actions, they seem proud and righteous of what they do. Let them have their sad lives, thankfully I have or will have nothing got to do with these kind of people.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc

http://www.tinfoilhats.ie

Waiting for your business.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:51 PM

clown

Mute Damien Gavin
    Favourite Damien Gavin
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:57 PM

Did this Woman get pregnant on purpose so she could highlight this? They sound quite happy with themselves heading off to England to end a life. Never heard of condoms?

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:05 PM

Wow a murder being documented. Didn’t know we were a looked snuff films. This is disgusting. Twowoman. If it is so difficult then don’t use it as a political stunt. Disgraceful.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:10 PM

its to maybe stop other woman having the same experience?

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:14 PM

To think, if abortion was available here, the only real change would be not needing to travel abroad for one. It’s really that simple so why doesn’t anyone do something about it?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:17 PM

pope says no :(

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:04 PM

‘Those who live by the scalpel…’.
    Calling infanticide a ‘medical procedure’ is analogous to calling lethal injection ‘medicine’.
    We may not be able to control what happens in the UK and other states, but we can prevent the wholesale slaughter of unborn babies on our doorstep. – I’m sorry if my being in favour of preserving a life offends anybody.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:31 PM

But you’re not preventing anything. There are four thousand plus Irish abortions a year, with twelve happening today. Ireland hypocritically outsources its abortion services to the UK and mainland Europe.

If you were serious about preventing Irish women and girls having abortions, you’d be campaigning to repeal the right to travel and information and for any woman or girl to take a pregnancy test before she leaves the country and again on her returnto make sure an Irish abortion hasn’t happened.

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:02 PM

The Pro Choice people in Ireland are like the American NRA, a strong lobbying minority, but with a of power. They don’t respect democracy, only when it suits them, because whether they like it or not, whether people choose to democratically make “child killing” legal, it should be respected no matter how outrageous it seems to one person, as long as the majority wins. They don’t even let the people decide in a referendum because they know what the results would be. If you’re so sure most people think like you, then why stop moaning and let the people vote.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 21st 2016, 12:23 AM

Nearly 100% spot on,Juan!

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:17 PM

Getting pregnant and having a termination just for a publicity stunt seems a wee bit distasteful.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:24 PM

I agree.

There’s no evidence whatsoever that that is what happen in this case though so…

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:53 PM

I’m starting to think this is a publicity stunt.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:21 PM

Sad that they have to this. So called ‘pro-lifers’ are scu’m

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward

48 hours away from home, first world problems, I hope they enjoy their holiday

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:59 PM

if you were a woman who was raped, i dont think you’d be saying that

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:41 PM

Was either of them raped? There’s a pill available that can be taken up to 48 hours after.

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:13 PM

I heard people from Ireland need to travel to far away countries to adopt children, why not to take unwanted children other Irish women don’t want then? Wouldn’t that be easier and cheaper and make more sense? I’m sitting on the fence with abortion – it’s quite complicated subject, but I feel bit disturbed by them tweeting the whole situation like it was great holiday… I know they do it to raise a point and awareness but still I find it sad.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

Becauses women aren’t brood sows to provide cheaper access to babies to people forced abroad (Oh the irony!) to buy them.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:48 PM

What’s even sadder is an unwanted child, ever heard of
    of stage parents?

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:53 PM

Enda Kenny is not going to jump into a media trap and be ripped apart no matter what comment he makes. This thorny issue seems to be uniquely Irish and is not going to be resolved with a simple tweet.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:39 PM

So condoms, the pill, the injection, a diaphragm and the emergency pill didn’t work and led to a pregnancy. Oh wait she didn’t use any but expects us to change the law for her. Fantastic! Will we change the law from 24weeks pregnant to 24 minutes before birth when her type forgets again?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

Where did it say contraception wasn’t used? Lolantis making shit up again!

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica

In larger countries, where the service is available, women have to travel equal or greater distances.
    Does every neighbourhood across the US, Canada or Australia have a handy local clinic? What is the average round trip time for a woman in rural France who needs the service?

It puts this short boat trip or flight into perspective.

Our little island expects everything in every village.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:31 PM

“In larger countries, where the service is available…”

In Ireland it’s not available. THAT IS THE POINT.

Mute Helen O'neill-clayton
    Favourite Helen O'neill-clayton
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:00 PM

I’m sure I’ll be berated by many but am I the only one who doesn’t think the world needs to know every detail about going for an abortion in uk. It’s desperate that a woman has to travel if she decides not to continue with a pregnancy but if it was me I wouldn’t be putting it on Twitter or face book. It’s a very personal and emotional thing and putting it out there in this way trivialises it.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:03 PM

“It’s desperate that a woman has to travel if she decides not to continue with a pregnancy”

It is, that’s why she did what she did – to highlight this in the hope that it will have some impact and result in women not having to do it anymore.

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper

Hope the bitch dies in agony.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:41 PM

You first, petal.

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:47 PM

Welcome to my world!

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Aug 20th 2016, 3:11 PM

Irish pixihead murderers!

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:30 PM

What a nasty bullocks ..

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Aug 21st 2016, 10:18 AM

@ Grim Reaper “Hope the bitch dies in agony.”

You are a very sick individual with some grotesquely warped values when you wish an agonising death on anyone.

The worst thing about is that you probably don’t even know that you can seek help and it might even prove effective.

Mute Emer TLC
    Favourite Emer TLC
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:46 PM

Just checked their twitter. Last tweet read, ‘done and dusted.’ I feel ill.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:31 PM

It’s over & life will go on …same as it ever was,same as it ever was..

Mute None
    Favourite None
    Aug 20th 2016, 12:12 PM

48 hours away? Where did they travel to?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 20th 2016, 1:45 PM

The UK. Did you not read the article?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:56 PM

Imofftokillmybaby Does no one see the horror in this?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:56 PM

2 babies are killed every second in the world and that is called abortion.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:01 PM

It is like one of those unfolding mass murder stories on TV, Anyone not sick because of that, a child in the womb aborted by being cut up alive in the womb. Can people not put themselves in that childs place and imagine being cut up alive?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:11 PM

I’m just going by cold hard facts here,but a child is aged around 3 to 12 …

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Favourite Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Aug 20th 2016, 2:52 PM

Not sure this will help the ultimate aim of having the required referendum to allow each citizen of the Republic choose based on the own beliefs. I can’t see it converting people to the repeal side. The only way to change it is through our elected representatives who are currently on holidays and can’t do anything. A campaign such as Mick Wallaces bill, even though flawed constitutionally, is needed to achieve a public vote. Free speech allowed but live tweeting a abortion is not in my opinion going acceralate the process. The lengthy citizens assembly process is first thing to address to improve implementation of a vote.

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Aug 20th 2016, 4:42 PM

I think abortion should be allowed in Ireland. But only in emergency cases

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 20th 2016, 5:14 PM
    Mute Shane McCormack
    Favourite Shane McCormack
    Aug 21st 2016, 6:06 AM

A lot of emotionally charged opinions being expressed here. Surely, evidence if any was needed, of how much it is personal choice and should be regarded as such.